Submitted by Dr. Kumar Mahabir

Barbados is located in the Caribbean near Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Martinique. It is 34 kilometres (21 miles) in length and up to 23 km (14 miles) in width covering an area of 432 km (167 square miles). The present population of Barbados is 287,000 persons (just more than a quarter-million people) based on Worldometer elaboration of the latest United Nations data.

Five things that have made Barbados world famous: Rihanna, the international singer, songwriter, actress and designer, was born in Barbados; so too is Sir Garfield Sobers, the greatest cricket all-rounder of all time. And the Honourable Mia Mottley is the first female Prime Minister of Barbados. Barbados has also produced the oldest rum in the world from its Mount Gay Distillery. There are also its pristine, peaceful beaches.

Barbados has the head office of the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) which is under attack these days for its grading system. Prime Minister Mottley is also the Chair of CARICOM (the Caribbean Community) which played a critical role in restoring democracy to Guyana during the recounting of votes following the March 2020 elections.

The following are HIGHLIGHTS of an ICC ZOOM public meeting held recently (25/10/20) on the topic “The Indian community in Barbados: business, religion and race-relations.”The Pan-Caribbean meeting was hosted by the Indo-Caribbean Cultural Centre (ICC). The meeting was chaired by Sharlene Maharaj of Trinidad and Tobago (T&T) and moderated by Sadhana Mohan of Surniname.

The speakers where HAJJI SULEIMAN BULBULIA, Secretary of the Barbados Muslim Association and the Muslim Chaplain of the UWI, Cave Hill Campus; and SABIR NAKHUDA, author of the book Bengal to Barbados: A 100-year history of East Indians in Barbados (2013) extracts of which are reproduced below.The discussant was DR KUMAR MAHABIR, an anthropologist from T&T and an Organization of American States (OAS) Former Fellow.

Affectionately called “coolie-man”

East Indians (Indians) have helped shape the social, religious, cultural and economic landscape of Barbados. To understand these impacts, the focus must be on the itinerant traders (affectionately called “coolie-man”).  

For the itinerant trader, the main driver of undertaking an economic enterprise is to generate income. But his business had several unintended consequences, many of which were positive for the Barbadian society for over 100 years.

The “coolie-man” became more than a friendly trader in the neighbourhood; he became a member of the family, a counsellor and an advisor at times. The “coolie-man” in Barbados has many anecdotal stories (positive and negative) which have entered into folklore of the island and have been immortalized in local songs.

The experiences of those who benefited from access to goods on extremely favorable credit terms, at a time when buying cash was the only available option for the poor, is noteworthy. Credit to the average Barbadian was unheard of, and many residents had to struggle on the meagre earnings they received to get along as best as they could.  

In the Foreword to the book Bengal to Barbados, former Prime Minister of Barbados, Freundel Stuart, wrote: “… for many years, I experienced directly, the impact this important group made on the village in which I grew up in the parish of St. Philip. I saw these men alleviate the financial distress of many people who lived in Marchfield, St. Philip.

“They took care of back-to-school requirements for parents who could not afford to buy school uniforms by extending generous credit terms to them. At Christmas, the poorest households benefited from credit terms no less generous.”

Unlike the early Indians in Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, St. Vincent, Grenada and other Caribbean Islands who went to work in the sugar plantations in the 1800s, Indian indentured labourers were not brought to Barbados. Those who came never intended to come to Barbados, but eventually ended up in Barbados and made the country their home.

The early Indians came from three different parts of India. The first Indian came to Barbados circa around 1910 from the Hooghly District in West Bengal: Bashart Ali Dewan initially went to Trinidad from India where his father-in-law was residing. He stayed there for a short while and then – for some unknown reason – moved to Barbados. Other Bengalis followed, and Bashart Ali Dewan and these pioneers stayed in the Bridgetown area of Barbados.

From inception, members of the Indian community have continued to practice their culture and religion. The Sindhi-Hindu community made part of their homes into mandirs [temple] until the opening of the first Hindu temple in Welches, St. Michael on the 22nd of October 1995.

The Muslim community continues to practice their faith individually and collectively. In the early days, the Friday jummah [congregational prayers] were performed at private homes at Wellington Street and Cheapside in the city. In 1951, the first masjid [mosque] was built in Kensington New Road.

