Attached are charts for the week ending 1st April. All the charts indicate a distinct upswing in the epidemic reminiscent of the changes around the period when Omicron was taking over from the Delta strain. I suspect we are now in a similar phase when the new variant Omicron BA-2 might be taking over from Omicron.
Source: Lyall Small
Crop over ?
YouTube
Brazil Carnival – Best of Highlights – Beautiful Dancers Compilation – Samba – Carnaval Brasil
Might be they live in areas where the water supply is Covid free … or as one doctor opined, they have no friends!!
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/health/familyhealth/why-do-some-people-not-catch-covid-doctor-gives-four-reasons-some-people-may-be-immune/ar-AAVMhMA?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=W069&cvid=565b7c2bfb464b6b8bf3e3a1e4dc6341
https://www.instagram.com/p/Cb3V2jUMxUy/
Brazil and Africa being targeted for Crop Over
By Tre Greaves tregreaves@nationnews.com
The Sweetest Summer Festival will soon meet the Samba.
As negotiations with Crop Over stakeholders continue, efforts to attract more visitors from international markets to this year’s festival and beyond have intensified, and South America’s largest country, Brazil, will be the main target as the Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. (BTMI) looks to make its presence felt in Latin American from next week.
If we could replace our British visitors with those from Brazil, our Covid numbers would fall.
https://imgur.com/iHPHkFF
https://imgur.com/GSyZUXm
I predict the PM will force the CMO to drop all the protocols except for hand sanitizer and fully open the country during this April month to ensure the tourism goose keeps laying golden eggs to get us out of our economic deficit hole.
The COVID cases and deaths have been inflated for the longest time to hide the fact that all the measures were overkill.The latest one being the recent jump in people dying at home subsequently testing positive postmortem not having a proper autopsy to determine cause of death.
A UK doctor predicts COVID cases in the UK will soar and that “any control we had over Covid is over”
Another UK doctor (John Campbell) says cases will plummet.
Who is right, time will tell.
Me, I think the doctor saying cases will plummet is correct because that’s what happens and is observable time and time again in all countries.
He may not understand why … but it is obvious.
If cases do fall as he predicts and I expect, they will do so because the water supply has improved momentarily.
However, because no one seems to understand that simple fact, I expect that the pattern of rises and falls will continue.
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/health/medical/not-a-single-person-is-isolating-doctor-s-warning-as-covid-cases-soar/ar-AAVMBEe?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=W069&cvid=18a317355dd54d3fbd025010d97b23e2
The low vaccination rate in the Caribbean once again impressively shows that all this WOKE and BLM speak about the equality of all people is complete nonsense. Of course people differ culturally. We see this best with the low vaccination rate in our region.
Our Supreme Leader should therefore have no more regard for our superstitious natives who fear Corona vaccination more than their white masters. All had the opportunity to be vaccinated with Biontech or Moderna. Those who still die now have only themselves to blame.
I therefore call for the end of any compulsory testing for fully vaccinated arrivals, the end of compulsory masks and more.
DavidApril 2, 2022 10:09 AM
Tourism backlash
By Barry Alleyne
barryalleyne@nationnews.com
Barbados has started to lose some of its allure as a holiday destination due to its mask-wearing mandate and COVID-19 entry requirements.
Chief executive officer of the Barbados Hotel & Tourism Association (BHTA), Rudy Grant, told the Saturday Sun yesterday that their membership hotels had been the bearers of bad news in recent weeks, revealing that holiday-goers were starting to shift their attention to Antigua and Barbuda, Grenada and St Lucia to book their vacations.
Surely these officials understand that the tourist season is from Mid December to mid April and it is now April.
COVID-19 UPDATE: 204 new cases – COVID-19 UPDATE: 204 new cases:
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/03/covid-19-update-204-new-cases/
A total of 204 people were identified as COVID-19 positive from the 960 tests conducted on Saturday, April 2
204 from 960
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/03/covid-19-update-204-new-cases/
Hope Barbados has a plan to treat those who contract Covid during and after Cropover.
@John April 3, 2022 5:06 PM
This year for one year only, the tourist season is all year . The tourists have been locked up at home climbing the walls for 2 years with nothing to spend their money on and cruising on the huge floating petri dishes is not coming back in any serious numbers until winter this year or early next year at best.
Occupancy will be near 100% for the rest of the year if we get rid of the useless protocols starting with all port entry requirements, masks protocols and testing exposed people not exhibiting symptoms. Masks never worked and only succeeded in giving a false sense of security
Well, if the Tourists aren’t coming the whales are!
