Submitted by Observing
With all the action going on nowadays its forgiveable for the average person to see doubles once in a while. After all, they say more is less, or is it less is more?
We have a Commissioner of Police, Two Deputy Commissioners AND still a former Commissioner who’s a consultant. DOUBLES!!!
We have a Minister of Finance, a Minister in the Ministry of Finance, a Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs, an IMF Adviser, a chief economic adviser, an economic/technical adviser to the Prime Minister, a Special Envoy to the Prime Minister of Barbados on Investment and Financial Services and still we pay White Oak to help us. DOUBLES!!!!
We have a Minister of Transport, Works and Water Resources, a Minister of Energy and Water Resources and now a 20 member National Advisory Committee on Water. DOUBLES!!!
We have a Minister of Information, Broadcasting and Public Affairs, a Government Information Service, a Chief Information Officer, a Director of Communications and Social Media, and now a Director of Public Affairs over a new Public Affairs Department. DOUBLES!!!
We have the BTMI, the BTPA and now an 18 member committee to come up with a slogan. DOUBLES!!!
We have a Chief Education officer and now a Director of Education Reform with a whole unit. DOUBLES!!!
Mr. Maloney receives a major contract without tender, Mr. Maloney receives permission to proceed with Hyatt, Mr. Maloney buys Harlequin. DOUBLES!!!
BWU backs down from Sandy Lane fight in 2011, BWU backs down from Sandy Lane fight in 2015/16, Sandy Lane docks BWU’s workers’ pay in 2021. DOUBLES!!!
Gas increases in April, increases in May, increases in June. DOUBLES!!!
All of this with a 25 member Cabinet, the associated Permanent Secretaries, Deputy Permanent Secretaries, Personal Assistants, Directors, Deputy Directors and extra support staff. DOUBLES!!!
At least one place we are not seeing doubles is Lucille Moe’s seat in the Senate.
Six is half dozen. DOUBLES!!!
Pulling a dub, not a double
Putting it all together like this is very effective.
I should have listened to the reports of the ministers so I would know how to assess the taste of all these doubles. But listening to politicians speak is too much for me these days.
Stealing taxpayers money (they STOLE ALL from NIS PENSION FUND ALREADY) and leaving the larger BLACK POPULATION IN POVERTY….the island is in economic, structural and social shambles..but ALL THE THIEVES ARE RICH…and STILL tiefin and still acting as though all the money belongs to them and racist, corrupt minorities…
KICK THEM OUT IN 2023…ruin their plans as they have malicious;y and knowingly ruined Black lives and the island…
Observing
Deh eating some food called “doubles” too. And yuh would know dey taking bribes double or double-dipping.
Deh had Doubles – double too..
Seriously!
Mugabe broke thee manifesto as social contract, according to Richie Haynes’ thinking double
And then about referendum on republicanism, and other – DOUBLE! LOL,
There will never be a government of Barbados which declines to have doubles daily.
@Pacha
How did we get here?
Double dipping like Dipper The Skippah
oh yuh forget govt debt profile ..Triples in two and half years
I really don’t know why you are all so upset about double and triple appointments. When you’re drunk, you see everywhere in duplicate! And isn’t it good to be drunk?
Besides, in a V8 car engine everything is double: 2 cylinder banks, 2 timing chains, 2 water pumps, 2 oil pumps. So our government structure is just particularly high-quality and fail-safe.
There is only one government post occupied by one person: that of our Supreme Leader. By definition, there can only be one Supreme Leader of state, party and people.
I wonder what the brainwashed apostles are saying about the absence of Senator Moe. Not a single word to the public and no explanation given to their beloved citizens.
Not a failed state but ……………
“ David June 19, 2021 5:37 AM
“@Pacha
How did we get here?”
We never left bro’.
The next general election wil be interesting, the lead in. The reluctance of the government to explain Lucille Moe situation will undermine any platform agenda of being transparent. The loud silence has now elevated to a big insult directed at the citizenry.
many hands make light work
Just saying
We and other have been insistent that these systems cannot work for most of the people any of the times.
