Walter Blackman – Actuary and Host of Brasstacks
The following was extracted from a comment posted by Walter Blackman to respond to BU commenter Bush Tea on another blog Nation Publishing MUST Do BetterBlogmaster

… However, I must express great disappointment and dismay at the level of stupidity you are displaying with respect to the Astrazeneca vaccine procurement scandal. I am a moderator, so I cannot give anyone the impression that the Astrazeneca Vaccine Procurement Scandal is an item on my personal political agenda. After reading the various articles in the press, I have analyzed the situation and agree that Barbadians only needed 300,000 vaccines at US$3 per dose. That means that Barbadian taxpayers should have been asked to only pay US$900,000 for the Astrazeneca vaccine.

Instead, we have a situation where the Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Health & Wellness (the Accounting head of the Ministry) wrote Astrazeneca and told them that she was ordering 1 million doses of the vaccine, and the million doses will be for the exclusive use of Barbadians and will not be resold.

Meanwhile, the PM of Barbados, from an interview in NY, said that Barbadians will have to pay US$24 per vaccine dose. Although Astrazeneca said that they will only be dealing with governments or COVAX to limit the profitability of the vaccine , the Government of Barbados asked them to deal with Radical Investments Ltd., a foreign company owned by Mark Maloney. So straight away, Barbadian taxpayers were being asked to pay US$24 million for Astrazeneca vaccines that should have only cost US$900,000.. The Minister of Health & Wellness said that he did not know that Radical Investments Ltd. as a company existed, so he would be bringing his political career to a sudden and unexpected end.

Barbados only needed 300,000 vaccines, so the extra 700,000 vaccines that Barbadian taxpayers would have paid for, based on the order placed by the PS of Health & Wellness, were now to be sold to St. Lucia and the Bahamas at US$27 per dose. The amount of money destined to pass through the hands of Radical Investments Ltd., owned by Mark Maloney, amounted to US$42.9 million. This is the heart of the Astrazeneca vaccine procurement scandal. The plot was hatched in secrecy, and everything would have worked like a dream if Mark Maloney had not been robbed by the “3-card men”, and forced to produce documents in a USA court..

The Government of Barbados, so far, has been unable to provide a credible defense against the scandalous allegations.

Now, in order to ventilate and discuss this matter further, I would have needed a caller to call the Brasstacks program and initiate discussion on the matter. That caller could have been you. Unfortunately, instead, you chose to sit on your backside and criticize me. Useless, lazy, dim-witted Bush Tea.

So far, you have wasted your time, my cursed friend. The opportunity is still there, though. Let us see if you can seize it. Call Brass Tacks and raise the issue. Or is that too much for your lazy backside to handle?

Feel free to cuss me if you want. I simply do not care.

409 responses to “UPDATE: Questionable Radical AstraZeneca ‘Purchase’ Attempted”

1. Cuhdear BajanJune 7, 2022 6:40 PM

@John June 7, 2022 5:36 PM “Why the secrecy?”

The secrecy is purely in your imagination.

I have been going to the funerals of Bajans who died of Covid, including that of my next door neighbor. Haven’t you been doing the same? If not why not?

A friend died very suddenly a few days ago.

Three shots like you.

Sounds like he may have had problems with lungs and last I heard the feeling was it was the vaccinations.

He had been an active individual and the death was real sudden.

Another friend’s daughter had blood clots in lungs and came very close to dying.

Vaccination suspected.

2. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“No one will remember you either.

You understand that? Right?”

speak for thyself, am not anonymous where it counts the most…

3. @ David

I’m a bit curious.

Do you know if the new Sanitation Service Authority Headquarters’ building in Vaucluse, St. Thomas is still unoccupied?

4. Funny thing, the friend who died lived up in the highland of St. Thomas, not too far from you and your deceased next door neighbour.

Was your neighbour vaccinated?

