Note that your ace investigator has ever been known to tread carefully, but, a large part of the AudG [Auditor General Report] lack of audits stems from many years from 2008 on, when several of these public bodies never filed a single annual report. The backlog was huge, and some like the Urban Development Corporation has apparently decided “forget them”, and have gone ahead with ’18-20, even though 07-17 remain outstanding. The solution is you fire the senior employees who had responsibility for such reports, withhold pensions for cause, and let them counter sue for wrongful dismissal and explain to a court, not some two bit enquiry, WHY the reports were not filed. But dat cant happen here in dis country, Dat is some stinkin’ colonial construct called accountability.

BU Commenter NorthernObserver

A new Barbados Labour Party (BLP) government same shitty comments written by the Auditor General Report. In 2018 the Public Finance Management Act was passed to attempt to hold state agencies accountable for up-to-date financial statements. Joke, the government of Barbados have been ignored by the majority of state agencies if the recent Auditor General Report is read. What is the purpose of enacting legislation that is useless to adding value to a process?

The blogmaster took the opportunity to reread the 2018 BLP Manifesto and Covenant of Hope documents inย  which all manner of grandiose promises are to be found about improving the public service. Three years later if we are to measure the success of public sector reform by the financial indiscipline and malfeasance reflected in the Auditor General’s recent report, another F is easily scored.

Time to fire seniors public servants who head these agencies for non performance. Let us start with the Director of the NIS.

2020 Auditor General Report

112 responses to “2020 Auditor General Report – Time to Fire Senior Public Servants”

1. Either that or make the position of auditor general redundant thereby saving the country the expense of his office as apparently it serves no purpose. Unfortunately if we did that we would also be called upon to justify many of the ministers and their offices. Ah well, let the music play on.

2. Thirteen years ago the same auditor general was saying more or less the same thing.

https://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2008/03/27/website-of-barbados-auditor-general-puppy-to-shut-down/

3. Nobody would be fired
    Keep dreaming
    Incompetence is this govt trademark
    But this is said govt has being rmanaging on saving money to pay debt
    Hence the level of Incompetence would drop in part to down sizing of many of govt agencies
    Mia cannot have it both ways
    Trying to pay the IMF and being able to produce stellar government performance when there are not enough hands to do an adequate job
    This is a govt problem implemented by govt policies that needs immediate correction

4. When I assumed the post of Administrative Manager Student Revolving Loan Fund in 2000, the last audit report was for 1998, the property loan system had crashed, the operating platform was DOS, loan balances were recorded on a card system and in the main inaccurate. Working in the Fundโ€™s favour was that in absence of loan statements borrowers didnโ€™t pay which made tracking payments a little easier. It was a challenge identifying policies, then procedures before the off the shelf loan package could be reprogrammed to produce statements. Working papers with supporting documentation were then produced with fifteen (15) financial statements prepared & signed off by the financial auditors & audits of current years done by the Audit Office.
    It was challenging to maintain daily operations while changing information technology & producing financial statements.
    Threatening public servants gratuity & pension because of perceived non performance is a mark of incompetent bosses & limited vision. I faced the same threat because of exemplary performance. Itโ€™s always wise to get to the root cause of issues.

5. (Quote):
    Three years later if we are to measure the success of public sector reform by the financial indiscipline and malfeasance reflected in the Auditor Generalโ€™s recent report, another F is easily scored. (Unquote).

Based on the above assumption can we conclude that the public sector financial environment is riddled with past and continuing acts of fraud hiding behind a faรงade of widespread incompetence?

It โ€˜clearlyโ€™ boggles the mind how the management of the NIS can get away with such ongoing blatant incompetence unless the revelation of past incidents of widespread fraud would cause the implosion of the entire social security system.

Clearly, such a cancerous mass of incompetence cannot be โ€˜migratedโ€™ to the new republic.

Blaming the previous equally incompetent DLP administration will no longer cut it in the eyes of intelligent taxpayers and concerned citizens.

