The blogmaster has sympathy for small open, tourist dependent countries. Developing countries with meagre resources that were struggling to manage poorly performing economies have been struck for SIX with the onset of COVID 19 pandemic. The challenge for governments to implement policies which balance shoring up livelihoods with public health priorities is real.

The blogmaster will not enter the toxic arena of blame gaming. At this juncture it is not a constructive exercise. Unlike New Zealand, Australia and a few other countries which are commodity driven economies and can support an aggressive quarantine protocol, Barbados has been caught out by operating at the margin which conflicts with the proposal from the local medical association of doctors (BAMP). The proverbial between a rock and a hard place.

• Have we made mistakes managing the pandemic, YES.
  • Did the country become complacent, YES
  • Do we need to find ways to earn hard currency, YES.
  • Do we need to ensure COVID 19 screening is robust to adequately protect residents, YES.
  • Do we need to ensure authorities enforce laws to signal to those who compromise public health safety are penalized, YES.
  • Do we need to make the local economy less reliant on services, YES.
  • Have successive governments been unimaginative and lazy in charting a more sustainable economic path for the country post independence, YES.

The blogmaster could have added several more bullets to the list.

The harsh reality is that the country is ‘broke’ and to close the country again if it can be avoided to “keep out the virus’ as some promote is silly. The COVID 19 virus will be with us for the foreseeable future. Even if 100% of people take the vaccine health experts are unsure how new strains/variants may compromise the process. Even if the vaccine is 100% effective it will take possibly two to three years to immunize the global population to achieve heard immunity level. Then there is the issue of countries operating outside the purview of WHO like China, Russia…

Obviously Barbadians are concerned given the recent surge in COVID 19 positive cases. It is what it is, we have to deal with what is before us and move on. Have a look at the BU Sidebar Covid 19 Tracker and COVID 19 Update Page. Barbados is not waging the COVID 19 battle alone.

The government needs to ensure that our COVID 19 protocol is relevant/fit for purpose.

Residents need to ensure we adhere to the health protocol – wear your mask properly, wash your hands and physical distance please!

We can do this Bajans!

#rally

685 responses to “Fighting the Good Fight Against Covid 19”

1. The effects of dependency tourism, so why was this gardner denied a phone call, if it would get him money to pay a fine after his guilty plea.

“CHIEF MAGISTRATE IAN WEEKES unleashed a tongue-lashing on prison authorities yesterday after a Scottish quarantine-breaker was left languishing at HMP Dodds without a phone call despite the court’s express instructions from Saturday.

Ben Graham Fergusson, 29, was the visitor who walked out of his quarantine hotel, twice, to buy beer.

The gardener, who was staying at Bougainvillea Hotel, appeared before the Chief Magistrate over the weekend.

He pleaded guilty that in contravention of Paragraph 10 of the Emergency Management COVID-19 Protocols Special Curfew No. 2 Directive 2021, in that there being a directive requiring every person to observe such social distancing and associated protocols in the interest of public health imposed from January 6 to 31, he being a person placed in quarantine at Bougainvillea, he failed to obey the directive of the Chief Medical Officer on January 14 and again on January 15.”

2. There was nothing good about opening borders
    Yuh start wrong uh end wrong
    Portocols and all still the mayhem continues

3. Another day, same shit!

Simple solution – masks, physical distancing, hand washing and sanitising!

Changing channels…..

4. The border were NEVER closed. international flight stopped coming but our borders were never closed officially.

5. David i entered a posting 10 minutes ago
    Havent seen it

6. Will try a third time

Here

Read ePaper
    Home / Local News / Doc questions authorities’ reluctance to confirm COVID death

Doc questions authorities’ reluctance to confirm COVID death – by Anesta Henry January 19, 2021
    Family physician Dr Adrian Lorde is questioning why the elderly man who died at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital’s Accident & Emergency (A&E) Department with COVID-19 has not yet been recorded as the eighth person to have died from the virus on the island since the pandemic started last year.

Today, in what is becoming a weekly video of his views on how Barbados is managing the pandemic, Dr Lorde said that while the law states that persons dying within 24 hours after being admitted to A&E must receive a postmortem, the reality stands that test results showed that the elderly man had contracted the deadly virus.

Expressing his sympathies to the deceased, the well known doctor said he cannot understand why health authorities are refusing to say that the man died as a result of COVID-19.

“What else did he die from? He had the respiratory illness all the time. He is 84, yes. You want to prove it is natural causes so we say we only have seven [COVID-19 related deaths]? I know you want to calm the public and not cause any panic, but you cause more questions than answers,” Dr Lorde said.

