Submitted by Dr. GP

For the last 15 months or so, I have faithfully submitted a Bible Study of some kind to be presented on the Barbados Underground platform. 

Most of these are power point presentations that I have previously delivered to audiences in my local church in Central Florid, some are quite new.  

I have also presented excerpts of material that I wrote while studying in online seminary twenty years ago, and a few were copied because of the extrinsic value within them. 

Since none of my work is copyrighted, readers are free to use any of my material judiciously in their efforts to share the Word of God, or in their endeavours to be Philologi. As I have freely been given, so do I freely give. 

This week we will share some thoughts on 2 Timothy 2: 1-7, on the Qualities of a Faithful Christian Worker.  In an ungodly and antagonistic world, believers must be strong servants or ministers who faithfully serve God and others. In an ungodly and antagonistic world, believers must be strong servants or ministers who faithfully serve God and others.   

In this study of 2 Timothy 2: 1-7, we will harp on the disciplines of a strong servant or minister of Christ, that can be discerned from the first 7 verses of this chapter and the instructions that tell us  how we can become one. Paul asserts that  A Strong Minister Relies on God’s Grace v1, Faithfully Teaches God’s Word v2, Demonstrates the Attitude of a Good Soldier  v3-4, Competes Like an Athlete According to God’s Rules v5, Is Like a Hardworking Farmer v6, and is a Faithful Bible Student v7.

180 responses to “Sweet Sunday Sermon – 2 Timothy 2: 1-7”

1. re : Information sharing
    Works and words in public domain and google searches are not copyrighted and can be cut and pasted and shared freely

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IivPTSG12rA
    A new philosophy as time enters a radical history of our evolution. Being and nothingness in one, creatures of habit, the angels of nature, we can herald a new humanity.

2. Porgie Georgie should be arrested, tried and executed for spreading corruption throughout the world.

3. IT IS WRITTEN IN 2 Timothy 4:3 THUS===>
    For the time will come when men will not tolerate sound doctrine, but with itching ears they will gather around themselves teachers to suit their own desires.

4. Even that is an act of corruption for it was stolen from the original source.

More so it would more precisely relate to you viz a viz your support for white supremacists and fascist Trump. LOL

5. Pacha…..look at GP…the Trump supporter hypocrite and fraud…

6. lol
    ” Hhypocrite” essentially means having two faces or being of two minds…….I am singular in mind and thought, and have always been so.

Supporting Biden and Democrats who are destroying the US IS NOT A CRIME………so why do you betzpaenics hate Trump so much, when he clearly sought to do, and did much for his country, and much more than Muttley will ever be able to do for Barbados.

Because you folk can not refute what I have said in any of the excellent and erudite exegeses of ANY text that I present here, you can only post innappropriate music or rubbish comments.

I understand, and appreciate that you can not contribute, so why dont you just scrolll by instead of making fools of yourselves on a weekly basis. It is simply HILARIOUS, and does not affect me at all.

I promised faithfully to submit an article every Lord’s Day, and I WILL do so, as promised because as 1 Corinthians 4:2 clearly teaches that “it is required in stewards, that a man be found faithful”.

7. Who said anything about hating Prince Donald…that’s not a word i use…

besides, ya can tell it to all to those who lost and are still losing their lives….and pray for their souls, me personally, ah hope they haunt eternally …you enabler….

8. Only a magical thinker could so conclude.

We interrogated the polical scene in the USA and were no less critical of Biden than Obama.

Of course, when faced with an Hobsons choice between a proto-fascist and a neoliberal we understand why people would prefer the latter.

You are a fecking liar! At least the world does not have to interact with a madman at the centre of empire. Biden, on foreign policy, is little different.

9. YES WE MUST PRAY FOR THOSE IN THE US WHO HAVE SUDDENLY LOST THEIR JOBS AND LIVELIHOODS IN THE LAST 36 DAYS

HOW CAN I BE AN ENABLER DUMMY? I HAVE NO SAY OR POWER.
    I AM JUST WATCHING ON FROM THE SIDE LINES

I SAY AGAIN

Because PERSONS OF YOUR ILK can not refute what I have said in any of the excellent and erudite exegeses of ANY text that I present here, you can only post innappropriate music or rubbish comments.

