Submitted by Terence Blackett

Angry Black Men: What Is the Categorical Imperative Given the Psychopathology of Post Traumatic Slavery Disorder and Its Perturbations on the Black Family?

You cannot heal what you do not understand…” Dr. Joy DeGruy

To unpack any controversial piece of literary discourse can be a daunting task. What is even more challenging is tackling a taboo subject area that can be unnerving, as the pertinent issues of the historical argument, ebb and flow, while trying to build a knowledge base that may have timeless structural integrity.

In exploring this volcanic concept of “Angry Black Men” – there remains a Herculean edifice under construction. So the opportunity to rumble, (with no holds barred), gives this postmodern phenomenon the oxygen it needs to bring openness to a socio-political rift that seriously affects the Black family, but moreover, how this psychopathology can be contained and managed through a variety of remedial recommendations, radical policy initiatives, and most urgently, grassroots programs that will shine a floodlight on Black murder rates, Black suicides, Black prostitution, Black human trafficking, loss of Black community and probably most important of all, how do we teach the lost sons of Israel about their true heritage without the shackles of Albino-centric religiosity.

It is a scientifically proven fact that intergenerational transmission of social, cultural, moral, philosophical and spiritual capital has reproduced inequalities across the periphery of the Black family and any attempt at a one-sided explanation of the issues that merely focuses on just socioeconomic relations or Black culture or socio-academic discourse or religious exercises is in itself radically incomplete at best, and copiously sterile at worst.

Philosophers and sociologists argue that – “on the possibility of achieving goods which are valued and which bring recognition, the inequalities in resources and opportunities themselves have little or nothing to do with the moral worth or merit of individuals, but they have a major impact on self-respect” (Sayer 2005). Heretofore, it is on this issue of self-respect that seems at the heart of the problem with Black men, as some would argue. But is it really that simplistic? Or are there more profound and complex vagaries at play, given the historical transmission of coded imprinted trauma lodged in the DNA structure of Black men?

To unpack the body of lies, myths and subterfuge levelled at the sons of Ham, we must look at the moral penchant of men like German philosopher & sociologist Emmanuel Kant who opines on what he HYPOCRITICALLY CALLS the “Categorical Imperative” which denotes “a moral principle that you should act only in accordance with that maxim through which you can at the same time will, that it become a universal law”, meaning that “you should act a certain way only if you’re willing to have everyone else act the same way too.” This kind of rabid “Enlightenment Thinking & Theory” (still taught in our universities unchallenged) has crossed over into a clash of civilizations’ over whether the sons of Ashkenaz are the rightful rulers of the earth – to govern over all other men.

Kantian philosophy remains buggered by the defense of ‘moral equality’ and the gangbang usurpation of ‘assumed lawful dignity’ of all humans – (except the Black man, of course). Kant’s misogynistic parlance is patently overshadowed by his necrotic racism towards Afrocentric people suggesting white men are naturally somehow superior to all other races, giving them the rights of rulership over the rest of the earth – creating a never-ending apocalypsus that has not changed since the days of Christ and grew into the Leviathan that now is, since the fallout from the aptly known – BLACK DEATH during the 1400’s – yet remaining a dominant scourge on the world stage until today.

Kant’s racist views are endemic features of the Western philosophical narrative of his era, along with other lauded, supposedly veritable Enlightenment figures whose “classifications” were used like a magic wand to inflict the maximum damage upon the souls and psyches of other human beings – namely, Black folks! All of the gimmickry fostered by a belief system in the divine right of kings to enslave upon dictat; socially engineered practices of oppression and subjugation at the end of a musket, sword, chains or truncheon – supported and upheld by socio-reLIEgious & political institutions like the Roman Catholic Church, the Anglican Church and other so-called Protestant churches that traded in the souls of men – (‘created in the image of God’), which now forms the historical context for much of this diabolical discourse, as seen in the spurious curse levelled upon Black and Brown people.

In the United States, the conceptual theory of the “Black Youth Bulge” is an epiphenomenon of late 20th century “strategic demography”which looks at population characteristics such as age, ethnicity, geographic location and numbers to help locate homegrown terrorists or those who pose criminal threats, as have been evidenced since the post-COVID PLANdemic fallout (notwithstanding, the irony can always be traduced by Caucasian men who themselves seem by overwhelming odds, to be the perpetrators of much more violent crime).