I’ve read about a Tiger Shark eating a child swimming off Speightstown in 1927 and also tha there was a whaling station in Speightstown but here’s what happened I am told off the West Coast today.
https://imgur.com/8vdaxrp
@ Critical Analyzer April 3, 2022 8:18 PM
“Occupancy will be near 100% for the rest of the year if we get rid of the useless protocols starting with all port entry requirements, masks protocols and testing exposed people not exhibiting symptoms. Masks never worked and only succeeded in giving a false sense of security.”
How right you are! Everyone had the chance to be vaccinated. These so-called protocols remind me of a cultic act, they have no medically necessary function whatsoever.
Time to end Corona fascism!
It is not Corona that has badly damaged our economy and finances, but numerous xenophobic proposals by the BAMP Taliban to turn Barbados into a medical North Korea. Time for our Supreme Leader to go against BAMP and other enemies of tourism.
Whales can’t done.
https://imgur.com/Nh4Qfo1
The Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory recorded 222 new COVID-19 cases, 101 males and 121 females, from the 884 tests carried out on Sunday, April 3.
222 from 884
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/04/covid-19-update-222-new-cases/
Positivity rate up to 25%.
Interesting.
https://www.instagram.com/p/Cb8Jgz2M35i/
Boss, if you think it ‘interesting’ that more vaccinated persons are ill, than are the unvaccinated, then you have not been paying enough attention.
Wait until someone gets around to producing that simple graph that the poor bushman has been requesting for weeks now…(all-cause deaths & causes vis a vis vaccinated, unvaccinated etc.)
THAT data will become increasingly interesting.
@Bush Tea
There is that AND the fact primary care has the highest number for unvaccinated.
I LOVE TO READ THESE COVID POSTS AND ALL THE CHARTS AND STATISTICS ON BU FOR MY MORNING MIRTH
TODAY IN BARBADOS TODAY, WE READ OF THE BAMP PRESIDENT SPEAKING OUT…….AND SAYING NOTHING.
COME ON FOLK “MASK UP”” KEEP ON MASKING UP CAUSE THAT WILL STOP THE COVID
NOW I AM VERY NAIVE AND A DUNCE RIGHT? UNLIKE JOHN WHO WON THE ISLAND SCHOLARSHIP TWICE, I ONLY ONE ONCE, BUT STUPIDLY TURNED DOWN TWO, CAUSE I THOUGHT THAT I HAD GOT ENOUGH BENEFITS FROM OUR NATIONAL PROVISION AND LARGESS
BUT I ALWAYS FOUND THE PRACTICE OF MEDICINE EASY.. AND AFTER ATTENDING MEDICAL SCHOOL THE SECOND TIME IT IS NOW EVEN CLEARER
IF YOU COME TO A DIAGNOSIS OF ACUTE APPENDICITIS………YUH DOES DO AN APPENDICECTOMY.
IF YOU COME TO A DIAGNOSIS OF CHOLOLITHIASIS ………YUH DOES START WITH DRIP AND SUCK, BEFORE INVARIABLY DOING CHOLCYSTECTOMY.
IF YOU COME TO A DIAGNOSIS OF A RUPTURED SPLEEN ……..YUH DOES DO A SPLENECTOMY.
IF YOU COME TO A DIAGNOSIS OF A UTERINE PROBLEM YUH DOES DO A HYSTERECTOMY
GENERALLY YUH DOES KNOW WUH TO DO BECAUSE THE ANSWER MAY USUALLY BE FOUND
IN THE STANDARD TEXTS
OR THE FINE PRINT OF THE NOTES THE CHAPS GET WHEN THEY TAKE THE POST GRAD COURSES IN THE UK PRIOR TO THE EXAMS FOR FRCS OR MRCP
OR FRENCH’S TOME ABOUT DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSES—A MOST COMPREHENSIVE BOOK THAT ADDRESSES NEARLY ALL SYMPTOMS
SO WUH YUH DOES DO WHEN A CORONOVIRAL INFECTION ARISES? YUH DOES LISTEN TO DR FALSY, AND THE EDICTS OF THE WHO DIRECTOR WHO AINT A DR. AND YOU DIRECT THE WORLD AND IN SOME COUNTRIES FORCE THE PEOPLE TO FOLLOW UNCONVENTIONAL METHODS THAT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH NORMAL MEDICAL PRACTICE.
