For those who enjoy diving into the numbers behind politics, this collection of reports offers an opportunity to trace Barbados’ electoral journey across seven decades. From the early contests of 1952 to the most recent general election in 2022 held during the pandemic, each report captures voter turnout, party dominance, and related information.

Thanks to the meticulous work of Amit at CaribbeanSignal.com, these reports provide not just raw data but a window into how Barbados’ democracy has evolved, from colonial governance to independence, and now into its new republican era. Whether you are a researcher, student, or simply curious about the patterns that shape our politics, these documents are a valuable resource for understanding where we have journeyed from and where we MIGHT be heading.

Blogmaster

1951 General Election Report
1956 General Election Report
1961 General Election Report
1966 General Election Report
1971 General Election Report
1976 General Election Report
1981 General Election Report
1986 General Election Report
1991 General Election Report
1994 General Election Report
2003 General Election Report
2008 General Election Report
2013 General Election Report
2018 General Election Report
2022 General Election Report

47 responses to “70 years polling – General Elections 1952 to 2022”

1. BLP’s support grows

By Carol Martindale Editor-in-Chief

The ruling Barbados Labour Party (BLP) appears on its way to securing a third consecutive term in office.

A Nation/Starcomcommissioned poll conducted in mid-January has revealed that among committed voters, more people intend to support the BLP than in the 2022 General Election – eight percentage points higher – while backing for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) has dropped by a similar margin.

That poll, conducted by Professor Dwayne Devonish of The University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, was spread across all 30 constituencies.

It also showed that when it comes to leadership, there is a big gap in the people’s choice of Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley (61.2 per cent of those surveyed) over Opposition Leader Ralph Thorne (18.2 per cent).

More competent

Many criticised the DLP as not being “election-ready”, saying it has failed to inspire confidence as a governing alternative, while the BLP, though scolded for not dealing adequately with major issues like the cost of living and crime and public safety, still was regarded as the more competent party to lead the country.

However, all political parties in the February 11 General Election will have to deal with nearly half the electorate (45.6 per cent) who are either uncertain or have no plans to vote at all, according to those polled.

Their eventual decisions could, therefore, affect the final outcome on Election Day.

In terms of the BLP consolidating its support since 2022, the poll, with a sample size of 1 145 people, showed that just over three quarters (77.1 per cent) of respondents who committed to voting said they will cast their “X” for the ruling party, up eight percentage points from the last election.

It moved in a different direction for the DLP, as its share among decided voters fell to under one in five – a drop of eight percentage points.

In his analysis, Devonish said this development has created a “two-party swing of about eight points toward the BLP”.

However, he cautioned that this did not mean all voters were bound for the Bees.

“When undecided and non-voting respondents are included, the story shifts from a swing toward the BLP to a broader pattern of voter disengagement, where dissatisfaction is expressed through uncertainty and abstention rather than support for the Opposition.”

Devonish reiterated that a large number of Barbadians remained uncommitted on their satisfaction with the BLP-led Government and the DLP as Opposition. Thus, their eventual decision to vote or not to vote could affect the final outcome.

On the BLP side, while 45.6 per cent of those polled were satisfied or very satisfied with how the party was running the country, 34.6 per cent were neutral, and 19.8 per cent dissatisfied or very dissatisfied.

For the DLP, 13.2 per cent were satisfied or very satisfied; 39.3 per cent were dissatisfied or very dissatisfied, but nearly half (47.4 per cent) were neutral on its performance as the Opposition party.

Voter apathy is another issue in this election, especially among younger constituents and the unemployed.

The poll shows there is a large share of the electorate not firmly “in play” as decided voters. In fact, one in five indicated they were not voting.

When combined, the uncertain, the won’t say and those who declare they are not voting, nearly half (45.6 per cent) are sitting outside a clear party choice.

Thus, the poll revealed that while many respondents do not support the Opposition, they are not switching to the BLP and opt to remain uncertain or disengaged.

