Lost amid the noise of a struggling economy, navigating a pandemic and more recent ash fall from La Soufrière is the decision by the government to create the Education Reform Unit headed by Dr. Idamay Denny.

For many years commentators have been pleading with successive governments the urgent need to transform how we educate our citizens to ensure Barbados ride the crest of innovation in order to sustain global competitiveness. Increasingly the emergence of technology and other innovative approaches to create and distribute products and services demand we change how we prep our citizens.

The Education Reform Unit‘s mandate it has been reported is to formulate, implement, monitor and evaluate reform initiatives aimed at transforming the education sector. Lest we forget transforming the education system is listed in the 2018 Barbados Labour Party Manifesto. Unfortunately there is not much to be heard from the political and non governmental opposition besides the usual noise. In fairness to them the citizenry is blinkered and therefore divided on the issue of eduction reform. We content ourselves with debating if to discontinue the 11+.

Critics will argue several studies have been produced, why is it necessary to create a project unit. Others may suggest trying to create change from studies whose shelf life has expired is an exercise in futility. What the blogmaster accepts is that change is constant and change we must if we desire to remain comfortably in the saddle.

Covid 19 has further exposed the dysfunction in local operating and business models. The time is overdue to build consensus on educate our people to drive the change required to sustain ourselves. All of the changes we rail about daily will not happen by accident. The perquisite to change movement has to be triggered by thought leadership. We must create a culture in the country that is about fuelling ideas, fuelling knowledge capital and then executing the delivery of tasks to achieve a national objective that feeds our capacity to be globally competitive in order to comfortably support ourselves.

Items like teaching coding and robotics should have been integrated in the school curriculum a long time ago. When BU attempted to discuss the role digital currencies, cybersecurity and non traditional approaches to doing business in Barbados we solicited noise from the usual suspects. This is the global trending, we have no choice albeit late in the day to educated our citizens to ensure we are not left further behind.

The blogmaster extends best wishes to the success of the Education Reform Unit albeit.

110 responses to “Education Reform a Must”

1. Pedagogic ideology moving forward is to bring the necessary resources into the classroom to address the needs of those students that are having a difficult time absorbing the material, so that they can reach their full potential.

Nevertheless, the antiquated teaching ideology back in the day was centered on segregating and categorizing those students that were having a difficult time absorbing the material, but what educators at the time did not realized is the fact that such a teaching strategy was counterproductive, because it affected the self-esteem of those students who were labeled C students and boosted the self-esteem of the A and B students.

2. 555dubstreet Avatar

“such a teaching strategy was counterproductive, because it affected the self-esteem of those students who were labeled C students and boosted the self-esteem of the A and B students.”

Another way at looking at it is the so called C bad students is a sign of bad teaching.
    After a lesson a teacher should ask how many understand what was taught and if the answer is say 50% 90% or 95% then it should be explained again until it is 100%. If the next day less people understand than the day before then the teachers additional explanation is confusing the children more.

3. We also have to determine if whether or not the overall educational system needs to be overhauled or the just method of meeting the needs of the student has to in order for he or she to reach his or her full potential.

4. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

KILLING OFF opportunities for African creatives they hate so much… for all of 60 years, has now RETURNED TO BITE them…..happy catching up.

5. .@3:45 a.m.
    The use of 24-hour water trucks to bring water to some areas.
    Coursera initiative
    Robotics and coding initiative

Quick wins. If there are no trace of wrong doings with these quick wins, then Mia is already off and running hard.

Not a fan of Mia, but she is a formidable foe.

The 2023 race as I see it (22-8)
    GP 2 dropped out
    Mia off and running hard
    DLP waiting for the starter’s gun to go off.
    Strategy: Verla needs to accept that 2023 is a losing year for the DLP. Though the DLP should run nationwide certain seats should be heavily targeted; (People I have not heard of since 2018; margin of victory gives hope; or there is a whiff of misdeeds).
    Neil Rowe
    Atherley
    Trevor Prescod
    Gline Clarke
    Sonia Browne
    Dale Marshal
    Peter Phillip
    John King

6. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@555dubstreet May 6, 2021 5:59 AM

…Making students pay for University is a no no as they will not bother going to college to pay for higher education to rack up debt when thy could be working and making money and building up experience instead. The most intelligent people I know have common sense and reasoning not qualifications in abstract theory.

