The crossing of the floor by Ralph Thorne has generated some interest in the political landscape in Barbados. Obviously his crossing was timed to coincide with the tabling of the 2024-2025 Estimates and ‘Budget’ debate.

From all reports Thorne’s prosecutorial style resonated well with a public starved of muscular representation in the Lower House. His delivery during the Budget reply contrasted starkly with Joe Atherley’s mundane style if not substance.

The blogmaster like many is looking forward to a similar level of intervention when the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) is convened. In our system of government which attempts to mirror what is practiced in the United Kingdom, the PAC is one of the most important committee of parliament meant to hold government’s feet to the fire regarding disbursement of public monies.

Its main functions are to see that public moneys are applied for the purposes prescribed by Parliament, that extravagance and waste are minimised and that sound financial practices are encouraged in estimating and contracting and in administration generally.

UK Parliament

The Mottley government is not accustomed to being asked hard questions in parliament, evident by the self-aggrandizing and pithy nature of responses by members of parliament. The degree of apathy and cynicism which characterizes the public’s interest in politics has reached a dangerous level. A quality system of government is only as good as the quality of participation by citizens. In the absence of quality people participation, the servants are forced to anoint themselves the masters.

The blogmaster was intrigued by Prime Minister’s response to one of several queries by Leader of the Opposition Ralph Thorne regarding a government sponsored entourage of 67 people to Abu Dhabi. Prime Minister Mottley has done well to elevate her international profile and in the process drag Barbados along. All admit Barbados’ international brand prior to 2018 impersonated that of the introvert and recluse Freundel Stuart. Who will forget how some countries began to openly poke fun at Barbados. The government should not forget however that there is an expectation and role for an opposition in parliament to oppose and ask questions. The public will have to be discerning to strip away the political blustering.

parliamentary opposition (in a multi-party system) with an official leader of the opposition, which generally takes on an adversarial role,[12] presenting arguments against the government’s policies.

Westminster system

There is a sensible path Mottley must travel considering the perilous state of the economy. Her forays in the international arena cannot be at the expense of what concerns citizens on the ground. It is commendable the government has been attracting grant funding for important projects. However, it is reasonable for the opposition to ask if a 67 member entourage was necessary to trek to Abu Dhabi. Mottley’s emotional rant in reply about flying business class and sharing apartment on overseas trips was for the gallery.

There is a reason the Constitution recognizes a Leader of the Opposition in the Lower House. It is unfortunate the electoral system that has served us well since independence was exposed in recent elections. It is up to the sensible among us to work to implement improvements required for good governance and not succumb to political opportunism.

60 responses to “Wait a minute PM!”

1. Watson wants PM to back PAC

SINCE PRIME MINISTER Mia Amor Mottley has promised an investigation into the HOPE (Home Ownership Providing Energy) project, Opposition Senator Tricia Watson is also hoping she will throw her full support behind the functioning of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC).

Watson, a member of the Democratic Labour Party, was speaking in the Senate yesterday on Day 1 of debate on the Appropriation Bill, 2024 as she questioned the number of items listed in Mottley’s Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals delivered last week Monday with “no information”.

The PAC is a joint committee of Parliament, chaired by the Leader of Opposition, which acts as a watchdog to keep track of Government spending.

During his Budget Reply, Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne queried what happened to the $60 million given to HOPE from the Housing Credit Fund and said that only 131 housing solutions were available. Mottley promised an investigation during her wrap-up in the House of Assembly.

Reviewed

Watson said she expected HOPE to be reviewed by the PAC because it received “Government assets”.

“We expect that the Honourable Prime Minister will make sure that the Government members of the Public Accounts Committee will attend, cooperate and facilitate the investigation; that the Public Accounts Committee’s work will not be stonewalled by absences, obstruction. That’s what the people expect of the Government,” the attorney said.

She reminded the current administration that it was constantly touting itself as a Government of transparency, information and governance.

