The BU Intelligentsia is a talented crew. If there is doubt the following Ode was posted to the Walter Blackman’s Political Insights blog by the man from the Great White North.

“The time has come”, the Walter said,
‘to talk of many things’
Of NIS, and severance and quivering rears
Of politics and of stings
And why the ? LP’s always rule
And whether touts can sing.

“But hold your horse” the rum shop cried
Before we shoot the breeze
For some of us party hacks,
And most are retirees
“No hurry” said the Blogmaster,
And they thanked him for the ease.

“Analysis by colour” the rum shop cried
Is chiefly what we require
Pepper and Salt otherwise
Fulfill much of our desire
Whatever the intended topic
Let skin tone fuel our fire.

The winds today are rather cold
And snow covers the town.
To add to all this Covid mess.
the city’s once again in lock down.
So with little else to do
I sit and watch the discussion on hue.

237 responses to “Ode to Lack of Transparency @NIS”

1. I sat down one day, a few years ago, and I heard COW call in the program , literally demanding that the government either lends or refurbish the club house at his luxurious property.
    COW said that the building needs to be brought up to international standards and it would bring people to spend foreign exchange . This JA one William Skinner called in and asked if COW was serious and the moderator cut me off before I could finish my point.
    These Bajan whites have raped this country without apology. These uninformed political hacks , were just a few months ago, at the beginning of COVID were polluting the pages of BU ,with pure nonsense,that the villa sector would save the tourist industry. They have no idea of how that sector works and who really benefits.
    They stupidly thought that all the employers who encouraged them to march , would have bailed them out; they thought that the tourist liners they allowed to stay during COVID , would have saved us and they were dead wrong.
    @ WURA speaks the truth every day. She makes them feel very uncomfortable; she upsets their little world that is controlled by Massa and they can never bring one solid argument to truly counter her positions.
    Bug like I said: This morning , We got a cup of swank and and we going and enjoy the breeze under the tree. Thank you Massa. You does treat we betta than they does treat de ones up de road. We gine rest hey , till yuh come and cut we arse again. Tanks fuh de swank Massa.
    Peace

2. Speaking of the cruise liner industry
    One of the richest Corporation world wide received a big piece of barbados financial pie
    Lisa Cummins said that the berthing fees waived was a good gesture on humanitarian grounds
    Meanwhile the humanity staring govt in the face was that of the people of St. John as govt ears was stoned deaf to their cries for their lack of water
    All this happening right under the eyes and ears of barbados

3. Carson C Cadogan
    November 24, 2020 5:01 PM

“Walter
    The people are the employers of the MINISTERS, I wish the people would remember that.(the Ministers should remember that too)
    Then they would not cater to the 3% only.”

Carson,

That is the way it ought to be. That is not the way it is.

Constituents told me that a BLACK individual would identify someone (BLACK) who possessed perceived influence over a group of young BLACK people in the district and give him $40,000 (for example) to distribute just a few days before the election. In return for the $40,000, the youngsters were supposed to place an X for the candidate.

Money was routinely paid by both candidates. Some of the “influencers” held on to the lion share. Some youngsters took money from both camps and did not vote at all. Some voted for one candidate.

According to the story, the successful candidates who ended up with “a pick” then sought to recoup their election expenses through kickbacks.

They told me almost everyone in Barbados knew that.

4. When government has sold out the population at the level that this one has, nothing they say can be believed…it can only get worse from here….they already pretend the Black population don’t exist, so the people better understand that it will never be anything other than what it is under this crowd of Mia sellouts….Covid has nothing to do with the MASSIVE THEFTS FROM THE FUND perpetrated by both governments over many, many years, hence no forensic audit was ever done… These frauds love to pretend that it’s not BLACK people who are the REAL STAKEHOLDERS on the island, the REAL shareholders, the REAL investors..

so is it accurate to say that the fund has been around for over 40 years and there has been only 15 actuarial reviews…..goddamn thieves.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/25/government-told-tell-true-state-of-nis/

“Government told: Tell true state of NIS
    Barbados Today TrafficPublished on
    November 25, 2020
    by Marlon Madden

“With aspects of the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) coming under pressure from the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, Government is being urged to disclose the true state of the social security scheme.

