I did not think that I would have to write again about Barbados’ move to a republic. It has been a dud of a process and the selection of the President has been anticlimactic.

A noted academic described the process as “soulless”.  I think that has resonated with many Barbadians at home and abroad, even those of us who wanted the Queen removed as our head of state. Though, we know in our governance systems, it is a Prime Minister that “runs things.”

If former Prime Minister Freundel Stuart had approached Barbados’ transition to republic with no genuine public consultation on the form of republic Barbados was to become, former Opposition Leader Mia Mottley, based on the track record, would have likely played high politics with marches, walk-outs of Parliament and taking to the streets. As I have said in this column before, what is good for one is good for the other.

I want a republic as most Barbadians, but no one would ever call the current republican process, properly executed. In other ways it has been undignified and exclusionary.

The very way the independence constitution was created as an elite, hierarchal exercise for the big-ups, this move to a republic was done in a similar if not worse fashion.

At least at the time of Independence there was spirited debate on all sides of the argument throughout the country and in Parliament. This moment has not been met with that same level of debate or engagement.

We are told by some commentators that we are to beat the drums and dance in the streets to celebrate the fall of Babylon. How has Babylon fallen when Barbadians were intentionally and directly left out the process for deciding the type of republic Barbados has become.

How do some commentators live in their glorious contradictions? Celebrate removing the Queen as head of State and the oaths of allegiance to the Queen but cannot respond to the fact that we will have a new republic with an old independence constitution.

The independence constitution that for example, contains a savings law clause to ‘save’ existing colonial laws, does not contain an explicit right to privacy and contains a preamble that tells the story of the oppressor while excluding the story of slavery and the people whose backs, literally and figuratively, on which Barbados was built.

Whenever the issue is raised, no one can adequately respond, because there is none but to recognise the contradiction. Maybe for these commentators, it is like asking a builder to repair your house. You come home and it is nicely painted on the outside and you feel very good until you walk through the door to realise the termites and rodents still infest the walls, but it is all too late.

You paid the money, and the builder is nowhere to be found, but at least you can keep pretending to your neighbours that everything is well, as you swat the termites and rodents from inside your home.

The saddest part of this whole republican affair is that we have been robbed of what should have been ours. Our moment has been hijacked by a political class unable to understand the shortcomings of its approach. We have simply swapped one ceremonial head of state for another ceremonial head of state as selected by the political class.

This could have been a moment to innovate and show bold new thinking on our governance. The status quo, essentially remains the same, though the Queen was removed.

I guess when you broadcast to the world a deadline, but do not engage with your own people, you are driven by those external forces and timelines. Sounds, oddly colonial.

It would have taken tremendous resolve to pause and understand the process of transitioning Barbados to a republic needed to genuinely include the People as the constituent element of the constitution of Barbados.

Ronnie Yearwood is a lecturer in law, lawyer and social commentator. Email: yearwood.r.r.f@gmail.com

Related Links:

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/20/btcolumn-4/      

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/08/11/btcolumn-dont-treat-bajans-with-contempt

220 responses to “New Republic, ‘Soulless’ Process”

1. “so is this a good thing or bad thing…”

It is a line from an Icho Candy Dub Plate played by the mighty Zulu warrior Jah Shaka called Slavery

2. Bajans hero worship past leaders like Argentinians and the Peróns

3. David
    It remains unclear who the DLP is running in Saint James South.

However, the programmatic approach ad outlined seems very similar to what we’ve had before.

If we say that democracy is what we want to establish, deepen, that cannot happen in circumstances where the masses of the population have no real resouces.

And without resources there can be no effective engagement in the active daily work required by participatory democracy.

And we can’t somehow assume that the monetization of absent, or a scarcity, of currently led assets could be anything more than another gimmick.

Let’s inject a radical land reform as the point of departure into any such conversation. And stop talking shiiite.