In Kant’s table of moral classifications, whites get the nod of approval, while Africans can only be “trained as slaves and servants”. He suggest that the American Negro slave is completely the opposite of newly stolen African slaves, (which implies the tenet of indoctrination and compliance), by opining that “they are full of affection and passion, very lively, very vain in the Negroes way, and so talkative that they must be driven apart from each other with thrashings. They can be educated but only as servants (slaves); that is, they allow themselves to be “trained” as servants. They have many motivating forces, are also sensitive, are afraid of blows and do much out of a sense of honor” (Harbovsky 2013)

In Britain, pilot studies now look at how social measures including areas of social policy, does have an impact on a growing segment of the young Black, Afro-Caribbean and Black African populations, who are clearly, increasingly and tragically disillusioned by the structural inefficiencies created by a closed-classist-cult-system that undermines and stymies accelerated upward mobility, (unless you are filthy rich as in the case of Rishi Sunak) and limits true social progress amongst ethnic minorities, with the determinant factors centering on: mis-targeted hate, spillover anger and gratuitous violence.

In Kant’s categorical imperative, “educated black folks” or those self-taught are created purely of physical coercion and/or corporeal punishment – hence, the concept of the “ROD” and the schoolmaster! No wonder I refused to be flogged! This glaring admission is nefariously redacted in Kantian philosophy as to how to flog the African servant or slave into submission and obedience. One must ask – how many generations have had to suffer from this kind of trauma (even today) – both from home and school? Kant suggest that in order to control and bring the African servants to total obedience or submission “a split bamboo cane be used instead of a whip, so that the ‘negro’ will suffer a great deal of pains (because of the ‘Negro’s thick skin’, he would not be racked with sufficient agonies through a whip) but without dying” (Eze 1997).

According to Kant, “to beat the Negro efficiently requires a split cane rather than a whip, because the blood needs to find a way out of the Negro’s thick skin to avoid festering” (Kant 1965). The justification for this view, he argues that this kind of “training” (corporeal punishment) is due to being “exclusively idle,” lazy, and prone to hesitation and jealousy – attributing all these negative qualities of the Negro to the fact that he (the Negro) through some climatic and anthropological reasons lacks ‘true’ (rational and moral) character”. These views above and beyond the limits of logic or reason about the African were informed by the Transatlantic Slave Trade and the 400-year-old horribilis diabolicus that has ensued in its aftermath.

In Britain, Black women who have babies are more susceptible to what Caucasian medical doctors believe, that Black pregnant women have a higher pain threshold than their counterparts and also that Black men have a higher pain tolerance level when it comes to medical interventionist procedures (cue the long list of medical experimentation on Blacks including the Tuskegee debacle). All these and more, cement the low-hanging demonic fruit that men serve up from the tree of the knowledge of so-called good and pestilent evil – peddled as a steady diet of malfeasance upon an unsuspecting and ill-informed group of people.

So the next time anyone ask – “Why are you so angry?” – ask them if they want the #LongVersion or the #Short! Anger is a natural human emotion that affects us all at some point. But for Black men, anger has a nascent psychopathology that is rooted in survivalist doctrine and etched in the endocrine structure of our being as anatomical facets – psychic scars that cannot be easily unpacked, and it is clear what happens when the windmill spins out of control, resulting in stabbings, gun violence, robberies and rape – causing irredeemable trauma for the Black family and other community relationships, friendships, work environments but especially law enforcement, (which is an extension from the plantocracy system that has not shed its malignant shackles).

Anger unmistakably damages personal relationships. We are cautioned in Scripture – “be angry but sin not” – yet these relationships are often the ones least likely most would want to lose when there is a hemorrhoidal flare up of any kind. The target is usually moms, dads, spouses, children, friends, co-workers, neighbours and the occasional nutjob. Thus, actions often taken under intense anger are regretted after the damage is already done because the ‘spirit’ which govern anger is of such a spiritual nature and few men can control themselves enough to be angry (or better yet – “RIGHTEOUSLY INDIGNANT”) and get the desired outcome. The Bible warns us that “the wrath of man does not work the righteousness of God” and even though we can get angry, we must not knowingly sin against a brother or a sister for any reason whatsoever. The difficulty comes in balancing these two extremes and even for the most astute amongst us – the challenge proves far too great.