Democratic Labour Party (DLP) spokesman on business Ryan Walters and leading investment manager Roger Cave issued the call on Tuesday, insisting that the people of Barbados have a right to know.

The last actuarial review, the 15th one, was made public in 2017 and dealt with the 2012-2014 period.

Walters said that in light of the recent higher than usual unemployment claims in the COVID-19 environment, estimated loss of $1 billion as a result of government restructuring, pending disbursements for severance payments and a decline in investment and contributions to the various funds, Government should come clean on the sustainability of the NIS.

“The Democratic Labour Party is calling for the Government to practise good governance of the affairs of the NIS relating to timely financial disclosures. It will be prudent for the Government of Barbados to perform an actuarial valuation on the [National Insurance] Fund now that it has been negatively impacted by rippling financial losses. It may be also time that the NIS is regulated by the Financial Services Commission so that there is regulatory oversight for the benefit of the masses,” Walters said in a statement.

“The Barbadian people, who are the investors and shareholders by way of contributing via taxes each month to the various funds, need to be given a look into the real financial situation at the state-owned National Insurance Scheme.

5. “I sat down one day, a few years ago, and I heard COW call in the program , literally demanding that the government either lends or refurbish the club house at his luxurious property.
    COW said that the building needs to be brought up to international standards and it would bring people to spend foreign exchange . This JA one William Skinner called in and asked if COW was serious and the moderator cut me off before I could finish my point.”

neither taxpayer’s money nor pensioners money should’ve been spent on that racist hole at Apes Hill, i was up there some time ago, when Cow was still trying to trick the foreign people who have investments there into renting water wells he don’t own and which should’ve come with the properties upon purchase, before they finally got rid of tiefing cow and his greedy repulsive family

…there was absolutely no reason to pick up taxpayers or pensioners money and rebuild any racist clubhouse….few people use that clubhouse and ALL ARE RACISTS…it had nothing to do with meeting international standards and EVERYTHING TO DO WITH ROBBING BLACK PEOPLE…i was right there and saw for myself, it was a scam..

but check the current minister(s) names who are said to have shares in Apes HIll, it’s their private business venture but they pick up taxpayers and pensioners money to fund and invest in it FOR THEMSELVES and reap the profits, the people lose again, even ICBL is involved, don’t know if they still are since they sold the company, a coterie of crooks were robbing the people blind over a very long period of time.

Some old fraud from UK living in Barbados came out talking about villa tourism, am sure all kinds of sex and human trafficking will be involved. They have not seen uncomfortable yet, they hijacked the legislature or the shitehounds would never have the goddamn audacity to amend standing labor laws to accomodate racist employers and legislate against workers, that’s how they have managed to make poverty of the people so lucrative, weaponize laws, and the people can never recover or achieve upward mobility…

and they all think they’re more dangerous than everyone else, yet i know where they all live and this and that about them that should scare the hell outta all of them…cause am not afraid to use any of the info or SHARE IT WITH THE WHOLE WIDE WORLD….a small island surrounded by water, their only escape is plane or boat and none of them can get too far, the earth has shrunk exponentially, so getting away for them is futile.

they have the supreme court so damaged with corruption, ya can’t get a judge to hand down a timely decision ALTHOUGH IT VIOLATES THE TREATIES TO WHICH THEY’RE SIGNATORY for the elderly…..and they actually believe everyone should accept these clear human rights violations….while they wait for the elderly and others impacted to die…..if we don’t get them on anything else, we will get them on that and on a couple other things they refuse to change because it lines their pockets and they don’t plan to give up any of that…

6. If Fowl Enuff is in US, the social security benefits are also at risk there, not because of what the crooks in Barbados did to erode the people’s NIS on the island, but because that system also needs a change, an upgrade, so let’s hope Fowl Enuff gets no SS, no disability, and someone steals the 401K which is known to happen…..drop the yardfowl back in Barbaods with absolutely nothing…let it start from scratch and have to deal with the crooks in Barbados, before the people get rid of all of them…

all of which is very possible, given the unstable environment now prevailing everywhere..