4. John 2 why you wasting time with the clown Gazzerts or the jackass AC.As you pointed out when Mr Stuart proposed it not one of these naysayers unpicked their teeth why because their party was proposing it.However because of the inability or possibly know how of Mr Stuart to proceed sucessfully with this move it was left to Ms Mottley and her team to bring this to reality.Therefore, i say to Ms Mottley ignore the noise especially from the overseas dems and proceed to take this country forward.In my view most local bajans support your efforts and if an election was called tomorrow i believe the present government would comfortably retain power as the main two opposition parties are clearly not ready and in my view are piss poor or as the late Mr Arthur stated poor rakey.I gone.

5. Lorenzo why yuh not talking about all them brass bowls in govt cabinet dropping like flies
    Never in the history of Barbados politics have soon many.MPs jump ship in less than a month
    Govt should be found guilty of the unlawful misuse of the people’s mandate
    This type of unprecedented political drama needs a full explanation
    What do u say

6. “Govt should be found guilty of the unlawful misuse of the people’s mandate
    This type of unprecedented political drama needs a full explanation”

The D to the L to the P are looking for a toe hold to climb up the ladder like snake and ladder

lets play a game of word or vocabulary bingo where you write down words on a card
    and when the politicos use that word
    we call out Bingo!

my card will contain the word

hubris

7. AC jackass why you do not talk about the persons who have left the dems under the political nightwatchman.Let me remind you, Mr Pilgrim, Mr Grant, Mr Simon Alleyne,Mr Williams and the last one Mr Guy Hewitt although not leaving the party left the island saying he had no confidence in Ms Depeiza.Reflect on that as most persons even i n the DLP knows well that they will win nothing with Ms Depeiza at the helm.This is what you need to worry about not who not returning ftom the bees.Just for your informstion it was well known that Col Bostic was not returning, as for Mr Toppin he has served for 34 years and felr it was time for a replacement.Nothing unusual there.Go lo9k for issues to discuss instead of swiping like blind elder as right now you are saying nothing in my view.This isdue will not help the dems or you.I gone.

8. Now u finished emptying your bowels before you flusk
    Explan to me how under PM four members have jumped ship.in less than three weeks with more expected
    Just in case u forget never in the History of bed politics have a ruling party and leadership has been handed a vote of no confidenced.by it’s MPS who preferred retire than take leadership from it’s leader

9. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Theo, I say this as respectfly as I can: please do NOT ascribe to me (if u were so referring to me) what I know or don’t know because of what YOU think you know or don’t know!

May I gently ask you how in heaven’s name you can assert (about this blogger or any other) that “He advances an argument based on, at most, a nebulous history and not on facts.“….

Is that itself not grounded on YOUR OWN “nebulous history and not on facts“. 🤦🏾‍♂️ SMH.

I am a relatively recent transplant from Bim and was in and out of the country repeatedly during that period 20 years ago .. moreover I was much involved in activities re young folks … thus my awareness of that era is certainly NOT nebulous and is grounded on a very FACTUAL basis.

I am aware and recall meetings the commission held and other outreach they made … because YOU are not my commentary is nebulous… REALLY!

But do enlighten me …. how would you know one way or other what are the facts if u are now coming upon and invoking these incomprehensible determinations as comparing a centuries old debate on Nelson with one over 20 years… how does that make SENSE….

Folks who were fully involved in the debate 20 years ago, some who were thrust into it willingly or not and some who just merely paid attention are still ALIVE and recall what evolved then because they helped create that history… it’s part of THEIR actual life… how in any COMMONSENSICAL
    WAY can that be compared to the Nelson issue?!?

LOL I really presume you folks write some of this nonsense to get a response, fah real…. causing educated folks can’t truly reason so ridiculously and be serious.

SMH!

I gone do. And btw yes 20 years on young KK will be seen as a voice of today’s youth just as David Thompson, Mia Mottley, Liz Thompson and David Commissiong to name a few of that (my) era were seen as voices of their times in later years and as Barrow, Forde and the young turks were a big voice of the youth if their day … Regardless of a person’s politics/ideology the fact that your voice is giving public acclaim you de facto are a historical reference as a symbol (or example) of the folks of your time. That’s always been the case as far as I know!

