Submitted as a comment by Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV on the Minimum Wage (Yes) Timing (No?) blog
The findings of the Minimum Wage Board should really put the specific amount of 8.50/hr min wage in its true perspective. The fact that it is even below their 10/hr recommendation and even below the 12/hr (inflation adjusted) “living wage” just convinces me more that the $8.50 should be implemented sooner rather than later. I may be a little sensitive to timing (in that i would have considered an additional 3-6 months after April 1st) but I don’t support it delayed until Jan 2022 (as Edward Clarke was suggesting). THAT would be taking a joke too far.
My reasoning supporting the specific increase is as follows:-
- Govt is looking for ways to stimulate the economy post lockdowns, post COVID-19 pandemic. To put it simply, businesses can only survive if there is spending in the economy. The consumer plays just as important a role in the economy as the supplier. Min wage workers constitutes a small part of consumers. In a sense govt is trying to increase their participation in the economy by increasing their ability to spend.
- Inflation raises OTHER COSTS of doing business, wages can be lumped into those costs. It is a cyclic effect. Businesses usually respond to inflation by raising their prices, labour responds by requesting wage increases to deal with increased prices, wages subsequently increase. For most economies once wage rates closely matches inflation rates there is no adverse effect to the economy or to individual businesses as profit margins are maintained. Only those businesses that have employees working below 8.50/hr would be directly affected in the short term. The private sector is giving the perception that it would be a large shock to the “cost of doing business”. The point here is that we are dealing with NARROW BAND of the minimum wage and not all wages. The 8.50\ hr rate is below the inflation adjusted amount, it still suits businesses more than the worker, but is probably considered due to the economic effects of COVID-19.
- The 75% ($1.50) increase in bus fare in 2019 was REASON ENOUGH to raise the minimum wage. It is a cost that those earning minimum wage mostly pays and CANNOT reasonably avoid paying with a cheaper alternative. Pre 2019, bus fare for the purpose of GETTING TO & FROM WORK ONLY was $2 x 2 x 5 = $20 (2 bus daily for 5 days work week) or $40 (4 buses daily). Post 2019 it is 3.5 x 2 x 5 = $35 (2 buses) or $70 (4 buses). That is a max $30 increase in bus fare out of a min wage of $6.50 x 40 hrs = $260 that hasn’t changed since 2012. The point here is that the increase in min. wage is 2 years OVERDUE.
- It has been 9 years since the last increase in minimum wage. The party in power addressed the minimum wage as a “manifesto promise” in 2018. This govt announced as recently as Dec 2020 that the minimum wage would be “addressed” by April 1, 2021. The point here is that this should constitute reasonable notice and reasonable expectation that a min wage raise was coming in the near term. The private sector probably dismissed it as “politicking”.
- Businesses would have benefited from the reduction in corporate tax rates in 2019/2020. This would have given them more “financial space” to handle increased costs and “erosion” in profits. The point here is that this financial space wasn’t even needed if the normal inflation- price- profit relationship was maintained.
April.Fools joke
LoL 😂😂😂
Dear DLP Antigen,
thank you very much for the detailed explanation of the plan of government.
Please do not forget to post the draft constitution for our Presidential Republic (People’s Republic of Barbados) on BU in advance as well, so that we can advise our Supreme Leader.
Happy Easter to Mia Mottley, General Bosstic, Lord Marshal Dale and all other patriots!
If Mia had the people interest at heart she would have placed a well thought out stimulus pkg on the table
This 8.50 cannot help those who are out of work and presently struggling
The biggest dry bone ever tossed out to the masses
What a joke
@ et al
The government and especially the Minister of Labour must be supported by those who are in the neutral political corner on this issue. We are incensed that there is such embarrassing opposition , to increasing the minimum wage . The simple fact that any Black Barbadian, could even think about opposing a wage increase for his or her brothers and sisters working for $250 BDs per week or less, shows that we have a long, long way to go and a rough , rough road to travel. (Jimmy Cliff)
To put it mildly anybody in a black skin who opposes this increase, should be shamed and driven out of any community, where they now live.
@William
The vast majority of comment on this matter is that the minimum wage should be higher and consideration should be given to delaying implementation. Where is the opposition to the minimum wage unless the blogmaster misunderstands your position.
I am ashamed of this paltry increase yes I say paltry after more than ten years govt and private sector fleecing the populas which includes fees taxes and cost of living expenses
Govt giving huge concessions and tax breaks and tax waivers to the private sector
And yes of recent cruise liners sucking off the nipples of govt with govt voiding these liners docking fees
Govt having the largest cabinet hiring all kind of consultants at astronomical fees
Why must anyone not asked of govt to do better for the populace
Not all are foolish to accept a paltry dry bone when one have a memory which serves purpose as a reminder as to how govt has made sure that those who sit high and mighty at the top of the pyramid are well feed while the poor and lowly waits for the crumbs that falls off the masters table
8.50 he’ll No
Stimulus pkgs first followed by a increase of wages of appreciable amount
Dry bones not going to cut it
There is no downside to the minimum wage as it will help also to stimulate the economy. With inflation running where it people need the increase.
@William Skinner April 1, 2021 8:23 AM
Very well said. The obscenity of the opposition is simply boundless.
Now there are already two neutral commentators who notice this.
5 flying fish for twenty Barbados dollars.
angela cox April 1, 2021 5:52 AM #: “If Mia had the people interest at heart she would have placed a well thought out stimulus pkg on the table. This 8.50 cannot help those who are out of work and presently struggling.”
There you go again, being disingenuous as usual.
You are combining an increase in the hourly minimum rate with a ‘stimulus package,’ which are two separate and distinct issues, as your basis to criticize ‘government.’
However, I’ll ask you once again, if you’re “ashamed of the paltry increase,” then, please ‘tell’ BU what HOURLY RATE, in your opinion, would be fair, reasonable and “economically feasible at this time?”
I meant anybody who opposes the increase . I never indicated I meant on BU or anywhere else.
My post was very clear. That’s my personal opinion
William Skinner April 1, 2021 8:23 AM #: “The government and especially the Minister of Labour must be supported by those who are in the neutral political corner on this issue. We are incensed that there is such embarrassing opposition , to increasing the minimum wage.”
