Posted by Lyall Small to the Covid 19 Update blog in response to commenter Critical Anlayzer and the Blogmaster to concerns about new strains of the virus.

I think that the difficulties that Barbados has been experiencing in dealing with the new clusters over the last 3 weeks or so is going to be very important in showing the way towards developing additional home grown or regional methods for combating the virus, especially since the cost of the new vaccines might be somewhat prohibitive and indeed that new mutant strains could make some of these vaccines ineffective.

I saw a report recently that the new English mutant of the virus is not only more infective than the older variant but was also likely to result in more deaths. In addition, there was a suggestion that the existing vaccines might not be effective against one or more of the new variants. If this is true we might have to take a new tack and use a new suite of methods to exclude and control that new strain when it gets here. If the effectiveness of vaccines is compromised other methods may have to be developed and used to control the virus.

High Relative Humidity has been claimed to be a low-level environmental deterrent to high infectivity levels of the virus. High temperatures has also been claimed as being a factor that operates in a similar manner. So too have been Sunlight (high UV levels) and consequential Vitamin D levels. I have not seen the research which has fully demonstrated these effects on the virus but the claims of the efficacy of these factors could be researched and the results incorporated into protocols for control of the spread of the virus in combination with the tried and true use of masks, social distancing, washing of hands and even exclusion.

Tracking Bracelet

The work that has started with the Electronic GPS bracelets on monitoring and control of the movement of visitors suggests to me that Government might be able to significantly reduce its overall Covid-19 quarantine costs by introducing a system where non-symptomatic locals who have been in contact with positive cases could be also fitted with these bracelets and be self-quarantined at home with regular visits by the Covid-units Doctors and Nurses instead of immediately being put in an expensive Government quarantine or isolation facility once they test positive for the virus.

200 responses to “Preparing for the COVID 19 Mutant”

1. @Sargeant

The mistake discovered is that self policing does not work.

2. Skinner
    There is no historical record of a virus being the main causal reason for your pronouncement viz a viz 100 years from now.

3. I notice the Covid19 infection rate among men is nearly 1.5 times higher in #Barbados. Thus, I am calling on all women to abstain and deny all men sex immediately. This abstinence should continue until we have zero Covid19 cases.

4. Kammie
    You toooooooo are going off the edge, a gross and impossible expectation.

5. WHO stats show over 40,000,000 babies yes that over 40 Million die yearly thanks to abortions. Is anybody concerned about the number who die without a chance due to rape, induced, spontaneous or deliberate?

Covid19, is here to stay and we must learn to mitigate exposure.

Those who would usually eat themselves to death should eat less to avoid NCDs

6. @ Theo

Bizzy has been at it for decades since he first installed the large wind generator at the old BRC factory. My point is in 90 days you can move from a grass piece to a solar farm fully implemented and working. All we need to do is remove the red tape and BS and do it. We can no longer defend the investment of Emera.