Ah well …

10. @Pacha

The DLP declared Ronnie Yearwood their candidate in SJS.

Land reform? Wait for it.

11. William Skinner Avatar

“ as the main two opposition parties are clearly not ready and in my view are piss poor or as the late Mr Arthur stated poor rakey.I gone.” Quote (Lorenzo)
    The truth:
    Mr. Arthur never “stated “the two opposition parties were poor rakey. He said parliament was poor rakey. At that time both the BLP and DLP had members in parliament.

12. doan have to read and spell fuh wunna. lol

13. Mari
    U will get the full explanation before june 2023

Hint. U forget gline Clarke was the first to jump

14. why do bajans obsess so much about politics
    politics is boring
    when it’s elections it’s time to switch off bu

15. Skinner

You always like to thread needles. Fail to accept that writers always paraphrase. That the same thing can be said in a million ways. What are the substantive differences. Are the elected representatives not truly “representative” of those who populate their parties?

This Ronnie Yearwood, has followed the same tired norms that many more before him, on both sides, have followed in the pretense that they represent something departing from what happened previously.

For example, Yearwood presents giving the impression that he represents some kind of fresh thinking. However, when all is revealed we’re left with an empty suit seeking to navigate the informal party apparatus to be some standard bearer. We saw it in his face when he was running around last time giving lectures, writing articles, playing this stupid game.

In ever case the personality is the same. The level of obeisance to party doctrine is the same. The zeal to garner support from the narrow constituency base is the same. And the political merry-go-round spins again.

This is where the failures we see in governance sets root.

16. @ Pacha
    Paraphrasing is one thing but attributing statements to others that they did not make is not the same thing.
    Owen Arthur never stated that the two opposition parties were poor rakey..
    He merely commented on the level and quality of debate in parliament and declared it was a poor rakey parliament.
    Two completely different things.
    In my estimation both main political parties are poor rakey and the current parliamentary opposition is also poor rakey.

17. “He merely commented on the level and quality of debate in parliament and declared it was a poor rakey parliament.”

that is all you will ever get from 11 PLUS FAILURES….the parliament is NOT THEIRS, the politics is NOT THEIRS, the constitution IS NOT THEIRS, , the system IS NOT THEIRS….they are bit part players in someone else’s fantasies NOW TURNED NIGHTMARE for them….and not even good players/placeholders/agents…

abject failures to the Black Afrikan….but successful to those who engineered them..

saying it’s never going to end well is an UNDERSTATEMENT….they will soon meet who they have been invoking in the darkness that now envelopes them…

18. “that is all you will ever get from 11 PLUS FAILURES….the parliament is NOT THEIRS, the politics is NOT THEIRS, the constitution IS NOT THEIRS, , the system IS NOT THEIRS….they are bit part players in someone else’s fantasies NOW TURNED NIGHTMARE for them….and not even good players/placeholders/agents…”

what you are saying are flaws in the system
    is how the system was designed and intended
    power is held by Government
    and it’s people are subjugated

19. Skinner
    This writer is a trained statistician. In statistics or philosophy it is standard practice to used representative samples to define population parameters.

There can be no better representative sample of political parties than the people they have consistently elevated to be in parliament.

And if it has been determined by observation, evidence, statistical methods, that a parliament was poor rakey a conclusion can also be scientifically made that the political parties, meaning the population from whence the sample was drawn, are poor rakey as well.

Merely parsing or regurgitating the precise words of anybody without trying to understand the deeper meanings has limited value without such interpretation.

Gallop on. Have the last word.

20. “what you are saying are flaws in the system
    is how the system was designed and intended
    power is held by Government
    and it’s people are subjugated”

as we have come to learn…that anything designed by others and intended to subjugate will ALWAYS be a MASSIVE failure to its targets,…simply because it’s ALLOTED time EXPIRED within the last half century for those who paid attention and understood what is really happening and was cognizant to the degree that politics is a manmade failure waiting to happen…….