It also indicates that Barbadians are not voting purely on party loyalty but are actively assessing political performance.

Meanwhile, Mottley more than tripled Thorne in the eyes of respondents when it came to who was the favoured leader, tallying 61.2 per cent to his 18.2. The results also showed that 10.9 per cent do not favour her, while 29 per cent were against Thorne.

Some criticisms

While respondents did not firmly reject the DLP leader, many said they have not yet formed a clear view of him as a potential national leader and more see him as an Opposition figure.

While Mottley scored big primarily – according to the respondents – on her decisiveness especially during national and global crises, her international stature and representation, clear communication and presence and perceived competence and intelligence, there were some criticisms against her.

Some highlighted concerns about debt, borrowing and taxation and perceptions of excessive centralisation of power, while calling for more accountability and for cost of living issues to be addressed.

Thorne was praised for his boldness and willingness to challenge the Government, his perceived courage and outspokenness and understanding the importance of having an Opposition voice.

However, he is not being seen as “Prime Minister-ready” and his “lack of seriousness and consistency” were viewed as dominant negative themes.

In addition, respondents had concerns about his style, behaviour and temperament, limited visibility beyond Parliament and the DLP’s disorganisation, which they said reflect on leadership. There is also some perceived mistrust stemming from “party-switching”.

The cost of living was the issue at the top of the national agenda by a wide margin (70.8 per cent), followed by crime and public safety, unemployment, youth issues and health care access and quality.

Many also called for politicians to refrain from offering false promises, act in the public interest and show up after elections.

As it relates to the third parties, while the Friends of Democracy, People’s Coalition for Progress, Solutions Barbados, Bajan Free Party, Barbados Sovereign Party, Reform Barbados Party and independents are contesting the General Election, only about ten per cent of those polled were willing to consider a new party.

Source; Nation

2. LOL
    Wunna done know what Bushie thinks of Cave Hill…
    This is 20th Century quality analysis.

Anyone could organize a simple AI project to assemble a far more comprehensive and realistic analysis of the electoral status quo…

But Cave Hill’s research strength is in finding old articles from the Agricultural Reporter to read on VOB.

3. @Bush Tea

The average intelligent and educated Barbadian has no interest in reading these kinds of reports anyway. It is just fodder for the season.

4. Thank you!

5. @ Bush Tea,
    As always your assessment of the UWI is probably too near the mark. I’m sure Artax and Donna will cut you some slack!!!! Lol!!

I believe another one of your admirers – Dub 555, remarked ( and I’m paraphrasing) that Ralph Thorne’s transfer and ascension to becoming the leader of the DLP is a clear case of domestic politics being played out. It created an illusion that Barbados was a democracy with a robust opposition party. That Thorne has made a minimum impact on Barbados politics should indicate to Bajans that his role as opposition leader, just like our president is purely ceremonial.

The one positive that will benefit the masses from this election means that they will be able to line their stomachs with plenty of food from both campaigns. This is a luxury for impoverished folks.

6. @TLSN

How were you able to asses Thorne’s impact before the big test read 11 Feb general election?

7. Bushtea

You ain’t gine stop? Few weeks ago Don Marshall from up Cave Hill was an expert in your opinion. 🤐

8. This article and poll above could well have been written, conducted, by Mottley herself.

Otherwise it represents long held narratives Mottley has had about herself.

Even when given a modicum of credence, proceeding beyond the statistics, it uncovers the morass the country still remains within.

Meaning that government or politics are continuing to be held in low regard by the overwhelming numbers of Bajans.

In this regard, neither the current regime nor the fledgling opposition has anything in this poll to be happy about as it speaks eloquently about a seemingly and unavoidable cultural decadence, at base. Unless, of course, winning at any and all cost brings satisfaction to Mottley.

This level of thinking is consistent with her reported intent to destroy RAT, removing the sole opposition spokeman, by investing large chunchs of her time in Saint John.