But that bar will always be too high for the country to scale until total and complete collapse comes.
In this there can never be any measureable differences between B and D regardless of the fecklessness of one and the dictatorial collective impulsive responses of the population.
Until this idea achieves wide acceptance the limitations of elected dictatorship will continue to bedevil us all.
The govt reluctance to explain the debt write off in the millions to big business
The latest to Clearwater
But then again govt think all bajans are idiots
You are making the same mistake over and over again by relying on elections as some halcyon political moment.
@Pacha
The interest in elections is normal given this is the only rule of thumb the electorate is sensitized to. The other point you made that there must be a Phoenix rising moment is noted although we live in hope it should not be necessary if we are as intelligent as touted. Is there an alternative to a collapse of the system to create the understanding with the masses?
There is nothing wrong with job sharing or having separate roles for business areas and systems which process different aspects.
A General Ledger records all transactions but is split into various Accounts for Receivables and Payables and Clients etc.
When there are clear distinctions of roles then everything works fine as long as the ball is not dropped when passing it between departments.
Speaking of doubles, I suspect Angela Cox is a man, as she has no feminine traits that say otherwise, such as fashion gossip or giving a woman leader a fair chance to succeed.
@Kiki
Can we leave the personal comments outside? It is childish to be engaged in constant personal attacks. Chrissakes.
This system is fatally flawed, period.
Why is it then, when there are elected governments in some places they are disliked when they really seek to serve the masses of people.
To live with this irrationality endlessly, of hoping this system works better, is not dissimilar to the madness of doing the same thing over and over again expecting different results.
We accepted that empires are inherently unstable and fall all the time. Why is it so impossible for you to accept that this fictitious architecture around us can go no further for the masses of peoples everywhere.
Hope is no more that a way of further delaying gratification long over due. Give it up!
“leaving the larger BLACK POPULATION IN POVERTY….the island is in economic, structural and social shambles..”
American racism may be something similar when authorities who approve funding deliberately ignore poorer areas which become ghettos with lower standards of everything such as housing, schools, utilities, public services and all other aspects in quality of life.
In the case of America, individuals file legal cases to prove the biases which are long drawn out proceedings in courts of law and shifting public opinion.
Than
“Can we leave the personal comments outside? It is childish to be engaged in constant personal attacks. Chrissakes.”
it was not a personal attack, it was a theory about political propaganda under the guise of reporting news using every dirty trick in the book of hook and crook.
In UK there is a new News Channel for rightwing called GB News just launched which is being boycotted by advertisers due to its Fox News Bias and declaration of intent to fight awakened thinking such as black lives matter about racism colonialism etc. Righwing propaganda about the cancel culture and war against woke becoming a business model and institutionalised.
Wasn’t Moe at the PAC up to yesterday though?🤔
All our problems according to you will be solved in the ballot box.
Okay , let’s drink some alcohol until 2023. If nothing changes , we continue drinking until 2028……,,,,.,,,,,
Absolutely brilliant !
@William
The subtleties of language goes over your head, all the time.
@enuff
The public deserves an explanation re hiatus.
@Pacha
We give up when when we die.
Politics is not about parties and sides
it is about effectiveness in office, service and administration
I AM
(a Violet Being of Fire)
(God Source Desires)
Agree.
@ Observer,
Your observation appears to be obsolete.
Two is no longer the magic number. That number has now been superseded by the number three.
Who knows what it will be next month.
https://www.nationnews.com/2021/06/18/three-senior-police-officers-promoted-assistant-commissioner-police/
No! That is western thinking. In Afrikan philosophy there is no what you refer to as “die”.
We live and die everyday through ourselves and our descendants. In other words there is no death, only everlasting life.
An everlasting life you’ll like to accord to capitalism as a political system. We say no, let it die!
Your views on politics are not dissimilar to those on religion, economy. Characterized by a need to believe in the irrational, the unworkable.
@ Pacha
A little too esoteric for a lowly blogmaster. Keeping it simple, we are born to live.
Must we give in??
Source: Thula Bopela
@groslyn
A story only the emotionally intelligent will appreciate.
