Results as at 5AM (11/11/2022)

A close race in the 2022 US midterm elections. The forecast was for a red wave given Biden’s unpopular rating. What does the possible outcome mean for the rest of the world?

Follow @nytimes.com

422 responses to “US Midterm Elections is Close”

1. Republican’s have corrupted Politics and Supreme Court Legal System with pseudo religious bullshit making woman bear children like slavery days.
    Racism Populism offers nothing except White Scum everywhere.

2. This is Massive Avatar

Reelected Democratic Socialist New York Congresswoman Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez

Hippy Hooray

This is Massive
    Massive Dread

USA is progressive and regressive

In this moment in life
    which is part of lifelong life journey
    you have to be forward not backward
    and be on the right side which is the left side
    and not on the wrong side which is the right side far side

3. I am just sitting back and watching the show. It will be even funnier if Republicans win the House. Think of the wacky investigations we will get to watch! I hope Marjorie Taylor Greene(????) gets to wield a gavel as chairperson of some committee. Why not the “Impeach Biden Committee”? That would be a crazy ride of sound and fury signifying nothing!

It’ll be just for show because they will accomplish nothing. Even if they win the Senate they’ll not have the votes to convict. They will not have the votes to change a thing. And Biden has the veto!

Biden pushed significant legislation through already.

The fact that there is no red wave, bucking the usual midterm trend, suggests that Republicans may win the battle, but the war is up for grabs.

All that has to happen is for inflation to right itself and a few thousand women to find themselves in a medical bind due to ridiculous abortion laws.

Democrats AND DEMOCRACY still have hope for 2024.

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, I am absolutely – to use an English term, as this is so out there – gobsmacked by the results thus far.

So when you say: “A close race in the 2022 US midterm elections. The forecast was for a red wave given Biden’s unpopular rating. What does the possible outcome mean for the rest of the world?” … I’ll suggest it means nothing and everything!!!!

In basic terms, it SEEMS as if Americans ‘independent voters’ (so called non registered Repubs or Dems) have attempted to say ‘stop this nonsense of lies and hijacking the system’. It SEEMS!

Even a cursory analysis on US elections shows that in recent times the opposition party demolishes the incumbent president’s party in the two years after his election … thus a Repub House victory was all but assured … and with ALL the serious issues like a war, struggling economy, a somewhat stodgy, older and gaffe-prone president surely a shellacking was expected, as you noted.

That it has not materialized is a shocker and we can but surmise (pending the full analyses) that INDEPENDENTS got truly scared on the Trump nonsense.

HOWEVER, all politics is local! … some folks who DENIED the elections of 2020 as totally fraudulent despite all evidence to the contrary have now WON to control and dismantle to their desires their state election’s process (WTH); Huckabee who slavishly adhered to lies as a WH executive but always cloaked herself in religious piety has won on that mantra of dishonesty to be her state Governor.

So what in hell does this election really say about anything!!!

Everything and nothing: folks will vote for whom they like based on local circumstances; honesty and integrity in politics continues to be irrelevant!!

5. 70 – 80% of the country polled claimed the country was headed in the wrong direction.

Yet, the vast majority of incumbents retained their seats. Seems weird!!

Crime

Inflation

Economy

Gender issues

Abortion

Immigration

etc etc.

Republicans seem to be about to regain control of the House which means they can cut the profligate spending and control the purse strings.

Senate is anybody’s guess.

Mitch was right.

6. A very interesting contest between Walker and Warnock. We are doomed.

7. Yes, but WHO did they think was taking it in the wrong direction? Maybe they dug a little deeper than you thought!

8. Of course, Mitch was right! Donald Trump chose bad candidates! Mitch is as unprincipled as Trump but smarter. He knows the loony limits. He knows exactly how many loonies are on the loose!

9. The simple truth is the US like others have become a very polarized place. It will probably get worse.

10. If the Republicans do control the House, they can bring articles of impeachment against Biden and Harris, strike at the head of the snake.

Would the Senate when presented with an open and shut case for impeachment refuse to convict?

My bet is it will, but who knows.

11. Donna on November 9, 2022 at 8:53 AM said:

Yes, but WHO did they think was taking it in the wrong direction? Maybe they dug a little deeper than you thought!

The party in control!!!

DUUUUUUUUUUUUUH!!

12. Cheer up, DPD! There are two more years for old farts to fall off the voting list and young progressives to take their places.

Trump is tarnished even more by these results. The monster grows weaker.

Maybe the spell can be broken and closet Rinos will eventually return to being themselves in public.

Not a great prospect but better than playing the Magat!

13. Another interesting stat, more whites voted and Hispanics voting exceeded blacks. It gets curiouser and curiouser. What does it portend for onlookers?

14. Perhaps they have educated themselves as to how many senate votes are needed to change laws except for budgetary matters.

