UK travel light system explained

This week the UK relaxed overseas travel, however, based on a traffic light classification it means UK travellers to Barbados- a country classified AMBER- will have to quarantine for 10 days on return. Based on a BU source hotels and apartments in Barbados have started to receive cancellations.

Arrivals from countries on the amber list will need to quarantine at home for 10 days, in addition to forking out for tests before and after their trip. You should not travel there for leisure purposes.

Traffic light system: red, amber and green list countries โ€“ where can I go on holiday abroad?

The Barbados government front loaded its economic recovery strategy by expending significant resources to keep the local tourism industry afloat. The AMBER classification must be accepted for what it is, a body blow. Unless Prime Minister Mia Mottley can do a Houdini tourist traffic for the summer from our most profitable market just went south.

This event now unfolding must cause a critique of the COVID 19 immunization policy. Has the time come for the government through the Chief Medical Officer to authorize private medical facilities to deliver COVID 19 vaccinations? Unless were are able to achieve 70/80% coverage that defines herd immunity, we will not be able to refloat the tourism boat in the near term.

#lisacummins

#drkennethgeorge

221 responses to “UK Amber Alert Catspradles Tourist Sector”

1. Milluh

“This the same man โ€œenuffโ€ who argued that the British tourists will be arriving in their thousands by electric-operated airplanes for the 2021/2022 winter season.”

Why do you tell so many lies? Jeezus!

2. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Is tourism for the government to make a profit from it? If so have we profited from tourism? Is our tourism product in high demand?”

seeing that it’s some sleazy slave masters from the 17th century created it to BENEFIT THEM and NOT Black people, those are good questions….the jokers holding on to it as the premium moneymaker when it STILL only benefits the few, tells us all we need to know about their mental state, and intellectual levels.

3. JohnA
    Wrong again! I don’t fly coach.๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ

4. Thanks for this piece John A.

Gibraltar, enjoying life without masks
    Smiling faces in Gibraltar after the face mask rule was lifted.
    Smiling faces in Gibraltar after the face mask rule was lifted. / ร‘ITO SALAS

23 April 202114:51

The Union flag was flying at half-mast when we visited Gibraltar because, like the UK, people in this British Overseas Territory were mourning the death of the Duke of Edinburgh. But in contrast with London, their tears were not being caught by the top of a face mask because – out in the street, at least – masks are no longer compulsory in Gibraltar.

“It feels wonderful, I’m breathing fresh air again,” said one lady when we asked her how it felt to have left her face mask at home.

We should point out that the Gibraltarians are not being irresponsible; on the contrary, nearly every resident of the Rock and many of the cross-border workers from Spain have now been vaccinated. A couple of weeks ago, the government announced that although masks will still have to be worn in some places, they are no longer needed outside.

Further measures are also gradually being relaxed, and the government hopes that others can be lifted by mid-May, as long as Covid-19 cases remain very low. However, general precautionary measures such as contact tracing, staff monitoring and regular cleaning and sanitising are still in place on the Rock.

To visitors, the new normal here looks very similar to the situation pre-pandemic, but it is noticeably quieter than it used to be. Casemates Square, which was always full of tourists who had come for a day’s shopping or sightseeing, was practically empty on this occasion.

In this epicentre of the town is Al Fresco’s cafรฉ, a family business run by Christine Oton and her son Michael. Both are smiling and seem very optimistic about the situation. “People seem so much happier now they don’t have to wear masks,” says Christine, as she sips a coffee on the cafรฉ terrace. However, she is the only person there, even though it is nearly midday. The lack of visitors is rather worrying for local businesses.

With provincial borders closed within Andalucรญa, fewer tourists are able to walk or drive into Gibraltar from Spain. There have been no cruise ships since the pandemic began, and international travel restrictions have significantly reduced the numbers of people flying in from the UK for a holiday or short break.

