The Four Seasons Project – Story of Failure continues to be an example of how the public continues is short changed by public officials elected and recruited to serve us. The inability of taxpayers to solicit answers to legitimate questions regarding the quality of decisions made by successive governments is an embarrassment to the type of democracy we should be aspire. This has to be a significant contributing factor to the social dysfunction we have been reminded by the Trojan Riddims video affair – see How De Yutes Get So?. Officialdom expresses righteous indignation at a group of artistes for violating public morals of the country, however, successive governments and public servants have been unable to defend malfeasance, financial indiscipline highlighted in years of Auditor General (AG) reports. It is surprising local calypsonians hasvenever penned a title ‘politicians laughing at we’. The Paradise 88, Four Seasons, Clearwater Bay issue suggest there is opportunity for another title, ‘public servants also laughing at we’.

Some took umbrage to the call by BU that some public servants should be fired for unresolved issues highlighted in years of AG reporting- see 2020 Auditor General Report – Time to Fire Senior Public Servants. Yesterday AG Leigh Trotman was quoted in the press calling for tougher legislation to force public servants to comply with requests for information to complete audits. A decade of AG reports and not one person handed over to the justice system for processing. Not a single public servant sacked. As we prepare to convert to a Republic meant to solidify people power, it begs the question – why are senior public servants betraying the trust of the PEOPLE?

The Four Seasons matter is a classic case of the cloak of secrecy zealously guarded by politicians AND public servants. How on earth can a government incorporate Clearwater Bay Limited, appoint directors who are public servants with a fiduciary responsibility to citizens of Barbados, yet, feel comfortable guarding the interest of politicians and the money class? These public servants must be held accountable.

Although the AG is constrained to audit public sector business, it should not be forgotten the other signature on public agreements is often times a private sector player. The company Clearwater Bay Ltd had oversight over the transaction which led to the following comment by the AG:-

The treatment of the investment in Clearwater Bay needs to be further explained. The investment in this government-owned company was recorded at a value of $124 million investment in prior years. It represented an investment by Clearwater in the Four Seasons Hotel project. The value of this investment remained unchanged on the books of government for several years even though the property on which the investment was based was significantly impaired.

Leigh Trotman, Auditor General

The part of the AG’s comment (highlighted) taxpayers should be concerned about is that public servants who sat on the Board of Clearwater Bay as directors have been complicit in the ‘cover-up’. Many, if not all of the directors are considered respectable citizens of Barbados and competent public servants. The meetings of Clearwater are recorded in board books and should be available to the public. Unfortunately the public does not have the avenue of Freedom of Information legislation to activate an important check and balance in our system of government, this should not be necessary if the public servants serving as directors of Clearwater protected the public’s interest they are ethically required to do.

It is never too late to right a wrong Directors.

William Decoursey Layne

Adrian Maurice King

Louis St. Elmo Wooddroff

Margaret E Sivers

Sonia Carol-Ann Foster

Junita Thorington-Powlett

Nancy L Headley

Enter Clearwater to see Clearwater directors listed in the ICIJ – Offshore Leaks Database.

Related Documents:

1. Paradise 88 and Clearwater Sold to PHARLICIPLE INC
  2. Request for Offers to Purchase and Develop ‘Paradise Property’

174 responses to “Four Seasons Project: Public Servants Must Serve Taxpayers NOT Politicians”

1. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Don’t care how you tell them that they are ALL PAID SERVANTS….paid by the PEOPLE…and not the corrupt government ministers, they are still hardcore YARDFOWLS who ignore that fact and do whatever wicked government ministers tell them….just to keep a job..

and the name of that lawyer is always STEEPED in some type of thefts, they don’t work for the people, they work for corrupt governments and thieving minorities but are paid a salary by the people and they don’t have any shame, they collect their salaries and still turn traitor…same at the judiciary and in every taxpayer funded entity, traitors taking salaries from the people and working WITH THE CORRUPT TO UNDERMINE THE POPULATION.

they have no morals, ethics, care for the people who pay their salaries, and NO SHAME..

that scam would have to be created under Owen government, taken further by Thompson, with Mia as the lawyer and carried to it’s TIEFING CONCLUSION by all involved.

both corrupt political parties need disbanding, they are both a blight on the landscape.

2. David
    This article is fatally flawed. For it is predicated on the misnomer that a British-minded public service ever had any allegiance to any publics anywhere.

Yes, this is what has been constantly drilled into our heads but in reality the public service has always been about keeping the public away from what democracy was to be about – people’s power.