Our young Black men vigorously opine that it is their right to be angry given what they are up against within the system (and maybe rightly so). However, reason dictates erring on the side of caution, on that one! This psychopathology which was elucidated by social historian Herbert Moller’s 1968 article – Youth as a Force in the Modern World” in ‘Comparative Studies in Society and History’, argues that: “although the individual ‘age curves’ of psychopathy (or ‘sociopathy’) assume a variety of shapes, all manifestations of this personality disorder – from ‘wild oats’ behaviour, excessive self-assertion and pugnacity to criminal acts – are predominantly correlated with youth. It follows that primitive tendencies and psychopathic behaviours can be expected to increase in any population commensurately with its youthfulness.

In hindsight, there may some agreement on Moller’s assertion, however, today, over 7 million people in the US are behind bars, on parole, probation, or otherwise under supervision by the criminal justice system. Two-thirds of these prisoners are “DISPROPORTIONATELY” Black and now Latinos (who being the original peoples of The Americas) – these groups comprise almost two-fifth of the population as a whole, while almost half of Americans live in poverty and the greater percentage ratio is amongst African Americans. These disparaging social statistics are contributing factors to the climate of hate and anger so prevalent in America, as we continue to see all kinds of fallout from this man-made structural phenomenon.

In Britain, according to a 2003 Home Office Study, it is suggested that “1 in every 100 Black British adults is now in prison”. The numbers in 2022 are however much, much higher given the fact that foreign Blacks now also occupy British jails in increasing numbers due to immigration offences, drugs trade and other transnational crimes – symptoms of a legacy of virulent, imperial domination by Anglo-Saxons.

It is undeniable that the psychopathology of angry black men is wrapped up in the historical legacy of imperialism, colonialism, African slavery, Jim Crow, segregation, apartheid, and social injustice across the spectrum – something which 400 years has not been able to completely eradicate, remedy or heal to any measurable degree, no matter how prosperous, affluent or technologically savvy we have become. The scars of such historical pain still bear that psychic imprint upon the psyche of the Black man, bearing low-hanging fruit in the form of gang & domestic violence, HIP-HOP-YOB culture and increasing incidences of Black on Black crime, senseless violence and bloody murders.

W. E. DuBois reminds the Black man – “The Negro is a sort of 7th son, born with a veil, and gifted with 2nd-sight in this American world – a world which yields him no true self-consciousness, but only lets him see himself through the revelation of the other world. It is a peculiar sensation, this double-consciousness, this sense of always looking at one’s self through the eyes of others, of measuring one’s soul by the tape of a world that looks on in amused contempt and pity.” Is DuBois right? Are we really children of a lesser God?

It’s now 400 years on (Scripturally & historically) and the question remains: “What will it take to break this generational curse that still affects the angry Black man?”

Let’s posit what Dr. Joy DeGruy can answer regarding this question given its true primordial and anthropological complexity leaving her traumatic analysis here as a small light shining amidst the dense darkness that has veiled the lives of billions of Israelite descendants. As a proponent of epigenetics and how those visceral factors affect every Black person today is something that Dr. DeGruy can speak to with much more tempered alacrity and salient authority than anyone else on the world’s stage. I leave you in her capable hands…

Semper Fidelis

253 responses to “Angry Black Men”

1. There was also racism in Spanish and French Slave colonies and plantation lands, but it was less racist than British, who were / still are the most racist in all English Speaking countries in the World.

Human

2. Tune in to Brasstacks on VOB.

Hot topic. Men beating women. Seems the problem getting wusser and wusser.

3. Child abuse also on the rise. These are stressful times. Some people lose it in stressful times.

4. Why are there only angry “black men”?

When will we see an article on angry “black women” or angry “black folks”?

Why aren’t there any angry “Asian men” or “angry “Asian men”?

…. or for that matter angry “Hispanic folks”?

