The report coming out of St. Vincent that a citizen felt emboldened to pelt an object at Prime Minister Ralph Gonsalves and in the process endanger his life and destabilize the country is reprehensible. We may have contrary political views but it does not mean we should disregard the fact Gonsalves’s Unity Labour Party (ULP) is a democratically elected government. What example are we setting for our children? Increasingly in the Caribbean we are witnessing behaviours associated with TV scenes depicting public disturbances from over in away. Another example of our small open societies in the Caribbean susceptible to external influences. The English speaking Caribbean has earned a reputation through the years as an area of peace (comparatively speaking) with Grenada the outlier. What happened in St. Vincent this week is an ominous sign for the region given we are battling similar issues. The lyrics of the great calypso Caribbean Man penned in 1979 should serve as a reminder.

One race (de Caribbean man)
From de same place (de Caribbean man)
Dat make de same trip (de Caribbean man)
On de same ship (de Caribbean man)
So we must push one common intention
Is for a better life in de region
For we woman, and we children
Dat must be de ambition of de Caribbean man
De Caribbean man, de Caribbean man

Songwriter: Sawandi Cassell

The world is struggling to protect citizens during the pandemic. It is reported over 4 million people have died since the outbreak of Covid 19. The virus has had the effect of stalling the global economy and in the process crippled Small Island Developing States (SIDs) like St. Vincent, Barbados and others. Before the pandemic our economic and social landscape was under stress. As developed and undeveloped countries respond to outbreak after outbreak of Covid 19, public health policy to fight the virus has not earned the trust of some members of the public. The issue has escalated to a point where the rights of individuals are challenging government’s obligation to enforce an effective national health policy. Members of the medical fraternity are divided, governments have been administering different approaches, individuals are conflicted on the best options to take to fight Covid 19. Unfortunately the matter has been politicised and the voice of the scientists have been trivialized. There will always be those who are anti this and anti that- this has been the case from time immemorial.

To ask for calm at a time various interest groups (including political parties) prefer to engage in rambunctious behaviour will be a struggle. One suspects it will get worse before it gets better. Many of our islands support service economies and will be directly impacted based on our ability to curb Covid 19 infections and in the process prevent failed state status. How long can our governments continue to pay the salaries of bloated public service employees. How long will private sector companies draw down on reserves and declining rate of returns on equity? Is the proverbial crap is about to hit the fan?

The Barbados government is currently working on a legal document to consider mandatory vaccinations that was promised to key stakeholders yesterday. Yesterday CNN in the USA fired 3 unvaccinated employees who entered the workplace violating policy. Buckle up!

The blogmaster thought the following read a useful exercise, a break from the vitriol.

Mandatory vaccination, including for COVID-19, can be ethically justified if the threat to public health is grave, the confidence in safety and effectiveness is high, the expected utility of mandatory vaccination is greater than the alternatives, and the penalties or costs for non-compliance are proportionate. I describe an algorithm for justified mandatory vaccination. Penalties or costs could include withholding of benefits, imposition of fines, provision of community service or loss of freedoms. I argue that under conditions of risk or perceived risk of a novel vaccination, a system of payment for risk in vaccination may be superior. I defend a payment model against various objections, including that it constitutes coercion and undermines solidarity. I argue that payment can be in cash or in kind, and opportunity for altruistic vaccinations can be preserved by offering people who have been vaccinated the opportunity to donate any cash payment back to the health service.

Read full text: Good reasons to vaccinate: mandatory or payment for risk?

477 responses to “Gonsalves Struck in the Head, Who Next?”

1. Infected but usually not seriously ill or dead.

2. “FROM THE TIME IDIOTS STARTED TO CHALLENGE THE TRUTH I PRESENTED IN MY AREAS OF EXPERTISE, “

You have no areas of expertise in the areas of the known unknowns

such as Covid pandemic and God

and manifestations of God in his creations that we are all part of

you area of expertise is long talk and bullshit and sucking up to Trump and John for validation

3. No, it is not. When a person shows total irrationality in one area, it is only human nature to question his sanity. It does not mean the person has not maintained his rationality in other areas but it is natural to wonder if he has.

Perhaps you should take the time to read before you mock.