THEN TO ADD TO THE MIRTH FOR ME, IS THE BU RUM SHOP FOLK WHO ARE BONE FIDE AND WELL QUALIFIED MEDICAL ILLITERATES SO THEY READ ARTICLES ONLINE THAT THEY DONT REALLY UNDERSTAND , BASICALLY BECAUSE THEY DONT KNOW OR UNDERSTAND THE BASIC MEDICAL SCIENCES……………AND THEN THESE BETZPAENIC BRIMBLERS BLUSTER ON BU THIER CONCENTRATED BOVINE EXCREMENT.
ALL THIS WHEN THE PHYSICIAN’S BIBLE HARRISON’S TEXT BOOK OF INTERNAL MEDICINE HAS CLEARLY ENUNCIATED THAT CORONOVIRUSES CAN BE TREATED SUCESSFULLY BY EXHIBITING INVERMECTIN OR HYDROXYCHLOROQUINONE
FURTHERMORE THE MECHANISM OF ACTION OF BOTH OF THESE DRUGS ARE CLEARLY ENUNCIATED THERE IN BLACK AND WHITE IN THE PHYSICIAN’S BIBLE HARRISON’S TEXT BOOK OF INTERNAL MEDICINE
NOW WHEN I USED TO PRACTICE PRIVATELY, I KEPT MEDICINES IN MY OFFICE THAT I KNEW WERE EFFECTIVE TO THE MALADIES THAT PRESENTED COMMONLY.
IF I WAS IN PRIVATE PRACTICE TODAY, ONCE I COULD GET HOLD OF THEM, I WOULD HAVE A STOCK OF INVERMECTIN OR HYDROXYCHLOROQUINONE TO DISPENSE TO ALL MY PATIENTS WITH FLU LIKE SYMPTOMS………….BECAUSE THE PRACTICE OF MEDICINE IS QUITE SIMPLE, ……
ONCE YOU ARE NOT TAKING DIRECTIONS FROM DIABOLICAL DOCTORS ON TAKE BY THE PHARMACOLOGICAL INDUSTRY, OR DIRECTED BY THIER POLITICAL MASTERS
OR
ONCE YOUR PRACTICE OF MEDICINE IS NOT DIRECTED BY A LOUD MOUTHED LGBQ ETC OBESE POLITICAL LEADER WHO HAS QUALIFIED AS A PRIME BONE FIDE AND WELL QUALIFIED MEDICAL ILLITERATE.
OR
AN EPEDIMIOLOGIST
AS THEY SAY IN CHURCH JUST PRIOR TO PROCESSION……………..LET US PROCEED IN PEACE.
More vaccinated persons are ill because we are mostly testing returning visitors who who come from some of the most vaccinated countries on earth.
… plus, it is a known fact that vaccinations do not stop you catching COVID.
Barbados recorded 432 new coronavirus (COVID-19) cases, from the 1 715 tests conducted on Monday, April 4, by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory.
423 from 1715
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/04/05/432-new-virus-cases/
Grenada is done with COVID measures.
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/04/05/grenada-ends-state-emergency-removes-mask-mandate/
Guess their PM saw my two earlier comments made April 2, 2022 8:06 PM and April 3, 2022 8:18 PM and realised what I said made total sense. Now all we need do is get our PM to see reason.
@CA
If Barbados had done same it would be considered a money grab?
HantsApril 5, 2022 6:34 PM
Barbados recorded 432 new coronavirus (COVID-19) cases, from the 1 715 tests conducted on Monday, April 4, by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory.
423 from 1715
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/04/05/432-new-virus-cases/
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
How many of these are visitors returning to their countries?
How many are Brits who have developed COVID that was incubating in them from before they left the UK and decided to get tested?
How many are locals?
We are seeing an uptick in isolations.
How many are visitors, how many locals?
The Ministry of Health needs to say how many imported cases are preset in the 432.
Seems pointless to discuss without the detail.
Scary.
https://toronto.ctvnews.ca/toronto-pediatrician-concerned-some-covid-19-cases-being-mistook-for-hand-foot-and-mouth-disease-1.5849394
My turn.
https://toronto.citynews.ca/2022/04/05/ontario-covid-vaccine-fourth-doses/
By my calculation, Barbados will have to do the same by the end of this month and definitely long before Crop Over starts or they will not be able to attract the tourist numbers to get us out of the deficit hole they dig and put us in.
What tourists want to risk spending their good money come here to be told to isolate if they test positive but are not sick and wear masks everywhere so they can’t properly smell and experience our clean air and do things few other countries are doing. They will simply take their money and go elsewhere like they have started to do.
Our government painted us into a corner with their shortsighted COVID protocols with no idea how to get out the corner without them admitting they went too far.