@ Mr. Skinner
I support the proposed increase in the hourly minimum wage rate, even though I believe it should’ve been a bit higher. However, $8.50 is a basis upon which we could build for future negotiations.
In his March 28, 2021 1:45 PM contribution a wise man wrote, “…….then let’s fight for $8.50 today and continue our fight for a higher wage. What we should not do is to rule out $8.50 today and then ten years down the road, we are still fighting to raise that $6.00 for $10.00 and glad to accept $8.50 as a compromise.”
I agree with him 100% and ‘couldn’t have ‘said it better myself.’
Unfortunately, you will have those individuals who would oppose just for the sake of opposing, even if they have to ‘fabricate’ things along the way or ‘enter the realm of absurdity’ to support their opposing views.
Because, some of them, in their ‘narrow minded way of thinking,’ believe to support the proposed increase, means supporting the BLP.
One BU regular, for example, has been ‘saying’ ‘government’ should have presented a ‘stimulus package,” (which is a topic for another discussion), rather than increase the minimum wage, while ignoring, whereas stimulus packages are short-term solutions, progressive increases in minimum wages would bring long-term benefits.
Government could beg and borrow to ” jump start ” the economy with construction and public works projects.
Ataxia
One BU regular, for example, has been ‘saying’ ‘government’ should have presented a ‘stimulus package,” (which is a topic for another discussion), rather than increase the minimum wage, while ignoring, whereas stimulus packages are short-term solution
Xxxxxxxcccc.
Here is an example of how you pick and choose your words to make your points seem convincing
I said govt should first stimulate the economy with stimulus pkgs which injects immediate financial support for households and economy followed by a wage increase within a couple months later
In my opinion the wage increase cannot do both with immediate effect
@ Artax
I totally agree that it should be higher. Quite frankly, I agree with those who say a minimum wage should bring workers $ 400 / $440 per week.
We should hope that can be achieved in the next three to five years.
However, the simple truth is that neither the BLP or DLP , has any moral or economic advantage in this matter.
They have both allowed this exploitative situation to be with us after nearly sixty years of independence.
It’s a shame that we have workers earning $250 and less.
As for the party loyalists , it’s business as usual. No worries there.
@William
You are aware of you push the minimum wage pass the equilibrium wage it will have a domino effect of forcing prices up in categories of workers?
angela cox April 1, 2021 12:50 PM #: “I said govt should first stimulate the economy with stimulus pkgs which injects immediate financial support for households and economy followed by a wage increase within a couple months later
In my opinion the wage increase cannot do both with immediate effect.”
YOU ARE A LIAR!!!
@ Mr. Skinner
Blame must also be apportioned to the trade union movement as well. More so especially when you take into consideration BLP and DLP parliamentarians have been also members of the BWU, NUPW, CTUSAB, BUT and BSTU.
Surely in their dual roles of representing people at the constituency and labour levels, those politicians should have addressed the minimum wage issue years ago.
The question should not be merely numeric. That calculus by and of itself is wholly meaningless.
The real question should relate to the surplus which workers create.
That is the question never considered. Thus the arithmetic of nominal wages can’t and will never mek sense.
@David: “You are aware of you push the minimum wage pass the equilibrium wage it will have a domino effect of forcing prices up in categories of workers?
But I would argue we are nowhere near passing the equilibrium yet. “The market” can bear more. I understand that I have to be careful what I say in some contexts, but Economics has in the past been called “The Dismal Science.
John Nash (even though insane) did some seminal work showing that Adam Smith’s analysis was overly simplified, and didn’t properly take cooperation into the equations.
P.S. Those interested might want to watch the ongoing Unionization efforts of Amazon Employees in the “Great US of A”. And the resistance they have faced, including advanced AI monitoring of and response to all comms.
@Chris
Unfortunately the numbers and considerations used to determine the minimum rate is not public info. Until it is we are all opining from the seats of our pants.
“You are aware of you push the minimum wage pass the equilibrium wage it will have a domino effect of forcing prices up in categories of workers?”
The 2008 Global Financial Crises had the domino effect of pushing wages down and not giving rises for 10+ years, the 1991 and 2003 Iraq wars also had the same effect on job markets when the world economies went into recessions.
Staff are liabilities for companies not assets and are dispensable. Nowadays companies want contractors or zero hour workers in gig economy as they have no rights and are paid for daily tasks required on an as needed basis or short project work and terminated on completion.
Relocation / migration / outsourcing is another way of saying redundancies for half the staff.
One problem with minimum wage is that is what companies offer people and underpay them for their work.
(the wage increase)…”in my mind is symbolic of a govt beliving in the philosophy of a barbados being a society more than an economy.” © ac August 17, 2016
“As our wise foreparents taught us, ‘ A little with content, is great gain” © Fractured BLP January 20, 2016
“For those who are not philosophical inclined it would be very hard to understand the decision making of the PM.” © ac September 14, 2015
“Hardly would any one with an an objective conscientious frame of mind expect small economies to have a quick fix program in place which can meet the needs of a civilized nation” © angela Skeete November 23, 2017
Here endeth today’s lesson.
@ NorthernObserver
https://media.tenor.com/images/b056d7d835ff43ee381a6efbbf1f14db/tenor.gif
William…they are being warned again about the dependency tourism they are still pimping behind …the people should remove themselves the first chance they get…
“by Marlon Madden
Officials of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) are warning that most Caribbean economies, especially those relying heavily on tourism, could suffer from significant long-term scarring as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.
They have warned that urgent steps were therefore needed towards diversification of the tourism sector and engagement in sustainable use of ocean resources by increasing investment in shipping, fisheries and aquaculture.
This was outlined in a document prepared this month by Krishna Srinivasan, IMF Deputy Director in the Western Hemisphere; Sónia Muñoz, Division Chief of the Caribbean Division; and Ding Dong, IMF Deputy Division Chief of the Western Hemisphere in their March IMF country focus.”
Yep…hotel workers definitely need to get out of this trap ASAP and DETER young people from getting involved….don’t listen to the lying government, listen to people who actually know how to crunch the numbers…without fudging…and of course all the hoteliers will jump ship and don’t pay severance or benefits…just like those $2.50 US an hour slave master wannabes on the harbour road who jump ship and leave owing NIS millions and millions….time to wake up and leave the government with the mess they created LONG BEFORE COVID.
put yourselves and your families FIRST because black governments NEVER WILL.
