Owen said that land must fetch its highest economic price.

Submitted by Observing

Prime Minister Mia Mottley

Back in 2003 Owen Arthur touted the Pierhead Marina Development Plan. For some this was a visionary idea, for others in the years after it was a chance to get out licking. 20 years later a flurry of activity has indicated that investment development on the island’s south-west corridor is back at an all systems go stage

Savvy on the Beach
Not much more that can be said here that hasn’t already been ventilated. It is absolutely clear though that Kinch must go.

Marina shops
These shops were slowly shuttered up over a few years. A recent article with the owner of Marina Restaurant who was locked out in 2020 confirms that it too is time for him to go. Miss Daisy has spoken.

Cavans Lane renters
Though two remaining renters have vowed to fight their “sudden” eviction, they know they are only renting and they will have to go. A public notice has also confirmed that the next four years will see the entire area transformed.

Barbados Defence Force
The PM flew a kite when she hinted that BDF HQ “may” have to move. But, it is clear from the overall plan that it HAS to move. Just a matter of when.

Mrs. Ram
This property was compulsorily acquired and continues to be a battle. Hyatt will now take its place. Like it or not, this may be the way things are done moving forward.

Geriatric Hospital
This staple on Beckles Road will soon be no more, in an effort to replace it a Conference Centre and mixed facility to replace LESC which will soon be entirely in the hands of someone other than “us.”

Beckles Hill residents
These folk have been informed that they will be moved “soon.” The long promised town hall to discuss it has not yet materialised but, with construction in Waterford already started it’s only a matter of time. Their space is needed.

Now for clarity, this is not intended to be a criticism (that’s for you Artax). Instead it hopefully serves to highlight and connect some dots. Development is good when done well. It can bring much needed investment, employment and economic activity. The investment plan for the entire stretch of town to Harts Gap is unbelievably ambitious and will change that entire landscape in MAJOR way. But some features of progress should always merit attention

1. The lack of open communication with the public and potentially impacted stakeholders about the overall plan

2. The need for thoughtful consideration or involvement of persons who made this stretch their homes, their workspaces and their own investment.

3. The usual concerns raised about “how” and “by who” these projects are being done

4. Ongoing debate about a Government’s right to acquire any property it deems necessary for “public” purposes (a la Mrs. Ram and others).

Gabby sang “that beach is mine,” at the end of the day we would like to think that Barbados belongs to all of us.

Owen said that land must fetch its highest economic price. Agreed or not, this mantra resulted in alot of people being left without a piece of the rock..

David [Thompson] said it’s more than an economy, it’s a society. But, we must ask in 2023 what type of society do we have? Do we want?

Freundel said…well…nothing much.

Mia has a vision, but let’s hope that alot more persons don’t get left behind, placed on the side or booted out in the name of “visionary progress.”

Link to Investment Opportunities

185 responses to “Development by any means necessary”

1. Yuh dun know that as long as somebody say something NEGATIVE bout Barbados, Bush Tea gine AGREE with them.

2. Life is a bitch and then you kick the bucket like long shot down a Caymanas Park race track

The popular horse Long Shot died during a race while hugging the rail down the last straight, inspiring the hit song โ€˜Long Shot kicked the bucketโ€™

Long shot… I like um. Great stuff.

3. NEGATIVITY from three people that believe them got more sense than everybody. TLSN, Bush Tea and William Skinner, the political failure.

4. @longshot
    Just for you baby

They told me life is a bitch and i didn’t believe, then life bit me right in the ass like only a bitch could. I was mad at them for warning me about life and not about my wife.

— Some old time comics had their routine as just one liners —

( Don’t confuse reality with BS.
    Miss TheO is a good woman…
    A good woman is hard to find, and worth far more than diamonds. Her husband trusts her without reserve, and never has reason to regret it.)

5. “Building hotels will not revitalise any of these port towns because if current trends continue there wonโ€™t be the disposable income for people to take holidays in what is an overpriced destination.”

“I suggest all take a look at page 6 of Barbados Today and read the comments of the BHTA boss. 60,000 tourist needed a month to be be viable and we had 30,000 odd in June. Summer occupancy struggles to clear 50 percent, yet we hanging our future on tourism and building more hotels.”