@CA
It seems illogical the government would rescind the mask mandate with numbers rising again attributed to the BA.2 and other variants.
Critical AnalyzerApril 5, 2022 7:47 PM
Grenada is done with COVID measures.
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/04/05/grenada-ends-state-emergency-removes-mask-mandate/
Guess their PM saw my two earlier comments made April 2, 2022 8:06 PM and April 3, 2022 8:18 PM and realised what I said made total sense. Now all we need do is get our PM to see reason.
Pointed this out the other night.
Like Barbados, Grenada depends on tourism.
However Grenada in 2019 received half of the number of visitors Barbados got.
In addition the bulk of their visitors ~47% is from the USA which is far higher than our USA percentage.
Their UK percentage is ~14% where ours is ~33%.
Their COVID cases will reflect the prevailing situation in the USA while ours will reflect the UK situation.
https://tourismanalytics.com/grenada.html
https://imgur.com/LN9D0j8
Our COVID cases reflect the UK situation which is significantly different from the US situation.
Grenada and Barbados are markedly different.
https://imgur.com/0oNZFzA
The situation is markedly different of course, Barbados experienced flooding and Grenada has not in recent weeks.
https://imgur.com/gKzOHXX
Grenada gets most of its visitors ~47% from the USA while we get a far lesser percentage.
Also, in 2019, before COVID, Grenada received about half the visitors we received.
Grenada and Barbados are different.
It’s worth the risk to do what the Mother Country is doing just to see what happens!!
We are falling further and further behind in tourism. The BAMP Taliban, our mentally backward vaccination opponents and other enemies of the state are to blame.
Time for our Supreme Leader to lift all Corona measures. If any unvaccinated doctors die, it’s their personal problem.
@David April 6, 2022 5:43 AM
They will keep it that way because they are all about the optics and pushing vaccination as the way out. I bet they will be pushing boosters within another week.
I watched the press conference and did you notice there was no urgency since the last press conference to get samples to the CARPHA lab to see what strains we have circulating. I am sure they could have had them there within 24 hours if they were so inclined.
Just like they did not bother to enforce mask mandates on the cricket watchers at Kensington because it would have been bad press on the international stage affecting future tourist numbers, they will continue to flail around while the economy languishes and they squander scare medical resources they could be refocusing on people with NCDs.
They not fooling anybody but themselves, all except the etreme hypochondriacs have moved on and are living their lives COVID or no COVID.
@CA
The blogmaster did not watch the press conference. What can we say except our best doctors in the region and the globe seem to agree in the majority.
There was a time when the GoB had a great understanding of the virus and was putting up a valiant fight. Things have changed. The fly in the ointment is that the vaccine is not a cure, those who are vaccinated can become infected and the continuing emergence of new variants.
A few days ago, we were being told that new cases were decreasing. If you just look at raw numbers, you can make the recovery appear to be better by testing fewer people.However, if one look at the number of new cases as a percentage of the numbers tested this number was relatively flat. The good news was not that good.
At this time, with so many variables unaccounted for, it is difficult to understand what the statistics are telling us. Covid-19 was and remains complicated.
Who said the vaccine was the cure? It was always promoted as mitigating severe illness. There is a focus on contracting the virus, then there is the other concern- long COVID. The chart put out by Barbados still reflect majority numbers in primary care are unvaccinated patients.
🐇/🐰
It appears that as you are abandoning your flooding theory, others are picking it up.
Oh dear! That was a general statement and could even include me. No shade was meant or thrown.
@David April 6, 2022 7:46 AM
If you watched the press conference, you would recognize the vaccine is being pushed as the unofficial cure when you count the amount of time they spent talking about getting vaccinated and boosted.
Less time was spent on sensitizing us to true risk factors and the demographics at higher risk outside of people with asthma and how people with NCDs must put more emphasis on managing their NCDs. The medical doctors had the poor people so frightened of COVID with their death and long COVID talk they were afraid to leave home to get their regular checkups which puts them more at risk of a poor outcome than a vaccine that becomes ineffective after 3-6 months.
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/04/06/doc-warns-hand-foot-mouth-disease/
Let me be honest. Don’t you dare add ‘for once’.
I used to give little or no weight to the BU theories on the causes or spread of Covid. I had this drawer that was labeled ‘Conspiracy Theories’ and would conveniently put theories in there and close the drawer.
However, the third, now fourth and possibly many more vaccines has me reopening and looking in my conspiracy theory drawer.