“So we expect full cooperation, but it won’t stop us from doing our work,” she added.

Watson told the Upper Chamber that in addition to the HOPE housing project, there was also no information or information was absent on the Old Eye Hospital renovations, Blue Monkey, the clean-up of the Mobil site at Needham’s Point, upgrades to the Bridgetown Sewage Treatment Plant and South Coast Sewage Treatment Plant, the National Petroleum Corporation’s expansion, the Barbados Water Authority’s capital works programme, the Met Office and the headquarters of the Barbados Fire Service.

“So in our fully fleshed-out Estimates there is so much missing information and we want the information from our transparent Government.

Details

“We want the details, because budgeting is about details, and since we have to fund the Budget, we want the details.

“And by we, I mean the people of Barbados – less you think you’re only talking about the Democratic Labour Party and that you can ignore us. The people whose pockets will be pulled for these Estimates want the details, Mr President.”

2. It should NEVER be up to a PM to have ANY say in any audit of any government entity.
    Only a BB clown would expect any useful outcome from such an approach.

An INDEPENDENT Auditor General, PUBLICLY advising the President and the DPP, is probably the best office for any such probe, and indeed, this power and responsibility should be a KEY element in any constitution.
    The PAC, like all political institutions, is merely a tool for politicians to bamboozle BB citizens, while funneling money to supporters and lackies.

3. Nothing this PM does is surprising when it comes to her self-interest
    Still bwelidered how PM places cart before horse when it comes to priorities
    Spending millions to build a monument when the QEH lack basic supplies

4. @ ac
    Part you went?

5. It is strange how much people in Barbados discuss politics more than people in other countries such as USA, UK where population have lost interest and respect for political nonsense.

There is a Sci-Fi series on netflix called “3 Body Problem” which takes a Chinese Novel about an Alien Invasion and Westernizes it. Though the novels take place in China during the Cultural Revolution of the 1960s, the TV show is largely set in the United Kingdom which has sparked some criticism for taking liberties with the source material.

Newflash .. Aliens are coming
    Optics: The UN Leader or Secretary-General of the United Nations resembles the incumbent* Barbados PM.

(*) believe it or not incumbent does not mean the same thing as incompetent.

Humans have been around for over 100,000 years. Most of that time they weren’t so different from apes. It took 90,000 years to discover agriculture and change from hunter gatherers to farmers.
    It took another 10,000 years to develop industrialisation.
    It took another 200 years to develop Atomic Power.
    It took another 50 years for the Computer Information Age.

“The blogmaster is reminded of the so called FBI “Official & Confidential Files” that were kept by J Edgar Hoover in his private office. Some of the files said to have recorded sensitive information on political leaders, media and other individuals who were critical of the FBI.”

In the big-scheme of things Barbados Politics are on a smaller scale despite the obsession with the minute details of local politics by some but not all.

“However, it is reasonable for the opposition to ask if a 67 member entourage was necessary to trek to Abu Dhabi.”

Abu Dhabi Is the World’s Newest Wealth Haven for Billionaires and it’s sovereign wealth fund offers to buy out investors in China funds

6. Bush Tea

In Dubai

7. There is no amount of sense, whether common or rare, which can act to ‘implement improvements’.

To accept this notion is to contend that systems weeee created have no outer limits. Points after which they can go no further.

Maybe the writer, from his/her vast knowledge about these matters, could tell readers of a single similar historical juncture where such a system was able to correct itself, or been corrected, be bent against the arc of its own history, even as nearly all other countries, practicing the same or similar, are located thusly.

For us this kind of thinking about the political theatre becomes no different than that other crutch which is entirely dependent on belief, absent science.

And while RT’s has no doubt brought a breath of fresh air into the elected dictatorship, emotion should not be allowed to overcome the ‘sensible’ responses the system itself has uncovered.

These cannot rest within the tinkering of Ralph Thorne on the fringes. For he has not presented any alternatives beyond the trite.

