The report coming out of St. Vincent that a citizen felt emboldened to pelt an object at Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves and in the process endanger his life and destabilize the country is reprehensible. We may have contrary political views but it does not mean we should disregard the fact Gonsalves’s Unity Labour Party (ULP) is a democratically elected government. What example are we setting for our children? Increasingly in the Caribbean we are witnessing behaviours associated with TV scenes depicting public disturbances from over in away. Another example of our small open societies in the Caribbean susceptible to external influences. The English speaking Caribbean has earned a reputation through the years as an area of peace (comparatively speaking) with Grenada the outlier. What happened in St. Vincent this week is an ominous sign for the region given we are battling similar issues. The lyrics of the great calypso Caribbean Man penned in 1979 should serve as a reminder.

One race (de Caribbean man)
From de same place (de Caribbean man)
Dat make de same trip (de Caribbean man)
On de same ship (de Caribbean man)
So we must push one common intention
Is for a better life in de region
For we woman, and we children
Dat must be de ambition of de Caribbean man
De Caribbean man, de Caribbean man

Songwriter: Sawandi Cassell

The world is struggling to protect citizens during the pandemic. It is reported over 4 million people have died since the outbreak of Covid 19. The virus has had the effect of stalling the global economy and in the process crippled Small Island Developing States (SIDs) like St. Vincent, Barbados and others. Before the pandemic our economic and social landscape was under stress. As developed and undeveloped countries respond to outbreak after outbreak of Covid 19, public health policy to fight the virus has not earned the trust of some members of the public. The issue has escalated to a point where the rights of individuals are challenging government’s obligation to enforce an effective national health policy. Members of the medical fraternity are divided, governments have been administering different approaches, individuals are conflicted on the best options to take to fight Covid 19. Unfortunately the matter has been politicised and the voice of the scientists have been trivialized. There will always be those who are anti this and anti that- this has been the case from time immemorial.

To ask for calm at a time various interest groups (including political parties) prefer to engage in rambunctious behaviour will be a struggle. One suspects it will get worse before it gets better. Many of our islands support service economies and will be directly impacted based on our ability to curb Covid 19 infections and in the process prevent failed state status. How long can our governments continue to pay the salaries of bloated public service employees. How long will private sector companies draw down on reserves and declining rate of returns on equity? Is the proverbial crap is about to hit the fan?

The Barbados government is currently working on a legal document to consider mandatory vaccinations that was promised to key stakeholders yesterday. Yesterday CNN in the USA fired 3 unvaccinated employees who entered the workplace violating policy. Buckle up!

The blogmaster thought the following read a useful exercise, a break from the vitriol.

Mandatory vaccination, including for COVID-19, can be ethically justified if the threat to public health is grave, the confidence in safety and effectiveness is high, the expected utility of mandatory vaccination is greater than the alternatives, and the penalties or costs for non-compliance are proportionate. I describe an algorithm for justified mandatory vaccination. Penalties or costs could include withholding of benefits, imposition of fines, provision of community service or loss of freedoms. I argue that under conditions of risk or perceived risk of a novel vaccination, a system of payment for risk in vaccination may be superior. I defend a payment model against various objections, including that it constitutes coercion and undermines solidarity. I argue that payment can be in cash or in kind, and opportunity for altruistic vaccinations can be preserved by offering people who have been vaccinated the opportunity to donate any cash payment back to the health service.

Read full text: Good reasons to vaccinate: mandatory or payment for risk?

477 responses to “Gonsalves Struck in the Head, Who Next?”

1. Not on one side or the other…

Do you remember the mandatory hospitalization of Yugge Farrel?

Do you think the Prime Minister could see the parallel between non-consenting vaccination with a stone and mandatory vaccination for COVID-19.

Wouldn’t it be wonderful if opening a cut on his head opened his eyes to his violation of the right of others.

2. Meant to be, but it is not funny.
    —- A little bashing is done here—-
    At the end of the route, student minister of the Nation of Islam, Abdul Rahman gave a speech.

Tomorrow, we get Khalid Mohammed.

What is Abu Bakr gonna do to get the spotlight.

