Trust No One.

We are being told that since most of us have been vaccinated against viruses as children, we should not be concerned about taking the COVID-19 vaccination.   We normally accept a medical professional’s advice without question.  But these are not normal times.

We live in a time when our historians can dream nightmares, and convince the government that they are historical facts.  We also live at a time when our: economists, accountants, lawyers, unions, political scientists, and journalists only publicly severely criticise the policies of the political parties they do not support.

It does not benefit a nation to lose the independence of its professionals.  The hypocrisy of partisan professionals has now forced us to question everything – including the COVID-19 vaccine.

VIRUSES.

Our children are normally vaccinated against the: polio, measles, mumps, rubella, and hepatitis B viruses.  These vaccines work in a similar manner.

When our bodies are invaded by a new virus, cells in our body go to war against the invader.  As the virus invades more of our cells, we tend to get sick while our bodies figure out how to defeat the invader.

The healthier we are, the more time we can give our bodies to figure out how to defeat the virus.  If we are unhealthy, then we may die before our bodies can defeat the invader.  That is why being healthy is a good defence.

Once our bodies have figured out how to defeat the virus, there are cells in our bodies that remember the winning strategy.  If that virus invades our bodies in the future, the winning strategy is implemented, and the invader is quickly defeated.

NORMAL VACCINES.

Vaccines for viruses work by giving our army cells the time they need figure out a winning strategy.  This is done by weakening a virus, so that it cannot do us much harm.  This weakened virus is then injected into our bodies for our army cells to learn to defeat.

Since the invading virus is too weak to do much damage, we do not get sick while our cells learn to develop a winning strategy.  Once our cells can recall the winning strategy, we are said to be immune.

THE NEW VACCINE.

The mRNA vaccine is different.  Rather than inject our bodies with a harmless virus, for our cells to learn to defeat, they plan to manipulate part of the virus’ messenger RNA (mRNA), and inject that in our bodies.  This mRNA has been manipulated to instruct our own healthy cells to mutate.

The aim is not to have our army cells go to war against an invading virus, but to learn how to render a scientist-programmed mutation harmless.

THE BOUNDARIES OF SCIENTIFIC KNOWLEDGE.

We do not yet completely understand how our cells figure out the strategy of defeating viruses.  We simply introduce a weakened virus, and observe the results.

In trying to develop better solutions, scientists push the boundaries of scientific knowledge.  This normally results in many failed experiments – all of which help to advance scientific knowledge.

Scientific advancements depend on individual scientists exploring the unknown.  The method of exploration is by doing experiments.  Employers who manage such scientists, understand that the freedom to explore must be balanced by the liability risks, which are enforced by Government regulators.

The COVID-19 pandemic allowed scientists to develop a vaccine based on a different technology – mRNA.  The normal next step is to manage liability risks, by doing more experiments to confidently determine the short and long-term health consequences.

At this time, the short-term consequences are known, but the long-term consequences are completely unknown.  They can only be known by doing experiments and observing the results.

The pandemic is being used as an excuse to give some scientists the freedom to do a global experiment – on humans.  The employers who manage these scientists have been given immunity from prosecution if anything goes wrong.  All the failure risks are on those who take the vaccine.

THE VACCINE OPTIONS.

If the mRNA vaccine was the only available option, then we may justify the global experiment on the idea that necessity is the mother of invention.  However, the planned global experiment not necessary – a conventional vaccine is available.

Of the three vaccines currently planned to be used in the western world, two are mRNA mutation technology, and one was developed using the conventional method of introducing a weakened virus.

Barbados plans to import vaccines for the general population in March 2021.  Our doctors are promoting the mRNA vaccine as safe, when they have no knowledge of its long-term health consequences.  Why is that?

Before the vaccine arrives in Barbados, perhaps these doctors should explain to us why the mRNA vaccine is preferred, if a conventional vaccine is available.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

69 responses to “Grenville Phillips Speaks: Difficult Conversations – Trust No One”

1. All the concerns and questions have been answered so far? The medical fraternity in Barbados and elsewhere have endorsed the science of COVID 19 vaccine so what is Grenville’s point?