The shops, bars, restaurants and hotels are noticing the change. “But we have to be optimistic,” says Michael. “Until not long ago we didn’t know when the vaccines would be arriving in Gibraltar, and now we are nearly all vaccinated. You can really see a difference. People here are much more motivated and cheerful now.”

He is not the only one to think so. Joseph, Julio and Ivรกn, three pensioners from Gibraltar, are enjoying a Guinness in the Horseshoe pub. “Everything’s fine here, but obviously we could do with more visitors,” one of them says.

We are so used to seeing people wearing masks in Spain that Gibraltar comes as a bit of a shock, with large groups of people chatting and greeting others with a hug and a kiss.

A recent press release from the Gibraltar government stated that every local resident who wanted to be vaccinated had been, and so had at least 10,000 of the approximately 15,000 cross-border workers by then. The difference in the vaccination rates in Spain and Gibraltar is clear. In Spain, it is considerably lower.

This can lead to some strange situations. For example, Miriam, who is from Algeciras, and Eli, from La Lรญnea, work in a gift shop in Main Street. One has been vaccinated in Gibraltar, but the other is still waiting to be called, one side of the border or the other.

“We’re quite used to this type of situation here,” she says. “I’ll just have to wait. Anyway, in the meantime, it’s lovely to be able to look around and see everyone much more relaxed. It makes you feel that bit by bit we are starting to return to something like normal life at last,” she says.

http://www.surinenglish.com/gibraltar/202104/23/gibraltar-enjoying-life-without-20210423100036-v.html

5. @enuff

Address the main points being offeed, this is serious business. We need to increase vaccine coverage asap to equate with the government’s obvious priority to tourism.

6. Tourism is not just a FX earner
    It was 20% if the economy and employer of people like the taxis and beach vendors

7. @ Miller

This is not a case of B and D because without tourism we will ALL starve. Yes we got good levels of reserves but guess what, them borrowed not earned. We now have to earn as the repayment of these loans must be made in hard currency.

Forget all the fancy footwork and fowlery ( yes its a word I say so), the key to getting off this list is high vaccination levels and low to no new cases per 100,000.

For example you know in Gibraltar that only 11 million people visit a year which according to a fellow ain’t none, that since April their people have been fully vaccinated with both shots? Yes and look at what happen in May, them get move to green. Plus no more masks wearing in Gibraltar neither.

You see it ain’t bout D or B or fancy ad campaigns. Its about convincing Boris and others that we got this thing covered and it safe for his people to come.

8. This is not the main point being made. We always discuss alternatives or less dependence on tourism but we have to factor that a replacement industry must generate foreign exchange to pay the import bill.

9. @ david

Thanks for publishing that article on Gibraltar hopefully this will put to rest the political tap dancing.

There is also an article that came out last night in the UK from a British publication speaking to the booking load for some of these newly designated green locations as of the 17th. A friend in the UK mentioned it and promised to send it to me so some here can see what the difference in designation means to the traveller.

10. David
    Address what points? I have said B’dos is moving in the right direction to get on the green list. Is it not implicit in that statement that getting on that list is the priority?

11. Do we have enuff vaccine on island at this point in time to vaccinate the required % of the population?

If not then it makes no sense talking about speeding up vaccinations when we still have to wait for imports ( which is beyond our control beside paying and waiting )

12. We are moving in the right direction but the contention is that we must up the pace before the economy implodes..

13. @John2

The point is that it makes every sense. It must be priority 111. If we do not have the vaccines, we need to get them fast!

14. David

We can pay for the last year
    Delivery depends on the shippers

You already know how that goes with the whole world waiting for some

Relax

15. If u had enuff supply on the island then I could understand the call for speeding up

16. @ David

Check your email I just sent you the article from the UK Telegraph I mentioned a travel friend sent me. Its should be compulsory reading for every Tourism minister so they understand what is going on in the real world of travel. It should also put some of the pettiness to rest.