5. JOHN
    THIS MAN FOR YEARS DOES COME PUN BU WID LONG WINDED BULL SHIT WID NUFF BIG WORDS THAT NO OTHER PUBLICATION WILL PRINT
    HE LOVES TO TALK ABOUT THE SYNAGOGUE OF SATAN, BUT HAS NEVER DEFINED IT
    HE LIKE TO PRETEND THAT HE KNOWS THE BIBLE AS A SDA BUT HAS DEMONSTRATED THAT HE HAS NEVER SEEN OR UNDERSTOOD THE BASIC PRECEPTS ENUNCIATED IN EITHER NEHEMIAH 8:8 OR 2 TIMOTHY 2:15

TYPICAL RUM SHOP CONTRIBUTOR
    WE MUST TRY TO CONDESCEND TO THE RUM SHOP STANDARDS

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

” Is DuBois right? Are we really children of a lesser God?”

DuBois did not have enough information to work with….or the time he needed on the Earth to find out.

.we are the Children of the Living Gods…title of one of my books…

pay no attention to dead, white, racist shitheads.everything they did or wrote about regarding Afrika and Afrikan is self-serving…through the ages you can find them reupping the lies and misdirection….always new versions and new upgrades…..amazing the same continent and people they rob and pillage from they LIE ABOUT AND ON CONSISTENTLY…

the colonial curse is real…

7. “Why aren’t there any angry “Asian men” or “angry “Asian men”?
    …. or for that matter angry “Hispanic folks”?”

There are many angry Asian and Hispanics who are also prejudiced against by whites
    they may have longer chains with some slack to roam with bit more freedom & opportunity than blacks
    but they’re still restricted from the top like blacks still used abused and dumped on the scrap heap

Your reasoning is as bad as all the racists in Amerikkka

RIP Slide

8. what is alarming to me .is that all of you so far seem to have missed the central idea that Mr. Blackett was putting forth. What a shame.

9. @lordgorte

Many probably didn’t get pass through title, always kick to jump to their respective agendas.

10. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

or….they know it’s useless trying to distill truth to some people…and would rather do it elsewhere…it’s not that some don’t know, but see it as more productive to use that info in other ways and with those who actually would do something to make the requisite changes..to save this current and future generations of Afrikan boys, youth and men…that’s already in progress in some jurisdictions…

just posting that you know, does nothing…

action speaks much louder than words…

11. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights ReservedAugust 5, 2022 3:03 PM

” Is DuBois right? Are we really children of a lesser God?”

DuBois did not have enough information to work with….or the time he needed on the Earth to find out.

.we are the Children of the Living Gods…title of one of my books…

pay no attention to dead, white, racist shitheads.everything they did or wrote about regarding Afrika and Afrikan is self-serving…through the ages you can find them reupping the lies and misdirection….always new versions and new upgrades…..amazing the same continent and people they rob and pillage from they LIE ABOUT AND ON CONSISTENTLY…

the colonial curse is real…

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Did you know that were it not for England and France, (and more significantly Admiral Nelson) no one today would have been able to read and translate the hieroglyphics of ancient Egypt?

Nelson destroyed the French Fleet at Aboukir Bay on the night of August 1st 1798.

Napoleon had just defeated the Mamelukes at the Battle of the Pyramids.

Napoleon was trapped in Africa and began fortifying various parts of the coast.

At the town of Rosetta, FRENCH soldiers dug up the Rosetta Stone.

So it was all due to Admiral Nelson who was able to defeat the French when they invaded Africa.

Here is a also a clip of the Battle of the Nile.

12. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Did you know that were it not for England and France, (and more significantly Admiral Nelson) no one today would have been able to read and translate the hieroglyphics of ancient Egypt?”

talking shite as usual….what yall need an English translation for Kemet for…it’s not yours and was never written for you, who it was written for understand it perfectly…including….****** that not even knowing the english translation all these centuries….STILL CAN’T INTERPRET IT….lol…because it was not written for them to interpret…ya can translate forever…but only few can interpret.

13. It is distinctly possible that Emancipation Day was chosen in memory of Nelson’s victory at the Battle of the Nile on the night of August 1st 1798.

14. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

John…that one is OUR BUSINESS….-Marcus Garvey…

15. David

Terrance is too long winded for my taste but I did manage to read it all. Can’t say I got all of it though. Not inclined to read all that again so I have no comment.

16. You read it all?
    That’s the extent of my contribution.

17. TheO,

Yup! It was torture!

18. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Yes @David, the sister is correct the blogger is absolutely too long winded!

