Submitted by Dr. Kumar Mahabir

Barbados is located in the Caribbean near Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and Martinique. It is 34 kilometres (21 miles) in length and up to 23 km (14 miles) in width covering an area of 432 km (167 square miles). The present population of Barbados is 287,000 persons (just more than a quarter-million people) based on Worldometer elaboration of the latest United Nations data.

Five things that have made Barbados world famous: Rihanna, the international singer, songwriter, actress and designer, was born in Barbados; so too is Sir Garfield Sobers, the greatest cricket all-rounder of all time. And the Honourable Mia Mottley is the first female Prime Minister of Barbados. Barbados has also produced the oldest rum in the world from its Mount Gay Distillery. There are also its pristine, peaceful beaches.

Barbados has the head office of the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) which is under attack these days for its grading system. Prime Minister Mottley is also the Chair of CARICOM (the Caribbean Community) which played a critical role in restoring democracy to Guyana during the recounting of votes following the March 2020 elections.

The following are HIGHLIGHTS of an ICC ZOOM public meeting held recently (25/10/20) on the topic โ€œThe Indian community in Barbados: business, religion and race-relations.โ€The Pan-Caribbean meeting was hosted by the Indo-Caribbean Cultural Centre (ICC). The meeting was chaired by Sharlene Maharaj of Trinidad and Tobago (T&T) and moderated by Sadhana Mohan of Surniname.

The speakers where HAJJI SULEIMAN BULBULIA, Secretary of the Barbados Muslim Association and the Muslim Chaplain of the UWI, Cave Hill Campus; and SABIR NAKHUDA, author of the book Bengal to Barbados: A 100-year history of East Indians in Barbados (2013) extracts of which are reproduced below.The discussant was DR KUMAR MAHABIR, an anthropologist from T&T and an Organization of American States (OAS) Former Fellow.

Affectionately called โ€œcoolie-manโ€

East Indians (Indians) have helped shape the social, religious, cultural and economic landscape of Barbados. To understand these impacts, the focus must be on the itinerant traders (affectionately called โ€œcoolie-manโ€).  

For the itinerant trader, the main driver of undertaking an economic enterprise is to generate income. But his business had several unintended consequences, many of which were positive for the Barbadian society for over 100 years.

The โ€œcoolie-manโ€ became more than a friendly trader in the neighbourhood; he became a member of the family, a counsellor and an advisor at times. The โ€œcoolie-manโ€ in Barbados has many anecdotal stories (positive and negative) which have entered into folklore of the island and have been immortalized in local songs.

The experiences of those who benefited from access to goods on extremely favorable credit terms, at a time when buying cash was the only available option for the poor, is noteworthy. Credit to the average Barbadian was unheard of, and many residents had to struggle on the meagre earnings they received to get along as best as they could.  

In the Foreword to the book Bengal to Barbados, former Prime Minister of Barbados, Freundel Stuart, wrote: โ€œโ€ฆ for many years, I experienced directly, the impact this important group made on the village in which I grew up in the parish of St. Philip. I saw these men alleviate the financial distress of many people who lived in Marchfield, St. Philip.

โ€œThey took care of back-to-school requirements for parents who could not afford to buy school uniforms by extending generous credit terms to them. At Christmas, the poorest households benefited from credit terms no less generous.โ€

Unlike the early Indians in Guyana, Trinidad & Tobago, St. Vincent, Grenada and other Caribbean Islands who went to work in the sugar plantations in the 1800s, Indian indentured labourers were not brought to Barbados. Those who came never intended to come to Barbados, but eventually ended up in Barbados and made the country their home.

The early Indians came from three different parts of India. The first Indian came to Barbados circa around 1910 from the Hooghly District in West Bengal: Bashart Ali Dewan initially went to Trinidad from India where his father-in-law was residing. He stayed there for a short while and then – for some unknown reason – moved to Barbados. Other Bengalis followed, and Bashart Ali Dewan and these pioneers stayed in the Bridgetown area of Barbados.

From inception, members of the Indian community have continued to practice their culture and religion. The Sindhi-Hindu community made part of their homes into mandirs [temple] until the opening of the first Hindu temple in Welches, St. Michael on the 22nd of October 1995.