7. @ William

Thanks. I have worked in communication nearly all my adult life. Even if I cannot do it, I certainly can recognise it. Santia was the best by far of our CoVid communicators, followed by Dr Walcott. The president and Liz Thompson the worse.
    You are now judging her on her performance as education minister, which I agree with to a extent. Hover, I will go further.
    Santia was the right person to deliver a message during a national crisis, without the flamboyance and waffle of the the president, who was (is) a total disaster as a communicator. She was believable, calm, spoke with authority and seriousness and spoke to the nation as adults. CoVid is our war.
    Bostic appears to me like a rabbit facing oncoming headlights; in fact, I often wonder how he could reach such a high rank in the BDF. What is true, I believe he tries his best and appears to be basically a decent man.
    Our post-independence education policy has been a failure, even under Cammie Tudor; let us go back no further than Owen Arthur, and his amazing education ministers.
    After 14 years of Arthur, ten years of Thompson/Stuart, and two years of Mottley, plse tell me what is our education policy, what is the vision aft er 26 years. It has been a total failure.
    You are talking about a group of people so incompetent they cannot even sort out the CXC mess they have plunged our young people in to.
    What is true is that the wealthy and well-connected look out for their children and could not care less about the children of ordinary working people. That is the fault line in our educational system.
    On the CoVid task force, you are making the assumption that is someone has great knowledge it does not matter how s/he may have been dressed. Wrong.
    I am making the assumption that they share a level of knowledge and are equally informed, and that Dr George is competent as a public health professional.
    This is not an exam, if he appears like a boy off the block, no matter his message his appearance is a distraction, that is why our presidents and prime ministers and leaders generally appear in public dressed in a certain manner.
    We get it here too, people who think they ought to be allowed to go to work and school dressed as they like and that employers or school principals cannot set standards. They are wrong, and so are the people who support them. Presentation is important.
    You say he does not appear to you, on the few occasions you have seen him, to be as badly dressed as I have said. Just look at the videos of the various press briefings and look at how all the others, male and female, doctors and non doctors, and tell me what you think.
    Unless he has an incredible knowledge as a public health professional, then his line manager ought to give him a good talking to or refuse to confirm him in his acting position.
    As for the CoVid debate, I do not expect scientific expertise from our officials, we even have to send pathogens and medical isolates to Trinidad.
    I am talking about the way we communicate. Every time the president appears she gives the same political speech with the same predicted, hackneyed, rambling phrases and waffle and attacks on social media and crap about who we are and I will be honest with you. Nationalistic nonsense.
    People want up-to-date and informed messages, not propaganda. They are scared and want re-assurance. Even under Trump it was better.

8. We are unsure about that number. But if they represent aborted fetuses we’ll need to make sense of it in relationship to population demographics.

Yes, covid is likely to be here just like many other viruses but like the flu. Covid alone is not the only viral actor.

We agree with you last point however.

9. @Miller

Yes sir they are the questions our leaders don’t want to touch. Their solution to the post covid economy is if we ignore it and continue to throw money at tourism then covid will disappear.

So let me see if I understand the logic of this approach and use it to draw on another country far richer than Bim. In Dubai the leaders there decided a few years back to diversify their economy away from oil and go into tourism and other sectors. So if the might Dubai will billions in oil reserves, decided that depending on a one leg economy was dangerous, then pray tell who de ass we is to depend pun tourism as we saviour post covid?

Miller help me here and tell me what i am missing ? That would be like me keeping the one door shop open based only on the sale of Lotto tickets!

10. @ Miller

The other concern you mentioned is also a very valid one in that where de money coming from. So let’s look at data and not BS.

In the last budget we planned for a $200M deficit from memory. But that was before our revenue base got slammed by covid. So now with tourism revenue cut by 80% and local economic activity way off, hence less duty and VAT being collected, where will the money come from to provide debt service? So yes we can bury our head in the sand and refuse to diversify the economy while praying to the tourism gods, but then what?

My point is I see the “leave it and it will return to normal” approach being grossly flawed. We will have to diversify and we will have to cut goverment spending big time by year end, so why not start the discussion now or are we getting too close to elections to have it?

This is one time we can’t borrow ourselves out of the problem and the simple reason is that we can not depend on economic revival to pre covid levels anytime soon. Don’t forget it was the pre covid levels of our economy that the budget was based on hence we can prepare for a sizeable deficit by March which is goverment s year end.

11. worst…..

12. Ministry of Agriculture office in Graeme Hall had Air conditioning powered by SOLAR in 1980 ?

I will not waste much time but there are always excuses given for why some Barbados / Bajans refuse to “pick the low hanging fruit ”

John A is correct when he wrote ” All we need to do is remove the red tape and BS and do it.”

13. @Hal

Nice one. Lol

14. Am sure Dubai is alreading speedily working at diversifying again, since they will be quick on the uptake to recognize that tourism is also about to go south,

15. I have not heard any complaints from Bajans who live here about Dr. George and his open neck shirt and gold chain. We do not think he looks like a gangster. Furthermore I would bet that most of us have no objection to a surgeon with clean locks properly restrained doing surgery on us. Does not look as crazy as Boris Johnson’s bird’s nest.