Like President Truman, the current primus inter pares must come to the urgent reality that the buck stops at the PMโ€™s desk.

6. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Auditor has got to be the last noble profession left with the least number of corrupt and incompetent individuals. All they do is highlight the problems and loopholes in any financial system but it is up to the people in charge to remedy the situation.

It always makes me laugh when people really expect anything to change when cleverly named marketing ploys like Public Sector Reform are used to appease the masses calling for changes and heads to roll. As long as ministers are the only ones ultimately in charge of the ministry, the corruption, political patronage and all the other shenanigans will continue because it is encouraged by the nature of the current governmental structure.

The only way to correct the whole system is to get rid of all minister positions and replace each minister with a board made up of MPs, Union and Private Sector representatives. Leave the Permanent Secretary in charge and make him/her solely responsible for the ministry with the board setting policy and approving budgets, reports and spending similar to how boards and CEOs operate in the private sector.

7. What grim reading!

I agree with a previous blogger. They should just shutter the damn audit office stop the annual charade.

If anything the malfeasance is getting worse.

8. @groslyn

What is the role and responsibility of the PS? Especially in the budget planning and allocate process? If adequate funds are not available what are the options available to deliver on a mandate to complete with financial rules of government?

9. David
    Is that the best punishment yuh could think of?

How is that going to stop the underlings from getting so sweetly “punished”?

10. @Pacha

The time has come and gone to disrupt the annual process. This is not rocket science.

11. Government needs to establish a Change Management Unit to facilitate the massive restructure needed to bring Bโ€™dos public service into the 21st century. Lose the consultants. Let the Unit use the linkages across & between ministries to improve efficiency $m& effectiveness. Allow the Permanent Secretaries to do what they do best inform on operations and the Change Unit to lead the needed change of the ministries. Keep the Unit small because change must evolve & bevrecognized by the key stakeholders who would not be staff of the Unit. Let the auditors do their part via operational audits to assess the initial and ongoing success of change systems. I could go on but know this suggestion will like all others did a natural death.

12. I said pretty much the same thing as Groslyn on another blog.

Often the fault is not that of the current officer but those who have long gone. Dealing with a huge backlog while keeping up with daily activities is not possible in the short term. The UDC may have taken the more pragmatic approach of monitoring and managing current affairs. Balance sheets would be off but not income statements significantly.

SOMETIMES it is better to writeoff the long distant past and move forward.

Better than spending time chasing down old stuff while neglecting the current in SOME cases, especially when documentation for old activity is poor.

Why spend good money after bad, trying to piece together past transactions which cannot be changed while losing track of the present which can be?

What the Government must do is ensure that current transactions are properly recorded. Any senior officer who fails to ensure this could then be held responsible for what transpired under his/her watch.

And they should be!

13. Here is a link to the legislation under which the AG operates.

http://barbadosauditoffice.adaangdbarbados.net/legislation/

We making a lot of sport holding public officers accountable. Per usual a lot of long talk.

