Submitted by Observing

Back in March 2020 the GoB outlined a series of steps to address the Covid -19 challenge by entering Stage 3 and announcing a lockdown after 24 cases were recorded. These were all imported.

Fast forward to December 3, 2020 where we had 281 total cases (24 active) and 7 deaths. We were still managing well under the circumstances.

Fast forward again to December 31, 2020 where ten new cases were announced and the first signal of worry kicked in.

This led to the period Jan 1st to 4th 2021 where we added 297 new cases and then onto January 26, 2021 when we prepared to “pause.”

Since the pause we have had 520 more positive cases, 11 more deaths and an average positivity rate between 4% and 9% with spikes as high as 15% on some days.

Now with the national pause set to expire we wait with bated breath to see what happens

• Former president of the Barbados Chamber of Commerce and Industry, Eddy Abed has made clear that “the private sector can’t take another lock down” (Feb 12, 2021)
  • President of the Barbados Private Sector Association (BPSA) Edward Clarke suggested that only in “extreme circumstances” should such drastic measures be taken. (Feb 10, 2021)
  • Chamber of Commerce president Trisha Tannis warns Barbadians to brace for the possibility of more job losses
  • However, Dr. Adrian Lorde says that an extension to the lockdown may be necessary
  • We still record between 25 and 40+ cases each day with regrettable deaths in between.

So, which will it be? What should we choose?

Extend the pause out of caution and in the interest of public health or, reopen with the known risk and the hope of economic gain?

253 responses to “Which will it be, Extend the PAUSE or REOPEN?”

1. I fell asleep whilst watching the BLP press conference as it was quite lengthy. I agree with Waru that extending the lockdown by a further two weeks will have little impact on the economy.

Mia should be applauded for not having caved into prominent members of the business community. A group who appear indifferent to the well-being of the citizens of Barbados and more focused on accumulating personal wealth. I could understand if they were retailing products and produce manufactured and grown in Barbados. However they are not. Take a visit to Massey’s or Cost-U-Less where 95% plus of what they sell has it origins from abroad.

Barbados is a net importer of products, produce and services.

My advice to Mia would be to tinker with the lockdown. She should use it as a blunt tool to save guard the health of the nation. In the meantime she must commence with the wholescale restructuring of Barbados local economy and to ensure that the local population are offered incentives to participate in its rebirth.

2. @David,
    You appear to have blocked my latest comments.

3. GP must be the dumbest Doctor in the whole wah world

that man is a moron

Рыба Dub

Рыба Ест Вавилон

4. @ Artax February 15, 2021 5:35 PM

I call this retributive justice. At BU we have a notorious, outspoken critic and a court jester. A similar balance of terror as in the Cold War between the USA and the USSR.

5. RE: “But, after t brief introduction by Dr Walcott and and update by Mr Bostic, the president came on and spoke fort 58 minutes of pure, self-obsessed waffle.”

You wrote Mottley “came on and for 58 minutes of pure, self-obsessed waffle.” From what I heard, she gave a thorough explanation of the circumstances and a brief outline of the projects ‘government’ intends to undertake. Unless we were listening to two different speeches, I did not hear go on about herself, which is essentially the meaning of “self obsessed.”

Please indicate to BU, what in Mottley’s speech could be described as her being excessively preoccupied with herself? Remember, YOU wrote “self-obsessed waffle.”

RE: “When it is shown that she is not in control, she then blames others. It must be people on social media with fake news, misinformation, who do not know what they are talking about.”

Come off it. How does Mottley mentioning people who have been posting nonsense on social media that is not true, which is a fact, means she blaming others because she’s not in control?

You believe you’re the most intelligent man on BU. But, you’re just a bluffer. You’re not as intelligent as you and a few of your fans want us to believe When people challenge you, you either resort to the gutter or don’t respond, as though people care if you do.

6. “Can’t we all just get along?” Rodney King.

7. Barbados is suffering a humanitarian crisis because of the lockdown. Our government should urgently take care of the needy, i.e. those foreigners who cannot use their villas because of the lockdown. Who do you think cuts the grass in the gated communities and the gardens of the villas on this island? Who cleans the swimming pool? That’s right, nobody for four weeks.