330 responses to “The Indian community in Barbados: business, religion and race-relations”

1. David
    Some black bajans have that influence too, maybe even some ascending their crosses here on BU. With so much “intellectual” weaponry amongst the pro-Black brigade on BU, it is about time many put their money and time where their mouts are instead of doing the easy–talk. Who in here pooling or reaching out to other Black Bajans to pool? We in here cussing about the cannabis licenses and applications, who pooling to buy one or two? Ah mean everyone knows the Indians pool and the whites circulate the $$ within their circle as much as possible, what is stopping us?

2. The real problem lies in govt policies laden with objectives to support the economic class

3. What is meant by ‘influence’? Speak in simple language, plse.

@ William
    The deliberate misrepresentation of pre-war Germany history will simply misinform the blog. It also suggests, if true, that history repeats itself. It does not and the interpretation is wrong.

@Baje
    A few years ago I was working on an investigation in to drug dealing in North West London and was with a group of Bajans at a black pudding and souse lady and mentioned it.
    The son of one of the guys was there, young guy in his early twenties; he asked me wo I thought were the dealers and I repeated the usual story about Yardies, etc.
    He smiled and told me the biggest dealers in Harlesden, a popular area, were the Asian shop keepers. Until then I thought they worked all hours etc, the popular narrative, until he gave me lessons in the real world.
    What surprised me was that I knew a few detective in the area and not once did they mention this line of inquiry.

Another scam to watch out for in Barbados are repossessed homes. Mortgage borrowers in Barbados have to take out insurance cover for the Loan to value of the property, unethically making the lender the beneficiary.
    When the property is repossessed, the lender claims on the policy, yet takes possession of the home and auctions it through a law firm (are they qualified auctioneers) and usually sold on to favourite property developers – and that is the scam.
    If a property is repossessed, it should by law be sold at the market value, with the lenders deducting their loan plus costs and the remainder of the money going to the borrower. How many people in Barbados have had their repossessed homes sold and money was returned to them?
    In any case, I am in favour of mortgage repayment protection insurance, but the beneficiary should be the person paying for the cover. If lenders want cover they should take out their own insurance.
    By the way, such insurance is banned in the UK.

4. @Enuff

Good idea to pool resources, minorities do it well. It is inculcated from birth. For Blacks on the other hand we seem predisposed to mendicant behaviour, waiting on someone to lend a hand. As mentioned in an earlier comment one must wonder if this lazy trait does not track to the experience of our middle class. We have been enculturated to define success by things acquired. You get the drift. We have Blacks with wealth but again we are not predisposed to reaching down to help others. Why is open for debate. The credit unions were seen as an opportunity to expand the enfranchisement of Blacks but they have been overrun by indolents from the very middle class. It seems we are caught in a loop.

5. “The minorities know our weaknesses as Blacks for things.”
    You need to dig a deeper to bring the light into the darkness
    follow the money
    gate pressure for opening doors for trade comes from politicians no?

6. @Kiki

The very Blacks are gatekeepers of the information required to smash the thing wide open. They want to protect their treasure trove at all cost.

7. “With so much “intellectual” weaponry amongst the pro-Black brigade on BU, it is about time many put their money and time where their mouts are instead of doing the easy–talk.”

for yall to TIEF IT AGAIN…do you know how many times over the DECADES BLACK/AFRICANS did just that and tried to show the parliament pedigrees the way, who weren’t LOCKED UP were ROBBED or CHASED OFF THE ISLAND…it’s been happening since ya little mingy, mentally stunted self was born….so who got time and energy to waste like that again…..when those same intellectuals found a much more efficient way to get things done….and NO you cannot be enlightened…ya will get confused like Donna.

8. In Business and where money is involved you should make an assumption that corruption and theft happens at every opportunity and if you don’t make the necessary checks balances and processes in place then you are encouraging temptation. When you go to a hotel or stay somewhere where there are staff such as maids, room service or cleaners you should not leave your wallet or cash out and then complain all surprised you were robbed.

9. William…these still don’t get it, as long as that house negro slave mentality continues to reside and thrive in the parliament, as long as the whites and other minorities jump out front as 1st class citizens in which they have to rob black people to get to the front of the line anyway and as long as parliament negros continue to wield the …..blacks step back dirty sellout niga philosophy that continues to poison the parliament and the island’s scenery…….they CAN NEVER MOVE FORWARD…

it will take a real heart stopping definitive moment for these to learn anything, i don’t see it happening naturally, but there are ways to jumpstart these bi*ches…who still want to run a slave society then pretend they’re world class.

