Minister Charles Griffith, Youth Affairs

One has to conclude that in Barbados a big part of our problem is about poor governance and lack of civic responsibility. As a society we have become indisciplined and holding others accountable.

What is governance?

The system by which entities are directed and controlled.  It is concerned with structure and processes for decision making, accountability, control and behaviour at the top of an entity…

Governance Today

What is civic responsibility?

Civic responsibility means active participation in the public life of a community in an informed, committed, and constructive manner, with a focus on the common good… 

Tennessee State University

The blogmaster is aware a subject matter of this nature will not attract the interest it deserves from an educated Bajan public, however, it is a task some must undertake. The upside is the blogmaster will desist from being prolix.

More and more we find ourselves in a situation as a country with the tail wagging the dog – politicians being revered by citizens, refusing to see them as servants of the people.

Last week the blogmaster listened to a representative of the Barbados Fire Service (BFS) who shared a concern about the number of old people, young children and disadvantaged groups who have lost their lives to house fires. The BFS officer admitted there is no remedy in the works to address the problem that he is aware.

What does this example have to do with governance and civic engagement you are wondering?

Minister Kirk Humphrey is Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs and from all reports highly regarded by members of the public and political talking heads. Why has he not implemented initiatives to address the threat to the elderly community mentioned by the BFS officer? The same criticism can be directed at Minister Charles Griffith who has responsibility for Youth Affairs. Why have citizens not reacted with fury to the officer’s revelation by doing all that is possible to hold the two ministers to account? This is the kind of issue we should be using to assess the performance of the minister.

Why does Prime Minister. Mia Mottley have 27 ministers to satisfy a political objective of creating a toothless backbench at a time there is too much suffering in the country?

Why are our best citizens happy to be passive with civil engagement?

Why have successive governments renege on promise after promise to enact, proclaim, operationalize transparency legislation?

If the political directorate is not receptive to discharging duties in a patriotic manner, what will it take?

All roads lead to maintaining a robust governance framewoork.

#riotsintheland

58 responses to “Where are the good politicians? Where are the civic minded citizens?”

1. @ David,
    May I be so bold to insert this link into the mix. It’s relevant and is a reminder as to why black leadership throughout the world has become degraded.

Mia is feted throughout the world as she has aligned herself with western values.

Interesting to see Bush Tea and Pachamama indulging in a tete-a-tete. Even those two old timers have long given up all hope of their Barbadian citizens and leaders to transform their country as a serious nation.

For Barbados to thrive it must accommodate its diaspora. I would advocate that a good starting point would be to abolish both the DLP and the BLP parties. We should reset the clock from 1966 and throw out all inherited behaviour that we learnt from this period. If that means throwing out the baby with the bath water then so be it!

https://www.rt.com/africa/590746-patrice-lumumba-independent-congo/

2. @ William

All I can say is that Bajans are some of the most patient, good natured people on the planet!

3. David

Despot, arrogant etc we heard before under Owen. Then 2008-2018 happened.Funny thing is that people calling Ronnie(wh)o? arrogant too– from Cave Hill to voice notes. Lay yuh wicket do.🤣🤣

4. On the intersection of civics and the reckless elevation of gender or speech based abnormal norms.

In Ireland, for example, laws have been introduced to criminalize people who may have an article on their hard drive which questions genocide.

That people who fail to recognize the up to two hundred gender based elections be criminalized.

And on and on!

Are these to be the new civics? Or is this civics mindedness to be merely more of the old fashion meaninglessness as reimposed by the Bajan reactionaries.

5. Civics

At a time of systems collapse

Where the elites are running for the cash

Just like they’ve always done

Just like we saw when Apartheid was falling in South Afrika

But all the rest of us must focus on civics

Civics!

6. TheOGazerts on January 16, 2024 at 7:35 AM said:

“Men” like John A, the blogmaster, Donna, the A guy, even Jeff Cumberbatch are what keep the ship Barbados afloat.

I had heard that Jeff Cumberbatch was in the ICU. I am now hearing he has passed.

RIP.

7. Thank you, kind sir.
    I liked Jeff.
    May he RIP.
    A good day to you.

8. I looked in the mirror and do not like what I saw Avatar
    I looked in the mirror and do not like what I saw

I went to sleep uneasy and awoke ‘not feeling well’.

Yesterday was bitter cold. I was passing by a bus stop and saw a young man who was shivering. My first instinct was to stop and to take him wherever he was going, but then all sort of crazy thoughts went through my mind and I continued on my way.

What have I become? Am I afraid of your son and you are afraid of mine? Have I drank so deeply of the prejudices of the USA so that they have become an integral part of my reality.

When I reached home, I thought of taking a coat back for the youngster but I did not. But I will do what I have always done, I will store an clean extra coat in my vehicle