8. The journey to achieve improvement in anything can take a process or big bang approaches. History can be made today based on what was never achieved in the past based on unforeseen triggers. The blogmaster is no Oracle except to believe that the search for the sweet spot (not to be confused with G spot) maybe immediate or lifelong. Who can speak authoritatively to natural order?

9. @ ac
    In Dubai
    ~~~~~~~~
    ha ha ha. MURDA!!
    Glad yuh got back in time fuh de budget reply…
    Artax soon light up in yuh tail…

Bushie missed yuh bad as shiite yuh!!

10. Bushie, Kiki, anybody else.

Is Ralph Thorne a born again Christian?

11. May you live in interesting times, may you be recognized by people in high places, and may you find what you’re looking for.

The Thorne effect is now in full effect.
    DLP are rebranding the party to nz non-zero party,
    chance of winning non-zero seats increased by non-zero

12. “Is Ralph Thorne a born again Christian?”

He is a member of the Lord’s Army

13. What is the lord’s army?

Thanks much!

Knew something was wrong wid all this Christian talk, people around him.

This is not the man once known.

How could somebody like this be taken seriously. Indeed, Thorne maybe now more dangerous than the disease he seeks to cure.

14. Our honourable Prime Minister puts our country in the international headlines every day. This generates more tourists for the hotel plantations and therefore more tax revenue.

Anyone who questions this strategy like the so-called opposition leader is acting in an unpatriotic and irresponsible manner.

We do not need an opposition that counts the sands on the beach, but a powerful leader who acts without hesitation in the interests of the people and the party. In my opinion, it is time for fresh elections so that the righteous anger of the people can sweep away the last remnants of the opposition.

Tron, a neutral observer

15. Okay, I have listened to RalphThorne and his “Coalition of the Righteous” speech.

I have heard enough!

He is flirting with the greatest danger there is in present times – misguided religiosity.

Fundamentalist Christians!

The reason I have not been marching is because of the company. I will not be associated with their ultimate agenda.
    These people want to impose theocratic rule!

16. @Donna

He is banking on a conservative segment in Barbados to give him a base to jump off. At the moment as Artax always says he does not have a differentiating strategy.

17. @DAVID

Good morning, Bruh

On January 13th, 2011 this was the “BU POST”… 13 years on, the cyclical issues keeps going around & around like a “CIRCUS RIDE” with no end in site!!!

#LordHaveMercy

This is what was written (IN PART):

No citizen looks for an absolutely perfect form of nationality – of law. But we have a right to ask for good government. We have been accustomed to think that it depends more on administration than on principle; and the line of the poet, “that which is best administered, is best,” is a proverb, to the sentiment of which we too freely yield.

No doubt a government with bad statutes and wrong laws may be so administered as to produce a tolerable degree of national comfort and development for a season; while a Constitution perfect in its theories and principles may be so maladministered as to corrupt and distract, impoverish and demoralize a people.

And yet, I agree with an old patriot of the past century who said, “there is no foundation to imagine that the goodness or badness of any government depends solely upon its administration. It must be allowed that the ultimate design of government is to restrain the corruptions of human nature; and, since human nature is the same at all times and in all places, the same form of government which is best for one nation is best for all nations, if they would only agree to adopt it…”

Were a score of the professional politicians of our land to frame a Constitution for us in full accordance with their own schemes and choices, we would soon find ourselves under an oligarchy of schemers, who cared for the “country” only so far as to secure from it their own “fame” and emolument.

Were as many brokers or merchants to make and administer our laws, without regard to other industrial interests, we should have an oligarchy of trade. Were as many “merchants”, or “manufacturers”, or “lawyers”, to have full control of our legislation and government, we would have one interest towering above all others, and true equalization, true brotherhood, just representation, healthful nationality would be impossible.