14. Asking the Opposition Leader for a friend, what is the status of the Transport Board probe please?

PAC to probe poverty fund

by COLVILLE MOUNSEY colvillemounsey@nationnews.com
    OPPOSITION LEADER Bishop Joseph Atherley says the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) will be launching its own investigation into the Poverty Alleviation Fund, following the recent Auditor Generalโ€™s Report which red flagged several disbursements by the Government facility established to help poor people.
    He told the DAILY NATION he was particularly disturbed by the reportโ€™s mention of $620 843, which was disbursed for the Urban and Rural Development Commissions to construct eight houses, but site visits found none of the homes had been built.
    Atherley said the issues raised by the Auditor General were especially egregious since they involved funds designated to assist the poor, monies which could have been urgently used now to offset some of the hardship of the COVID-19 pandemic. He added that while he had not yet fully poured through the report, he had identified other areas which warranted the scrutiny of the PAC, which he chairs.
    โ€œThis surely must be investigated because this is quite disconcerting. I am very concerned about the fact that people could have been given hundreds of thousands of dollars for doing construction work and building homes, yet no homes are to be found. The fact that monies could have supposedly been dispensed for the poorer people in harsh economic times, and no evidence can be given to support the disbursement of those funds,โ€ the Opposition Leader said.
    โ€œThese are things that should concern everyone deeply. The fact that you can have contracts awarded and at the end of the day there is nothing to suggest that those contracts were fulfilled, is something which cannot be allowed to stand. Those monies were designed to help poor people in difficult times and there is nothing to suggest how this was done.โ€
    The Poverty Alleviation Fund is intended to assist individuals with annual household income below the $5 503 poverty line, but a special audit requested by the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs, for the period April 1, 2007, to July 31, 2019, revealed the $24 million paid out included monies for mortgage arrears, a marriage seminar and sponsorship of shows.
    Auditor General Leigh Trotman, reporting on the probe, also said the fund paid $2.16 million to four contractors and nearly $300 000 to a consultant, but there was no evidence of written contracts for their services.
    He explained that Governmentโ€™s Financial Rules mandated a contract when such payments exceeded $50 000. He noted that the fund has been on pause since 2019 while the audit was being conducted, and until a determination was made for the fundโ€™s future and firm criteria set for disbursement of funds.
    Atherley pointed out that the pandemic had dealt the PAC several setbacks, with a backlog of matters to be completed, including probes into the Transport Board and the Barbados Water Authority.
    โ€œWe still have a few outstanding matters which focus on the previous report of the Auditor General and primarily on the Water Authority. We also have to finish the inquiry into the Transport Board, but COVID-19 and other matters interrupted the flow of the committeeโ€™s work. We were set to wrap up the Transport Board investigations in about two or three more sittings before we had the interruptions.
    โ€œOnce the members of the committee are available in sufficient numbers to form a quorum, we will conclude those important matters soon. After that we are going to look at this one with the Poverty Alleviation Fund and ensure we get to the bottom of it,โ€ he vowed.

15. It would be interesting to hear the Commissioner of Inland Revenue’s explanation why a simple cash management procedure is not being observed.

BRA urged to follow strict money protocols
    THE BARBADOS REVENUE AUTHORITY (BRA) is being urged to โ€œfollow strict security measuresโ€ after an audit raised concern about the enforcement of protocols related to its handling of money.
    Auditor General Leigh Trotman, whose office is responsible for auditing BRAโ€™s annual accounts, said in his 2020 report that between April 1, 2019 and March 31, 2020, there were โ€œcontrol issuesโ€ involving the absence of signatures on deposit slips totalling nearly $100 000.
    โ€œThe Authority uses a security firm to collect and deposit the funds received . . . at the end of the work day. In this regard it was observed that the controls requiring signing off on deposit slips were not always adhered to,โ€ the report stated.
    โ€œFor example, four daysโ€™ deposit slips in the amounts of $20 098.05, $10 480.35, $30 365.45 and $37 500, respectively, did not carry any signatures. The Authority is advised to follow strict security measures when handling funds of the Crown so that individuals involved can be held to account if there are discrepancies.โ€
    The Auditor General also said that for the financial year under review, โ€œno documentation was presented to the auditors indicating that surprise inspections had been conducted in accordance with the Financial Rules.
    Internal control
    โ€œWith revenue collection of $1.8 billion, the Authority should ensure that this internal control procedure is carried out, thus ensuring that the funds collected on behalf of the Government are safeguarded and accurately recorded,โ€ he advised.
    Trotman also raised concerns about understated revenue at BRA.
    โ€œA sample taken from the TAMIS system revealed that collections in the amount of $12.1 million were not posted to the ledger (Smart Stream) revenue account. Given that the financial statements were compiled from the ledger, it indicates that revenue was understated,โ€ he said.
    โ€œThe extent of the understatement is likely to be more than revealed by the audit examination which was performed on a sample of the population. Therefore, the Authority is advised to ensure that reconciliations occur between the collections and the postings to the ledger, to avoid this situation.โ€
    The verification of tax refunds was another issue raised in the report, which highlighted differences in the amounts recorded in BRAโ€™s statement of financial position and Smart Stream.
    โ€œRefunds were seen in the taxpayer account as unpaid, yet the same refund was recorded in the ledger (Smart Stream) as paid by cheque. Careful examination of the accounting for refunds is necessary to avoid duplicate payments,โ€ the Auditor General added. (SC)