————————————————————————————————–

Both ah wunna need to be more granular with your analysis. These arguments are thin. For example which hotels/accommodation are scrambling to get 60% and why? Are any of the new hotels proposed similar to those scrambling?

6. I admire folks like John A and a few others who try to right the ship.

Alas, they are all mad … doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results.

The captain does not listen and the one crew member on deck thinks ” wunna need to be more granular with your analysis. These arguments are thin”.

How many ways can he say “wunna stupid”? I think wunna mad.

7. A PESSIMIST sees a dark tunnel
    An OPTIMIST sees light at the end of the tunnel

A REALIST sees a freight train

The TRAIN driver sees 3 idiots standing on the tracks

8. @enuff

You will agree our tourism product needs a revamp? A compelling product and expanding accommodation should go hand in hand?

9. I aqree with you, David. It does not make sense increasing the hotel stock, while relying on the old, worn out 1950s or 60s slogan, ‘sand, sea and sun.’ Antigua, for example, has 365 beaches. Tourism authorities seem to believe by constructing more hotels and creating several tourism corridors, would somehow influence tourists to visit the island, under circumstances where Barbados is an expensive destination, without a viable tourism product.

10. @ Enuf

The BTA boss man said that THEIR June occupancy barely cleared 30%. Now the last time I checked the BTA was made up of the majority of hotels on this island. So if the AVERAGE was 30 plus a few points, well cuhdear that means some would be 80%, but guess what some could of been 10% too!

One song does not a swallow make my friend and that is why a percentage is so critical of total membership. It throws out the highs and the lows and speaks to the total gross average of the body.

So no problem if you say some was 80% I could say some was 10% and we both be right. The average however would still be 30% or what ever it was.

11. David
    And what does new, modern hotels represent, if not a revampment? That’s why I asked which hotels are struggling and why? Dated, low star properties? The redevelopment of the Oistins site would be another master stroke. Just imagine what another hotel that stitches Abidah and Little Arches and Oistins together would do for Oistins, especially if govt can get private developers to fund the hotel, a replacement civic centre, bus terminal, improved beach access and facilities etc? Sit down Winstons! Y’all ain’t ready.

12. @Enuff

The point was about improving the product to support the sector. When tourists visit where are the amusement parks and other attractions? Still contemplating casinos?

13. They are hotels than need work of course. But that does not mean the occupancy figures support more hotel rooms. The BTA boss made it clear that hotels can not survive on these summer occupancies and the 4 winter months can not carry the sector.

So what part of that speaks to a need for more rooms? What can be done to bolster arrivals in the summer would be a better question to ask? What bank would lend money now to a hotel that can not clear an annual occupancy of 60%, but can only fill 3 out of every 10 rooms for 5 months of the year?

We hear all the time ” flights full”, no doubt as jumbos have all been replaced by smaller planes. We complain constantly about airlift so even if you got more visitors how wunna bringing them here?

Look talk cheap but any Banker or accountant looking at this situation would say ” don’t see any headroom to support a loan sorry.”.

14. Think about it a more simple way based on this example.

Suppose a store owner in Bridgetown went to a banker and said ” my store is busting in December I need a loan to expand, don’t mind 6 months of the year it so empty you could run rats through it and it don’t sell enough to even cover the rent.”

It is a simplistic way of looking at it yes, but the problem with a business that exists on major peaks and troughs, is that if anything happens in the 4 peak months globally you tail bust!

I keep saying we have learnt nothing from covid and there is no bolder example of this than the myopic way we view our economic growth going forward.

15. @ Theo

Thanks for your kind words and to some I may come across as a pessimist, however that is far from the truth. It’s just decisions should not be made based on belief without being supported by data. This data must also have a historic factor, a current factor and a projection that takes into account ALL factors.

I feel our biggest potential for growth and FX retention lies in agriculture. Not however the old way of ” let all we plant the same thing and create a glut”, but a structured approach based on a close analysis of our import bill for food. We then identify the items we can grow locally and target them as a start. If greenhouses are needed we build them. Every dollar in Fx this saves is a dollar less we need from toursim. I am not saying to turn your back on tourism, by no means should we do that. After all Toyota did not build the Corolla and stop there did they?

16. @John A

You are aware the experts say we donโ€™t have the scale to move the forex needle in a material way? The blogmaster will leave that debate to the experts.

