Submitted by Cherfleur
Stephen Lashley – Attorney

As we approach our 70s and go beyond, we have to be weary and decide whether it pays to live to ‘that ripe old age’ then be stripped of all assets and control of our own welfare or whether to say goodbye at this point, with our faculties intact and muscles taut and able to fight back.

Today I learned, while attending what should have been the appeal for that matter Stephen Lashley blushed, that the elder and co-applicant died since January 21, 2021.  Nothings pained like this.  It was not murder it was by Pneumonia and Dementia.  Seriously?  Dementia can kill someone?  Why is an elder contracting pneumonia when someone is responsible for their care?  I am asking because I really do not know/understand. 

This very end result was predicted and that was why I took the matter to court.  In the UK and civilized spaces, once in/before the court the matter has to be dealt with properly.  In this case there was no direction to the applicant to re file one way or other (although there were two sittings without the defendants) but a dismissal of the application in favour of another under the mental Health Act, which removes all ‘interested parties’ who are not blood relatives; to the detriment of the elder.

I turned my attention away in December 2020 and he, for all intent and purposes a good whole man, DIED IN JANUARY 2021.  Itn’t it a pity!

The matter was thus withdrawn. The object of the appeal was to get ceases to exist

But Stephen Lashley had the presence of mind to mention cost.  I honestly was so devastated that I can’t say whether he was offering it of otherwise.

Believe it or not, he complained to the three wise men that I like to go to the Press and give my perspective. Whose should I be giving?  Why does my affair with the Press un-nerve him?

“Unless the Lion learns to write, tales of the hunt shall glorify the hunter”

A human died and that was Stephen Lashley’s concern.  Members of that fraternity must now think me an upstart to saunter into their Club house and play that I can play ball.  I merely wanted to bring attention to the plight of an elder that was being abused so greviously and he couldn’t get to his Attorney or any agency to complain. He was held hostage and denied some basic human rights.  Lashley stated that there was ‘no evidence’ (proven/presented) of abuse. 

The man is now dead. Lack of proper care!  God knows what else.  The State should be sued. But who will do it?

Since the application under the Human Rights Act was substituted for a Mental Health Act,  how can such be proven?  The Mental Health Act, simply because persons are older and it is given that they would be presenting with a deterioration of body parts and function, ip so facto, it is a presumptuous position and in my view an abuse of aging people and their rights.

The fight for elders’ rights is going to have to get fierce. Lawyers won’t do it.   The fraternity will fight to lock laymen out of their midst but there needs to be some new ways and attitude in the region of how to protect these vulnerable people.   Though the Judge’s Order addressed the other points I rose under my application, it failed to give protection (remove the offending parties) from the direct care and access to the elder. The Mental Health Act refers to them as ‘patients’. This Act, and under which Stephen Lashley’s clients  brought their application, removed outsiders; persons or organisations which are knowledgeable and unbiased about the scourge of elder abuse from bringing a claim to court.  His death so soon after the Order, which included that all receipts of his expenses be presented to the court each quarter and that only his expenses must be paid for from his money is testimony that such orders without protection are an invitation and recipe for their extinction.  The Order also tells where we are as a region as regards the reality of elder abuse.

Think Hernandez Brothers.

139 responses to “Elder Abuse – To be or not to be”

1. I en nuh doctor so I had to let google be my friend because I could have sworn that dementia can and does kill.

Nothing I saw there contradicted what I thought.

2. Still not a doctor but I suggest you google pnemonia as well.

3. Pneumonia

4. when I read your first paragraph “As we approach our 70s and go beyond, we have to be weary and decide whether it pays to live to ‘that ripe old age’ then be stripped of all assets and control of our own welfare or whether to say goodbye at this point, with our faculties intact and muscles taut and able to fight back.”
    the fool in me started to laugh. The picture of being deprived of your assets when you need them most conjured up an image of an old man walking with a cane and a youngster snatching the cane and running away. Funny in a macabre way.

But the rest of the post was incredibly sad. I will not try to add to the story, but I am left to wonder if elders can rely on the government for protection.

5. A caring society- defined as ALL actors in civil society- should look out for the most vulnerable, whether elders, children the poor etc. Are we there yet?

6. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Not one parliament RAT in the last 74 YEARS ever put themselves out of the way, despite being taxpayer PAID…to help the elderly ROBBED of their possessions, bank accounts, ESTATES and their BENEFICIARIES and their descendants ROBBED OF THEIR FUTURES…not one…

THAT IS 3 GENERATIONS of victims….all enabled and endorsed by 3 GENERATIONS of WICKED POLITICIANS/LAWYERS..

start by asking the descendants of the people who went to Panama, worked and sacrificed to buy 5 ESTATES on the island and they WERE STOLEN…….

7. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Are we there yet?
    Yes we are there. We have cultivated a society that pays inordinate attention to material wealth. We educate for upward mobility. We value ourselves by the material things we have. The author is overly concerned about the subject being robbed of earthly possessions,not about the well-being of the deceased when he was alive.
    So what is new. You David BU is suggesting the GoB supervise each elderly person and prevent him from abuse. What are we, as caring neighbours ,friends and family supposed to do? Nothing?
    As usual you are correct. Elderly people are prone to die of pneumonia especially if they go to QEH.Iam told. Yes for some reason some old people and young , do get dementia and die from it in old age. It is a degeneration of brain cells.. Is it caused by age or is an accompanying ailment of age?

Was the intention to demonize lawyers and the Legal System ? Or are we really caring of the old? Just my rambling thoughts. I hope I do not have Dementia.LOL!!!!

8. couple of facts …when you get old people start taking things away from you, drivers licence,for one. Dont give up your money till the last minute or nobody will come visit you.
    Dementia killed my neighbor he forgot to turn the gas off before he lit up fag.

9. @Vincent

How did you arrive at your conclusion? There is a problem we have to try to fix it notwithstanding mistakes made along the way.

10. @VC
    Allow me to question a small part of your comment.

‘The author is overly concerned about the subject being robbed of earthly possessions,not about the well-being of the deceased when he was alive.’

Can we separate the two. People who are likely to rob you of your worldly possessions are more likely to wish you were dead than to care about your well-being.

Maintaining a grip on your worldly possessions may help keep you alive.

I admire your faith in the good of your fellowman and I love that fact that you see the beauty of your fellowman.

I added a verse to the Desiderata just for you

‘Exercise caution in your business affairs, for the world is full of trickery. Be not blind to what wickedness and tricky there is; many persons strive for low ideals, and everywhere life is full of frauds.

11. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, I presumed the author wanted to speak out as she was upset about the death of her relative but like @Codrington I also was unclear about what was the public interest story whether about bad lawyering or egregious elder abuse as it really didn’t appear to a straightforward case of elder abuse.; nor was there any clarity of what the lawyer may have done badly.

When I read the remarks about pneumonia and dementia as illnesses that could kill I actually laughed and was reminded of a rant in the news of a tik-toker (thus a young citizen) who said she was angry because she had been mislead all her life that the lunch hour in the work day was paid time! She was quite upset and ranted wonderfully with many views but apparently did not realize she was glorifying IGNORANCE! That was sadly hilarious !

But anyhow, condolences to the author re the untimely death of her relative, regardless of the circumstances that finality can be jarring and difficult to handle.

12. @Dee Word

Hopefully Chefleur will chime in to clarify concerns.

13. Theo I would have to disagree, how many people keep old people alive living with them to collect their pensions it is not a one off. They also fail to mention they are dead to the authorities so the checks keep coming in . There is a lot of people so crooked when they die you dont bury them you just screw them into the ground.

14. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu
    I came to my conclusions after reading and rereading the posted article at caption. Can you pinpoint the problem to be fixed since I seem to have missed it?

15. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

I stand corrected, but i could swear Chefluer has over and over posted on this VERY TOPIC for quite a few years…giving very INDEPTH information on the subject matter, and his/her sojourn through the supreme court and the long sought/hard fought victories and loses..

i even commented and gave one or two words of advice based on my own journey through that system of stagnation…

but don’t mind me, i tend to file things away and bring them out when they apply.

16. @Vincent

Let us do this as a constructive exercise coming out of the blog by Chefleur. Do you and others accept there is an issue of elder abuse in Barbados?

17. @Lawson,
    I admit your last post was on the mark in some areas, but it also highlights human weaknesses. Same hymnal,different songs.

18. “I will not try to add to the story, but I am left to wonder if elders can rely on the government for protection.”

@ Theo

“Picture” this and then ‘tell’ if it’s funny.

A then SEVENTY-SIX (76) year old female who, after living with and taking care of her mother until she died, was FORCIBLY EVICTED from the home she lived in for over 55 years, by an UNCARING brother who DID NOT offer any ASSISTANCE, financial or otherwise, to his ailing mother, but manipulated the process to claim the house was his…..AIDED by a HEARTLESS Court system and Court Marshalls that threatened to DUMP her possessions if she couldn’t move within THREE (3) DAYS….. WITHOUT any CONSIDERATION given to her AGE and the possibility of her having to live on the streets, because she DID NOT have anywhere to go.