But it’s just another poll. With less than 1200 respondents. Having not been given the methodology employed especially in regards to sample selection, there’s still at least a five percent chance for a deviation from the mean. Not for the first time!

Poll don’t vote ……. people do!

9. Online program discussion recent Nation and Starcom commissioned poll

VOB 92.9 FM – FM 92.9 – Bridgetown, Barbados – Listen Online

https://streema.com/radios/Voice_Of_Barbados_FM_VOB

10. LOL @ Enuff
    “Bushtea … You ain’t gine stop?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    As a Bob Marley fan (like Bushie) you are well aware of Bob’s response to that question…
    https://youtu.be/Jk4RLyFNDi8

Wunna had the opportunity to be a GLOBAL MODEL of leadership excellence – coming out of ten years of circus theater from the previous clowns…
    Instead, wunna allow wunna selves to ‘draw byard cards’ (do REAL shiite)
    … and Bushie unfortunately has an incurable allergy to brassbowlery…

So, in answer to your question…
    Wunna can’t get the bushman outta wunna face…
    Neither wunna, the DLP, independents, the shiite church, the crooked lawyers, UWI that creates them…
    …or wutless Pacha…

…cause who Jah bless…

What a time nuh!!

11. Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies and Propaganda TV

Someone said that the only poll that matters is the one on election day. But any swing to an incumbent government that won 30-0 twice is crazy!!!!. The BLP has been in power for a few months short of 8 years. So anyway you look at it is somewhat surprising.
    It is sending a clear signal at least to the DLP. We shall see on Feb 11

12. @Disgusting

Does it matter that this is the third general election in less than eight years?

13. Unfortunately, Devonish and co. are now on VOB reinforcing Bushie’s (grim) assessment of UWI’s quality of societal inputs.

What a lousy performance!!
    First, they come with a ‘Poll’ that was taken on Jan 16 – well BEFORE respondents would have been aware of imminent elections or issues involved.
    WHAT UNIVERSITY DOES THAT? … IN AN ERA WHEN U-TUBE offers HOURS-OLD analyses as a standard fare.
    Just to boost sales for foreign owned Starcom Network?
    Have they no PROFESSIONAL standards?

Shiite man!!
    Use AI to project trends based on YESTERDAY’s meetings and issues, and provide USEFUL analyses for Bajan BBs.

Also…
    Move AWAY from such CHILDISH linear analyses – and towards more realistic but complex, integral analyses.

…OR THEY CAN JUST SHUT UP …and continue to read the shiite newspapers from the plantocracy days.

“The average intelligent and educated Barbadian has no interest in reading these kinds of reports anyway. It is just fodder for the season.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~
    Boss, you realize of course that you are describing a people who FULLY DESERVE to be exploited, enslaved and disenfranchised.
    Based on your resigned analysis, we are excellent candidates for exploitation, cause a people ALWAYS get exactly what they deserve.

14. @Bsh Tea

You are aware the poll was commissioned by the Nation newspaper and Starcom?

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

I am left to wonder with the population decline, which I am guessing, also includes eligible voters, will result in an amalgamation of constituencies. Further, just because certain ‘other nationals’ are permitted by various treaties to live and work here, doesn’t mean they are eligible to vote.

16. Bushie

There are many who also mistrust AI as well. Another barrier to scale. And of course, Big Brother is working around the clock to re-establish acceptable truisms.

Tiktok, for one

This writer has found it to be spot on and brutally truthful for each material search postured.

We’ve even seen the White people online attesting to it’s truthfulness in relationship to the foundatiinal or civilizational lies told us by them.

17. “Few weeks ago, Don Marshall from up Cave Hill was an expert in your opinion.”

@ Enuff

I had to laugh as well.