This obsession with buttoned up shirts sans jewelry is not ours. As far as we are concerned he could wear a dashiki.

Crazy fake British foolishness!

16. Not sure why old Harold is chatting about Dress Code and Suiting Up
    where did he get his sickness
    It is better to put an emphasis on physical fitness to build immunity
    and put on a tracksuit to exercise

“Fit You Haffe Fit”
    Here they come…
    To get a hit you haffe fit
    You haffe fit, fit, fit
    To get a hit you haffe fit
    Fit, fit, fit
    To hit the chart you haffe smart
    You haffe smart, smart, smart (twice)
    In the morning as I rise
    Put on my tracksuit and exercise
    Me wab fe fit, wan fe fit
    Me wan fe fit, fit, fit
    Walk pon the road me no trouble no one
    Me no eat no steak me no eat no ham
    Grandma grow me as a vegetarian
    Music is may occupation
    Go inna de field to dig some yam
    Pick some corn, use it mek asham
    School pickney come and get it fe nyam
    Started to sing oh what a bam bam
    Look how me big look how me strong
    Say me must live long
    Look how me big look how me strong
    Say me a vegetarian
    Use my money buy food and place
    Nah use my money bout me a free base
    Don’t want my pants drop off a me waist
    Don’t want feel high like me outa space
    No man nah come cut my throat
    Tek my chain and go pop big sport
    Him and him woman gone sniff nuff coke
    Laugh and tek da fe big joke

17. @ Hants

Let me tell you what I would like of seen done with $100M of the $300M given to tourism.

Take $50M and make it available to the licensed and Tamis registered players in the solar industry. They will be given the money based on a 5 year loan with a moratorium on interest and principle given on the first 6 months of the loan. The loan repayment will then be equal to 50% of the value of the saleable energy back to the grid from the date the grid accepts its first deposit. Now the light and power will then pay the government 50% of the value of the sum purchased with the other 50% going to the solar farm owner. This way the government is guaranteed loan repayment and the solar farm owner guaranteed a cash flow net of any liability. So in other words the government loan is secured by a lean over the power produced by the farm and paid directly from Emera.

They are welcome to do me as they did PLT and use my idea for free too. LOL

The same principle will then be employed for the $50M in a large scale green house project. Here say the NCC can hold the head lease on the green houses, assist with the plants etc, offer a 6 month moratorium and then implement the loan payment based on the green house size, as i propose 3 sizes of green houses. Don’t pay the NCC and green house door chain and crops confiscated and sold.

Total time needed to implement both projects to production stage, maximum 6 months.

Cheques for the ideas can be made payable to.

THE SHOPKEEPER
    IN DE BUSH AVE
    ST JOSEPH

Time to left out all the blasted talk and politics crap and act. No more excuses get up and do now! What other excuse wunna going come up with now? I just tell wunna how to do it risk free.

18. This guy Austin at it again trying to promote Ms Bradshaw as this top communicator just like he did trying to big up Mr Thompson years ago.However when challenged could not present any evidence to back up his ludicrous claim of Thompson going on to become great.I seem to remember Ms Bradshaw dpeaking about the alphabet system and causing all kinds of confusion so much so thay Ms Mottley had to come off her sick bed to bring calm by way of properly explaining the situation.If we look at education regularly there is confusion between the Ministry of education under Ms Bradshaw and the teavhers , parents, unions etc.Therefore Austinkindly show us this leaderdhip you are speaking about.Trying to compare Ms Bradshaw with Ms Mottley is like chalk and cheese no comparison whatsoever.Therefore uou really shpuld quit your folly petty political games since the only one convinced by your nonsense is you.

