Thanks to Bajan Citizen for producing relevant links to the latest story making the rounds about Mark Maloney being scammed out of US10 million dollars purported to be a payment for 1 million doses of the AstraZeneca vaccine on behalf of Barbados and two other governments.
The blogmaster has two questions:
- On what basis was Maloney’s company Radical Investments Ltd selected to broker this transaction.
- Is the government out of pocket because of the errant transaction.
- How does being out of pocket USD6.7 million affect Maloney’s financial state to continue to do business.
Mark Maloney Says $12M COVID Vaccine Deal Was A Scam
https://www.law360.com/commercialcontracts/articles/1422923/barbados-co-says-12m-covid-vaccine-deal-was-a-scam
The case is Radical Investments Ltd. v. Good Vibrations Entertainment LLC et al., case number 9:21-cv-81761, in the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida
Radical Investments Ltd. is a St Lucia registered company owned by Mark Maloney.
He appears to have been swindled out of $6.7 millon USD from the governments of St Lucia, the Bahamas and Barbados who contributed money to buy COVID vaccines for their citizens.
“In April 2021, the Governments of Saint Lucia, The Bahamas and Barbados initiated a bulk purchase of AstraZeneca vaccines, as the minimum purchase from authorized suppliers was one million (1,000,000) vaccines.”
http://www.govt.lc/news/saint-lucia-s-efforts-to-secure-high-demand-covid-19-vaccines.
St Lucia contributed $7.3 million EC
https://www.caribbeannewsglobal.com/approval-of-direct-purchase-for-astrazeneca-radical-investments-ltd/
Mark Maloney is deputy chair of the private sector group put together last March to fundraise and acquire more vaccines.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/03/03/high-powered-group-ready-to-assist-with-vaccine-financing/
It is not clear what due dilligence Mr Maloney did before entering into this commercial arrangement with Good Vibrations Entertainment LLC. If you were looking to purchase pharmaceuticals would you do business with a company whith a name that connotes mechanical sexual services, and with an address at 21218 St Andrews Blvd Suite 318 that is a mailbox in a UPS store where 175 other fly by night companies also have their “headquarters”???
http://search.sunbiz.org/Inquiry/CorporationSearch/SearchResultDetail?inquirytype=EntityName&directionType=CurrentList&searchNameOrder=GOODVIBRATIONSENTERTAINMENT%20L210002390860&aggregateId=flal-l21000239086-b92f38d8-b344-45fc-b36d-1320f1675828&searchTerm=GOOD%20VIBRATIONS%20AUDIO%2C%20LLC&listNameOrder=GOODVIBRATIONSAUDIO%20L190000122850

1,308 responses to “Mark Maloney Scammed!”
My boy was not mentioned.
https://barbadostoday.bb/2022/11/30/top-honour-for-three/
“Gurdip Bath: For arranging the logistics and facilitating the transportation of 100,000 AstraZeneca vaccines from India to Barbados, in February 2021. Thus, allowing us to commence our vaccination programme against COVID-19.”
My boy …
https://barbadosunderground.net/2021/09/22/mark-maloney-scammed/
Is bizarre the correct word? There is something farcical in the stories as reported. It is almost as if a playwright got hold of a bad script and decided to put as many plots and twists in the story as he/she possibly can.
The backbone is the reality of life in Barbados, but the subplots of cronyism, favoritism nepotism and scams are always being played out for all to see. Heroes and antiheroes abound.
@ TheOGazerts,
https://radicalcaribbeancup.com/
Ian St. Clair Carrington, Director of Finance and a top economic advisor has been awarded for his distinguished career in the public service and exceptional leadership of the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation (BERT) programme. The certified general accountant is also a former Director of the National Insurance Scheme.
Don’t want to rain on anyone’s parade but as an individual who has been honoured for “his distinguished career in the public service” and is a former Director of the National Insurance Scheme, did he at any time make any statements about the long-term feasibility of the NIS as it was constituted?
IMPORTANT INFORMATION
” The top brass of the Barbados Agricultural Society (BAS) is assuring Barbadians they will have enough pork this Christmas.”
Maloney: We’re going after their assets
Throughout the proceedings it was revealed that [Alex] Moore spent his money in strip clubs, luxury items and gave some to relatives, while [Moniladai] Coley [known as Trillioaire Babe on Instagram] purchased a Rolls Royce SUV, numerous diamond encrusted Rolex watches, various pieces of diamond encrusted jewellery, and a variety of designer handbags and shoes.