Our government should therefore waive the land tax for five years for all villa owners to compensate. That would be justice.

8. Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV Avatar
    Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TV

@Artax don’t worry about HAL9000, it is just a case of his unrequited love with PM Mottley, and the fact that Valentine’s day just went made it worse for him, Poor fella. Also he is clearly is unaccustomed with how a PM communicates with the masses without having to wonder if the education system has collapsed in Barbados.

9. @ David BU

I purposely watched the press conference, because I knew after ‘know-it-all’ gave his ‘synopsis,’ we would be left wondering if there were two conferences.

I recall Mottley raising her tone in frustration at the fact that people are not adhering to the COVID-19 protocols. I mentioned on BU a few days ago of visiting a rural district in which I saw bar and three village shops selling to customers. Mottley mentioned she was aware of this practice and even saw a shop operating through an opened side window.

She also prefaced her references to medical terms with the fact she isn’t a medical expert. And, from what I heard, she did not offer an explanation when she mentioned the R rate.

The resident ‘know-it-all’ also mentioned “……even expressing her sympathy for the dead nursing assistant did not come over as sincere.” Perhaps he would have been convinced if Mottley had broken down in tears. And, knowing him, if she had done that, he would’ve also ‘said’ she wasn’t being sincere.

10. The address by the PM was exhaustive and important given the extraordinary times. Agree there was repetition at times but this is excusable given the need to reinforce information, appear transparent and negate fake news and frivolous positions by the cabals on social media.

11. @ Artax February 15, 2021 5:35 PM

Why do you think the BU blogmaster David agrees with you that the curmudgeon Hal has reserved, permanently, the third balcony chair of the Statler & Waldorf theatre act of constant criticism?

Even though the same “self-absorbed” president has rewarded him by some ‘passing’ recognition of his ‘archaic’ Post Office bank proposal the ungrateful guy is so bitterly vindictive over his failure to land his expected pick as deputy High Commissioner to sit daily (and idly), as part of his retirement package, in his reclining chair in his plush posh office logged on to BU to berate (anonymous) contributors while looking down on the plebs traversing the Great Russell Street.

His school mate-a son of the same “failed state” soil and living in the same Diaspora- Boo Nurse must be more than just a tad disappointed but still concerned about his fellow native’s state of mind in his endless criticism of the leader of Vincent’s preferred political party for the administration of national affairs in his much loved native Barbados.

He, Hal, needs to put him ‘energetic armchair’ talents to good use by joining “Big Mike” Springer in his altruistic quest to feed the ‘West Indian’ hungry walking the streets of Croydon.

We are sure his favourite cheerleader angela the cox-swain of the sinking DLP ship will be only too eager to sing his praises and demand that the president confers on this ‘overseas’ knight of the Bajan soil the highest order under the coming Republic of Bar-bad-os.

Statler: “Wake up you old fool. You slept through the show.”

Waldorf: “Who’s a fool? You watched it.”

Hal: “Are you two discussing me (in my absence).”

12. Artax why do you waste time with the know all Austin
    If Ms Mottley say x he will say y if she tells you to walk he will say run.Austin just talks a lot of shite everyday.Just look at who he supports Mariposa/ Angela Cox, Baje and other shite talkers on the blog.This same idiot who stated had Mr Thompson lived he would have become a GREAT PM and who when challenged by me could produce nothing he had said or did.Lately he started bigging up Ms Bradshaw trying to compare her to Ms Mottley
    Again only a clown would even make such a comparison.
    Artax like you i listened to the press conference and for anyone to sum it up with the diatribe above by Austin should be sent for a mental check at the Mental Hospital.What i heard was a clear concise explanation for the extention of the pause, the status of the contact tracing and the expected improvement of the testing results.She also spoke of tje vacines etc.Therefore anyone who does not understand our situation is a total idiot.

13. re What cannot be refuted is that the WHO is the governing body for global health matters that includes Barbados.