Perhaps they now understand the filibuster.

Perhaps they now understand who CONTROLS the Supreme Court.

There is control and there is CONTROL.

This would explain the missing red wave.

P.S. The Senate has already demonstrated a willingness to reject slam dunk cases!

I look forward to watching the impeachment. Of course, the slam and the dunk will be missing, but I welcome any opportunity to watch Magats score in the opponent’s basket.

It will truly be a basket case!

Give Greene the gavel!

15. David
    on November 9, 2022 at 9:13 AM said:

Another interesting stat, more whites voted and Hispanics voting exceeded blacks. It gets curiouser and curiouser. What does it portend for onlookers?

Hispanics comprise the largest minority in America.

Most are Catholic so abortionists and gender benders are repugnant to them.

They came to the US to better themselves and provide opportunity for their children so the economy, inflation and crime will be vital to them.

Illegal immigration is hated by them as many of them came through legal channels as did most immigrants.

Not only did the Republican Party gain support from Hispanics, but also from Blacks.

The party that is the growing party in America is the Republican party, the Democrats are dying.

16. “As of 2020, White Americans are the racial and ethnic majority, with non-Hispanic whites representing 57.8% of the population. Hispanic and Latino Americans are the largest ethnic minority, comprising 18.7% of the population, while Black or African Americans are the largest racial minority, making up 12.1%.”

…. but we all know there is only one race.

17. Blacks didn’t get what they wanted wrt policing and criminal justice reform. Biden abandoned the voting rights bills with too little fight. The bills were dead anyway but….

If fewer blacks voted and more Hispanics AND whites voted and this is the close result, one would think that by becoming disillusioned, blacks have given up with the finish line in sight.

The moral of the story would then be, “Always finish the race! Sometimes the judges disqualify the front runner”

“The race is not for the swift but for he or she who endures till the end.”

Evolution is a slow process.

They have only themselves to blame but time enough to save themselves in 2024!

18. Here is why Biden needs to either step aside or be removed.

“A whopping two-thirds of Americans said in exit polls they hope Biden steps aside and gives up his bid for another term in the White House, according to the New York Post.”

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/politics/exit-polls-are-not-kind-to-president-biden/ar-AA13ThYv?ocid=msedgntp&pc=W069&cvid=87cf17525b2c44da9155d0db16309549

19. Then where is your red wave?????? You should have had a red wave!

What bullshit!

When the total number of votes counted are tallied, we’ll see who won the popular vote!

20. Musically speaking Avatar
    Musically speaking

Blacks are considered African Blacks and not American which is European
    Browns are considered Latino Browns and not American which is Cowboys
    One day the Blacks and Browns will outnumber the Gringos
    and everything will be funky with a drum and bass dance beat
    Musically speaking

21. I guess that a whopping 2/3 long to see their first non-white woman president for two years!
    Behold, PRESIDENT Kamala!

Murdaaaaaaaah!

22. Congrats to Wes Moore son of Jamaican immigrants for winning the top job in Maryland.

Moore is only the third black to win the Governor’s race in US history.

23. It is only obvious that Biden’s senior moments can only get worse by 2024 far less 2028.

I doubt Kamala could win. They had better play it safe with a younger, white male. Not the ones who ran last time. They could never win.

Josh Shapiro could be the all- white Obama!

24. This will tell you what will happen over time.

“The fertility rate in the United States in 2020 was 56.0 per 1,000 women ages 15-44. Of all live births in the United States during 2018-2020 (average), 23.7% were Hispanic, 52.1% were white, 15.2% were black, 0.8% were American Indian/Alaska Native and 6.8% were Asian/Pacific Islander.”

25. The midterm election is usually against the incumbent president. The results so far in this one says a lot about how the electorate feels. The usual rhetoric from John is stale.

26. David
    on November 9, 2022 at 10:11 AM said:

The midterm election is usually against the incumbent president. The results so far in this one says a lot about how the electorate feels. The usual rhetoric from John is stale.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Find an instance in the past where 2/3 of the population want their president gone.

There is no division as some people say!!

Incumbent presidents regardless of how they may be disliked don’t get called Brandon!!

There is a respect which they can expect.

Biden needs to go, either by resignation, Article 25 or impeachment.

… and the Democrats will not be putting Kamala in (out of the frying pan and into the fire)!!

Probably will cooperate in the impeachment of both and start with a fresh slate.

27. Donna on November 9, 2022 at 9:48 AM said:

Then where is your red wave?????? You should have had a red wave!

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Look at Florida!!!

… home of our own GP!!

28. @John
    Mitch was right
    ++++
    About what? About candidate quality that your hero Trump forced on the Republicans? How did that work out?

Now Trump is poised to announce his candidacy for Pres on the heels of a lacklustre performance by the Republicans and of course he is blaming others.