5. @ Cuhdear Bajan

ABSOLUTELY NO ONE is “anonymous where it counts the most…”

6. 2022 Sol Rally Barbados – SS1 – Kure Pickering 1

7. What is St.Lucia’s population? What is the Bahamas’ population? WB opened every Brasstacks show with this story prior to the election. Result 30-0. Egofowlism is a bitch eh! If only WB got that StJohn nomination instead of the late David Thompson, or even SME instead of Nicholas Alleyne.

8. @Artax

Up until a few weeks ago when the blogmaster had reason to traverse the area, no.

9. @enuff

All it meant there was a weak opposition. Nothing more.

By the way is there a legitimate concern at the procurement process taken with Radical Investment to your way of thinking?

10. WB opened every Brasstacks show with this story prior to the election. Result 30-0. Egofowlism is a bitch eh! If only WB got that StJohn nomination instead of the late David Thompson, or even SME instead of Nicholas Alleyne.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

THIS JUST HIGHLIGHTS HOW STUPID THE VOTERS ARE AND THE ACCEPTANCE OF CORRUPTION AS THE NORM.

NO WONDER BIZZY, MALONEY AND THE WHITE SHADOWS LOVE THE GREEDY POLITICIANS THEY KNOW THEY CAN CONTINUE TO ROB AND STEAL AND NOT BE LOCKED UP UNLIKE WHAT HAPPENS REGULARLY IN THE DEVELOPED COUNTRIES.

IT SPEAKS VOLUME WHERE ONLY ONE BAJAN POLITICIAN HAS BEEN LOCKED UP FOR THEFT AND DECEPTION IN OVER 50 YEARS AND THAT WAS NOT ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND BUT IN THE USA.

DONVILLE INNIS AND ALEX TASKER AMONG OTHERS WOULD BE WALKING AROUND THE 2 X 3 ISLAND FREE AS A BIRD IF IT WAS LEFT TO THE NORM AS BUSINESS AS USUAL.

ITS WHY THE POLITICIANS LAUGH BEHIND CLOSED DOOR VIEWING THE LOCALS AS IDIOTS AND GULLIBLE WHILST LINING THEIR POCKETS ONCE IN GOVERNMENT WHETHER BLP OR DLP.

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, you are waaay over the line to offer that this is some “government procurement gone bad” That’s an absurd understament I would expect from a yardfowl NOT you, brother!

Based on the very deliberate and specific direction from AstraZeneka’s PR that their intent was to offer the vaccine DIRECTLY to govts in order to subvert this exact middle man ‘usury’, and based on the denials of the Min of Health, and BASED on our PM’s distinctive style of micro management this was a deliberate FRAUD initiated from on high!

To suggest anything else is willful partisan BS!

@Dullard said it clearly … “we like it so“. We lurch from that pillar to post after post of outlandish corruption and pretend it’s bad procurement or rogue officials or tardy accounting or some other corporate bingo word of the day … it’s plain slimy, corrupt MADNESS!

What amazes me was the bold faced extravagant scope of this fraud … how de badword did they go from $3 a vax to the 8x value per vax …. how many crooks had to get a piece of the action!

Jesus Cristo, this makes Shylock look like a damn choirboy!

12. Enuff has absolutely NO shame.
    People here talking about SERIOUS CRIME, and how to address it, and he talks about winning seats? ..against Froon and Verla?
    Shiite man Enuff, leave that for Lorenzo…

It actually was REFRESHING to hear Walter’s clear passion about the WICKEDNESS involved in that vaccine shiite… partly of course because he (incorrectly) thought that the vaccines represented good health policy and was beneficial to Bajans, but MAINLY because, like Caswell, he is basically HONEST.

Enuff, like ac, represents all that is BRASSY about Barbados – where yard fowls are able to bury their conscience in the furtherance of their party’s goals HOWEVER DISHONEST these goals and methods may be.
    The bulldozer will sort wunna out…
    SHAME on you Enuff…

13. NorthernObserver Avatar

Artax
    “Could you please explain what you meant by ‘being surprised that people holding senior positions in Barbados were unaware of CBL?’”
    Just that. Senior business people in Barbados who do not know Clearwater Bay Limited or it’s role as Guarantor.