YES INDEED
    IT CAN NOT BE REFUTED that the WHO is LED BY A MAN WITH NO MEDICAL OR PUBLIC HEALTH TRAINING
    IT CAN NOT BE REFUTED that the governing body for global health matters that includes Barbados IS IN VERY POOR HANDS.

RE What a most slanderously unchristian thing to say about a person whose shoe laces the class-room mock doctor with a worthless piece of outmoded paper qualification from a third rate university-can never tie far less untie!!!

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT the class-room mock doctor with a worthless piece of outmoded paper qualification from a third rate university HAS TAUGHT MANY WHILE THEY ATTAINED APPROVED MEDICAL TRAINING AND SOME WHO WENT ON TO ATTAIN PUBLIC HEALTH TRAINING

a worthless piece of outmoded paper qualification from a third rate university IS CERTAINLY BETTER THAN NO TRAINING AT ALL

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT THERE ARE MANY WITH THE SAME worthless piece of outmoded paper qualification from a third rate university ARE PRACTICING GOOD MEDICINE IN MANY PARTS OF THE WORLD

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT OVER 90% OF THOSE WHO PRACTICE MEDICINE IN BARBADOS HAVE a worthless piece of outmoded paper qualification from a third rate university

RE We are prepared to choose the head of the WHO any time over a big Johnny who back a racist loser called Trump.

CERTAINLY THAT IS THE ILLOGICAL ARGUEMENT OF A FOOL

IT IS POINTLESS THROWING ONE’S PEARLS ON BU

14. @ Miller February 15, 2021 7:14 PM

I’ve noticed you’ve finally found your ‘voice,’ because it seems as though you lost it a few days ago when I asked you two questions, which you refused to answer.

But, you’ve returned today, overlooking the seriousness of those questions, preferring instead to ‘crack jokes’ about characters from the ‘Muppet Show.’

15. You guys need to chill and that includes you – GP.

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=mSS5p9BdNGU

16. https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/02/15/regional-moh-awaiting-who-approval-before-distributing-vaccines-from-barbados/

“Chief Medical Officer (CMO) Dr Roshan Parasram said the vaccines arrived in the country late last week and have since been placed into storage at the C40 Central Stores at the required temperatures.

“That is being housed there for now until WHO has given approval for use and then, of course, we can use it thereafter,” he said.
    Once it is given the go-ahead, the CMO said these doses of the vaccine would go to those healthcare workers directly involved with the COVID-19 fight.”

17. Hal AustinFebruary 15, 2021 5:21 PM

The head of NHS England said tonight that despite some progress the country remains in a “pandemic of disinformation” – in the effort to overcome vaccine hesitancy among some in the Black and south Asian communities.

A new study suggests that public health messages are not getting through to some of those most at risk – NHS workers on the frontline.

Researchers from the University of Leicester found that just 36 per cent of Black staff at the local NHS Trust have come forward for the vaccine and only 58 per cent of south Asians…..(Quote)

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Maybe Blacks and Asians are just plain dumb … and Blacks are almost twice as dumb as Asians!!.

Or maybe they are able to think for themselves and not easily led.

18. @ Quaker John

Many of these frontline black and Asian workers in the UK are doctors, including research scientists. But are you surprised that Barbadian doctors (ignore the silly politicians) are reacting the way they are?
    I will bore you by going back to learning by rote, that the world is a binary one, black or white, right or wrong, and these local doctors who get their information from the same sources as the rest of us: WHO, PAHO, CDC, FDA, CNN, BBC, etc, then come on television swearing as to the evidence of the very vaccines the research scientists are divided about. Our brains are not trained to be critical.
    By implication, they are also saying that the black people who hesitate (and I include myself in that group) are stupid, do not understand evidence-based science, do not care about the lives of their relatives and colleagues.
    There is an inability to interrogate messages, no matter who it comes from. I am fortunate enough to get wall-to-wall information on CoVid and its developments and have no such confidence in the official narrative.
    The most perverse part of it is that the president has told the nation she had her second jab, but she did not say when, who gave it to her, what was the brand,, nothing.
    But, of course, she promises she will be honest with them, will tell them everything apart from security matters, we are all in this together, this is who we are, and she knows Barbadians.
    They blame every and anything apart from leaving the borders opened at the height of the pandemic simply to satisfy the crooked hotel owners.
    The woman is a political fraud with a one-note narrative with her hands swinging about like a circus clown.