17. NorthernObserver Avatar

@enuff
    Since you made a point to reference your ‘friend’, uknowwho in digital oblivion, I read recently in COW’s book (I don’t have a copy I quickly scanned a friend’s who visited) that he sold Forster Hall back when to the late Mr.Alleyne (Lloyd?) of Shamrock fame (@Artax knows about him if memory is correct) and the money came from a legal suit Mr.Alleyne had won against the GoB re compulsory acquisition of an unspecified property.
    What do you know about this case?

18. Are people still getting vaccinated.

Is the importance of being vaccinated being communicated to the average Barbadian.

The actions/educating John

19. Are people still getting vaccinated?

Is the importance of being vaccinated being communicated to the average Barbadian?

Is the average Barbadian vested in the success of the tourism product.
    Does he feel it benefits him.

The actions/educating John Q Public on what is needed for tourism (Barbados) to survive.

20. Thanks John A.

Which countries are on the green list and when can you travel to them?
    21 May 2021 โ€ข 10:23 AM

For the first time in months, holidays overseas are now allowed to a select group of ‘green-listed’ countries.

As of May 17, British holidaymakers can travel to 12 countries and territories without quarantine on return home.

Other countries are categorised as ‘amber’ or ‘red’ depending on vaccination rates, infection rates, the prevalence of variants of concern and the capacity to sequence genomes.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/travel/advice/green-list-countries-holidays-covid-uk-travel/amp/

21. @John2

You are missing the point big time. The essence of the exchanges with John A addresses a different urgency that is required if Barbados is to remain in the game. Can you imagine if we have another flare up of covid infections?

22. @ David

Thanks.

Guys lets take a minute and just read the article above from the UK Telegraph just 2 days ago.

Please before you comment further give it a read without the read or yellow glasses and understand what a post covid return to tourism involves.

Trust me once you read the article you will better understand our challenge. Then let’s chat in an unbiased way. The future for all of us it at stake here regardless of party.

23. So guys you get the picture now? Its not about promotions or room rates or PR statements bout how good the winter bookings looking. Its about the shots in the arms and reaching the target percentage.

24. David

Facts and reality

If u donโ€™t have the required number of vaccines then any talk about speeding up vaccinations is a waste of time

Did John a advocate for the introduction of GPs to help speed up the process?

Then we still have to wait until we get the rest of doses to get to the 70 / 80%

We will not get there / in the green zone until we get enough vaccines

U or John A can tell us how we can get the adittional shot on the island sooner ?

25. ” Beach, play, eat, repeatโ€”it’s not Barbados’ official slogan, but weโ€™d vote for it ”

https://vacations.aircanada.com/en/all-destinations/caribbean/eastern-caribbean/barbados

26. @John2

At the risk of being repetitive and pedantic- is not our job to tell the government how to procure vaccinations and to execute quick immunization. We are saying the government will not be able to quickly breath live into the numbers of tourist arrivals unless Barbados can report herd immunity. All the other activity being disseminated can be considered fluff until such time.

27. @ David,

Government should beg Canada for vaccines.

Canadian companies especially the three banketeers Scotia, Royal and CIBC have benefitted from their operations in Barbados.

28. The USA plans to give away as well. We have to hope the prime minister is using her international brand to good effect if not what is the purpose of it all.

29. Barbados remains โ€œgood friendsโ€ with Britain, despite its intention to become a Republic later this year.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/21/good-friends-barbados-and-britain-maintain-strong-relations/

30. I am just here to ask a few questions about our tourism industry. Why was tourism set up in Barbados? Why did the government get so involved in tourism decades ago? Was tourism pushed by the government as means of making money for the country? Has tourism been making money/profit for the country? Where is the evidence of such? Is the government supporting a stillborn in supporting tourism? Is the government subsidizing an industry that is unprofitable for the country? Is any research being done on the industry to answer some of the above questions? Do we measure the tourism leakage rate in Barbados? If so what is the rate and how is it calculated? Are our tourism decisions research-based or at least carry a large element of research? Do we do target marketing and how specific is such targeting? What level of demand do we have for the destination? Is the demand being influenced by our subsidizing of many elements of our tourism product? How are we selecting and promoting our tourism personnel in government?