“Picture” this as well.

This current Mia Mottley led BLP administration, ABRUPTLY ENDED PAYMENTS of pensions, WITHOUT PRIOR NOTICE, to a ‘handful’ of retired National Assistance Board employees who are in their late 70s and early 80s.
    Surely those senior citizens can’t ‘break’ the Treasury.

Yet, BLP stalwart, Dame Antoinette ‘Billie’ Miller, has been REWARDED with ‘FREE MONEY’ under the IRRELEVANT title of ‘Ambassador at-large for Barbados.’

And, so TOO is former CoP Darwin Dottin, who was appointed Consultant to the Barbados Police Service.

I also deem ‘AGE DISCRIMINATION,’ which has become commonplace in Barbados, to be elder abuse as well.

19. What is REALLY amazing here is that brass bowls can fail to appreciate the situation being outlined by the writer…
    What a damned place!!!
    Of course, the SAD reality is that even the victim, who obviously did not enjoy his last years on earth probably, like many here, would only understand the situation when his turn came as a victim.
    No wonder there is no hope for us…

At least it is refreshing to know that there is one person who cared enough to not ‘cross over on the other side of the road’ and pass with his nose in the air… Thank you Chefleur.

As to ‘Lil Hitler’ and his ilk, their day will come…..
    We ALWAYS reap what we sow….ALWAYS.

20. @Bush Tea

It is a dog eat dog world.

21. bajanfreeparty Avatar
    bajanfreeparty

OUR SPECIAL SERIES ON MONEY LAUNDERING AND CORRUPTION IN BARBADOS STARTS TOMORROW
    rijock.blogspot.com
    OUR SPECIAL SERIES ON MONEY LAUNDERING AND CORRUPTION IN BARBADOS STARTS TOMORROW
    If you are a bank compliance officer in North America or the European Union, you will want to read our special series detailing rampant co…

22. It is a dog eat dog world.
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    Frankly Boss, it is a shiite world.
    Fortunately is will be terminated shortly.

23. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Then there are those would want to brag and boast how great everything is on the island, but for whom?…a bunch of heartless beasts whose turn is just around the corner….

thankfully, there are still some kindhearted souls out there…

24. Seniors…

“As we approach our 70s and go beyond, we have to be weary and decide whether it pays to live to ‘that ripe old age’ then be stripped of all assets and control of our own welfare or whether to say goodbye at this point, with our faculties intact and muscles taut and able to fight back.”

Xxxxxxx

Old age.
    It’s one of the last taboo subjects of modern society. Everyone’s aware of it, everyone knows it will happen one day but even now it’s still one of those topics that dare not mention its name.
    And yet, barring a tragic accident, all of us will one day become old.
    Each and everyone one of us.
    Which unfortunately means it’s no good burying your head in the sand, pretending it’s not going to happen to you or someone you love or even just hoping it’ll all work out in the end.

All that means that going forwards the onus is very much going to be on you to make sure you’re looked after in your old age.

It’s not nice to think about but one day a loved one may have to come in and make decisions about your care for you. Try to make things easy for them by being organized. Make sure all your financial documents and plans are in one place.  With them keep a clear list of everything coming in and out of your household finances, any savings or investments you have, any properties you own and any debts you might have. Knowing exactly what your finances are will be invaluable in sorting your care for you and help themselves along the way.

25. Brass bowls like me prefer people to get their facts straight.

The fact that the lady did not know that dementia can kill is telling. The fact that she questioned how someone who is being well taken care of can catch or develop pneumonia is also telling.

She has implied certain things that could be taken as accusations of a serious nature based on what exactly?

What else did she get wrong about thiso particular situation?

It is not unreasonable to wonder.

Nevertheless, we do know that the situation she has outlined does occur and we are well aware that our governmental system does not respond adequately.

26. I remain convinced that with a little effort Barbados could be a paradise to the vast majority of its citizens.
    —x–
    @4:01 p.m.
    I must betray my ignorance here.
    Is there an emergency service and an ambulance service in Barbados?
    Do those in charge track response times ( the time between making a call and the appearance of an emergency vehicle)?
    Could we persuade the Nation to invest in an emergency vehicle as they can get to the scene faster than the emergency vehicle?
    If it was a fire would the fire service have such an awful response time. If the answer is no, could the the fire service be provided with an ambulance so that they can transport citizens in distress? Make it mandatory that the fire service ambulance attend every call for a fire.
    It appears the police has a faster response time but a nastier attitude. How do we get a change of attitude?