It has always acted as a buffer in the war between the masses and the elites

It has served itself

And on and on,. You get our drift.

3. @ David

The PAC’s investigations of the Transport Board has recommenced, with former GM Sandra Forde giving ‘evidence.’

4. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The question should be, how come the Transport Board according to Forde, never had adequate state funding but yet…THERE WAS ALWAYS SO MANY MILLIONS OF DOLLARS LAYING AROUND TO TIEF..

that’s the reason for the investigatons….all those missing millions and whole buses disappearing, wonder if they ever found any of them..

Little Island, Big Thieves

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“but in reality the public service has always been about keeping the public away from what democracy was to be about – people’s power.”

been telling them that for years, that’s how the colonial system was designed, NOTHING derived from slavery is good or real..

6. But when is PAC going to investigate present govt handling of monies missing
    Tax waivers and all the other mishandling of govt spending
    Also land giveaways
    Ensuring minds want to know

7. “But when is PAC going to investigate present govt handling of monies missing.”

What “monies (are) missing?” Or, is “monies missing” because Verla and Guy seh so?

8. @Pacha

Your comment is a good reminder UK pubic servants are sworn under the so called Official Secrets Act in the interest of national security, a public service system we pattern. What we are hoping to do is disrupt the culture. To trigger change often times it requires a maverick behaviour, some one to swim against the normal way of things. It must be done to earn the title of patriot.

9. @Artax

Watched a little of it yesterday. It seems so pedestrian leading to an inevitable result.

10. Just the other day David 34.1 was bitching with biased bad reasoning about Public Services budgets and staff headcount being too high, but public servants are underpaid and overworked and require the same level of high standards due diligence and professionalism as the Banking Financial and Accounting Industries who are rewarded beacoup recompense for their skills and experience. As the workers in Banking Sector would say when challenged about their lack of effort and work ethic.. “Who cares?! It ain’t my fucking money”. Fundamentally flawed bad decisions and reckless spending by bad Government is above the public servants pay grade. So the ball is kicked back into the political arena for scapegoats to be lynched and hung from the sycamore tree. Heads must roll. The buck stops here.

11. William Skinner Avatar

@all
    Agree with @ Pacha that the article is “fatally flawed.” It’s actually DOA because it makes the assumption that public servants can like magic create reports from information that is bogus.
    Pray tell which public servant could have stopped Greenland, Cawhill or the write off of 124 million dollars regarding Four Seasons./Clearwater.
    We have short memories but some years ago Dr. Clyde Mascoll exposed corruption in the Hotel industry (GEMS) and nobody went to prison then either. Were the public servants responsible for that?
    In recent times public servants have been into to parliament to be questioned by the politicians. How come not one of the politicians asked about Four Seasons/ Clearwater.
    This “ fatally flawed“ piece tries to kick the bucket down the road.
    The damn truth is that there is massive corruption in the affairs of the state. The BLPDLP has raided the treasury as it likes. But as always , we like to pretend otherwise but no amount of window dressing is going to get past those who think for themselves.
    The article is a weak premeditated attack on the public servants designed to let thieving politicians off the hook and to shift the narrative from the Auditor General’s report about the massive corruption that now envelops our country , fuelled by two political parties that behave as they like supported by their brainwashed apostles here on BU and elsewhere.

12. David

Your intentioned objective is not the first time somebody has so proffered. Indeed, we’ve been discussing these issues here for a decade.

The G7 is currently meeting and Bideni has been making noises about democracy verses autocracy as organizing principles, with all the ironies implicit.

Seems to us that yours is a microcosm of this larger conversation which has been ongoing for decades.

And as you may know that nothing is going to change in Barbados before this international issue is resolved and the requisite time tag has been dutifully observed.

We remain unconvinced that any of the structures in Barbados hold the capacity to transform themselves.. That radical transformation, not tinkering, can only be imposed from without. And the civil has always been the conservator of backwardness.

13. @William

As usual you join the fray with a bone already stuck in your craw because you have a philosophical position that public servants are entirely blameless in the process. For your information, the blog is questioning these public servants who possibly abdicated their fiduciary duty as directors of Clearwater by presiding over a questionable transaction between Paradise 88, Clearwater and a company incorporated to purchase a publicly owned asset. Further, the auditor general in a report yesterday carried in the Barbados Today suggested the laws should be changed to ensure his office can hold public officer more accountable as far as supplying info needed to do the people’s work. Implied in Leigh Trotman’s infrequent public pronouncement is that we have public officers frustrating the process.