The Muslim community continues to practice their faith individually and collectively. In the early days, the Friday jummah [congregational prayers] were performed at private homes at Wellington Street and Cheapside in the city. In 1951, the first masjid [mosque] was built in Kensington New Road.

330 responses to “The Indian community in Barbados: business, religion and race-relations”

1. Vincent Codrington Avatar

The Indian community has been an accepted feature of the Barbadian society. They make their contributions like all dutiful citizens.The process of integration does not have to mimic that of other CARICOM countries.

2. @Vincent

The blogmaster observed it first hand, the Moses, Bhannas- many poor And working class Bajans bettered themselves with their help. It is not as prevalent today as other options of financing have become available.

3. What a disgrace.

4. No one will dispute that the coolie man became a necessary economic tool/ provider for many barbadian households
    However what most are upset about is that this small group has been elevated to a economic level aided by govt help in several ways while small black businesses struggle to get their foot off the ground

5. @ Mariposa
    This has nothing to do with the Indian community. Since 1947 India was divided along religious lines. This is about Muslims, militant Muslims, asserting themselves, especially the Iman, who is quite clearly the front man: regular appearances on CBC, a column in Barbados Today, Ian at the UWI, and numerous other appearances. Who pays him?
    The Muslims, and in particular the militant Jihadists, are marking out their spot, they are claiming their rights, which they now claim go back 100 years.
    This is not a coincidence, it is a deliberate, well thoughtout plan to capture the heart and soul of the nation; first by winning over the natives, but, if that fails, by compulsion.
    Note the gradualist, step by step approach: we sent one to the UN and he started pulling Barbados in to the Palestinian crisis; note the geographical capture, which will have an influence on certain targeted parliamentary seats.
    Remember the 2007 Cricket World Cup when the commissioner of police and the head of the BDF went down to Kensington New Road, were forced to take off their shoes, and were given a lecture by the Imans, about male police searching their women. The warning signs were there then. Remember when Billie Miller retired her seat was almost captured by a local busybody?
    While buffoons and liberal apologists get on BU and attack people like yourself and @CCC, the sovereignty of ordinary people is slipping away. It will end in tears. We have failed the promises of independence.

6. David
    Codrington

What is wrong with your sycophantic attitude is that there are no similar Bajan communities which are or could be transported into the centre of Indian culture and survive in the same ways. Even Pakistani; muslim, hindu, Sikh or other.

Afrikan peoples everywhere, and neither of you have ever made such a claim, to be Afrikan, seem always to be the objects of everybody else’s culture for exploitation.

At the base, Barbados has been asked to absorb all kinds of ethic fissures imported from elsewhere and superimposed on a long long history of unresolved tensions right here.

7. @Pacha

The blogmaster lives by a few golden rules whether you agree or not – the behaviour of the immediate family of the BU household – including the blogmaster – is not determined by others. We treat with others as we want to be treated.

8. @ Hal, @ Pacha
    Masterful propaganda ! I note they have avoided talking about how they treated Black women in their employ. This is the kind of nonsense people accept but if @ Pacha @ Hal or William Skinner attempts to unmask, the atrocities being perpetrated against their own black people, they are ready to cats prattle yuh.
    Itโ€™s obvious that the Indian community now has its vision of entering ,in full blast ,elective politics. This article is brilliant kite flying. Luckily some of us know itโ€™s that which is not written that really counts.
    There is a reason it has found itself in BU.

Peace

9. David
    Wrong! It represents escapism to see this as a personal or personality issue.

Indeed, lived realities in barbados, guyana, argue the opposite.

This is a matter of all the aspects of culture – economy, politics, resource allocation, religion, etc

We demure. You can’t hide under that illogical rock.

10. @William

Your posit is to suggest there are perfect scenarios? We have the Miss Rams we al who have exploited cheap labour in Barbados which translates to Blacks in a majority black population BUT the blogmaster can recount many stories where Indians have assisted. Two doctors come to mind. So what is your point? You are capable of focusing on the negatives only?

The blogmaster attended school with Indians BORN in Barbados, played sports and engaged in extracurricular activities. They are human beings.

11. @Pacha

It takes all types to make the world spin, the blogmaster will not adopt a wholesale perspective to the matter of minorities living in Barbados and the importance of fostering harmonious a climate.We have to treat with our situation as it presents. We are on polar sides of this matter therefore you may have the last word.

