It has been a period of uncomfortable crime and violence that has engulfed Barbados. To be expected there is finger pointing, gnashing of teeth and frustration by the public directed at the authorities. There is resignation that lawlessness has become an entrenched behaviour and the relatively quiet and orderly society that characterised Barbados society in days of yore has gone the way of the dodo.

In 2009 the blogmaster posted a number of blogs around the theme weeds were starting to shoot up on our well manicured lawns. Many commenters suggested the blogmaster was being an alarmist. In fact the same observation was levelled when BU highlighted our dysfunctional court system in the series Tales from the Courts. Sadly our leaders with the citizenry complicit because of apathy and cynicism has led to the current state of things. 

…the deviance must be tackled in the homes but guess what, we have many children who don’t live in homes. This means the government by proxy must play the role as step-father, or stepmother for that matter…

Barbados Underground (2010)

The breakdown and decline in the social fabric of Barbados society did not start ‘yesterday’. The blogmaster again recalls the hullabaloo when a decision was taken to bring Vybz Kartel and Movado to Barbados by the Barbados Youth Action Program (an organisation affiliated to government) under the chairmanship of then Minister Hamilton Lashley. It bears reminding Lashley is known as a social practitioner par excellence. These were two dancehall artists known for smutty lyrics and behaviour. Minister Ronald Jones at the time to his credit expressed displeasure at the staging of the show. Then there was the public disagreement between then Commissioner Dottin and his deputy Bertie Hinds about staging the show. This is an example to illustrate how key leaders in our small society were unable to see the obvious, a government affiliate promoting a Vybz Kartel Movado show at a time when deviant behaviour, especially by our youth, was a concerned.

The other example of double standards fast tracking the decline of the society was the so called Trojan Riddim saga – How de Yutes Get so?, a group of artists known in the music underground for pushing smutty and anti social lyrics released a video to YouTube which provoked Prime Minister Mia Mottley to demand the artists remove it. The artists ignored Mottley, however, a few weeks many of the artists were included in Barbados Labour Party (BLP) sponsored activities. Soon after government continues to contract artists who were involved, Lil Rick, Peter Ram et al.

The examples cited are representative what will inevitably occur if there is a lack of leadership. It will be supplanted by the prevailing subculture. Is it too late to stem the anti social behaviour enveloping the global space? Probably yes although the blogmaster being the eternal optimist will never say never.

Who will show us the way to the truth and the light?

225 responses to “Crime and Violence Expose Leadership Vacuum”

1. It never ceases to amaze me how people cannot see that if David’s only aim was to get rid of the DLP, he could damn well pretend to throw his hands up in the air, declare this blog to be ineffective at bringing about change AND SHUT IT DOWN.

But you guys are so blinded by your belief own radical methods, that anyone, with different methods of achieving the same things, is suspect.

You should read Ralph Jemmott’s article as I did yesterday. He referenced the different mindsets of radical progressives or revolutionaries and those who would temper their radical tendencies for fear of creating chaos.

One sees a better structure emerging after the collapse. Others see that process as too uncertain for their comfort.

It does not mean that they are apologists for the status quo.

Breaking it down-

Goals =same
    Methods= different

Jeeze!

2. belief in YOUR OWN radical methods

3. David

Kindly inform angela cox that the contribution by Frank July 10, 2022 8:56 AM, was NOT posted by me.

Thank you in anticipation of your cooperation.

4. “Somehow Dub 555 was unable to get his head around this point. “

My point (which got deleted due to the ricochet of Dr GP and Waru taking shots at each other about the skin colour of her husband) was that comparing a population of less than 300,000 and 3,300,000,000 and saying the body count ratio is double is ignoring the total body count of the population that is over 1,000 times bigger and has over 500 time more chopped liver.
    Yanks love to produce statistics dividing by nationality and race to downplay their high crime levels and prison village industry scams.

Manic Panic Attacks from reading Daily News
    Oldies are scared shitless about violent crime numbers rising compared to their good old days in their safe Barbadian homes , but youngsters are used to it and not shocked by it at all and still go out without any fear.

5. @Artax

Why do you waste your time with trivial matters instead of adding to the topic?

6. A good defense of the blogmaster, but, in my case, not really needed.

I see a man who is attempting to wear at least two shoes.. one moment wishing the very best for Barbados and urging us to do better and the next moment doing a duet with Lorenzo.

It is natural that some criticism comes his way after performing the ‘greatest hits’. My comments are restricted to the Lorenzo type personality.