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Don’t forget they also praised the opinions of Professor Emeritus and former Head of the Department of Economics at UWI Cave Hill, Michael Howard, his colleague, economist Anthony Wood……

…… and the late Jefferson Cumberbatch, the former senior lecturer in Law and Deputy Dean in the Faculty of Law at UWI Cave Hill, which, IRONICALLY, is where ‘UWI created crooked lawyers.’ 🤣😂🤣
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

“You are aware the poll was commissioned by the Nation newspaper and Starcom?”

Even Google would’ve provided that information.

We would rather use our “imagination” to articulate a particular narrative instead.

According to Peter Wickham, CADRES is paid by the media and political parties to conduct polls on a regular basis, the results of which are not often published, but used for internal analyses.

In the US, even the highly regarded, often most accurate, major organisations frequently cited for public opinion and political polling, such as ABC News/Washington Post, New York Times/Siena College Poll, Marquette University Law School Poll, Quinnipiac University, and Monmouth University, conduct polls on a continuous basis.

This is evident by the fact that the media outlets, for example, use opinion polls to measure the popularity or unpopularity of Trump on certain issues, and to comparatively analyse the results between different periods of time, (e.g. if his popularity on immigration or economic policy increased or decreased between January 2025 and 2026, or between November and December 2025)……

…… thereby indicating one does not have to wait until the date of a general election is announced to commission a political opinion poll.

Sometimes we make certain comments that, based on OUR OWN assessments and criticisms, give the impression we’re products of the institutions we criticise.

18. Bushie

Yuh putting some hot licks in muh tail!

Gallop on!

Weeee ain’t kah wha yuh do. Still like yuh bad as shiiiite.

19. Calling an election when opposition aren’t ready is what is called “politics”.
    The fact that opposition weren’t ready is unforgivable, it should have been the opportunity they were desperately waiting for, otherwise what were their plans or purposes even about?

20. Wonder if anybody in Barbados is in the Epstein Files like several of their friends in Europe, elsewhere?

Such a disclosure could set the cat amongst the pigeons.

21. @ hydropathy
    Bushie here trying to understand which opposition weren’t ready…
    We have / had an opposition? Where?

Did we not vote for a 30 – 0 government?
    Who EXACTLY then, should have been ‘ready’ and waiting desperately for the opportunity?

Reminds Bushie of those of us who VOTE (choose with our lives) to live a particular kind of life, but when the ELECTION is called (by the Grim Reaper) we call for ‘representation’ from the Righteous One.

Having voted for ZERO opposition numbers, we can have NO expectation of any ‘ready and fully prepared’ alternative representation.
    Indeed we ought to be THANKFUL for EVERYONE who have offered themselves to fill such vital roles – EVEN WHEN not valued by Bajans.

22. @Bush Tea

How do citizens vote for an opposition?

23. VERY SIMPLY by voting for the most qualified and proven candidate in each constituency … and thereby INSISTING on minimum qualifying standards for such applicants…

And RATHER THAN voting for a collection of useless lackies, who are hanging on to the coat-tail, skirts, or scarf of any individual – who handpick them for their personal loyalty.

We would then end up with 30 individuals of various and varying views and positions – from whom the different ideas, values, concerns etc can be represented in Parliament.

Don’t you find it hilarious that politicians are talking shiite about ‘anti-gang legislation’ – when political parties are the biggest gangs in the place…?

We just meking sport bout here…
    …and not even THAT we are doing well.

What a place!

24. Bushtea

“VERY SIMPLY by voting for the most qualified and proven candidate in each constituency”

Yet you backing RAT! A man that shut shop and deserted Ch Ch South for near 2 years? You just continue to embarrass yourself.

25. A. Ralph Thorne is one of the most intelligent and qualified people in Barbados – and comes from one of our REALLY outstanding and respectable families.
    He has NEVER been in position to lie repeatedly to this country, …was not involved in SCAMS like Four Seasons, …he ACTUALLY has a Law Education Certificate (LEC), …and is NOT KNOWN to have inflicted mauling injuries to any punanny.
    Why would Bushie NOT back him?