I understand, and appreciate that you can not contribute, so why dont you just scrolll by instead of making fools of yourselves on a weekly basis. It is simply HILARIOUS, and does not affect me at all.

I promised faithfully to submit an article every Lord’s Day, and I WILL do so, as promised because as 1 Corinthians 4:2 clearly teaches that “it is required in stewards, that a man be found faithful”.

I PREFER TO SEE NO RESPONSES AT ALL TO SSS RATHER THAN THE IGNORANT INANE INCOHERENT INADEQUATE INEPT INTERJECTIONS INTRODUCED

10. Unlike you we have already made final determinations on what you hold sacred.

In those circumstances the only contribution we would like to make is that you consult a panel of psychiatrists and/or a psychologists to correct your mental diseases relating to the belief in things which are not real, eponymous garbage.

11. @Pacha

Given your curiosity for learning and interest in the unknown, is it fair to suggest you have an agnostic tilt?

12. DID YOU GET THAT ADVICE AND PRESCRIPTION FROM YOUR DADDY THE DEVIL?
    NIETHER YOU NOR HE CAN STOP THE EFFECT AND INFLUENCE OF THE WORD OF GOD.

HE HAS BEEN SEEKING TO DO SO FOR CENTURIES……..BUT THE GOSPEL CONTINUES TO GO OUT UNHINDERED EVEN DURING THE COVID PANDEMIC, DESPITE HIS PERSISTENT PERRENIAL OPPOSITION

HIS MINIONS AND HIS OTHER DEMONIC FOLLOWERS LIKE YOU ARE FAILING ALSO.

13. WHILE THE SCOFFERS AND MOCKERS POSTED HERE TODAY IN THEIR DEMENTED DEVILISH DELIRIUM DIRECTED BY THEIR DADDY. I LISTENED TO A REPORT FROM THE DIRECTOR OF A MISSION BOARD REPORT ON HOW THE GOSPEL IS BEING SUCCESSFULLY SPREAD ACROSS THE GLOBE EVEN AS THE ESCHATON APPROACHES

14. 😄😅😅😅😅😅😅😅😅😅😅😅😅😅

You need a psychiatric intervention. Anybody who is happy that the wickedness of christianity which bulls little boys and rapes young girls is spreading needs help.

The truth is that In most of the developed world Pachamama has forced such wickedness in retreat. For in europe it’s more likely to hear religious songs adapted for soccer teams. And stadia are full while churches are empty. Only in the Southern Hemisphere can this criminal doctrinal bullshite find sucker

15. @ GP February 28, 2021 11:12 AM
    “I promised faithfully to submit an article every Lord’s Day, and I WILL do so, as promised because as 1 Corinthians 4:2 clearly teaches that “it is required in stewards, that a man be found faithful”.”

It’s really heart-warmingly glad to see that you, the Rev. GP, has learnt to submit yourself, albeit unknowingly like the Sumerian Abram, to the enlightening fiery force of the Star which created and controls this rather fragile little blue orb on which you are eternally bound.

That’s why you have to recognize ‘SUN DAY’ as your day of reverence and pray for forgiveness.

Now go on your way and sin no more!

16. In 2 Timothy 2:9 Paul contrasts his imprisonment for the sake of the gospel to the unfettered power of the Word of God.
    Even though he was in prison on charges which made release impossible, Paul was not dismayed and was very far from despair.
    He had two great uplifting thoughts.
    i) He was certain that, though he might be bound, nothing could bind the word of God. V9
    (ii) Paul was certain that what he was going through would in the end be a help to other people. v10
    They could chain him but they could never chain the word of God.

