The member of parliament for St. Michael West Neil Rowe was this week charged with rape, it has been widely carried in the social and traditional media. The fact that statement details given to the Barbados Police Service (BPS) by the victim was leaked is also of interest. It is the second time in recent weeks the BPS has been accused of a breach in confidentiality. The blogmaster agrees with those who opine the BPS will find it challenging to carry out its job in the circumstances and must hastily address the matter.

Barbados Underground (BU) is a part of social media and has attracted its share of criticism since inception in 2007. The reason BU was conceptualized was in large measure due to a passive traditional media perceived to be in bed with the establishment. The traditional newsfeed was effectively moderated and sanitized. Along came the two headed social media monster- with the good and bad that it brings- and as they say the rest is history. 

The power of social media because of its convergence with ubiquitous technology has changed how information is consumed by the public. The use of social media is now seen as an outlet by citizens to share without vetting from gatekeepers of traditional newsfeeds and by extension those lurking in the shadows. Like any man made constructs, there will be misused by some. In fact, many of the so-called establishment dwellers inject information (misinformation) into the social media space to feed narrow interest. Fact!

To the crux of the matter. Unlike others who were present when the alleged incident occurred and have given themselves license to take sides in the matter, it would be constructive to have such persons and other so-called commentators address why leaks to social media occur. The Cahill leak to BU for example is thought to have helped to stoke public pressure on the government at the time and resulted in the project being scraped. There is a perception by some members of the public the social media space is unrestricted and therefore is better positioned to challenge the ‘establishment’. 

The question the blogmaster would like to have answered in the noise of the moment is why was the information leaked?

The blogmaster takes the opportunity to ask why has no head at the ministry of education and elsewhere – rolled yet as a result of the IDB mess up. Another case of short memories?

153 responses to “Why was the information leaked is the question”

1. Is Roger Forde representing the victim?

If he is it would seem unlikely that he would complain about the leaking.

Then again maybe the victim felt it was taking to long for the investigation and arrest to happen.

It is more likely the leak came from the diary direct and there is a political motivation.

But who knows.

2. The leaks speak a clear language: Here the opposition wants to harm our honourable government!

3. William Skinner Avatar

“ The Cahill leak to BU for example is thought to have helped to stoke public pressure on the government at the time and resulted in the project being scraped.”
    It is also believed that the leak under question forced the matter into the public domain and therefore stopped a cover up.
    So, leaks are leaks and they are all done for different reasons.
    Not too long ago there were leaks all over social media and elsewhere and we had things “ falling off the back of trucks”
    Short memories indeed. We sow what we reap.
    Drip……..drip….drip…….
    More to come
    Peace
    PS: Never encourage your dog to suck your Neighbour’s eggs; when your Neighbour no longer has eggs , he would suck yours…………

4. If things were known to be done professionally and fairly in Barbados, then there would be no need for leaks or even social media.
    The FACT is that most of those in authority are KNOWN to be dishonest, to be bribe-takers, and to be the puppets of dark shadows.
    Such leaks are therefore seen to be needed in order to neutralize the dark and growing EVIL that has overtaken the damn place.

The solution for those who are ‘innocent’ is to ALSO use social media to lay bare the facts to the public – to be publicly vetted and judged …. or to keep your ‘innocent’ donkeys quiet.

Bottom line..
    We have created a dark, evil, society, built on hate and greed and controlled by persons of questionable morals. We CANNOT expect to have ‘decent’ systems such as those we had when we could trust our leaders.

The damn leak was probably initiated by someone who is TOTALLY FRUSTRATED with the lotta shiite that people in high places get away with every damn day bout here…. including frustration with the shiite news media who would have made it FRONT PAGE news since Sept…. if it was about ‘John Doe’.

The WHOLE affair is actually a POX on the donkey of the shiite NEWS MEDIA.

The truth shall be shouted from the rooftops…
    What we actually need bout here is MORE SUCH LEAKS to bring pressure on the wickedness that has overtaken the place.
    GOOD DEEDS DO NOT FEAR LEAKS.

5. “Who knows where technology will take us?”
    NWO
    “Innovation always opens the door for robust feedback.”
    Fuck a NWO

Victim statement is now in public domain
    for allegations made about a public figure
    Court of Public Opinion will hold a biased Judiciary to Account
    re: Women’s Rights, Misogyny, Rape etc
    Check out Prince Andrew, Ghislaine Maxwell, Jeffrey Epstein

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, yes of course this leak, Cahill and all others serve useful purposes at the national political level, We have had them for our lifetime in various degrees of ‘validity’ so long may they continue!