No. Seems redundant. If you’re born, you already live.
Thought you were earlier minded that live ends when we die.
Now these two ideas can’t comfortably coexist.
Life ends
@Pacha
You are being blinkered by being too literal. We have a moral duty as humans when we enter this world to advance it to a better place before we shuffle off the mortal coil.
Yours is a limited view. There are philosophers who suggest that advancement beyond that of the caveman by 7 billion people and climbing cannot be supported by the natural world.
@Pacha
Those philosophers are also entail to their opinions.
Wait yuh left out the doubling up of committees which might be past seven
Maybe in double digits
Is not what they are saying worthy of consideration beyond just having a view given the evidence everywhere of an ecological crisis still increasing disrupting in our world and as cause by humanoids.
@Pacha
Your position taken is understood others will have a view informed by humankind’s demonstrated resilience through the ages.
@Groslyn
A great post.
In many ways our history and that of many other colonies parallels that of South Africa. Perhaps we did not experience an apartheid type of governments because with our small population and an overwhelming black majority, whites lack the numbers to divide us into two nations; so that they rule one and maintain a separate nation of their own. Ending apartheid gave the blacks open political power, but some levers and machinery of power remained in white hands,
In our nation, we see some of what Mr Peters described. It appears that the South African model has been tweaked to suit our condition. No apartheid, but we see two Barbadoes. We see over 60 years of black political leadership with no real attempt to empower or enrich the majority and enriching a select few. The levers and machinery of power appears to lie outside of the majority population. We see black faces in our parliament, but we often talk of shadows.
We could learn from the history of others.
No. More important are the five mass extinction events which have been the dominant longer arc of tje history of Mother Earth.
Therefore, ideas that humans are central, within these larger issues, is not supportable by history, evidence.
Pachamama may relieve Herself of those who seek to continue advancement injurious to Her.
@Pacha
Humans must always be central until those so-called extinction events occur.
@ Pachamama June 19, 2021 9:16 AM
Yours is a limited view. There are philosophers who suggest that advancement beyond that of the caveman by 7 billion people and climbing cannot be supported by the natural world. (Unquote).
That’s a deep, deep view whose gravamen few would appreciate.
But we support your attempts to enlighten us on the cyclical function of Pachamama (Gaia) to the celestial balance of the Solar system.
That Force called Mother Nature will soon put us petty humans back into our mammalian place and who can become extinct just like many species of ‘humanoids’ before us.
Covid-19 is just a decoy of a toy to distract so-called scientist.
Maybe we are at a stage when the dystopian ramifications of that futuristic movie called “Logan’s Run” might become a reality just around the global corner.
“Two is no longer the magic number. That number has now been superseded by the number three.”
There are Assistant Commissioners of Police with responsibility for Administration, Court Administration, Crime, Human Resources and Operations respectively.
Ian Branch, Richard Boyce and William Yearwood were Acting Assistant Commissioners of Police. Yearwood was ACoP (ag) from as far back as 2017 and as recent as last year he was in charge of Operations Division.
All that happened was the three officers’ ranks were made official through promotion.
“You have political power, yes, but that is all. We control the economy of this country, on whose stability depends everybody’s livelihood, including the lives of those who boast that they have political power”
that’s why i laugh at the black face TRAITORS frauds thieves and liars in the parliament…they have no shame…they allow a bunch of halfassed nobody descendants of the slave patrol originally descended from deportees from UK to steal from the descendants of captives….and fly by night foreight thieves to do as they like…
while they and their ignornat yardfowls squabble over political power that’s not even real…useless negros.
A very insightful parable. One to contemplate in our search to discover who we really are. Of course the scenarios described are all very familiar to us who think and are discerning.
My, my, Miller! As usual trying to divide and create an elite group of BU contributors – the knows and the no-know nots.
Your compulsion to do so is amusing.
Wouldn”t it be more productive to simply state one’s opinion or share one’s knowledge without seeking to place some above others as you ALWAYS do?
Railing against elites and creating elites at the same time!