2. Grenville,
    Stay in your lane.

3. RE All the concerns and questions have been answered so far? The medical fraternity in Barbados and elsewhere have endorsed the science of COVID 19 vaccine
    IS THIS REALLY TRUE?

RE Grenville, Stay in your lane.
    COULD YOU PLEASE KINDLY TELL US WHERE HE HAS ERRED?

4. Nothing wrong with these questions, David.

As for staying in his lane – I think he has accurately broken down the processes so that the average person can understand. And it is quite true that we do not know the long term effects.

I thought about that long time ago.

My idea is that if something’s not broken then there is no need to fix it. I would like an explanation for this new type of vaccine. That is not unreasonable.

5. Please note that I ascribe nothing nefarious to the motives of the authorities. I just think greater communication is in order in this case. Today’s climate demands it.

6. My nephew is a physician. I have know him as we say in Barbados “since BEFORE he was born” since I introduced his parents to each other.

I trust him, even with my life. He has advised that I take the covid vaccine as soon as it is available. I will take covid vaccine advice from a beloved physician relative and NOT from an engineer whom I have NEVER met.

7. And “yes” we HAVE to trust. How can a community survive without trust? When the traffic light signals green, do we not ALL trust that the traffic engineers know what they are doing, and don’t we ALL proceed through the green light?

If I can trust a traffic engineer EVERY day that I go out on the road, then I can trust a doctor.

Yes I will trust our doctors and our public health officials.

8. It would be completely idiotic to take medical advice from a structural engineer, rather than from a physician.

Please note that when my toilet leaks I do not call a carpenter.

And when I need a haircut I do not call the butcher.

Anytime I need structural engineering advice I will call Grenville and I will take his advice. I will not ask my physician nephew to second guess Grenville when it comes to structural engineering matters. Because in truth my nephew know not one damn thing about structural engineering. Lol!

Stupssseee!!!

9. Cuhdear Bajan,

I am not taking medical advice from Grenville. I am simply stating that we should ask questions and insist on good answers. I trust but not blindly.

10. Because infrastructure designed by engineers do fail just as medical advice often changes due to previously unknown and unintentional side effects.

No guarantees expected but no preventable death for me.

I ask questions.

11. Grenville has erred by not including structural engineers within the list of socalled professionals unworthy of the public’s trust.

He has erred in making a few points over and over as if following the edict that seven times repeated convinces hapless readers.

Certainly, not that the bajan publics would have liability protections, but Grenville has erred by suggesting that Big Pharma already has universal defenses to law suits when the US congress has rejected such approaches by McConnel several times.

Grenville has erred by just being Grenville. LOL

12. @Donna

Do we know the long term effects of most vaccines?

13. Yes, and Grenville greatest error is his presumption that this pandemic has no antecedents.

14. @ Cuhdear BajanDecember 30, 2020 8:13 AM
    “If I can trust a traffic engineer EVERY day that I go out on the road, then I can trust a doctor.
    Yes I will trust our doctors and our public health officials.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Would you also put such ‘blind trust’ in the likes of Dr. Mengele, Dr. Kevorkian, Dr. Shipman or even those (including the nurse(s) involved in the Tuskegee ‘research’ project into Syphilis?

But we must admit that medicine has come a long way since the days its ‘practitioners’ used to share the same ‘surgery’ as barbers.

Out of sheer compassion for the suffering elderly would you be prepared to back a call for making ‘Euthanasia a legal option for those who do not want to go through the process of geriatric pain and suffering especially if they are suffering from an incurable and debilitating disease like many cancers?

Since Bim- with is fast growing greying population with a decreasing number of ‘able’ bodies to care for it- likes to style itself as the Little Switzerland of the Caribbean why not show how much it can punch above its weight and introduce such a ‘far-sighted’ piece of legislation just like it introduced that far-reaching piece of legislation called the Medical Termination of Pregnancy Act?

15. David,

By now, yes. If there are risks we have to acknowledge them and weigh them. We cannot just say it is safe without knowing.