12. @ David
    Let me tell you flat out. You can interpret socio , economic and political issues in Barbados as you choose and so can I.
    I am not into personality crap about who went school with whom. You cannot get such an argument past any well informed nine or ten year old.
    Who is claiming Indians are non- human? Who is claiming they donโ€™t have a right as Barbadians to be involved in any aspect of their countryโ€™s activities.
    Donโ€™t bring your crap to me. You talk about Indian doctors being socially aware . Have you ever heard about a Doctor Emtage. a white, who gave almost all of Brittons Hill free sevices?
    Our research clearly indicates that Kyfin Simpson of Suzuki motors is a model employer.
    Did that stop me from analyzing the role white people play in our country?
    You are really becoming a very interesting person but you or nobody else on this blog or anywhere in Barbados cannot scare me.
    I call it as I see it just like you , Sir!

13. David
    This writer knows the men presented, has known them for years, and all the rest of any importance in Barbados. The points we raise with you we have argued with them, all the raaasoul time.

And we ask you again. Where are the Bajans who have gone where they came from and have been able to corrupt their systems to the point where an overt political intervention could be mustered.

The problem we will always have with your disposition is that it is well founded on a bedrock of mental inferiority masquerading as enlightenment.

14. Oh dear me! I frighten to talk!

I gon cop out like TheO!

Nothing to contribute.

15. @ William

In the 1960s and 70s in the UK, Asians (Indians, Muslims, Hindus, et al) identified as black. Then they identified as Asian, and in time as Muslim, Hindus, Sikhs, etc.
    Sometime ago I employed an Indian (Hindu), who had worked for me before, left to work as an analyst, then returned to join our staff as a features editor. He was elated.
    A few weeks later he submitted his resignation. In Britain we do exit interviews to find out why people are leaving; he told me that he told the elders in his Hindu temple of his new job and they instructed him not to work under a West Indian.
    When I had my bookshop, I rented from a middle-aged Sikh man; one terribly bad winter the shop was flooded (books and water, think about it), and he tried to pass it off as an act of God. It was not. It was his negligence for leaving the windows of the above flats opened.
    To cut a long story short, we had a long battle and at one point he told me the elders at his Sikh Temple warned him about renting the shop to a West Indian.
    A few years ago a theatre in Birmingham had on a play in which a Sikh actress played the love interest of a black man; the local Sikh community picketed the theatre until the play was withdrawn. This was the theatre.
    Sometime ago the Nation carried an interview with a black Muslim convert and his Muslim wife. The wife told of the pressure she came under from fellow Muslims, including the rude remarks said about her husband by senior Muslims. Do Barbadians read their own papers?
    We also had an actress who played a leading part in an American television drama in which her love interest was a fellow black doctor. Her father ordered her back to London.
    And sometime ago the Nation ran a story of a black Muslim convert who had married a young Muslim woman; I believe they both worked at the community college, although some time ago @ Robert Lucas told us they had moved to the US.
    There are endless stories, but I am under the impression t hat Barbadians would not listen. Remember the old saying: too late, too late, shall be the cry?
    Talk to people in Durban, Fiji, Mauritius, West Yorkshire.

16. There are many ignorant BU Indian Haters who are as repugnant as alabaster racists. They do not look into the souls of anyone.
    I See You

17. @Donna

This is unlike you. Let us hear your view. All views are relevant to helping to fashion perspectives on what will be a nettlesome issue until Armageddon (used deliberately).

18. @ Pachamama December 22, 2020 7:36 AM

โ€œAfrikan peoples everywhere, and neither of you have ever made such a claim, to be Afrikan, seem always to be the objects of everybody elseโ€™s culture for exploitation.โ€
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The writer is making it abundantly clear (and boastfully so) that his people have never been forcibly stripped of their culture and religion(s).

That has not been the experience of blacks taken from West Africa.

How come the Bajan โ€˜Establishmentโ€™ demands that Africans behave like Christians but others can continue with their culture and religion intact even when it involves blatant discrimination against females?

If Jesus is the only way to God why arenโ€™t those โ€œheathensโ€™โ€ being asked to do what is expected of black Bajans; that is, go to church to serve the Lord?