7. I believe certain aspects of this report, they may not have all the info, but i would believe them any day above the fake professor who threatened to sue the Financial Times for information the government themselves put out in the local newspapers….damn idiot…….and because police and nurses go UNPAID FOR LONG PERIODS OF TIME, the whole infrastructure on the island neglected for decades by the same governments…but ya can always hear about some tiefing social partnership gang of crooks getting tens of millions of dollars from the treasury or pension fund, I BILLION IN VAT WRITTEN OFF for the same social partnership WHO STOLE IT.., TAXES WRITTEN OFF by the hundreds of millions for tax evaders, massive suffering on the island, no job opportunities for the young, schools in dilapidated disrepair, employees not getting paid all around, so yes, the report is on point for certain things..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/25/government-dismisses-the-state-of-tax-justice-2020-report/

“In its report, the Tax Justice Network – which identifies as an independent international network that focuses on research, analysis and advocacy in the area of international tax and financial regulation – said countries were losing more than US$427 billion in tax each year to international corporate tax abuse and private tax evasion.

In relation to Barbados, the report said the country was losing US$138.6 million in taxes, the equivalent of the salaries of 8 404 nurses. It said the annual tax loss due to corporate tax abuse was about US$95 million, while annual tax loss due to offshore tax evasion was US$138.51 million

8. same in the Caribbean, only difference, the frauds for small island leadership don’t believe they’re African, don’t even believe they’re black and think the colonial titles, that they begged for, gives them pedigree….the biggest frauds in the world..

https://youtu.be/Crv4NInC9u0

9. Ex-Cliff staff get NIS’ word on pay
    by COLVILLE MOUNSEY FORMER WORKERS at The Cliff restaurant, who have been protesting the nonpayment of severance from the high-end West Coast eatery, are breathing a lot easier following discussions with National Insurance Scheme (NIS) yesterday regarding their outstanding monies.
    They told the
    MIDWEEK NATION
    they were given the assurance that they would likely receive their monies from the NIS before Christmas. As such, all protest action will be on hold.
    This comes three days after the NIS also agreed to pay the outstanding severance of staffers at another West Coast property, The Club Barbados Resort, after they too protested non-payment of what was due to them. Jerome Farley, spokesman for the group of more than 100 former Cliff employees, said they turned up to stage a protest at the NIS’ Culloden Road, St Michael office from 10 a.m., but were instead summoned to a meeting with NIS officials.
    Were uneasy
    “We were told that the severance is forthcoming, and we are extremely happy because before we were uneasy but now we are not. I don’t want to disclose timelines right now, but we believe that we would be happy for Christmas; that is as much as I would say about that discussion. We should be able to buy a ham this Christmas. So right now, we are not bothering with the protest thing because our minds are at ease right now,” said Farley.
    “The meeting went really well this morning and we heard a lot of positive things and we agreed on a solution. We understand the pressure that they are going through because of what is going on in the country.
    “We were promised certain things and we are willing to let the process work because we believe that they understand where
    we are coming from and what we are going through. We are trusting the process right now and we believe that things are going to work out for us.” The former Cliff employee, who vowed a month ago to pursue this issue down to the wire, even if it meant staging regular protests at the restaurant, added he was now willing to step back and the let the NIS handle the situation.
    One step at a time
    However, he noted that there were other matters still to be worked out such as holiday pay, but the group was opting to take it one step at a time.
    “There were things that we didn’t know about our money that we know now, and we feel good about that because before we were clueless. We were in a circle before but now we feel good on a flat road and we go home comfortable today with our minds at ease,” he said.
    The MIDWEEK NATION made several attempts to speak with the management of the NIS, but was unsuccessful.
    Last Saturday, NIS chairman Leslie Haynes QC revealed that the fund would be paying the severance payments for former workers at The Club Barbados but sent a strong warning then to employers who pass on their obligation to employees onto the fund, despite being in a position to pay.

10. In a letter copied to the Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU), the Chief Labour Officer, the National Insurance Scheme (NIS), and the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association (BHTA), the company’s general manager Caroline Gallichan-Hurley informed workers that the West Coast establishment had secured the necessary financing to deliver the outstanding payments “immediately”.