19. Btw how was Mia able to get the first vaccination when it was not approved by WHO
    Also the vaccine was not available to be accessed or distributed in Barbados

20. @ Angela

Information that is made public after criticisms are not the same as information made public in real time. It is all too convenient.

21. She volunteered to be the guinea pig.

22. She didn’t know that WHO had not yet approved the Astra-Zeneca that’s why Trinidad waited for approval. ..so many vaccine pushers out there right now, things can get confused and it appears there is more than one AstraZeneca floating around…..there is Oxford etc.

23. Some of you like to bray all day and night on the blog. The AstraZeneca vaccine received approval in India and several other countries weeks ago. No doubt the government would have consulted with medical officials on the ground and elsewhere to inform a decision to procure the vaccine. There is also the consideration that it is the vaccine designed for global rollout considering storage and price point. The blogmaster notes is does not use the contentious mRNA technology. Do some research, ask questions to make the best conclusions instead of spewing ignorance.

24. “The most perverse part of it is that the president has told the nation she had her second jab, but she did not say when, who gave it to her, what was the brand,, nothing.”

Seems like Hal thinks his ignorance about something is proof of something else

Brits like to think they are less racist than Americans when they are much worse.

Ask Meghan who was treated like dirt while Kate was treated like Teacher’s Pet.

400 years of global white supremacy racism is the sickness.

Аристократ Riddim

25. DavidFebruary 16, 2021 6:54 AM

Some of you like to bray all day and night on the blog.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

I am a wait and see kind of person where this vaccination is concerned.

Looks like a lot of others are too.

Does not mean I will never take it!!

I know many who have taken the vaccine already and would do it again.

Good for them, they have followed their beliefs, like me … and others.

26. BTW … you had yours yet?

27. angela coxFebruary 16, 2021 6:21 AM

Maybe those who got it early are part of the New World Order, the Illuminati , the Gates microchip experiment and the Alien Lizard Space Force groups, all intent on controlling us to be their servants and to eat us when finished?

Good Grief!

28. JohnFebruary 16, 2021 7:12 AM BTW … you had yours yet?

No. Will when called. But got to give you yours first.

29. “Btw how was Mia able to get the first vaccination when it was not approved by WHO.”

Was it necessary for Mottley to wait on approval from WHO before taking the vaccine or was it within her right to make a personal decision to take it?

30. JohnFebruary 16, 2021 7:12 AM

Maybe after you take yours, you, ac and Critical can link up telepathically via the Bill Gates 5G.

Would be a good experiment to see how your collective brains process information.

31. Not collective, individual!!

32. The collectives are the vaxxers.

33. @ Artax February 15, 2021 7:51 PM

“@Miller February 15, 2021 7:14 PM

I’ve noticed you’ve finally found your ‘voice,’ because it seems as though you lost it a few days ago when I asked you two questions, which you refused to answer.

But, you’ve returned today, overlooking the seriousness of those questions, preferring instead to ‘crack jokes’ about characters from the ‘Muppet Show.’”

Artax, you ought to refresh my memory. I could have ‘missed’, inadvertently speaking, your “two questions”.

Unfortunately, I do not enjoy the luxury of being logged on 24/7 to act as the BU chief of intelligence like Hal in his Don Quixote quest to expose all anonymous bloggers like the old time “ac”, the two blue-vexed and yellow-bellied “angelas” and the Austin sidekick of Mariposa.

34. @ Miller February 16, 2021 7:45 AM

No problem. It was a few days ago. But, since BU can be predictable at times, I’m sure an opportunity will present itself for me to raise those questions again.

35. Perhsps Austin would have felt better hearing the news of the extension of the the pause from his new found leader of poise and grace Ms Bradshaw rsther thsn 5he hand waving not so bright President.As Bush Tea used to say oh ma shirt!
    A bit surprised to see Waru here i thought she w as still braying about the white racist coming from a black racist like herself.As for Mariposa as Ms Mottley said clearly yesterday this is not the time for petty politics pointing put the despicable act pf someone trying to imply improper motives to the GG.This lowlife behaviour is the level some persons would seek to go for political purposes.This should be a lesson to to you and your political nightwatchman leader.