16. If only we could have the same level of outrage directed at the findings in the AG’s annual report going back to 2007.

17. Governments change the civil service remains the same.

18. Many public servants are happy writing to bound ledgers and using longhand instead of email. The blogmaster is intimately aware.

19. I believe that my description of a toy train in my basement with all the bells and whistles is quite accurate.

Here we have the best whistle (Auditor General) blowing a warning sound. To be fair my toy train, whistles, put up steam and moves on the track. Yours only has the whistle.

You will never hear “The train has left the station”.

20. Looking at the report. Never opened a book on accounting or economics, so I may have a few ‘igrunt’ questions.

(What a world it is! Wondering if I spelt ‘igrunt’ correctly)

Hopefully, someone will be able to help me.

21. @ David

The report has for years and over both parties told us what we know is part of a much bigger issue and that is enforcement.

The AG can only identify issues, he has no power of enforcement. Those that are in charge of these decisions seem useless at doing this as well. Yet they stay in the jobs year after year till pension time.

As for the statutory boards they are no better. When you have an entity like the NIS that has not provided an audited report for years, that says it all. So what do we do to change this ? Well we have a few options.

A. We can give the AG power to bring these entities to task while ring fencing his department from interference, however we know the unions and politicians will not entertain that!

B. The PM can call for the resignation of all board members whose entities have breaches as outlined in the report, or have not supplied audited financials prior to 2020. Then again all of these boards are made up mainly of the “party boys” so don’t see that happening either. Plus if we did that the island would come to a halt as 90% of our entities would have no boards.

So where does that leave us? Correct, exactly where we are and have been for years. You see talk cheap and all politicians will stand up and say beating their chest ” this is unacceptable.” Yet when you ask them ” so boss man what we doing bout it?” You are met with a deafening silence. To be honest I have reached the stage now that I see cementing on the contents of the report a pointless exercise, as the same will be back in next years report under the current system.

22. @John A

This is the point. This is why posting the AG report last week or next week does not matter or so it seems. If one wants to determine the appetite for change in Barbados the aversion to remediate items raised in the report is the litmus test.

23. @ David

Exactly you have hit the nail on the head. The problem exist throughout the island with all of our challenges, from our economic restructuring to law enforcement.

The rule seems to be we must make changes as long as too much doesn’t change!

24. You might be surprised to know that the bound legers might have been more accurate.

25. Let us examine the Financial Management Act Ryan Straughn waxed lyrically about in 2018. Where has it gotten us? The blogmaster recalls at the time a criticism of the legislation was the fact the law did not hold anyone accountable. So here we are, nothing has changed. We live in a world where interagency cooperation and interoperability of systems is critical to improving business facilitation as one example of an efficient public service.

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

I wouldn’t want any of them handling any business of mine financial or otherwise…all of them should he fired…with their big guts waddling all over the place..

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

Every now and then I like to “poke the bear”.
    Nothing will change. Nobody will be dismissed. It might get results, but who needs results?
    There is usually ONE person who has responsibility (and gets paid) for the production of annual financial reports. ONE. Failure to produce such, is not some perceived lack of performance, IT IS NON PERFORMANCE. And if you want to get to the roots, you shake the trunk. You don’t prune a few stems. It doesn’t target the rank and file. And the fired WILL squeal. Those with lost income (pensions) will squeal. This is why it will never happen. Because that squealing will lead to “others” and the doo-doo will hit the fan.
    So it is best we forget the past and forge forward. How $40 million x 10 missing reports was spent is irrelevant. That books indicate 65 houses which were built (paid for) but cannot be found is water under the bridge.
    Note how they hooked DI. They shook the trunk and the CFO fell out. She knew she was guilty, so traded her backside ( by testifying and avoiding charges) for that of others.
    If you don’t shake nothing will fall.
    Because this lack of accountability is widespread across the ๐ŸŒŽ, makes it no more tolerable.