He is writing to a BLOG … NOT an academic paper, NOT a dissertation for a featured lecture … NUTTING so grand.

Surely the man is SENSIBLE enough to know to edit his work to suit his audience … and if he doesn’t know that then he is being .snobbish, rude or just pompously showing off his scholarship … those three win him no friends here.😎🤦🏾‍♂️

Write to and for your audience otherwise why write atall !!!

Kudos @Donna, I only got 25% including a skip to his conclusion!

19. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Something is very wrong because the article is STRAIGHTFORWARD AND LEGIBLE……so it could NEVER be the writer…

waiting for Pacha to give his analysis.

20. RE Something is very wrong because the article is STRAIGHTFORWARD AND LEGIBLE……so it could NEVER be the writer…
    CONCENTRATED BULLSHIT
    THE MAN BRINGS A LOAD OF CONCENTRATED BULL SHIT SEEKING TO SHOW THAT HE IS AN ACADEMIC AND A SCHOLAR
    THE ONLY ONE HE IMPRESSES ARE THOSE OF HIS ILK.
    MAN EVEN BALLAAM HAS GIVEN AN ACCURATE OPINION OF HIS PEDANTIC PIFFLE

WHEN HE GETS INTO BIBLE, FOR AN ADVENTIST, HE HAS ALWAYS BEEN WAY OF BASE.

NOW THAT JOHN HAS OPINED ABOUT THE HISTORY THE IDIOT TALKS HER USUAL BOVINE EXCREMENT FROM THE ECTOPIC COLUMNAR EPITHELIUM IN HER CRANIUM
    THE ARTICLE MAYBE LEGIBLE BUT IT IS CERTAINLY NOT INTELIGIBLE. UH LIE?

THE STUPID MAN DOES NOT SEEM TO KNOW THAT HE OUGHT TO FIRST PRESENT A 12 LINE ABSTRACT
    THE BU RUM SHOP IS A SOURCE OF MIRTH

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

well….i have read most of this YEARS AGO….. whether some would agree with any of it let alone understand it or not..

including from this writer below…who should have added that you CANNOT ANALYZE or DECIPHER what DO CANNOT UNDERSTAND…

““You cannot heal what you do not understand…” Dr. Joy DeGruy

22. Read it through enough to realise that he made the common mistake of misquoting the Bible.

“Be angry AND sin not!” Not BUT!

Next he’ll be telling me that “Money is the root of all evil” or that I should “Render my heart and not my garments”.

If you going to be all hoity toity, self-proclaimed genius, you should rise above common mistakes.

Yes, I also read the article in which he proclaimed his genius.

Steupse.

23. The lynching of Michael Donald in Mobile, Alabama, on March 21, 1981, was one of the last reported lynchings in the United States.

whites allegedly got less racist than days of lynchings and when they crucified the ni993r Jesus but they still got no love for blacks

Love in F Minor (Intro Mix)

Love in F Minor (Album Mix)

24. All Blacks are the same
    “Why are you so angry?”

Strange Fruit / Billie Holiday
    Southern trees bear a strange fruit
    Blood on the leaves and blood at the root
    Black bodies swinging in the southern breeze
    Strange fruit hanging from the poplar trees

Pastoral scene of the gallant South
    The bulging eyes and the twisted mouth
    Scent of magnolia, sweet and fresh
    Then the sudden smell of burning flesh

Here is a fruit for the crows to pluck
    For the rain to gather, for the wind to suck
    For the sun to rot, for the tree to drop
    Here is a strange and bitter crop

25. Beware of intellectuals, they are often wrong!!

26. “…that one is OUR BUSINESS….-Marcus Garvey…”

what is this about?
    why are they angry?

Astronaut Flee Presents – Combat Zone – Jazya vs Nautika – Hiproll Battle

27. The black man is constantly told that he is not good enough
    Meanwhile all.other races are accepted with open arms
    Why shouldn’t the black man.be angry
    When he is hated and disregarded even amongst his own race

28. Get Up On The Rhythm And Dance

29. @John August 5, 2022 1:09 PM “Why aren’t there any angry “Asian men” or “angry “Asian men”?”