My point exactly, we have students going to university because the next step of the Barbados education ladder is to get a BSc behind your name even if you are not going to use anything you learnt in the world of work. All the people I consider rich, i.e someone who can afford to walk into a car dealership and buy a brand new car cash is my criteria, either didn’t or barely finished secondary school. They all work for themselves and they pursued the educational courses they determined they needed to get ahead.

I went to UWI and I have only used all I learnt in my first year, half of what I learnt in my second year, and nothing learnt from my third year at work. The remaining second and third year courses are only suitable for those desiring to entering the academic research arena. There is a place for university education but the student needs some skin in the game to help them decide where they want to go in life and if a full university degree is what they need.

Just like our education standard for every child once upon a time was to complete primary school, our country and the world has progressed to the point where the standard now needs to be every child completing secondary school with English, Mathematics and at least one other subject at CXC level. Every child with at least that basic foundation can chart their own educational path in life.

The only way forward is to restructure education to rekindle our entrepreneurial spirit and the only way to do that is to encourage critical thinking, personal choice and financial responsibility.

7. Critical Analyzer

our concept of education should transcends the regurgitation of the standard English and Mathematics though fundamental, but it ought to be geared towards the element of critical thinking.

8. I forgot Sep 29, 2020.
    Over to you Reifer.. Can you do it in SGN this time?

9. One aspect of education that concerns me is the distraction and trend of political over correctness and first world problems and related policy.

This refers to this gender fluid rubbish that is now being pummeled into people by through media and foreign interests.

The old people would call this for what it is, total rubbish. If yuh barn wid a dongle, you is a man. If yuh barn wid a purse, yuh is a woman. If yuh get it change, yuh is a man converted to a woman and vice versa.

If you like what crows in the morning, yuh is a woman or a gay man. If yuh like playing with lady parts, yuh is a man or a lesbian.

Done.

All the other rubbish is a waste of time and pandering to egocentric nonsense.

Gender fluid my tail. First world problems.

Please keep that garbage out of our schools.

Real problems are one relating to having shelter, food and healthcare, jobs and education. Those are real problems.

The old people would give one long, hard, STUPSEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE.

10. Critical Analyzer May 5, 2021 9:11 AM

Well said. But nowadays a lotta long talk is the preferred route. Make something simple into a consultation for big fees.

11. 555dubstreet May 5, 2021 8:48 AM Teachers should record themselves for youtube type lessons.

Would be nice. But not gonna happen when they can charge $25 / lesson x 30 students every Sat’day.

Education system is dysfunctional. Lack of vision, design, management and application.

12. 555dubstreet Avatar

Learning would be much easier in youtube type lessons you can pause to have breaks, rewind for clarification and watch again to revise

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rQ73CaJjkdE

13. Education system failing too many children
    The Barbados Secondary Schools’ Entrance Examination (BSSEE) is an indication of potential at age ten or 11. Education is a continuous process throughout life. Only one hurdle, one exam, sets the tone for a rigid, pervasive class system.
    The future of many individuals has been determined on the basis of this “oneoff” examination in Barbados.
    There should be mixed-ability schools. Why can’t a top plumber go to Harrison College and rub shoulders with a doctor? To turn schools into mixedability institutions is desirable but we would discover that the rich would move their children to private schools.
    This educational system is based on the traditional English system, a remnant of our colonial past. The colonial masters have long since modified their system.
    Catch-up or ring schools allow “failures” of the Common Entrance to be removed from the system, given specialised teaching and by age 14 put back into the system. It remains an enigma when schools initially can have a high intake at Common Entrance and come graduation, 20 per cent are unaccounted for.
    To rectify this, necessary tests should be carried out to determine the proclivities of our youth as early as possible and place all necessary resources to embellish these rough gems.
    Education, from its derivation, is to draw out, edify, lead, to change these rough gems into diamonds. It is my contention that every child is endowed with faculties and talents, but we need to discover how these children learn.
    We can use vicarious means, hands-on practice, experimentation, trial and error.
    Environments have to be put in place to facilitate each child in an effort to draw out their latent potential, to help them to be the best they can.
    Parents have a seminal role to play in supporting their children, providing the right environment at home, essentially an environment fit for learning, as well as good nutrition, recreation, necessary learning tools, moral and spiritual support and instilling values, morals and discipline.
    When we look at most high achievers in our system, we see the evidence of parental support.
    Many seeming underachievers who struggled under our system and who would have been deemed “failures” got a chance to self-actualise.
    They managed to excel in the “big countries”. The system was different, and these individuals for the first time got a chance to excel.
    It is imperative to reform the system.
    There are too many poor black youth, more so boys than girls, roaming our streets. The homes more so than the schools need to “capture” this potentially dangerous segment of the population and instil in them the maxim that we were created noble and equal.
    – PHILIP HUNTE