4. DavidAugust 7, 2021 11:41 AM

Hopefully the government will not respond in the same way the former did when 3000 marched to deliver a letter to Freundel.

#blueberrybush

David why the irritation
    People have a right to speak for themselves
    Now go and buy more 🏖️ to keep shade over Mia head
    She is going to need as many umbrellas as possible

Xxxxxcc

https://www.facebook.com/246784233190/posts/10158709493103191/

5. Just had a brainwave …
    😃 Always Argue With a Scholar, Onlookers May Not Be Able To Tell the Difference😀

6. Perhaps you should take the time to read before you mock.

WHY?
    I HAVE NEVER HAD DELUSIONS OF GRANDEUR

BU IS NOT A VIVA ON MEDICINE, OR A BIBLE READING WHERE ONE OUGHT TO BE PREPARED , NOR IS IT A CLINICO PATHOLOGICAL CONFERENCE, NOTHING THAT IS SAID HERE AFFECTS ANY THING ANYWHERE AT ANY TIME.

BU IS NOW A PLACE WHERE SOME COME TO PULL DOWN OTHERS AND WHERE SOME THINK THAT THEIR OPINION IS IMPORTANT

ALL THE FOLK THAT USED TO MAKE EXCELLENT CONTRIBUTIONS HERE HAVE LONG GONE
    I COME WHEN I AM BORED OR WHEN I AM HOPING TO LEARN SOMETHING ABOUT WHATS HAPPENING IN BIM…….AND JOIN THE HERD AND GET SOME MIRTH

NO NEED TO PREPARE. LOL

7. Good so be prepared to be treated accordingly.

8. Seems to me that many people here have come to conclusions that suit their narrative and then look for articles that back them up.

Me, I look at the evidence and then form my conclusions. So I find positions both for and against and weigh them against each other.

Sometimes I can come to NO FIRM CONCLUSION.

But a decision had to be made one way or the other on the vaccine.

I chose to take a chance on vaccination after having weighed the evidence. I had a fever as I have experienced with other vaccinations but nothing more.

I don’t believe this climate allows for mandatory covid vaccines. Authority is being challenged and for GOOD REASON. Authorities have never delivered to the people as promised. Our governments have always lied their way into office. They have promised accountability and delivered none. They have promised much and delivered little to the average Barbadian. Barbados has not progressed as it should have done.

THEREFORE, people do not trust that they –

a. know what they are doing

or

b. have their best interests at heart.

It is time for so-called leaders to reflect on what has caused us to be in this position.

It is not the fault of the average citizen.

It is clear that heavy-handedness will lead to futher distrust and resistance.

Buckle up, Barbados! This is going to be a bumpy ride!

I hope it will jolt the political class out of their comfy seats once and for all!

Perhaps some good will come out of all this pain.

If politicians see the signs that the sheeple are in transition and ready for protest that is progress.

Of course, we may then have to rise like a phoenix from the ashes but sometimes you have to burn it down so you can build it back better.

9. Good comment Donna. There is too much distrust between the citizens and government based on historical interactions. It means messages being communicated by the health department will be not be received as intended. This is a global phenomena.

Buckle up indeed!

10. Critical…apparently a couple cowardly sellouts got scared by the sheer size of the crowd. That’s what ya call sending a silent message.

Definitely a defining moment…the ignorant be damned. No one cares about them, they are tag alongs.

https://m.facebook.com/watch/?v=581901242834723&_rdr

11. re the vaccinated v. unvaccinated…all the evidence is right there, but there are jokers who would want to either dismiss it or cover it up to suit narrow agendas……not going to happen on these information highways….people’s lives and health and that of their families are at stake..

12. Do not drain your brain with over thinking like the B’jan scholars from half a century ago who have depleted their brain energy and are low energy thinkers.

When you charge your brain with violet light you have wisdom. There are so many things in this world, how can you choose just one solution out of a million things, problems, information and solutions you have to chose one thing. Humans make decisions of the right way and wrong way, but sometimes you have to choose out of a million and you need wisdom to do that. Don’t think too much just practice, when you drain your brain you have no energy and see and choose nonsense. When kids go to the supermarket they want everything, when they see things they want you give it to them, when they see another thing they want that and you put back what they chose before, at the checkout you let them decide to have just one thing.