Have you checked the Sri Lankan media recently? Or the Russian, or, or, or…

30. angela coxAugust 5, 2022 8:12 PM

The black man is constantly told that he is not good enough
    Meanwhile all.other races are accepted with open arms
    Why shouldn’t the black man.be angry
    When he is hated and disregarded even amongst his own race

So why aren’t black men protesting the unfair advantage black women have over them?

Why aren’t black women being told they are not good enough?

This is sexism which has nothing to with racism.

Maybe black men are hearing voices no one else can hear, not even black women.

Women hear voices too.

It is claimed that 1 in 10 people hear voices and suffer from auditory hallucinations.

31. Here is an abstract from scientific literature:

Gender differences in the clinical presentation of patients with schizophrenia have been well documented, yet few studies have investigated gender-related clinical differences of auditory hallucinations in schizophrenia. We compared a group of men and women schizophrenics with auditory hallucinations (AH) in order to evaluate the possibility of characterizing relevant dimensions in this symptom between genders. Methods: The Psychotic symptom rating scale (PSYRATS) for auditory hallucinations was administered to 123 patients (86 men, 37 women) who met DSM-IV criteria for schizophrenia with AH. Patients were also assessed about demographic variables, including age of onset and whether AH were persistent. Results: The results showed that women had greater scores in the dimension “beliefs re-origin” (p<0.034) of the PSYRATS, having a more delusional interpretation about the origin of voices, while men had more persistent AH (p<0.026) and an earlier age of onset (p<029). Conclusions: The findings of our study suggest that gender differences contribute to some dimensions of auditory verbal hallucinations despite the lack of more expected remarkable differences between men and women patients with schizophrenia. References [1] Rector NA, Seeman MV. Auditory hallucinations in women and men.

It seems women are more likely to suffer from auditory hallucinations but perhaps a study needs to be done in a black population.

32. Imteresting article. a lot of truths in there.

Healing is necessary, the very reason that many are bow calling for long overdue, frank discussions on the transatlactic slave trade.

Because, as noted above, you needcto understand the ramifications first.

But my question is, how can you even begin to analyse the past, when current ethos systems are still designed on a basis of pseudo slavery?

You first have to change the current system, to close that door, then address the damage.

Although the current slavery is now process and mental, regardless of race or creed, it is still about hierarchy.

And further glimpses of subtle or not so subtle, psychological warfare still come through.

The snide remarks that some make against a superb President Obama, the misogynistic remarks against VP Harris, are such.

Remarks intended to perpetuate myths of inferiority.

So no, the intrinsic genetic damage cannot be fairly assessed, until the existing system is clean.

And especially when the Murdoch, Koch, Putin types or brotherhood are heavily pushing an imperialist and racist agenda.

They see the actuality of their ideology slipping from their grasp and are fighting hard to retain control, at any cost.

33. @Crusoe

It seems you have hope we can build a utopian society?

34. @ David,

Without hope, we have nothing.

What purpose should we have in life other than to reach for the ideal?

Mediocrity should not be aim.

If we fall short in things that we do, it should not be for lack of effort.

And as individuals, we may be few, but we must at least try.

35. Cuhdear BajanAugust 5, 2022 10:02 PM

@John August 5, 2022 1:09 PM “Why aren’t there any angry “Asian men” or “angry “Asian men”?”

Have you checked the Sri Lankan media recently? Or the Russian, or, or, or…

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How many women are involved there?

50/50 perhaps.

And yet it is only black men who are angry because they are hearing voices?

Actually they are … ithe media!!

Problem for many people is they can’t separate fact from fiction.

Are you an angry black woman?

36. CrusoeAugust 6, 2022 1:41 AM

@ David,

Without hope, we have nothing.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Finally the light seems to go on, flickering, but still a sign of light.

That’s what parents teach children and why there are the issues of high incidence of violent crime in Barbados.

That’s why drugs and their concomitant drug culture of crime and violence are present.

Drugs substitute as a source of ecstasy to fill the void that was never filled by the examples of hope parents show their children.

That’s why a murderer from 30, 40, 50 years ago is more likely to become a productive member of society after incarceration because they were raised in an environment of hope and can reflect on the difference during their punishment.

That’s why in every parish in Barbados you will find a place with a name in which HOPE is central and not far from a place in which the name CONTENT figures.

It isn’t by chance, it is by design.

Our ancestors gave those places their name for a reason.