Still snobbery!
know-nots
“that’s why i laugh at the black face TRAITORS frauds thieves and liars in the parliament…they have no shame…they allow a bunch of halfassed nobody descendants of the slave patrol originally descended from deportees from UK to steal from the descendants of captives….and fly by night foreign thieves to do as they like…”
On reading this I took a read of our national anthem. That is not what it says.
MOST national anthems tell false narratives!
Re Groslyn’s post- this is why I say that we could do a whole lot better despite the white man’s plan. He is now using our own flaws against us.
We cannot force the white man to change but we can change ourselves. The white man is looking out for his own interest. It is up to us to look out for ours.
If our flaws are an integral part of his plan, then would not correcting those flaws disrupt his plan?
angela coxJune 19, 2021 5:22 AM
“oh yuh forget govt debt profile ..Triples in two and half years”
Your appreciation for debt and its level of importance has to be one of the great ‘about turns’ on BU. It never concerned you prior to May 2018. Glad to see you are learning.
Re our National Anthem- it speaks of “we” as though there is a collective “we”. There is not. There is a black “we” and a white “we”.
The Lord has not been all the people’s guide for past three hundred years. Actually, the devil has been some people’s guide for most of that.
Speaking in Christian terminology as is used in the anthem, of course.
Time to change the lyrics!
@No
In second half of a soccer game, the team change ends and try to score in the goal they once occupied. I used to think it was cricket, but soccer may just be as good a description.
—-+x—–
Have a great day, all.
NorthernObserverJune 19, 2021 12:24 PM
angela coxJune 19, 2021 5:22 AM
“oh yuh forget govt debt profile ..Triples in two and half years”
Your appreciation for debt and its level of importance has to be one of the great ‘about turns’ on BU. It never concerned you prior to May 2018. Glad to see you are learning
Xxxxxcc
Oh yeah
But don’t forget that govt debt levels was part in parcel to mitigating global circumstances similar to what is occuring
Also don’t forget that govt stubbornness not to go cup in hand for large handouts also made cause for govt relying on tax revenue to help pay debt and sustain local economy at a level which should have been bearable
Now fast forward we have a new govt who hooted and hollered about all of the above
Made promises to correct
Goes cup in hand to the IMF
Having 1.3 billion in reserves but the growth and economic needle stays the same
So what !
Should not some one remind govt of what they promised but as yet to deliver
You are indeed an unrepentant dominionist.
You must come to know and practice Ma”at.
For in Ma’at you’ll come know the rightness of the path of The Pachamama.
@Pacha
Does it matter the flavour of belief systems?Undergirding all of them has to be a value system cultured from what again?
@ Donna June 19, 2021 12:07 PM
That was not my intent.
But isn’t that similar to what you (sans your ‘elite’ son) do by making out white people, especially, the British to be the cause of the black man ‘s predicament?
How else would black Bajan people know about the Jewish god and Jesus without the ‘English’ guidance?
But if you do interpret the message about Pachamama’s warnings as “elitist” then we are genuinely sorry.
The Miller
Pay no attention to Vincent Codringtion.
He got here and argued that nobody knew about Sars-like Corona viruses so therefore on economy the administration was to be given a pass. When we knew about these for more than 20 years.
Believing is your problem. We don’t believing in believing. Only people who know not are required to believe.
@Pacha
You have to believe in something. If you don’t how do you anchor your being in this temporal space?
The blogmaster is always willing to learn, knowledge sources can be found in many places.
My son is a well brought up young man who has the confidence to be himself. He is different in that he has confidence, not that he has talent/ a form of intelligence. ALL PEOPLE DO!
Furthermore he has the GOOD FORTUNE to have a mother who does not wish to turn him into a doctor or a lawyer to continue the stupid elitest shite. If all young people were so lucky, they would surely come into their own.
As for the rest of your religious gobbledegook, you are idiotic, as usual. I am completely open to African religious thought. I simply stumbled upon the other kind first. And even then I challenged its superiority over African religious thought – openly on stage in front of the “big wigs” to loud applause. But Christianity is not even European in origin, is it?
P.S. I did not say it was your intention. I said it is a compulsion. I have noticed those phrases from you for some time.