13. No I am not gloating
    However estatic to see how unification can make a difference and reason for necessary change
    A lesson which the tin horned present day leaders should have learnt
    Cxcccccc

https://www.facebook.com/246784233190/posts/10158709469293191/

14. David,

Trump was a result of the blood -sucking establishment. Some people just wanted to give it the middle finger. Some wanted to burn it all down. It was not all racism.

And in the midst of all the earthly hell – Bezos, Branson and Musk(?) are flying off into the heavens and the Bezos guy thanks the little people, his staff and customers, for making it possible for his wildest dreams to come true!

Talk about tone deaf!

15. GP cream done gone sour but it ain’t no sour cream.

16. “It means messages being communicated by the health department will be not be received as intended. This is a global phenomena.”

it comes down to do you trust the powers that be to save you or do you think they are trying to kill you

when they offer the same remedy to their own and everyone equally you have to take a leap of faith that they are trying to do good and not bad against the general population who pay their wages

people may say vaccines have not been tested which is a fallacy doing the rounds as they were fast tracked in the testing processes due to the urgency of requirement for a medical solution to remedy the death toll body counts piling higher and higher

However Government would like to introduce systems of control and policing with overreaching laws such as spying and identifying every person and their movements and stop crowds partying or protesting which should be resisted against

17. Good so be prepared to be treated accordingly.

ALL YOU CAN DO IS MODERATE ME —AS YOU HAVE DONE MANY TIMES ALREADY.
    THERE IS NO HONOUR OR ALCOLADES OR PRESTIGE TO POST HERE

YOU CAN NOT CHANGE ME, NOR CAN YOU HARM ME MORE THAN OTHERS HAVE SOUGHT TO DO BEFORE.

I WALKED AWAY FROM MY WEALTH RATHER THAN BE MISTREATED BY SOMEONE I BROUGHT FROM NOWHERE BUT GOD SUSTAINED ME

IN 96 MY CONTRACT WAS NOT RENEWED BY A WOMAN WHOM I DESTROYED IN THE COURTS, PUTTING HER IN HER PLACE, WHEN SHE THOUGHT I WAS A LOWLY EQUINOID LIKE THE YOUNG POLICE OFFICER SHE HAD JUST SAVAGELY INTERROGATED
    I CHOSE NOT TO CONSULT THE TRADE UNION, AND CHOSE NOT TO WORK FOR SIX YEARS. GOD SUSTAINED ME, LIKE HE ALWAYS DOES

I WALKED AWAY FROM TEACHING JOBS IN MEDICINE BECAUSE I DID NOT LIKE CERTAIN THINGS, BUT GOD HAS SUSTAINED ME…. I BOW TO NO ONE BUT HIM… NO ONE
    ALL THE INSULTS THROWN AT ME HERE ON BU JUST BOUNCE OFF FOR GOD SUSTAINS ME
    IT IS HE ALONE TO WHOM I LOOK FOR APPROVAL
    IT IS HE ALONE TO WHOM TO BE CONSIDERED “DOCEMOS”

18. @Donna

Nothing that Pfizer cannot fix?

19. The power of the people lay in their hands
    Not in the political class or business class
    Without the majority these two numble skulls would be nothing
    People rising up

https://www.facebook.com/246784233190/posts/10158709661238191/

20. We had a demonstration against the hint that mandatory vaccination for some groups of worker may be coming. We have not heard or read the legal opinion the AG promised the social partnership yesterday. Until we know what is the plan what we had were a group f people expressing an opinion as is their right. And it was done peacefully, the Barbadian way.

We await the legal brief from AG Marshall.

21. GP is another B’jan scholar like Hal who think people give a fuck about him and his life story sob stories and anecdotes and should write a biography that would most probably flop and make a big loss. He is carrying around the wounds of trauma and rejections and has issues in his tissues that need to pushed out of his mind and body with mindfulness. His religion is his comfort blanket that he curls up in. They say Trump is also another man child big baby who is broken from his defeats and losses and makes up fantasies to reassure himself about being a loser like he was robbed, cheated and victimised by some forces against him. I doubt GP and Trump will be rewarded by any God in the final judgement for being so hard done by and shortchanged and wallowing in self pity and dripping and oozing bitterness about it without ever stopping from sulking with a fat bottom lip protuding.