Details of the dramatic about-turn were delivered to the hotel workers as they were at Solidarity House filling out severance payment forms from the NIS in hopes of securing their monies from the state-owned social security agency.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/25/the-club-barbados-vows-to-pay-axed-workers-in-full/

11. Not sure what credibility the DLP has to call for transparency in the governance of the NIS but one never know, a metamorphosis maybe in the offing.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/25/government-told-tell-true-state-of-nis/

12. “the company’s general manager Caroline Gallichan-Hurley informed workers that the West Coast establishment had secured the necessary financing to deliver the outstanding payments “immediately”.”

no foreign company doing business in other jurisdictions can survive negative international exposure…bad for PR….still gotta be careful, it’s not just another false promise while they sell the business and run..

only the little shite companies in Barbados believe they can survive being exposed for years on end..

workers in Barbados SHOULD NOT STILL be experiencing these lowlife practices by governements and greedy employers in the 21st century, this has been going on for over 40 years NONSTOP.

13. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

When the DLP started the NIS, the Barbados Labour Party went up and the country telling the people not to subscribe to it. Left to the Barbados Labour Party there would have been no NIS It was the brainchild of Frank Walcott and and a few others.

That was was how they also tried to stop some thing else of note, Independence.

Now they are pretending with the help of their LACKEYS that they are the guardians of the NIS, some thing they fought bitterly against at the behest of WHITE BAJANS AND THEY WERE AGAINST.

But their yardfowls now pretending they are protecting it.

14. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

The Barbados Labour Party could not see the brilliance of the NIS at the time. They always THINK IN SLOW MOTION.

tHAT GOES FOR THEIR SUPPORTERS as well.

15. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

WALTER NOVEMBER 24, 11.06 PM

I hear you. And you are not saying anything unusual.

But it does not change the fact that the PEOPLE ARE THE EMPLOYERS. The MINISTERS are the employees. But some of the MINISTERS over the years have tried their best to turn it around it with MONEY THEY GET FROM THE WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS.

People allowing themselves to be paid is wrong. They should report such matters to the Police and have them arrested. But they do not do that. Their allow their rights to to subverted by a group of hand-to-mouth people. Many of them are LAWYERS. And they are not even good lawyers at that. If they represent you in a court of Law you bound to get lock up. The most thing they can do is beg for you and then charge you $5,000. Something you can do for your self.

16. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

That is why the BLACK PEOPLE ARE paid so little and are at the bottom of the TOTEM POLE. They are in the poorest houses, poorest schooling, allowed to be very promiscuous, lots of children, they are the village rams, dysfunctional families, and They have to build houses on top rocks where they can be told to move them anytime , like turtles, and the list goes.

If they are kept perpetually in this condition by the HOUSE NEGROES in the House Of Assembly continually, who do you think will benefit????

The POLITICIANS AND THE WHITE BAJANS AND INDIANS.

So when you offer such people more money than they have ever seen in their lives, what do you think will happen????

17. Let’s cut to the chase: Sinckler abused the NIS to avoid laying off public servants and going to the IMF
    Mottley is abusing the NIS to protect rich hoteliers, so that the workers could get severance
    So what is the difference ,both have the same argument
    End game: poor black people will soon be told that there are no funds; civil servants would be sent home; hoteliers would not repay no money given from the NIS and we will still be in the IMF for three decades.
    In the meantime as @ Hal says, the demographics of the island will change. The rich will be richer and the poor. will work harder and for less.
    The plantation grows even after the chains have been removed. But according to the erudite folks on BU, it is so all over the world. So why worry. All you negative people.
    BTW is the Prime Minister still the sMinister of Finance ? Every single time thee is a matter pertaining to the economy surfaces, that guy Persuad addresses the issue.
    Well we complained that we never heard from Stuart. We hear a lot from Mottley. Heard she is now a consultant at BWU.
    Oh well, come and see muh is one ting ; come and live wid muh is something completely different.
    Peace
    Peace

18. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

This country is in real trouble, while we play musical chairs. The 3% of the population making sure that they are not spending any of their BILLIONS.

They are united on that.