28. Bajans have a reputation for being prim and proper. We are also known for patenting hypocrisy. We like it so.

29. It is all too obvious that public servants with DLP party membership are sabotaging the administration so that no reports or false reports are being submitted. Time for our honourable DPP to carry out mass arrests and intern the culprits until a court hearing can be held at some point …

30. Auditor General’s audit of Gov’t assets frustrated by missing info

https://barbados.loopnews.com/content/auditor-generals-audit-govt-assets-frustrated-missing-info

31. Who are the biggest shareholders in Massey?

32. Holders of the Ten (10) Largest Blocks of Shares
    Shareholder Number of Shares as at 30-09-2020
    1 National Insurance Board of Trinidad & Tobago 19,801,051
    2 RBC/RBTT Nominee Services Limited 10,246,075
    3 RBC/RBTTTrust Limited 9,410,305
    4 Republic Financial Holdings Limited 7,198,348
    5 Barbados Central Securities Depository Inc. 5,909,175
    6 Trinidad & Tobago Unit Trust Corporation 4,313,198
    7 First Citizens Trust & Asset Management 3,547,930
    8 Trintrust Limited 3,444,967
    9 Guardian Life of the Caribbean Limited 3,103,253
    10 National Insurance Board (Barbados) 2,800,372

https://massygroup.com/wp-content/uploads/2021/01/MASSY-HOLDINGS-ANNUAL-REPORT-2020_TOC_FINAL.pdf

33. Who were the largest shareholders in 2011-2012?

Holders of the ten (10) largest blocks of Shares
    Name of Registered Shareholder Number of Shares
    National Insurance Board 19,801,051
    RBTT Trust Limited 8,660,798
    RBTT Nominee Services Limited 8,928,672
    Republic Bank Limited 7,568,068
    First Citizens Trust & Asset Management Limited 5,190,127
    Trinidad & Tobago Unit Trust Corporation 5,068,198
    Trintrust Limited 3,316,794
    Sagicor Equity Fund 1,959,858
    Guardian Life of the Caribbean Limited 1,561,578
    Paula Rajkumarsingh & Curtis Lee Poy 1,332,292

34. Just having some sport!

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

@E/J
    Your point? Massy bought BS&T. All those BS&T shareholders got Massy shares. Then Massy creased trading in Bds.
    While the condition is seen in Bim, it is not confined to Bim. It happens all over. This disease however, has spread quickly. A sad day when one realizes the Force is so strong, brand names don’t matter, they otherwise all taste the same.

36. Look back at earlier Annual reports.

You will see not all shareholders in 2020 were shareholders 10 years earleir.

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@j
    You mean top 10. If I am listed and I decide I don’t want my name/company name showing and I split the holdings in two they won’t show. If conversely some holders amalgamate they may now show under the amalgamated entity.
    And that T&T exchange was (Is?) a nightmare to deal with. That it could take them multiple years to figure things out would be no surprise. The T&T central body has the share register not Massy. Just like B’dos.

