The report coming out of St. Vincent that a citizen felt emboldened to pelt an object at Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves and in the process endanger his life and destabilize the country is reprehensible. We may have contrary political views but it does not mean we should disregard the fact Gonsalves’s Unity Labour Party (ULP) is a democratically elected government. What example are we setting for our children? Increasingly in the Caribbean we are witnessing behaviours associated with TV scenes depicting public disturbances from over in away. Another example of our small open societies in the Caribbean susceptible to external influences. The English speaking Caribbean has earned a reputation through the years as an area of peace (comparatively speaking) with Grenada the outlier. What happened in St. Vincent this week is an ominous sign for the region given we are battling similar issues. The lyrics of the great calypso Caribbean Man penned in 1979 should serve as a reminder.

One race (de Caribbean man)
From de same place (de Caribbean man)
Dat make de same trip (de Caribbean man)
On de same ship (de Caribbean man)
So we must push one common intention
Is for a better life in de region
For we woman, and we children
Dat must be de ambition of de Caribbean man
De Caribbean man, de Caribbean man

Songwriter: Sawandi Cassell

The world is struggling to protect citizens during the pandemic. It is reported over 4 million people have died since the outbreak of Covid 19. The virus has had the effect of stalling the global economy and in the process crippled Small Island Developing States (SIDs) like St. Vincent, Barbados and others. Before the pandemic our economic and social landscape was under stress. As developed and undeveloped countries respond to outbreak after outbreak of Covid 19, public health policy to fight the virus has not earned the trust of some members of the public. The issue has escalated to a point where the rights of individuals are challenging government’s obligation to enforce an effective national health policy. Members of the medical fraternity are divided, governments have been administering different approaches, individuals are conflicted on the best options to take to fight Covid 19. Unfortunately the matter has been politicised and the voice of the scientists have been trivialized. There will always be those who are anti this and anti that- this has been the case from time immemorial.

To ask for calm at a time various interest groups (including political parties) prefer to engage in rambunctious behaviour will be a struggle. One suspects it will get worse before it gets better. Many of our islands support service economies and will be directly impacted based on our ability to curb Covid 19 infections and in the process prevent failed state status. How long can our governments continue to pay the salaries of bloated public service employees. How long will private sector companies draw down on reserves and declining rate of returns on equity? Is the proverbial crap is about to hit the fan?

The Barbados government is currently working on a legal document to consider mandatory vaccinations that was promised to key stakeholders yesterday. Yesterday CNN in the USA fired 3 unvaccinated employees who entered the workplace violating policy. Buckle up!

The blogmaster thought the following read a useful exercise, a break from the vitriol.

Mandatory vaccination, including for COVID-19, can be ethically justified if the threat to public health is grave, the confidence in safety and effectiveness is high, the expected utility of mandatory vaccination is greater than the alternatives, and the penalties or costs for non-compliance are proportionate. I describe an algorithm for justified mandatory vaccination. Penalties or costs could include withholding of benefits, imposition of fines, provision of community service or loss of freedoms. I argue that under conditions of risk or perceived risk of a novel vaccination, a system of payment for risk in vaccination may be superior. I defend a payment model against various objections, including that it constitutes coercion and undermines solidarity. I argue that payment can be in cash or in kind, and opportunity for altruistic vaccinations can be preserved by offering people who have been vaccinated the opportunity to donate any cash payment back to the health service.

Read full text: Good reasons to vaccinate: mandatory or payment for risk?

477 responses to “Gonsalves Struck in the Head, Who Next?”

1. “DLP trolls are rejoicing that a leader got hit with a pebble
    let them have their fun they are trying to get blood out of a stone with their efforts to push their party”

Did the stone have a party? We can comment negatively or positively without being in a camp.

DLP are thirsty

note I said trolls

2. Mia claims to be a lawyer
    Yet time and time again when it becomes to the law of good governance and it’s impact of the democratic process she fails miserably
    Thank God that there are Barbadians who can understand a true and tested democratic process where the voices of the majority are heard
    Barbados becoming a Republic is not an issue which govt should take lightly because of hastened political interest for Mia to create a legacy

3. Nathan 'Jolly' Green Avatar
    Nathan ‘Jolly’ Green

The latest is that someone closer said that they saw a policeman raise a riot truncheon batton to beat the mob off of attacking Gonsalves and on the backward swing he struck Gonsalves.

