Today Prime Minister Mia Mottley will deliver the Budget for 2022 at 3PM. It will be of interest to pundits for several reasons. It comes against rising oil price caused by the Russia Ukraine conflict which threatens to deplete the foreign reserves government has been boasting, and a cashflow pressured by having reallocate funds to cover pandemic expenses.

Of concern to others – including the blogmaster – will be government’s developmental programs to improve quality of life for Barbadians.

Budget Address 2022 (6th Sitting of the First Session of 2022-2027

194 responses to “B-Day in Barbados”

1. Rate review ‘urgent’

Williams: BL&P increase may be critical to energy push
    by COLVILLE MOUNSEY colvillemounsey@
    nationnews.com
    ONE OF BARBADOS’ major investors in renewable energy, Ralph “Bizzy“ Williams, is calling on the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) to fast-track its review of the Barbados Light & Power’s (BL& P) application for a rate increase.
    He said the electricity provider will need to invest in increasing the capacity of its transmission lines in order to accommodate the anticipated increase in renewable energy plants that will be feeding into it.
    Williams explained that many of the transmission lines are almost at capacity and unless this was remedied, investors could end up building renewable energy infrastructure that cannot be hooked up to the national grid.
    The business magnate told the DAILY NATION that the war in Ukraine and rising global oil prices have emphasised the need for Barbados to redouble its efforts at achieving its 100 per cent renewable energy goals by 2030.
    “I would like to see the hearing of the Barbados Light & Power’s application for a rate increase to proceed. Without a good utility we cannot achieve the result that we are aiming for. We need a strong utility to beef up the transmission lines in order to take the alternative energy. Right now all of the transmission lines are almost to their maximum, so we need to have a tariff structure for installing batteries that are bankable,” Williams said.
    “I think the rate increase is probably necessary because the Light & Power has had to put in a very big investment in the north of the island to bridge between oil and alternative energy. If we have alternative energy, we have to bear in mind that we don’t have a fluctuation in cost of energy and the island saves a tremendous amount of foreign exchange that is now being used to buy oil. The reality is that without a strong utility to receive the
    power and distribute it, you are going to be stuck with licences and systems that are built out but cannot be connected.”
    Late last year, BL& P applied to the FTC for a rate increase that could range from five to 20 per cent. Five months later, it is yet to be decided on.
    Licences
    Apart from this, Williams said Government needs to facilitate easier issuance of licences for renewable energy provision as well as a tariff structure for installing storage. He is hoping this will be part of today’s Budget package.
    “This war in the Ukraine and the rising oil prices have driven home the point that we need to move from an oil-powered economy to an alternative energy-powered economy. I don’t think we will get there before 2030, but we certainly need to free up the delivery of licences and especially a tariff structure for installing storage . . . .
    “The process of licences is too slow, it has been slow from the start, and I am hoping that arrangements will be put in place to get licences out quicker. However, the tariff structure for installing storage is perhaps the most important thing,” he said.
    A tariff will mean that renewable energy suppliers will be able to set a price that allows them to plan their profits better, even in the event that the price of inputs fall. However, it does not protect the provider when the price of inputs rises. This will be similar to the feed-in tariff instituted by the FTC in 2019.

2. So how come nobody raising hell over two unconstitutional houses of parliament and their lawless squatters?

3. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

John…if people are intelligent, they would channel that energy elsewhere….no one should bother with lost causes when there are OTHER OPTIONS…at least that some can see.

4. Happy B-Day Barbados
    Stop Hating Pakistanis
    A Van Full of Pakistanis
    Y’all So Stupid

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9V_-KA1qgYU

5. I have the Master Key
    It is called Flexibility
    Big Tune

6. Justice Cicely Chase has just given the go-ahead for the Senate to meet with 18 members as she threw out preliminary arguments in the constitutional motion brought by Queen’s Counsel Garth Patterson.

The decision came as Prime Minister Mia Mottey began her Budget Speech in the House of Assembly.

The judge has also ruled President the Most Honourable, Dame Sandra Mason, had properly convened Parliament when she appointed only 18 senators.

In a more than three-hour decision, the judge has further said there was no evidence to suggest that the President acted unlawfully.