” Few would appreciate” and other such phrases, instead of simply saying you agree with his position and expanding on your view.
“You have to believe in something. If you don’t how do you anchor your being in this temporal space?
The blogmaster is always willing to learn, knowledge sources can be found in many places.”
re: religious philosophies
where your mind goes.. your energy goes
which means you direct the energies of above, below, around and inside you to where you want them to go
When Christians say Jesus is the Son of God
look at Jesus as your brother
God said “I Am”
but when you call “I Am”
you are calling the God that inside you
Not a believer in anything, anyone. Always seek to know.
You seem to have been so utterly indoctrinated on the basis of belief systems that you can’t imagine a world where they are absence.
@Pacha
You have to have beliefs, it cannot be not be nothing. Where does ones purpose in life come?
Ain’t nobody know nothing for sure!
@ Donna June 19, 2021 2:14 PM
From what you have described of your son he is not just a ‘run-of-the-mill’ boy.
He is endowed with certain ‘inherent skills’ worthy of his parental adulation and the necessary guidance for him to make a positive contribution to his generation and the wider community.
You are the one who accused me of being “elitist”.
But who can be more elitist than a person who rejects GP 11 call for a referendum on that major decision of going “Republic” (without the people’s express consent)?
And GP11 has the intellectual right (and wisdom) to call you out on it by calling your bluff.
Doesn’t the very essence of being a republic lie where the People are the ‘dictators’ of their model of governance and future and not some ‘elitist’ political cabal with their narrow partisan interests?
How do you square that with your assertion that the National (People’s) anthem is in need of a serious makeover?
“Not a believer in anything, anyone. Always seek to know.”
Is not Pachamama a belief system in itself
Mother Nature as the Mother of Earth or the Mother of the Universe
or am I taking your moniker as too literal representation of you
What??????
Not worthy of a reply.
Promises? You mean those Manifestos, fool’s gold. Or the sh!!te they all talk on election platforms, and forget the day after the election is over.
“mitigating global circumstances similar to what is occuring…Also don’t forget that govt stubbornness not to go cup in hand for large handouts”
Loans are not handouts, those are called grants, though some seem to think they are called “concessionary financing”.
On one hand you are vexed Barbados went to the IMF, but on the other, you seem to think the same Barbados can do whatever they feel like with IMF money? It doan wuk so. Stubbornness has its costs, especially when you raid the local cash reserves (home grown financing)
‘
@TheO
There is ONE BARBADOS. A single continuing entity. Each administration inherits the decisions of those who preceded them. There is ONE NET. One score. More like your football, they may have an offense and defence unit, but they are only scoring at one end. The defence may intercept or tackle for a loss, but the offence keeps the ball for 5 years. It’s a unique game?
The dual appointments ensure the smooth running of government business. I suspect they are also ISO-compliant.
Once again, much ado about nothing, to quote Shakespeare! The hostile, unpatriotic opposition on BU should finally recognise the great achievements of our government over the past three years. The silent majority of the population is rock solid on the side of Mia Mottley. If the opposition wins a single seat in the next general election, it will most likely be the result of electoral fraud.
@ Miller
I am seriously confused by why we should want a referendum on whether we should become a republic. We have been promised this by Arthur, Stuart and Mottley.
Mottley was bold enough to make the correct call and I hope she does not back down. It’s a natural progression of our national freedom and independence. It will remove the insult of calling some slavery enriched white foreigner woman our head of state.
I therefore support our Prime Minister on her intentions to move our nation to republic status.
We should not be embarrassing ourselves by seeking to ask ourselves if we want to get rid of a monarchy that that in 2021 cannot even bring itself to accept a black woman in its family.
I hope no school child ever has to stand up in the hot sun along Bay Street, waving a racist flag and seeing some white inheritor of money derived from
the enslavement of his/ her forefathers, wave some white glove in their faces.
Even back then I thought the criminal was giving us the finger!
Go on to Republic status Prime Minister!
@ William Skinner June 20, 2021 6:25 AM
I am sincerely pleased to read that another contributor is moving to the right side. Of course, we need the change to a republic so that the new constitution will cement the presidential rule of our beloved Supreme Leader for her lifetime.