Nation, Friday 13 September 2024, pages 1 and 3
A default judgement is not the same as money in hand.
It seems to me that much of the money was spent on pokey and consumer baubles, therefore none of it is likely to be recovered, because how does one recover money that was spent on sex, on groceries that were eaten years ago, and on now 4 year old shoes, bags etc.
If I was Mark I would call it a day, call it lesson learned, and not spend fresh new money chasing this old used up money.
As for the FBI investigating. I dunno. I expect that the FBI has much bigger things to investigate.
But I am only a simpleton, so what do I know?
If you read the article carefully you see that MAM2 is seeking justice which is not always, if at all, measured in monetary terms.
An acquaintance of mine, old and ugly, but the owner of a highly valuable of land on the west coast, lost it and any savings he had to a “beautiful young gal” whom he met on the internet. Ended up destitute and wondering what happened. What happened is that “beautiful young gals” have no use [except financial fraud] for ugly old men. And in truth the persona on the internet is highly unlikely to have been beautiful, young or female.
Was taxpayer’s money ever used in this Sham. What a well deserved mess. Karma. No one pays attention to default judgements.
if they are tried and locked up it will likely cost the USA taxpayers more than the money than Mark has lost. So tell me what incentive does the USA have to pursue this relatively minor alleged fraudagainst a non-USA citizen?
Minor compared to the frauds committed each year in the USA as a whole.
Should a young girl need an abortion. Would her mother go to a back street abortionist to conduct the operation. I don’t think so!!
I would have thought that this “sale” was backed by the good ole taxpayer. I am puzzled why Maloney needs to go to court when he is not out of pocket.
Isn’t it his decision to make?
It is his money paying legal fees.
Is that how the legal system works in the US?
If anyone in the system is flagged in the system those employed within same will do their work to close a file. The US court system should not be confused with that of Barbados.
@TLSN
The government has explained tax dollars were not used in this transaction. If you know differently point us to a link. If you are unable to do then leave your fake info at the rh door.
What we can criticize government on was the lack of procedure exercised with this transaction under the cloak of triggering a state of health emergency law.
What if Alex and Moniladai are no longer in the USA? What if they are some place(s) which do not have extradition treaties with the USA? What then? How much of the USA taxpayers money should the USA government spend on this for a non-USA citizen?
If they are not they but Maloney wants his pound of justice then he has to complete and exhaust the legal process.
Even in an emergency vaccine procurement is best left to those who have experience in the field. To the best of our knowledge Mark had no such experience, and our government officials ALL paid out of our tax money should have know better.
In a medical emergency which of us would take our sick child to the barber, musician, contractor, or finance expert down the road?
Stupssseee!!!!
When we see foolishness we have to call it foolishness, or as the saying goes we must not let people put sh!t in our mouths and have us say “yum, yum, nice chocolate”.
@Simple Simon
The missteps by retired most honorable Jeffrey Bostic and the Permanent Secretary were roundly criticized in this space in case you are coming late to the party.
But, everyone is ignoring the elephant in the room and the bull in the china shop.
The ONLY people who could procure AstraZeneca, and if I remember correctly, any other vaccines, was GOVERNMENT…at a knockdown price, 3 bucks per,..that was stated from the very beginning.
So when a gang of small world turds got together and tried to upstage vaccine procurment, WHILE KNOWING it could only LEGALLY go through government channels, ignored that fact, and proceeded to get RoB-ed by bigger, SMOOTHER first world turds..instead of the taxpayers and treasury, a blessing indeed……what was that all about.
“Simon
The missteps by retired most honorable Jeffrey Bostic”
I rushed here to defend the good name of a good man. Without a doubt, the blogmaster is fully aware that the Most Honorable Jeffrey Bostic was not a part of this scan/scam/con.
It appears that he is either suffering from Peyronie’s disease or his testicles shrunk when he had to point in a certain direction direction.
There is something called accountability. If you are a minister and your permanent secretary signs off on a sweet heart deal with a rogue supplier with the knowledge of the prime minister, unless you resign immediately IF you say you are unaware, then you are part of the problem. Instead Bostic was happy to receive high national honour to keep his mouth shut.