Unfortunately, we are no longer filled with hope and content as we once were, we have become hopeless malcontents prone to violence and murder.

The murderer these days does not know what hope is.

The media exacerbates the situation, raising unrealistic expectations and creating the malcontent among the hopeless.

You see, no matter how many things you have, without hope you are empty and miserable and if there is someone to stir up your malcontent and you are not strong enough to give them a pass, then among the emptiness and misery will rise malcontent.

37. Crusoe,

Indeed, hopelessness is the most dangerous state for a human being to be in.

I reach for the ideal but temper my expectations with a dose of reality. Therefore my HOPE is for progress rather than for perfection.

I think in terms of slow evolution. MLK said, “I may not get there with you….”

But he had looked over the mountain top and seen the promised land.

Evolution is a very slow process. I will not arrive in the promised land either. “The road is long, with many a winding turn.”

Those who rail against evolution are putting up a tremendous fight.

“Progress does not occur in a straight line.” That’s Barrack Obama.

38. I am struggling to understand how it is that I could, on another blog, offer an opinion that hopelessness was the problem with these gun-toting young men and have it ridiculed, then to come here and read that hopelessness is the problem with our gun-toting young men.

39. @Crusoe

As you know as a longstanding BU family member, this is a position the blogmaster supports.

40. smokebelch?/LEADER OF A NEW AGE FAITH
    What’s an Artist to do
    What Terrence may be saying or maybe not is Black Blaks have to open up their channels
    When reaching the next level and higher dimension there are no Black or White people there are only enlightened
    people and unenlightened people are left behind
    “Black Anger” is just the puberty stage of life before becoming a man (or woman)

Black Is Black White Is White?! -In other dimensions?

wtf. That is the sound of Underground Dance Music. towards the end YOU might even hear: getup getup getup getup

ACENSION into other DIMENSIONs.

THE 4th, the 5th & beyond.

….Faith! The lights came down from out the sky,

saw a bunch of ships & they start to FLY around me

Golden cup appeared, please have a taste!

Cause you’ll b a Leader Of A New Age Faith

singing U R!!!!!

The Prince of Dance Music presents Mad Man In the attic little ditty bout ‘dancing’ non-stop. …all day all nite…

I Can’t Stop My Leg!

41. Speaking of the black man
    How can people of a race who have been marginalized bamboozled berated put down and ethically stigmatized find hope in a system that is financially and socially geared against them
    The stigmas attached to being a black man are being exposed and the fight against with a hope of winning is still hard
    The blackman live in fear of a system who sees them as being the creator and creatures of wrongs in societies
    Fast arrest fast jail time is what black men see
    Where is the hope

42. Some of the most enlightened contributors to BU will often twin Barbados with South Africa. South Africa practised a political system called apartheid which gave a minority group(s) complete hegemony over their majority black population which they kept tethered to a stake like a black belly sheep.

Barbados has a higher ratio of its population which is black African than South Africa. Both countries are economically dominated by minority groups both inside and outside of their countries. This domination is played out in how these countries are governed and how these countries govern and rule over their black majority populations.

Barbados and South Africa are twinned in their resistance to bring genuine equity to their black populations. Most of these people are likely to be holed up in areas which struggle to access the basics such as clean running water, basic transportation, acceptable housing, jobs, and an accessible and well maintained road infrastructure.

Given such conditions is it any wonder why we are discussing the so called angry black man. The guns and drugs are flowing through Barbados which is officially a narco state. It has been enriching the lives of the usual suspects at the expense of the majority population which is being fed a small percentage of the drug’s trade in terms of the supply of guns, ammunition and drugs to develop a parallel domestic narcotic’s industry which will ultimately decimate their own community.

By the way whatever happen to those two prominent upstanding white Bajan businessmen who were discovered with an abnormal weight of drugs on board of a private boat which one of them owned. I believe the third man who was on board with them had a dark complexion and struggled to receive bail. Such is life on the white shithole called Bimshire or little England.

The solution to this problem is simple: remove the weak links. That is those who are governing you. It’s this group who have become the great enablers of all that is wrong in Barbados.