36. AM

“Btw how was Mia able to get the first vaccination when it was not approved by WHO.”

Was it necessary for Mottley to wait on approval from WHO before taking the vaccine or was it within her right to make a personal decision to

Hmm i noticed u avoided the most important part of my question
    How did Mia get the first vaccine when the vaccine was not accessible to barbados

37. angela coxFebruary 16, 2021 8:53 AM

Angela, Oh come on. Do you really think that senior government officials cannot access certain medicines etc that are not available to the public?

Remember John’s boy got a special drug that few others can get and many, many have died since, without it. Probably he would have died without it.

Notice he cannot take the vaccine yet? Probably still on multiple medications that impact the immune system.

Let me say, if an asteroid was coming at the Earth, you can be assured, that we would be the last to know, well after certain people are in bunkers.

I guess if you are a top notch scientist or such, you will be taken in. The rest of us ignoramuses can suck salt.

38. “Hmm i noticed u avoided the most important part of my question. How did Mia get the first vaccine when the vaccine was not accessible to barbados.”

Hahahahaha!!!

“Avoided the most important part of your question?”

My friend, that part of your question is NOT important. It’s just another one of your feeble attempts looking for something to criticize and impute some sinister motive to ‘government.’

During a press conference held at Llaro Court of January 18, 2021, Mottley informed the public she, Bostic, Dale Marshall and 5 front line medical personnel received the first round of a COVID-19 vaccine.

Since we weren’t told the name of the vaccine, how do you know it WAS NOT ACCESSIBLE to Barbados at the time they took it?

Let’s assume you’re referring to the AstraZeneca vaccine from India. How do you it WAS NOT ACCESSIBLE to Barbados?

39. Artax
    Ha ha
    The vaccine which she took yesterday would have to be the same one she took five weeks ago
    As yet to hear that switching from one vaccine to another after the first dose is recommended by doctors or anyone in the medical profession

40. “A bit surprised to see Waru here i thought she w as still braying about the white racist coming from a black racist like herself.”

unlike BLP political slaves, white racists know when to shut up….got something pending for you and ya fellow fowls…looks like Fowl Enuff abandoned you broke down yardfowls

41. RE: “As yet to hear that switching from one vaccine to another after the first dose is recommended by doctors or anyone in the medical profession,” is irrelevant.

Remember I wrote. “Let’s ASSUME you’re referring to the AstraZeneca vaccine from India.”

If AstraZeneca was indeed the vaccine she and the other individuals “took five weeks ago,” then please ‘tell’ BU how do you know it WAS NOT ACCESSIBLE to Barbados at the time they took “the first dose?”

42. Mari

Why u bit questioning when how and why the other members got the first stick?
    Why you only stuck on man?

43. Wasn’t it said many times that a few vaccines were coming into the island before Mia and crew too the first shot ?

You need to pay more attention then u won’t be asking questions that were already answered

As for The WHO. Did Britain have to wait on the WHO approval?
    How many brits had the shot before WHO approval? Ask hal to help you. He will cheer you on but left you lost like a silly old ass

44. ArtaxFebruary 16, 2021 12:33 PM

RE: “As yet to hear that switching from one vaccine to another after the first dose is recommended by doctors or anyone in the medical profession,” is irrelevant.

Remember I wrote. “Let’s ASSUME you’re referring to the AstraZeneca vaccine from India.”