You can exile a man, but you cannot exile the truth. You can imprison a preacher, but you cannot imprison the word he preaches. The message is always greater than the man; the truth is always mightier than the bearer.
    Paul was quite certain that the Roman government could never find a prison which could contain the word of God.
    And it is one of the facts of history that if human effort could have obliterated Christianity, it would have perished long ago; but men cannot kill that which is immortal.
    No matter what happens to you, God’s enemies cannot stop the spread of His Word. Many times God even uses the death of His saints to begin revivals.
    The Word of God has never been imprisoned – The Bible has been attacked more than any other book through history. It has been burned, banned, mocked, twisted, and ignored – but the word of God still stands forever. The grass withers, the flower fades, but the word of our God stands forever. (Isaiah 40:8)
    No government, no religious authorities, no skeptics, no scientists, no philosophers, or no book burners have ever been able to stop the work of the Word of God.
    Yet, if there is any sense in which the Word is bound, it is bound when it is abandoned by its very friends. When pulpits sound more like self-help books than those who proclaim God’s word; when Scripture is used sparingly like a spice in a message, instead of being the core of it, pastors themselves put a chain around the Bible.

17. David
    No, we would not so self describe.

We will NEVER bow to the fiction of a christian god either.

18. This Paul never existed. For that matter NONE of the characters in your book of tales never existed either.

Only a madman could continue with this unreality.

19. RE This Paul never existed. For that matter NONE of the characters in your book of tales never existed either. Only a madman could continue with this unreality.

POOR YOU
    YOU ARE WORKING VERY HARD TO CONVINCE YOURSELF OF WHAT YOUR DADDY THE DEVIL IS TELLING YOU. SO SAD. SO BAD.

LIKKLE BOY YOU MUST NOT LISTEN TO YOUR DADDY SATAN.
    JESUS SAID THT HE IS A LIAR AND MURDERER FROM THE BEGINNING. I BELIEVE JESUS

THERE ARE MORE EXTANT COPIES OF EVEN THE OLD TESTAMENT THAN THERE IS FOR ANY ANCIENT WRITINGS. ASK YOUR DADDY IF YOU DONT BELIEVE ME

20. The stories told about Paul a man having a zeal for things he believes in and holds near and dear to his heart
    Paul comes across as a man having a narcissistic personality living by a rule His way or the highway

21. Already we offered to pay all your living expenses for life if you could prove a single major doctrinal plank of your book of tales. You rebuffed that offer.

Now we again challenge you to independently prove based on academic standards that anything in your bible is true or real. In exchange this writer will pledge to engage a Damascene process.

AmonRa

22. LIKKLE BOY
    I DO NOT MAKE DEALS WITH YOUR DADDY SATAN OR ANY OF HIS CHILDREN

MY GOD HAS PROVIDED FOR ME AND PROTECTED ME ALL MY LIFE
    WHY THEN SHOULD I MAKE A DEAL WITH YOUR DADDY SATAN OR ANY OF HIS CHILDREN

JUST THINK ABOUT THAT………IF INDEED YOUCAN THINK

23. I know some of you are totally bewitched by Donald Trump so here he is at CPAC today for you to follow.

https://thehill.com/video/in-the-news/540899-watch-live-trump-speaks-at-cpac-2021-final-day

24. @ GP February 28, 2021 6:28 PM

It seems, from your eyes only, that there are more children of Satan than there are children of your Yahweh.

The question still remains unanswered:
    Who else was there in the wilderness to record the conversations between your baby Jesus (after 18 years absence from the protection of his daddy in the sky) and the bull(y)ing devil incarnate Satan?

Why did Yahweh allow his only begotten son to be exposed to the homosexual advances of the serpent Satan?

Was his vulnerable son so disposed to that kind of ‘bent’ orientation as to be so easily lulled into a kind of monastic lifestyle involving sleeping in a garden with 12 men (and no women or whores) to keep his company?

Is it therefore fair to conclude that these tall tales about some eponymous Jesus were plagiarised from Egyptian mythology by monastic fairies with much time on their hands to wank their way to sleep?

25. My own interpretations on the biblical revelations is they are warnings about wars to be avoided
    GP’s book is coming to it’s ending, he lives in a world that dreams of ending that always seems about to give in
    others do not accept conclusion and insist that things will always begin
    it’s never the ending it’s not over until it’s over, it’s never really over
    we just evolve we have been here many years and who knows how long we will be here
    it is always evolving and the awareness is always evolving

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9O2bkwDoS2w

26. 😄😄😄😄😄😄😄😄😄😄😄😄😄

We would have wagered that you would, inspired by the god of fiction, seek to bind the fictitious enemies of the nonexistent jehovah.