The white woman gone
But when will good ole Barbados rid itself of the white shadows that control the public purse
One set of white thieves replaced with another set of white thieves Barbados can’t win
@ William Skinner June 20, 2021 6:25 AM
William, I am Not against going republic. It is a natural progression for ex-colonized countries.
Expect Jamaica, Australia, New Zealand and Canada to follow suit as the present Queen passes on and the British monarchy becomes more and more irrelevant.
What is being questioned is why there must be a referendum on the full decriminalization of cannabis and not on going republic.
Why not use the same 30-0 mandate to stop the criminalization of young people mainly from socially and economically depressed areas for using a chemically-refined version of a plant imported mainly by those with the right political connections and willing to bribe law enforcement officials?
Can’t the same plant be grown locally to save the massive leakage of forex and reduce the opportunities to facilitate the distribution of other deadly contraband like firearms?
Which is more important to the lives of ordinary Bajans?
The recreational use of a god-given plant or the future model of governance of an entire nation?
Is it because there is no money to be made underground if every thing is brought aboveground and no ‘secret’ campaign financing and garrison-type electoral support to look forward to?
@ ac
Please don’t mix up the issue. It won’t work. The white shadows are there nearly 60 years after we became independent.
This is not a B or D thing. I know the lift that we got emotionally from getting our own flag and national anthem. BTW , I have listened to hundreds of national anthems and our anthem reflects the sentiment of the vast majority of Barbadians.
Our major failing of independence was our collective ineffectiveness in educating our citizens about the true meaning of independence. We refused to put it in a historical rather than political context. It’s a failure that we are yet to correct.
@ Miller
I see the failure to legalize marijuana as a big foot move to protect a lazy plantocracy that we are afraid to confront. The plantocracy abandoned agriculture and then the workers had to underwrite what was and remains of it. The white owners of the land were not interested in developing agriculture.
They are now being given another big pay day by this administration because foreigners are going to be buying up the estates for marijuana production. When the marijuana by products hit the pharmacies and supermarkets, we will be buying them just like we ended up buying chocolates and refined sugar after producing a high quality sugar. It’s neicolonialism at the expense of the black masses once again.
Marijuana should be an easily produced crop for all Barbadians who want to both use it and invest in it as a cash crop.
I agree with the Rastafarian community one hundred percent.
It’s a known fact that Mottley canvassed the Rastafarians and made promises to them that she is refusing to or cannot keep. And it is now , for her, a major headache , in more ways than one.
@ Tron
Good morning. Occasionally I find something to support and I do. One of the advantages of not having a “ supreme leader” who is never wrong.
But if I made your day , I am delighted to have so done, Comrade.
“It will remove the insult of calling some slavery enriched white foreigner woman our head of state.”
you make a good point albeit a bit of an understatement
I will start to preach and teach to reach the flock of sheep in my pasture for I AM the pastor who runs things for the Sweet Sunday Sermon Gospel Music Show bringing you all some smiling sunshine from above
you need to get deep and look into Revelation 17 of your Bible to release the chains as babylon use their brains and it’s a crying shame to see black brothers and sisters blood running down the drain they think it’s a game and it’s always the same th pain and glory only leads to another dance story you can hear it on the radio station around the nation in this dispensation what a dreadful situation
Whore of
Babylon
Babylon the Great, commonly known as the Whore of Babylon, refers to both a symbolic female figure and place of evil mentioned in the Book of Revelation in the Bible. Her full title is stated in Revelation 17 as Mystery, Babylon the Great, the Mother of Prostitutes and Abominations of the Earth
William SkinnerJune 20, 2021 7:23 AM
@ ac
Please don’t mix up the issue. It won’t work
Xxxxx
All I am saying if we take down one blood sucker.