17. @ David

We don’t have to move it in a big way. What this does is help. It also helps with employment and improves our food security.

We then look at another sector and try to do the same there.

18. John A, I know you won’t respond because you dismiss certain people who question your suggestions. But, I’ll ask you three questions. Who do you propose should build the green houses, farmers through special financial arrangements, or the state? How would you go about implementing the ‘agricultural model’ you’ve been articulating? What methods would you use to motivate people into farming, since such a task requires much more than mentioning the food import bill and saving foreign exchange. I am not against agriculture.

19. Development by any means is anti-development.

Has always been.

Certainly not all developments add value to the general community.

They never seem to create the critical mass of circulary flows before exiting in order to aid real growth, mass community development.

The abundance of evidence clearly shows this. Inspite of the same promises being made, decade after decade, by the Mottley type about growth, wealth spread and the like.

Indeed, such “developments” overwhelmingly serve to extract higher than surplus value, never tiring of so doing and leads to more poverty.

In these circumstances, government is the vehicle for the transfer of assets to corporates. Transfers outside of the country by means of a wide range of concessions.

Is this not the current stanza in relationship to the socalled third world and the West. Generally, peoples of colour, on the one hand, against Whites.

Recall, that socalled third world or developing countries, after decades of “development”, still suffer increasingly escalating net outflows of resources.

It’s an arithmetic which never loses It’s stock value!

This has not occurred by accident, happenstance, a force of nature, some innately recessive disposition of countries from the South.

It represents a construct, to which Mottley and crew are still firmly wedded. As new memes like Orange, blue and green socalled economies serve well to mislead.

These forces even today meet on the battlefield of Ukraine, in the South China Sea, in the French colonies in Afrika and elsewhere.

The liars about our centuries old anti-development are seeking to keep this game going.

What is generally referred to as development represents just another trick from the quiver of Whitey.

It sits well along with other deadly weapons like Christianity, democracy, freedom, wokeism and capitalism itself.

Tell us this. If we were about development, as a genuine plan, then why would we never cease from moving poor people who sit on attractive lands to free them up for others.

Why could these same poor people, and others, not be partners in such projects, so that they can truly benefit from the fortune of sitting on a fortune?

Only the big, mushroom-headed, deckie can cure these maladies!

20. We actually once managed our land to be able to plant, harvest and process cane.

More small farmers had land back then than now and they too also grew cane.

The critical mass for sugar was placed at 30,000 acres. Below that it made no sense.

Take a look at what 1951 looked like vs today.

Here is the heart of St. George, Jordans Plantation and nearby smallholdings.

No one seems to realise that our agricultural output has dropped because small holders have been able to get permissions for change of use.

All, or mostly all small holders have cut up and sold off their land.

It makes no sense putting small areas of land into the hands of the “poor black man, ….. or white man”!!

We are screwed because our thinking is screwed.

https://imgur.com/6cEt1by

https://imgur.com/owxvCW3

21. It is the poor black man that has sold out Barbados!!

22. Look at Skeete’s Bay.

Again, the same Modue Operandi is evident.

The smallholders from 1951 and their descendants sold out, converted their land to housing and cash, blew the cash and now their descendants squeal about land for the landless.

Smallholders controlled more of Barbados in 1951 than people think.

Once they come out of agriculture, then the critical mass for sugar acreage is approached because of the sizeable amount of land they controlled.

https://imgur.com/vPvh4Ph

https://imgur.com/kBczSJP

23. David, my comments on agriculture is based on observation. People seem reluctant to become involved in farming. Therefore, methods must be developed to motivate them. Both the ‘Guyanese initiative’ of the early 2000s and government’s ‘land for the landless’ project are two examples of failure. The land in Pine Basic is over run with bush, so too are other lands allocated to that project. Plantation lands at Adams Castle and Black Bess are being divided and sold as house spots. All I am ‘saying’ is there needs to be a serious dicussion about agriculture.

24. Unfortunately, nothing will grow on concrete!!

The “small black man” mentality has practically destroyed agriculture in Barbados.

25. @ Artax

I don’t think I dismiss arguments I just like them supported by facts.