Bless my cotton socks I’m in the news
    The king sits on his face buttons all askew
    All wrapped up the same
    They can’t have it
    You can’t have it
    I can’t have it too
    Until I learn to accept my reward
    Princes stand in queues they stand accused
    Death in solitude like Howard Hughes
    All wrapped up the same
    Silence has it
    Arrogance has it
    I can have it ooh
    Until I learn to accept my reward
    Suddenly it struck me very clear
    Suddenly it struck me very clean
    All wrapped up the same

22. @ WURA-War-on-U August 7, 2021 12:15 PM

People who can read, unlike you, have a clear advantage. The article refers to AZ’s Oxford vaccine, not the Biontech-Pfizer or Moderna vaccines.

Next year, when everyone in Barbados has had the opportunity to be vaccinated with highly effective vaccine, we will need a BAN on masks and all other Taliban-rules. The virus will then select between the unvaccinated and the vaccinated and relieve the welfare state of many boarders.

23. Covid enters you body through yours nose and mouth when breathing and enters your lungs

gargling salt water can help your throat in the defence system that protects your lungs

and vaccines can help kill the viruses and prevent the dangerous and serious diseases

24. 2,000 so-called protesters almost reduced downtown Bridgetown to rubble today – at least what was left of it after the Nelson riots.

Yes, I am also against compulsory vaccination. We have been carrying far too many boarders at the expense of hard-working businessmen since the Declaration of Independence. 2000 fewer welfare recipients would save us many millions a year that would be better spent elsewhere.

25. People who can read, unlike you, have a clear advantage. The article refers to AZ’s Oxford vaccine,

ya missed the memo…

not everyone can handle the adverse reactions of

AZ…oxford or otherise

pfizer

moderna

johnson etc….

YOUR DOCTOR……is the ony one who can advise on what your body can best handle

and ya don’t even have to be able to read…

26. DavidAugust 7, 2021 1:34 PM

We had a demonstration against the hint that mandatory vaccination for some groups of worker may be coming. We have not heard or read the legal opinion the AG promised the social partnership yesterday. Until we know what is the plan what we had were a group f people expressing an opinion as is their right. And it was done peacefully, the Barbadian way.

We await the legal brief from AG Marshall.

My bet none ent coming but if one comes it will be a doozy!!

27. @ WURA-War-on-U August 7, 2021 2:10 PM

It is not the problem of the vaccinated that some are left behind. That is the problem of the unvaccinated.

Hundreds of thousands or millions die every winter from the flu. Why should it be any different with a new type of cold disease with a new corona virus in addition to the already known types?

28. Kudos to the people of Barbados r
    for not buckling under the empty promises of govt
    We have an AG who should be dubbed a wrecking ball not one RH promised in three years he has kept
    Jesus take the wheel

29. Reflection: 17 September 2019

One of the greatest speeches of our time.

Shrouded in her gold attire, elegantly approached the podium.

🇧🇧 Barbados – Prime Minister Addresses the 74th Session of the UN General Assembly.

Mia addressed the assembly with such potency and finesse the walls developed hairline cracks as she captured the immediate attention of the audience. Mia’s articulated delivery was flawless as she never once referenced a script or teleprompter. Mia constantly looked around the theater while delivering the speech that was destined for the books.

What a spokes Lady…We were not surprised of our Elected Prime Minister’s capabilities.

Hurrah, hurrah, hurrahs for our Supreme Leader and Future President.

May Almighty God Jesus Christ Our Lord and Savior continue blessed and protect her…🙌🏿

30. So who are the unvaccinated in the US?

31. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The solution is NOT A VACCINE. The vaccine is a stopgap for a few months at best and should ONLY be targeted to the at-risk groups which has already been done in Barbados.