3. “Do you remember the mandatory hospitalization of Yugge Farrel?

gonzales got selective memory, a lawyer from Barbados had to go to St. Vincent and represent the young lady, rescue her from this thing and his son drugging her out of her mind, violating her human rights and locking her away in an asylum…..”

4. Do you realize that if you do the calculations 2,000 in Barbados is the equivalent of about 2.5 million in the US.

We had our ‘2 million men’ march

5. I posit prevention is the best cure against COVID-19 it’s that simple. Somebody needs to tell government to get a Chinese manufacturer to design a special filtration mask to treat to airborne matter, if that’s the main transmission route. Unfortunately perpetually vaccinations are an extreme cash cow. Vaccinations do work but my hesitancy is the time market and too few options and I appreciate those who are rushing to take the various vaccines so research data can be gathered. Nasal sprays and antivirals are what I await as low risk . Barbados dependency on tourism means we will always be importing some virus or the other. Lockdowns and curfews are useless.

6. Vox Populi, Vox Dei
    May our leaders hear the voice of God.
    .—Have a great day–;

7. “Somebody needs to tell government to get a Chinese manufacturer to design a special filtration mask to treat to airborne matter,”

or some young bright creative from one of the island’s schools can design and develop the mask, patent it from thieves, they will only need a hand with manufacturing and production…i have seen what they create and they are quite capable..

make use of the brillant young minds on the island.

8. It boggles my mind when self serving organizations such as https://www.nationnews.com/2021/07/24/bhta-supports-mandatory-vaccination-covid-19/ makes such statements.

In Nigeria it’s illegal to insult the President and recently I read somewhere where 3 young boys were charged for wearing a shirt saying Buhari must go. Laws can be oppressive and politicians can be stupidly arrogant. Who will be criminally liable if a vaccinated person infects another vaccinated person?

The compromised Unions and NGOs belong at Mount Stinkeroo, no wonder the Bussa Rebellion failed for most Bajans will sell you out. Political parties need to take note that the yellow belly baby boomers are now replaced by militant Cuspers and Gen Zs. In addition expect nothing to change until judges, COP or COS, PS have any influence from politicians for no longer will they feel powerful or above reproach.

9. @Kammie

And will do you anticipate the power structures that support the establishment will be come tumbling down?

People with money will always call the shots in the capitalist societies we have built.

10. @Theogazerts, Sorry to hear of Gonzales, cut over he eyes but I hope it opened his eyes that he has outlived his usefulness and under developed SVG.

11. Gonsalves will be celebrating his 75th birthday on Sunday!

12. No David, but I am certain our PM have most likely as a person who never leaves anything to chance would have spoken to her person within the NSC of her expectations. Thus she know by now it not kid gloves.

13. Now that we have had our protest march, we wait to see if it qualifies as a super spreader event in the coming days.

#watchcoviddashboard

14. @David, I think most law abiding citizens are sorry to hear of the stone throwing incident. However, I have heard many say they sorry but glad about the message it sends to politicians to politicians who use laws and the police to oppress citizens. Have you heard anything about the illegal eavesdropping of phones/emails in the local media of ordinary citizens phones? I am certain that lady who never played for the WI team will have no lack of legal representation for she boldly acted frustration of an ordinary citizen. Again what happened was unfortunate but big headed arrogance is inexcusable fuelled by a lack of critical analysis or even a SWOT.

15. @Kammie

Let us hope the unfortunate incident breeds positive actions from those with authority to make it happen.

16. “Member hotels are also being urged to request proof of vaccination status from those making new applications for jobs.

this dependency slave mean the same hotels who stole salaries, benefits and severance from hotel employees…WITHIN THE LAST 2 YEARS…helped by the cabinet………these workers need to find another way to survive…..and leave the wicked greedy bottomfeeding hotels and their slavery tourism alone..