Your question is a fair one to ask. We have a large area of arable land being held in the state land bank. What I am suggesting is you take the best of it and enter into a green house project that could fall under the NCC for example. The state would build the green houses say 3 sizes, 1000 sq ft, 5000 sq ft and the largest one being 10000 sq ft to start with. They would then supply water to these green houses. Once this is done you then offer them for rent based on a price per sq ft. Water would then be based on usage.

They are many out there who still like agriculture. They are so many groups out there of small farmers that I believe would pick this offer up, if it was offered. The cost of a green house though is prohibited in many cases. The NCC could then supply the inputs like seed, fertiliser etc to the farmers at a direct price, hence making the whole operation a one stop shop.

I mean we got to bring the Guyanese now to show us how to grow food? I am not saying Artax it would not have some challenges, but we can’t just say this can’t work and continue to buy American tomatoes.

26. โ€œMen at some time are masters of their fates: The fault, dear Brutus, is not in our stars, but in ourselves, that we are underlingsโ€.

Liking agriculture and growing on a scale we used to grow are two different things.

Cane should be used as a cover crop once we meet the demand for molasses,

Cane makes it easier to keep the land in good husbandry at a large scale.

Crop rotation can then produce food.

27. Remember too every major agricultural based economy overseas is subsidised by their government in some way. Maybe on the green house project I am proposing water could be free, or fertilizer free, some assistance could be offered to encourage the entity in terms of offering a competitive edge to the tenants there.

I just feel with help people out there would be willing to make a go of it. For many years did we not support a sugar industry? Let’s start say with one project consisting of 36 greenhouses of various sizes and see what happens. Also fence it with a 6 ft fence and razor wire with motion lights and place a gate at the front with digital entry that one can change monthly. That way you lock out those that thief or tenants that don’t pay on time..

28. @ John

You have way more experience in this than me so I will take your guidance here. I just feel a greenhouse project would work. Especially if we focused on crops that are washed out with heavy rain fall and other items we currently import, that could now be locally grown with a proper green house program.

29. wishing hoping and deaming.

” Already struggling to fill the more than 5 200 hotel room stock on island, Barbados is set to get over 1 280 additional rooms in the coming months โ€“ from the 422-room Wyndham Grand Sam Lordโ€™s Castle Resort, 131-room Hotel Indigo, 120-room Pendry Barbados, 380-room Hyatt Ziva and the 230-room Royalton Resorts”

30. David
    Ain’t y’all cuss Chukka and the Caves? And yes the attractions need updating but I think Bdos’ strength would be tge historic attractions coupled with boutique and contemporary styled hotels/villas, restaurants and high-end shopping. Remember spend not visitor numbers matter.

31. โ€œ…..It sits well along with other deadly weapons like Christianity, democracy, freedom, wokeism and capitalism itself.โ€
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    99% right!
    BUT…
    Trust Pacha to start off with the โ€˜weapon’ that stands us in the best stead of winning the REAL battle, (Christianity) …and completely ignoring the one that is most responsible for our demise… (eddykashun).

32. @Enuff

Nobody cussed the Caves as you say except to highlight lack of timely financials. What some questioned is why the management of the Caves had to be outsourced.

33. @ David on September 19, 2023 at 4:53 PM said:

โ€œ@Enuff
    Nobody cussed the Caves as you say except to highlight lack of timely financials. What some questioned is why the management of the Caves had to be outsourced.โ€

Every SOE of a ‘commercial’ nature will be outsourced under the existing IMF programme. The Caves of Barbados just happened to be easy pickings.

The country is in the tight grasp of the IMF loan-shark jaws and whoever is shoring up Barbadosโ€™s Balance of Payments will be calling the fireside-sale song.

It would be most interesting to hear what that Mr. big โ€˜Enuffโ€™ is going say to justify the coming โ€˜forced divestmentโ€™ of the BWA.

BTW, Blogmaster, your captioned depiction of that fancy-looking Merc is rather apt in showing a country really living above its means.

Do you know where the driver of that sleek-looking Benz is still employed as the Sales (and marketing) Director of that pie-in-the sky called the Hyatt Dream-of-a Skyscraper?

How many years have gone by since that Sales Director of a ghost has been working on lower Bay Street erecting paling?

Maybe itโ€™s time to replace that duty-free Merc with an electric model at no cost to taxpayers, donโ€™t you think?