14. Cruseo

And the young people would say that you are Old and resistance to the changing dynamics of the time. Listen! The gay, lesbian, and transgender agenda is real and it makes no sense pretending that it does not exist or somehow we can ignore it, when it is the changing dynamics of the world in which we are living.

15. I think we have provide our young people the critical thinking tools, rather than the antiquated method of memorizing and regurgitating what they have been taught.

16. “Strategy: Verla needs to accept that 2023 is a losing year for the DLP. Though the DLP should run nationwide certain seats should be heavily targeted;”

‘Sounds good on paper.’ It’s easy to make assumptions without ‘testing’ the mood of the constituency.

Verla was ‘knocking around’ the DLP before officially joining the party in 1996. She was unable convince the people of Christ Church West to be their representative in the 2013 and 2018 general elections.
    Switching from that constituency to “pledge allegiance” to St. Lucy, perhaps because she is the DLP’s president and St. Lucy is perceived to be a DEMS ‘stronghold’ and therefore a ‘sure seat,’ may not necessarily work in her favour.
    Remember, George Pilgrim and the DEMS believed St. John was a ‘sure seat’ in 2018 as well.

Because one may not be hearing of certain people since 2018, does not mean they haven’t been working tirelessly in their respective constituencies. Ironically, yesterday evening some friends and I were having a similar discussion. In the group were S, a male and J, a female, who are both supporters of the BLP. While the ‘rest of us’ expressed disagreement or disappointment with certain actions undertaken by the BEES, both S and J found various reasons to support them.

Gline Clarke is no longer in elective politics, so, I’m wondering why his name was included in the ‘8.’ However, we also discussed the seemingly quietness of Neil Rowe and Sonia Browne. I believe if Rowe contests the St. Michael North West seat in 2023, he will lose. His record so far as the representative has been abysmal and I’ve heard constituents have been making complaints against him. one of which is his apparent dislike for elderly people. Perhaps that maybe one of the reasons he was removed from the Ministry of People Empowerment and Elder Affairs.

J argued Sonia Browne has been doing an excellent job. My response was, if so, then it’s a very well kept secret. I also believe Atherley will lose, if he decides to ‘run.’

Maybe it’s a bit too early to speculate, but the BLP will not win 30-0 again in 2023.

It’s a topic that’s worth further discussion.

17. Dompey May 7, 2021 6:51 AM The gay, lesbian, and transgender agenda is real

The agenda is fullsplit and is a distraction, filling peoples heads with garbage and manipulating them to follow like sheep.

18. Crusoe

I think as religious people, we have a tendency to moralize on the kind of behaviour the Scripture deems Ungodly, but we fall short of recognizing the fact that there is high wall between Church and State as far as morality goes.

19. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“The agenda is fullsplit and is a distraction, filling peoples heads with garbage and manipulating them to follow like sheep.”

another topic among friends this morning UNDERSCORING that christianity/religion and MULTIPLE DISTRACTIONS BLINDED people to reality and their own heritage, that’s why we are seeing this massive slide into OBLIVION now in full FORCE….they were warned, they have BEEN WARNED FOR DECADES.

what they are not seeing is the engineers will SAVE THEMSELVES, deny EVERYTHING and leave the idiots who believed EVERYTHING they said ya should do as a sheep/sheeple, to their own devices, while they ride away with ALL THE MONEY they accumulated from the dumb and blind over the centuries, into the sunset….it’s called SURVIVAL…

the smalltime corrupt politicians tried it too, but they are ALL VERY LIKELY to end up in PRISON…because they don’t know their place, let’s hope ALL their helpers and those they COLLUDED WITH end up there too……lol

20. Dompey,

I get the position on religion vs state that you mention.

But science days that a dongle is a dongle and a purse is a purse.

This namby pamby that some people are ‘gender fluid’ is pure fullsplit.