In addition, the judge denied Patterson’s request to cross-examine current Attorney General Dale Marshall.

Attorneys for both sides will be back before the judge to argue the issue of cost and the substantive issue on April 12.

The motion was brought by former attorney general Adriel Brathwaite, and alleged that with only 18 members, instead of 21, the Senate was not properly constituted and, therefore, by extension, neither was Parliament.

7. “Justice Cicely Chase has just given the go-ahead for the Senate to meet with 18 members as she threw out preliminary arguments in the constitutional motion brought by Queen’s Counsel Garth Patterson.

The judge has also ruled President the Most Honourable, Dame Sandra Mason, had properly convened Parliament when she appointed only 18 senators.”

wait …

.. are you saying that the Judge ruled that “Angela & John” were talking out of their backside on Bu

.. and DLP shot themselves in the dick

Mia Mottley is Above the Law Black Superman (Explicit Version)

8. @Hants

All very predictable.

9. Stranger than fiction
    On Budget Day the judge in the Constitutional case Judge Cicely Chase overrules the Constitution in favour of govt
    Well Well.the wheels of justice was turned on it’s head
    Dam the Constitution

10. @ angela cox March 14, 2022 5:01 PM

What else were you expecting from your mickey mouse justice system in the new banana republic where there is one set of laws for the political Medes and another set for the opposing Persians and ‘lawyering’ monkeys are in charge of the political guns?

Tron is right on the button when he argues that his Supreme Leader is Boss, Il Duce and Herr Führer all in One (Un)holy Trinity called Pollyanna, Cassandra and Medusa all wrapped in one political red gift bag.

11. Critical Analyzer Avatar

“Justice Cicely Chase has just given the go-ahead for the Senate to meet with 18 members as she threw out preliminary arguments in the constitutional motion brought by Queen’s Counsel Garth Patterson.

The judge has also ruled President the Most Honourable, Dame Sandra Mason, had properly convened Parliament when she appointed only 18 senators.”

Next step… make Adriel pay for all the government lawyer costs for wasting the court’s time with such a frivolous lawsuit since he got money to burn.

This is why DLP don’t even deserve the two senate seats. Madame President put back Caswell and Crystal in them senate seats. Nurses working months without getting pay, people suffering and he got money to waste on a foolish court case holding back other cases.

12. Next stop – CCJ

13. Something smells very rotten in the state of Barbados.

14. CA
    Yuh sound like a real jac..a.ss
    Next yuh would be saying Barbados don’t need a Constitution
    But look.out the new republic of Barbados doesn’t have one
    Yuh might be on the.right track with yuh ignorant mouthing
    But beware that day runs till night time come

15. JLP activists?

16. Yeah something is rotten in Barbados when yuh have a judge saying that the govt is fully constituted absent of an opposition
    In international countries the people would have to go back to the polls in a time when all the election wheels were put in their right perspective
    The govt used the pandemic the way a whore is used
    Tek it or leave it

17. A CCJ case will go nowhere as well.

18. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@angela cox March 14, 2022 5:50 PM

DLP Beware. If your party waste time on frivolous go nowhere nonsense like our former AG who should know better just did with his lawsuit, they will win a hat trick next election.

19. David
    Why you don’t hush?🤣🤣

20. @CA

Please allow the DLP via Adreil Brathwaite to continue with this matter. Months after the last general election and the DLP remains insignificant on the political landscape.

21. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

That’s why AOP don’t get into the gutter moss and filth that is politics, waste of energy..that is better channeled elsewhere to actually see benefits.

22. DavidMarch 14, 2022 6:01 PM

@CA

Please allow the DLP via Adreil Brathwaite to continue with this matter. Months after the last general election and the DLP remains insignificant on the political landscape
    Xxcccc
    So at this point and time does it matter
    Govt has already set it wheels in motion
    Today episode of a Budget only sets the stage for Barbados to have a kangaroo mock stick govt
    The people are seeing first hand govt plans of taking Barbados to the formal step of being ruled under laws akin to dictatorship while dangling a democratic carrot in the face
    The judge did not even give reference to where the Constitution clearly states that the democratic process cannot be run without an opposition
    The judge for all intents and purpose took a leaning to political hattricks without even giving mention of an opposition in her meanderings
    In other words making govt go back to the democratic process of having an election while making sure that the citizens rights are not abolished or abridge with or for an intent of political gainsake

23. Who from the DLP will reply to the budget?

24. Critical Analyzer Avatar

What I would have loved to see happen is

1) The judge rule the President has sole discretion to appoint or leave the two senate seats empty and does not have to do anything the PM puts forward in parliament until they do a constitutional amendment.