However,…as John Roett says in his viral facebook post, “My conscience will NEVER let me vote for this damn government.” (Share de post nuh @David… 🙂 )

That Thorne deserted your MAFIA organisation is possibly his greatest qualification – like Barrow did decades ago …when he realized that wunna were NOT HERE TO SERVE, but to BE served…

…and Bushie CANNOT embarrass himself – He is MUCH too BLESSED and LOVED by the ‘Righteous One’ to be ‘embarrassed’.

Your party, on the other hand – HAS TO BE ASHAMED as shiiiite! when you have to watch the kind of HONEST, damning analyses being exposed by the likes of Mr Roett – Northern O, Terence, Pacha …and stinking (but NEVER embarrassed) Bushie…

Steupsss…
    What you and your lot NEED to do, is join the 7-day PRAYER and FASTING sessions that are being organised for Brassbados by Marcia…

Enuff with the jokes do!

26. David
    “How do citizens vote for an opposition?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Just think back about the SIGNIFICANT DIFFERENCE it made when Caswell and Tricia were in the Senate for those SHORT periods.
    Can you imagine a Parliament with a dozen such persons who ACTUALLY are intelligent and self assured INDIVIDUALS – NOT party pimps?

Compare this scenario to the lotta POPPETS who now piss themselves when the Empress starts to rant and rave and threaten?
    ..or to those who are DISMISSED for daring to voice a different opinion…

Enuff of THAT shiite!!!

27. @Bush Tea

Why are individuals of those you mentioned not presenting themselves as candidates?

28. @Bsh Tea…You are aware the poll was commissioned by the Nation newspaper and Starcom?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Obviously so!
    That is why Bushie asked…”

“WHAT UNIVERSITY DOES THAT?… …Just to boost sales for foreign owned Starcom Network?
    Have they no PROFESSIONAL standards?”

REAL academics and professionals do NOT STOOP below accepted ethical standards…
    – except of course lawyers and economists (withta)
    – where such standards are optional.

29. “Who EXACTLY then, should have been ‘ready’ and waiting desperately for the opportunity?”

Your hero (Ralph) who’s ambition was to lead the nation was stumped like a chump.
    You don’t need to be Sherlock Holmes to have figured out Mia was going to call the election at the start 2026. The only real opportunity DLP had was when PM said she was not going to run again, but then she changed her mind…

30. Why SHOULD they..?
    Because Bajan brass bowls (who could not care less about how their money is spent or how their assets are given away) DESERVE such efforts and sacrifice?

Perhaps you may also question why God does not just come to our side, and provide us with all the best things in life…

That is NOT how it works.
    We always *and only) get exactly what we DESERVE.

If Bajans start to CARE about rightness, justice, love, community, and especially about our CREATOR,
    …THEN we will deserve (and get) the KIND of leaders that reflect that NATIONAL CHARACTER.

Those named personalities only serve to demonstrate that such talents EXISTS, and are competent to make a difference.

31. @Sherlock
    The real Sherlock would have perceived that Bushie’s hero lived centuries ago and was crucified for being truthful and helpful to the sick and hungry.
    He would ALSO have noted that Bushie has been ranting AGAINST known EVIL, lies, lack of performance, and incompetence on the part of GOVERNMENT.

Thorne has separated himself from that gang… a clear POSITIVE for him.
    Also, nobody voted for Thorne to be any ‘OPPOSITION’! so what readiness what?
    There is an OBVIOUS VOID to be filled – and he finds himself in the right place at the right time – much like Churchill did in WW2.

People who are thinking in terms of WINNING POWER FOR SELF sees it as ‘ambition to be Prime Minister’

Those of us who see it as FILLING A CRITICAL LEADERSHIP AND IMPLEMENTATION VOID however, sees it completely differently – much more as a SACRIFICE to be made…. on behalf of exploited BBs…

Bushie is at a COMPLETE loss as to why anyone would want to be captain of a wounded Titanic… except to get as many on the lifeboats as is humanly possible.