.there is nowhere else for the system to go but DOWN…..since it has not yet been noticeably refined, redesigned and redeployed…..we also recognized that it CAN NEVER be changed from within, even if the parliament clowns and pretenders knew what to do and how to do it….WHICH THEY DON’T…so we are witnessing a spiraling DOWNWARD TRAJECTORY…systems failure….because dummy removed the monarchy and DID NOT REMOVE HER SYSTEM….

they are all going through the motions of the pappyshow as the miseducated and misinformed are prone to do…..my 2nd book is writing itself….won’t have to put in much effort…

21. there is nowhere else for the system to go but DOWN…..since it has not yet been noticeably redefined, redesigned and redeployed..

am happy to see them now all look like fools, the pretend elites, pretend pedigree ….THIS IS THE RECKONING..

they thought they got a free system to do endless criminal shite against Afrkans….the joke’s ON THEM..

22. “.there is nowhere else for the system to go but DOWN…..since it has not yet been noticeably refined, redesigned and redeployed…..we also recognized that it CAN NEVER be changed from within, even if the parliament clowns and pretenders knew what to do and how to do it….WHICH THEY DON’T…so we are witnessing a spiraling DOWNWARD TRAJECTORY…systems failure….because dummy removed the monarchy and DID NOT REMOVE HER SYSTEM….”

The Barbados system being a FAIL means the British system is a FAIL
    When I worked in World’s Biggest Banks System Design was driven by the richest bastard Clients (including Queen) and Businesses
    and then US Government with other nation Governments fully compliant.
    When you moan about minorities you should be moaning about rich.
    There are puppets but puppeteers are pulling their strings.

23. “There are puppets but puppeteers are pulling their strings.

the puppeteers carry a degree of intelligence that allows them to know when their self-designed system NEEDS A REDESIGN….upgrade if you will…

why would i beat up on them when fools with pedigree still want to work within the carcass of a DEAD TEMPLATE….that can go no further without a rejig…

.they were given warnings and signs…..Pacha, myself and others have warned them ad nauseum…

ya can only blame those who pull the stings for so much and for so long before ya start to look as dumb as the wannabes….lol…they are the ones entered the arena with their mouths filled with LIES, DECEIT and FALSE PROMISES to the majority populaiton……the puppeteers were nowhere around when they were parading….they want to jump to the front…well, welcome to the front..

24. @DpD
    It would be impolite and silly of me to debate your history with you. The word
    ———-xxx—–
    ” And btw yes 20 years on young KK will be seen as a voice of today’s youth just as David Thompson, Mia Mottley, Liz Thompson and David Commissiong to name a few of that (my) era were seen as voices of their times in later years and as Barrow, Forde and the young turks were a big voice of the youth if their day …”

I am not certain that KK’s voice is his alone. With the passage of time, the contaminants may disappear.

25. My Dear Lorenzo,
    I am convinced that 90%of the huffing and puffing done here is wasted air. I prefer that my hot air contribution is an attempt to generate a laugh.

If fail then we still have two sources of hot air..

26. “the puppeteers carry a degree of intelligence that allows them to know when their self-designed system NEEDS A REDESIGN….upgrade if you will…”

reread what I was saying
    puppeteers have most money
    Yanks are taking over Governments Banks Businesses

It is now time to channel God / God’s Energy
    exercising the mind and body like the Chinese and Indians do

(
    you may notice i inserted a blank line
    reserved for additional comments of mind blowing wisdom
    which for the record is for clarity and clarification by me

such as :
    US + British + Barbados Systems of Government and Business are FAILs

Stay tuned more news at 11

cup of tea
    )

27. “reread what I was saying
    puppeteers have most money”

excuses, excuses…just say the negros are weak and only have strength and power to destroy Black lives…..lie to and deceive them while selling out…no one called these fly by night vote beggars..