Why do you insist on holding on to ground that is indefensible. It well known that the wishes of Mia trumps all others.
Is it easy to ignore the very large elephant (no disrespect intended) in the room? Deliberately pushed out of the chain of command and yet folks wish to hold him accountable and to give the mastermind a pass
MIA- Mia Is Accountable/Responsible
So why did the prime minister not RESIGN due to being a part of:
“your permanent secretary signs off on a sweet heart deal with a rogue supplier with the knowledge of the prime minister,”
Since the radical is a ROGUE, so are his co-conspirators.
Looking at this statement , wee have to womder why is the pm is not held accountable for these clear breaches of the taxpayer’s trust as a public servant, on the treasury’s payroll.
It was ILLEGAL trying to go through the backdoor of AstraZena, usibg an adult enteryainment xompany and others to procure vaccine at $12US dollars per when government could call up AstraZeneca and get it for $3US per..
Why should the Colonel take the fall when they hid to commit their Sham and only when caught trotted out a scape goat..
Correction:
It was ILLEGAL trying to go through the backdoor of AstraZenaca , using an adult entertainment company and others to procure vaccine at $12US dollars per when government could call up AstraZeneca and get it for $3US per..
Why do people insist on covering up these types of political crimes instead of making sure people know about them on the worldstage and globally.
How about the next big brain scam…this time people like themselves saved the taxpayers and treasury from massive loss, what about the next time.
If you feel to give Bostic a pass for respecting the ‘blue line’ go ahead, all it means is that you are a blasted hypocrite.
So these ministers “nuh big works cahn happen bout here widout me” under the pm are what, scape goats when the crooked crew get caught scamming the people and island or tiefing loans. ..that’s the optics.
How soon we forget, the court document specifically said the radical did the sham vaccine procurement in the capacity of a representavive of the government of Barbados. Bostic did not have that power.
Barbados was too small a market for Covid Vaccine
Barbados PM Mia Mottley Calls for Solidarity Fighting COVID-19 | Global Goal: Unite for Our Future
The Prime Minister of Barbados, Mia Mottley, calls on nations to consider the needs of the nations of the Caribbean and show COVID-19 “no surrender, no retreat”, during Global Goal: Unite for Our Future — The Summit on June 27 2020
I glad as rasshole and how much would have Mia gotten directly or indirectly
Biowarfare ± Covid Conspiracies was ruled out by “experts” as science fiction and not science faction
The rumors of a lab escape or a bioweapon stem from historical amnesia, a caricatured villain, and good old-fashioned racism.
Quick calculations suggests the treasury could have taken at least a 48 million dollar hit, US24 million, when invoiced, based on what they planned to purchase on black market, @4 times the price what Astrazeneca sold directly to governments…..sourcing 1,000,000 doses, the island certainly did not need that much, but, somebody wannabe a vaccine czar.
St. Lucia was apparently lured to give up millions to buy a pig in a bag, dont know if they got their money back yet…
…but according to what the vax manufacturerers said at the time, they were not selling so it could be resold, not at US$3 per. Greed played a part in the quick money grab…had they gotten away with it, no one would know, and everyone laughing and smiling all the way to the bank and their supporters admiring, thrilled and gleeful as they are when the treasury is hit 6 and 7 times the amount for medicines purchased offshore for QEH…happening since the 80s, triple invoicing.
Don’t know how people can sit and watch these white color atrocities, that keeps pushing the people’s progress backward by decades, and dont think the perpetrators should be arrested…just because they admire corrupt politicians.
I was wondering what they expected the Colonel to do, no radio or newspaper or the lone tv station would carry the news of that blatant crime, what was he supposed to do, i would love to hear. Which commissioner of police would arrest these perpetrators who have used this same modus operandi for many decades. Which DPP was going to review and press charges, which attorney general would present documents for an investigation.
Time to stop the pappyshow and get serious about ending, not supporting the corruption.
Btw..based on what Japan did re investigations on the vax because of their reporting high incidences of deaths, there is a peer reviewed document on their findings. Am sure I saw the video on here hosted by a renowned doctor.
The document is online and called IJVTPR, a journal. Printable, i got a copy.
@The OG September 13, 2024 at 3:22 pm “It well known that the wishes of Mia trumps all others.”