Why Christianity (as seen through the eyes of the European) has not worked for blacks to a similar degree Hinduism and Islam have worked for the East Indian who arrived in Bim with only a suitcase and a few shillings in his pocket?

If Bajans feel that the East Indian community amassed its current wealth through peddling only cloth and trinkets to blacks then why did the Civic and N.E. Wilson go out of business?

19. Miller

There was a time when swan street was largely Black controlled. Now even Broad street has become an enclave. There is only one Black man who owns buildings on swan street now. Where in Bengal have Afrikan peoples been able to do that. This writer has gone to Bengal and failed to find evidence of a Bajan cultural presence.

20. @Miller

Why Black people struggle to ring fence their culture?

21. Jah Know

22. @ Pachamama December 22, 2020 8:55 AM

What is also disappointingly shocking is the โ€˜hypocriticalโ€™ absence of any public objection to the anti-female practices of the East Indian Islamic community by the local feminist movement.

Even the wannabe women like the Wick ham refuse to condemn and march against those practices with the same vigour they like to do against black Bajan men even if they are wellโ€“conditioned โ€˜nice guysโ€™ like Kammie Holder.

Can you imagine how the feminist movement in Bim would react if the Pentecostal Church in Barbados decides to take their Bible quite literally and ban females from sitting next to males or โ€œchattingโ€ while in the congregation?

One is left to wonder what would be the position taken by our own BU โ€˜dyed-in-the-woolโ€™ feminists like the โ€œCuhdear Bajanโ€ and the Lady Ma-donna on this blatant case of female exploitation in plain sight.

23. Barbados now has an official tartan. We are all Scottish now. A nation without any sense of culture.

24. @Miller

You are aware the establishment church in Barbados (Anglicans) ordained women priests in the late 90s? What is your point?

25. @ David December 22, 2020 9:08 AM

Which culture?

Do you mean like the Zulus or Maasai or the Dogon?

The only culture Black Bajans have is a bastardized version of the โ€˜Africanizedโ€™ English which is based on a religion which places the image of a white man at the centre.

East Indians will never bow down or submit themselves to any god that does not look like them unless it is to their social and material advancement.

26. @Miller

We know is all societies this is the case, it is clannish. Is this because of religion or that minorities tend to be protective of customs.

27. @ David December 22, 2020 9:21 AM

Your statement of equality for women in Barbados only serves to reinforce the point that there ought to be serious objection to any form of discrimination which places women of any ethnic or religious grouping in an inferior role or status to men.

So where are the Marshas and the feminist lobby in Bim?

What is your view on it, Blogmaster? Donโ€™t you think it is a โ€˜fairโ€™ cause that needs assistance?

28. @Miller

Making the reference to the two female priests ordained by the Anglican Church was to make the point that even in a so-called enlightened Barbados our main religions have kept woman out until recently. There is hope yet – it springs eternal.

29. Colours
    Dub Colors*
    Dub Marshall
    Wackies Rhythm Force

30. The coolie man business could not exist without them giving credit to the working poor in Barbados.

Ever wonder where the coolie man goods came from and who financed his business ?

31. Miller,

Christianity was not much better until recently. Many denominations still practise sexism.

Religions evolve. Islam is evolving. There are extremists fighting against it. Let them sort out their problems. I am not and never will be a Moslem.

Let me tell you that I had an experience at the QEH where Moslem sensibilities were provided for whilst mine were ignored. The matter was quickly resolved by the sister. She simply had not thought about it, she explained and nobody else had objected.

I stand up for my rights. Moslem women have not asked for my help and quite frankly, I have other battles to fight.

I was kidding about being scared. The real reason is that I have to think some more about it.

I, like you, never had a problem with them personally and bear them no ill will but I guess we do have to take certain factors into consideration.

32. Besides which I am busy being culturally penetrated by the Bee Gees. A new documentary being featured on Morning Joe.

33. PachamamaDecember 22, 2020 7:56 AM

“David
    We demure.”

Pachamamum,
    I am trying to follow the arguments being presented by everyone and I must confess that I do not understand what you wrote here.
    Demure is an adjective meaning timid or shy. You are not an 11+ boy, so you thought it is a verb. Nonsense is the result.