43. Words with Poets
    The empathy of a trillion times when you tried to swallow lonely
    The happy always wanted to be
    The reign that tore back Spirits away
    The music that makes your blood cells dance
    The curiosity in peoples eyes when they set their eyes on you and still turn back

I think it was the feeling of being black and kind of alone
    you know

I’ll say thank you to music
    because when I go into a club
    I can just be with the music
    it’s not the problem

I really don’t think it’s personal but it is this embedded thing
    where “the WEs” just won’t allow the outsiders in

If you have melanin on your skin
    that is with me
    I am unapologetic

Knock on the door
    I am going to keep going and keep going
    until they let me in
    and I am going to meet the manager
    As an artist that’s hungry
    that’s perseverance

I would say you got to go into the mirror and see you and just be
    that’s it

Do The Freaky Dance

44. @ To the enlightened members of the BU family,

I just spotted this story on Aljazeera. It’s an interesting read.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2022/8/6/what-is-deep-state-the-biggest-buzzword-in-kenyas-elections

45. Dream on a New Age of Faith Smokebelch

New Age of Faith

Don’t have to ask
    Just take it
    Make it last
    Living it out
    Before time passes you by
    If you dream it
    Be it
    Let no one tell you
    You can’t fly
    Dream
    Just dream

All your dreams are thoughts
    and your thoughts are dreams
    When you are serious about them
    Don’t crawl or creep
    Not much happening
    from dreams that sleep
    All energy of all resources
    are all a dream to make reality born

Some don’t know
    so they don’t believe
    First ones telling you
    it’s too hard to conceive
    First ones to laugh
    but when you dream it to life
    Flight takes a blast
    You will be the one
    Laughing loud
    Laughing last

Dream on
    Be on
    Keep on keeping on
    If it was easy all would achieve
    It’s you and me all important to see
    the positivity in the scheme
    of letting nothing not or no one
    stop from dreaming our dreams

Dream on you
    Dream on

46. Ok. I managed to wade through this disorganised piece one more time. Picked up what I missed the first time.

Terence is basically saying in big words and with references what many of us have said in small words and without references.

The End

47. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

” “A country is never run by these politicians who shout [the] loudest.””

“shout the loudest” and LIE THE MOST..

TLSN..we have always known this….politicians live a lie and are the biggest frauds ever birthed…

“It has been enriching the lives of the usual suspects at the expense of the majority population which is being fed a small percentage of the drug’s trade in terms of the supply of guns, ammunition and drugs to develop a parallel domestic narcotic’s industry which will ultimately decimate their own community.”

while the depressed areas and boys on the block have been set up as fodder for criminalization, oppression, prison and the grave to cover for minority criminals and their power structure partners in crime since the 1970s..it’s an ugly scenario..

“Such is life on the white shithole called Bimshire or little England.”

“white shithole” SQUARED..

“Imteresting article. a lot of truths in there.”

thanks Crusoe and bless you for your intelligence level..

I take it Pacha is busy…..but the OBSERVERS must be very proud of their handiwork…a stroke of genius, praise and admiration are well deserved ….they should TAKE A BOW TO WIDE APPLAUSE..

48. “Many probably didn’t get pass through title, always kick to jump to their respective agendas.”

Perhaps the best way to navigate Bu is to ignore Above the Line and Below the Line comments
    made by anonymous people who appear to be constructs and unreal beings
    if anonymous people who appear to be constructs and unreal beings
    are real humans
    then that is even more reason to blank them out
    as they are well weird

49. One thing I wonder is – how can parents be expected to teach their children hope when they themselves no longer hope.

Barbadians were expecting better. Many of them have been disappointed over and over and have come to the realisation that this society is built to benefit not the masses of black people but rather those of a lighter hue.

And those who have managed to get out from under now look down on those who haven’t and wish only to disassociate themselves from them.

Relegated to the fringes, marginalised, disenfranchised, ostracised, criticised and despised, they form their own subculture. where the opinions of the better offs do not matter.

Unfortunately, they are still working for peanuts to further enrich the minority rich man. He gets the money and the national honours. He gets to roam free of prison and gets to live to a ripe old age.

Somebody ought to tell these young boys that the end of the stick they are holding is even shittier than when it was first handed to them.

50. DonnaAugust 6, 2022 7:42 AM

One thing I wonder is – how can parents be expected to teach their children hope when they themselves no longer hope.

They can’t !!!

So, what does that mean?

Either the child has to be blessed and grow up around others with hope or the spiral downwards continues.