And here it is, simple me, thinking that the wishes of the tax payers, that is those of us whose taxes pays the salaries, benefits and pensions of all Cabinet members ought to come first.
Once some people no longer have diplomatic passports we will see who travels to the USA and who doesn’t dare to do so.
I doubt that Donville is the only Bajan of interest to the USA.
Diplomatic passports don’t last forever.
Bonjour
Donville Inniss told the truth to the federal judge in NYC, although his statement was not admissible.
Political corruption and these minority private partnerships which helps fuel that corruption has been a staple in Barbados for decades, since the 70s when they upgraded and found themselves with leverage to destroy everything that Black people can use to grow and thrive, it drives poverty, under development and retards progress.
Triple invoicing the treasury, business people withholding the vat for their personal use, and politicians raiding the pension on the regular, as their own piggybank to fund their private partner scams, ensures the island remains stagnant and the Black population will NEVER RISE, always subservient, in consumer mode, and ultimately destroyed by corruption and thefts generationally. Skimming from the loans taken in the people’s name is another delicate dance of fraud.
..it’s amazing black people actually admire these evil crimes against themselves, says a lot about the MISEDUCATION system.
Those diplomatic passports have always played a major role in all manner of crimes against the people, as cover. The franchise should be removed from the Caribbean, it has become a blight, like it’s political issuers and users.
Perhaps the myth is ‘unity in black people’
there was no country called Africa
there were tribes and tribal lands
there was no black or white race
divide to rule book of hook crook
financial trinkets slavery colonialism
… or perhaps the Blogmaster should take Bushie’s advice
… on banning your miserable donkey…
“If you feel to give Bostic a pass for respecting the ‘blue line’ go ahead, all it means is that you are a blasted hypocrite.”
Has the definition of hypocrisy changed? How on earth could one conveniently ignore the participation of an even higher-up and yet speak of hypocrisy.
With your refusal to point at higher-ups, it has now dawned on me that there is the possibility of Most Honorable Mr Bostic being pressured to assumed responsibility and having to choose to resign.
Then he should have resigned to help in the fight against those creating the pressure. In a similar situation in England the minister would have had to resign.
This is part of our problem, because of the bias of school tie or other biases we like to sidestep the real issues. Those at the top will continue to do as they like if underlings are meekly complicit.
Kind note to the blogmaster
I get the impression that the site is not stable as newer comments seem to appear and disappear.
“Then he should have resigned to help in the fight against those creating the pressure.”
Here we see the Bajan characteristic of two men trying to have the last word.
“Mr Chairman, I will not yield the floor”
It is not beyond the realm of possibility that he wanted to resign immediately, but was persuaded to hang on because of COVID.
His patriotism and love of country may have made him to foolishly decide to hang on,
As you r spirited but failing defense points out, his foolish decision was in reality providing cover cover for the mastermind.
Those at the top who have no morals, ethics or integrity and believe stealing from the public is a sport and they are invincible and untouchable should be ARRESTED AND JAILED since they will never resign once weak minds enable, support and admire their evil crimes against Black humanity.
I spent all morning wondering what kind of degraded minds would admire wicked politicians stealing their birthright and allowing every local and foreign parasites to feed off them generationally and dont go into destructive mode and target these criminals, expose them everywhere. Make sure the public-private partnership of wicked THIEVES have nowhere to hide, that’s what Konscious Black minds could do, apply pressure so they KNOW THEIR TIME IS DONE…not support the crimials and act like they cannot be CAPSIZED..
But, because of the vaccine sham, the white world will end these lying Judas beasts themselves…tick tock.
I received the info on that vax sham court case and immediately made sure those on the continent who should, found out that mam1 and mam2 are two extremely dangerous thieves, con artists and scam generators and should not be allowed to run loose on the continent without intense monitoring….that’s how you treat criminals who have no scruples, and the black face Judases who will never stop selling and selling out Black Afrikan people, or stop trying to enslave us in exchange for small power, money and pretend elite status.
Play games with this level of pure and extreme evil and see you dont end up in shackles and chains again.
For people who did not know the muslim arab kidnapped and sold us to the west but once the beast ran out with a scam to resell us to muslim arab again, the slavemind was eager to accomodate and comply, without knowing the history of the subsaharan slave trade that destroyed our Afrikan ancestors…it’s a good thing some of us STILL carry the mental strength and minds of our ancient royal houses.