Demur is a verb which means to raise doubts or objections. Is that the verb you meant to use?

PS: As you cuss me, please bear in mind that I am just one black boy trying to help another black boy in his fight against the “Injuns”.

34. @ David December 22, 2020 9:42 AM

Are you implying that the feminist movement in the majority black Bim has won the war against female discrimination as can be confirmed from any cursory glance at the apex of power?

Then its time to use some of that previously displayed energy towards the liberation of their sisters in the minority ethnic/religious group(s) whose leaders still believe (largely speaking) that females are the property of men.

It’s also time for some of that former โ€˜militancy-typeโ€™ resources to be re-deployed to help in the causes which can save Bajan men from self-destruction as can be seen prostrated on the streets of Bridgetown.

The worst threat which the Bajan society can face is that from a significant minority of alienated and angry unemployed young men; many โ€˜schooledโ€™ with the mentality that the materialistic world owes them a living.

35. But the white people enslaved us and some here still married one. So citing 4 or 5 instances of racist Sikhs etc and pretending not one is decent seems disingenuous. But hey these are the same peeps that make it their job everyday to blast their black island and black countryme, then profess to be blacker than all of us put together. David, you and this Mahabir man.

36. @Miller

Some change is big bang and other change requires a dismantling of brick by brick.

37. @enuff

Kumar does what every other person does on the blog, exercise his right to share a view.

38. The people who should be providing the leadership to the 48000 unemployed are the very professional classes that are the new oppressors, men and women, the children and grand children of carpenters, cane cutters, masons, and messengers who got through university and law school at taxpayers’ expense, and now seek to detach themselves from their origins.
    They, not white Bajans, are the real enemies of the people. Hiding behind the shadow of politics where they engage in robbing the exchequer should be a capital offence. There is no mitigation when one becomes an enemy of the people.

39. @Miller
    who owned the Civic?

40. PachamamaDecember 22, 2020 8:12 AM

“David
    This writer knows the men presented, has known them for years, and all the rest of any importance in Barbados. The points we raise with you we have argued with them, all the raaasoul time.”

PachamamaDecember 22, 2020 8:55 AM

“Miller
    This writer has gone to Bengal and failed to find evidence of a Bajan cultural presence.”

Pachamamum,
    You international man of mystery you! Based on your claims, you have consulted globally in a multiplicity of areas, visited every area of the planet, and you know everyone of importance everywhere.

Yet, you have demonstrated to us (the simple-minded plebeians on BU) that you have not even mastered 11+ English.
    I am confident that somewhere, someone must be asking: “Why bother to send our children to school when people like Pacha, exhibiting little or no ability, end up “hogging” all of the opportunities?

41. When we called for the use of la guillotine we were deemed as barbaric.

Now we see that there is a fellow traveler from England.

42. @ Miller December 22, 2020 8:46 AM

Although you’re sometimes known to ‘drift off course’ to write and argue shiite, I enjoyed your contribution 1,000% and endorsed all the questions you asked.

As it relates to the Civic and N.E. Wilson going out of business, although I’m not too familiar with the Civic, I heard Wilson’s son or adopted son, did not have any interest in continuing the store after his father’s death. And, this has been the case with several Black Barbadian owned businesses.

Although it is alleged some members of the East Indian community participate in the ‘underground economy,’ which some people believe is also a source of their wealth, the younger offspring has moved on from the traditional itinerant trading and stores, to invest in other areas of business.

I hope you’ve realised we’ve essentially ‘surrendered’ control of the traditionally Black Barbadian owned PSV sector to the Indians, by selling them our mini-buses and ZRs………. and then leasing them back to us for $400 or $500 a day? Which means we must work thrice as hard to compete and earn a living in a saturated PSV market and break traffic laws. Meanwhile, the Indian owners remain at home waiting with his or his wife’s hands outstretched for the daily $400.

I also hope you’ve noticed that while several Black owners of car rental agencies were gradually forced out of business through laws and high taxes, Indians now dominate that market. Notice how COVID-19 affected all the large car rental agencies to the extent the ones that did not go out of business, had to sell up to 80% of their fleet. The Indians are still surviving.