I do not believe that Bajans in general need ro worry about ‘rape’ charges and other such matters being presented for public review like this UNLESS there is some political or other national interest at stake.

Police officers have sisters and mothers and male relatives too and in the ordinary course of life certainly would respect privacy at some level beyond the crass unprofessionalism exhibited!

But Bajans forever leaked tidbits anyhow… didn’t we all hear gossip on how Pele’s lover operated that night. If we had social media then it’s fair to say the gossip would have gone MUCH further, much quicker and maybe when the young lass bought her ‘one way ticket’ to US someone might have leaked that quicker too! 😎🤣

So the question is not ‘why was the info leaked’ but rather ‘why do they take so long these days to leak the really good details’! 😎

7. Kay could pull a Suella. After all it was recently promoted here that Westminster is the model. 🤣🤣

8. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Bottom line..
    We have created a dark, evil, society, built on hate and greed and controlled by persons of questionable morals. We CANNOT expect to have ‘decent’ systems such as those we had when we could trust our leaders.”

you NEVER had any leaders you could trust, NEVER had any decent systems, slave master systems have NEVER been decent and NEVER WILL BE…..they ran a SCAM ON THE POPULATION using slave politics and no one noticed for the last 100 years….UNTIL NOW…

the ugly is the fake lawyers, fake magistrates, everything fake now pretending to care about rape victims after what they have done to them for DECADES….after the near destruction of the Jamaican young lady Myrie, if she did not have REAL JAMAICAN LAWYERS…..she would have been just another rape victim, revictimized by a corrupt, dangerous evil slave system……..these FRAUDS…

9. Maybe the purpose of the leak is to preclude a withdrawal of the accusation and dropping of all charges. A government in power does not welcome negative publicity of the nature of these charges, especially when laid before a Minister, so the probable thing to do would be for senior members to pool an attractive enticement for the victim to suddenly realize that a false accusation was made and to recant. Be reminded that they are very powerful and persuasive legal minds that could be brought to bear on a matter such as this. A government house, paid for by taxpayers, a job offer way above one capability with a commensurate salary in a government entity, or the office of a sympathizer, could also be inducements to refresh one’s memory of what ‘actually’ took place. A shopping trip to Miami……who knows?

All of the above is mere speculation on my part, born of watching too many nefarious Netflix offerings, and is in no way to suggest that anyone involved would act in less than an honorable manner .

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

btw…the fowls, imps, pimps are now world-famous as political Slaves…..voluntarily of course, not a fella int forcing them, lack of ethics, respect, morals, integrity, shame are their drivers……

……a label that intelligent people will NEVER WANT….a perpetual step down.

11. 4/4
    Have you ever come here and feel that you were out of the know
    (1) “. It is the second time in recent weeks the BPS has been accused of a breach in confidentiality. ”
    ** When/what was the first breach?

(2) “Kay could pull a Suella”
    *** Who is Suella?

In learning mode. Trying to digest this story and to get a a recent timeline before commenting.

Have a great day y’all

12. YouTube Sir Don – The Pele Case

13. I heard through the grapevine that RF is kin to deBoulay and we know that family and political alliances are one and the same in Bim. We also know where deBoulay’s political allegiance resides. Thus, when RF makes a cryptic remark about the information coming to the fore on the advent of a certain event it makes one go hmmmnnnn.

There is another scenario to consider, If one follows the timeline, the alleged incident occurred in Sept. the Police report was made a few days later but the public was kept in the dark about a serious incident involving a politician when minor incidents involving other citizens reach the front page within days.