19. Keep focusing on the symptoms. Sadly Northern Observer is so right, we are ignorant about so many things.

20. @ William

Do you think Barbadians do not under stand what is going on, or that they do not want to understand? There is no complexity, no need for higher learning, no need for consultants.
    We have a consultant who often speaks out on government policy, putting the 28 parliamentary members of the ruling party in the shadows; he is never challenged by the opposition parties; our mealy mouth media go running to him for innocuous comments and everything is well in the Utopian world of Barbadian politics.
    Why do we tolerate this Guyanese/Bajan/Brit/Indian to speak on our behalf? Which flag is he flying?

21. Keep focusing on the symptoms. Sadly Northern Observer is so right, we are ignorant about so many things……(Quote)

Plse enlighten the blog.

22. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

The thing is , NOBODY VOTED FOR HIM.

(maybe the blog master)

23. That’s all Barbados is good for, violating the human rights of Black people, the elderly, the young the unborn, as long as ya black these black face traitors WHO BEGGED, LIED AND DECEIVED to be in the parliament…. are always ready with the human rights violations…..until they get sanctioned for violating the rights of the elderly through their corrupt supreme court….they won’t stop….i can’t wait..

“AUTHOR:ADMIN PUBLISHED DATE:NOVEMBER 24, 2020 LEAVE A COMMENTON GATHERING THE NATION – RASTAFARI RESISTANCE A MUST (PT1)

In light of the recent efforts by the Barbadian state to put limitations on Rastafari as it pertains of their spiritual/religious use of cannabis, the state must be reminded that in doing so, it is violating international law and incurring legal responsibility.

Keeping the Pressure on Cannabis Social Justice Reform

The Rastafari nation falls within the international legal definition of “indigenous or tribal peoples”, as recognized in various international law documents and instruments, such as Convention 169 of the International Labor Organization and the UN Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples.

The United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples | Amnesty International Canada

As made clear by the Inter-American Court of Human Rights in Saramaka vs. Surinam, African communities whose ancestors have been illegally deported from Africa, are beneficiaries of the law of protection confided to indigenous and tribal peoples. Their spiritual/religious observances, including plants they traditionally use in these respects, are protected by international law.

The judgement of the Inter-American Court for Human Rights, is especially relevant to Ras Simba’s legal battle in Barbados to have unjust limitations, that were imposed by the sate on Rastafari, as it pertains to the sacramental use of cannabis, removed. Rastafari, as the Saramaka, are descendants of illegally enslaved and deported Africans who fought to maintain their Africaness and sovereignty. This is the reasoning behind the Inter-American Court’s ruling, when it defined the Saramaka as a “displaced indigenous people”. The same is accurate for the Rastafari nation.

Inter-American Court of Human Rights – Learn about the Monitoring Compliance with Judgment

That Barbados may, or may not have not ratified the ILO Convention 169 is no detriment to this assessment, as neither is Suriname. In fact, the Court has made it clear that the protection that ILO 169 provides has become a standard of international customary law that even binds states that are not party to the ILO Convention.”

24. Tic Toc, Tic Toc …..TRAITORS…

“Art. 1 of the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights, further confirms the right to self-determination. The placed limitations on Rastafari as previously stated clearly violates this statute.

Thus, by the applicable international legal standards, Barbados has an obligation to respect and protect the rights, especially religious rights, of Rastafari, as a displaced indigenous African people. The Barbadian government and state clearly committed a grave violation of international law in its non-respect of Rastafari traditional religious/spiritual rights.

Since the state does not desist from this, all venues to secure Rastafari rights, including the present constitutional motion against the Attorney General of Barbados, application to the Caribbean Court of Justice, bringing the matter to international attention and addressing the United Nations Human Rights Committee.”

25. All Africans in Barbados, as long as ya descended from Africa, ya are African, just as your enslaved ancestors ….and YOU in these times, are entitled to self-determination/self autonomy as INDIGENOUS PEOPLES…..outside of a crooked ass slave/prison system created for colonial times now managed by black traitors, yall better recognize YOUR HUMAN RIGHTS AND DEMAND THEM from the sellouts in the parliament and their dirty minority rats in the social partnership…and STOP THEM FROM STEALING YOUR MONEY AND BIRTHRIGHT…..a bunch of common class thieves….

can’t wait to see these slimy pond scum dragged up for human rights abuses against the population ON THE WORLD STAGE….what a day that will be…tic toc…i’ll make sure to take a front row seat.