19. @ John A

You are passing water against a brick wall. On September 15, in her 52-page, near three-hour Queen’s Speech, the president allocated Bds$300m to bail out the hotel sector, she said later that the rescue was so urgent there was not time to audit the books of the receiving hotels.
    That tells you everything you need to know. I have said before, the Barbados economy is now defined as the same as tourism, and tourism is seen as the hotel sector. So, ipso facto, the Barbados economy is the hotel sector.
    That, in short, is our economic problem, often couched in the bogus language of foreign reserves and economic growth.
    Government has failed to come up with a post-CoVid short, medium and long-term development plan. Yet , some on BU tell us how wonderfully the plan is going. What plan?

20. Santia was the right person to deliver a message during a national crisis, without the flamboyance and waffle of the the president, who was (is) a total disaster as a communicator. She was believable, calm, spoke with authority and seriousness and spoke to the nation as adults. CoVid is our war…..(Quote)

21. @ John A

LIKE YOUR IDEAS AND MAKES PRACTICAL BUSINESS SENSE BOTH SHORT TERM AND LONG TERM.

@ Hal

IGNORE THE PRETEND BAJAN ENGLISHWOMAN WHO FEELS SHE HAS MORE RIGHTS TO HER OPINION THAN YOURS AT ALL TIMES INCLUDING ENGLAND AND THE 2 x 3 ISLAND.

@ BU BLOGMASTER

YOU ARE DONG A GREAT JOB FOR THE BLP PARTY SINGING FOR YOUR SUPPER.

ONCE ONE CRITICIZES THEY ARE NOT REAL BAJANS HOWEVER WHAT YOU WANT ARE SELLOUTS AND PUPPETS ON A STRING WHICH IS VERY EVIDENT AMONG THE MANY BLACK LOCALS ON THE 2 x 3.

22. Pass The Mic
    Harold don’t like the lady that Barbados voted to lead them, so next time around Vote Hal

In an effort to honour and uplift the heroes around the world on the frontline of health, freedom, and justice I will play some music to spread some love to all

That’s the Way of the World
    Earth Wind and Fire

Remind Me
    Patrice Rushen

23. I Just Can’t Stop Loving You · Michael Jackson · Siedah Garrett

Cause You Love Me, Baby · Deniece Williams

24. A Woman Needs Love (Just Like You Do) · Ray Parker Jr.

Mr. Telephone Man · New Edition

25. Every Little Step · Bobby Brown

You Called and Told Me · Jeff Redd

26. Let us understand it is Mottley who elevated Bradshaw to leader of government business in the lower house and acting PM.

27. Fool’s Paradise · Meli’sa Morgan

Too Hot · Kool & The Gang

28. ANYONE EVER WONDER WHY THE “WHITE SHADOWS” LIKE COW WILLIAMS, BIZZY WILLIAMS, MARK MALONEY AND THE MAIN OWNERS IN THE HOTEL SECTOR NEVER HAVE TO CRY OUT IN THE MEDIA ABOUT THE $MILLIONS OF DOLLARS OWED TO THEM BY THE BLP GOVERNMENT AND NOT GET PAID.

HOWEVER WE CONTINUE TO SEE MANY MANY BLACKS CRYING OUT FOR MERE $THOUSANDS OWED BY THE SAME BLP GOVERNMENT AND NOT BEING PAID WITH THE FAMILIES SUFFERING FOR MONTHS DURING THIS CORONA VIRUS PANDEMIC.

I KNOW I AM NOT A “REAL BAJAN” BECAUSE I SHOULD KEEP MY MOUTH SHUT AND PRETEND THESE REALITIES AND INEQUALITIES DOES NOT EXIST ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND IN 2021

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

.TAP operators want urgent talks on outstanding pay and other issues

Several operators under the Transport Augmentation Programme (TAP) this morning parked their vehicles just off the Mighty Grynner Highway to press for outstanding pay and urgent talks with Government.

The operators lamented that payment is sometimes more than three months late and this has been affecting their businesses.