Or, were we dependent on officers in the army or navy for our government, legislative and administrative, we would be likely to have many of our rights circumscribed. Were as many clergymen to frame a Constitution, and administer laws, we might be under a crushing priesthood.

A government of mere scholars, poets or orators, would be only a sublime dream. A Constitution of philosophies alone would glitter with abstractions beautiful, cold, grand as the snow-capt Alps, and as distant, too, from the actualities of men!

“PROPHETIC WORDS” OR THE MACHIAVELLIAN NATURE OF THE HUMAN CONDITION”???

#YouDecide

READ MORE: https://barbadosunderground.net/2011/01/13/what-is-a-good-government/

18. “He is banking on a conservative segment in Barbados to give him a base to jump off.”

The Book of Ralph
    Patriotic, prayerful and rightwing Barbadians are being offered the chance to purchase for a mere $69.69 Ralph Thorne Bibles with “God Bless Barbados and the DLP” on the cover

His dubious position and platform reminds me of another dodgy geezer who likewise seems a tad sincere like a false preacher and politician
    https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2024/mar/26/trump-selling-bible

19. s/b a tad insincere*
    (good save)

Yeah, I’ve been down on the rock for so long, (so long)
    I seem to wear a permanent screw (screw-oo-oo-oo-oo)
    I’ve been down on the rock for so long (so long)
    I seem to wear a permanent screw (screw-oo-oo-oo-oo)
    But-a I I’m gonna stare in the sun
    Let the rays shine in my eyes
    I I’m a gonna take a just-a one step more
    Cause I feel like bombin’ a church
    Now now that you know that the preacher is lyin’
    So who’s gonna stay at home
    When when the freedom fighters are fighting?

20. Fundamentalist Christians!

What does FUNDAMENTAL MEAN?

What is a Fundamentalist Christian?
    Was not Mrs Alexander a Fundamentalist Christian when she wrote the lovely hymns for children? Was Isaac Watts and Faber etc not Fundamentalist Christians!

SHOULD NOT ALL TRUE CHRISTIANS I.E FOLOWERS OF CHRIST BE FUNDAMENTAL?

IS IT NOT TRUE THAT THE FOLLOWERS OF “THE WAY” WERE FIRST CALLED CHRISTIANS AT ANTIOCH?
    WERE THEY FANDAMENTALIST OR FUNNYMENTALIST?

Re
    I will not be associated with their ultimate agenda.
    These people want to impose theocratic rule!

THANKFULLY THE POLITICIANS CANT AND WONT IMPOSE THEOCRATIC RULE
    BUT WHETHER YUJ LIKE UM OR NOT A THEOCRATIC RULE WILL SOON BE IMPOSED IN THE MILLENNIUM

DONT THE ANGLICANS NOT SING “THY KINGDOM COME OH GOD THY RULE OH CHRIST BEGIN BREAK WITH THY IRON ROD THE TYRANNY OF SIN!”

WHAT DOES THAT MEAN?
    IS THAT NOT WRITTEN AND TO BE TAKEN LITERALLY?
    IS THAT NOT A FUNDAMENTAL?

ULTIMATELY THERE WILL BE A THEOCRATIC RULE IMPOSED

YUH GOT TO LOVE BU
    YUH CAN ALWAYS COME AND READ SOME RUBBISH BY FOLK WHO THINK THEY KNOW BUT DONT

21. @Hants

How does this thread with Savvy on the Bay matter? The question is for 0 marks.

22. @ David,

September start
    Pierhead Project ‘to restore’ City’s port area

23. Dub,

You have made the connection! Bibles for sale, King James Version! Endorsed by a man who cannot even quote the shortest verse! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Murdaaaaaaah!

If Ralph Thorne is building his base on FUNDAMENTALIST CHRISTIANS, he is treading a dangerous path.

You know, if the Jesus of the gospels came back and ruled in accordance with the principles he preached, I would be quite comfortable with theocracy.