Can’t wait for him and DeSantis to go toe to toe and Trump said he knows more about DeSantis than anyone except DeSantis’ wife, to which the joke is………. Trump sounds like someone who has been reading stolen Gov’t reports in his basement.

Trump’s nickname for DeSantis….. DeSanctimonious

29. Sit back, relax and enjoy. The best show running!

30. Florida is where woke goes to die!!

The Democrats and their message are dying.

They got to change!!

31. Donna on November 9, 2022 at 9:23 AM said:

Give Greene the gavel!

Greene did better than DeSantis, she got just shy of 2/3 of her vote.

McCarthy did even better, he got 67.6% of his vote.

Tough decision but McCarthy will edge her out if Republicans regain control of the House.

And what will happen in Georgia if neither Warlock or Walker get 50.1% of the vote?

Come December 6, Georgia may determine control of the Senate!!!

My guess is there may be a completely different set of numbers we see, and Walker may win going away …. or Warlock.

That’s going to be a good one if it happens.

32. US Headlines

US Voters reject anti-abortion measures

US Voters reject election deniers who supports Trump’s false claim

Next chapter is “Lock Him Up!”

33. Except that NONE of what you suspect has ever come to pass!

2022 midterms and still no KRAKEN!

Now you drop bullshit about Democrats joining with Magats to impeach Biden.

Do you LIKE making yourself a fool of yourself?

If Biden’s senior moments become more than losing his way off a stage or the occasional slip of the tongue, his wife will tell him to resign. AND HE WILL!

But while people weren’t looking, Biden pushed through a significant portion of his agenda.

He is not significantly impaired at all. YET!

If Biden believes his running in 2024 is likely to result in a loss, I bet you he will not run again.

Kamala and her overly pronouned self will have to go through a primary. Somebody is going to challenge her and likely win. No need for any drastic moves.

I asked you about a red wave and you point to Florida?????? Really???????

EVERYBODY knows that the Hispanic vote is complex and varied. You cannot extrapolate from what happened in Florida.

I could say I love watching you make yourself look foolish but honestly I find it annoying, because I don’t believe you are that stupid.

FACT: The man you said was smarter than everybody else has taken his party down, AGAIN!

He has warned MINI TRUMP not to run in 2024.

If DeSantis scares off, Trump will lose it for Republicans AGAIN.

If DeSantis runs, Trump will tear him to shreds and slice off a slither of the base.

That slither may be all that Democrats need, provided that inflation levels out AND provided that they run a good candidate.

MAGA MADNESS has been soundly rejected in these midterms.

So…the man YOU thought was ahead of the game…well so much for your judgment.

P.S. FOR THE RECORD – I am not against transgenders remaking themselves. I am against the perpetual elongation of the acronyn LBGTQ etc etc etc. etc. I am against their demand that I relabel myself as some “cis-woman”. I am against having to consider a stupid barrifle of unnecessary terms, genders and pronouns.

There is such a thing as pushing too far and looking stupid.

34. The FIGHT for the Senate is down to 3 states. One would never have guessed it in our wildest dreams.

Trump did ask the electorate to hand the democrats ‘a humiliating rebuke’. Are we there yet? He will have to reword his speech next week.

35. Georgia going to runoff.

#madness

36. There you go.

There is a possibility the Republicans will control the House and Senate.

Be careful what you wish for.

The Kraken may be released sooner than you think.

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Donna, I wish I was as confident of that as you are … one key problem is that those young progressives (like AOC) are counter-faced by young conservatives (like Green) who are equally as strident.

As everyone with a reasoned perspective can see, the trumpet style – because of his ‘success’ over these last few years – will be repeated over and over. Indeed, as one pundit affirmed re De Santis: he has all the qualities the MAGA and other non-trumpian republicans love to invoke as it energizes their party but much LESS of the asinine baggage of the man; he is more formally educated and smarter.

To your point… a similiar unifying person, just like Obama – who does NOT embrace the stupid far left mantra – is required for the Democrats. REMEMBER that the Obama administration also have a great influx of people at the border but that admin ALSO deported MORE illegals than many of his predecessors combined.

Democrats absolutely need to better refine their illegal immigration policy and also clarify that although it’s sensible to respect the rights of transgendered folks that it CANNOT and does not mean that men can automatically ‘as if by magic’ be considered as women in sports or any other such endeavor when competing against a biological female. That’s simply madness and along with immigration will be their continued divisive electrocuting political ‘third rail’ !

38. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Of course, he is just repeating BS. Plain and simple this is a shambles for the Republican party … of course the Dems can’t gloat but politically this is bad for the opposition. He KNOWS that!

39. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, really re your comment that “The FIGHT for the Senate is down to 3 states. One would never have guessed it in our wildest dreams.”