“They have also outlined that despite significant funding from the international community, the region was facing a financing gap of about US$4 billion at present, as they warned that the risk of natural disasters could widen that gap in coming months.
“Many Caribbean countries risk becoming COVID-19 economic long-haulers. Much the same as some patients could suffer from lingering illnesses long after the coronavirus infection has passed, the pandemic’s economic fallout might be felt in the region long after the health emergency is controlled,” the document said.
“The reason is that most of its countries rely heavily on tourism. Due to their small size and limited room for manoeuvre, Caribbean economies were among the most affected by the pandemic.
With annual hotel stay plummeting by 70 per cent and cruise ship travel completely halted, tourism-dependent countries contracted by 9.8 per cent in 2020.
Commodity exporters in the region (Trinidad and Tobago, Suriname and Guyana) were less affected and saw mild contraction of 0.2 per cent,” it pointed out.
They pointed out that given the stagnation of the tourism sector as a result of renewed waves of the COVID-19 virus in key source markets “this could lead to significant long-term scarring – loss of jobs hitting mostly youth, women and less educated workers; increases in poverty and inequality; potential closings and bankruptcies of hotels, resorts and associated tourism services”.
@WWoU: “They have warned that urgent steps were therefore needed towards diversification of the tourism sector and engagement in sustainable use of ocean resources by increasing investment in shipping, fisheries and aquaculture.
No mention of training-up of the young in skills like software development and system administration?
Becoming self-sufficient in food production (beyond simply fishing, which is itself constrained in its output when relying on the “Commons” that is the Oceans)? What about greenhouses? Shade houses? Growing mushrooms (simply needs cool caves and excrement)?
Accelerating the use of PhotoVoltaics and other RE tech to reduce the need to import liquified and/or gasified long-dead plants and animals to burn to convert into electrons? (Yes, we need to import the “kit” for PV/RE. But it’s generally a one-off cost.)
Sorry for the rant. But IMO we need to listen to all counsel. And then make our own decisions.
“Growing mushrooms (simply needs cool caves and excrement)?”
As one who grows these little gems in commercial quantities, only the shade is required, with good ventilation. Decaying wood and sargassum could likely provide a very healthy media.
“No mention of training-up of the young in skills like software development and system administration?”
DLP governemnt was told that 10 years ago…they were not under any austerity…and refused to do right by the young in Barbados…..rudely and openly ignored advice…..in comes BLP and same old…they waste tons of money on stupidity, consultants etc that could go toward training a whole generation of coders, web developers and allround programmers….etc…
the wasted billions if used wisely would have had top class coders in wordwide demand …but the pedigree in the parliament don’t think like that…i know coders, etc from 2010 calling shots, deciding which country and company they will work for….and rejecting others…
PLT left Canada and started a coding program that would compliment the programs in the schools, which need an upgrade….and the governments somehow don’t think it’s urgent, they pay lipservice to it but am yet to hear anything about A SCHOOL FOR CODING etc….i posted about this on here for years…
we just can’t make them care about the population who elected them…the population has to rid them from their lives..
Jamaica, Trinidad and a number of countries have pushed that agenda…it brings in much needed foreign exchange…a very serious money maker….imagine having 25,000 or more coders, web developers both front and backend engineers etc…..they won’t even remember what tourism is….as long as they don’t work their control freak nonsense on these people, because they do not tolerate colonial idiots….they don’t need to, they don’t need them.
N0
U can go back to any thing ac said 5 years ago
Couldn’t care less factors today dictates differently
There are people who are now hurting
Govt steps up to the plate and throw them a dry bone
People of your ilk expects them to be happy
A suggestion of a stimulus pkg got wanna fly off the fence
I guess wanna belly full but low end wagers must eat the crumbs falling off the table
The govt is not shy on paying top dollar to consultants so why can’t govt put some money in the people hand which can bring positive immediate effect to the people and the economy
People are hurting
Yuh all have no shame
@David: “Unfortunately the numbers and considerations used to determine the minimum rate is not public info. Until it is we are all opining from the seats of our pants.
While I accept that the underlying data may not be known to the public, the trends /should/ be obvious to anyone. Particularly those guiding the young in what career path options can be explored.
For example… Being able to say “foreach ( @Array ) { Process ( $_ ) }” (Perl) might be more valuable than being able to say “Would you like your bags brought up to your room, sir?” (English).
We can sit forever and hope that this current system has balances.
We speak of equilibrium in a vacuum. At the end of the day , the simple fact is that the black working class Barbadians have been ruthlessly exploited by the inheritors of essentially wealth created by slavery.
In order to radically change that economic system, we have to change how the country’s wealth is distributed.
@ Pacha
While nobody of progressive mind can disagree with your position. A position that has been promoted by progressive black nationalists since the 60s and mercilessly destroyed by Barrow and all who have followed him including Mottley.
However you know full well that when we defend a rise in the minimum wage , it’s to put some additional income in the pockets of the working class. Admittedly , it is a shame that we have to actually support a minimum wage that still falls below , what the workers should be getting.
@ Artax
You are more than correct. It is obvious that we are electing nothing more than sell outs, who don’t really give a damn about their black brothers and sisters. There are also enemies of the people aided and abetted by those who benefit form their nefarious activities.
This is the point that @ WURA makes daily on BU.
Increase in national wage after ten years shows a miniscule amount so small added to the 6.25 that those who supports the increase by 2 25 ought to be ashamed
Actually annually is about 23.5 cents increase per year over a span of ten years
Yes I say ten years because this figure would cover a ten year period going forward
MARI
How much the increase under the DLP worked out to be?
@ Chris,
Technical programming development roles in IT are not necessarily interesting or lucrative jobs and are still dependent on working for other people’s businesses. People would be better off developing their own apps and websites like facebook and other social media platforms.
More exciting vocational jobs seem to use technology for creative business means and hobbies such as music production, event promotions, cookery, yoga, and fitness classes on youtube, online retail, etc, people can build up profiles on social media and then get sponsorship deals from business.
@555DS… I both agree, and disagree, with you at the same time.
In my experience, knowing how to code is incredibly empowering. It also helps one manage programmers; when you know another’s job deeply you can ensure the job was delivered correctly.