26. William…you would note that it did not have to reach to this point,they’ve had YEARS AND YEARS OF WARNINGS….. but since they’re adamant that no one can do them anything for violating the rights of the elderly, of Rasta, of Black people in general and believe that they are untouchable in that regard, they have to be TAUGHT A LESSON…one they can never forget..

let the thieving minorities they sell out to help them, problem is, many of those trailer park trash want locking the hell up for human rights abuses against the Black population on the island too, so they will all be in good company with each other….

27. @ Hal, @ WURA
    At this point all I can say is that there is no integrity in governance. On the ground there is widespread condemnation of how the country is being managed at this time.
    Why is Persuad replacing the PM on economic matters?
    Peace

28. @ William

There are a number of reasons. First, the president has total contempt for ordinary Barbadian people and does not see the need to apologise, inform the public or explain anything.
    Second, as I have said on numerous occasions, she does not like details, it is not part of her training. She is a platform speaker, with hands waving, that is all she knows.
    And Persaud likes the idea of being at the centre of important matters, it makes up for his otherwise lack of serious analysis. The real sadness is the total absence of alternative voices: from the DLP, UPP, academia, the two junior economic ministers, the official opposition, the media, BU.
    It is a chorus of silence. Job security cannot be the only reason for this embarrassing silence. Where is their self-respect?

29. “On the ground there is widespread condemnation of how the country is being managed at this time.”

the jig is up, people in the diaspora can’t believe what the population have been subjected to under DBLP clowns all these decades….disrespecting the right of the people to own what is rightfully theirs..

Self-respect and self awareness are not part of that fake political existence nor in the repertoire of the corrupt, or the lawyers on the island would’ve in the last 20 years at least, with all these human rights treaties and charters available under international umbrellas, international laws are available in multiple books, online, etc, they can’t say they don’t know, but they did nothing about the human rights abuses on the island against the population, if they had, people would defintely notice, expose all the corruption and maybe things would not be this bad, some type of systems change by now could’ve been introduced…but they too sat their asses down, not wanting to rock any boats, with their small island mentality, selfish and not worth the air they breathe, since most of them had their LEGAL EDUCATION FUNDED by the taxes of the Black population whose human rights they ALL REFUSE TO PROTECT…..now everything is out there for the world to see how they were all this time, DECEIVING EVERYONE…playing games, stealing what they don’t own….the jig is up though, only path is DOWN…no turning back now.

30. An observation:

Minister Ian Godding-Edghill is very accessible to the media in his new role. Do not recall him being as forthcoming in his role as Chairman of the NIS. The blogmaster is willing to apologize if wrong.

31. Now that Apes Hill has brand new owners, there’s absolutely NO REASON why Black people’s taxes or pension should be upkeeping or renovating this property anymore, the new owner is not broke and the corrupt government should not be seeking to create new scams with anyone to rob the people.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/24/new-apes-hill-club-aims-to-be-caribbeans-best/

32. I can’t believe the Prince Donald blog got over 2,000 comments that might be the most comments i’ve ever seen on here…..,it’s probably still ongoing too cause it makes no sense clicking on it, i swear something is very wrong with yall..

…..HELLO….BLACK HUMAN RIGHTS ARE STILL BEING VIOLATED IN BARBADOS….how bout that for generating over 2,000 comments..am so happy other people are doing more positive things and getting results after decades and years of only long talk from others….

.look, the comedy act is going strong and still has at least 3 weeks to go..ballots are being certified and all…yall wasted all that energy and now what??? ya must be exhausted. 🤣🤣

” GTFOH Trump Watch: The Trump and Rudy Show Hit the Road
    In what can only be described as a vaudevillian act of racist proportions, President Donald Trump and Rudy Giuliani, the dumber to the president’s dumb, are allegedly traveling to Pennsylvania on Wednesday for a meeting about election impropriety that didn’t happen.”

33. Hal Austin
    November 24, 2020 5:19 PM

“@ Walter 4.56
    I do not understand what point you are making about G4S and cadets? Plse exp…”

Hal Austin,

As you know, Combermere, Harrison College, and Lodge each had a cadet corps. Some of the cadets from these schools, along with other Barbadians, eventually gravitated towards the Barbados Defence Force. Their training and experience put them in an excellent position to provide security services to the island.