10. @Kiki

In theory what you stated is correct, we are all actors in the system with responsibilities for making it work. The ignorance of our citizenry is on display here – how we try to crack a way of doing things that has subsumed an ability to trigger change. For the majority of politicians and prominent others entering service, they are probably well intentioned when elevated to leadership roles but greed is difficult to manage if opportunities abound without penalties. How we change will not occur by cussing politicians on a daily basis. We need a movement initiated by everyday people. We need to organize ourselves and brick by brick dismantle old ways of doing things that define the establishment. It is not an easy task but it must be done – our integrity as good citizens demand it.

11. @ BAJE
    Your comments on December 23, 2020 12:08 AM are concise and accurate. Too bad that your words will fall on death ears.

I find it sad that we eulogise these people so called business prowess whilst running down our own people.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

SOMEONE ALSO MENTIONED THE CAR RACKET IN THE UK INSURANCE SCAM IT ALSO HAPPENS IN BIM SAME ENTITIES.

THEY ARE ALSO INVOLVED IN THE STOLEN CAR RACKET FOR EXAMPLE TOYOTA AND OTHER POPULAR BRANDS FOR STRIPPING FOR PARTS AND SOLD IN SOME OF THE SAME LOCAL CAR PART STORES AND ON THE BLACK MARKET ON THE 2 x 3 ISLAND ON A LARGE SCALE.

THE LARGE CASH AMONG THIS GROUP DIDN’T DROP FROM THE SKY OR EXTRA ORDINARY GENIUS IT IS FROM DRUGS AND OTHER NEFARIOUS ACTIVITIES I HAVE DESCRIBED AND OTHERS HAVE ADDED TO.

BETWEEN “CASH GIFTS” AKA BRIBING IS THEIR SECRECY AND THEIR CAREFUL SELECTION OF WHOM THEY DEAL WITH AS OUTSIDERS IN THE LOCAL BLACK COMMUNITY TO DO BUSINESS WITH OR FOR FAVOURS.

LOCAL BLACKS FOR THE MOST PART GOSSIP TOO MUCH AND SEEK TO KEEP EACH OTHER IN THEIR PLACE WHILST THE INDIANS ARE ONLY INTEREST IN MOVING UP AND ON BY ALL MEANS NECESSARY THROUGH BOTH THE FRONT AND BACK DOORS.

AGAIN NOT BASHING BUT FROM BUSINESS DEALINGS WITH MAJOR PLAYERS IN THIS GROUP I HAVE SEEN FIRST HAND AND KNOW THE REALITY FROM OBSERVING AND DIALOGUE.

12. @Kiki

You will not know this but it is well known the late Blaire Haynes facilitated the tax returns for the Indian community for cash. Enough said.

13. “Who in here pooling or reaching out to other Black Bajans to pool? ”

This is a good question.

Some of us are willing to pool with others and are prepared to accept business risks.

We have to move beyond good ideas/questions. Some level of assurance has to be in place so that this is a business venture and not a donation.

Working with strangers requires different a level of precaution than working with people that you know.

14. Enuff seems to be making a general point. We need to embrace an attitude to pooling resources as black people. Nothing to do with BU. What must change to trigger this new behaviour?

15. “Some of us are willing to pool with others and are prepared to accept business risks.

We have to move beyond good ideas/questions. Some level of assurance has to be in place so that this is a business venture and not a donation.”

what Fowl Enuff don’t know is that the Black population have already begun the process…..and NO government should not get involved to SABOTAGE black people AGAIN…..they don’t interfere when whites, indians and syrians do the same thing, re pooling, they pick up Black people’s money and give to them freely…..the only people who don’t have any access to their own investment money in Barbados is the Black population….Enuff should ask Mia …why…

“We have a city in the UK called Leicester. It was where a large number of Uganda and Kenyan Asians settled after they were – correctly – kicked out of Eastern Africa. The myth was that they came armed “only” with a suitcase and the clothes that they stood in. The reality was that these people ran both economies whilst mal-treating their black African workforce. A large number of them were extremely wealthy and within a couple of decades after living in the UK they became movers and shakers within the UK.”

Idi Amin was right to kick them out, they are repulsive classless lot, one need look no further than the product of those racist clowns….one Priti Patel now terroizing immigrants in UK although being a mere 1st generation transplant.

16. Growing up in UK in a muti-culti school where you are taught to love one another like sister and brother as that is right, is very different to those bajans who come here after their formative years as they adopt the racist attitudes of the older people who hate all immigrants and treat all blacks and browns as one group of coloureds just like in segregation whites only days. Divide to rule is their MO and when blacks hate browns or vice versa you are doing their work listening to their narrative. During school days National Front were recruiting enticing boys outside the school gates and in the pubs and some of my friends were the darlings of the white man’s front and used to fight like football hooligans. A common yarn spun about criminality when questioned was, it was the pakis.