It is quite probable that the odds would favour the taking of the vaccine. I’ll most likely play those odds. Better than walking around in a suit of armour, lacking the warmth of hugs and kisses from friends and family, keeping
    an uncomfortable distance from everybody, unable to mingle at parties, festivals, movies, concerts, sporting events, plays and many of the other joys that make life worth living.

But you have to admit that the pandemonium this virus has caused could possibly encourage desperàte leaders to be less scrupulous in safeguarding our future health in an attempt to salvage the present.

Nothing wrong with questions.

16. @Cuddear Bajan, what rubbish are you going on about this morning? Since they stole the patent for the Stop Lights from that black fellow they had over a hundred years to perfects its working. Why Shouldn’t you and a vast majority trust the engineers in this case? Your Nephew I’m sure you’re proud of him and you want me to know that you have doctors in your family, look here, ain’t no doctor bout here can speak to the ramifications of this Vaccine as Mr Philips has done, I’m sorry, but you need to put aside your Bajanisn and let what the gentleman has to say sink in somewhere in your brain. You are not required to take his advise, but to brush it aside because that is not his field of expertise is as bajan as cou cou and flying fish. Furthermore, it does not present you as intelligent and knowledgeable as you want to project. Since the mid ’90s while living elsewhere after being diagnosed with an autoimmune disease I was amazed at the many doctors/specialists who encouraged me to visit with them armed with whatever materials I’d researched to aid in my treatment. Sometimes they were quite willing to let me suggest a course of action. I’m not a doctor.

17. @ Whitehill

Thank you. People only know what they know. Doctors are not medical scientists, they apply received knowledge. Barbadian doctors have to depend on the WHO, PAHO, the American CDC, CNN, the BBC, etc, all of which is available to ordinary people.
    They do not carry out their own research.

18. Anybody who thinks we should trust the authorities blindly should research the recent preventable tragedies of the Boeing 737 max.

See what measures Boeing have NOW taken to ensure the safety of passengers and people on the ground.

What they did last they should have done first. And they got that one past the authorities in the non 2×3, non backwater/backwoods, non stay-at-home Bajan Conditioned, most wonderfully functioning, least Banana Republicky, most splendiferous United States of America.

19. @ Whitehill
    I AM A DOCTOR, AND I AGREE WITH YOU 100%

20. You are also a supporter of anti science narratives.

A man you elevates religious dogmas over science.

In short you are a christian, fascist, religious bigot.

21. @ GP December 30, 2020 7:46 AM
    “RE Grenville, Stay in your lane.
    COULD YOU PLEASE KINDLY TELL US WHERE HE HAS ERRED?”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Shouldn’t you, Dr. GP aka the bogus priest of false teachings, be questioning the competence of your Great Physician in the sky?

When is he (or it) the miracle worker going to send another Passover to protect his people on Earth (modern-day Egypt) from Covid-19?

There must have been thousands of both white and black evangelical Christians like you who felt the “Rapture” of wrath from the scythe of the Grim Reaper called Covid-19.

Instead of the blood from the sheep (Aries) some guts from the fish (Pisces) in the form of blessings from the Pope might just suffice.

22. Anybody who thinks we should trust the authorities blindly should research the recent preventable tragedies of the Boeing 737 max.

See what measures Boeing have NOW taken to ensure the safety of passengers and people on the ground.

What they did last they should have done first. And they got that one past the authorities in the non 2×3, non backwater/backwoods, non stay-at-home Bajan Conditioned, most wonderfully functioning, least Banana Republicky, most splendiferous United States of America.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

AND WHAT IS THE 2 x 3 ISLAND BEST KNOWN FOR BESIDES BEGGING, BEGGING AND BORROWING FROM THE SAME WHITE MAN WHILST TAKING ADVANTAGE AND MISTREATING ITS OWN BLACK MASSES.

23. Why attack GP for his christian faith?

Why not defend your faithlessness and by articulating your spiritual world views for discussion and interrogation?