7. The blogmaster could care less what you or any commenter believe. The problem with you is an innate inability to stay focused on what is relevant.

8. William Skinner Avatar

Why would @ David shut down a blog that serves his purpose.
    Really ? Well, dat wun mek nuh sense uh tall.
    De man win 30-0 twice and looking forward now to 90-0.
    @ David is doing just fine.
    Carry on smartly muh brudduh we got yuh back. We got dis.

9. @William

You held same opinion when the blog was posting articles from Hartley Henry weekly and others of DLP colours and was overrun by commenters wishing in vain et al. You lot need to focus on the issues.

10. William Skinner Avatar

@ Theo
    Som uh wunnuh ungrateful as hell. In stead uh writing someting positive you gine write foolishness ‘ bout @ David singing duets wid people.
    All wunnuh so looking fuh a utopia. Dey en no utopias anywhere., Wunnuh want full employment , Dey en no full employment anywhere. Wunnuh want guns off de streets. All over de world got guns pon de streets. Wunnuh want prices to com dong. Prices high every wey. Wunnuh so want gas prices to com dong. Gas prices high every where.
    Try and focus on de positive.
    Next ting yuh gine want is de rain to fall pon crop over..
    Talking nonsense ‘ bout de blogmaster singing duets.
    Really. Dah is de bess you can do Theo?
    You like yuh topless wid yuh bottom out or someting so bosie.

11. THERE IS A REASON WHY YOU ARE A HARRISON COLLEGE GRADUATE

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

I see a man who is attempting to wear at least two shoes.. one moment wishing the very best for Barbados and urging us to do better and the next moment doing a duet with Lorenzo.

It is natural that some criticism comes his way after performing the ‘greatest hits’. My comments are restricted to the Lorenzo type personality.

12. ArtaxJuly 10, 2022 11:20 AM

Kindly inform angela cox that the contribution by Frank July 10, 2022 8:56 AM, was NOT posted by me.

Thank you in anticipation of your cooperation.
    Xxxxxcc
    There he goes like siisy complaining

Oh btw awaiting to hear Frank denial
    Was expecting both

13. Even Sunday is not considered a day of rest and peace

An elderly man found dead in his house with a wound to his head

14. TheO,

And I see a bunch of people lacking in comprehension.

There are no two personalities. My reaction to ac is the same. I just don’t play her game anymore.

Lorenzo and enuff are not around to irritate me much, whereas ac is relentless.

Am I too an apologist for the BLP?

Steupse!

William Skinner,

So…. how is the blogmaster futhering the 90:0 cause by allowing you lot to attack both him and the Government all day?

And what evidence do you have that he was a factor in the 60:0?

Wunnuh mekking muh laff doah!

But, if the blogmaster can stand the stupidity, then carry on STUPIDLY!

15. But looks much crosses ac is relentless
    But look.muh crosses ac never attacks unless provoke to do so
    Most time I sit in the gallery on occasion venture out to shoot marbles my presence the l. ings
    Sometimes some roadside tennis
    Other than that I stay cool

16. 1/1

angela cox

I’ve often mentioned in this forum that ‘you DON’T THINK BEFORE POSTING your contributions, you’re a TOXIC INDIVIDUAL, LIAR and POLITICAL YARD-FOWL..
    And, you’ve demonstrated on several occasions that you DO NOT have any CREDIBILITY on BU, while believing ‘having the last word’ gives you power to win any argument.

After a BRIEF interaction with you on the ‘Theresa’ thread, Lisa came to an ‘identical’ conclusion and decided not to engage you in discussion any further.

But, your fans would prefer to ‘throw stones from the sidelines’ and revere you as a poet, rather than call you out for the semi-literate buffoon you are.

Your fans give you kudos for ‘taking on’ more than one of your critics. What they purposely and conveniently refuse to acknowledge is the fact that you’ve NEVER been able to JUSTIFY any POSITION you’ve taken on any ARGUMENT you PRESENTED to BU.
    In other words, you’ve ALWAYS been PROVEN to be WRONG.

angela cox to make a ‘long story short,’ you’re an IDIOT…… an appallingly ignorant semi-literate buffoon and ignoramus POLITICAL YARD-FOWL……

…… something I’ve SUCCESSFULLY PROVEN on SEVERAL OCCASIONS.

YOU may have the last word.

17. Ghee whizz never knew that one person could have that many monikers
    Thanks what a great idea 😊😊😊😊

18. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Leadership?