Colvin Yarde, one Public Service Vehicle (PSV) owner told reporters: “We would like to meet with the new Minister of Transport and possibly the Prime Minister so that we can trash out these problems so that we can continue to provide a good service to the travelling public. But we cannot continue to provide a service if we are not being paid and not being paid on time.”

Rodney Bellamy, another member in the programme called on the authorities to provide a “ definite timeframe” for payment to allow operators to better plan their affairs.

“Several persons are not here, their vehicles are broken down and are off their road, and they are victims of this cash flow [problem]. So we want to see an improvement in that [payment], it is not sustainable.”

Another operator, Neville Reid added that there is a need to review the TAP programme and make improvements.

“There is definitely a need for a meeting with the Transport Authority and members of the TAP programme,” he said.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/22/tap-operators-want-urgent-talks-on-outstanding-pay-and-other-issues/

29. Watching You · Slave

Never Too Much · Luther Vandross

30. Lawson…hope that wasn’t you tried to shoot ya dog, missed and nearly killed ya house guest.

31. Got to Be Real · Cheryl Lynn

The Second Time Around (Extended Mix) · Shalamar

32. Barbados has community spread – it is now official.

33. Barbados has community spread – it is now official.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

ARE YOU TRYING TO SAY “REAL BAJANS” COULDN’T SEE THIS FOR WEEKS.

THE NEW VARIANT IS ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND THERE TOO, NO NEED FOR OFFICIAL BS.

34. The only thing should be coming into any of the islands from Feb 1 is goods etc….slow down this monster.

“Hamilton – British Airways (BA) has announced a further cut to service between Bermuda and the United Kingdom because of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic.

The airline – which had offered five flights per week in December – will reduce service to one flight per week.

As of next week, flights will arrive in Bermuda from Gatwick Airport on Thursdays and return to the UK on Fridays.

Earlier this month the airline – the sole carrier on the route – said it was reducing flights from five a week to two.

Asked about the second change this month, a BA spokeswoman said: “Like other airlines, due to the current coronavirus pandemic and global travel restrictions, we are operating a reduced and dynamic schedule.

“Our focus is on keeping crucial air links open – transporting vital goods and ensuring people who are permitted to travel can continue to do so safely.”

35. Of course they have something that’s spreading faster than normal…they can’t pretend anymore…and it’s moving at warp speed.

36. The words ” community spread” should be the catalyst that would force barbadians to take care of self
    Follow portocols including not letting people in your house

37. The elderly are at high risk to community spread
    Govt should have free COVID care pkgs for them deposited at the doors for them to pick up

38. Covid19 is going to burn up all of the government financial services

39. Liz is looking well.

everyone is now in it.

wasting time causes many problems.

ideally the economy should’ve been diversified within the last 10 years and definitely within the last 2…better get to it chop chop….cause there’s no timeline for when Covid will go away, don’t mind the talk about beating it outside of following protocols until it leaves or not…….especially since ya can’t even see it…

40. Govt must now place more COVID resources towards the elderly and poor families
    A stimulus pkg for these groups is a must since both groups fit into the threshold of poverty and the financIal well being should not be comprise but treated as negative against helping to fight COVID
    Govt must now do the right thing and help these two groups

41. Yeah…well too late…they had 2 years to get the marijuana into the hands of the people who actually know what they’re doing and they screwed that up too.

42. The question of “long haulers” was directed at Dr. Best who punted to Dr. Ward but the question remained unanswered.
    Last night CBC TV (Canada) aired a program about the subject.

https://www.cbc.ca/player/play/1847388739628

43. @ Hal Austin. Couldnt agree with you more. I sent the following email to MAM after the first communication by Ms. Thompson:

Dear Prime Minister Motley,
    I have been watching the Covid 19 updates and appreciate your efforts to provide accurate, timely and informative information.

However, i watched in disgust, the new communications team, led by Ms. Thompson. As a retired person with experience in health and social services and communications, it has been nauseating watching the team.