Faith and science are not mutually exclusive. Some of the greatest scientists the world has seen were also theologians.
    Sadly, “science” itself has become a religion of sorts to many who blindly trust it. Anyone who has deeply studied any particular area of science quickly realizes that there are many more questions than answers and that there are hard limits to the questions that science is able answer.

24. What Grenville is articulating is no different from discussions in every facet of life from the living rooms of the rich to the local rum shop. I have never heard of a medication that does not come with side effects and some are not discovered until many years after the drug has been accepted into everyday use.

No one will be forced into taking a vaccine (although some Gov’ts might employ sanctions against those who do not take it to protect others much like some Gov’ts have enacted policies in educational facilities against students whose parents object to them being vaccinated for other diseases to protect other students).

On TV daily there are ads promoting any number of drugs that come with significant (to me at least) side effects that I sometimes wonder why anyone would willingly take them but for some the pros outnumber the cons. I take medication that potentially have side effects but fortunately none have been visited upon me (so far), but I am willing to take the risk. We all survived the many mandatory inoculations that were omnipresent in our childhood but some of us are querying whether our children or grandchildren should be subjected to the same regime.

We are continually being reminded that life is short, (Sweetboy’s father lived past the century mark now he is gone at 79).
    Que Sera Sera

25. Poor you! We are known for our Covid success.

Was not Mia all over the international media being made known?

26. @Sargeant

Exactly!

27. @ Dullard

A couple days ago I called for a discussion on the solidification of science as the post-Enlightenment secular religion. CoVid has reinforced this: how many times have we herd we must be guided by the so-called science. Instead of priests we now have scientists.
    There are two good books worth reading: Scientific Colonialism, and Medical Racism. We must interrogate science as much as we interrogate anything else.
    A young Asian registrar once tried his medical nonsense with me by talking about the propensity of Afro-Caribbean people to suffer from certain conditions. He had strayed outside medicine to talk about socio-cultural issues.
    When I challenged him, he got angry and said he did not have time to discuss the matter. Not only did I know more about the subject than he did, I was involved in discussing and studying the subject before he was born.

28. (Quote):
    A young Asian registrar once tried his medical nonsense with me by talking about the propensity of Afro-Caribbean people to suffer from certain conditions. He had strayed outside medicine to talk about socio-cultural issues. (Unquote).

But isn’t that a well-known position taken by the members of the medical fraternity and related-scientific field in many Western societies including those in the Caribbean?

Aren’t black people known to have higher incidences of NCD’s like high blood pressure, diabetes sickle cell anemia and certain ‘other’ cancers than say Caucasians?

But the reverse could be asked of other races like why are whites ‘more’ prone to be afflicted by motor neuron ailments than blacks.

29. Miller December 30, 2020 9:35 AM

Just came back from walking in the Warrens area. Had to cross the multiple lanes several times. We old ladies negotiating Warrens have learned to trust the engineers…but I must admit that in this case I used my eyes to verify. Lol!

30. @whiteHill December 30, 2020 9:51 AM

Love ya!

But not taking medical advice from you neider!

And a happy new year to you.

31. @Simple Simon

This is one for the top drawer. What humor!!!

32. (Quote):
    Faith and science are not mutually exclusive. Some of the greatest scientists the world has seen were also theologians. (Unquote).

Some of the greatest scientists have also been killed by rabid theologians for their refusal to accept things written by the same theologians.

Remember Giordano Bruno (who was burnt to death for his ‘scientific’ beliefs) or the persecution of Galileo?

Dr. GP is one of those de facto doctors of that brand of dangerous theology and who refuses to accept the ‘validity’ of any other form of religion other than his so-called Judeo-Christian-fundamentalism which applies a rigid interpretation to his well-known book of plagiarized stories like the Six day Creation and the Adam & Eve cloning despite the massive scientific evidence to the contrary.

Is Dr. GP prepared to accept the teachings in Islam about medicine or the holistic benefits’ of the earlier Hindu-based Ayurvedic medicine?

If so, he might be able to find the answer to the question as to whether the world is made up of simply black and white.

“Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth.
    Health is the greatest gift, contentment the greatest wealth, faithfulness the best relationship.
    Do not dwell in the past, do not dream of the future, concentrate the mind on the present moment.
    The mind is everything. What you think you become.
    You only lose what you cling to.
    Peace comes from within. Do not seek it without.
    All that we are is the result of what we have thought.
    We are what we think. All that we are arises with our thoughts. With our thoughts, we make the world.
    No one saves us but ourselves. No one can and no one may. We ourselves must walk the path.
    It is better to travel well than to arrive.”

33. @ whiteHill December 30, 2020 9:51 AM “…it does not present you as intelligent and knowledgeable as you want to project…”

Where have I ever projected that I am intelligent or knowledgeable?

You know that my other name is Simple Simon, right?

34. @ Cuhdear BajanDecember 30, 2020 12:10 PM

But Dr. whiteHill has more than medical advice in store for you.

He has also a ‘Prescription of iron for your permanent anaemic condition.

And like a long-awaited New Year’s present, it is all gift-wrapped in rubber like Dr. Beckles needle.

35. @David December 30, 2020 8:53 AM “Do we know the long term effects of most vaccines?”

Yes we do.

me and my cohort were immunised against polio in 1961/60. More that 60 years later, we still here. We still good.

36. @Donna December 30, 2020 10:14 AM “Anybody who thinks we should trust the authorities blindly should research the recent preventable tragedies of the Boeing 737 max.”

I lost my trust in Boeing engineers when I read somewhere that one–just one–of their engineers, an ENGINEER kept a horse in a field as his ahh! “domestic partner”

Crazy.

But “yes” i still had to fly regularly for my job

37. I didn’t make me lose trust in all engineers.

38. Local Talk Radio
    Madicine
    Black people like Hal do love to tell us boring anecdotes stereotyping others as though he has superiority in knowledge wisdom and understanding in overstanding the human race, so to keep in the Barbajan spirit of telling you boring old anecdotes, I remember in 1984 when Jesse Jackson was running for President of the United States of America and I said to an American Doctor visiting London Town that I would like him to win and he replied that “Black people can never become President as they are too lazy”. I told him he obviously had never heard the Kyoto Jazz Sextet House Music Remixes* and stunned him.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ajmcr9QN-sc
    (*) I didn’t really say that, but I wish I had said that zinger on reflection though

39. @Pachamama December 30, 2020 10:28 AM

I don’t need to add a word. Couldn’t have said it as well as you have.

40. sorry for disambiguation and clarification the American Doctor’s race was American Indian not West Indian or Native American but Asian

African Power (Trinidadiandeep Remix)

41. I will note, not for the first time that there was no lotta long talk when Viagra and Cialis were put on the market.

I don’t know how it was in the great white north, but please note that even though no Bajan man anywhere has ever admitted to experiencing erectile dysfunction, our local pharmacists could not keep up with the demand for these substances developed by BIG PHARMA.

I dun.

Before miller, white hill, Baje, Hal and GP et. al cuss me.

But I bet that even if Viagra and Cialis was causing fellas heads to permanently spin ’round so that the eyes were at the back the fellas wouldda still tek um.

We did not hear any long talk then about doctors not being scientists, and Bajan doctors not doing any original research. Although a Bajan doctor a friend of a friend of mine was indeed one of the fellas working on the development of Viagr.

42. According to the British Press, Peter Dunn and Albert Wood are named as the inventors of the process by which Viagra was created. Their names appeared on an application by Pfizer to patent (WOWO9849166A1) the manufacturing process of Sildenafil Citrate, better known as Viagra.
    Peter Dunn and Albert Wood are both employees of Pfizer Pharmaceuticals at the Pfizer run research laboratories in Kent and thus are not allowed to discuss their status or non-status as inventors. In a statement, Albert Wood said: “I can’t say anything, you’ll have to talk to the press office…”
    On the invention of Viagra, a Pfizer Pharmaceuticals spokesperson said:
    “Life might seem cruel, but they are paid to work for the company and the company owns their inventions. Literally, hundreds of people at Pfizer have been involved in developing the drug. You can’t really point to two individuals and say they spawned Viagra.”