But you see these so-called Christians, HELL NO! They are NOTHING like Jesus! So we know how that would end.

The Jesus they purport to follow did not instruct them to take over the government. He told them to preach the gospel.

“And that may be all I need to know.” 😊

24. The trouble with throwing words around losely is that it can mislead.

A dictator does not back down at the first sign of dissent. A dictator DOUBLES DOWN!

What we have here is not a dictator, but a bossy woman!

This bossy woman may be losing enthusiastic support, but still sees no viable opposition. The DLP is desperate, so desperate that it is attempting to form “a coalition of the righteous”.

The trouble with that is that Bajans are no longer impressed with “Christians”

So the Leader of the Opposition had better get used to the “two or three” gathering together. He isn’t likely to see four or five.

25. LOOSELY, not losely.

26. And what does this emerging, maybe dominant, narrative about Ralph Thorne tell us about the national psyche?

What are we to think about the DLP that it could be so captured by a man primarily motivated by dispensationalist, christian, bullshit?

Admittedly, this writer felt that the party had no choice but to accept him. However, this Christian shiite cannot replace the need for a real world political philosophy as challenge to Mottley.

What will the country then do if these Christian zealots take power and then tell us that some sew’n’sew god somewhere in the sky tells them some shiite about public expectations – as productive of their eponymous conditioning.

Thorne likes to quote nuff law. Well, there was the dis-establishment of the church in the 1960s or 70s. The equivalent of what the Americans call “separation of powers”.

How much more illegal can one be.

27. The good observation has been made by some keen observers of the political arena that Thorne and Yearwood are visibly operating with separate tactics. Even a look at people selected to speak at party meetings etc. The patience of the public is wearing thin. It is why PM Mottley has a double digit margin of error with which to operate.

28. David, reminds me of the ‘old saying,’ ‘actions speak louder than words.’ Despite Durant praying for ‘unity’ and Yearwood and Thorne appearing in public like ‘bossom buddies,’ the reality is the DEMS remain divided, which the goodly reverend essentially admitted. Someone should’ve encouraged Yearwood to attend the celebrations when Thorne submitted his application to rejoin the DLP. However, I also realised the different approach by both men in their response to various issues raise in the ‘Budget.’ Perhaps the DEMS should hire Tron as their communications specialist.

29. @Artax

Agreed, although check Steve Blackett’s vibes. It is unusual to see the President involved on the political side of things. The DLP is continuing to confuse the public. The BLP will continue to be the beneficiary.

30. Oh, another thing, David. Seems as though the decision to buy those BYD electric buses was not as good as we were led to believe. I was told by a reliable source that a few of them are parked at Mangrove Depot, the roof of one collapsing due to the weight of the battery. The construct of those units make them unsuitable for Barbados roads, since they do not have shocks, but ‘air bags.’ TB’s culture is, buses parking at Mangrove are usually scrapped for parts. Sometime during 2000, fifteen (15) HINO Road Rangers [BM2 – BM15], were purchased for TB. At as today’s date, ALL have been scrapped. Yet, the HINOs purchased by PSV owners prior to 2000 are still in operation. Bear in mind, TB has access to more financial resources than the average mini bus owners.

31. Artax you should consider fleshing out your comment and send to blogmaster’s email or contact form on the sidebar. It is worthy of discussion ion a separate blog? blogmastwer can add to it if required.

32. Another thing is, rather than use the site created by demolishing the old NIS Building, fire service headquarters and Golden Square market…. to construct a large multi-purpose market to accomodate a wide variety of entrepreneurs, the current BLP administration decided to build an unecessary park to accomodate vagrants.

33. Listening to Senator Liz Thompson in her contribution to the debate today. It is totally dishonest to proclaim the BLP has done a wonderful job reducing the debt when it was in large measure due to the 2018 haircut. Senator please change the rhetoric!