Understandably, Ms. Thompson just arrived back in Barbados and while she wants to hit the ground running, she has added to some of the confusion and misinformation regarding the updates.

Here are some of my personal and professional observations:

There needs to be a united front. Updates have been very disjointed.
    Ms. Thompson should give herself to some time to brought up to speed before speaking and not be so garrulous.
    It should be decided and agreed upon what the updates should be called. Are they briefings, press conferences, status updates, or something else.
    One person should be the spokesperson, not necessarily the coordinator. That person can then ask for clarification, amplification etc. What you have now is 3 or 4 individuals providing information that is sometimes repetitive and/or conflicting. This adds to the confusion and lack of public trust of both the message and the messengers.
    Decrease actions that cause distractions. I was taught in college that presenters should do everything in their power not to distract from their messages. As such, Ms. Thompson is constantly touching her face, her glasses, etc.
    The public is feeling overwhelmed with information overload. Updates should be succinct, clear, concise and factual. Length of updates will depend on how much information is to be presented.
    Understandably she wants to be empathetic and caring to the public but updates need to be more factual and less personal, which can sometimes be seen as appeasing/placating or
    condescending.
    My constructive criticism/thoughts/comments are only meant to help improve the quality of information being provided to the public. Thank you for the opportunity to do so. I would be remiss if I didnt comment on my personal experience as I recently returned to Barbados and went through the quarantine protocols. I had the most pleasant experience and wish to thank everyone for their professional services provided me from the airport personnel, taxi, hotel (Golden Sands), polyclinic staff, and health team.

44. The ZR woman appears to be keeping a low profile.

I am not be shedding too many tears as covid-19 bulldoses our over subsidised tourist industry. Barbados will survive and prosper without its over reliance on this unsustainable industry.

Time for the younger generation to step up. Let’s incorporate mpesa into the Barbados economy.

45. William Skinner Avatar

@ Pacha
    This is perhaps our vest chance to implement changes that both you and I support. Note we are already near 60 years after Independence and the needle has scarcely moved to a more equitable society. A hundred years is a short historical period. I did not mean that everything was centered around the COVID. You have to agree that we were essentially stuck before COVID. It has just exposed what was there all along.

46. I MEAN THEY DON’T LEARN ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND.

YOU GIVE THE WHITE HOTELIERS HUNDREDS OF MILLIONS $$$.

WHILST GIVING THE BLACK LOCALS SCRAPS TO SPIN TOP IN MUD.

BOTH PRACTICED BY THE DLP DEACONS AND BLP NOW IN SILVERHILL.

NO WONDER BLACKS CONTINUE TO WALLOW IN POVERTY.

A BULLSHIT KIOSK IS NOW NOTED AS PROGRESS.

WELL WELL WELL.

SOME FOOL WILL COME ON AND SAY THIS IS PROGRESS IN 2021 WHILST WHITE SHADOWS GET WEALTHIER AND FATTER.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Entrepreneurs get keys to Silver Hill businesses

Five ‘blockpreneurs’ from Silver Hill were the first to sign licensing agreements and receive keys to their kiosks as part of the Government’s Building Blocks project.

At the signing and handing over ceremony at Green Hill, Silver Hill, Christ Church on Friday morning, Minister of Youth, Sports and Community Empowerment Dwight Sutherland, encouraged the five – Randy Went, Corey Kellman, Davico Went-Weekes, Kimberley Allen and Matthew King – “to go out there and to take on the world

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/23/entrepreneurs-get-keys-to-silver-hill-businesses/

47. @Sargeant He flipped it to Dr. Forde who was not present.

48. If the health crisis worsens, our government should first lock up the opposition by virtue of emergency legislation because they are spreading too many lies via social media.

49. Tron dont forget
    We will wrestled this thing to the ground
    This too.shall pass
    Maybe instead of govt bringing Cuban doctors
    Mia should have found a couple summa wrestlers to help Bostic out

50. Steuspe