31. Are we placing the emphasis on FX in tourism because of the fact that the political parties are supported by those large-scale buyers and resalers known to us as merchants? What if we are subsidizing an unprofitable for the sake of supporting non exporting businesses in BIM? What if one of the reasons we end up in the hands of the IMF is heavily subsidizing an unprofitable tourism industry through external and internal government borrowing and heavy taxation?

32. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“She explained that Barbados had to refer to the Palace before making decisions relating to the selection of an Ambassador or making changes to specific categories of nominees for National Honours, at short notice.”

is that all?? cause ya know they love to only give the people who ELECT THEM….half the story….or more troubling…NO STORY AT ALL…

btw…i see US is still donating medical equipment to the island.

33. Artax

Please โ€˜tellโ€™ BU when was the last time you saw butterflies here? Surely you canโ€™t be aware there is a disease that has been affecting butterflies for several years.

Xxxxxc

Obviously u don’t know any thing about butterfly farming
    I leave it at that

34. angela cox May 21, 2021 3:29 PM #:

“Obviously u donโ€™t know any thing about butterfly farming” either. You read about it on line and came to give BU the impression you’re versed in the concept.

For about a year or more, local limes have been scarce, because lime trees are either ‘drying up’ or not bearing the fruit.

Based on your logic, we should engage in lime farming.

35. @john 2

” GIVE MUH DE VOTE AND WATCH MUH GET DE VACCINES.” LOL

Joking of course I would make a terrible politician. But hey I gave her the vote and I watching. As Biden said this week the responsibility stops at the president.

36. NO
    Not a clue about that case.

37. ArtaxMay 21, 2021 4:08 PM

angela cox May 21, 2021 3:29 PM #:

โ€œObviously u donโ€™t know any thing about butterfly farmingโ€ either. You read about it on line and came to give BU the impression youโ€™re versed in the concept.

For about a year or more, local limes have been scarce, because lime trees are either โ€˜drying upโ€™ or not bearing the fruit.

Based on your logic, we should engage in lime farming

Xxxxxxxxxxxcxobviously you have never heard about butterfly farming
    Next

38. David

All fluff from beginning to end

U call it fluff I called it a waste of time

For months mm did tell of the avenues she tried to get the vaccine into island
    When she know some is on the way she donโ€™t even want to tell what day she expect them to arrive

In the Short term we well lose a few tourist but we still getting a trickle. The island is not going to sink in the short term

Donโ€™t forget we ob the BAD list for USA and maybe Canada also but I still a family from FL that spring break in bim

Some will cancel Barbados on go somewhere else
    Some will come when we get the green light

39. I mentioned the FL family to show that even with the outbreak, curfew / lockdown etc. Some still found Barbados to be a desirable place to vacation

All the tourist will not want to visit the places that A mentioned we will still get some.

40. I mentioned the FL family to show that even with the outbreak, curfew / lockdown etc. Some still found Barbados to be a desirable place to vacation

All the tourist will not want to visit the places that A mentioned we will still get some. British

41. Thank you to the police for the good job of getting some of the guns and gun slingers off the streets of Barbados

42. The above article is good food for thought
    It also points out that the vaccine is one of hit or miss trial
    WHO has been clear in telling the world that people at high risk categories should take the vaccine
    Now this article draws down on a fact that those in high risk categories might benefit slightly or not at all from the vaccine because of certain prescribed medications
    The higher the monkey climb the more the tail gets longer
    Better yet a twisted tale of tangle webs

43. Roverp1 comments and questions surrounding our tourist industry are insightful and should not be left unanswered.

Covid-19 has exposed this government and all of its predecessors as enemies of the people. For several centuries, Barbados was wedded to a mono-economy based on the production of sugar cane that was 100% reliant on slave labour.

Over the last twenty five years (?) we have witnessed from both parties a serious push to elevate the tourist industry at the expense of the vast majority of all other industries and services. The one exception to this has been the financial service sector.