Of the few who do know, some take your stance, with Paradise Beach L.L.P gone, who does one go after? Which is the take those involved would like.

The other side, is where did the money actually go? The Bank of Scotland was to get a major chunck. Yet several of the other tranches were to restart FS and that never happened.

Hence one of the Aud Gen complaints, his office had no supporting paperwork.

Nobody has even touched WHY the GoB was bailing out these so called investors. And who else participated in these ‘debt settlements’ to restart FS.

You are invited to search Paradise Beach LLP and see the plethora of names who appear as directors up until it’s dissolution.

14. WHAT THE HELL!!!
    Is that the Dribbler waxing HOT on this topic?
    Shiite man – NOW THAT is what Bushie is talking about…!!!!
    …PAL 🙂

LOL Bushie was wondering if David had started dribbling too,
    but it seems that the Blogmaster was flushing out some hot dribble…

15. Nobody has even touched WHY the GoB was bailing out these so called investors. And who else participated in these ‘debt settlements’ to restart FS.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

DIDN’T MIA MOTTLEY NOT COLLECT $1 MILLION IN FEES ON THIS SAME PROJECT?

WAS AVANISH PERSUAD THE MAIN MAN ON THIS PROJECT DEALING WITH INVESTORS AND PROJECT MANAGEMENT, ALSO RESPONSIBLE FOR BRING IN WHITE OAK FROM THE UK?, NOW A MAIN BLP GOVERNMENT FINANCE CONSULTANT.

THESE PEOPLE ARE GREEDY AND SLEEZY AND OPERATE WITH NO CONSCIENCE.

UNFORTUNATELY MOST OF THE BLACKS ON THE 2 X 3 ISLAND EAT THEIR SHIT THINKING THAT THEY ARE EATING CHOCOLATE.

16. @ NO
    Bushie took Artax to be saying that he was surprised that YOU do not realize how damn STUPID most so-called Bajan ‘business people in senior positions’ are…. You ACTUALLY thought they would follow the discussion about CBL?

Boss, even CLICO, that ACTUALLY STOLE THEIR SAVINGS, continues to elude them. Parris ain’t still big and large bout here?
    the ONLY thing Bajans ‘understand’ is what some shiite politician tells them…
    Like Mia telling some in the country who complain bout roads, that they should ‘hold tight – cause she getting $300Million in Chinese loans to ‘fix their roads’.
    Do you think that they know that the Chinese will squeeze the YING outta their children’s donkeys for repayment in ten years time…?

..or how she convince Enuff that since she win 30 seats, he should ignore the lotta thieving and scheming with Mcmoney…

Do you understand SHEEP NO?
    think ..ba ba ba black sheet?

17. JohnJune 7, 2022 7:36 PM

Funny thing, the friend who died lived up in the highland of St. Thomas, not too far from you and your deceased next door neighbour.

Was your neighbour vaccinated?

How many Bajans you knew who died from COVID and were vaccinated?

Do you know of any who died who were unvaccinated?

I studying my head here now trying to think of people I knew or knew of who died or nearly died and so far the few I knew or knew of were all vaccinated.

18. MIA in New York living large and Maloney and family spent the weekend rallying in their expensive rally cars.

They got this.

19. Is ther a business opportunity creating Prime ministerial scarves ?

20. A wholesale attempt to fleece the taxpayers of Barbados supported by senior levels of Gov’t and “Enuff” writes NTSH while boasting of his Party’s success at the polls.
    BTW your oppo research on individuals who post under their legal names is getting stale, who cares whether Skinner lost an Election or Blackman failed to get a nomination but when you are petty stay petty

21. NorthernObserver Avatar

@BT
    Based on all the sh!!te being pushed around I would suggest a D11.
    I just finished reading, vs skimming, the Radical filing. It was a little more odious, all I could say is poor Bostic. But sweet when a cocky (bad word) like Maloney gets taken.
    Still think there was a lot more in CBL and White Oaks. The latter’s “success fees” were so egregious.