Let’s take down all
Govts have allowed these bloodsuckers of 60 years and going to carve out what is in their own interest from the golden calf while 99 percent suffers
So with the white woman gone the other one percent goes about their dirty business as usual
Not having it
One goes all goes
Rastas are chilling like Dylan
Puffing a blunt like Cypress Hill
Listening to Warning by Desi Roots
Picket up their Rocket Launcher
like the Ganja Farmer Marlon Asher
Once the Politicians decriminalise the plant God gave for the use of man for spiritual medical physical psychological betterment
if they try to stop Rasta’s using their Holy sacrament then there will be a war declared my the militant rastas in Jah Army
if they continue to burn down our collie fields we will burn down their cane fields
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jDeMsvssQ5w
Yes and all the doubles and triples in an economy that is now 25% smaller than it was in 2020. I smell the words ” large deficit ” looming in the air. Instead of contracting the cost of government we are expanding it in a time of greatly reduce taxation income.
“Instead of contracting the cost of government…”
How unpatriotic can you be? The onliest contracts bout here, are contracts like FS and WO. Cut what? Public expenditures? If you don’t feed the politically faithful, they will cross the floor. And the public service is the backbone of the community. There is nothing to cut, all expenditures are at bare minimums now. Based on the productivity, I think all departments and NGO’s should increase staff by 25%. I think the Ministers should be doubled to 52, and the constitution changed to allow for an unlimited number of unelected appointees to the Ministerial ranks. Maybe in a republic we could have two bodies, the symbolically elected Ministers, and the unelected Ministers. All of course with a generous, unfunded pension scheme to be drawn from the Consolidated fund. Close down de shop and get a guvment job!!!
@ Northern
I tell you already stop smoking that that ” vegetable matter ” so early pun a Sunday, that not for old people like us! LOL
Plus if I looking for a government pick I going read the AG report and apply to the one that got the most tiefing!🤣
” Little island, big disappointment ”
https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/20/visitor-feeling-threatened/
@NorthernObserverJune 20, 2021 10:37 AM
It is good to know that more and more commentators are campaigning for government jobs on BU.
The change to the presidential system creates thousands of new jobs: firstly in the construction of the presidential palace and secondly in the presidential offices, which ideally replicate our numerous ministries.
Time to fire up the printing press!
Big city, more shooting.
5-year-old girl in life-threatening condition after birthday party shooting in Toronto
https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/toronto/toronto-shooting-birthday-party-girl-1.6073044
Pappyshow.
What is the definition of a statesman?????
Let them come back! That will assure their defeat.
Another committee
Government is looking for 10 hostesses to work at the Grantley Adams International Airport.
Speaking during a recent press conference, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley revealed that she had set up a committee to search for 10 hostesses to welcome persons as they visit Barbados.
“Rather than somebody hand-pick them where we just do applications, let we do this together, the whole country. And I’m awaiting the subcommittee’s report that has been set up specifically for this, to tell us and advise us on how do we get people,” she said.
“And it’s as simple… if you feel that you treat anybody in Barbados better than anybody else could treat them come forward, we want you as a hostess.
“And let me be very clear, there are some people in this country who feel that you can only welcome people if you speak proper English, that isn’t true at all. We need to begin to understand. When I go to the IMF and the World Bank, three quarters of the people there can’t speak proper English, but they know what they’re doing and they’re communicating, and we have to break the chains that have held us in the past by refusing to have people involved in certain activities, simply because we don’t feel that they present well in terms of how they speak English.”
Mottley expressed that there was a need to have persons with warm and welcoming hearts greet visitors at the airport, because she believed that having people standing up in a line for two hours at an airport would not make them want to visit Barbados regularly.
She stated that this was the way forward and said that going this route would not only help Barbados gain more repeat visitors but also, hopefully redefine our tourism product.
Additionally, Mottley believed that it was time for Barbados to have a Director of Hospitality in the Ministry of Tourism and not just in the BTMI.
“This is about welcoming people and we are going to do this together, as I know we can,” she said.
Oh dear! That should be HOSTS and hostesses.
Discrimination on the basis of gender.
A great point. When I read it, I did not notice that it stated hostesses.
I am not going to make this a next rabbit hole, but does the search also betray a thinking that some jobs are for me and some are for women.
Dead end.
😄
for me= for men.
Suspect that I would not get a job as a dog catcher