2) The president reappoint Caswell and Crystal as being the best opposition possible and let the DLP go home with nothing again.

The DLP behaviour reminds me of the parable of the flood.

25. Everyday People / Sly & The Family Stone

Sometimes I’m right and I can be wrong
    My own beliefs are in my song
    The butcher, the banker, the drummer and then
    Makes no difference what group I’m in

I am everyday people, yeah, yeah

There is a blue one who can’t accept
    The green one for living with
    A fat one tryin’ to be a skinny one
    Different strokes for different folks
    And so on and so on and scooby-dooby-dooby
    We got to live together

I am no better and neither are you
    We’re all the same, whatever we do
    You love me, you hate me
    You know me and then
    You can’t figure out the bag I’m in

I am everyday people

There is a long hair
    That doesn’t like the short hair
    For being such a rich one
    That will not help the poor one
    And so on and so on, scooby-dooby-dooby
    We got to live together

There is a yellow one that won’t
    Accept the black one
    That won’t accept the red one
    That won’t accept the white one
    And so on and so on and
    Scooby-dooby-dooby

I am everyday people

26. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@angels cox March 14, 2022 6:16 PM

If you and your party keep thinking and operating this way, you will be guaranteed a hat trick next 5 years.

27. Critical AnalyzerMarch 14, 2022 5:59 PM

@angela cox March 14, 2022 5:50 PM

DLP Beware. If your party waste time on frivolous go nowhere nonsense like our former AG who should know better just did with his lawsuit, they will win a hat trick next election

Xxxx
    My eyes are now closely Zoomed in on a judge
    Who stay clear of the democratic process and the Constitution and relied on politics of the day
    No where in a clear and defined Constitution written as law which states formality in building and constructing a democracy is it written that a full house of Parliament doesn’t matter at the opening of bell or the first roll call outside of an excuse where there might be for personnel reasons that member cannot attend
    The numbers reflected in Parliament are Constitutionally binding as an act and agreement between the people and govt
    Anything less is a mockery and a frace of the Democratic process
    Today the judge made such clear as she bend over backwards to appease govt while distancing the people from the constitution
    Shame on her in any other place where the rule of law act as a guide and distance itself from favours she would be disbarred

28. Who stay clear of the democratic process and the Constitution and relied on politics of the day
    No where in a clear and defined Constitution written as law which states formality in building and constructing a democracy is it written that a full house of Parliament doesn’t matter at the opening of bell or the first roll call outside of an excuse where there might be for personnel reasons that member cannot attend

Sometimes it is possible to have seats which are empty and no one is sitting in them

the oppositions seats are pretty vacant

29. What a day of joy!

Our Supreme Leader announced through her appointed judges that the Senate is perfectly legal and therefore allowed to convene. All opposition traitors on BU have once again been convicted as liars.

I am equally pleased with the wonderful budget plans, especially the special levies. As long as I am not burdened, any tax increase is fine with me.

Soon we will have the next lovely IMF programme to enslave our Aborigines for another five years because they have not learned to handle money since 1966. Thank you very much, Supreme Leader, for enforcing the rule of international capitalism on this island.

30. The tax cuts are terrific and will finally deliver the economic boost we have been waiting for in vain for the last 15 years.

31. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Amen to that nuisance. We need two more Amens.

32. Called the decisions ages ago.
    Funny that some who believe the result was predictable got caught up with the complexity of the task and required deliberations.

The pappyshow was unnecessary.