The conclusions are
    a) The leak occurred to embarrass the BLP on the eve of its conference or
    b) The leak occurred to pressure the Police to act

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Epic FAIL = trying to link the “leak” that was ESSENTIAL to seeing the process of JUSTICE STARTED and hopefully SERVED in an alleged rape case, when all involved were DUCKING THE VICTIM and trying to cover it up…..comapred to innocent children given a pedophile survey FAKE TEST under the guise of a computer science test, without their knowledge, and theirs and their parents consent………which is in and of itself a DISRESPECTFUL disgusting attempt to sidetrack from that human rights CRIME…that has traumatized children and if this CRIME OF THE CENTURY is not beaten back by the CRIMINALS INTENT on perpetrating it, will destroy Afrikan lives FOR CENTURIES TO COME…

fake upside down psychology BY FRAUDS…when in truth and in fact, more alleged rape victims will get the courage to COME FORWARD….LIARS and FRAUDS trying to sidetrack and use this as a measuring stick to perpetrate MORE CRIMESS…… now that it has been shown that accused rapists are not nearly as invincible and untouchable as they and their ENABLERS believe…

any and everyone with a dot of intelligence and COMMONSENSE are GLAD it happened and is something that should have, DECADES AGO.but couldn’t due to the nasty crimanals who instigate these crimes against men, women and children……

in saying that…the human rights crimes committed against parents and their children INT GOING NOWHERE…still on the FRONT BURNER….tek dat..

15. “…… yes of course this leak, Cahill and all others serve useful purposes at the national political level, We have had them for our lifetime in various degrees of ‘validity’ so long may they continue!”

@dpD

I’ve heard the alleged victim’s statement was copied from the ‘station dairy.’

The INITIAL complaint from alleged victim (victim) concerning the alleged incident (incident) would’ve been recorded IN THE station diary.
    However, a police officer would subsequently interview the victim and ask her to write a statement (victim personal statement) or dictate to the officer, about what allegedly occurred during the incident, which she would SIGN after reading it to verify accuracy.

I’ve seen on social media, what appears to be a photograph of the lady in question, and a statement, bearing her full name, age, address…… describing the incident and the events leading thereto, which was supposedly recorded by a Sergeant 1141 Wood.
    Her signature or that of Sgt Wood are not on the document.

According to the statement, the lady reported she was raped by an acquaintance sometime between 04:10hrs and 9:30hrs, on Sunday, September 18, 2022.

“The victim saw the perpetrator come over to her, started to pull off her wet jeans off until he removed it. She recalled the perpetrator telling her to go and wash off. The victim does not remember getting off the toilet or how she got into the shower. The victim stated that she was barely able to stand up but was sitting on the bath tub leaning back with water running on her and the perpetrator was in the shower also. The perpetrator helped her out of the bath tub and gave her a T shirt to put on. She was not wearing any underwear or pants; she believes that she fell asleep on the perpetrator’s bed. The victim was awakened and found the perpetrator performing oral sex on her with his head between her lap and saliva on her vagina. She told him to stop more than once, however, he ignored her but eventually stopped.”

“The perpetrator subsequently transported the victim to her residence. The victim contacted Dr. Michael Charles and her therapist Dr. Dalian Gibson and informed them that she was sexually assaulted. The victim reported the matter to the police on Saturday, September 24, 2022.”

After reading the statement you’ll realise its contents are a bit more ‘injurious’ to the perpetrator than the victim.

Perhaps David may want to post the statement for our perusal.

16. @Sargeant

This is your response to the question posed why we have leaks in Barbados?

17. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

that has traumatized children and if this CRIME OF THE CENTURY is not beaten back RIGHT ALONG with the CRIMINALS INTENT on perpetrating it, will destroy Afrikan lives FOR CENTURIES TO COME…

18. The blogmaster reads there is a university lecturer calling for Rowe to resign on ethical grounds. Can someone explain how is her call a fair one of there is the presumption of innocence?

19. @David
    I responded to the question why a leak occurred in a particular case and now you want to up the ante and ask me why leaks occur in Barbados.

You know the answer to that question sure as John 3.16, it has always been so, it is we culture, we can’t get away from it. Before leaks were spread by gossip and you must have heard of Burton Hinds, when he published his column “I am minding my business…..” where did he get his info? Someone was leaking to him, nowadays we have the social network and I dare anyone to plug those holes.

BTW some of the articles you publish were the result of leaks you evah stop to ask de body why they are providing the info?

My short answer is leaks are never spread to help someone, they are spread to damage individuals or organisations.

20. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“BTW some of the articles you publish were the result of leaks you evah stop to ask de body why they are providing the info?”

what a ting…

i take they need no more documents falling off any trucks….who would have thunk it..

this alleged rape and ALL THE ACCOMPANYING information was on social media 3-4 platforms, that i saw myself, am told it was on EVEN MORE….for at least 9-10 days…and not a peep on BU, but now the process has started in earnest and the lady will get her day in court, they want to rehash and repost ALL THAT WAS IN CYBERSPACE for nearly 2 weeks…bring it on…no one with intelligence would pay any attention to something that was regurgitated and shared EVERYWHERE for all that time…

people have wondered for decades why low crawling bottom feeding people love to see and HEAR OF rapes of women children and men…..it has been analyzed to the nth degree, understood much better and concluded that is what makes them feel better about their Slave selves…

21. “No one with intelligence” would suggest a victim posted a copy of her VPS on social media for all and sundry to read, under advice from her lawyer.

22. Sargeant October 26, 2022 12:11 PM #: “My short answer is leaks are never spread to help someone, they are spread to damage individuals or organisations.”

Agree with you 100%.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Was reading an article a few days ago about a UK Conservative MP who arrested on suspicion of rape.

He wasn’t suspended by the Conservative Party but was asked to stay away from parliament.

And, in February 2022, Conservative Party MP Imran Ahmad Khan resigned from Parliament following his conviction for sexually assaulting a 15-year-old boy.

A resignation from Rowe would initiate a ‘by election.’

I believe the DLP candidate would win in St. Michael North West, especially if the party takes advantage of all the missteps of this current BLP administration during the by election campaign.

23. @Sargeant,

councillor Thompson re-elected.

24. DavidOctober 26, 2022 11:54 AM
    The blogmaster reads there is a university lecturer calling for Rowe to resign on ethical grounds. Can someone explain how is her call a fair one of there is the presumption of innocence?

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Lord Profumo episode in the making!!!

Just need a Chinese spy now!!

25. @Hants
    Saw that, facing accusations from 2 women

26. @Sargeant

There is some truth to your comment, we disagree with the last sentence, some leaks are done because the ‘leaker’ wants the thing to improve.

27. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax, long long time ago when all men were saintly and privacy was revered 😎😇 there was still Soucie or Ossie Mooore or de malicious, gypsy Lic Mout Louise who would let out people business …. so since then till now, good sir, prudent activists for justice were VERY careful how they handled police reports particularly on sexual matters!!!

I hold this blogmaster as prudent so I would defer from your suggestion that “Perhaps David may want to post the statement for our perusal.”

Leaking a rape charge sheet is NEVER good when salacious details are provided as a sister is eventually identified to said details.

It’s unconscionable that the leaker included the name and details of the victim … and even as you said that this perp’s actions were harshly described the situation is still not cake and ice-cream for her.

Rape is tough for any woman … to be assaulted again in public is doubly harsh. The perp really does not need to be held to account in a court of public distaste for justice to be served.

So although absolutely leaks do serve a purpose … the ones like this have to be handled properly otherwise the victim suffers again and again.

Peace out.

28. @Artax

One suspects Rowe will be encouraged to request a leave of absence from parliament. To ask him to resign would be an admission of guilt and possibly prejudice his matter.

29. @Dee Word

In similar situations with sensitive docs the blogmaster takes the time to redact. We have some people running websites who have no sense of what is right or wrong.

30. I completed my 4/4 but the Sargeant had post this

“BTW some of the articles you publish were the result of leaks you evah stop to ask de body why they are providing the info?”

In my best cricketing commenting voice… Not a fielder moved as that ball sped towards the boundary…

Perhaps instead of ‘leak’ we should stick with ‘fall off a truck’.

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

they could skirt around the edges as much as they want, but posting details of an alleged rape to certain, not mine, platforms before the alleged rapists and his enablers would acknowledge the matter, deceitfully and deliberately IGNORED IT in hopes that it and the alleged victim would GO AWAY….go to hell and get NO JUSTICE…

..and posting said details to an anonymous blog AFTER THE FACT when the case is now sub judice….apples and oranges..

but doan mine me, ah cahn wait to see it….not that i would read any of it, was already deeply disturbed by what was out there for DAYS ON END…..not into the salacious to satisfy sickness..

and when ya want to really grab the attention of corrupt criminals….ya doan redack nutten…..

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Did i mention how some of the usual jackasses treated Ms, Myrie on BU and EVEN WORSE when she won her case…

33. Does #metoo work in Barbados?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/MeToo_movement

For those who have never heard of it!!

34. @dpD

RE: “So although absolutely leaks do serve a purpose … the ones like this have to be handled properly otherwise the victim suffers again and again.”