But the truth is that you have no ability to prove the reality of your religious dogma and per usual must always either resort to a senseless faith or the regurgitation of the evidence of your ignorance.

You cannot bring an ounce of hard evidence to support what you believe. And you will suffer. “For when you believe in things you dont understand you must suffer”

In Afrikan philosophy there are no devils, no satans, no hells. So therefore we are free from these products of the cave dwelling, demented minds, of europeans.

27. David
    To establish an historical narrative many of the more than 30 types of evidences must be brought to the table.

What you have suggested has zero credence. We know with surety that the book of tales was fictionalized by the Piso family of popes.

Subsequently, over 70 councils were convened to try to make the lies consistent.

28. If you are so convinced about the mumbo jumbo that your Daddy the devil has put in your head why dont you produce your own blog and leave this one alone…….because you are not contributing anything to this one, and you have started your rubbish since week one,in October 2019.
    Paul reminds us in 2Timothy 2:19 that God’s church is never going to be altered, shaken, or diminished, even by the heresies that may rage among us. You cant affect anything or any one because as 2Timothy 2:19 states “The Lord knows those who are His,”

Furthermore it is proclaimed in Isaiah 55:11 thus “So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.”

All you are really doing is helping me to practice my APOLOGETICS. LOL LOL LOL

29. ONE OF THE ISSUES RAISED IN THE ARTICLE DAVID CITED REFERS TO ARCHAEOLOGY
    MERRILL UNGER WROTE TWO EXCELLENT BOOKS WHICH I HAD TO READ IN MY STUDIES. ONE IS THE ARCHAEOLOGY OF THE OLD TESTAMENT, AND THE OTHER IS THE ARCHAEOLOGY OF THE NEW TESTMENT.

IN THESE TOMES, UNGER RECORDS THE FINDINGS OF VARIOUS ARCHAEOLOGICAL DIGS WHICH SUPPORT THE BIBLICAL RECORD. THERE IS MUCH EVIDENCE IN MANY MUSEUMS FROM THE VARIOUS ARCHAEOLOGICAL FINDINGS THAT SUPPORT THE BIBLICAL RECORD.
    JUST AS IT IS TRUE THAT THE LORD KNOWS WHO ARE HIS………SO DOES THE DEVIL.
    JUDAS SPENT THREE YEARS WITH JESUS AND YET………….? THE LORD KNEW AND SAID THAT JUDAS WAS A DEVIL.

30. Let me make you aware of the truth of 2Timothy 2:14-18

Remind them of these things, charging them before the Lord not to [d]strive about words to no profit, to the ruin of the hearers. 15 Be diligent to present yourself approved to God, a worker who does not need to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth. 16 But shun profane and idle babblings, for they will increase to more ungodliness. 17 And their message will spread like cancer. Hymenaeus and Philetus are of this sort,
    {AND SO ARE YOU}
    18 who have strayed concerning the truth, {CAUSE YOUR DADDY GOT YOU WELL TANGLED UP REAL GOOD}

GO ASK YOUR DADDY IF I AM NOT TELLING THE TRUTH

31. Where does the book say that Biden is the bringer of the rapture
    or is that nonsense from the mind of lunatic cunt a fucking hippo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bm2oLeoj4FI

32. GP doesn’t go the the Black Churches

he follows the devils white vibes version

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h6gq1SBAJFA

33. @Pacha

Do you believe in a supernatural being?

34. D-OF-BU
    How can the religion of humanity be about one man
    I call on all spirits of dead and alive black souls to sing in harmony about human rights truth and rights in the heavenly choir

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Kf788MnFwA

35. Remember the Songs of Freedom
    Many have come

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uTQOZM9t-zg

36. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“supernatural being.”

supernatural being has nothing to do with man’s fraudulent, self-serving, gonowhere interpretations in the WEST, it goes much, much deeper and is much more effective.

Pacha has that info.

37. David

This writer is an Afrikan, period.

Afrikan philosophy is not based in belief. There is no need for belief. Only con men and charlatans traffic in this need to believe irrational nonsense.

38. @Pacha

In your minds eye who do you see creating Pachamama?

39. David

Afrikan philosophy sees no distinction between these. It sees everything as One.