28. “excuses, excuses…just say the negros are weak and only have strength and power to destroy Black lives…..lie to and deceive them while selling out…no one called these fly by night vote beggars..”

not sure if you are an apologist for the manipulators and perpetrators of crimes
    but negroes are negroes are niggas are jiggas are thugs etc
    whites are whites are honkies are bosses are patriots etc
    browns are brown are pakis are gundhis etc
    reds are reds are chiefs are red indian / native american / south american etc
    yellows are yellows are chinks are chonks etc

negros niggas honkies pakis red indians and chinks are shafted by Government and Businesses
    and Slavery is capitalism and Capitalism is Slavery

Socialism is the medicine for the remedy where everyone is paid real gdp per head
    Real GDP per capita is a measurement of the total economic output of a country divided by the number of people and adjusted for inflation.

In Barbados everyone’s wages are going down as they are dumb ass suckers
    2020 15,346.28 USD
    2019 18,448.83 USD
    2018 17,758.08 USD
    2017 17,423.25 USD

29. “not sure if you are an apologist for the manipulators and perpetrators of crimes”

not sure what you don’t understand…but if a man breaks into YOUR HOUSE where you are right now, grab your wife and children, raid yourbank account, steal your land and other possessions….it appears that you will tell him or her…go right ahead….and am supposed to admire your WEAK ASS…and do your job for you while you are still ABUSING, financially and socially REDUCING YOUR FAMILY to generational poverty and degradation……really..

ya can’t have it both ways…..those who presented their wicked selves, dangerous LYING SELVES for people representation are RESPONSIBLE..

30. …. BREAKING NEWS…
    … And,… People are People…
    …. Ethnicity / Box Ticking is FUCKERIES
    …. THIS SHIT IS DEEP..

31. Well now we see all the attacks on this government by Mr Uearwood was mainly to get as they say a pick on the dems team.Another of the hiding dems in this forum and they are plenty.Nevertheless, you seem to be a bright person therefore now we know where you stand best of luck to you.I gone.

32. EVERYONE NEEDS Afrika…..OUR continent DOES NOT NEED YOU….

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/10/31/ghana-lend-technical-support-guyanas-oil-industry/

“He said that the first phase of a technical team from Ghana that should be arriving early in the coming month, will comprise of Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) and experts in the oil and gas field, and will immediately begin working with Guyanese counterparts.”

33. A good exchange with Ronnie, Dr.Barrow-Giles and Hall Gollop about republicanism on VOB.com.

34. Refreshing from the the usual boring nonsense posited on this blog by some.

35. “Refreshing from the the usual boring nonsense posited on this blog by some.”

So who is to blame for the usual boring nonsense and bullshit on this blog

Surely the blog owner must take some of most of the blame

The Barbados 😬 Underground

Nothing To See Here (NTSH)

36. LYING WITCH,

EVERYBODY KNOWS that, for the longest time, you have been trying to force the cap on my head. Everybody also knows that it does not fit.

I have a story to rebut every lying, nasty claim.

So… you have a choice – am I “jealous” of your publishing a book or could I indeed publish my own TRUE STORIES?

Because, if my stories are not true then I have the imagination of a storyteller.

P.S. I forgot to mention my Bajan short stories, also catching dust.

KEEP RIDING YOUR HOBBY HORSE AROUND THE NURSERY!

37. African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved Avatar
    African Online Publishing Copyright ⓒ 2021. All Rights Reserved

38. Don’t give a damn how it looks, Witch! You do you and I will do me. I have no wish to be you. I like me far better than I like you.

39. I was not asking you directly, it was a general question directed at everyone…….JEALOUSY…..even i would have answered regardless….because i can think WAY ABOVE pettiness…..higher vibration….

40. You are the most petty person on BU. You suffer from arrested development. I have never been described as petty. I believe on giving even the devil his due. Evidence of that is all over BU. But as for you… you have accused me too many times of being the exact opposite of what I am. You do it anytime I say something you disagree with.