22. David
    I asked a question and you haven’t answered. Why? Because it would raise questions about the veracity of your “can-do-no-wrong” WB’s mouthings? Do you remember the W+W show? Tell me what of the many then burning issues WB raised repeatedly on that programme? I said what I said!

23. The even funnier thing is I believe everyone I know of or have heard of who had COVID was vaccinated.

…. exception GP.

Both siblings have had it and both are vaccinated.

I believe I may have had it way back in February 2020, so maybe I am one who has had it too but no testing at the time.

So far so good, knock wood.

24. HantsJune 7, 2022 11:22 PM

Is ther a business opportunity creating Prime ministerial scarves ?

….. a lot more cloth in the clothes!!

25. Drawing the essence of all the mixtures of energies as an extraction process for refinement

yields the question / answer and conclusion

can oldies be radicals? / hell no they can’t

Bu is the proof

None of you oldies are radicals

you are pathetic

26. The Dysfunctional Legacies of Slavery, Colonialism, Racism, Capitalism Societies are plain to see
    in the thoughts, words, action, politics, people, reasoning, blogs of Barbados, UK, USA and Worldwide

27. @ Enuff June 7, 2022 8:59 PM
    What is St.Lucia’s population? What is the Bahamas’ population? WB opened every Brasstacks show with this story prior to the election. Result 30-0. Egofowlism is a bitch eh! If only WB got that StJohn nomination instead of the late David Thompson, or even SME instead of Nicholas Alleyne.
    (Unquote).

So you, the boss liar, are now trying to factor into the scamming equation St. Lucia’s and the Bahamas’ populations as justification for the PS in the MoH&W to ‘ lie’ about the vaccine being ordered for the “exclusive use of Barbadians”?

BTW, what has become of the GoB’s central purchasing department? Was it closed for business due to Covid-19 during the same time period the now addled vaccine scam was being concocted?

You will soon have another ‘failed’ scam on your hands to justify when your much beloved friend called MAM No.2 does another Humpty-Dumpty when his imaginary Hyatt erection comes a-tumbling down.

28. based on the denials of the Min of Health, and BASED on our PM’s distinctive style of micro management this was a deliberate FRAUD initiated from on high!

could you meditate on and clarify the legal distinctions between the following and revert back when you are ready
    (a) Fraud
    (b) Incompetence
    (c) Classified Government information / national security
    while we await your response here’s some music from Power soundtrack

No Rest For The Wicked

Big Rich Town

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WEEtAIMUB9Q

29. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Milller…those frauds are still trying to EXTORT reparations from Europe to build their racist apartheid pipe dream in St. Lucy, tief what they can and don’t give the Afrikans descended from the enslaved a dime….

“Still think there was a lot more in CBL and White Oaks. The latter’s “success fees” were so egregious.”

some say a vehicle for money laundering, given their status as not registering as compliant..

“.or how she convince Enuff that since she win 30 seats, he should ignore the lotta thieving and scheming with Mcmoney…”

petty and crooked Enuff………”Enuff has absolutely NO shame.”

“NO WONDER BIZZY, MALONEY AND THE WHITE SHADOWS LOVE THE GREEDY POLITICIANS THEY KNOW THEY CAN CONTINUE TO ROB AND STEAL AND NOT BE LOCKED UP UNLIKE WHAT HAPPENS REGULARLY IN THE DEVELOPED COUNTRIES.”

that’s why they had to be MADE FAMOUS EVERYWHERE….let the world know how DANGEROUS they all are…..be on the lookout and vigilant for all of them at all times…they thought they would just breeze into Afrika with all their corruption and do as they liked…and no one would know the difference…with their black face helpers running point.

30. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Miller…don’t forget to tune in…the fowls are just display pieces at this point….

“If you missed your opportunity to call in with your questions and comments about corruption in Barbados, on previous programmes. this blogger will again be talking about the subject this coming Saturday, June 11, 2022, at 10:00 A.M., Eastern and Atlantic Times, or 1500 hrs, London Time. Hear it live Saturday at: https://246bajanvibesradio.com/

31. Glad to see the Radical issue survived the 5 minutes attention span.

Would be good to watch this case moves further in the US courts. However, it would not surprise me if MM was already (or will be) made whole independent of the outcome of the US case.