Seriously, is the ambulance service the same as the emergency service?

27. What fool could have ever said that everything is great on the island?

This fool has only maintained that though Barbados has its problems, they are shared by most other countries and that life can be enjoyed here much as it can be anywhere else.

AND, I make no apologies for enjoying it, since I know that if our positions were reversed, those who suffer now would be doing the same.

I have advocated for help AND volunteered to help both young and old. So no heartlessness here either. Just realism.

The [suffering] will always be with us.

28. Didn’t I read somewhere that they are moving to having just one switchboard for the three services?

Forget 511, 211 and 311. Get one number 611, track response times and give the person in charge a big stick.

29. My Last Word
    I do not believe that one must receive extensive training in an area in order to make comments on it, but it behooves bloggers to ensure that their posts can withstand a fat check.

Not all bloggers are equal.

I read most comment/posts. Some I accept without doing an investigation, some have to be examined carefully before acceptance and some can just be ignored.

As an example, I believe that I have already heard everything hat Lorenzo has to say – Can safely be ignored

His counterpart , ac, works harder at pushing her product. Her posts can be repetitive, amusing and even creative – Worth a read, but get out your sieve and a scissors.

I always find Chefleur to be a good read. I would urge her to be cautious when departing from the facts of her case. I did not get caught up with her claim about pneumonia but it was a stumbling block for some. I repeat “I do not believe that one must receive extensive training in an area in order to make comments on it, but it behooves a blogger to ensure that their posts can be fat check” and free of obvious errors.

I am aware of how one misstatement can undermine a very strong article

30. what he phuck is wrong with you people you think cow williams not know where the money going you think melnyk not knowing where the money going stop only stupid people think they living forever or mind intact

31. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

“I am aware of how one misstatement can undermine a very strong article”

Chefleur has posted on this matter regarding the vulnerable senior for YEARS…it’s telling that something that petty is being used to take away from what actually transpired…..i get the emotion involved, it’s not am easy feat dealing with a stagnant and potentially dangerous system with a bunch of lowlifes in charge..especially when the end result remains HUMAN RIGHTS VIOLATING..

32. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

and in the minds of intelligent people, dwelling on a misstep or two incessantly, will never take away from the seriousness of that particular case, especially when the dweller has nothing useful in the way of information to offer to change the toxic dangerous decades old mindsets in the judiciary and other taxpayer funded entities….that is the REAL PROBLEM…and should be a priority to make significant changes…

“but it was a stumbling block for some”

some people just cannot move on from shit..

33. The point being missed by the “thoroughbred racehorses” is simply this-

if Cherfleur does not understand DEMENTIA, perhaps she did not understand the nature of this man’s illness and why his family was “treating him” as they did.

She has posted extensively AND EACH TIME I wondered exactly where she was getting her information and whether or not it was reliable.

Cuhdear Bajan, I recall, had queries also. Neither of us wish to see elders abused but these cases are not always as they seem.

That being said, I REPEAT-

Our governmental response to situations raised is tardy and inadequate. We need to do better.

I don’t know what will be my fate and so this is about caring for myself as well as those who presently suffer.

I see no point in trying to deflect from a problem that could eventually be mine.

Sigh! How hard it is to be a plodding jackass, slow and steady but going places where racehorses would be useless!

34. The true measure of any society can be found in how it treats its most vulnerable members‘.Mahatma Ghanai September 15, 2016