21. Science says.

22. Crusoe

There is no dispute the fact that Science has been instrumental in move our human civilization forwards, but the one thing Science has been able to do, is to teach man Morals.

23. 🙂 call to David to create a Gender fluidity corner. It is long overdue 🙂

24. Mention gender fluidity and transexual and we go off track…
    https://youtu.be/cPeaU6HFqx8

25. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

Pacha, Miller and those who know who they are, am sure you have read this somewhere:

“In fact neo-colonialism is the victim of it’s own contradictions. In order to make it attractive to those upon whom it is practised it must be shown as capable of raising their living standards, but the economic objective of neo-colonialism is to keep those standards depressed in the interest of the developed countries.”

but how ironic, the little negros on the island and in around the Caribbean have no excuse, they control the political system, legislatures and judiciary and boast how good everything is, they are the greatest show on the earth, this, that and the other while running the same scam on the PEOPLE every decade for as long as they live…

don’t want to hear any of their cry me a river bullshit….I knew i was on the right path all along, all the no good pretenders do is change slave masters…ignorant, intellectually barren empty shells.

..i did not need to read that anywhere to know it as fact.

26. TheoGAzerts May 7, 2021 1:04 PM 🙂 call to David to create a Gender fluidity corner. It is long overdue

Hahahaha. I am not sure that David will ‘bend’ to your wishes.

27. TheoGAzerts May 7, 2021 1:35 PM

Ahahah. Always look twice, especially after four beers.

28. Hope you are having a great day.

It’s long, but worth the read. Think about it.

Baruch de Spinoza was a Dutch philosopher considered one of the great rationalists of 17th century philosophy, along with Descartes.

(Spinoza) : God would say:
    Stop praying. What I want you to do is go out into the world and enjoy your life. I want you to sing, have fun and enjoy everything I’ve made for you.

Stop going into those dark, cold temples that you built yourself and saying they are my house. My house is in the mountains, in the woods, rivers, lakes, beaches. That’s where I live and there I express my love for you.

Stop blaming me for your miserable life; I never told you there was anything wrong with you or that you were a sinner, or that your sexuality was a bad thing. Sex is a gift I have given you and with which you can express your love, your ecstasy, your joy. So don’t blame me for everything they made you believe.

Stop reading alleged sacred scriptures that have nothing to do with me. If you can’t read me in a sunrise, in a landscape, in the look of your friends, in your son’s eyes… ➤ you will find me in no book!

Stop asking me “will you tell me how to do my job?” Stop being so scared of me. I do not judge you or criticize you, nor get angry, or bothered. I am pure love.

Stop asking for forgiveness, there’s nothing to forgive. If I made you… I filled you with passions, limitations, pleasures, feelings, needs, inconsistencies… free will. How can I blame you if you respond to something I put in you? How can I punish you for being the way you are, if I’m the one who made you? Do you think I could create a place to burn all my children who behave badly for the rest of eternity? What kind of god would do that?

Respect your peers and don’t do what you don’t want for yourself. All I ask is that you pay attention in your life, that alertness is your guide. My beloved, this life is not a test, not a step on the way, not a rehearsal, nor a prelude to paradise. This life is the only thing here and now and it is all you need.

I have set you absolutely free, no prizes or punishments, no sins or virtues, no one carries a marker, no one keeps a record You are absolutely free to create in your life. Heaven or hell.

➤ I can’t tell you if there’s anything after this life but I can give you a tip. Live as if there is not. As if this is your only chance to enjoy, to love, to exist. So, if there’s nothing after, then you will have enjoyed the opportunity I gave you. And if there is, rest assured that I won’t ask if you behaved right or wrong, I’ll ask. Did you like it? Did you have fun? What did you enjoy the most? What did you learn?…

Stop believing in me; believing is assuming, guessing, imagining. I don’t want you to believe in me, I want you to believe in you. I want you to feel me in you when you kiss your beloved, when you tuck in your little girl, when you caress your dog, when you bathe in the sea.

Stop praising me, what kind of egomaniac God do you think I am? I’m bored being praised. I’m tired of being thanked. Feeling grateful? Prove it by taking care of yourself, your health, your relationships, the world. Express your joy! That’s the way to praise me.

Stop complicating things and repeating as a parakeet what you’ve been taught about me.
    What do you need more miracles for? So many explanations?
    The only thing for sure is that you are here, that you are alive, that this world is full of wonders.
    – Spinoza

29. Oh shirt! Either Dompey is getting smart or I am getting stupid!

Church and State must be separate and people need to stop imposing their BELIEFS on others.