Still convinced that on this matter that CA, BT, GP and 🐇/🐰 are wrong, but the nuts their message is gaining credibility and (damn it) is making sense. Some people made some good money… beginning to remind me of the Y2K problem.
Still convinced that 🐇/🐰 and his drinking water theory is wrong. Was a good idea, but he does not differentiate between during and waste water. Wonder what he is drinking??!
THEO
RE Still convinced that on this matter that CA, BT, GP are wrong,
YOU ARE SLIPPING ON A BANANA PEEL SON , AS HEADS MARSHAL ONCE SAID TO ME
HANTS BEG ME NOT TO JOIN VINCENT AND WASH YOU IN LICKS EARLIER THIS WEEK.
HAVE YOU LEARNED NOTHING FROM OUR PATIENCE AND PARDON? EH, BOY?
HAVE YOU FORGOTTEN RULE ONE, ? EH, BOY?
OFF COURSE CA, & GP ARE TOTALLY CORRECT ABOUT COVID………AND FROM THE BEGINNING.
WE WILL LET YOU OF WITH A WHITE CARD THIS TIME.
DavidApril 6, 2022 5:45 AM
The situation is markedly different of course, Barbados experienced flooding and Grenada has not in recent weeks.
Barbados opened the floodgates to visitors from the UK knowing full well that airborne spread would ensue.
It did.
Best we can do is watch the response in the curves and learn from what we see.
Again, it would be good if we knew what the imported case number was.
Without that data it is pointless discussing.
THEO
ONE OF THE THINGS I LEARNED FROM DEALING WITH GREAT AND HONEST DRS IS THAT THEY WERE QUITE SIMPLE IN THIER VERY SOLID SERIOUS SINCERE APPROACH
A FEW DAYS AGO I TRIED TO EXPLAIN HOW THIS WORKS, AND HOW ONE PROCEEDS.
WHEN COVID APPEARED SIMPLE SOLID SINCERE SERIOUS DRS FOLLOWED THE RULES AND GAVE THE CONVENTIONAL TREATMENT FOR CORONOVIRUSES……AND THEY WERE SUCCESSFUL!
MANY DOCTORS IN SEVERAL PARTS OF THE WORLD DID THIS, AND CONTINUE SO TO DO—EVEN THOUGH THE VIRUS HAS BEEN FIDDLED WITH.
ESSENTIAL THESE DRS WERE PLAYING THIS NEW BALL ON LENGTH TRUSTING THAT THE WICKET THEY NEW WAS TRUE.
IN OTHER WORDS THEY KEPT IT SIMPLE AND FOCUSSED ON THE MECHANISM OF ACTION OF THE KNOWN DRUGS THAT WORK ON CORONOVIRUSES.
AS A STUDENT OF PHARMACOLOGY AND BIOCHEMISTRY I LOOKED AT THE MOA, TOO, BUT I ALSO LOOKED AT THE SIZE OF THESE MOLECULE, AND FIGURED THAT THESE BIG MOLECULES WOULD, IF EXHIBITED TO A POPULATION EN MASSE, WOULD CAUSE POINT MUTATIONS AND EFFECT A DIMUNITION IN THE INTENSITY OF THE VIRUS.
BECAUSE THESE DRUGS WERE BEING USED IN AFRICA, AS INDICATED FOR MALARIA, THIS IS EXAVTLY WHAT HAPPENED.
N S,
WE HAD A MEDICAL ILLITERATE TRYING TO CONTRADICT ME HERE BY SAYING THAT COVID IS COMPLEX
LEG BREAK/GOOGLY BOWLERS ARE THOUGHT TO BE COMPLEX TOO—-BUT NOT TO CERTAIN BATSMEN WHO KNOW HOW TO PLAY SUCH BOWLING.
COVID WAS MOST DEFINITELY COMPLICATED BY ITS MISHANDLING IN BARBADOS, AND ELSEWHERE, BY THE INEPT MOH, THE INACTIVE AND ABSENT BAMP, AND THE OBESE DICTATORIAL ANTIOCHAL LESBIAN WHO RUNS THE COUNTRY, ALL OF WHOM THREW UP THIER HANDS IN THE AIR, AND LAZILY AND WITHOUT THOUGHT SUCCUMBED TO THE DICTATES OF THE DIABOLICAL DASTARDLY DR FALSE, WHO ALONG WITH MUCH DINERO FROM BIG PHARMA SUPPORTED BY THE EQUALLY DISHONEST MAIN STREAM MEDIA, DROWNED OUT THE VOICES OF THE SIMPLE, SANE, SOLID, SERIOUS SINCERE MEDICA L PERSONEL, WHO WERE DOING THE CORRECT THING FROM THE BEGINING.