35. DISABLED ONLY!

$500 penalty for offenders parking in City spots
    The disabled community now has four designated parking spaces on the streets of Bridgetown, and Government is warning able-bodied people that they will pay a $500 penalty if caught in the spots.
    During a ceremony yesterday on Prince William Henry Street in The City to commission the new parking spaces, Minister of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs Kirk Humphrey said this was being done to make Barbados more inclusive and accessible.
    Along with the one designated spot on Prince William Henry Street, there are two others on Tudor Street and one on McGregor Street.
    Humphrey stressed they were solely for people with disabilities, adding his ministry will carry out a robust media programme urging able-bodied people not to take advantage of the spots.
    He said more designated spaces are coming across the parishes, and that other infrastructural adjustments would soon be introduced in the health care, transport and educational sectors to make the lives of disabled people more comfortable.
    Permits, with expiration dates, to access the parking spaces will be disseminated upon request and are to be hooked on the rear-view mirror or another visible area of vehicles.
    Minister of Transport, Works and Water Resources Santia Bradshaw said a lot of discussion went into allocating the parking spaces, noting that Government had delivered on the pleas of the 12 000 people who signed a petition a few years ago.
    She said any able-bodied person caught using the spaces could face a penalty of up to $500 and that would also apply to blocking the dropped kerb (lower section of the sidewalk) for wheelchair access.
    Twenty years later
    President of the Barbados Council for the Disabled (BCD), Kerry-ann Ifill, said yesterday was a significant milestone for the disabled community, as the initiative made members feel recognised and included.
    “In 2002, the Pan American Health Organisation launched its recently commissioned report on attitudes towards persons with disabilities in Barbados. Coming out of that report, the then president of the BCD, Cleveland Mayers, started a process that took us here 20 years later. That process was to introduce parking permits for persons with disabilities as a public service and a reminder.
    “Over the years the BCD . . . in various ways and various undertakings worked towards today, an opportunity for our presence in The City to be formally acknowledged and recognised. We have petitioned several Governments (and) worked through our Fully Accessible Barbados programme. This may seem small to some but to us this is a magnificent day, another big day on the calendar for persons with disabilities. As we begin to revitalise the capital of Barbados, it would be a revitalisation that recognises that all citizens of Barbados regardless of status, regardless of ability, regardless of disability, regardless of anything, we will be welcomed and included and acknowledged and recognised.”
    Ifill added: “There are designated days on which you can report to the council . . . . Please contact us to ensure that you have the right to visibly park in these and all of the other designated spaces around Barbados.”
    For many years, the council has been agitating for better access throughout the island, especially at often-frequented areas and places of business.
    (SB)

36. @ wisdom…

“I remain convinced that with a little effort Barbados could be a paradise to the vast majority of its citizens”.

Xxxxxxxx

So true….

37. Yup!

38. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@de pedantic Dribbler May 13, 2022 10:54 AM ” I presumed the author wanted to speak out as she was upset about the death of her relative.”

My response: The elder was NOT her relative.

@Cherfleur ” the elder and co-applicant died since January 21, 2021.”
    The elder has been dead for 16 months and the co-applicant was unaware? How can you be interested in a person’s welfare and be unaware that they are dead, dead, dead?

Dementia kills. Pneumonia kills. In fact pneumonia used to be know as “the old people’s friend”, because it took them quietly away. My own mother died of pneumonia in spite of the care provided by a loving husband, 3 loving daughters, an excellent physician and a paid caregiver. She was 85 years and 10 months. Nobody was t blame. ALL LIFE ENDS IN DEATH.. It does not mean that the elder was abused or neglected. Death is INEVITABLE.

39. @ Donna
    I honestly didn’t know that Dementia could kill.
    I know Pneumonia can kill if not caught and treated on time.
    The crux of the matter is, as I said, was why/how did the man get pneumonia if and when he was being cared for, supposedly

40. @ TheOGazerts
    The picture you have is quite what is is, especially in this instance.
    This older man married a younger woman who ran away eventually, leaving her to raise two children; old oil, the call it in GT.
    So now in his 70’s and weakened and with an asset bounty they wanted what is his, before he was due to leave it for them. The High court facilitated that also by giving the very perpetrators permission to manage his assets and his welfare. With the court’s oversight. But that was the challenge. with him gone the court has no further interest. He is another statistic for Birth and Deaths.

41. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

We hear of elders being stripped of assets but is this really the truth?

if an elder has been declining for years, if the elder has dementia, clearly bills still have to be paid for water, food, electricity, diapers, clothing, telephone [if only so that the caregiver can call emergency vehicles etc]. The elder still has to be fed, the elder may need medicines for other conditions. The elder’s money has to pay for doctor’s appointments. Somebody has to provide hands on care for the elder. Frequently this is a middle aged daughter who does it for “free”. Somebody has to do baths, comb hair, cut men’s hair, braid women’s hair. Somebody has to do grocery shopping, somebody has to do laundry. All of these thing costs time and or money. If a family member cannot provides the care “free” then some or perhaps ALL of the elder’s assets may be used to pay at-home paid caregivers, or used to pay a nursing home. And if a middle aged gives up her job or works reduced hours in order to provide free care what does this do to her own earning capacity, and her need to put down something for her own end of life care?