17. @David December 23, 2020 10:49 AM
    the same gentleman who was tax consultant to the PM’s father?

18. If you want to buy the boom weed you can go into the rasta camp, or you can score from the police or customs officials.

19. WURA de Salemite

Me and the whole of BU know you’re not pooling or aware of others pooling given the shiiite you duz write here everyday. Yuh contradicting yuhself. Too RH liard and twist mout.

20. @ David December 23, 2020 10:18 AM
    “For Blacks on the other hand we seem predisposed to mendicant behaviour, waiting on someone to lend a hand. As mentioned in an earlier comment one must wonder if this lazy trait does not track to the experience of our middle class. We have been enculturated to define success by things acquired.@

You forgot to mention the role played by the black political class in reinforcing the same mendicant behaviour among blacks including those in the middleclass who should know and can do much better.

Just take a read of any of the political parties’ manifestoes and you would see a litany of promises of welfare gifts enticing people to vote for paradise within 5 years.

When a government can write-off billions of $ in VAT and other taxes (especially in a country totally reliant on its transactional/ buying and selling economy for its taxation source) what is that saying to the country’s creditors and foreign moneylenders?

21. @Northern Observer

You have used the label tax consultant loosely. What Haynes had was an inside track to commanding favors from the Inland Revenue at the time.

22. WURA
    For who to tief and from whom, certainly not you! One month you promote Africa then 2 months later berate the same african countries and the relevance of embassies in some. You’re just a Salemite, nothing more nothing less. Not a single idea you’ve ever advanced, cut and paste, even from Facebook posts. Tief what…..stupse! Woman guh so. 🤣🤣

23. @ Enuff December 23, 2020 10:00 AM
    We in here cussing about the cannabis licenses and applications, who pooling to buy one or two? Ah mean everyone knows the Indians pool and the whites circulate the $$ within their circle as much as possible, what is stopping us?

How about “levelling the playing field”; if we are to employ one of the stock-in-trade phrases of bull-shitters with which you are quite at home?

Wouldn’t it be in keeping with spirit of free enterprise aka capitalism to put the cannabis licensing regime of fees on par with the cost of acquiring a ‘liquor’ licence; even it is applied on a per acre basis?

The Treasury would not be ‘losing’ any revenues since it currently collects zilch from the ‘illegal activity except for the fines imposed by the courts and VAT on the imported “cigarette” wrappers like Bambi and Rizla

Wouldn’t that be putting ‘easier’ access to the growing of marijuana for medicinal purposes in the reach of the average man or woman who owns or can lease land for agricultural purposes?

You might just witness a real revolution in the agricultural sector merely out of sheer competition when those fields and hills beyond recall are now put (again) to productively profitable purposes.

24. “One month you promote Africa then 2 months later berate the same african countries and the relevance of embassies in some. ”

that’s because I CAN THINK FOR MYSELF, am not a yardfowl who has to hold a non-intellectual corner and stay there…ya should ask them on the continent what i tell them about themselves….you won’t have the balls to tell any politicians in Barbados anything they don’t want to hear…

hope that clears things up for you.

25. “Me and the whole of BU know you’re not pooling or aware of others pooling given the shiiite you duz write here everyday”

but ah know all alyuh DIRTY BUSINESS THOUGH….

26. And ah also KNOW the SURPRISE!!!! alyuh in for too.

27. @ David December 23, 2020 11:59 AM

Are you referring to Blair?

28. Miller…these think they got things covered down real, real tight, the circle getting smaller and smaller, but, oh well..

29. @Artax

Yes

30. @Miller

Besides paying the license fee what other cost to setup infrastructure is required?

31. @ David December 23, 2020 11:59 AM

Wasn’t the same (Blair) a ‘senior’ employee of the then IRD?

The Doc and big-up politician- who, as shadow Mo,F back-raised Bree- must have been real embarrassed to ‘hear’ his brother being referred to the ‘Kick-Back-Kid’ Haynes.

We are surprised that our own BU tax expert and accounting techie Artax did not cross his path; unless he was still at accountancy school.

32. Milluh
    “Wouldn’t it be in keeping with spirit of free enterprise aka capitalism to put the cannabis licensing regime of fees on par with the cost of acquiring a ‘liquor’ licence; even it is applied on a per acre basis?”

In view of your response, Counsel rests.🤔

33. @Kiki

Your experience growing up in the UK given your extraction seems to be different to Blcks in this forum. What are the different considerations at play affecting the different groups?