7. @ Angela Cox

I have long been asking for government to publish the monthly mortality figures for 2019 and 2020, along with the causes of death.
    But this open, honest, ‘trust me’ prime minister, for whatever reason, has so far declined to. Now even doctors are questioning the official causes of death.

8. Expressing his sympathies to the deceased, the well known doctor said he cannot understand why health authorities are refusing to say that the man died as a result of COVID-19.

The question of the la ck of transparency and being truthful

9. “What else did he die from? He had the respiratory illness all the time. He is 84, yes. You want to prove it is natural causes so we say we only have seven [COVID-19 related deaths]? I know you want to calm the public and not cause any panic, but you cause more questions than answers,” Dr Lorde said.

Ridiculous and amateurish by the govt

10. Because the health authorities must wait until the official confirmation

The good doc knows this pretty well

11. Does the doctor tell his patient the dissesse they have by just the symptoms
    Or does he wait for a confirmation test?

12. John2January 19, 2021 11:22 AM

Because the health authorities must wait until the official confirmation

The good doc knows this pretty well

Here is your answer

Today, in what is becoming a weekly video of his views on how Barbados is managing the pandemic, Dr Lorde said that while the law states that persons dying within 24 hours after being admitted to A&E must receive a postmortem, the reality stands that test results showed that the elderly man had contracted the deadly virus.

13. The government gave the know facts about the case

The confirmation fact will be determining by the pathologist and made public after

14. SOP

15. @ Lorenzo January 18, 2021 5:19 PM

I also had to laugh at the crazy sentences of the DLP president.

We are currently testing 5-10 times more than in North America and Europe. By February at the latest, we will have the situation totally under control again – thanks to our Supreme Leader and General Bosstic. If the DLP were in power, we would have a second Brazil.

However, the greatest danger is posed by the unions. They are preparing a socialist coup, they are now demanding a hazard surcharge because of COVD19. People should be grateful that they still have work at all.

16. John2January 19, 2021 11:29 AM

The government gave the know facts about the case

The confirmation fact will be determining by the pathologist and made public after

Seems to me that u rather ignore the validity of the doc facts and rather rely on the alternate half truths of govt

17. Ac

With the facts that the guy had civid present in his blood most people will come to the conclusion that he died from civid

A blood clot ( not related) not related to civid / heart attack could also cause death

I assume the pathologist will make his determination when he dies his test

One test that will help would be the oxygen level in the blood

18. The fact which is evident is that he had Covid
    Govt intent of wrestling with the truth cannot change that fact
    A fact which should be added to the list of people infected with COVID
    Ad the saying goes liars can figure and figures can lie

19. They can dance around the facts as much as they want, just like a relative of mine the dude was living with his underlying conditions and NCDs for over 40 years, it’s a pattern, while being kept alive by various medications….we were warned EARLY in the covid pandemic that those with underlying conditions are at HIGHER RISK of DYING once they contract the virus, it’s not rocket science so i don’t see the need for all the dancing around the issue, or anything other than confirmation from the pathologist instead of trying to find another reason for his death.

the dummies are still trying to fight the word community spread, so tacky, petty and trifling.

20. Many go to the morgue with a gunshot wound
    All the evidence point to the gunshot as the cause of death

Is the same procedure adhere to ?
    What is different now?

In this case the pathologist will determine the official cause of death and not dr Ford or maripose

21. Bostic already said

“The death seemed to be civid related”

When he get the official word he will give the official cause of death
    What hiding you all talking about ?

22. Skipperz,

Iffin a man catch dengay, even iffin he does go comorbids, an he passes long, it does be de dengue dat does it.

Wunna onnerstan dat? He wud liv wid de comorbids, but is de dengay dat brung him to de horspital.

Dat is de ting dat wunna gotz tuh onnerstan. So wunna cud talk chalk bout de comibids, but is de dengue dat put im dey.

Anudder one, if a man get shoot. If he asses long, is de bullet or de comorbids dat put him dey?

23. Ww

Can u tell me ur understanding of community spread?

I will admit that at first what I thought was commmunity spread I now understand was local spread

I am not asking that to pull u down but just to see where u at and if I can “try” to break it down for u

Although u think I know the response already

24. The private sector has signaled that the country must finds ways to get people back to work via its head Edward Clarke. It is interesting to note Prime Minister Gonsales will not shut the country as it confronts a spike in Covid 19 infections. The consensus is that lockdowns do not work.