Uber Files: Massive leak reveals how top politicians secretly helped Uber

Thousands of leaked files have exposed how Uber courted top politicians, and how far it went to avoid justice. They detail the extensive help Uber got from leaders such as Emmanuel Macron and ex-EU commissioner Neelie Kroes. They also show how the taxi firm’s former boss personally ordered the use of a “kill switch” to prevent raiding police from accessing computers.
    Uber says its “past behaviour wasn’t in line with present values” and it is a “different company” today. The Uber Files are a trove of more than 124,000 records, including 83,000 emails and 1,000 other files involving conversations, spanning 2013 to 2017. They were leaked to the Guardian, and shared with the International Consortium of Investigative Journalists and a number of media organisations including BBC Panorama. They reveal, for the first time, how a $90m-a-year lobbying and public relations effort recruited friendly politicians to help in its campaign to disrupt Europe’s taxi industry.
    More here:
    https://www.bbc.com/news/business-62057321

19. @ Artax
    “angela cox to make a ‘long story short,’ you’re an IDIOT…… an appallingly ignorant semi-literate buffoon and ignoramus POLITICAL YARD-FOWL……”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    Does this explain your love for ac too?
    Bushie. is in the exact same bind…. boss

ac is an enigma, a permanent fixture of BU for EVER!!
    cussed by everyone except TheO
    dissed by the blogmaster
    constantly assaulted (with battery) by Artax
    regularly whacked by the bushman
    Her man left long ago and headed for Arizona (the nearest desert – as prescribed in the Bible)
    …. yet angela NEVER deviates, changes, apologies or retreats….
    …and now we learn that she is a road tennis hotshot too boot….

Admit it Artax …. yuh GOTTA admire the braided lady.

20. @ac 5:32
    I have been diligently studying your poetry. Yesterday,one of your items had 19 syllable and was close to a haiku.

Your 5:32 contribution has exactly 17 syllables (perfect for a haiku), a d you ended with five syllables in the last line. However, I was unable to get the poem using 5-7 formula from your first line. Perhaps, the haiku is too short to effectively deliver your message. I would suggest that your shortest poem be a quintain.

Do you know there is a type of poem called acrostic (a poem or other composition in which the first letter of each line spells out a word). I would love to see you do a poem which both acrostic and a quintain.

21. For the record, I agree/disagree with some of what ac says. However, there is no reward in indicating when this happens and too besides… She is grown.

Cannot even control the woman in my house or my now adult son. Not taking on any new problems

22. My longevity on bu can be attributed to all the names that my enemies has pinned on me
    But Alas not one of them been able to defeat my presence
    Yet I rise

23. But Alas not one of them been able to defeat my presence
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    It is young days yet ac
    Bushie has $5 riding on Artax to get you ejected….
    …no matter WHAT shiite poem you write….

24. Condolences to the relatives and friends of the late Ezra Alleyne.

25. DR. Yearwood is proving that unity is an essential component of a institution …party or group
    Barbadians and others meet him with open arms in New York on Saturday

26. Donna will, as usual, skip all the conventional niceties.

27. Oh dear! Ac sent me to look up the word “relentless” to see if the meaning had changed.

Poor girl must be disappointed too to find out that the last “murder” was a well-planned suicide.

Probably saw amputation in his future and was having none of it.

TheO,

From a post you made several weeks ago I thought you had come to understand the problem with your cherry picking from the ac cherry tree.

Funny that you should be living in a glass house while throwing stones at the blogmaster.

Enough time-wasting for today.

I gone!

28. “From a post you made several weeks ago I thought you had come to understand the problem with your cherry picking from the ac cherry tree.”

Donna

Does that mean there are TWO (2) “Ministers of Cherry 🍒 Picking?”

29. “Admit it Artax …. yuh GOTTA admire the braided lady.”

Bush Tea

Don’t hate the lady, simply because I don’t know her….. never met her. Don’t admire her either.

Her role in this forum is to promote the Democratic Labour Party, ‘by all means necessary,’ even if it means going into the ‘realm of political absurdity’ to do so.

Can’t admire that.

Kinda reminds me of Eric ‘Fly’ Sealy.