17. It’s easy to stand with the crowd but it takes courage to stand alone.

18. De stone throwing was done by a
    Palestinian and It wasn’t Yasser Arafat.

19. David not gonna post this but who would have thought

https://www.facebook.com/1839591990/posts/10215937643594174/

20. In the block unseen video the people are chanting
    Mia Must Go

21. Even Braven had something to say
    Black people can’t catch a dam break

Vendors who recently decided to return to the BARVEN Temporary Market in Cheapside, The City, to sell produce have been warned that they are operating illegally.

It has come from president of the Barbados Association of Retailers, Vendors and Entrepreneurs (BARVEN), Alister Alexander, who in a letter dated July 30, and distributed to the vendors the following day, cautioned the group of about 40 vendors about their actions.

“This letter is mostly to inform you that I have been directed by the board of BARVEN to inform you that you cannot act as a subsidiary of BARVEN and in the name of BARVEN take control of the temporary market location, or any other location BARVEN may have negotiated for or have responsibility for. It is an unlawful act

Xx ccccv

22. Rona and her friends marched today too! 🤣🤣🤣 The same people marching for choice today march against gay Barbadians’ choice. Back to muh sabbatical.

23. De mad woman has stood alone all of her life. That is how she acquired her label.

24. BRAVEN don’t pay me no mind
    The vendors deserve to be treated like cattle right

Xxccccc
    Finally many voices spoke today even the videos of the protestors chanting MIA MUST GO gave hope and comfort that the people would not allow this country to be taken hostage by a megalomaniac

25. TheOGazertsAugust 7, 2021 4:58 PM

Vox Populi, Vox Dei
    May our leaders hear the voice of God.
    .—Have a great day–;

Misquoted and missing the point entirely!!

“Nec audiendi qui solent dicere, vox populi, vox Dei, quum tumultuositas vulgi semper insaniae proxima sit.

We should not listen to those who like to affirm that the voice of the people is the voice of God, for the tumult of the masses is truly close to madness.”

26. Kammie HolderAugust 7, 2021 5:18 PM

It boggles my mind when self serving organizations such as https://www.nationnews.com/2021/07/24/bhta-supports-mandatory-vaccination-covid-19/ makes such statements.

In Nigeria it’s illegal to insult the President and recently I read somewhere where 3 young boys were charged for wearing a shirt saying Buhari must go. Laws can be oppressive and politicians can be stupidly arrogant. Who will be criminally liable if a vaccinated person infects another vaccinated person?

Who will determine who infected whom?

Impossible!!

27. DavidAugust 7, 2021 5:30 PM

Now that we have had our protest march, we wait to see if it qualifies as a super spreader event in the coming days.

Only if the marchers were vaccinated already and were shedding their high virus load!!

One would assume that since it was against mandatory vaccination then no one was vaccinated.

Since all the BLM riots, protests etc were done by folks with no vaccinations and no masks, we can confidently predict this should not be a super spreader event.

28. @ Enuff August 7, 2021 6:46 PM

Today, the backwards, xenophobic, homophobic mob has gathered in Bridgetown, having already loudly threatened our dear tourists and businessmen last year during the Nelson riots.

Let them remain unvaccinated. Our island is overpopulated with welfare recipients anyway. Therefore, it will not hurt if Mother Nature does her work.

Those who want to remain unvaccinated and have concerns about the tourists who will soon be flocking to our island again, thank goodness, without expensive PCR tests, should work on the plantations inland.

29. The charts seem to suggest that the authorities have been able to get some measure of success re. limiting the spread of the virus. I hope that trend persists, but continued vigilance and support for the protocols from the general public, is essential for the desired outcomes – Source: Lyall Small
    See COVID 19 Updates page

30. If it isn’t a super spreader event then either the Delta variant is not present in Barbados or it is a fabrication.

31. REGIONAL: Police chief was ‘irresponsible’ to allow PM to walk through protesters — MP

Article by Barbados Today

Published on
    August 6, 2021

SOURCE: IWITNESS NEWS- Opposition lawmaker St. Clair Leacock, Thursday night, maintained his position that Commissioner of Police Colin John was “irresponsible” when he allowed Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves to walk through protesters in Kingstown earlier that evening.

Gonsalves, who turns 75 on Sunday, was flown to Barbados Thursday night for further medical attention after being struck in the head by an object, allegedly thrown by a protester, near Parliament around 5:15 p.m.