32. @Bush Tea

Why are we making this solely about Thorne. Yesterday’s program identified that the DLP has been leaking young membership for several elections, AND, winning elections with a decreasing percentage. All agree based on recent results it cannot be described as a mass based party.

Your thoughts?

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

You need to reread @plt. The first past the post system is totally demoralizing for voters.
    Whether it has been around for donkey years or not.
    When any group (party) can get 20% of the votes cast, and end up with no say (seats), why vote?
    And then watch, happened recently in Canada with a similar system, MPs suddenly decide, not their voters, they are crossing over to the other side. Absolute bullshit. If you wish to represent another group, declare the seat vacant, and face a by-election. Scrap the first past the post and you will naturally always have an opposition.
    And Bushie, LEC = Lose Every Constituency. Mia has no LEC. Froon did, and Verla did.

34. Then@NO the PRC should have been overwhelmed with submissions from citizens. It was not because the people are not involved in the process for all the reasons we have discussed here.

Are we there yet?

35. Bushie really hooked up and this call of election proving that all the “ sewerage” not flowing into the sea only .

36. Religion and Bible Babble Gobbledygook doesn’t win Elections Silly Rabbit.
    God is a Western Concept, Eastern Philosophy is more about Spiritual Energy of the Heavens, Earth and all around which can be tapped into by all living things.
    “I am not in the world, the world is in me”

37. As usual we are straying from key areas of concern. How do we improve an irrelevant governance system. It is clear the system serves the political directorate and the shadows – both white and black who sponsor. The people for all the reasons we have discussed through the years have become disenchanted, to their huge disadvantage.

38. @ David
    ” …Why are we making this solely about Thorne.”
    ~~~~~~~
    WEEEE?!
    You mean wunna…
    Bushie could not be clearer in his stance AGAINST ALL brassbowlery.

It was the IDENTICAL situation back in 2018 – except, instead of Four Seasons, ‘HOPE’ and ‘STEAL houses’, it was about CAHILL, incompetence, and River Tamarind.

Bushie was NEVER about promoting Mia, …OR Thorne, it was about getting RID of Froon and Stinkliar – in SPITE of Owen’s warnings…
    and now it is about the blatant wickedness, crime and secrecy that we have had IMPOSED on us.

A bushman cares NOTHING about shiite Bees OR BB Dees, …only about RIGHT and WRONG… and how it affects the helpless among us.

This is ABSOLUTELY consistent – and all documented on BU…

Until Thorne confirms any endemic brassbowlery, Bushie is willing to give him the benefit of any doubt – Just like Mia got…

@ NO
    ‘Not having the LEC’ was ACTUALLY pushed by Bushie as a possible reason that we may have been pleasantly surprised…
    OK – so Bushie got that one wrong.

Just like Thorne having deserted the mafia may be a good sign…
    You feel Bushie could be wrong TWICE? – LOL

“…overwhelmed with submissions from citizens.”
    ~~~~~~~~~
    Sometimes you does carry a joke too far though skippa…

@ John2
    Hooked up on elections shiite!

Bushie is ALWAYS ‘hooked up’ on exposing and flushing brassbowlery. Be it…
    -Elections
    -Kadooment
    -We Gatherin
    -Carifesta
    -Your posts…

…all the same shiite to a bushman
    wooshhhhh!!!

Bout here TOO sweet!

39. International Observers are asking how significant is Barbados Underground in influencing and turning results in the Elections.
    It seems that they played a significant part in the 2018 Landslide 30-0 Victory for the Opposition Barbados Labour Party, but this may be coincidental.
    The bulk of political chatter seems to be on facebook and word of mouth gossip.

40. Nip It In The Bud Avatar
    Nip It In The Bud

“How do we improve an irrelevant governance system. It is clear the system serves the political directorate and the shadows – both white and black who sponsor.”