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Her role in this forum is to promote the Democratic Labour Party, ‘by all means necessary,’ even if it means going into the ‘realm of political absurdity’ to do so”
    And politics is absurd, so nothing wrong with this?
    Even this morning we have Dr.Y in NY. What was omitted, is the D’s in NY were vexed as shiite with Froon, I attended one of their last gatherings prior to 2018, only bec I have a buddy who is a strong D and happened to be in NY. Like remittances, their contributions are needed badly. Raising money is tough at the best of times, more so when you don’t have a single seat. Also, several of these ‘living awayers’ are suspect, Dr.Y isn’t a ‘true D’. So once we understand the term Unity means, selling himself as bona fide and getting some badly needed funds, all is good.

31. The Minister of Cherry Picking has spoken
    😆 🤣 😂 😹 😆

32. Flying to NYC and London to promote Barbados Opposition Politics seems like an easy gig for the wannabe PM.
    Seems like foreign sponsorship ginalship* to circumvent party toxicity in Little Island and quid pro quo** is the way to go as a plan of attack plan of action. You scratch my back and I’ll scratch yours he said to the overseas #throwashade posse. Next “they” will engage in psyops*** psychlogical warfare propaganda operations.

(*) (Jamaican slang) (noun) A con man or trickster. (verb) to trick someone, usually out of money. (noun) The man is a ginnal!

(**) a favour or advantage granted in return for something.

(***) PSYOPS can be considered a type of brainwashing since they seek to exploit and shape people’s thoughts and actions. One example of PSYOPS is propaganda, a type of communication or advertisement that aims to influence a targeted group’s way of thinking or decision-making.

33. So what’s wrong with getting funding
    Isn’t that part of leadership
    As long as the funding is accessed or obtained illegally the Dr. should pursue any mean legally that will support the Party
    Didn’t OSA obtained a big fact check from some big time congolermate during an election campagain cycle
    Dr.Yearwood is a highly intelligent person and would do that which is right proper and in the best interest of the party during the building period

34. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    From that statement, I suspect you really did not know Eric Sealy very well.
    Eric Sealy was perhaps more astute than many of us and was by any standards a brilliant orator who understood the political landscape better than most.
    He exposed the iniquities of both the Dees and Bees with equal venom.
    Sealy was way politically superior to all the defenders and apologists of the Bees and Dees , who contribute to BU.
    He was also very positively mentioned in a book written by Walter Rodney.

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

Did I say there was anything wrong or illegal?
    I was merely explaining “unity”.

36. @NO

Interesting observation about Yearwood seen as an outsider. There is a recent message where he reads the riot act to members of the old guard – by his determination – who continue to bad talk/undermine the party.

Interesting times ahead.

37. 1/1

Some people use words of which they don’t know the meaning.
    ‘Relentless’ immediately comes to mind. Now they’re on about “cherry picking.’

Some sources define ‘cherry picking’ as a logical fallacy that occurs when someone FOCUSES ONLY on EVIDENCE that SUPPORTS their opinions, while IGNORING evidence that CONTRADICTS it.
    Perhaps similar to ‘confirmation bias.’
    ‘Cherry picking’ can affect everything from how people PRESENT MISLEADING RHETORIC to how they CONDUCT their INTERNAL REASONING PROCESS.

Let’s use the old Fairchild Street market as an example.
    That market was closed sometime during 2012 with some of its occupants being relocated to Golden Square Market, while a few others plied their trade on the old market’s environs.
    The former administration built a number of stalls in Jordan’s Lane, which remained unoccupied for over 3 years, until they were eventually dismantled by people residing in the surrounding communities and the building materials stolen.
    When this fact was presented to BU, ACCOMPANIED by PHOTOGRAPHS, angela cox insisted it was an UNTRUTH and MALICIOUS attempt to embarras the DLP.

Now, fast forward to construction of the new market facilities.
    Her criticisms of the project were based on a video in which its narrator spewed misleading information.
    angela cox ‘cherry picked’ information from the video where the narrator suggested the project was ongoing for 4 years and ‘guv’ment did spending millions and millions of dollars building pig pens fuh people to sell outta.’

The project commenced a few months after the demolition of Golden Square in February 2019, and was delayed by COVID-19 lockdowns and restrictions, while the video surfaced some time during 2021.
    Yet, she joined the narrator in ‘talking about 4 years.’

She IGNORED facts from CREDIBLE SOURCES that CONTRADICTED the erroneous rhetoric presented by the narrator, simply because it served the purpose of her political agenda.

This is how she conducts her internal reasoning process.
    In other words, she DOES NOT THINK, before posting.

The issue with ‘cherry picking’ in this case isn’t that it promoted a point of view which opposed construction of the new market, but rather that it presented evidence against its construction in a manner that was MISLEADING, by IGNORING all of the EVIDENCE for it and FOCUSING primarily on untruths.