Auditor General wants legislative backing to hold public officials to account – Barbados Today

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/06/11/auditor-general-wants-legislative-backing-to-hold-public-officials-to-account/

14. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha : “And as you may know that nothing is going to change in Barbados before this international issue is resolved and the requisite time tag has been dutifully observed.”

Nothing is going to change in relation to what ? The Auditor General’s report?

15. William
    Governance, our relationship to t h e socalled democracy, the role of the uncivil service, the relative power of elites forces, official political crimes being unpunished, etc

16. Like any board in the private sector, the public boards are there as another layer to protect, in this case, the interest of the taxpayers. But it seems the people who are appointed on these boards are there to inflate their linkin profile and feather their own nest at the same time.

17. Barbados rating on the annual corruption index is deeply flawed. We should be in same category like Nigeria.

18. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU
    An article that attempts to zero in on the problem of accountability for Public Funds. As expected those who want to debate petty politics are uncomfortable.You are quite correct in pointing out that continuity of public accountability has to reside in our senior public servants. They need the testosteronic fortitude to say :”No Mr. Minister,. This is not who we are. My advice to you is to follow the Financial Rules and Administrative Act , Sections A,B, N etc”

19. “The G7 is currently meeting and Bideni has been making noises about democracy verses autocracy as organizing principles, with all the ironies implicit.”

G7 are led by Warmongers and their Military Industrial Complex MO
    when USA and UK were droning muslims on the rob like bug splats China was helping develop developing nations
    now the white boy spy spin is China is a threat to their New World Order odour
    Lizard Johnson is talking about inequality out the other side of his face like he gives a fuck

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0qfaSJQWeYs

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Is that not the reason we make Public Servant virtually “fire proof”. It ensures them a certain level of freedom to give objective advice.. It is also the reason for having the Auditor General’s independence specifically written into the Constitution.

21. Sometimes democracy don’t work. Criminals and crooks love the protection and loop holes in system. It is issue like this that I crave for a BIG STICK ruler, who just come about and punish those corrupt and incomptent bastards to the fullest extent.

22. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu
    Your auto correct is beginning to over react. Perhaps this is the signal for he to recuse myself.

23. “They need the testosteronic fortitude to say :”No Mr. Minister,. This is not who we are. My advice to you is to follow the Financial Rules and Administrative Act , Sections A,B, N etc””

Have you ever met a Bajan with the testosteronic fortitude to say boo to anyone it simply does not exist it is just a figment of the imagination in the fantasy minds of spineless slow thinking bajans who lie and make up war stories about their life spinning yarns
    Bajans are not belligerent rebels like Jamaicans they are soft like a penis with erectile dysfunction

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=136nnRpAXDE

24. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ 555 etc
    Do you not think it is time WE meet some?

25. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    Okay understood. Perhaps the only way forward is for the region to become go rogue and begin declining to accept these impositions.
    I know Lamming has fervently denounced managerial imperialism of the region.

26. WURA-War-on-U June 12, 2021 6:09 AM #: “The question should be, how come the Transport Board according to Forde, never had adequate state funding but yet…THERE WAS ALWAYS SO MANY MILLIONS OF DOLLARS LAYING AROUND TO TIEF..”

“SPOT ON!!!!”

27. What disturb we the most, is that, sometimes you have people from the various private financial sector professions who are appointed to these boards and without fear of reputation risk, just sit there and go along with the status quo.

People who should know better are CAPTURED by the system. Go figure. Or they might just see this gig as a means to pad their resume.

28. The next time whunnah see Empress Mia or the six negroes featured in the photos. Just ask dem deh simple question:

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=FFrag8ll85w

29. The mavericks don’t rise high enough to say anything to a minister. Those who rise are usually yes.men or women or cut from the same cloth as the politicians.

Barbados and Barbadians try to remove your backbone from in the cradle.

Mavericks are labelled rude, bad behaved, mad, miserable and rebellious.

Women especially are told to “be ladies” and not rabble rousers.

We are reared to shrug our shoulders and ask, “Wuh yuh gon do?”

People who wish to shake up the system are therefore rare and so they find themselves standing alone on the battlefield.

Easy to pick off!

30. Ask any bus driver and he could tell you what was wrong at the Transport Board.

I could write you a book.

31. @Vincent

The other question not included in this big to avoid breaking the word limit set is, directors have the responsibility under the Companies Act to make decisions in the best interest of the company, not to anyone that appointed them read the political directorate.