Oh … the fight for the SENATE was ALWAYS going to be about a few states… the issue here is that some did not expect some of these states to be that big a toss up.

Remember Kelly was a special election short term elected pol and despite his very high positives and being the husband of a very popular congresswoman who was shot by a crazed political jackass his state has been constantly on the edge of the political knife.

And of course we have been here before with Georgia.
    What is surprising is that Walker has done what he did … considering ALL the negatives heaped on him! Warnock needs to be careful.

40. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Of course it’s the best show possible … too MUCH money is pumped into these US election cycles. one guy has a war chest of $200M, and that’s not De Santis although his is close to that … all over the freaking US the pols in tough races in Senate, in the House and Governors’ races are spending colossal amounts of money …. These people are expected to spend over $15 BILLION when it all done and dusted … that’s MADNESS³!!!

So fah sure, it’s sleezy, has lots of sexual high jinks, murder attempts and all the gossipy stuff that makes any ‘show’ utterly captivating, must watch entertainment!

BTW … I don’t expect that there is going to any REAL battle between Trump and De Junior! IF the governor DECIDES to run for pres in 2024 then a few things would have likely happened to diminish any real fight!

1) Mr 45 would have already been indicted by DOJ. The charges will be so compelling that although there would be no expectation of any custodial restriction on a conviction the MAGA folk will realize it’s time to cut the cord.

2) Mr 45 will have otherwise or additionally been indicted by the Georgia DA and that too will crimp his ability to actually be reelected!

3) But bottom line … if DeSantis moves ahead and challenges 45 then it means there has been a definitive rupture and the big-monied republican donors will surely line up behind the sensible choice rather than seek another round of trumpian BS!

Thus I see no REAL fight … lots of noise from the trumpets of course but if the gov MAKES that challenge then it should be a done deal!

41. The wave was a wavelet!

———————

Donald Trump and US midterms: How bad was his night?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-us-canada-63569844

42. Donna on November 9, 2022 at 9:48 AM said:

When the total number of votes counted are tallied, we’ll see who won the popular vote!

What we will also see is how many Americans, like Trump, believe the 2020 election was stolen.

Trump has a 73% success rate in his endorsements where success in these General elections is concerned.

Not bad for a guy who people claim told “the big lie” about the 2020 election being stolen!!

https://ballotpedia.org/Endorsements_by_Donald_Trump

43. Oh dear! Not only did I type “slither”, I did it twice!

“SLIVER!”

John is way off base with his “analysis” as usual!
    Enough of the wishful thinking and pretzology!

“Trumplethinskin” chose awful candidates in important, strategic races that could have been flipped. And they mostly lost! Don’t mind me! Ask Murtle the Turtle! A man who was there long before the Maga Moron and shall be there long after him. He’ll probably be there until HE decides to leave.

44. Also, Trump is popular with most Republicans who never make up 50% of voters. I don’t know where you get that he is so popular. He did not win the popular vote in 2016. He did not win the popular vote in 2020. Now after fomenting a violent insurrection, you think he has become more popular????

There are no credible polls to suggest that. If Trump was popular, Republicans would have run away with the midterms. After rabid gerrymandering and voter suppression, through inflation and fears of recession, here they are scratching around for victories.

Not even a “wavelet” just a ripple!

And no power to do anything but conduct highly hilarious “hearings”!

Give Greene the Gavel!

And call the “Gazpacho” police to lock Biden up!

She doesn’t even have the excuse of old age.

Perhaps we should put her brain cells in a PEACH TREE DISH and conduct a scientific study on premature aging.

By the way, how’s Wonton Bobo doing up in Colorado in a redistricted extra red stronghold?

And what’s this obsession with food? Gazpacho, Peach Tree dishes, wontons.

Perhaps these women are starving themselves to stay slim….and starving their brains as well! I may have solved the mystery!

Steupse, man! I dun wid you and your nonsense. You are a disgrace to your qualifications!

45. The Republicans seem to have the House and perhaps the Senate too.

If they get both what else could they ask for?

It is even possible for them to end up with 52 Senate seats although I don’t think they will.

… and they even threw away a House Seat in Alaska …. and therein lies a tale.

The Alaska House race exposes the two factions in the Republican party and the duplicity of Washington.

They will get a Senate seat from Alaska, (49) and possibly Nevada (50) and maybe even Arizona (51).

Georgia will be determined in the rerun so 52 is not impossible.

46. The US newsfeed is buzzing with the speculation that the Republics are moving on from Trump to the more DeSantis who plays his role better.

47. Trump is not young.

De Santis has almost 40 years on him.

Kari Lake was also mooted as a rising star in the party.

She may or may not win her election for Governor in Arizona.

Leave a Reply to TheOGazertsCancel reply