You guys know NOTHING about the workings of other people’s bodies. You can speak only of yours. And scientific knowledge is not static but dynamic.

Me? I believe what people tell me about their own bodies and their own feelings.

Gender fluidity does not affect me one way or the other and I do not understand why older people are so passionate in their baseless opinions.

These people have been around for as far back in history as we have decent records to examine.

They are not going anywhere.

Get over it!

It is a distraction only for those who wish to impose their feelings on others. How really does it affect others?

This is the “agenda” such people are pushing – full human rights for humans.
    Allow the people full HUMAN rights and move on already! LET IT GO! Easiest thing to do, really once you stop feeling and think.

And to so-called Christians and others so influenced without their knowledge – try focussing on real problems!

P.S. Anybody who thinks this is a “first world” problem is either not seeing straight or thinking straight.

I can walk and chew gum at the same time. I can fight discrimination on the basis of race and gender at the same time. I have done so not formally but in all of my everyday life. AND, though it does not affect me at present, I am hoping to have grandchildren.

Who knows if they will be gender fluid? Must I wait until then to advocate for their rights?

This is not a thought of a sheep but rather a person who did what many have not done. I have observed and I have listened to those so affected and I have thought deeply.

Some of you guys are making noise about recent suicides among young people. My son actually used to chat with one of the victims. He was told by the best friend of the victim that he was homosexual. My son did not even know. He said he was on the quiet side but did not seem depressed.

Many others worldwide have taken the same route when faced with the prejudice of the narrow minded who often include their parents.

I shall not be a part of their problem. My conscience shall be clear.

30. I like the thoughts of Spinoza. Isn’t it amazing that some come much closer and have an understanding of God than Bible thumpers do.

On fluidity/transexual/homosexual…
    My most pressing thought/concern is survival of my son.

His sexual orientation/preferences has never cost me a moment of sleep. I want him alive. (For those who read more than is written – str8).

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar
    WURA-War-on-U

First they gotta get rid of their VOLUNTARY INDOCTRINATION,,,before… they can see what’s right in front of them….they can’t blame anyone else for their self-created mental block, they have no excuse, everyone BOASTS of being educated, even if not as advanced as it should be, but sufficient for them to understand that they are holding on to and carrying forward dead traditions, just as dead as the devisers..

32. TheoGazerts

I think God and Nature designed man and woman in a specific way, and when where is a deviation from the way in which the both of them were designed by God and Nature, is troubles the deepest part of man’s being.

33. 1/1
    Why are there deviations in what a God who does not make mistakes created.

Perhaps the god you worship and created is not the same as the Creator.

Have a great day.

34. Some of us create God in our own image. We give him our prejudices and then we explain him to others as we have created him.

The final step in our creation is then to search the Bible for verses that support our prejudices.

If you want to see how people have twisted the Bible to suit their own message then google silly phrases such as ”
    What does the Bible say about Bill Gates?
    What does the Bible say about self-driven cars?
    What does the Bible say about atomic energy?

Make random stuff up, google it and don’t be surprised that someone has already provided ‘a response from the Bible’.

35. 555dubstreet Avatar

We and all living things are all a part of God’s spirit and God’s creation and when we pass we return back into that source of universal spirit. God exists in the space between our breaths in the dance of life. All religions and all deities are different forms of the same universe or God.

36. I have two regrets
    (1). Not staying in Barbados and becoming a politician
    (2) Not becoming a pastor
    Thieving and collecting tithes would be my hobby. Wary would be here 48hours a day. Donville would be small time, not making the news.
    (Would be funny if I return home as a politician d the Blogmaster roll out my nonsense(

https://academic.logos.com/the-covid-vaccine-has-666-written-all-over-it-and-why-that-doesnt-matter-according-to-revelation/

37. TheO,

They get rather tied up when questioned.

Their concept of God makes no sense whatsoever.

38. When you strip away all the disillusionment of all the false promises lies and shenanigans, then you are left with the opposite where everything is real and true.