A number of people had serious head injuries from being bludgeoned on the head by the police. They never got to go to Barbados for treatment and their injuries were far worse, even life threatening. Police were using their battons like baseball bats, and peoples heads like the balls, great swipes and great injuries.

There are lots of overhead cameras in the area, if this 60 year old great grandmother lobbed a stone it would be recorded on video. They have not even presented the stone as evidence, because there is no stone. If Red Ralph was struck by a batton that will be on video as well, if the video is not available or missing it will be obvious they lost it to make sure they can convict this lady for something she did not do.

Remember readers, in Saint Vincent the police are political they take their orders from Red Ralph. The police have been raiding houses of people who were at the rally, confiscating there cell phones and computers.

4. Nathan 'Jolly' Green Avatar
    Nathan ‘Jolly’ Green

Gonsalves was completely surrounded by police and bodyguards. The woman was 45 feet away and would have to be a stone throwing Olympian to have hit him with a stone. You see to throw a stone at a single person in a straight trajectory may make a possible connection. But to throw a stone up in the air over the heads of a hundred other people and to make contact with a singularly selected person in that crowd is almost impossible.

5. Nathan 'Jolly' Green Avatar
    Nathan ‘Jolly’ Green

This lady was wearing a yellow t shirt and opposition part motif on it, that is why they grabbed her, she fitted the bill, she was selected for that reason.

6. @Nathan Green

Can you point to any writing or informed opinion to support what you have stated?

7. Also if there is a stone they will be finger prints
    If there is no stone the media report given by govt is a lie which would lead to suspicious motives in the public domain

8. I have to laugh outright when I look at the opponents of vaccination in Barbados: notorious black national-socialists, white plantation owners with a taste for conspiracy theories, Rastafarians, Muslims. Have I forgotten any minority? What an explosive mixture!

How fortunate that we are not governed by this crazy bunch but by the Barbados Liberal Party under the strong leadership of Mia Mottley!

9. Nathan 'Jolly' Green Avatar
    Nathan ‘Jolly’ Green

When police raided the houses of prominent people who were at the demonstration they came with ill-gotten warrants. All the warrants are written in such a way to trick magistrates and JPs who sign them into authority. They all read firearms, ammunition and electronics. If the police have reasonable suspicions that someone has a gun in their house they can enter without a warrant, they can kick the door down if you refuse to let them in. The only thing they want is telephones and computers to study who was talking to who and what was said. A magistrate or JP would not sign a warrant for that purpose. So they cheat and add firearms and ammunition, that is how they fool the magistrate and JP.

In the worst cases the magistrates and JPs know what the police are doing when the wrongly apply for warrants and go along with it, they themselves being part of the political filth, go along with it. If you have copies of the warrants please make it known who signed them. But because this is all about political mulching, the police in most cases try and ensure they do not leave a copy of the warrant. This is the police acting as a political arm of the dynasty and ruling junta.

These raids are not just police raids on folk who they believe have committed a crime, this is a politically instructed action right from the very top. This is Marxist terrorism at its worst.

The shame is instead of giving support to the people the other Caribbean leaders support the filth.

10. On another note
    Barbados met. Office is monitoring a system that will come across the island in a day

https://www.facebook.com/CBCBARBADOS/videos/509996820084405/

11. gonzales is evil, pure demon…hope that lady sues his ass for lying, it was said from the VERY BEGINNING it was an elaborate lie…and they scapegoated some Black person to make it look good.

12. Pedigreed Gonzales aka “World Boss” serial rapist (alleged) unleashes the “BLACK SQUAD” a division of the svg police on the opposition in SVG.
    World boss run to Bim for solace from the local pedigreeds.
    Pass the popcorn.

13. Some body tell Peter Wickham that his personnel emotional opinion cannot undermine a democratic process
    Reason why govt Repubiicanism input is being faced with stalling front

14. Persons Home Searched
    A number of people’s homes and properties were searched on Friday, including, from top clockwise, Colin Graham, Adrianna King, Kenson King, Luzette King, Nikeisha Williams, Igal Adams, Robert “Patches” King, Lance Oliver, Tyrone James, and Douglas De Freitas.
    Police raids ‘a very serious moment in our country’ — NDP
    Heavily armed officers from the Rapid Response Unit (“Black Squad”) of the Royal St. Vincent and the Grenadines Police Force…

15. You guys are no fun! Angela Cox and TheO, you were supposed to borrow the Merrymen’s riddem and add particular issues to the song.