33. Winners and losers in the budget
    Losers the lower end and middle end of the economy
    As food prices continues to rise PM offers a gift of 21 cents per liter at the gas pump
    Meanwhile big business runaway with the biggest prize in freight cost
    Now I suspect that if these savings are past on to the customer
    It would snow on Barbados

34. A govt that boast of millions in reserves set out a plan to save the people a whopping twenty one cents at the fuel pump
    Meanwhile big business takes umbrage in govt once again handing out millions of dollars in freight cost better known as taxes to them
    The only problem with that big hand out is whose hands the savings enter
    A savings which is set out to save customers money
    However past evidence has already exposed that when such an initiative is applied the bottom feeders only get crumbs or leftovers (that is if any falls out big business pockets on to the floor )
    The chance of such happening is between slim and none
    Watch carefully

35. Grasshopper

The judge was never going to go against the BLP for to do so as I pointed out would have rendered everything done between 2018 and 2022 as null void and of no effect,

In fact, her appointment after 2018 would have been null void and of no effect as well.

I also pointed out that it might be that the formulation of the Constitutional Motion might be such as to make it difficult to appeal and for others to follow.

How the Appeal is framed and indeed if it even occurs will tell us if this was just a show trial.

What is needed is for some independent minded citizen(s) to upset the apple cart.

Would be wonderful to see a Class Action Suit as there are 10’s of thousands of people who opposed the BLP and have been thwarted in their expectation of having their voices heard in a constitutionally formed parliament with a real opposition.

36. I was surprised the Judge did not recuse herself.

37. I come here to read about the budget and people talking about Judge Chase’s foregone decision.

38. SargeantMarch 14, 2022 10:47 PM

I come here to read about the budget and people talking about Judge Chase’s foregone decision.

Relax Sarge.

The budget may turn out to be null, void and of no effect!!

39. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

John…am so glad for them, dem was focus in on MY business so much in the past 4 months, in the most negative of ways, that dem totally miss de recent sleight of han, in THEIRS…

……dah fuh lick dem now, leh dem figure it out pon dem own…who is deserving to know will..

..am done wasting my time and energy. I will enjoy the show doah….don’t have to spend a dime.

40. Everytime I see court decisions on important issues which are precedent setting
    Issues which give the framers of the Constitution a knock out punch
    My eyes and mind are prefixed to those countries whose democracies have been forever demolished and eventually dismissed paving way for a one state govt to become a determining factor in the everyday lives of the people
    The judge all but dismissed the case under the Headline Nothing to See Here
    How sad that this little Rock once described as punching above its weigh now find the weight too hard and unbearable to bear in when being weighed in the scales of justicec

41. INTERMISSION

WELCOME

42. UBUNTU Wellness Arts Festival – New

TaoAmbassadorV4

43. The crap people talk on Bu daily is a reflection of themselves
    John is doing a John U Turn claiming he knew his arguments were crap
    and some talk same crap repeatedly like repeating a mantra of bad energy

Loveness Peace & Harmony Show – The TV

This video is about Love Peace Harmony Soul Song

Carrie Bailey Sing Divine Soul Song Love Peace Harmony new – Master Sha

Your Dream Is God Gift To You “Great” – Dr. and Master Sha New

44. PM yesterday laid out a Budget to attack the people’s concern on high prices
    So I thought
    How many people can afford an electric vehicle
    So who where does benefits lies
    Thousands of bajans have to spend money daily at the supermarkets
    How much of a spending release was placed in these people pocket
    Yes the old and those need special dietary foods to maintain good health but the long and short still leaves an open window of how business would pass on savings to the people absence of meaningful measures by govt to protect the people
    PM said that people can vote by their pocket books but without govt intervention in a meaningful and practical way
    Business would do as they dam pleases

45. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2022. All Rights Reserved Avatar

Wuhloss….dem was not mining dem business…..,mine was more interesting…

dis is de las laugh scenario..

fowl enuff right to laugh at dem…

all we can do is watch it all play out, perfect cover, the Russia Ukraine war..

46. Bu is for the nutters in the house
    the sane will be leaving for better..

Dr. and Master Sha – Classic Tao Teaching, Wisdom & Practices

47. We should all give a big boo to the Bu Boogmaster
    for his creation of the Bu trap
    that reminds us
    Babylon is a trap

#energyhealing #chakrahealing #healingfrequencies

Master Sha: Tao Song for Gratitude

Master Sha: Tao Song for Love

Master Sha: Tao Song for Gratitude