Separately… Your mention of “more exciting vocational jobs” is also generally known as “influencers”, or leveraging on the same. Working with established Social Media platforms like Fakebook and YouTube et al. Still seems like a general dependency, from my point of view.
But, at the end of the day, I generally agree with you. There is so much opportunity out there!
P.S. BTW, I actually do not recommend Software Development as a profession. It can be very lonely. Some have dreams of modeling n-Dimensional problems spaces in their sleep and wake up to compiler errors. Seriously…
@William
The simple point the blogmaster is trying to make is: you move the minimum wage pass a point and it negates the benefit we want that lower category of worker to get. We will know soon enough.
My background was software development and it was dry and boring with no people interaction and kills your sense of humour.
That’s why I think creative arts using technology would be more fun.
@555dubstreet: “My background was software development and it was dry and boring with no people interaction and kills your sense of humour. That’s why I think creative arts using technology would be more fun.
I’m sorry to hear that your experience with Software Development was less than stellar.
Please trust me when I tell you it does not always have to be that way. Please see https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=24839 and https://www.mersenneforum.org/showthread.php?t=24646 as examples.
IMO Software Development can be one of the most creative arts one undertakes. Literally, there are no constraints!
@David: “The simple point the blogmaster is trying to make is: you move the minimum wage pass a point and it negates the benefit we want that lower category of worker to get.
With deep respect… Not everyone agrees with this argument. Could you please define “the point” beyond which the equation fails and it becomes a negative on Macro Economics?
Further, please note that this is a “minimum”. If the labour market is healthy then people will actually be paid more as Companies compete to retain talent.
The minimum wage is just a benchmark.
In some categories of workers that will be an entry level wage. This does not mean they will have to work for that wage for the rest of their lives or until the government move it up again.
There is increases trough promotions and …
The ones to negotiate a higher wage between the workers and their are their employers are the unions
@ WURA-War-on-UApril 1, 2021 4:15 PM
“PLT left Canada and started a coding program that would compliment the programs in the schools, which need an upgrade….and the governments somehow don’t think it’s urgent, they pay lipservice to it but am yet to hear anything about A SCHOOL FOR CODING etc….i posted about this on here for years…”
What about starting at the bottom in an attempt to right the wrongs of injustice displayed at the top and meted out to those badly in need of a leg up on the socio-economic ladder of survival in the coming age of a knowledge-based economy?
How about PLT submitting a proposal to the new “Advisory” Board of the damaged Government Industrial School which would involve the introduction of a “coding program” for those victims of black elitism in the so-called modern social and educational system(s)?
Wouldn’t such a move go a very long way in improving the life chances of those who suffer at the hands of a socio-educational system which ‘condemns’ to a life of failure those unlucky victims merely as a result of the conditions of their birth and rearing?
Then we would know from the ‘Minister’s’ response whether he and his colleagues on his Advisory Board are serious about putting their mouth of “positive” change where the taxpayers’ money ‘lies’.
@Miller: “How about PLT submitting a proposal to the new “Advisory” Board of the damaged Government Industrial School which would involve the introduction of a “coding program” for those victims of black elitism in the so-called modern social and educational system(s)?
Now that would be an interesting experiment that I would invest some time in. Course development, or just peer review.
Peter. What says you? Is that a hill worth fighting for?
@ Miller, @ WURA
There are many citizens with skills who can help the youth. However, when they try, the opportunistic politicians step in and try to hog the show. We like to pretend that its easy to be involved but truth is that the country is heavily politically polarized and this causes , well intentioned citizens, to be very skeptical of stepping forward. In the mean time, we have a lot of fake charities that are really covers for politicians and the BLPDLP.
I can say publicly, that a former prime minister, once told a community group of which I was involved, that if we did not vote for his candidate, we would lose the pasture on which we were playing a number of sports.
you have learned well. Keep moving the goal posts.
You put your foot in your mouth, up your leg to the hip, on the minimum wage issue.
Even caused @skinner to question your skin tone, and whom you are really interested in.
So let’s change the focus now, because “timing” has been a dismal failure for you, to stimulus.
“A suggestion of a stimulus pkg got wanna fly off the fence”…
Who is wanna? Have I said anything related to stimulus?
I expect within the ‘fullness of time’ some form of stimulus will be announced. Then we can note who flies off the fence.
Software development for Corporations is like white collar factory work, where you replace business experts with machines in fields like accounting, banking, back office processing, manufacturing, enterprise resource planning, key performance indicators, management reporting, airlines, ticketing, building trade, tendering of contracts.
Outsourcing work in Asia is fun if you like visiting Asia.
Silicon Valley jobs seem more radical and hippyish in internet fields.
“I can say publicly, that a former prime minister, once told a community group of which I was involved, that if we did not vote for his candidate, we would lose the pasture on which we were playing a number of sports.”
lowcrawling, smalltime and petty, can’t stand them, who would want these limited intellect leading them anywhere except for slaves and yardfowls….they are an embarrassment, we don’t have to wonder for long why the island is in such a corroded state and the social fabric decayed. there have been those calling for the bigger countries to take over management of the island…They will always have that low mentality of go nowhereism as it relates to those who look just like them..
Bajans in the Diaspora sent home more than 376 million dollars last year up to October.( page 4 of Barbados Today )..
Hopefully some of that money has been helping subsidise those working for minimum wage.
As you know this is how many families on the island are able to have a reasonable living. The barrels for example. It is a pity the barrel trade is being seen as a revenue opportunity by the Port Authority.
@ Hants
“
Bajans in the Diaspora sent home more than 376 million dollars last year up to October.( page 4 of Barbados Today )..”
Really now. You really mean they sent home more than one million a day ?
Good grief, who would have thought ……
But, after the show is over……,
“ @Hants
As you know this is how many families on the island are able to have a reasonable living. The barrels for example. It is a pity the barrel trade is being seen as a revenue opportunity by the Port Authority.”
There is nothing quite like reality.
But, after the show is over…….,
our towns mushroom company that produced 200000 pounds a week week shut down after 40 years mold, lost millions trying to get rid of it.
“Congress of Trade Unions and Staff Associations of Barbados (CTUSAB), Dennis De Peiza,”
always selling out..