40. @ 555dubstreet March 1, 2021 6:23 AM
    “D-OF-BU
    How can the religion of humanity be about one man
    I call on all spirits of dead and alive black souls to sing in harmony about human rights truth and rights in the heavenly choir..”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Excellent point!

All (man-made) ‘religions’ throughout the history of humanity have their guru or main man whom followers must obey in order to communicate with some god (and in some cases goddess) in the sky or heaven.

That’s why the ‘organised’ method of communion with some god or supernatural being is called “Religion” and Not Spirituality; with Buddhism being the least ‘religious’ on the man-to-god scale of (organized) communion.

That’s why there have been thousands of religions since the dawn of civilization with Judaism itself (and its descendants from the same Abrahamic faith tree) being nothing more than a mixture of Sumerian idolatry and radical brand of Egyptian theology called Monotheism popularized by the controversial Pharaoh called Akhenaten.

Maybe modern-day monotheistic Judaism started with a breakaway cult from Akhenaten’s religious radicalism and headed by the legendary Moses or Musa which eventually metamorphosed from a monotheistic desert cult as described in the biblical books of Exodus, Leviticus and Numbers into the rigid Hebrew religion.

An Israelite-centred religion that was waning at the end of the Age of Aries (the ram or sheep) but was still marking the bridge between the past worship of the Egyptian Apis /Taurus (the bull or the Biblical golden calf) and then new Age of Pisces which has been represented, since the subordination of Judaism, by the worship of another idol called Jesus.

Those, like Doc. GP, who rigidly adhere to the view that Judaism is the ‘original’ and only valid religion of mankind ought to examine Psalm 104 in their OT book and compare it with the “Great Hymn to the Aten” allegedly written by the same Sun-worshipping Pharaoh called Akhenaten.

41. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

All we can ADVISE is that Black Bajans/Caribbean/Diaporan AFRICANS……..RECONNECT to the Continent.. ASAP…then they will see why….all they have to keep in mind is that nowhere is perfect and the continent also has it’s manmade trauma…JUST LIKE THE WEST..no difference…but it’s ANCESTRAL LANDS….OUR HOMELAND…no one else’s.

all who is dumb Enuff to want to stay and wallow in MISINTERPRETATIONS…and don’t see our AFRICAN TRUTHS for themselves, more power to them….it’s a personal decision.

42. Tribute to Tony Montana
    Tony Montana: In this country, you gotta make the money first. Then when you get the money, you get the power. Then when you get the power, then you get the women

Tony Montana: Who put this thing together? Me, that’s who! Who do I trust? Me!

Tribute to Vince Montana

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OHRnF77KHI8

43. Can you have religion without belief? What is African philosophy? Does it include Africans in the Diaspora? Who ar e t he leading philosophers? What are their key publications? Where is it taught?

44. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

See all those questions you are asking, ya will never find out unless ya RECONNECT TO YOUR ANCESTORS….it’s a personal journey. The west is unnatural.

For true Africans it’s a nobrainer…for manufactured Black people, it will be a struggle.

the ONENESS is between real Africans…until those Blacks who were manufactured shed their unnatural state, nothing happens.

future generations won’t need to ask.

45. What a load

Next these jokers will ask and seek to discuss the number of angels that can stand on the head of a pin, as they can only engage in  godless chatter, and empty, profane and idle babblings as they strive and wrangle about what they know naught, to no profit

These babblings  refers to anything that takes the focus off of the gospel and God’s Word.

They are profane because they are unholy in contrast to the holiness of God’s Word.

They are idle, because even though people like to hear them, they don’t have lasting value.

Man’s opinions, man’s teachings, man’s opinion polls, man’s stories, man’s programs, are all profane and idle babblings compared to the simple Word of God.

Profane and idle babblings refers to the utterances of people who shoot off their mouths, and who talk off the top of their heads and display a lot of emotionalism.

They will do, and say anything, at the direction of the devil, to take the focus off the message of God as soundly and rightly divided, and put the focus on human opinions and endless debates, with the sole purpose of the ruin of the faith of the hearers.

The Bible says, faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of God (Romans 10:17).

But if people do not hear the word of God, then ruin comes by hearing the opinions and speculations and entertainment of man, especially obvious Bible illiterates.