Lack of transparency or news on the local front will give rise to speculation.

32. Good to see the Radical issue has lasted longer than our 5 minutes attention span.

(Typo God, I dare you to put a typo in this post)

33. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

With all the world stage exposure on Barbados’ legacy of black on black crimes, let’s see if BUs fowls now the SYMBOLS OF CORRUPTION continue promoting it on here…

34. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

It’s instructive that they had the same amount of time, at least 15 years….. to create their blueprint to set up to tief reparations as they had to create a republic constitution BUT DIDN’T….draft the latter..

..too busy counting reparations money before they got it…..wunna should see their elaborate plans….good thing the other Caribbean islands are on to them…

35. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Enuff June 7, 2022 8:59 PM
    “What is St.Lucia’s population? What is the Bahamas’ population? ”

Enuff,
    The population of St. Lucia is 183,000.
    The population of the Bahamas is 393,000.

Now that your irrelevant questions have been answered, please, please, please go ahead and make your point.

36. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

Enuff,
    Here are some references to bring you up to speed with respect to the Astrazeneca Vaccine Procurement Scandal:

The Hon. Santia Bradshaw, acting PM’s press conference on September 22, 2021, called to explain why Radical Investment had to be given the procurement contract. We later discovered that Astrazeneca only sells vaccines to governments and COVAX.

PM: Radical Issue a red herring – Page 4A Nation September 26, 2021

Curious case of Radically inept vs bad vibes by Garth Patterson – Page 19A Nation October 10, 2021

Default judgment – Back page Nation February 6, 2022

Radical Investment Limited denies allegations – Page 8A Nation February 27, 2022

Lawsuit twist – Back Page Nation February 27, 2022

Maloney out, Bostic in – Barbados Underground

As you read, you will realize that none of these articles make reference to Walter Blackman, St. Michael East, or St. John.

Enjoy.

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Just the right population sizes for 600K doses of vaccine…..but for the “three card men”

38. @ Enuff June 8, 2022 12:45 AM
    I asked a question and you haven’t answered. Why? Because it would raise questions about the veracity of your “can-do-no-wrong” WB’s mouthings? Do you remember the W+W show? Tell me what of the many then burning issues WB raised repeatedly on that programme? I said what I said!
    (Unquote).

The ‘verbose’ miller knew long time ago that one day coming soon the whole of BU will come to know the truth about “Enuff”.

Now who is the bigger liar between you the two-bit red-painted political pimp and the Salemite aka Waru called Yolande?

‘Those who seek equity must come with clean hands.’

Go wash your dirty red hands, Enuff!

39. Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol Avatar
    Magnificent a.k.a Magno – Yu Heard Formula: C₂₁H₃₀O₂ IUPAC ID: (−)-(6aR,10aR)-6,6,9-trimethyl- 3-pentyl-6a,7,8,10a-tetrahydro- 6H-benzo[c]chromen-1-ol

Reality Check:
    The case is actually Maloney (as an Agent of GOB) as the victim of fraud where the other party failed to meet it’s contractual agreement for alleged non-existent Covid vaccines. The so called scam was committed by the other parties.

40. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

tief from tief…no victims…

41. @Walter

The role of central purchasing department was tabled in earlier exchanges. Do you buy the PM’s argument that at the early stage of the pandemic to procure the Covid vaccine was characterized as the wild Wild West and it therefore justified a deviation from government’s procurement policy?