The rise of covid-19 has put a block on tourism for the past 15:months. People are not permitted to travel. Yet somehow this threat to our economy has not translated itself to our leaders to diversify the economy.

Mia’s commitment to the tourist industry reminds me of Hitler’s inability to take the advice from his generals during the dying days of the second world war, to admit defeat and to offer his terms of surrender to his opponents.

Mia’s reluctance to ditch the tourist industry is revealing. This industry and its economic stakeholders are being subsidised by Barbados black majority population in the same manner that the sugar barons were been subsidised by our African ancestors.

Our Governments both past and present have colluded with the tourist industry players both domestically and internationally. This cosy agreement has enriched everyone bar the Barbados tax payer.

I would not be surprised to hear that a large number of our politicians may have benefited ,over the years, with this cosy arrangement.

44. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

TLSN…it’s MONSTROUS what DBLP did to the people who elected them religiously for over 50 years…….all they were interested in was raising yardfowls/slaves and selling out to the highest bidder who would entertain their corruption, but did NOTHING TO ELEVATE the population as a collective…..and they had 5 DECADES and access to billions of the people’s money in which to do so…..and wasted every one..

.they made sure to enrich themselves with lots of properties they acquired ILLEGALLY and at the expense of the elderly and their beneficiaries whom they reduced to poverty and flaunt money that NONE OF THEM CAN ACCOUNT FOR…

..i dare them to tell the world how they got all that money and boast of being millionaires, they would have to be in the parliament at least 50 years to make a couple million dollars with the salaries they get……

all to present a faรงade of being wealthier than the population who elect. them….as a result the only other people who acquired wealth ILLEGALLY and at the expense of the majority population are minorities with whom they collude….

45. angela cox May 21, 2021 5:07 PM #: “obviously you have never heard about butterfly farming. Next.”

Al’ahmaq!!!!

https://media.tenor.com/images/b056d7d835ff43ee381a6efbbf1f14db/tenor.gif

46. @TheoG
    Are people still getting vaccinated?
    Make of this what you will, I know an elderly person who recently turned up at a vaccine site only to be turned away because they were advised that the vaccines were reserved for people getting their โ€œsecond shotsโ€. They were also advised to watch for further communications via the media.

I heard that the BLP is having a โ€œStand Homeโ€ political mass meeting this Sunday, I will advise the senior to tune in, yuh never know what morsel of info may come their way.

47. Read something in the press that the first batch of vaccines received from India has an expiry date of 31 May 2021. A reasonable conclusion is that resources are being used to ensure second shots are administered for this reason.

COVID-UPDATE: Over 50,000 people fully vaccinated, five new cases: https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/05/21/covid-update-over-50000-people-fully-vaccinated-five-new-cases/

48. @WURA-War-on-U,
    I agree with you wholeheartedly.

This unhealthy PUSH of the tourist industry reminds me of the strategy of the USA government during the sixties to undermine the black civil rights movement. They collaborated with the New York Italian method to push drugs into the black community. It was a strategy that worked.

Curtis Mayfield put this in words in his music. The term “pusher man” was widespread. The pusher man was generally speaking a black brother who dealt drugs within his community. He did not realise that he was been manipulated. He became self-centred and focused on acquiring large sums of money for himself rather than seeing the damage that his actions were having within his own community.

I find it bizarre how so many organisations from the IMF, to economists, politicians, think tanks and the business community continues to urge our government to keep pushing the tourist industry.

” I’m your mama, I’m your daddy,
    I’m that nigga in the alley.
    I’m your doctor when in need.
    Want some coke? Have some weed.
    You know me, I’m your.pusherman …….”
    (Curtis Mayfield)

The BDLP are modern day Superflys/Pushermen who work under the instructions of the man in order to suppress and undermine their own people.

They have enriched themselves monetarily. And allowed outsiders and minority groups to accumulate wealth whilst at the same time they have undermine the development of their own.