Don’t you don’t know the Merrymen’s Big Rock song?

16. There are videos circulating about these human rights abuses ongoing in St. Vincent, that liar was not hit with any stone, the people need to get themselves from under the gonzales dictatorship…..he needs to be dragged up to a world court with his old ass…..everyone is saying the same thing, he was accidentally hit with a police baton…

and every Caribbean misleader spreading that lie should be dragged up to a world court too for conspiring…

17. DonnaAugust 8, 2021 1:16 PM

You guys are no fun! Angela Cox and TheO, you were supposed to borrow the Merrymen’s riddem and add particular issues to the song.

Don’t you don’t know the Merrymen’s Big Rock song

Xxxxxx
    Not me bozie
    David said that the poetry input was glamorizing violence
    To me that is an indication that the poetry can be interpret as throwing Big Rocks at RG and used as creating chaos thus evidence collecting would be on the agenda
    However I say this
    I love the Merrymen wish they were still around to defend their side of the Big Rock
    Good guys with a love for barbados

18. @ AC,
    The backlash has started. I was surprised our David circled those mask less protesters from yesterday’s march. Very strange!

https://www.iwnsvg.com/2021/08/07/police-raids-a-very-serious-moment-in-our-country-ndp/

19. It’s so bad, they are saying the police were indeed beating people and swingng their batons everywhere that’s how he got hit in the head, now they are ransacking their homes and confiscating cellphones and laptops, something needs to be done with these wicked little small island ditcator wannabes….the shit in the Caribbean want shutting down…it has run its course…

20. Says the guy who declared that if the Democrats did not wish the Trumpists to storm the Capitol, they should not have stolen the election? Or was that your partner?

21. @ angela cox August 8, 2021 1:12 PM

I seriously wonder why the police does not take action in our realm as well. The anti-government protesters have been throwing verbal stones at our government.

22. The digital ID card is coming soon! Together with our Corona app, digital passports and GPS transmitters on our mobile phones, this will provide fantastic opportunities for our beloved government to understand us even better and prevent protests.

Those who remain neutral, fair and balanced, i.e. sympathetic towards the government, have nothing to fear.

23. If you are going to protest, wearing a mask could be useful.
    A nondescript mask, plain shirt and a dungaree pants.
    Be careful how, when and of what you post

24. To those unfamiliar with the Bajan idiom- yuh get a big rock, it has to do with getting a disappointment.

So… if you open your birthday present and there’s a roll of toilet paper, yuh get a big rock.

If the bride or groom stands you up the at the altar, yuh get a big rock.

If a politician promises accountability and all you get is long talk, yuh get a big rock.

25. Lying gonzales. Always be careful what ya ask for.

https://www.facebook.com/rebecca.theodore/videos/1523394428003030/?sfnsn=wa

26. Donna love that song
    It is most appropriate at this time
    But the Merrymen might have to apologize for those lyrics
    A Serious BIG Rock song with plenty meaning

27. TheOGazertsAugust 8, 2021 1:41 PM

If you are going to protest, wearing a mask could be useful.
    A nondescript mask, plain shirt and a dungaree pants.
    Be careful how, when and of what you post

Xxxxxxx
    There are several reasons why people not wear mask
    As I said mostly found in vaccinated people who wants freedom after being vaccinated
    No one knows the reason why in the video some are not wearing mask
    On the other hand the Haywire group which partied in Barbados pics were distributed via social media of those in groupings not wearing mask
    The deafening then was silence
    However now the thousands steps up with a defiance to put govt policies in their right place
    Hell the circle police steps out in force with pen and paper on hand

28. @ TheOGazerts August 8, 2021 1:41 PM

I openly admit that you are absolutely right! So I revise my opinion: those who wore a mask at the protest covered their faces to avoid just prosecution. So actually David should have marked all mask wearers with a red circle!

29. David
    Nathan Jolly Green’s account should be accorded no less validity than the reports first reaching this blog.

Reports which were given some credence largely based on the notion that Gonzalez is a super citizen.