32. Vincent Codrington like the quintessentially retired public servant would insist that life tenure for his ilk is required to combat the excesses of elected politicians. A one footed argument, dated as it is. wilh all the structural failings we witness.

Should this form of dictatorship not be checked by a right to recall, remove? How is it possible to have a democracy when any idiot public servant could frustrate an elected official?

33. “Do you not think it is time WE meet some?”

Hmmm..
    That sounds like an interesting thought experiment subject matter hypothesis for the Bajan scholars to grapple with and produce their next thesis on
    but surely if there was a Bajan man or woman with big enough balls you would have met him or her already..
    Big words like “testosteronic” and “fortitude” and legal speak like “Financial Rules and Administrative Act” are not part of a mantra to be just simply repeated but has to be chanted with intention and has to become as if it is part your very being to absorb the mantra within yourselves until it sings us and chants us and all the cells of your body become rejuvenated in wisdom so even the sky is not your limit

Perfecting Wisdom
    Teyata Gate Gate Paragate
    Para Samgate Bodhi Soha

Gone, gone… gone far beyond to the
    awakened state.

Inner Tuning: Absorbing this mantra, I move beyond all names, all forms, all identity, all limitations.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t5lTfr0RoDk

34. There’s a naïveté in some comments indicating an autonomy of thought among government workers. You work within set rules & regulations and the better you know them, the faster & further you advance. Your choices at clear. Either buy into the group speak & maintain upward mobility or opt to have a stalled career or exit the bureaucracy.

35. @groslyn

Then what is the point, all should prepare to go down in flames if we do not have the courage to be the difference maker.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@groslyn
    Possibly you can direct the blog to the “set of rules and regulations” you reference, which explain why annual reports are consistently not made available to the AudG office, and/or why the AudG attempts to get information are consistently thwarted/ignored..

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WS
    Disappointed with your 8.17 contribution. I suggest a few stiff rums, connect the dots, and hopefully you may appreciate the intended target. The path merely runs through the public service.
    Their rot lies in their complicity, not in their intent. Though separating the two can be difficult in the face of “no information”. Yours is precisely the defense the political elite desire.
    Recall how the USDOJ got to DI, and with time ( extradition?), the other two as well.

38. Who remembers Katherine Gunn?

She leaked top-secret information to the press concerning alleged illegal activities by the United States and the United Kingdom in their push for the 2003 invasion of Iraq. This occurred in the home of the Westminster System and the mother of the civil service we parody in Barbados.

39. @ David

It is a fact government ministers do not have access to government’s financial records to compile accounting transactions, make adjustments and prepare financial statements.

Nor can they walk into the Treasury or any ministry under their portfolio and demand to be given $24M and put it in their pockets.

The financial statements of government ministries and departments are prepared by the Accountant General’s Office, while those of the various state owned and quasi government enterprises are prepared by their respective accounting officers.

We all know Greenland, GEMS, Clearwater Bay, Hardwood Housing, CAHILL, write-offs, etc, are among the ill-advised political decisions politicians make, which the Auditor General highlights or query in his annual reports. So, it is ludicrous for anyone to ‘say’ people seem to be suggesting public servants are responsible for those occurrences.

But, what about the material misstatements………. errors of omission or commission, under and over statements, incorrect classification of data and other ‘anomalies’ in those financial statements that the Auditor General also comments upon in his reports as well?

Perhaps those individuals who claim they’re able “to think for themselves” could explain to BU, who is responsible for recording those financial irregularities…………… government ministers or public servants?

Additionally, we seem to be conveniently or purposely ignoring certain facts probably in an attempt to facilitate our specific agenda. “Public servants have been into to parliament to be questioned by the politicians” on matters relating to the estimates of expenditure.
    Questioning them on issues such as “Four Seasons/Clearwater” would come under the purview of the PAC.

40. @ David

Another fact is, BOTH public sector employees and politicians use creative methods to steal money from central government and statutory corporations. And, in some cases, politicians steal with the assistance of public servants and owners of companies that are awarded contracts to provide goods and services to government agencies.

A minister would make sure his friends’ companies are awarded contracts, who in turn gives him a ‘draw back.’ For example, a certain retired individual who is now working at NHC, was contracted and paid to provide a specific service (that was beyond the scope of his expertise) for a government agency. Someone else was contracted to complete the service. So, we have two people being paid for supposedly providing the same service.
    How about the consultant who was being paid $10,000 per month for almost one year, to implement a tax system for the BRA, which was eventually not considered for use.