34. Reminds me of the new Fairchild Street market. Originally, those persons (many of whom are Guyanese), who illegally built stalls on the old Fairchild Street market compound, where they sold food and beverages without health certificates and liquor licenses, were INELIGIBLE to receive stalls in the new market. However, at least 80% of those stalls were allocated to Guyanese, including ALL the ‘ineligible’ illegal vendors, at the expense of Barbadians who applied. The market has been renamed ‘Georgetown.’

35. David, perhaps Liz should tell us what benefits poor Barbadians derived from all those loans. There hasn’t been any improvement in garbage collection, public transportation or health services. Roads are being resurfaced because of the T20 WC. It is extremely difficult for a 60 year old individual to gain employment. Any unemployed person at that age who opts for early retirement, but pension is $254 per week, has to wait until he/she is 67 years old to receive pension. Without a job or any other form of income, how is that person to survive for SEVEN (7) YEARS?

36. Religion in Politics
    People polled do not have any issues with Christians per se, but do have issues with preachy arrogant big shot politicians riding the religious bandwagon for votes.
    Reading between the lines, Ralph is aiming for the old school old aged misogynist homophobic “Christians” and will make Barbados look backwards. To the rest of the modern world, the DLP are not correct.

37. 555

Yuh right!

Dey can’t beat Mottley with that foolishness.

And if dey put up a good pretense they must commit at least a certain level of crime as par for the political course.

Meaning, spending more per voter than the law allows. Even Caswell could tell them that.

Talking about Caswell. We’ll wonder how he can square the moral circle being in bed with these criminal Christians.

38. The blogmaster made it clear that the far right Christians have a right to be nuisances. Truth be told, it’s just Jezebel Baird in a different face paint and string of pearls. Good luck.🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

39. PM at work.

40. William Skinne Avatar

@ Pacha
    Appealing to the Christian faith is standard fare for our politicians :

2018 EASTER MESSAGE FROM THE HON. MIA A. MOTTLEY, Q.C., M.P. POLITICAL LEADER OF THE BARBADOS LABOUR PARTY

In Barbados and all across the Christian world, people of faith are today celebrating the risen Christ.

Easter, symbolizes the triumph of good over evil and our capacity to overcome the pain, despair and dark forces that threaten our lives. It encourages us in our most difficult of times, to find our faith and accept God’s will for our lives. One can only wonder at the pain of Jesus’ mother and disciples as they stood, watching him die. Yet, the story does not end there, but with the triumph and joy of the resurrection and with it, our redemption.

What I have always found fascinating about the Easter story, is that after his resurrection, Jesus appeared first and delivered the news of the miracle of his Resurrection to Mary Magdalene. Just as simple shepherds in the fields, were the first to whom the angels appeared to tell of Jesus’ birth, this was yet another example of the way in which God shows confidence in “ordinary” people and entrusts them with great things. It continues to be a potent reminder that we all have a role and value in the eyes of God. At its core, the Easter story is about the transformation that takes place in our lives when we have an encounter with God and submit to His will.

Despite Barbados’ current circumstances, the Easter story provides hope for us as a nation. It tells us that even though we are in the throes of difficulty, even though economic darkness surrounds us, social deprivation distresses us, a lack of security envelopes us, and fear of the future threatens our lives and stability, we must not despair. We must have faith that the God of the ages is still able to transform our circumstances in His time and all we must do is wait and act in accordance with His will.

The observance of Easter 2018 takes place at a time when many have felt that our country is having “a wilderness experience” that challenges our faith and fortitude as a people. As Barbados fell from the top spot in every regional and international, social and economic indicator, as our daily lives became more difficult, crime worsened and our economy tilted precariously, Barbadians have experienced a deep sense of drift, fear and the sensation that we have become unhooked from all that we knew, expected and hoped for ourselves, our families and our country. How lost the disciples and the women who loved Jesus must have felt as their Master and anchor was tortured and crucified. How afraid for their future they must have been.