34. Alright Bushie

Then ask your Boss man to mek Putin put Pacha in charge for 5 minutes.

You will have a personal insurance policy. LOL

35. @Miller

MAM2 is still seen zooming around the streets of Barbados in the duty free Merc.

36. Take a look at Coogle Earth and you will see many greenhouse projects.

Drive by Brighton in St. George and you will see many.

Stop in at the Farmer’s Market open every Saturday morning at the said Brighton.

Drive around and look at the number of fields planted in canes to meet the November rains.

Hard to imagine sugar is supposed to be dead!!

37. @ John

Yes I see them but they are all privately owned by people that can afford to build them. It’s the smaller farmer that need a help up..

38. Okay, John A, you’ve provided the forum with a clear explanation of your ideas. One of the problems we have in Barbados, which I’ve mentioned on several occasions, is allowing foregn owned companies to control certain sectors of the economy. Massy, for exmple, is involved in manufaturing, wholesale and retail. They could manufacture products cheaply in Trinidad, use CARICOM arrangements to import them, which are sold to other wholsalers for redistribution or to the consumer via Massy owned retail stores…… all at the expense of locally manufactured products. The average consumer is more price conscious than patriotic, and would purchase a cheaper TT brand seasoning, rather than ‘Star’ or ‘Aunt May.’ Massy, PriceSmart, ShopSmart, Cost-U-Less etc, import vegetables, poultry, pork, beef and lamb. Herein lies a problem for local farmers. Government subsides, which is what your green house initiative essentially suggests, would reduce operating costs, thereby reducing prices and creating a competative agricultural environment.

39. I don’t think it is as simple as building a greenhouse and growing produce.

If you look at the plantations where you see greenhouses, e.g. Claybury and Brighton, you will see there are many fields which are also productive.

Farming is probably the hardest activity to get right.

Weather can destroy all your efforts in days.

So, it would not be sensible for a small holder to have his eggs in one basket unless he knows exactly what he is doing and has a market for his produce.

Again, look at Google earth and view River in St. Philip.

40. @enuff
    When the RFP, Expression of Interest ( or whatever it was called) was issued, there were NO FINANCIALS. Then in a short time, like magic, many (possibly all) of the missing Annual Reports appeared. No talk about cash vs accrual accounting methods as the public is fed for so many others missing AR’s.
    They showed, amongst other things, that annual GoB Grants to the Caves exceeded revenue!!!
    While I am only aware of a single other potential bidder (I say that because I never saw their bid nor can confirm it was submitted) it was an “open secret” that Chukkah had this one ‘covered’ (whatever that meant).
    Any negative comments were the typical ‘a Bajan firm ain’t get it’.
    Offloading it seemed a wise thing to do.

41. Off topic

How does a country that claims to value education so much muck up the appointment of principals and deputies by naming them to new schools on the first day of school.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2023/09/19/bstu-but-bappss-complain-principals-deputies-informed-of-transfers-less-than-24-hours-before-school-began/

42. John, it is extremely disappointing that you’ve spoilt what has so far, been your excellent ‘run’ of some very interesting and informative contributions…… with shiite. I’m hoping the blogmaster ‘saves you from yourself,’ and even more so before the ‘bat signal’ illuminates the sky.

43. John A suggests where there is a will there is a way.

Growing vegetables on the rooftops of worldโ€™s most densely populated country

By Lola Senoble

Published on 13 November 2020

3minutes read

Terre de Monaco

With over 19,000 people per square kilometer, Monaco has one of the highest population densities in the world, making a less than ideal place for farming. Yet Terre de Monaco has defied the odds. The urban agriculture company currently exploits 1,600 mยฒ of arable land in a country with an area just over two square kilometers.

As Jessica Sbaraglia knows well, to grow fruits and vegetables in Monaco, you need to start from the top. And that is exactly what Terre de Monaco does. Specialised in urban agriculture, the company installs vegetable farms on the roofs of Monacoโ€™s buildings.

Terre de Monaco was founded in 2016. โ€œSix years ago, I shut down my first company and underwent a bit of an existential crisis. What is my purpose in life, what sort of values should I embody?โ€ says Jessica Sbaraglia, who was born in Switzerland.