I will no longer fight the human urge to despise you. As of today you are my enemy. My first real one. After nearly sixty years, I have found a Bajan to hate.

41. Truly, the woman makes me feel violent.

42. Ha, ha….look how much POWER you just handed to me….i NEVER give anyone that kinda power over me, the power associated with HATE…….i have said it on here for YEARS……it’s in the archives..

.🤣🤣

43. Runs through the lobby with two wet Tee-shirts.
    Oops.. Drop them

44. Still a kid at heart

45. @ David October 31, 2021 11:36 AM

Blogmaster we notice that Dr. Ronnie Y has taken up your challenge to him and is going after the SJS riding.

Is this one of the constituencies the MAM-dictated BLP is prepared to concede as part of the electoral bloodletting needed to maintain any semblance of democracy and stability under the new republic to appease the country’s foreign funding agencies?

MAM has already shown her political poker playing card by appointing the last DLP-chosen GG as the first Red-appointed President of the new republic.

What do you think of Ronnie’s chances of becoming the next MP for SJS in the upcoming general elections (early in 2022) and possibly the future DLP leader and PM?

46. @Miller

It depends on the +swing. Ronnie has a growing national profile that will serve to his advantage.

47. Donna October 31, 2021 2:03 PM #: “So… you have a choice – am I “jealous” of your publishing a book or could I indeed publish my own TRUE STORIES?”

All that’s being presented of this so called book that has been allegedly published is a ‘book cover’ bearing the title, ‘A Spectacular 21st Century Collapse of the First Slave Society in the Caribbean……’ and supposedly authored by someone named ‘Yolande Grant.’

If she’s ‘saying’ that’s actually her name, then, I’m a bit confused…….. because, in March 2014 during an ‘e-mail conversation’ between her and a certain individual, she admitted her name was ‘DANIELA GOMEZ’ and shared information relative to a particular insurance company she asked to be investigated.

In a subsequent contribution posted to BU on November 21, 2017 5:10 PM, she once again ‘told’ the individual her REAL NAME was ‘Daniela Gomez.’

After that lady admitted to ‘telling lies’ and “making up things just to make things interesting,” I always exercise a cautious reluctance to readily accept any information she posts to BU.

48. Donna October 31, 2021 4:54 PM #: “I will no longer fight the human urge to despise you. As of today you are my enemy. My first real one. After nearly sixty years, I have found a Bajan to hate.”

To use an ‘old Bajan saying,’ ‘I can’t dictate your pace,’ but, I believe you’re allowing WARU-War-on-U to ‘get under your skin.’

I’m trying to understand how someone could be jealous of another individual they’ve never met. And, similarly, it is equally absurd for you to hate someone you’ve never met as well.

According to Michelle Obama, “when they go low…… we go high.”

However, I found her response to you very, very interesting:

WURA-War-on-U October 31, 2021 5:26 PM #: “Ha, ha….look how much POWER you just handed to me….i NEVER give anyone that kinda power over me, the power associated with HATE…….i have said it on here for YEARS……it’s in the archives..”

Recall she posted the following contribution a few weeks ago:

WURA-War-on-U September 16, 2021 3:20 PM #: “just a little back ground on why i DON’T LIKE or trust Artax……”

To say you “don’t like” an individual is essentially admitting you HATE him/her.

She then went on to give the forum her reasons why, which were IMMEDIATELY proven to be UNTRUE.

Surely her comment, “I NEVER give anyone that kinda power over me, the power associated with HATE,”……….. is UNTRUE…… a blatant MISREPRESENTATION of the TRUTH………

……… because, AT THAT TIME, “look how much POWER (she) HANDED to me….” She “GAVE me that kinda power OVER her…… the power associated with HATE……”

And, “it’s in the archives.”

https://media.tenor.com/images/b056d7d835ff43ee381a6efbbf1f14db/tenor.gif