Leacock told Parliament that he learned of the prime minister’s injury when Deputy Prime Minister Montgomery Daniel spoke about it in the national assembly.

“… I do not take kindly to the physical injury to the prime minister. But as firmly as I address that regret, that remorse and all of the sincerity, I am saying to you, if I was the commissioner of police today in St. Vincent and the Grenadines, I would not have allowed my prime minister, or the prime minister, to alight his vehicle at the point of the Coreas Trading, where there is an angry crowd, and to walk outside of his vehicle, where he is sheltered and protected, through that crowd into the Parliament building,” said Leacock, who has a military background.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/08/06/regional-police-chief-was-irresponsible-to-allow-pm-to-walk-through-protesters-mp/

32. Spoken like a true scientist.

33. My gran ma taught me yuh sow what yuh reap
    That is the message to.tin horn dictators who hold on to power while the people suffer
    God any use any one he chose David to use a stone and sling shot and smite a giant
    There are some modern day leaders who belive they are giants

34. I hope Mia is listening. I hope they ALL are listening. All of the so-called political class. The relationship of the people to their government is changing. I am certain these were not all DLP supporters. They cannot be dismissed as such.

The people now insist that respect must go both ways.

No more of this Auntie Mia nonsense! Treat the people like grown ups! Stop waving your finger and stop saying “believe you me”.

And while we are demand mode – we want accountability to be more than an election promise!

I hope Verla does forget the 30: 0 and think she now has a clear path.

We en fuhget dem yet!

35. Correction – does NOT forget

36. What is the meaning of the red circles, David?

37. No masks?

38. “My gran ma taught me yuh sow what yuh reap”

the correct idiom phrase is you reap what you sow
    her head must be exploding you got it wrong and ass backwards
    but that probably sums you up well
    memory FAIL

39. Uh-oh! I guess they can be identified and charged.

40. I have a relative whose body does not register the covid shots and is not responding, apparently they already came up with an answer..

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/health/medical/drug-for-10-who-don-t-respond-to-covid-vaccine-may-soon-be-on-nhs/ar-AAN3yvC?ocid=msedgntp

41. Mia would find out sooner rather than later that her entitlement days are over

http://chng.it/9Pk6gSSgBH

42. My gran me also taught me that what goes around comes around
    Day runs till night catches it
    Poor Ralphie if only he had listen to his gran ma sound advice
    Sticks and stones duz break bones

43. The link above is an ongoing on line protest to stop Mia illegitimate mad dash making Barbados to become a Republic without the people input

44. @ David August 7, 2021 8:09 PM

Time to arrest these enemies of the people for attempt of manslaughter. Anyone not wearing a mask is intentionally endangering others to infect them.

I will pay 100 BBD to any reader in this forum who identifies one of the people. We need a manhunt.

45. I know of people who are vaccinated and does not wear the mask
    Some also got vaccinated because required by job but does not support mandatory vaccine
    That pic with the red circle showing people without mask does not know if the people were vaccinated
    A clueless video worthy of a big Steupse

46. After this scandalous picture, it is clear that the opposition wants to incite a civil war. Some even praise the cowardly assassination attempt on the honorable prime minister of St. Vincent, calling the action a “lesson”.

All patriots must now stand together to prevent anarchy. So let us await the orders of Mia Mottley. Stand back and stand by! Our Prime Minister and our Government need us.

47. What else did your Gran taught you
    Leap before you look
    Count your chickens before they hatch
    Birds in the bush shouldn’t live in glass houses

48. TheOGazertsAugust 7, 2021 9:26 PM

What else did your Gran taught you
    Leap before you look
    Count your chickens before they hatch
    Birds in the bush shouldn’t live in glass houses

Xxcccc
    Them too but not in that order or context
    Xxxxxx

But this she taught me

Birds of feathers stick together
    A stitch in time saves nine
    A wise woman she was

Xxccc

Today was a good day in Barbados The light of HOPE shone brightly on the streets
    Adios yuh all
    Hasta manana