That taste, Iโ€™ve never been able to find anywhere else

Bringing permaculture to Monaco

It was then that she remembered her parentsโ€™ vegetable garden, its fruit and vegetables, and their exceptional taste. โ€œThat taste, Iโ€™ve never been able to find anywhere else,โ€ she says. So, she starts a vegetable garden on her balcony, to โ€œtherapeutic, relaxing and rewardingโ€ effects

But soon enough, Jessica Sbaraglia runs out of space. Itโ€™s when she starts to โ€œcoloniseโ€ her neighboursโ€™ balconies that she comes up with the idea for Terres de Monaco. Her new company will farm Monacoโ€™s roofs. โ€œThey didnโ€™t know what to do with me. They thought my ambitions a bit ridiculous. They thought it wouldnโ€™t work, that there was no room,โ€ she says.

Zero carbon, zero waste

Today, Terre de Monaco grows fruits and vegetables on five different buildings. Thereโ€™s a  400 mยฒ vegetable garden on The Monte-Carlo Bay, whose produce goes straight into the kitchens of starred chef Marcel Ravin. A second vegetable garden is on the Tour Odรฉon, which is now home to 450mยฒ of farmland, as well as 60 hens*, ten beehives, and about thirty fruit trees. Terres de Monaco has also set up vegetable gardens on the 14th floor of the Ruscino residence and on the roof of the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation, as well as a therapeutic garden at the Princess Grace Hospital.

44. A lot more can be said about SAVVY on the bay and I will soon be saying it.
    Seems like government only wish to continue to fatten their pockets and pay high fees to law firms connected to them instead of acting responsibly with the tax payers dollars. They need to admit their mistakes like grown adults and settle the matter.
    So yes very soon I will have to speak again and this time it will be far more shocking than the stop notice and I will back it with documents.
    They wish to play fast and loose with taxpayer dollars and whilst letting this drag on will in the end result for more $$$$$ for Mr Kinch we know those $$$$$ come from Tax payers. I am NOT satisfied for the Barbadian public to continue to have to pay for the kindergarten level mistakes that are being made and have been made by these politicians for years.

45. @ Sarah

Looking forward to reading more as what I have see so far has left me a bit confused. The lawyer part especially where they bought land from not the owner got me.

46. Donks, Gripe,and Josh Avatar
    Donks, Gripe,and Josh

Sarah Taylor nonstop writings reveal the thinking of our minority white community. This isn’t racism every country has its officially recognized different races.
    In Barbados blacks and whites generally live in ‘peace.’ There’s minimal interaction outside of work an uneasy acceptance of you stay on your corner I stay in mine. Whites have Cattle wash lime. Blacks run the rum shops.

Years ago, Sir Hilary Beckles stated there is a white subculture with a white sub economy in Barbados. He was caught up in the Mutual affair. Sarah Taylor’s comments daresay obsession with Savvy’s neighbors’ special treatment is of interest because they are all Bajan whites (not the much-maligned foreigners buying up the place).

She speaks to $$$$$$$$ Kinch could gain the longer the savvy battle drags on. It begs the question is the white subculture in fierce competition among themselves who is the richest or can be the richest in Barbados. Mind you in a so-called capitalist democracy there’s nothing illegal about wanting a Rihanna bank account.

Dipsy doodling with Sir Hillary subculture the fight to be the richest rages. National treasury, social cohesion, equitable wealth distribution be damned. This raging struggle to be ‘the richest’ isn’t widespread among the black population. There are tens of thousands of ambitious blacks wanting as much $$$$$$$$$ as they can acquire. The bitter internal competition to be the richest isn’t there as it is within the community of whites. Sarah Taylor writings seem to indicate such.

47. Donks, Gripe,and Josh on September 20, 2023 at 11:58 AM said:

Sarah Taylor nonstop writings reveal the thinking of our minority white community.

The disappearance of, accounting for or otherwise of part of the $241 million for Sam Lords reveals the thinking of our majority black elites.

$65 million worth!!

Driving the poor Auditor General mad!!

https://www.nationnews.com/2023/09/20/auditor-general-concerned-sam-lords-transactions/

48. I’s a good thing Four Seasons was nipped in the bud, but not before the disappearance of the title to the property with no consideration!!