The Queens and Kings of England from Elizabeth I to Elizabeth II set up the bent system of Governance of Slaves for their own interests and not the sub-human beasts.

I have already mentioned necessary modification changes which were censured by the totalitarian powers that be

I can only enlighten the censors with my suggestions when straight through messaging of the system is switched off for intermediation

O Handle Landslides with New Legislation so Opposition are not on the Outside Looking In

O Stop MP numpties crossing the floor to serve the Opposition and / or becoming Leaders of the Opposition in Parliament and / or Leaders of the Opposition Parties with New Legislation

Nip the Bad Practices in the Bud as soon as they blossom

Ralph Thorne will surely reap what he has sown, you mark my words son, and publish my Wisdom for the enlightenment of the disgruntled voting population

41. What a change!!!

It is refreshing to see a Bajan with VALUES that reflect RIGHTNESS, spirituality, community – interests and justice…
    …and who is UNAFRAID to represent those values openly.

42. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

@THE BUSHMAN

“Your party, on the other hand – HAS TO BE ASHAMED as shiiiite! when you have to watch the kind of HONEST, damning analyses being exposed by the likes of Mr Roett – Northern O, Terence, Pacha …and stinking (but NEVER embarrassed) Bushie…”

IF THE BELOW-MENTIONED ALPHABET SOUP OF MEASURES ARE NOT A CATALYST FOR CHANGE – THEN I HAVE TO CONCUR WITH DR. PHILLIPS ON THE JACKASSERY OF VOTING (overleaf)

#HeresMyAntidote

(a) Publicly funded elections, strict donation limits, & transparency laws

(b) Ban on corporate lobbying in sensitive policy areas (tax, environment, & labor)

(c) Strengthen independent institutions

(d) Empower anti-monopoly bodies, progressive tax authorities, & independent media

(e) Citizen assemblies for key policy decisions to counter lobbyist influence

(f) Economic & Tax Reforms based on “PROGRESSIVE WEALTH” & Capital Taxes

(g) Annual wealth taxes on ultra-high net worth individuals

(h) Closing offshore tax havens via global agreements (OECD Pillar Two minimum tax)

(i) Corporate Governance Reform

(j) Worker representation on boards (co-determination, as in Germany)

(k) Incentives for employee ownership & profit-sharing across all of corpocracy

(l) Breaking Up “MONOPOLIES” & “OLIGOPOLIES”

(m) Aggressive antitrust enforcement in tech, finance, & pharmaceuticals

(n) Support for cooperatives & small/medium enterprises (SMEs)

(o) Reinventing (“SOCIAL WELFARE”) for the 21st Century

(p) Universal Public Services

(q) Expand healthcare, childcare, education, & housing as rights, not “COMMODITIES”

(r) Modern Social Protection

(s) Universal Basic Income (UBI) or Job Guarantees to ensure economic security

(t) Portable benefits for gig/platform workers

(u) Green Industrial Policy

(v) Massive public investment in renewable energy, transit, & retrofitting, creating jobs while tackling climate change (NOT TALK – ACTION)

(w) International coordination on wealth & capital as global “SOLUTIONS” – A MUST

(x) Global tax transparency (automatic exchange of banking information)

(y) Multinational corporate taxation reform to stop profit-shifting

(z) Debt relief & development justice for the “GLOBAL SOUTH” to reduce austerity pressures & poverty alleviation

ON WHICH HILL WILL THE PEOPLE OF BARBADOS LIVE OR DIE

#YallDecide

43. Hi David,

Thanks for the link. For those who are wondering, the original source is the EBC website. I downloaded the PDF’s and have uploaded them to my website (www.barbadosarchive.com) as a backup and copy. The Archive is another project of mine where I am primarily concerned with saving government and politically related publicly and freely accessible files.

Kind regards,
    Amit.

http://www.barbadosarchive.com

44. @Paul Sealy,

Thanks for the LOST AND FOUND re: 1998 general election report.

Kind regards,
    Amit.