34. @ David December 23, 2020 1:04 PM

Now there is where the pooling of resources by blacks- either through private arrangements like the old meeting turns or via the credit union movement -can come into play.

If you want to add value to an ‘agricultural’ product and to demand higher returns then the ‘big’ financing bogeyman comes into the picture.

But at least leave the entry door open for anyone.

Maybe the people who make up the BARVEN community can come together for their own advancement in this sector.

35. @Miller

Now you are talking. Even if government reduces the license to $20 it does not guarantee average Joes will make the cut.

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Miller at 1 :16 PM

The two persons you mentioned in the referenced intervention were not brothers. Probably equally brilliant but not brothers.

37. Both went to Harrison College. One from the Belle Gully, the other from St George. BU must get its facts right.

38. @ Vincent Codrington December 23, 2020 1:37 PM

“Brothers” in chicanery.

39. @ David December 23, 2020 1:34 PM

Nothing in business is guaranteed.

But it would at least “level the playing” so that some currently handicapped by the law can get the chance to play, fairly, without having to pay kickbacks to politicians, bureaucrats and law enforcement officials.

40. @Miller

You were not a Ritchie admirer?

41. Hi Theo,
    Thanks.
    I view the info as confidential and not to be shared with anyone.

42. “But hey these are the same peeps that make it their job everyday to blast their black island and black countryme….”

so if the island is SO BLACK…why is it minority whites, indians, syrans etc have (STOLE) all Black people’s estates, money and opportunities, commit so many crimes against black people, AIDED BY PARLIAMENTARY BLACK FACES….and you got the nerve to call other people fraud….ya have no shame..

43. @Hal Austin December 23, 2020 1:41 PM

You are right, indeed!

But you must agree that both suffered from what you would call that “Bajan Condition”.

Or is it now the “West Indian” Condition?

Are you sure it wasn’t another Hal Austin who got swindled out of his time-share deposit?

44. Nothing received.

45. @ Miller

No. It was another Hal Austin who proposed developing St Lawrence Gap, who worked as an insurance agent/salesman, who was involved in Canada with Bajan workers, or even the Marxist and Roman Catholic who thinks Bajan women are not worth marrying..
    I suggest we put them all under one umbrella. What are a few facts between friends?

46. “After many years of study and hard work, and huge sums of money paid by Barbadian taxpayers for my education, I watched as a foreign company was paid $54 million by the government of Barbados to carry out bond calculations that I, and some other Barbadians, can do with our eyes shut. That gives me an idea of how much my knowledge is worth.”

and then Fowl Enuff will want to get on BU and pretend that the frauds in the parliament are not the ones heavily invested in DISENFRANCHISING BLACK PEOPLE..even when taxpayers educated them and they’re willing TO GIVE BACK…the no good trash would prefer give the job to a minister in the Canadian government instead and pay them tens of millions of dollars and don’t want to pay Black people for doing an even better job…..as long as it’s someone white,, indian or syrian the lowlifes don’t want to see any black people benefiting or contributing to anything to uplift the black family..

they could’ve found 2 Black Bajans on the island or in the diaspora to help them with the austerity plans but did they, nah, they colluded LONG BEFORE THE ELECTION to hire two fly by night white dudes who rent a broom closet in UK, who did not even volunteer for any anti-money laundering programs, pay them US $85,000 per month and a one shot deal of $62 million, still wondering if it’s US….and would not even want to pay Black professionals US$30,000 per month for doing a much better job.

47. The BU Hal Austin is certainly the one that run wey from the “President” at the town hall in long though….nary a question. It was said he turned up all puffed up with note pad and all but disappeared before the applause ended only to appear on BU with a multiplicity of questions for the “President”. 🤣🤣

48. @ Hal Austin December 23, 2020 2:10 PM

At least you have a ‘cocky’ sense of humour; unlike that of the ’serious’ Jamaicans from Brixton.

That must have been acquired from being around Darcus Howe and friends, including CLR.

No Bajan ‘RH’s’ and ‘God blind ya’s’ from the back of the IVY.

49. Salemite
    If Walter can do bond calculations with his eyes shut he should have been mekkin a mint and a name for himself advising all the other countries’ debt restructuring? Then he would have been known and easily tracked down by the government. In fact his own party should have consulted with him even before 2018, instead of wasting his actuarial talents on the W&W show. But in any event, he wudda been person non grata for the likes of you and Hal. Dr.Greenidge?

50. Neither Darcus nor CLR was from Jamaica. But keep up the cheap jokes.