I.E GIVING
THE RIGHT THREATMENT to
THE RIGHT PATIENT by the
RIGHT ROUTE in the
RIGHT DOSE at the
RIGHT TIME and for
RIGHT LENGTH OF TIME.
I KNOW THAT I WAS RIGHT FROM THE BEGINING
FROM WHAT I AM READING THAT INDICATES THAT ALL I PREDICTED HAS HAPPENED
AND CA & I HAVE ENDURED THE SCORN BY THE BU DISRESPECTFUL ILLITERATI ALL THE WHILE
DO YOU RECALL THAT PASSAGE IN CAESAR GALLIC WARS BOOK IV CHAPTER 24 IN WHICH THERE IS GERUND IN LINE 1, AND A GERUNDIVE AT AROUND LINE24, YOU HAVE ALL THAT CAESAR DID? WELL THAT IS HOW I ROCKED AND MOCKED AT THE FAECAL MATTERIAL THAT HAS, AND CONTINUES TO BE EFFLUXED FROM BU BRIMBLERS WHOSE BRAINS HAVE METASTASIZED TO THE COLUMNAR EPITHELIUM FOUND IN THE RECTUM. THEIR BRAINS OBVIOUSLY WORK ACCORDINGLY. UH LIE?
THAT PASSAGE IN CAESAR GALLIC WARS BOOK IV CHAPTER 24 WAS TRANSLATEDTHUS…….when Caesar knew that what eventually happened would happen………..he did all the things described between the gerund and the gerundive…..SWEET SWEET SWEET like my mother’s coconut bread
The number of COVID-19 deaths has risen after two women succumbed to the viral illness.
One of them was 69 years old and passed away on Tuesday, April 5, while the other, who was 85 years old, died today, Wednesday, April 6. Both were unvaccinated.
The death toll from the virus is now 377
377 from 1401
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/07/covid-19-update-377-new-cases/
Oh boy
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/health/familyhealth/covid-in-the-uk-rate-of-hospital-admissions-in-england-passes-winter-peak-with-older-people-driving-rise/ar-AAVYLp8?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=8438468fc90143deda98fa0a30b70e77
Got to watch what’s happening in the UK as we get most of our visitors from there.
369 from 1290
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/08/covid-19-update-369-new-cases/
US getting closer to realizing the role of water in the spread of COVID. The secret is to accept that your water is contaminated.
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/health/familyhealth/epa-finds-that-some-us-drinking-water-contains-uranium/ar-AAVYJ4T?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=aabca32f4ce448c8bfd31aab216189f1
Will you look at this.
They are finding now that by treating patients at home with the “right” medicine, symptoms can be improved within hours.
It has taken years to develop the “right” medicines but big Pharma has manfully stuck to their task.
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/health/medical/vulnerable-covid-patients-getting-at-home-treatment-which-improves-symptoms-within-hours/ar-AAW1qHw?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=f3b4a0d273e845c3969d25d779968ddc
Attached are updates for week ending 8th April 2022. I combined the positivity and Ro reproductive rate charts. In general, the Indicators are continuing to go in the wrong direction. The likelihood appears to be that this will continue for a couple weeks or so – Source: Lyall Small
AFTER OVER 5O YEARS IN MEDICINE STUDYING PRACTICING TEACHING ONE OF THE THINGS THAT I LEARNED IS THAT STATISTICS AND EPEDIMIOLOGISTS DONT CURE DISEASES
I ALSO LEARNED THAT IF YOU MISHANDLE A CASE OR AN EPIDEMIC THERE WILL BE DISASTER
IN ADDITION, THE LONGER YOU CONTINUE TO MISHANDLE A CASE OR AN EPIDEMIC THERE WILL BE DEATH AND CONTINUING DISASTER
NOW SINCE MY WISE POST WILL GET TEK DUNG CAUSE UM DONT SPEAK TO THE NARRATIVE TO THE MEDICAL ILLITERATES DEATH AND DISATER WILL CONTINUE A PACE
UM IS REAL TRUE DOAH——–HEAD AINT BRAIN. UH LIE
A total of 261 new cases – 116 males and 145 females – were identified out of the 1 092 tests conducted by the Best-dos Santos Public Laboratory on Saturday, April 9.
261 from 1092
Curious about who is being tested and how are they identified for testing.
Philadephia in the USA just reimposed mass mandates.