I am sure that our Minister of Health, the Hon. Jeffrey Bostic MP would be able to give you more insight and details on this matter than I can.

The point I am making is that these Barbadians are the ones who should be at the apex of the provision of security services, not 4GS.

There is absolutely no need for G4S to be in Barbados. That is the way I see it.

34. David
    Of course the financials ought to be a priority. You recall the Auditor General saying earlier this year that his office has not examined the NIS books for 7 years? But of course we love to mix apples and plums, so the lil stipend as deputy chair of the board becomes a topic of discussion. I see the government has not “recouped” a cent from Club Barbados.

35. Keep focusing on the symptoms. Sadly Northern Observer is so right, we are ignorant about so many things.

Xxxxxxxxx

I WONDER IF DOCTORS IGNORE SYMPTOMS HOW MANY MORE PEOPLE WOULD BE KILLED.

YOU TOO QUICK TO DEFEND YOUR BLP MASTERS AT ALL COSTS INCLUDING BEING DISINGENUOUS.

36. @ Walter

Gotcha. I would not go for the cadets or BDF. We have enough retired police and prison officers who can provide the leadership of a private security company. With 40 per cent unemployment, we can train enough of the unemployed to do the work. It is not highly skilled. In fact, the BWU should form a commercial arm and try for these contracts.
    G4S should have all work taken from them by a local company and those corporates who employ them should be avoided by Barbadian consumers.
    We are on the same page.

37. Wuh if the UK is being cited for human rights injustices of their Windrush victims, don’t know who the shitehounds in Barabados’s haunted house believe they are…..that they can’t be dragged up on human rights abuse charges, they love taking credit, they can take credit for that….

someone should tell Fowl Enuff that PROMISING to pay AGAIN and ATUALLY PAYING are two completely different things, they could be buying time to sell the business and FLEE THE ISLAND….ignorant Fowl…

if yall want to sue for reparations SUE FOR THAT…and let the PEOPLE who were mistreated have the money in THEIR HANDS….yall old thieves, glad ya ain’t getting no 50 Billion….crooks..

“The Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) has today released its report on how the Home Office failed to fulfil its legal duties, which created injustices for a whole generation of British black people.

“The treatment of the Windrush generation as a result of hostile environment policies was a shameful stain on British history,” said Caroline Waters, EHRC interim chair.

As the EHRC report articulates, this stain runs deep in the historical fabric of the Commonwealth. “From 2012, this [hostile environment] agenda accelerated the impact of decades of complex policy and practice based on a history of white and black immigrants being treated differently,” the report states.

Satbir Singh, chief executive of the Joint Council for the Welfare of Immigrants, said “successive home secretaries” had “ignored warnings” from campaigners that hostile environment policies would lead to disastrous ends for some lawful Commonwealth citizens.

The life of one such campaigner, Hubert Howard, ended one year ago this month. Howard’s premature death at the age of 62 occurred after a 13-year battle with the Home Office to validate his nationality. He fought to have his citizenship status, employment, health coverage, and bank account restored. He was plunged into debt, subsisting on the support of only family and friends. Then came a diagnosis of leukaemia, after which his health and strength declined precipitously. When he finally won his fight with the government for recognition, he lost his battle with cancer three weeks later.”

38. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

Baje NOVEMBER 25, 2.22 PM

The worst thing a Human can do is to speak THE TRUTH about the Barbados Labour Party for the Blog master He sees red like a bull.

He gets blue vex.

As long you are speaking compliments about the 3% of the population controlled Barbados Labour Party and vilifying everyone else, then he is proud, proud, proud.

39. NorthernObserver Avatar

“An observation:
    Minister Ian Gooding-Edghill is very accessible to the media in his new role. Do not recall him being as forthcoming in his role as Chairman of the NIS. The blogmaster is willing to apologize if wrong.”