Dennis Depeiza’s position is one not well thought out and frankly a DISGRACE as a president of a Congress of TRADE UNONS and STAFF ASSOCIATIONS. The private sector is using the pandemic “smoke screen” as a means to FURTHER DELAY a raise in a cost that did not really match inflation especially when the DLP formed the government between 2008-2018. They are using simplistic argument of increased minimum wage- increase costs- increase prices when they have ALREADY USED INFLATION AS A BASIS TO RAISE PRICES since 2012. The fact is that the $6.50\ hr amount is woefully INADEQUATE as a MINIMUM WAGE even before the pandemic set in March 2020, and even in May 2018 when the BLP assumed power.
For the Barbados economy, minimum wages offset the overwhelming power of businesses (as the purchasers of labour) to be able to set the price of labour (wages). That price will almost invariably be below the “living wage”. Min. wage in Barbados is always a “compromise” set at the level above what purchasers want it to be and below what suppliers( workers) want it to be set at.
To those relevant businesses, they would have “gotten away” by legally paying a wage AT or JUST ABOVE the legally set $6.50/hr when they were “making money” by closely matching prices with inflation’s effect on other costs since 2012. The DLP froze public sector wages for most of the 10 years in power, the private sector follow suit. Businesses would have been HAPPY that there was LESS PRESSURE to raise wages during that time. Within the 10 years, we have seen an increase in taxes and the imposition of the NSRL. The NSRL has since been repealed, businesses did not immediately respond with reduced prices. The BLP raised bus fares in April 2019. to which most people accept was overdue. In short workers were savaged ESPECIALLY those working at the MINIMUM WAGE LEVEL since 2012!!!!!!
It is as Minster Colin Jordan stated, it is never the wrong time to do the right thing. THE RIGHT THING HAS TO BE DONE FOR THE MINIMUM WAGE EARNER IN BARBADOS!!!!!!!
The time determines what is right. The right thing done at the wrong time is wrong. We have to focus on the effect on the vulnerable who we claim we want to help.
@Vinny,
Your phrase has sent me down a strange lane.
Can “the wrong thing done at the right time be right”?
Is there ever a right time to do the wrong thing.
The Good Lord said “be fruitful and multiply”
I guess premarital sex is an example of doing the right thing at the wrong time.
You have sent me down a strange path. Hopefully, I can find my way back.
Yo
This blog get boring or what?
Nuff ” diaper changers” for the Queen Bee.
Allright denn.
It is what it is.
@Vincent or conversely is it right to continually allow the wrong thing to be maintained as far as the min wage earner is concerned. I’m talking about 6.25/ hr IN RELATION to $8.50, to $10.00 to $12. As long a the min wage stays low (at the 2012 rate) it suited businesses FAR more than the worker (consumer) in 2021. This was what was happening especially in the security sector where guards had to work ridiculous hours to get decent pay (which was barely above the $6.25\hr rate). This was the main issue behind the G4S dispute in Dec 2020 and “spilled over” to the general min wage being addressed.
As to timing i did state that 3 – 6 months after April would be my preference, with the reasonable assumption that the world would be (slowing) coming out from the pandemic and no more month long lockdowns be used to “impact” businesses in Barbados.
A great step oonly forpolitical yardfowls whose bread is buttered on both sides
Not for the poor and vulnerable who have been exploited for years and now being treated with an extra 2.25 bds in their pocket which they must grin and bear trying to buy goods in a highly inflated cost of living market and pay for other household commitments
to other household
A blessed morning to all.
It seems as if you have taken both sides of the discussion.
At times you seem to oppose the increase and at other times you want a larger increase
Can you suggest a number that would remove your concerns.
HAGD
Theo remind me what are both sides
angela cox April 4, 2021 7:00 AM #: “Not for the poor and vulnerable who have been exploited for years and now being treated with an extra 2.25 bds in their pocket which they must grin and bear trying to buy goods in a highly inflated cost of living market and pay for other household commitments.”
You love to criticize just for the sake of being critical, even if it means you having to into the realm of absurdity.
By ‘saying’ “poor and vulnerable” are “now being treated with an extra 2.25 bds in their pocket,” you’re being DISHONEST by PURPOSELY giving the impression that the proposed increase in minimum wages would increase the wages of someone working for $250 by $2.25……… to $252.25.
Then you used ‘the politics of spin’ to further imply that, from this ‘extra” $2.25, “they must grin and bear trying to buy goods in a highly inflated cost of living market and pay for other household commitments”………….
………… comments designed to appeal strongly to people’s emotions and take precedence over the fact that the wages would increase from $250 to $340 per week.
Keep it or increase it
Some of your comments were opposed to the increase without hinting of a larger increase and some suggested that you supported a larger increase.
ac! Your turn. What is the magic number?
340 -250 = $90 increase per 40 hour week. This is a start.
The fight for a ” living wage ” and an increase in ownership of businesses by workers could continue.
@8:02 a.m. Good catch..
@ac Good spin.
A bit of truth in the big lie and the lie floated pass me.
You are getting better.
“Can you suggest a number that would remove your concerns.”
A very good question. One I’ve asked several times, yet, it remains unanswered.
However, I’ll ask once again, if you’re “ashamed of the paltry increase,” then, please ‘tell’ BU what HOURLY RATE, in your opinion, would be fair, reasonable and “economically feasible at this time?”
Let me answer the burning question of how much is fair
if this question was taken to a court the full interest of those involved would be taken into account on both sides
First lets take a look at the low wager
These individuals worked for more than nine years at pittance paltry wages and at times long hours also at times doing the job of more than one person when certain circumstances arose and a call of duty was asked of the employer
question were they compensated ? shouldnt there be a moral as well as economical duty applied or attached when making a decision of increasing these wages for those years of toil and slave wage payments
The employer on the other hand while might have caught up in negative factors of economic distress still enjoyed the benefit of keeping his business open along with govt aid and in some cases grandoise concessions
Yes the employer might say his profit margin was low however the employer along with govt did not pursue a moral path by which the employee could have benefit financially ever so small over the years in order to swim against the rising tide of higher cost of living across the board
in my mind now we have reached the cross road of decision making it does no good to implement a wage increase that does little or nothing for the low end wager to keep the employee head above water as cost of living increases
The moral of the story in Mia own words we are or brothers keepers and when one hurt all hurts
Govt should look across the moral spectrum and not the political spectrum using a measuring stick Long enough and of a decent and moral persuasion and asked them selves after the employees long years of suffering doesnt the employees deserves better than a paltry 2,25 bds increase in wages
This is where the rubber hits the road and the brakes applied especially when govt jumps forward quickly to make a decision not only steeped in political grandstanding but comprised of a component call a Moral Duty
Amen
i angela Cox have spoken
Have a nice peas and rice day to all who can and cannot afford it
While the small timers argue about raising the minium wage to $4 US and a little change…this is the true definition of a minimum wage and the business people know better than to talk shite unlike the bottomfeeders in Barobdos…
“New Zealand raises minimum wage to $20 an hour
Taxes on the riches New Zealanders are being raised
Changes to minimum wage and tax policy came into force in New Zealand today.
Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern’s had promised to raise the minimum wage to $20 per hour (£10.15) and to raise taxes on the wealthiest Kiwis.
The rise in wages means that the income of 175,500 New Zealanders will be increased by $44 (£22.30) each week.
“Today’s rise to $20 per hour is estimated to boost wages across the economy by $216 million, giving New Zealanders more money to spend at local businesses,” Minister for Workplace Relations and Safety Michael Wood said.
“There are many Kiwis who earn the minimum wage who have gone above and beyond in our fight against COVID. I think everyone agrees those who served us so well during lockdown – including supermarket workers, cleaners, and security guards – deserve a pay rise,” the minister added.
The new changes also impact the top two percent of earners in New Zealand, those on salaries of over $180,000 (£91,238.87), who will now be taxed by 39 per cent.”
That is why people run from backward small island governments and their parasitic minority hangerons…
why anyone is debating SLAVE WAGES…is beyond me.
The bottomline is the islands in the Caribbean are viewed as slave socieites, complete with the LOWEST MINIMUM WAGE…and that’s exactly how go nowhere Black leaders who are too backward to see where this is going, plan to keep them..
..the populations are the ones to remove themselves from that toxic construct…of enriching others and residing comfortably in generational poverty provided by their useless governments, just for them…
the opportunities for better from the African perspective are now available…but ya will not get them through the black faces in any of the parliaments, never going to happen..
“While the small timers argue about raising the minium wage to $4 US and a little change…,”
…………….some buffoon is making a silly, uninformed reference to New Zealand raising its minimum wage to $20 or BDS$28.31, while quote the proposed increase in US dollars.
it is not fair to cherry pick a few nations and compare the minimum wages of those countries to Barbados.
It should be pointed out that the weekly increase in Barbados of US 45.00 is comparable to the US $44.00 increase in NZ. Without Knowing the actual cost of living in both countries, it is quite possible that the increase in Barbados would do more for the average Joe than his countepart in NZ.
https://worldpopulationreview.com/country-rankings/minimum-wage-by-country
Here are a few countries of the countries that we beat or almost equal (US $) and I will again point out African or Asian countries are not mentioned here.
Mexico $1.05
Brazil $2.18
Chile $2.25
Russia $2.27
Colombia $2.66
Hungary $2.90
Poland $3.35
Costa Rica $3.37
Estonia $3.40
Slovakia $3.43
Latvia $4.30
Lithuania $4.78
But just citing raw minimum wages by themselves is a flawed argument.
“Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, and Tennessee have not adopted a state minimum wage and therefore have adopted the $7.25 federal minimum wage. New Hampshire repealed its state minimum in 2011, adopting the $7.25 minimum as well.”
https://worldpopulationreview.com/state-rankings/minimum-wage-by-state
States with lowest set minimum wages
Wyoming $5.15
Georgia $5.15
angela cox April 4, 2021 9:47 AM #: “Let me answer the burning question of how much is fair…”
Rather than ANSWER the question, you ‘fed the forum’ with a long winded contribution, filled with political diatribe and generalized, unsubstantiated statements……… and without any reference to what you believe the proposed increase should be.
However, I’ll ask once again, if you’re “ashamed of the paltry increase,” then, please ‘tell’ BU what HOURLY RATE, in your opinion, would be fair, reasonable and “economically feasible at this time?”
$5.15 US is still over $10 bds..
my daughter is appalled that so little is paid to people with families on the island…it’s a disgrace, but the crooks can boast about how many millions and millions they make in profit and that’s ok with some of slaves…they would feel proud…
“Dof sonnul, bokk yaa sonn.
“A fool does not suffer; it is his relatives who suffer.”
-Wolof proverb”
They say politics make strange bedfellows.
I often find myself agreeing with the actions/stances of the GoB. It is not because I believe that the GOB is correct, it is because I believe that the ‘opposition’ is often wrong.
I believe we should all point out where (in our opinion) the government is making a mistake. We should be able to provide evidence/a reasonable argument that supports our position. To just toss something on the wall and move on will not convert anyone.
Brothers! Attack. Be fearless in your attacks. Be honest. and I will ride to the end of the world with you; anything less and we will part company.
Not a b or a d but a B(ajan)
Artax don’t know why u keep asking me that silly question when I am absent of all the mitigating factors now affecting the economy and only having g a birds eye view and cannot with good conscience say with a defining answering what would be fair at present time
However well as u know I have stated time and time again a preference of having stimulus pkgs which would be helpful In boosting both sides of the ledger household and economic which in my mind would have given a better and clearer perspective to how much is fair and reasonable as the economy rebounds and businesss start to see some light at the end of the tunnel
Then and only then would relevancy to fairness composed of moral and economic duty would take preference
What govt has done is to use a wide open political opportunity to throw a dry bone for low end wagers to suck on and public debate to fight about with govt eyes closely clasp on winning the next election
Conniving to say the least disingenuous at its worst
Low end wagers what
@ WURA-War-on-UApril 4, 2021 10:11 AM
“Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern’s had promised to raise the minimum wage to $20 per hour (£10.15) and to raise taxes on the wealthiest Kiwis.”
++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Your “friend” MAM has a very long way to go to even consider walking in the footsteps of PM Jacinda Ardern.
From the miller’s perspective, PM Ardern is the most outstanding leader in the world today.
She practises what she preaches especially in regard to matters of social and environmental concerns.
The Anti-corruption and bribery laws in New Zealand ought to be the model for Barbados especially when it comes to their enforcement.
Moreover, in her most democratic and non-dictatorial style, she allows the people to shape the kind of society they want to live in.