End of mask mandate in Ontario has fueled growing COVID-19 wave, provincial report suggests
https://toronto.ctvnews.ca/ontario-s-top-doctor-issues-strong-recommendation-to-continue-mask-use-amid-sixth-covid-19-wave-1.5856831
If coviyis acto up in our key source markets the inevitable must occur?
Ironic the BHTA is calling for a review of covid 19 protocols. One must assume to relax the the measures.
@ David I hope Barbados will have treatments for the increasing number of Covid patients.
https://news.ontario.ca/en/release/1002011/ontario-expanding-access-to-covid-19-antivirals
Getting some assistance eh?
Canada’s PM announces US$170 million for COVID-19 vaccination
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/04/11/canadas-pm-announces-us170-million-covid-19-vaccination/
All COVID measures need to be dropped as the ones chosen were mostly useless and did very little to stop spread.
They refused to do simple logical things like define and mandate a new indoor air quality standard and mandate all symptomatic people stay home.
Now they made their billions from the sale of mostly useless vaccines and masks, they are starting to allow discussions on cheap effective mitigation measures and alternatives to take place.
https://www.cnn.com/2022/04/10/health/covid-19-ventilation-matters-wellness/index.html
In 3 or 4 weeks time South Africa’s cases will surge.
More floods.
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/floods-wreak-untold-havoc-in-south-africa-killing-more-than-50/ar-AAWaH33?ocid=msedgdhp&pc=W069&cvid=d49bc55a134641159aa0fda4ee91c70a
Here’s what South Africa’s cases look like at the moment.
You can’t help but see there is some kind of repeating pattern, a seasonality.
https://imgur.com/MtsK7uY
DavidApril 11, 2022 3:03 PM
If covid is acting up in our key source markets the inevitable must occur?
Ironic the BHTA is calling for a review of covid 19 protocols. One must assume to relax the the measures.
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
My bet is that the Hotels are riddled in COVID.
Whichever Hotel accommodates the most visitors from Britain will be most affected.
I would not go near either one.
They are distinctly UNSAFE ZONES
543 new COVID-19 cases, recorded on Monday, April 11, from the 1 666 tests
543 from 1 666 tests.
A total of 428 people tested positive for coronavirus (COVID-19) on Wednesday, April 13, from the 1 357 tests conducted by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory.
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/04/14/428-new-virus-cases/
Health Minister confirms Omicron subvariant BA.2 is in Barbados
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/14/health-minister-confirms-omicron-subvariant-ba-2-is-in-barbados/
Had my temperature checked at several businesses, but was asked my name. I assumed that if i had a high temperature then then I would be asked my name.
Would be interesting to know why ALl names were recorded
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/17/ministry-of-health-no-need-to-record-names/
Headlines in my paper today
“Effective COVID treatments exist, aren’t being used”
Mentioned are
Paxlovid (Pfizer)
Molnupiravir (Merck)
Bebtelovimab (Lilly)
Talk with your doctor for more details.
Singapore has done away covid 19 restrictions.
https://www.usnews.com/news/world/articles/2022-04-22/singapore-to-remove-most-covid-restrictions-next-week
A great post. As I was reading, I was trying to see if comparison can be made of the two societies. Will we follow the rules ….
“Some rules will remain, however, such as the mandatory wearing of face masks in indoor public settings and on public transport.
Many of the restrictions will remain in place for non-vaccinated individuals, however.
Singapore has inoculated 93% of its 5.5 million population, one of the world’s highest rates. It has also achieved one of the lowest COVID fatality rates.”
Well, here is South Africa 10 days on from the floods.
Looks like cases will have significantly risen by day 21 as I predicted.
We’ll see!!
https://imgur.com/9X27uCM
South Africa cases seem to be taking off, 11 days after.
Where will they go?
Check the Red lines as a possible projection but it will depend on how many were affected from the dloods.
We wait for the moment and in time we will see.
Not long now, if I am right.
https://imgur.com/uZItFBu
Oh oh!!
Hopefully we will get a miss.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/04/25/flood-warning-remains-in-effect-for-barbados-2/
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/what-is-behind-the-surge-in-hepatitis-in-young-children/ar-AAWBMYB?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=90b0e9daedc24663b3c660c3956ba208
I would imagine that we are getting floods in Barbados all like now.
The type of rain that is falling got to be producing floods.
Our cases are already rising although I suspect most are in the visitor population being tested to return home to Canada and America.
The Brits have pushed the levels up already.
In three or four weeks we are probably going to see an explosion among the local population.
Wish I were wrong and I could be but the signs are there.
This year could be real trouble with hurricanes as well but I will know more when next month’s temperature data in the pacific comes out!!