More of a Team Effort
    Anyhow, to the best of our knowledge, this is how the story goes. In 1991, inventors Andrew Bell, Dr. David Brown and Dr. Nicholas Terrett discovered that chemical compounds belonging to the pyrazolopyrimidine class were useful in treating heart problems such as angina. Some experts consider Terrett as the father of Viagra as he was named in the 1991 British patent for Sildenafil (trade name Viagra) as a possible heart medicine.
    It was in 1994, though, that Terrett and his colleague Peter Ellis discovered during the trial studies of Sildenafil as a potential heart medication that it also increased blood flow to the penis, allowing men to reverse erectile dysfunctions. The drug acts by enhancing the smooth muscle relaxant effects of nitric oxide, a chemical that is normally released in response to sexual stimulation. The smooth muscle relaxation allows increased blood flow into the penis, leading to an erection when combined with something arousing.
    While Terrett is not allowed to discuss whether he considers himself the real inventor of Viagra as he is still a Pfizer employee, he did once state: “There were three patents put forward for Viagra. Basically, me and my team discovered how useful the drug might be… they (Wood and Dunn) created a way of mass producing it only.”
    Pfizer claims that hundreds of inventors were involved with the creation of Viagra and that there was not enough room on the patent application to name them all. Thus, only the department heads were listed. Dr. Simon Campbell, who until recently was the Senior Vice President Of Medicinal Discovery at Pfizer and oversaw Viagra’s development, is considered by the American press to be the inventor of Viagra. However, Campbell would rather be remembered as the father of Amlodipine, a cardiovascular drug.

Steps In Making Viagra
    Dunn and Wood worked on the crucial nine-step process to synthesize a Sildenafil (Viagra) compound into a pill. It was approved by the FDA on March 27, 1998, as the first pill to treat impotence. Here is a quick summary of the steps:

Methylation of 3-propyl pyrazole-5-carboxylic acid ethyl ester with hot dimethyl sulfate
    Hydrolysis with aqueous NaOH to free acid
    Nitration with oleum/fuming nitric acid
    Carboxamide formation with refluxing thionyl chloride/NH4OH
    Reduction of nitro group to amino
    Acylation with 2-methoxybenzoyl chloride
    Cyclization
    Sulfonation to the chlorosulfonyl derivative
    Condensation with 1-methylpiperazine
    Empirical formula = C22H30N6O4S
    molecular weight = 474.5
    solubility = 3.5 mg/mL in water……(Quote)

43. Oxford-AstraZeneca vaccine has been approved for use in the UK. It is a non mRNA developed vaccine. If I were forced to take a COVID-19 vaccine, then I would take this, or any other non mRNA vaccine developed in the Western hemisphere.

https://dailycaller.com/2020/12/30/united-kingdom-astrazeneca-coronavirus-vaccine/

44. Song for unity

45. @ Cuhdear BajanDecember 30, 2020 1:15 PM

Ms Silly Woe-to-man, please don’t be too ‘hard’ on the miller.

He, the once lion of a man, has only one rather ‘lame’ foot to stand on these days.

For ‘old’ men need Viagra and Cialis with the passage of time just like how women need silicone implants and KYJ.

Just a word of ‘wisdom’ from your old but friendly neighbourhood chemist.

46. Cuhdear Bajan
    Are you a cut woman witch who uses a screwdriver for abortions

African Power / Mission
    For you completists out deh here are a couple of original jazz versions for you to add to your record box

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gDY2mLCShm8

47. Before Viagra and Cialis

There was sea moss and the Birdie

with Bois Bande

48. On my last visit to Barbados a friend took me too see the variety of ‘medicines’ available to aspiring studs.

I cannot remember the many names but one stuck in my mind…. ‘bedroom bully’.

One thing I like about Bajan males is we focus on the more practical. We do not search for the ‘Fountain of Youth’s we search for perfect aphrodisiac…
    Guinness, milk and egg