Should Green’s account eventually takes the day it should so happen once Annamay Lewis as presumed innocent would have had her freedoms fully restored, immediately.

30. David
    No evidence was required from Gonzales. None should be required from Greene.

31. oh well…the gonzales et all the others he colluded and CONSPIRED with SCAM ……certainly backfired in a BIGLY WAY…..wuhloss, the news is hopping ACROSS THE EARTH faster than a rock…

32. @Pacha

Ok, we know Nathan Greene is not a fan

33. Pacha…these wild beasts in small island parliaments believe someone is going to allow them to get away with their 60 YEAR OLD crimes against Black/African people and transfer their thievery to the continent…they are so DESPERATE to control Black lives, use it to enrich themselves and sell to criminals like themselves that they are conjuring up all types of evil shit…….well they better STAY THE HELL AWAY…the continent knows who everyone of you TRAITORS ARE….what ya do and what ya are VERY CAPABLE OF….the fraud gonzales did not hesitate to be himself…

34. Look, David, for me violence is always a last resort. I love my skin too much to jeopardise my safety unnecessarily.

I obviously don’t know if Ralphie was hit with a rock or a baton. But here’s what I say, corrupt politicians do more violence and kill more people than a bad boy with a gun. Just as domestic violence acknowledges emotional and economic abuse, so too should political violence.

Political leaders should take a good long look at themselves and be as outraged at blood-sucking corruption as they are at blood-letting stone :throwing.

A desperate citizen will use whatever weapon is at his/her disposal. All some people have is a stone.

35. Donna while what you comment is true, we have to be careful of the incident involving Gonsalves. It does not represent who we are as a people. It is not the recommended approach civilized people resolve problems.

36. mass hysteria of crowds means people easily act out of control and go crazy and start wilding
    angela cox is a prime example of why general public are too stupid and duplicitous to be trusted with a referendumb

37. David
    Yuh doing it again. Greene is not a fan, ok!

But Gonzales would hardly be a fan of Greene either.

Then what are you saying. That a PM has some divine right to a presumption of “innocence” in the absence of evidence, over and above that of an old woman jailed without a trial?

38. @Pacha

We are about conjecture here which does not add to the cause.

39. David
    Where are these spcalled “civilized” people you have known not resolving problems through violence?

40. Socalled

41. But everything except the fact that Gonzales head was injured and he came to the QEH, stated thus far is conjecture, on both sides.

42. “On the other hand the Haywire group which partied in Barbados pics were distributed via social media of those in groupings not wearing mask.”

Couldn’t your comments re “There are several reasons why people not wear mask. As I said mostly found in vaccinated people who wants freedom after being vaccinated. No one knows the reason why in the video some are not wearing mask”…………

…………. be equally or similarly applicable to those persons attending the ‘Haywire’ event?

How do you know if the ‘Haywire’ people did not wear masks for the same reasons you’ve outlined relative to the SVG protestors?

You’re known to adjust your comments on similar issues………. depending on who are involved.

43. @Pacha

This is the point.

44. Vincentians were warned not to give that portuguese descended piece of shit anymore political power over them, but the mindless Slaves and sheeple …the WEAKEST LINK in ANY country….put him back there to do what he is doing now….and they are the ones who should suffer the most eventually FOR THEIR IGNORANCE..

45. David

So we used conjecture to build a case seemingly favourable to one party.

Once a second story emerges we then call conjecture evil, yes?

Our argument is and was that all stories should contend on equal footing until the truth or a truth emerges.

46. Artax

How do you know if the ‘Haywire’ people did not wear masks for the same reasons you’ve outlined relative to the SVG
    Xxxxxxxx
    Well not unlike u to have some kind of ability to penetrate other people mind and super implant whatever motive fits your political agenda
    Xxxxccc
    My point being that absent was the same political precision and attention given to the mask less Haywire group that is now given to those not wearing mask yesterday

47. Italians are seen in videos burning their green vaccine passports….trouble in the land.

48. @Pacha

And we agree. The bigger point is what is the point. How will it end?

49. Domestic violence may include verbal, emotional, economic, physical and sexual abuse. All forms of domestic abuse have one purpose: to gain and maintain control over the victim. Abusers use many tactics to exert power over their spouse or partner: dominance, humiliation, isolation, threats, intimidation, denial and blame