In many respects, there is a parable here for us. Some may say that we stand where the disciples stood, powerless and afraid, but for the resurrection and its message of hope. Let us as a nation, accept with certainty, the power of God to intervene in our personal circumstances and those of our country. Let us also have confidence in His purpose and faith that God’s will, will be done.

This Easter, we cling to our faith and the certain knowledge that God is still our guide and on our side and that no matter how long and dark the night, joy comes in the morning.

We celebrate the risen Christ and await our political release and national renaissance.

A blessed Easter to all, on behalf of the entire Barbados Labour Party family and my own family.

So, is Thorne is keeping a tradition ?

Loading…

41. There is a huge difference between acknowledging our Christian moorings and forming “a coalition of the righteous”!

A HUGE difference!

42. For the religiously hearing impaired – one sounds like an Anglican sermon, calling for introspection and reflection. The other sounds like a Pentacostal sermon whipping up an emotional storm to get you “in de Spirit”.

“A coalition of the righteous.” An alliance between a political party and googly-eyed Christians, convinced of their exclusive rightness, immune to reasoning, different opinions, different beliefs, different denominations, different faiths.

You think you have a dictatorship now. You ain’t seen nothing yet!

43. Correction – PENTECOSTAL

44. DLP and BLP are both claiming they follow the God Way

Does God bless and endorse Ralph or Mia more?

So Much Things To Say/Lyrics

They got so much things to say right (now)
    They got so much things to say
    Hey, but I’ll never forget, no way
    They crucified Jessus Christ
    I’ll never forget, no way
    They sold Marcus Garvey for rice, ooh
    I’ll never forget, no way
    They turned their backs on Paul Bogle, hey, hey
    So don’t you forget, no you
    Who you are and where you stand in the struggle

AMEN Beyoncé

[Chorus]
    Mercy on me, baby, have mercy on me (Mercy, mercy)
    Hurtin’ badly, I can see you’re hurtin’ badly
    Hurtin’, hurtin’, hey
    Mercy on me, baby, have mercy on me (Mercy, mercy)
    I see you hurtin’, see you, please, have mercy on me (Oh-oh, ooh)
    (Mercy, mercy)

[Verse]
    This house was built with blood and bone
    And it crumbled, yes, it crumbled
    The statues they made were beautiful
    But they were lies of stone, they werе lies of stone
    Trumpets blarе with silent sound
    I need to make you proud
    Tell me, can you hear me now?

45. Mia Vs Ralph: The Movie
    The New Republic of Barbados is like Barbie Land a location in Barbie: The Movie, where there is a battle raging between the Matriarchy and Patriarchy plot line.

46. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Whoever “…and said that only 131 housing solutions were available.”

I int too bright. I don’t like Orwellian language. So what does it mean when a person says “housing solutions available”

Does it mean that people have received the keys? That the utilities have been turned on? That the people can bring in their beds, and stoves and fridges? Can hang up their curtains? Can begin cooking?

Can somebody please explain in plain English?

47. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Pachamama March 27, 2024 at 1:55 pm “Well, there was the dis-establishment of the church in the 1960s or 70s.”

“For the purposes of the Anglican Church Act, the 1st day of April, 1969 is hereby appointed as the day on which the Anglican Church shall cease to be the established Church.”

But since April 1st is All Fools Day, maybe it was a joke, and maybe there has been no separation between the church and state in Barbados for the past 55 years TODAY.

48. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

David March 27, 2024 at 5:56 pm “The DLP is continuing to confuse the public.”

The public is not confused. The public is clear that the DLP is confused.
    We the public will listen to the DLP when it becomes clear that they have sorted out themselves.

49. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Donna March 27, 2024 at 7:01 am “…I have listened to RalphThorne and his “Coalition of the Righteous” speech. ”

Hi Donna: Can you or anybody post a link to the “Coalition of the Righteous Speech”

Thanks.