We’ve heard about a former transport minister receiving gifts such as a Mercedes-Benz motor car; and another former transport minister and his colleague, the former environment minister, driving vehicles owned by a company that repaired vehicles for SOE’s under their portfolio.
    The former minister of trade was recently convicted of money laundering in the US, based on his receiving a ‘draw back’ from ICBL.

Recently, a clerk was convicted of stealing over $1M from the Psychiatric Hospital, by authorising payments to ‘ghost companies and individuals’ that supposedly provided the hospital with goods and services. One of his girl friends ‘spilled the beans;’

Another guy stole approximately $800,000 from the BRA and was able to leave the island;
    a guy, who is now deceased, was arrested and charged after it was discovered he was including ‘dead people’ on the QEH’s payroll and collecting salaries/wages on their behalf;

three NIS employees, including a husband and wife, stole over $900,000 in a benefits cheque scam;

it was revealed that some people at Licensing Authority were suspended because vehicles owned by certain companies were ‘passing inspection’ without being inspected.

It was revealed during the PAC’s investigation into the Transport Board, the former chairman would travel to various countries to source bus parts, paid for them with his personal credit card and was reimbursed by the Board.

I also recall, when then minister of social care, Sinckler, talked about houses built by UDC, under the OSA administration that could not be found. Ironically, the AudG raised similar concerns about UDC, under the former FJS administration.

These people completely ignore government’s financial regulations.

Under these circumstances, we have to agree with an over enthusiastic Mr. Skinner that “The damn truth is that there is massive corruption in the affairs of the state.”

41. @Artax

A mouthful.

Who gave the late Hadley Byer the contract to import thousands of meters for the BWA. Who influenced the decision?

Who gave Caves Barbados the directive to retained his brother Richard Byer to review agreements, in one case charging over $700,000 for a cookie cutter review?

The AG commented on both matters with not a boy or girl handed over to the justice system or fired for flouting the financial rules.

In all of these transactions public servants are intermediaries, possibly will participants.

These are tax dollars given away. We like it so.

42. Buddhist Monk version of mantra for Perfection: Teyata Gate Gate Paragate Parasamgate Bodhi Soha by Deva Premal and The Gyuto Monks of Tibet who are known for their rich undertones and overtones in music

43. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David at 11:42 AM.
    You are correct. Some commentators ignore that basic requirement in the Companies Act.

44. 555dubstreet

It isn’t that Bajans are talawa like Jamaicans, it is the social forces which shaped the collective apparatus of the Jamaican populace.
    And this you ought to also know, unlike Jamaicans, Bajans do not believe in violence as jamaicans do, to force social and political change.

45. @ 555dubstreet

We are not an impulsive people. De majority of bajans renounces violence.

Good afternoon Davie..Did you partake of de usual hog today ???

46. David are you aware of the limitations laws to hold public service workers to account. You can only make a claim against malfeasance and are awarded nothing except for remedy of errors and the means to follow these complaints are make a formal complaint which is automatically rejected and then subsequent complaints at various levels of management which are also rejected and then at the top level of chairman which is rejected and then file a case through a tribunal process.

47. William Skinner Avatar

@ David @ Artax
    And after all that , we still believe that we should have faith in either of these two parties.,Almost all day on BU, we chronicle their collective misdeeds only to prove that our party of choice is cleaner / or better than the other.
    Corruption is corruption nothing more nothing less.
    After such extensive chronicling what do we have.to show ? Who has been brought to Justice ? One single man and he was arrested and charge in the United States of America! Where is our collective shame ?
    Like I said and will continue to say: The pot calling the kettle black. From Greenland to Cawhill a trail of poor governance and corruption.
    And on this BU, it is apologized and reasoned for to defend either the Democratic Labour Party or the Barbados Labour Party. A pathetic , deceptive breed of brainwashed apostles who operate in the interest of Roebuck and George Streets. And once you don’t pick a side, they can’t stand to read anything you write . I hope you all burn in the political hell where you belong.

48. William

Don’t hate the player hate the game.

Politics is a mugs game for suckers.

Both parties are just two sides of the same coin.

The beast has many heads.

49. William Skinner Avatar

@ Northern Observer
    A fair comment but you are not one of the brainwashed apostles on BU who are very skillful at defending the BLP and DLP.

50. William Skinner Avatar

@ 555 dubstreet
    No hate here at all. But it’s important to let these apologists and brainwashed apostles of the BLPDLP know they are not fooling anybody who can actually see through their intellectual dishonesty ,
    while pretending they are the paragons of balance. No hate at all.
    I’ve been dealing with them since the 70s. Six of one half dozen of the next.