We either sell Indians our houses and lands or assist them in obtaining properties through underhand methods. and then in turn have to rent houses, apartments and commercial space from them.

We turned our backs on used cars dealers such as White, forcing them out of business, but found all types of excuses to purchase cars from the Indians, who now have used cars lots all over the island.

Check how many Indian owned car parts outlets they are in Barbados. Popular names such as Federal, Grants, Goodridge, Mark’s and even Trans-Tech are quickly being removed from the lips of Barbadians, only to be replaced with Mohammed, A&A, Patel, MB Auto and several other Indian owned car parts dealerships.

They’re also into wholesale, electronics, mobile phones and even construction.

However, how do they reward us for our years as being loyal customers who have contributed significantly to their accumulation of wealth?

They exploit their Black employees; don’t support small or large Black businesses; their children are becoming doctors and lawyers to cater to their own.

43. @ Donna December 22, 2020 9:50 AM
    โ€œReligions evolve. Islam is evolving. There are extremists fighting against it. Let them sort out their problems. I am not and never will be a Moslem.โ€
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

That thesis is one of the funniest paradoxes on BU.

Yes, indeed, โ€˜religions must evolveโ€™ since they are man-made constructs designed to figure out those scientifically unexplainable observations and other facets of life; as it did for the Rainbow.

Religions are not โ€˜dictatesโ€™ from any One God but mankind oxymoronically conflicting drive to find varying pathways to the same โ€˜paradiseโ€™.

If not any โ€˜faithโ€™ in Islam how about trying your lot in on the slot of the spinning wheel marked Judaism or Buddhism?

You strike us as possessing all attributes which would make a dedicated follower of Mormonism since it represents an โ€œEvolvedโ€ version of Christianity.

44. PachamamaDecember 22, 2020 8:55 AM

“There was a time when swan street was largely Black controlled. Now even Broad street has become an enclave. There is only one Black man who owns buildings on swan street now. Where in Bengal have Afrikan peoples been able to do that. ”

Pachamamum,
    Many BU readers have studied history, so they can quickly tell you where they have seen this dangerous type of thinking before: Germany in the early 1930’s.
    It eventually led to the scapegoating of the Jews, the Holocaust, and millions of lives lost.

Carry on smartly.

45. To the 11-plus slave boy. What you see as opportunities were all created by self.

Could only be the mouthings of some one operating at a certain level. That has never been our worldview.

With authority we go where we want, take what we want, without seeking anybody’s permission. That attitude is of course anathema to 11-plus boys like you.

46. Artax,

But who you blaming fuh dat? Sounds like you blaming…… de black people!

So…. what you are saying is that we had or have the power to change our circumstances????

47. @ Hants December 22, 2020 9:49 AM

RE: “The coolie man business could not exist without them giving credit to the working poor in Barbados.”

As Dr. GP would ‘say,’ that is a fact that cannot be refuted. I’m sure if you were to ask people living in rural and urban districts what are their opinions on ‘coolie men,’ the majority would say had not for them, they wouldn’t have been able to repair or build homes, or purchase from furniture, household appliances, vehicles to clothes, shoes, curtains, rugs, jewelry and even false teeth. They provide goods and services at very affordable credit terms, irrespective of a customer having a ‘good’ or ‘bad’ credit rating. Indians also provide loans and assist Black Bajans into becoming entrepreneurs.

How do think many illegal non-nationals, who obviously can’t apply to stores and wholesale outlets for credit, are able to stock their bars, clothe themselves and furnish their homes?

RE: “Ever wonder where the coolie man goods came from and who financed his business?”

I’m guessing other established ‘coolie men.’

48. Artax,
    Excellent and deep analytical commentary. The sad thing is that I do not think that black Barbadians can reverse the process which you truthfully pointed out has taken place.

49. 11-plus slave boy

One could tell that your mouthings remain so staid that you need to harken to the 1945 period.

Right now where you live Trump is the reincarnation of Hitler. But you are such a coward not a word of critique.

Barbados is not germany, post ww1. But the US may well be. What a canard.
    11-plus slave boys can only look for a massa to give them bread.

50. @ Hal
    Like I said , there are some interesting characters around BU and elsewhere.
    Fear not, by their fruits,you shall know them. This article was placed here for a reason.
    Peace