In case you hadn’t similarly observed, very few, if any, board chairs speak publicly. The QEH head is an exception due to her dual role. You may also recall Mr G-E, was a dual Chair. At the first BLP annual conference after the election, when Mr G-E spoke, the MC was clear that he was ONLY speaking on the TB, and would field NO questions on the NIS.
    Now we have Mr.Haynes in the Chair (not yet reflected on the website) Note the Deputy Chair Mr.Persaud did not assume the Chair. And there should also have been a new Board member appointed to fill the void created by Mr. Haynes’s promotion. Websites in Barbados are rarely current, whether public or private. You may also note, the NIS has again revamped its web presence.

40. Carson C Cadogan Avatar

The Caribbean Govts including here in Barbados have never done anything for their Descendants in England. They have never considered them as important. I guess because they are not WHITE.

Ask HAL AUSTIN he has a story to tell.

41. @ Carson

They have never done anything for us, they do not care about us and, even more, they do not know anything about us. Check this out. Mia Mottley came to office on May 25, 2018, check her overseas travels since coming to office.
    That, my friend, tells you something.

42. @Northern Observer

Agreed, you can add Lisa Cummins when she was chair of BPI. It shows heads of Boards can speak if they are so inclined.

43. Gotcha. I would not go for the cadets or BDF. We have enough retired police and prison officers who can provide the leadership of a private security company. With 40 per cent unemployment, we can train enough of the unemployed to do the work

Xxxxxxxxxxxx

@ Hal

YOU HAVE ME LOST.

ARE YOU NOT AWARE MOST OF ALL G4S WORKERS ARE LOCAL BLACK BAJANS AT THE BOTTOM OF THE TOTEM POLE?

LOOK AT THE ONES WHO ARE PROTESTING I BELIEVE FOR BETTER PAY AND WORKING CONDITIONS.

WHEN YOU REPLACED THESE SAME LOCAL BLACK BAJANS WHAT ARE THEY AND THEIR FAMILIES GOING TO DO FOR SURVIVAL.

44. @ Baje

I am saying the ENTIRE security business in Barbados should be controlled by Bajans, not just those at the bottom of the pole. Any company that hires G4S should be banned by Barbadian consumers.

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

and amidst this
    “Private security firm G4S urged its shareholders on Wednesday to turn down GardaWorld’s bid for the company and said it plans to resume dividend payments next year.

The U.K.-listed company, one of the world’s largest private-security firms, is caught in a bidding war between Canada’s GardaWorld and U.S. rival Allied Universal Security Services.”

46. WURA
    We will wait and see. Just like we’re waiting on your promised photos of houses and documents proving government’s unilateral decision to cremate a body. What is unequivocal is that the chance of those emoloyees being paid by CB is far greater than you producing one of your many promised docs.

47. Fowl…..i don’t owe the workers in Barbados a thing….and am not hiding HOW BROKE NIS REALLY IS….

don’t owe any fowl slaves anything either…so keep waiting.

that inquest in UK better not say murder officially, then ya will know all about attempts to cremate the body and may even have to explain why yall tief the deceased man’s body out of QEH…then there’s is the THEFT OF HIS 2 BANK ACCOUNTS in Barbados and 1 in UK that yall got caught on camera trying to TIEF….then yall had to RESCIND the probate of ALL THE PROPERTY YALL TIEF……yall ugly reputations precedes you.

i got no such problem, sleeping real good too……😂🤣

48. @ WURA-War-on-UNovember 25, 2020 6:34 PM

Wura the truth warrior, if you want to stop the red fowl from pimping behind you just shout; “Hyatt for Duppy”.

Now that the NIS (the politicians’ piggy bank) is effectively broke as a result of too many raids do not expect to see any erections of a Lighthouse looking over the Bay any time soon?

49. “Wura the truth warrior, if you want to stop the red fowl from pimping behind you just shout; “Hyatt for Duppy”.

🤣🤣🤣🤣😂

Miller…now they gotta run around trying to find out more about the inquest…..lol.

…ah hope they lock up Fowl Enuff if she was the one in diguise caught on camera trying to tief a dead man’s bank account in London…….goddamn useless enabler..

their shit is so hot Miller…i won’t want to be anywhere near it, afraid some would stick or they would set ya up to get some of it off them…but they’re on their own…….they bit off more than they can possibly chew this time..with their greedy selves and are now CHOKING…

stay away from all of them ya hear….