It’s really amazing how the objectors to the timing of the increase in the Minimum Wage in Barbados could be so vocal at this time but were entirely mute when the government wrote off millions in VAT collected from the same workers but not paid over to the Treasury.
Wasn’t the NSRL removed without any concomitant reduction in prices across the board?
The GoB needs to remind these corporate parasites of the many ‘favours’ granted to them over the recent years; especially the almost abolition of corporation tax which would have significantly impacted positively on the cash flows of many a corporation in Barbados.
@Miller
You are wallowing in the emotional argument. Which workers qualify for minimum pay?
theo
the govt is wrong in the timing the govt knows not only that certain negative circumstances at present dictates for govt creating a softer economic environment which would be helpful in bringing all on agreement with a wage increase an increase which helps the economy as well as business and household
instead govt regulates a wage increase which all but cannot be helpful to the economy or households short term or long term
A look at the economy tells social and economic truths which govt cannot deny and gives many reasons why the increase is not fair and doable at this time
Wrong Wrong Wrong for many reasons one which contains a screaming message of TOO POLITICAL and the low end wagers deserves better
angela cox April 4, 2021 11:51 AM #: “Artax don’t know why u keep asking me that silly question when I am absent of all the mitigating factors now affecting the economy and only having a birds eye view and cannot with good conscience say with a defining answering what would be fair at present time.”
Oh, so in your April 4, 2021 11:51 AM contribution the question is “silly” and you’re “ABSENT of all the mitigating factors now affecting the economy.”
But, 36 minutes after in your 12:27 PM contribution, you’re ‘telling’ the forum that “A look at the economy tells social and economic truths which govt cannot deny and gives many reasons why the increase is not fair and doable at this time.”
You’ve essentially contradicted yourself.
She believes in PEOPLE GOVERNMENT…she knows she did not elect herself…we were hoping Mia would see that early on…but she still clings to a dying concept…it’s on its last gasp to such a degree that the descendant’s of its introduction are moving away from it themselves….because they are smart and can see the wall and the writing….the younger folks in some jurisdictions are very vocal about a people government and sideline the lying, sellout, deceitful politicians….i back that new world order.
.paying someone with a family of four or more $2.50 US per hr sounds like a good idea to many, they don’t even look at the cost of living and how its manipulated by crooks daily, but those who pay that unliveable wage drive the biggest cars, have 2 and 3, have the biggest houses, some boast about anywhere from 3 to 18 properties….while their workers have very little or nothing.
many were socialized to believe that the country is doing good as long as the business people are making millions in profits for themselves, so, they should be grateful, never mind they can’t buy a bread and pay bills at the same time..been watching that stupidity for years on end….can’t believe there are those trying to keep it active ….but the younger generation will do for them.
“Your “friend” MAM has a very long way to go to even consider walking in the footsteps of PM Jacinda Ardern.
From the miller’s perspective, PM Ardern is the most outstanding leader in the world today.
She practises what she preaches especially in regard to matters of social and environmental concerns.
The Anti-corruption and bribery laws in New Zealand ought to be the model for Barbados especially when it comes to their enforcement.
Moreover, in her most democratic and non-dictatorial style, she allows the people to shape the kind of society they want to live in.”
“It’s really amazing how the objectors to the timing of the increase in the Minimum Wage in Barbados could be so vocal at this time but were entirely mute when the government wrote off millions in VAT collected from the same workers but not paid over to the Treasury.”
slaves and hypocrites, you will notice that in the BEST OF TIMES…with billions to steal and stolen right from under the people…it was not “the right time” for an upgrade from starvation wages then either…
Ok
Keep cherry picking when an answer can only be defined or given
by the what was being asked and how and to what the answer should be applied
Further more I did indicate that much more is required in giving definite answer to your question of fairness
Nevertheless u used a pick fork to cut down a whole tree in referencing my 12.27 as proof that I was contradicting myself
They’ve all been running around for years on end with their dizzy selves and none of what they do would’ve come to light if they weren’t playing so slick….and did not notice that they were observed and monitored…violating human rights would do that….especially when ya real determined to continue.
With the pandemic in Barbados almost defeated and our beloved British tourists soon to return to us en masse, it is time to plan for the post-COVID19 phase.
The moderate increase in the minimum wage is indeed a smart move. Likewise, it would be time to increase the salaries of our ministers as a reward for good work. They really deserve it.
Yup! Arden is the best political leader at present – OF ANY GENDER!
NO-NONSENSE AND ALSO NO NONSENSE!
Good on her and New Zealanders in general! From terrible beginnings, New Zealand is turning itself around to correct injustices.
For a number of years now I have noticed that their cricket team plays honest cricket unlike their “BOARISH” neighbours Australia with whom they share almost identical beginnings.
They have come a long way from the 1980 series when they (players AND umpires) cheated so much that Michael Holding kicked down the stumps and cried.
They remind me of the Canadians. Not perfect but trying!
Correction – Ardern, is it?
Tron
The moderate increase in the minimum wage is indeed a smart move
Yes a very smart one to bring the masses back.in favour with govt
This time instead of handing the masses tumblers of koolaid
This time around it was a dry bone to which many has accepted
There must be something in the year
that calls govt for such action
Meanwhile the economy is in a dizzy spell with the news of more unemployment and higher cost of living
As for the ministers they seem to be all asleep and their wages needs to but from right under their nose
So we get it Miller…there is NEVER going to be A RIGHT TIME to give the people decent living wages.. as long as thieves and the sellout unions are involved…then those with their short memory syndrome would want to parrot…”it’s not the right time” too.
maybe one day we will find out what they are feeding or drugging them with that they can’t remember from one minute to the other…
They better do something, cause most countries are in the same boat, but they ARE DOING SOMETHING to revive employment etc…and not waiting for tourists to return, they have been warned about that by IMF of all people…so they can sit on their hands and hope for their minority “saviors” to create more strife and thefts in Black lives..
.although the people should be making their own plans right about now, sans a now impotent government…
they are on their own, they were warned for years, these topics didn’t just come out of the blue..they were discussed ad nauseum for a very long time on BU….some of us knew a few things and tried to point them in the right direction…but we ain’t got no pedigree…..🤣🤣 so no one listened…now they are on the slide of their lives…
i will watch from the sidelines.
And they better not be holding their breath for some slave master spectre to slither into th island to save them, becasue it will not end well…that i can tell them right now, but don’t listen to me, just run with it and see..