25. DavidJanuary 19, 2021 1:06 PM

The big issue is controlling the virus and keeping the virus out. So hard controls on the border and the country functioning, should be the aim.

So full testing and quarantine on incoming travelers. But, if eradicated locally, can have work, fetes, sports as usual.

26. Because a man had cocaine is his blood means he died from cocaine?

Because a man had the flu virus in his blood mean he died from the flu?

When manic Johnson died today would it because he have HIV ?

27. Donna continue tell us what works

I can vouch that what she advocates works

28. JohnJanuary 19, 2021 1:13 PM Because a man had cocaine is his blood means he died from cocaine?

if it was an overdose, of course.

Because a man had the flu virus in his blood mean he died from the flu?

if the flu is what cause hospitalisation, of course.

When manic Johnson died today would it because he have HIV ?
    – if it was the virus that caused hospitalisation, of course.

Death certificates usually show cause of death, heart failure, pulmonary embolism etc. But they should also show some detail, flu, pneumonia, then renal failure or heart failure or whatever.

29. if
    And how will you determine if it was an overdose or not?

The answer to that question is why the pathologist should be allow to do his job

30. Responded before I read the whole thing

What if the was no hospitalization but only sudden death ?

31. John2January 19, 2021 1:24 PM

The pathologist still should make a determination. Sudden deaths should not be accepted just like that.

Although, a person of age in Barbados, chances are, they will be treated as such. ”But he did sick years”.

That should not be so. Supposing a person is very wealthy, lots of money under the bed and a relative decided to polish him off?

No, should always be a post mortem in such cases.

32. Cruseo

We seem to be on the same page

33. Wuh happen to the past three days of COVID updates
    Is govt waiting on pathologist results to update the board
    Suddenly every manjack has gone silent

34. The Bajan condition on full display here.

The man died from Covid or died with covid. Either way covid goes on the death certificate.

All of the hand wringing and talk about pathology and autopsies is just foolish.

Is the govt that terrified to see the recorded deaths go from 7 to 8?

By the way, the true number of deaths is more likely than not higher that 8 or 8. The official death count always understates the true mumber of deaths during an epidemic.

35. The number will go to 8 when there is official confirmation that it is 8
    Not sooner

36. If he died from an OD. Will civid still go on the death certificate?

37. Now THAT is finally a question worth asking – where are the updates for the last few days?

I have been checking since Sunday. This is no good.

38. But in the meantime if Bajans really want this thing under control – masks, physical distancing, hand washing and sanitising.

If you play your part the number of deaths will keep to 7 or 8 or something like it. If you don’t, eventually when you point your finger at Mia the thumb will point back at you!

39. Okay John2. You win. He died from an overdose.

What a muppet…

40. Dullard

Don’t put ting to me that I did not said

I ask u a question according to ur assumptions

I am not jumping to no assumptions
    I am waiting until the official report

41. Say not said

42. If he died from Covid I would expect that to be on the death certificate

If he or anyone else with/without Covid died of an OD I would expect OD to be in the certificate

43. A whole number of jobby comments. When the autopsy is completed the death certificate will be updated and official position known.

#theend

44. DavidJanuary 19, 2021 5:20 PM

A whole number of jobby comments. When the autopsy is completed the death certificate will be updated and official position known.

#theend

David yours included

45. Four days and counting
    NO COVID UPDATES

IS THE PATHOLOGISTS REPORT NECESSARY
    ASKING FUH A FRIEND

46. Wunnah asking about updates?

Isn’t there a communications team? Someone send them a map cause they like they lost their way

47. Ralph Gonsalves came up with an economic policy
    Holidays and fetes
    Watch Mia follow

48. When the history of this period is written, the story of the 21st century plague, it will mark the beginning of the end of the American Empire, US civilisation.
    One of the chapter headings will be the death of 400000 people, 140 per cent of the Barbados population, in only ten brief months, and this tells us everything we need to know about the betrayal of the country which dominated the 20th century. Amerian Civilisation has failed.
    And not once has the beast who sat on top of this meltdown, this human tragedy, has said sorry or expressed any sympathy for those unfortunate people.
    At a time when humanity should come to the fore the man the greatest nation on earth had chosen to lead them failed. Whatever one thinks of the US as a nation, it brings tears to the eyes.

49. A valid concern. Tuesdays are slated to be a Covid 19 press briefing day.

50. Did I miss the briefing? If not, David, then something is seriously wrong.

Some test results must have come in over the course of these days.

The whole world is updating their numbers daily. What is our excuse?

There is none. It is inexcusable!