According to the ‘Tradewinds’ song, “Civilization:”
    🎶 ‘Now, answer me QUICK, who civilised…. and who does cherry PICK?” 🎵

38. Mr. Skinner

I remember there were times when Eric Sealy mounded his platform to defend the DLP and criticise the BLP….. vice versa.

39. How did he earn the name Eric Fly?

40. NorthernObserver Avatar

we must recognize that many of the overseas party supporters are from ‘old guards’. I know in Canada, at the time of the last election, when I floated DrY amongst a few of them as a future leader, they were rather dismissive, and questioned, shall I say, ‘his pedigree’. Then again, the second 30-0 hadn’t occurred, and they had great ‘hope’. But, he really needed to win that seat to earn his keep. And why the B supporters will call him another night watchman.

41. Unless he is able to secure and sustain funding it will be difficult for him to fire up the party apparatus to compete with BLP. The DLP is a party lodged at ground zero. Unfortunately as you survey the political landscape there is no budding alternative.

42. Will the England Canada America DLP Posse Run Barbados Politics
    Discuss for Bonus Marks

King Tubby’s Special

A Serious Version

Straight To Babylon Boy’s Head

Straight To The Capitalist Head

43. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Exactly., so I can’t see how anybody who only criticizes the Bees or Dees can remind you of Sealy. In other words Sealy, politically, was far more superior to the well known Kool aid drinkers , on both sides, who frequent BU, with their predictable one sided baloney.
    I don’t know how he got the nick name fly but I have heard a few explanations.
    I’m more concerned with his brilliant grassroots political skills.
    Of course such skills will not readily be recognized by those who believe that they are only possessed by those from the higher socio economic order.
    I prefer Walter Rodney’s positive view of Sealy.

44. DavidJuly 11, 2022 12:50 PM

Unless he is able to secure and sustain funding it will be difficult for him to fire up the party apparatus to compete with BLP. The DLP is a party lodged at ground zero. Unfortunately as you survey the political landscape there is no budding alternative

Xxxxxx
    60-0 can be beaten even by an unknown
    Nothing magical about that number as was proven inGrenada

45. DavidJuly 11, 2022 12:01 PM

@NO

Interesting observation about Yearwood seen as an outsider. There is a recent message where he reads the riot act to members of the old guard – by his determination – who continue to bad talk/undermine the party.

Interesting times ahead
    Xcccc
    And he is absolutely correct
    No one side self serving interest should be allowed to sow seeds of disunity

46. Mr. Skinner

I respect your right to “prefer Walter Rodney’s positive view of Sealy.”
    It more or less confirms your particular bias.

RE: “……so I can’t see how anybody who only criticizes the Bees or Dees can remind you of Sealy.”

I cannot control what you ‘can or cannot see.’ I simply ‘said,’ “there were times when Eric Sealy mounded his platform to defend the DLP and criticise the BLP….. vice versa.”

In other words, information received suggests there were times when Mr. Sealy ‘was PAID to sing for his supper.’
    An opinion held by several political observers…… something I suspect you’ll ‘say’ you’ve never ‘heard’ before.

Remember, you ‘said,’ “Eric Sealy was perhaps more astute than many of us and was by any standards a brilliant orator who understood the political landscape better than most.
    He exposed the iniquities of both the Dees and Bees with equal venom.”

IF IT’S TRUE he ACTUALLY ‘sang for his supper,’ then, in that regard, perhaps on one hand, he was able to cleverly and successfully market those skills you described, amongst both BLP and DLP…… not only to the advantage of the political party that paid him, but to his advantage as well…….

…… while on the other, he independently “exposed the iniquities of both the Dees and Bees with equal venom.”

47. @Artax

This is the blogmaster’s read as well, Eric Fly was a hired gun.

48. Eric Fly was a hired gun.
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    So how is that different from ANY of the shiite lawyers that we hold in such high esteem?
    …Well except of course that Eric Fly did not have ready access to client funds for his personal benefit…

Lawyers are so ‘ETHICAL’ that, depending on who hires them first, they are able to argue convincingly for that person’s cause where, if the OPPOSITE party had hired them, they would have a diametrical opposite stand.

There is NO consideration of taking a MORAL stand based on RIGHTNESS.

No wonder Eric Fly was held in high regard in brassbados.

49. @Bush Tea

Don’t get your knickers in a bunch. It was an intervention to shatter an untruth posited above before it took wings.