Beware of those promoting robotics and automata technologies as they want to replace humans with robots and machines and “they” want to shaft you up the bum with no vaseline same as it ever has been which will hurt big time.
    Never trust a politicishen. Only trust a cunt as far as you can spit at it. And, you can quote me on that.
    Sri Nanda-Nandanastakam, Password

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KCf4_NxtY7M

39. There is no way to stop the march of the robots. Best way forward is to be part of making them.

New jobs will emerge as old jobs disappear.

40. 555dubstreet Avatar

Donna

Are you a robot with artificial intelligence, not everything is binary logic mindless rebuttals, human life is more nuanced and messages need to sink in and percolate into the wirings of the mind for deeper meanings and wisdoms

41. 555dubstreet Avatar

When you work in the field of technology and robotics you have to do what you are told and cannot chose project work based on your own morality. Your works can be weaponised into drone warfare calling non-whites like bug splats.

42. 555dubstreet Avatar

s/b killing* non-whites like bug splats

Since 2001 USA UK Israel triumvirate of warmongers have been droning muslims non-stop in PNAC war as a daily operation 24/7/365 and have developed next generation of smart drones and killing machines. They also implemented a NWO spy state to record everything you say under pretence of national security, and are now pretending they need to hack into encrypted email messaging to stop pedophiles.

43. In the US there replaced the Security Guard at the major food chains with the Security Guard robot.

In the US they are replacing the Cashier with the Self Service Machine.

44. @ Crusoe,

Cuba is one step further to rolling out a covid-19 vaccine. And remains a country that truly punches above its weight.

https://www.theweek.co.uk/news/world-news/americas/952399/cuba-on-verge-becoming-covid-vaccine-world-leader

45. Whatever! You gave your opinion and I gave mine. You call it mindless rebuttals! I say everything on earth can be used for good and evil. Robots are no different.

Neither is the internet that you are currently using.

The battle of good versus evil is a daily battle. Part of life.

46. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The problem with losing one’s identity and culture through THEFT.

““It means nothing if phenotypically Afrikan people continue to exist physically if they have been separated from their own identities and culture. If we look at the plight of Afrikan people, on the Afrikan continent and in the Diaspora, trying to adapt to alien cultures and values systems, the danger of trying to be what we aren’t should become obvious.â€
    -Burnett Kwadwo Gallman””

47. Teaching of coding, robotics will positively impact development

Coding and robotics will play a significant role in changing the face of education on this island.

This is the view shared by Principal of Erdiston Teachers’ Training College, Dr. Ramona Archer-Bradshaw, noting that this transition could only spell great things for the job sector and the country’s economy as a whole.

Speaking as 19 instructors from tertiary level educational institutions showcased the coding skills learnt during a month long workshop at the training college last Friday evening, she noted that vital developments were being made to the traditional educational system.

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/news/teaching-coding-robotics-will-positively-impact-development

48. William Skinner Avatar

@ et al
    It’s pure gibberish to talk about the jobs lost to technology without recognising that it has created millions. We believe we have the best beaches, hotels and we have the best educational system. If we had placed more interest in Edutech, we would not have been found lacking when COVID struck , as far as online teaching is concerned. As usual, we turned Edutech into a political football.There is no reason why every single child in our public primary schools should not have a computer provided by the state on his/her desk. That is a basic tool if we seriously want to talk about technology. Even if the child has no electricity at home; he should at least have a computer at school. This should have been achieved at least twenty years ago.
    The fundamental problem with our country is the fact that we don’t know what we are educating people for. There is no real connection between national goals and education. Fifty yras ago, you could actually walk out of school with three O’ levels and find a job quite easily. in the Public Service. Sixty years ago, we could leave primary school and get a job as a clerk in Broad Street.
    That was then. The system was relevant then. Today, we have high school students who cannot write a simple composition and have not mastered basic arithmetic. How can they compete ?
    Time to get real , either radically reform the system to our socio economic goals or we just mekking plenty sport. The very first step is to take elitism out of the system by abolishing the gas chamber known as the Eleven Plus. Replace it with a system of continuous assessment. We need to consider a name change for both Queens and Harrison College. Its similar to removing Nelson ; change the image. Change the mindset. On speech day the students who excel in the arts, sports, agricultural projects etc should be given the same prominence in the press. You are a good dancer, artist cratfs student you also get a Barbados Scholarship. All schools should be mandated from the primary level to have highly organised credit unions, teaching children the importance of individual wealth creation and management .
    More to come.
    “The purpose of education is not to make men carpenters but to make carpenters of men.” Frederick Douglas.