If AstraZeneca was indeed the vaccine she and the other individuals “took five weeks ago,” then please ‘tell’ BU how do you know it WAS NOT ACCESSIBLE to Barbados at the time they took “the first dose

A question that requires full Transparency and one that Should be asked and answered by Mia

45. Popular Discounts Supermarket at Spooner’s Hill, St Michael is closed.

https://www.nationnews.com/2021/02/16/popular-spooners-hill-closed/

46. Minister of Health Jeffrey Bostic confirmed a young girl passed away, but the cause of death has not been determined.
    Stories making the rounds say the child died on Sunday at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital from complications caused by COVID-19, but Bostic said a dengue test was being done. The symptoms for both illnesses are similar.
    A news outlet from Trinidad and Tobago said the girl died from a condition called Multi-system Inflammatory Syndrome in Children, brought on by COVID. It quoted Dr Joanna Paul, Acting Medical Chief of Staff at the Eric Williams Medical Sciences Complex, who said there were 26 such cases in the twin-island republic.
    “I can confirm that yesterday we had a death from MIS-C in Barbados. So, we’ve had no deaths in Jamaica, no deaths in Bahamas, no deaths in Trinidad although so far we’ve had 26 cases. But in Barbados we’ve had a death in a child. The PCR was negative but everything else was positive and this child showed classic symptomatology of MIS-C. What it means though is that we are not going to be complacent. We acknowledge that this category of our population as we vaccinate, our children would not be able to have the vaccine and they are still at risk of having mild infection or also having more serious infection like MIS-C and we have to be as aggressive and keep monitoring these children,” she said.
    Bostic said it was not an attempt to hide information, but the doctors were still carrying out investigations to determine the exact cause of death.
    A family member also confirmed the death and said they wanted to grieve in private……(Quote)

47. Using the plague as an excuse to genocide and stel land from the indigenous.

A coronavirus variant identified in the Brazilian Amazon may be three times more contagious but early analysis suggests vaccines are still effective against it, the country’s health minister said on Thursday, without providing evidence for the claims.

Under pressure as the variant hammers the jungle city of Manaus with a devastating second wave of infections, Health Minister Eduardo Pazuello sought to reassure legislators that the surge of recent months was unexpected but coming under control.

Brazil’s COVID-19 catastrophe: nothing less than criminal
    Brazil’s Bolsonaro faces probe after hospitals ran out of oxygen
    Pfizer applies for full COVID-19 vaccine approval in Brazil
    He also told a Senate hearing that Brazil would vaccinate half its eligible population by June and the rest by the end of the year – an ambitious target as the country has barely guaranteed doses for half the population.

Brazil began immunisations with vaccines made by China’s Sinovac Biotech and Britain’s AstraZeneca about three weeks ago. Pazuello did not explain how their effectiveness against the Manaus variant was analysed.

“Thank God, we had clear news from the analysis that the vaccines still have an effect against this variant,” Pazuello said. “But it is more contagious. By our analysis, it is three time more contagious.”

The Health Ministry, which has not provided information about any such analysis, did not immediately respond to a request for more information.

The Butantan Institute in Sao Paulo, which has partnered with Sinovac to test and produce the Chinese vaccine, said in a statement that it had begun studies regarding the Manaus variant but would not have a conclusion for two weeks.

The Fiocruz biomedical centre in Rio de Janeiro, which has paired up with AstraZeneca to fill and finish doses of its vaccine developed with Oxford University, said it is studying its efficacy against the Amazon variant, sent samples to Oxford and is awaiting results.

Located deep in the Amazon rainforest, Manaus has been hit hard by a brutal second wave of cases that has stretched emergency services to breaking point.

The city’s hospitals ran out of oxygen in January, prompting the federal government to fly in supplies from across the country in an attempt to save people from suffocating to death.

President Jair Bolsonaro has downplayed the deadly virus, even as he contracted the disease.

His administration has also been accused of acting slowly in acquiring vaccines, thus delaying its vaccination rollout.

The delays leave Brazil’s 210 million residents vulnerable to one of the worst coronavirus outbreaks on the planet.

As of Thursday, Brazil has reported more 9.7 million coronavirus cases with more than 236,000 deaths from COVID-19 – second only to the United States, according to data from Johns Hopkins University. It has begun a vaccination campaign but so far only an estimated 0.5 percent of the population has received the shot.

© 2021 Al Jazeera Media Network”

48. Pick your side of the three-sided coin….
    X. Mia had information and acted to protect herself.

Y. Mia thought it wise to expose herself to an experimental vaccine before introducing it to the island.

Z. At this time, it doesn’t matter when Mia got stuck. We have access to a vaccine.