Not good!!
It is a real pity China hides its disasters from the world.
It has been having floods with millions of people affected.
Thus we are reading from about 3 months ago of floods in Henan province between 17 and 23 July last year.
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2022/jan/23/chinese-provincial-officials-concealed-scores-of-deaths-from-flood-disaster
Flooding of the Wenyu River which flows through Beijing took place in October 2021 but is only recently seeing the light of day.
https://www.visiontimes.com/tag/wenyu-river
If they had said something I could have told them to expect COVID cases to rise.
Looks like the cases are plateauing and beginning to fall.
Compared with some places in the world and because of its immense population, the cases per million are orders of magnitude smaller.
However, Zero Tolerance of COVID can’t work in floods.
Over in South Africa, cases continue to rise after the floods on 10 April 2022.
Just about 3 weeks have passed so there are still a couple of weeks before they turn the corner providing no more floods.
Some signs of slight improvement but still an upward trend.
https://imgur.com/7fnczWj
A positive story from Senegal.
https://www.telegraph.co.uk/global-health/science-and-disease/senegals-viral-code-crackers-brave-mobs-gunmen-stay-ahead-deadly/
@ John April 25,2022 2.38pm
Let us keep on ignoring the REAL elephant in the room …related to the unprecedented 40% increase in ALL CAUSE deaths – …and particularly among the relatively young working population.
Bushie is predicting that this ‘elephant’ will get our attention in a BIG way by yearend….
Barbados is under siege from two pandemics – COVID-19 and non-communicable diseases (NCDs), says Minister of Health Ian Gooding-Edghill.
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/05/02/minister-barbados-fighting-double-pandemic/
If the Life insurance industry with all their actuarial data is saying that there were 40% more payouts for deaths than normal then that’s good enough for me.
Money and business survival has a way of cutting through BS!!
Three hundred and 44 people – 148 males and 196 females – tested positive for COVID-19 from the 1 013 tests carried out on Sunday, May 1
https://www.nationnews.com/2022/05/02/covid-19-update-may-1/
Sounds like J&J vaccine is a big big problem.
South Africa cases continuing to climb after their floods.
https://imgur.com/4pyfHnK
UK and their water supply!!
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/uknews/sewage-dumps-into-english-rivers-widespread-criminal-inquiry-suspects/ar-AAXekXU?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=db2e3cc1d0e44e50a7af0e8bd4498dbf
South Africa still rising after the floods.
https://imgur.com/Mb9GaHH
JOHN
WHY ARE YOU WASTING TIME
THE EPEDEMIOLOGIST SAYS THIS THING IS COMPLEX
AND THE KNOW IT ALL IDIOT SAYS IT IS CONTROVERSIAL
AND MANY BU BRIMBLERS THINK THAT GP DOESNT KNOW SQUAT BOUT DIS
MIA THE SUPREME LEADER CARESS AND SHE GOT THIS
PEOPLE ALL ABOUT WHO HAVE BEEN VACCINATED TWICE AND BOOSTED COCKING UP EXCEPT IN PLACES WHERE THE RIGHT THING IS BEING DONE
WATCH OUT FOR THE NUMBERS GOING UP AGAIN TO COINCIDE WITH THE UPCOMING US ELECTIONS
AND YET GP IS NOT SUPPOSED TO JUST ROCK AND MOCK
@ GP and the Know It Alls
cc: The Know Nots
Re: immunocompromised
should people with low immunities be vaccinated
how do you identify who has lower immunities in the general population
will all people have weakened immunities to a lesser or greater extent
Poor you!
I have said “I don’t know” more often than anyone on BU except for TheO (who seems to get a wee bit more pleasure from it than I) yet you continue to call me a know-it-all.
Just a few weeks ago, I admitted to finding the complexities of international financial systems to be too complex for “my poor little brain”.
Why, just this morning I said what amounted to “I don’t know” on the blog submitted on Elder Abuse!
Yet you persist in labelling me with a description that simply does not fit.
What kind of “idiot” does that make YOU?????
Another example of water issues in the UK
I never cease to amaze myself at how simple things I learnt in life from older wiser heads explain such apparently complex things as COVID today!!.
Tap water is an issue in urbanized societies.
Fix it and you fix COVID, Hepatitis etc etc etc.
Sir Maurice Byer was a genius!!!
https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/people-warned-against-drinking-tap-water-because-of-rogue-algae-in-system/ar-AAXelSQ?ocid=msedgntp&cvid=c4d0c3ba786d4592b2eb2d7a88026f29