38. Sunny Sunshine Shine Avatar
    Sunny Sunshine Shine

When I posted that poster of the Mottley distorted smirk, which was to suggest that she operates base on two faces, it did not sit well with those who felt that Mottley would be the turn around that Barbados needed from the disgusting, stinking DLP. The SSS waited several months before she posted against Mottley, who deserved a chance to prove if she would come good or continue in the same vain of cloak, dagger and nepotism. Of these three, nepotism featured promimently followed by cloak but the jury is still deliberation over the dagger. As to what the DLP did to our beloved island, 0ne would think that after the nonsense of the DLP and the fact that the AG reports reflected poorly on their crookery and deliberate mismanagement of government funds, that the Mottley administration, seeing the stink, would have come with guns blazing to stop the rot. Instead, the Auditor General’s report is reading just like what transpired under the stinking DLP. To think that Mottley had the nerve to condemned lyrics she felt was not in good standing with public morals is a real donkey he haw. She should do the same outraged-public-address at yet another AG report that paints a damning picture of selective ministries and state corporations under her illustrious watch. I really thought that she would have change a lot of the nonsense that goes on in government accounting but it seems that under her watch, nothing is change and the SSS will lament that the rogue in Mottley is alive and well.

SSS over and gone again.

39. Pathetic and incompetent at its core
    A govt that promised better performing at its worst
    The auditor General reports speaks to a level of incompetence which is mind boggling at the same rate as the increase of crime

40. 10 National Insurance Board (Barbados) 2,800,372

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

When did the NIS buy into Massy?

Was it the same time it bought into Apes Hill?

41. Are Massy shares not converted BS&T shares?

42. It is now the turn of TwiddleD to heap criticism on TwiddleB.

DLP: Look into Govtโ€™s awarding of contracts
    There should be a special audit of the Governmentโ€™s awarding of housing contracts.
    Ricardo Harrison, the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) spokesman on housing, made the call as he cited the Financial Management and Audit and (Supplies) Rules, which he said called for no fewer than three quotations for goods and services between $50 000 and $200 000 without going to tender.
    โ€œWhere $200 000 is exceeded, tenders shall be invited. Clause 222 (6) states that the โ€˜. . . accounting officer shall not artificially reduce the cost of a contract for the supply of services to be below $200 000โ€™.
    โ€œThe DLP and the people of Barbados are calling on the Auditor General to initiate special audits regarding the issuance of these contracts and is asking the Minister of Housing to inform Barbadians why the agreement with the potential landowners at Lancaster has suddenly been changed and or cancelled,โ€ he asked in a recent statement.
    While most Barbadians were not surprised, they remain concerned, Harrison said.
    The attorney charged that what the ruling administration did regarding the housing projects was in clear breach of the financial rules and done under the guise of โ€œurgencyโ€.
    โ€œThe Democratic Labour Party would like to know the manner of this โ€˜urgencyโ€™. When did the provision of 250 upperand middle-income houses become a matter of urgency?โ€ Harrison queried. ( PR/AC)

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

“We” haven’t a clue. No report from the NIS so it is merely a guess. Did the NIS ‘ buy into Apes Hill? Was an NIS loan converted to something else, or was it retired when Chomday group took over. Somebody knows but it certainly isn’t the NIS shareholders.

44. @ David ” It is now the turn of TwiddleD to heap criticism on TwiddleB.”

TwiddleB will get their turn 6 years from now.

Beg and borrow today and tomorrow. ( first line of a clean soca song. that’sall I got. lol

45. @Hants

Let us cut to the chase- the same crap this government promised to fix continues unabated if we are to believe the under resourced Auditor General. The challenge for educated people is how do we pressure the political class that enough is enough? This outrage we engage annually has reached a level of embarrassment we have to label as people ignorance.

Where do we go from here?

46. This Harrison fella confused. First he questioned the process. Then he said it was not the process but the personnel. Now he’s back to the process. On the AG Report, how many posting have read the report and sought to determine progress or lack thereof by comparing the 3 reports issued since 2018?๐Ÿค”

47. @enuff

We have to take the AGรขย€ย™s comment at face value. It is the same thing we did when the DLP was in office.

48. Finally we are getting to the fact that senior government officials have been performing below par for decades.

49. We keep hiring and promoting the same type of persons to these top positions by the same type of HR persons, by the same HR systems that have failed to produce positive results. Seems we have a highly delusional set of people controlling these procedures that produces these poor results that find the results acceptable.