42. William Skinner Avatar

@ Walter Blackman
    You are wasting your time with these shameless apologists on BU. They are steeped in political hypocrisy hiding behind a lot of pure BS.
    Whenever anybody says anything against Mottley and company, they either delved into the archives and bring some case against Stuart and company or put people on some witness stand acting as prosecutors.
    Their latest strategy is to pretend that the equally shameless apologists of the DLP are acting any differently from how the apologists of the BLP acted on BU , prior to the change of party.
    Suddenly ,they get on their high horses, claiming that the standards on BU have dropped and they now lack the zeal to participate or contribute.
    All of this is to disguise their disappointment in Mia Mottley and company.
    Your return to the airwaves was long overdue. These people know nothing about you . Your competence as a moderator, was established decades ago.
    Those hiding behind pseudonyms, should be left to carry the flags of the BLP and DLP, that’s they only purpose on this earth.
    They don’t have the right, competence or knowledge to validate you. Ignore them and keep up the good work.
    Peace

43. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“Those hiding behind pseudonyms, should be left to carry the flags of the BLP and DLP, that’s they only purpose on this earth.”

they can hide behind fake names, but will always be known as the symbols of corruption and all that is WRONG ON THE ISLAND destroying Afrikan lives…so let them wave their flags…

not only did Canada donate vaccines, but US did also, at least TWICE….and so did India….along with what they procured through that dude and paid for my TAXPAYERS..

..there was NO NEED for the vaccine scam….and don’t care how they bend over and try…it can never be justified in that time period…they had so many doses, that some expired and had to be dumped AND….all they had to do is go directly to AstraZeneca’s waiting list @$3 per dose……..not some unknown entertainment company’s list, hunted down by Mrs. Maloney’s husband, who have no vaccine factory like AstraZeneca does..

..wuh dem still int get none pon de white market…we int hear nutten back then, nor since bout no shortage of vaccines in Barbados…

they believe they are so slick….but this will haunt them..

44. Walter Blackman Avatar
    Walter Blackman

David June 8, 2022 8:59 AM

“@Walter

The role of central purchasing department was tabled in earlier exchanges. Do you buy the PM’s argument that at the early stage of the pandemic to procure the Covid vaccine was characterized as the wild Wild West and it therefore justified a deviation from government’s procurement policy?”

I saw the reference to the Central Purchasing Department, and it started me thinking. We have a drug formulary, so we routinely procure pharmaceuticals from diverse suppliers and countries. This is the approach we should have used, rather than contracting Maloney and his inexperienced foreign company. There was only one motive, and one motive alone, behind the move to use Maloney. All other arguments are useless and should be dismissed out of hand.

45. @Walter

However you try to look at the Maloney transaction it reflects poor governance and optics. It definitely doesn’t recommend the actors involved and makes a mockery of the recognition/awards that were conferred to some of them.

46. @ David June 8, 2022 8:59 AM

@Walter

The role of central purchasing department was tabled in earlier exchanges. Do you buy the PM’s argument that at the early stage of the pandemic to procure the Covid vaccine was characterized as the wild Wild West and it therefore justified a deviation from government’s procurement policy?
    (Unquote).

So why not engage the services of another private sector player in the same pharmaceutical import business with an established track record?

Why send a new kid on the drugs importing block to do a vitally important man’s job?

How can there then be a Cabinet decision to award Radical Investments such a large supply contract when the substantive MoH&W was totally unaware of such a decision?

Or was is part of the Manifesto promise to award 40 % of the GoB’s supply contracts to SME entities?

What ‘specialist’ skills did Radical Investments possess that was not possessed by the other Barbados-based entities which import pharmaceuticals and sell them to the local medical institutions and to even re-allocate some of their supplies to the other islands in the Eastern Caribbean?

It appears that Vaccinegate was simply as a ploy to put money in both MAMs’ pocket in exchange for a switch in political party financial support.

You might be taken aback at what went on when Rover starts to piss on the big White Oak tree.

Karma is a real SoB!

Over to you, Doc Ronnie Y! Here is your opportunity to do the dog since Mr. Austin has failed to do his duty for the Back Ivy posse.

You still do have your ‘white’ contacts in the UK, n’est-ce pas?

47. @Miller

We agree there is no reason which justifies Maloney being in the frame. All it does is to show how business is done in the place by the duopoly.

48. @Miller

The above said it is noteworthy to restate Enuff’s point- do Barbadians care? Is the political opposition and public service robust enough to dissuade this kind of maverick decision making?

49. “All other arguments are useless and should be dismissed out of hand.”

the remit of the legal case is the opposite of your narrative and reporting