Treatment of the HYPER INFLAMMATORY STAGE is the only reliable and permanent solution to get back to normal. A Dr Shankara Chetty in South Africa has hit on the simple protocol he has successfully used to keep every single on of his thousands of patients out of the hospital. Every doctor using his protocols has found their patients no longer needed oxygen nor hospital visits.

https://zenodo.org/record/5033246/files/Supplement%20-%20dr_chetty_8th_day_therapy.pdf

32. One obvious problem with attending a protest against vaccinations is that you are in a crowd of people who have not been vaccinated against Covid which could tun out be a super spreader event that people who catch the virus will regret attending

unless you fly above everyone in a hot air balloon to gain a higher perspective you may be gambling with your life like putting a gun to your head with one bullet in a chamber which may kill you dead if you are unlucky playing the chances in the numbers game of life

Rising Higher Meditation
    | Higher Perspective Guided Meditation | Creative Visualization Sleep Story | Rise Up.

33. @ De Chancellor.
    “Waiting on the sheeple.”

I guess some folks are ready to be Sheared?

34. On a different note ….

Frntamyl!!

Here’s how it works.

35. Related to COVID too!!

36. “That is the problem of the unvaccinated.”

the unvaccinated have no problem, they are being practical and intelligent…and EXERCISING THEIR HUMAN RIGHTS….something that black people who like to bully others because they come from the bloodlines of sheeple need to come to terms with…

not everyone is a sheep willing to only say BAAAAAHHHHHH..

as a matter of fact, no one i know who is unvaccinated has the virus, it could be for several reasons;

they had it in 2019 and built up immunity..

their body is naturally immune to covid, it’s known to happen…

they are following all the protocols and therefore taking care of themselves…

or all three…

37. Critical AnalyzerAugust 7, 2021 3:17 PM
    again you are talking medical sense far over the heads of the simple minded BU medical illiterati
    the inflammatory response taught on the first day of Pathology– RUBOR CALOR DOLOR TUMOR with the reasons for each
    A HYPER inflammatory response IS A WHOPPER

38. I am glad to see the peaceful protest today.

It’s is hoped the #dronethinking, sheepish, intolerant, arrogant, nonsensical attitudes of some of the Caribbean leaders do not infect leadership in Barbados. How do you rationalize restricting non vaccinated persons from carrying out business at government office in Guyana and St Vincent. It stands to reason if a person who was vaccinated is protected but over time will also carry a high viral load it stands to reason the unvaccinated with their false of security not maintaining protocols is a greater threat. Sadly, the deftness and a lack of clear analytical skills are showing among most world leaders and so called experts.
    So much is unknown and the fluidity of the virus research does not help.
    Perhaps, the police force will get a pay raise as the political play book is to use laws and security forces to control the masses.

Suppose after 5 years the review of one of these investigational trial vaccines indicates sterility as a contra-indication, what will we all say other than that we trusted the science.

Sorry to hear Comrade Ralph head get bust.

39. David,

I have absolutely no idea whether Pfizer would solve the problem or not.

I think the FDA is expected to complete the authorisation process shortly. Some do say that would change it for them. Others have different issues.

40. Of all the regions in the world, the Caribbean should be the last one where the mass of ordinary people are told that we have no control over what others do to our bodies. We’ve had over 300 years of that experience and our ancestors had to shed their blood to get us out of it. And for what? There is little scientific basis for the claims that are made about what mandatory vaccination can achieve. If the case for covid 19 vaccination is so strong, why can’t the politicians convince the people? When you have to replace persuasion with coercion and force, it shows that your arguments are weak.

41. Who stopping people from organising a protest against the high cost of living and high gas prices? Don’t criticise others for doing something about an issue that is important to them. If a different issue is important to you, do something bout it.

42. @ Davis

De examples:

-5y+3=2(4y+12)

Sheeple -Le-sheep-ple-Shee-people = Sheep People

are you referring to a specific group of supporters as (Sheep People).

Are you of de Islamic faith… I’m recommending Diclofenac
    Brand name: Cataflam. It eliminates pain due to constant kneeling that will result in arthritis..

De pills are small. You can swallow..

STAY OFF DEM KNEES DAVIE BOY…SWEETS IS ONE THING, ARTHRITIS IS ANOTHER..

Mia for LIFE.. We de people’s

43. A swarm of police officers arrived at the scene including members of the task force.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/08/07/thousands-march-vaccine-coercion/

44. That is where you are wrong. As I said before, both approaches should be used. Nobody even knows how long the vaccines will be effective. It is doubtful whether they are a long term solution.

45. The same people protesting are the same people protesting about the prospect of mandatory vaccines. Go figure.