My response as well.

Your comments are indicative of the reason why I posted some details outlined in the statement.

The photo of the alleged victim and her statement describing the alleged rape can be found on ‘Naked Departure.’
    As David was correct to remind us, there are “people running websites who have no sense of what is right or wrong.”
    Then, we have one or two idiots attempting to convince this forum they are privy to MUCH MORE information than what has been shared via ‘Twitter, FaceBook, WhatsApp’ etc.
    That they “already got it from REAL social media news, since last week, blogs that are interested in educating the people about what is REALLY HAPPENING on the island and elsewehere.”

RE: “I hold this blogmaster as prudent so I would defer from your suggestion that “Perhaps David may want to post the statement for our perusal.”

The only reason why I made that comment, was to solicit a response from David, because, so far, he hasn’t responded.

If you read my initial response to those silly people who have been going on and on about “not a peep on BU,” you would’ve seen I ‘said,’ …… “although many of us may disagree with his opinions from time to time, we must admit the blogmaster isn’t irresponsible in his management of the blog.”
    And, “because David isn’t quick to post unsubstantiated information to BU and then comment thereon as though it’s FACT, similarly to sites such as ‘Naked Departure,’ isn’t reason enough to accuse the blog of not being “interested in educating the people about what is REALLY HAPPENING on the island and elsewehere….”

BTW…. I read your ‘jab’ about ‘Waterford University’ on another thread. Jealousy?????

“Up and on.”

35. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Theo…these have a track record on not being interested in any “me too” movement that brought down a TON OF some of the most vile RAPISTS on earth, many with REAL fame and not shitehounds pretending they are famous after vote begging,

..these only have a weird and sickenly suspicious .. interest in GOING AFTER THE VICTIMS and PROTECTING the accused…

36. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and the vote begging wannabe famous, are now famous all over the place, people are making videos about them and the same story in US, Jamaica, here there and everywhere, they are featured in every storyline by those who create content…..ah guess ya can call it a human interest story warning females about the dangers out there…

37. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Artax, I started a reply to what I viewed as absurd commentary comparing BU to indeed sites like Naked Departure … but then I recalled there was a similar unproductive tussle wid de same person many moons back on another similar matter that was all over ‘Naked’ but handled quite different by the BU team … so I deleted my remarks.

So I agree with you … it’s foolishness for bloggers to run on this blog and pompesette like that.

Re your alma mater … yep maybe a bit of jealously in so far as what I get involved in now compared to years ago.😇🙏🏿😎

Trust me I cherish my alma mater dearly too!😇

So as they say … for Flash and for old scholars from dat place … ‘Keep Dat Flame 🔥 ‘

Peace out.

38. @Artax

For the purpose of prosecuting the matter posting the sordid details contained in the statement leaked is not necessary.

39. Information often gets deliberately leaked in the spy world, business world and media
    it means that it can be repeated and reported by all news media without breaking rules

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

being shared across continents……

“you can’t argue with slaves who don’t acknowledge their shackles”

41. So the economy grew 9.8% during the last quarter (July-September). The winter months are coming. Whether Jan-December or April-March, unless something drastic happens it looks like the projected growth will be realised. Ronnie(wh)o gasping for political air. Unfortunately for him, the asphyxiation is but only in its infancy. Wunna hear what Santia said? Tek it light.🤣🤣🤣

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

Minister Weir in BT
    “.I am tremendously disappointed that a Minister of Tourism and International Transport would look at an audit report and fail to address something as simple as primary aviation legislation.”
    I wonder if the Minister has read any of the NIS Audit Reports? Or the Auditor General Reports?
    Blaming the D’s after a second term has been secured, says somebody on your team failed to perform due diligence.

43. charged with indecent assault of a minor, has been granted $10 000 bail.

https://www.nationnews.com/2022/10/26/garnes-granted-10-000-bail/

44. @NO
    Blaming the D’s after a second term has been secured, says somebody on your team failed to perform due diligence.
    ++++++++
    Yuh can’t blame Minister Weir for trying to apportion blame, under normal circumstances this would still be his Party’s first term so he is operating accordingly.

45. I hope you all watching the video I posted. Christ Church speaks

46. @Hants

1500 competent lawyers……

47. @ Sargeant,

He probably meant 15 but as a politician he eaggerated a little. lol