“A Tory MP whose family made millions through slavery is facing calls for an investigation into his company records.
Richard Drax has replaced a decade of accounts for four farming firms revealing hundreds of thousands of pounds of undisclosed business.
He did this after we asked Companies House about his finances.
The move means voters have been denied details about his business interests, and under S106 of the Companies Act it is an offence to “knowingly or recklessly” make “misleading” statements. The penalty can be prison.
Tax Justice Network chief Alex Cobham said of Mr Drax’s new records: “It’s difficult to see how this error could have been made in a way that was neither knowing nor reckless.”
Mr Drax – worth about £150million – could also face a parliamentary probe.”
Yall only just got away by the skin of ya ass and some very vigilant journalists in UK….this fraud don’t even like paying minium wage in the UK…he pays below….keep allowing yaselves to be paid starvation wages and see what will happen next…don’t be vigilant..things are raging in UK and some are comfortable being railroaded right back into slavery in Barbados…because the other islanders will tolerate none of it….
ya definitely on ya own, Harriet Tubman has been gone hundreds of years now and no one got the energy, ya had more than enuff warnings.
“We revealed in December Mr Drax had failed to register in Members’ Interests a Barbados sugar plantation he ran.
Doreen Lawrence says Boris Johnson’s race report ‘gives the green light to racists’
The plantation relied on slaves for almost 200 years and the MP said his ancestors’ involvement was regrettable.
he said it was regrettable, he didn’t say he wouldn’t commit the same crimes against the survivors….continue hanging on the every word of politicians and their lies.
https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/horrors-slavery-absolutely-cannot-written-23844388
No…the parliament traitors never told you that the Drax aberration was still controlling a slave sugar plantation….ACTIVE STILL, means Black people still work on it……how many more descendants of slave masters are on the island doing the same for the last 54 YEARS post fake independence…..and the descendants of the enslaved NEVER KNEW…
so keep arguing among yaselves about WHY the population should NOT GET a liveable wage, it’s YOUR grands and great grands will be the slaves, not mine.
angela cox April 4, 2021 1:30 PM #: “Keep cherry picking when an answer can only be defined or given by the what was being asked and how and to what the answer should be applied. Further more I did indicate that much more is required in giving definite answer to your question of fairness.”
My friend, you’ve been arguing the proposed increase in the hourly minimum wage rate is “paltry, miniscule, unfair, unreasonable and not economically feasible at this time.”
Please re-read the contributions you posted to the “Minimum Wage (Yes), Timing (No?)” blog. The following are few examples.
angela cox March 28, 2021 10:03 AM #: “For what it is worth can 8.50 when applied reach the substantial cost of living for the lower wage earner. That 8.50 is nothing more than a smoke and mirror approach to the economic realities that are affecting the barbadian household.”
angela cox March 28, 2021 7:58 PM #: “The fact that this 8.50 has brought cause for heated debate is a telling sign that the measure in itself cannot bring any meaningful and long term help to the people and an economy which is over heated.”
angela cox March 31, 2021 5:11 AM #: “I am not against an increase. However I am for an increase that is fair one that is doable and one which the economy can support. What is being rolled out as an increase cannot be described as fair doable and economical feasible at this time.”
angela cox March 31, 2021 7:53 AM #: “Facts as well as factors matter as well. So when govt gives increases in a weak and sluggish economy. It makes for wonder why.”
angela cox March 31, 2021 4:26 PM #: “How in heaveans name can people agree to a paltry wage increase in an economic environment that is less favorable to providing a level of economic comfort for them.”
You also ‘talked’ about “an overheated inflated economy,” and “the economy’s legs were broken.”
In response I simply asked, “If, according to you, $8.50 is a “paltry increase and cannot be described as fair,”………..
……………. then, please ‘tell’ the forum what HOURLY RATE, in your opinion, would be fair, reasonable and “economically feasible at this time?”
You ‘bob and weaved’ around the question, rather than answering it. Then you came up with the lame, frivolous excuse about “cherry picking” and you’re uaware of the state of Barbados’ economy to give a definite answer.
Yet, you previously wrote,
angela cox March 29, 2021 7:52 AM #: “David in the thread “Gloomy outlook ” I have already stated the economic path govt should have pursued.”
“Yesterday I laid out reasons why the economy would remain stagnant as govt policies seem to be hell bent on political mechanism.”
How could you, on one hand, ‘tell’ David the “economic path govt should have pursued” and “lay out reasons why the economy would remain stagnant,”……………
…………. but, on the other hand, you’ve ADMITTED to NOT being aware of “all the mitigating factors now affecting the economy” and “cannot with good conscience say with a defining answering what (rate) would be fair at present time?”
Your arguments are contradictory. It’s clear you’re ‘making up things as you go.”
Had enough of you and that silly question
Artax why do you waste your time with AC/ Angela Cox?She is look poonka all over the place.As stated she does not know what the hell she is talking about.Added to that she no longer has the support of her knowall sidekick Austin to support her in nonsense.There is never a right time for an increase but now is as good a time as any. and i congratulate the government in pressing forward with this at this point in time.
Lorenzo
Look at u just couldn’t wait to bite
Go back to hiding hole
Govt wrong wrong
A political dry bone that is all
The question is ‘silly’ because you’re dishonest and ‘set up’ yourself. As such, you’re unable to answer it.
It clearly indicates ‘you make up things as you go.’ You’re inconsistent. That’s the reason why your contributions are devoid of specific references to the issues being discussed and often filled with metaphors, generalized, contradictory, misleading or unsubstantiated statements, rhetorical political diatribe, innuendo, misrepresentation of facts and untruths.
Lorenzo April 4, 2021 4:50 PM #: “Artax why do you waste your time with AC/ Angela Cox?”
@ Lorenzo
The more Coxy climbs, the more she exposes her tail.
Today at 11:36 AM a wise man posted the following comments (I hope it’s not under copyrights):
“I believe we should all point out where (in our opinion) the government is making a mistake. We should be able to provide evidence/a reasonable argument that supports our position. To just toss something on the wall and move on will not convert anyone.”
Oh get over my non response to your silly question
I am not the govt I doesn’t have to explain a dam thing and even govt couldn’t care two a.ss shakes about being transparent
Explain what
Steupse
🥱🥱
😴😴