I’ve know of a case where a brother put his 60+ sister out of the family house immediately their mother died? Why? The mother had willed the property to her favored son, yet it was the daughter who provided years of care as mother declined into dementia, including severely restricting her own work hours so that she could care for mum. But mum had always favored her boy children. The daughter knew about the will, she said “I know that mum favored my brother, I knew that she had willed the house to him, but I also knew that he would never provide hands-on care to mum” She left the property peacefully. The woman is a saint.

I knew of another case where the father with dementia had to be placed in a nursing home. However he was not so demented that he forgot to demand that his children bring his pension cheque to the nursing home for his inspection and signature. That was years ago. The nursing home cost $1200 per month. His pension was $800 per month, yet he frequently remarked that his children were taking his money. In fact his children were making up the difference between the value of his pension and the cost of the very nice nursing home.

Things are not always what they seem. I remember Cherfleur’s notes from years ago. I recall that she was NOT a family member, but a late in life “friend” of the elder whose FAMILY had wisely excluded her from his care.

Things are not always what they seem to be.

42. @ Bush tea
    This shit scares the hell outta me. I am getting old too. If the State and society at large have such apathy for people who , it seems are regarded as crossing over ior taking up space (and too much attention) now, what would it be like by my time?
    I look at the vagrants on the streets and actually told one only last night that he should be grateful to be alive and assured him that he has nothing much to fear because no one is going to hurry him on and out because he has nothing anyone wants.

Thanks for expressing your empathy.
    Not long ago, if you may recall the incident of the barking dogs and the Student article in the Nation. What the student found most disturbing was not the perpetual nuisance of the barking but the lack of sympathy , from the owner and neighbours when she complained.
    Where are we?

43. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@cherfleur May 14, 2022 11:29 PM “…with an asset bounty…”

Did the old man have an asset bounty because he did not contribute to the cost of raising his children? If the “young wife” raised the children without him and with her own time and money, it would seem to be that he owes the children and their mother [runaway or not] hundreds of thousands of dollars.

Because raising children int cheap.

44. @ Vincent Codrington
    This article is one of a series about elder abuse. I am showcasing this issue as it relates to a particular gentleman I knew and assisted. Whether the legal system or Lawyers are demons is for someone else to say.
    I can say resolutely and unapologetically that the Ministry responsible for elder affairs is failing this group of vulnerable persons. They did nothing about my complaints to all of their various units.
    I should never have had to get so actively involved to make the plight of this individual known (in 2020). I should never have had to run hither and thither and stop to learn how to file Claim and Statement of Claim so that once filed the Court has to pay attention , as I have learned).
    It is sickening.

45. @ Brass bowls like me prefer people to get their facts straight.
    xxxx
    I stated what the Death Certificate showed as the cause of death. Then I asked a question.
    Where in that if a fact that is not straight, or it it lack of comprehension of the English language? I heard of people who had Dementia dying but the cause of death was always something else. Further…..
    It would be a waste of time…..

46. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

@Cherfleur May 14, 2022 11:19 PM ” why/how did the man get pneumonia if and when he was being cared for, supposedly.”

Old people get pneumonia
    Old people get dementia
    Old people get diabetes
    Old people get hypertension
    Old people get cancer
    Old people get heart disease
    Old people get influenza. I am old and I have the flu now. I don’t know how I got it as during Covid I don’t go out much, but there are other younger members of my family who MUST go out to work and to school. And “yes” family members, care givers can bring home viruses and bacteria, not deliberately, but inevitably. If we knew how to keep all viruses and bacteria away there would be no infectious diseases in the world. But the world is full of infectious diseases.
    Old people get Covid
    Old people get O-L-D.
    All of the above kill eventually. It does not matter how excellent the care is.
    And
    Paupers die.
    Princes die.
    Prime Ministers die.
    Presidents die.
    Popes die.
    Priests, pastors and prelates die.
    Excellent care can delay death but it CANNOT stave it off forever.
    Death is inevitable.

47. @ Pidantic Dribbler.
    The public interest is about elder abuse. This is one of many on elder abuse.
    The substance of this article is about elder abuse not lawyering. There was only two sentences about the Lawyer’s attitude on the issue.

48. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

In truth no court anywhere is likely to grant “guardianship” of an old person to a “stranger” or “friend” if the old person has a spouse, or adult children alive, because in truth all of us want to be cared for by our own spouses or adult daughters and sons and if they cannot provide hands-on care we want them to choose our caregivers for us if we are unable to do so for ourselves.