Finally the symbol of an oppressed colonial past was laid to rest. Nelson statue for years positioned at the top of Broad Street and lately in Heroes Square was removed by the Mia Mottley government on the International Day of Tolerance. History the blogmaster suspects will view this act- delayed though it was- kindly.

The Removal of the Statue of Lord Horatio Nelson [ Nov 16 2020 ]

338 responses to “Lord Nelson Put to Rest”

1. One thing about such symbolic moves are the internal political contradictions in themselves.

It seems always to fall to blp regimes to take these long overdue actions

We remember it was a blp minister nigel barrow under a tom adams government which erected the Bussa Statute

Whereas it is historically the dlp which gives us a lot of Black talk we must depend on a titularly White supportive government to make any radical changes in the cultural landscape.

Of course, people like Enuff will present a longer list of presumably counter intuitive polical moves.

It is for Bajans to decide which posture is more valuable – a party wid nuff Black talk or a White man’s party that would do somethings truly radical. That is the Accums Razor.

2. “It is for Bajans to decide which posture is more valuable – a party wid nuff Black talk or a White man’s party that would do somethings truly radical. That is the Accums Razor.”

all smoke and mirrors, that’s what both treacherous parties agree to in their back room deals against the majoirty population whom they create myriad distractions for, it still took them 22 years of advocacy to remove the noxious insult and disrespect that was horatio nelson out of African people’s personal space.

3. We await feedback from the yardfowl frauds who were against nelson’s removal, just as Johnnie the perpetual idiot initially was likeminded until he made his video a la African Diapora, proving about himself what we already know, and those trailer park scum who publicly swore that their tribute to white supremacy and racism, will never be removed.

4. @Pacha

A morning to celebrate.

For many walking or driving up Broad Street traversing through Heroes Square, to not see Nelson is a relief.

On the video Trevor Marshall can hardly contain himself. Well done to him, he has been a fearless advocate.

5. He down hip hip Horray
    Next talk is how much is it going to cost bajan tax payers to warehouse this imbecile
    The people of other countries took control of removing these ugly statues no pomp and glory attached just a simple mob gang rope and chain and drag the remains of these bastards into the sea
    Now that Nelson is down in a glorified manner barbadians would have to foot the bill of him being placed in a barbadian museum
    Yes he is down but not out
    His presence amongst barbadians still remain tuck away in a museum as a ghostly reminder of his past his presence and his future whilst he becomes nestled and hidden away and protected from the roving eyes of our people but still to be remebered as a hero in more ways than one
    Was Nelson removed or was he taken down as a symbol of appeasement
    There is none so blind as those who cannot see

6. If it was taken down because of “appeasement” there is absolutely nothing wrong with giving in to public sentiment.

Next!

7. Occum’s

8. Listen David as usual u fly off your political fence mount yuh white horse to attack
    I make no apologizes the farce for the ole geezer removal goes along with monarchy style of planning for their heroes
    The people should have been the ones given the task of removing him no pomp no symbolism of monarchy or pagentry
    Just an early morning visit a bulldozer and a donkey cart nothing more
    Now off to the museum Nelson goes
    Where did he Go
    Yes he does not stand tall in Bridgetown
    But he still stand tall in a barbados museum under guarded protection.

9. You are entitled to YOUR opinion. Others believe it was an opportunity to sell the moment to the wider public in a dignified manner, the children, the segment who does not agree etc. This approach you lack the capacity to understand.

10. Occam’s

11. Yes, dullard

12. David
    Was distracted.
    We propose the erection of Nanny Grig to replace him.
    Trevor Marshall has been unremitting in his quest to have that racist Nelson removed’

Waru
    And more fundamentally giving the Rastas the sole right to grow, industrialize, commercialize ganja as a first step to popular economic powah.

13. The other initiative the blogmaster should have highlighted on BU was the decision to make a government radio station play 100% Bajan music. Another easy win to help with moulding/repairing the psyche of young Bajans.

14. What to replace Nelson will be contentious given the political games of these time. The blogmaster likes the idea of creating a symbol born of ideas from the present to represent what is possible in the future. A reminder we must always strive for excellence to sustain ourselves.

15. David
    Very well!
    This is the age of Aquarius. What better could represent past, present, future, excellence, than our women.

16. I thought the removal would be a simple hoisting on A truck and carting away.

In my mind, I did not see the ceremony and the speech. I guess both sides of the controversy were satisfied; those who wanted the removal and those who wanted him treated as a hero.

Quite a double-jointed act.

17. Critical Analyzer Avatar

How much did it cost and who foot the bill?

How many suffering people could that money have helped?

18. What a shame! Weather the statue remains or is taken down, you cannot change history; good, bad or indifferent, symbolically or otherwise

19. The official number given is $20,000.00. The statue is down, now we have to quibble about cost, or if ceremony etc. It never ends.

20. Critical Analyzer Avatar

“Finally the symbol of an oppressed colonial past was laid to rest.”

Fooled again. We too like to show off and claim to be free, independent and out of slavery.

As long as we continue to run to the international lending institutions to borrow money every time we spend more than we are earning, we demonstrate we are not free and will always remained chained by our self imposed chains of debt.

21. This is not about changing or rewriting history. It is about removing a wrong historical narrative from our landscape. Nelson never came to Barbados but was seen by the ruling elites at the time as their hero for his efforts elsewhere in defense of White supremacy, slavery. Well he’s not ours and we should not have to be subjected to him or his worldview forever.

The Mugabe regime should be congratulated for an act which is more than 50 years overdue.

22. @ David November 17, 2020 6:29 AM
    “If it was taken down because of “appeasement” there is absolutely nothing wrong with giving in to public sentiment.”

So why go the ‘Republic’ route without testing the direction of the wind as far as public sentiment is concerned?

How does the current administration ‘know’ that the majority of Barbadians want republican status in order to appease them?

Do the majority of Bajans want ‘legally-recognized’ same sex relationships or should they remain in the political closet of morality with the political leaders themselves hiding among the many skeletons?

23. Regardless of which side you support, I wish you a great day.
    Sometimes instead of big bold and we’ll defined steps we may stumble and yet gain ground. Accept the gains.

Have a great day Barbados.

24. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David November 17, 2020 7:52 AM
    Spoken like somebody with a full belly. Most everything comes back to money sooner or later. Try to do things without money and see how far you get.

Tell that to the person that does not know where their next meal coming from. They could have given that money to Saffrey or the Salvation Army to help feed people.

I willing to bet some of the same white people the racist people constantly bitching about slavery does cry down laughing all the way too the bank cause they get some of the money to move it.

25. @Miller

If you removed Nelson for all the reasons given and what it represented then moving to a republic is a no brainer. No lotta long talk necessary.

@Critical Analyzer

Move the goal post till your heart is contented, reasonable people appreciate the removal of Nelson statue is a step in a long journey.

26. It is a simplistic statement to say that you cannot change history. The acts themselves may be unchangeable, but the records and teaching of history may be flawed.

Some write of the history they wanted and not of what occurred. It would be silly to just accept the record as it is.

You cannot change history but you can ensure it is accurately recorded and told.

27. I believed the loud calls for taking Nelson down was to be more of having a picturesque gala like what was done yesterday
    Taking down should be an act representing being Gone for Ever however i sensed that the Elite pedigree clothed in white hidden in the background would not have it any other way but to accept decision of placing the racist bastard in a barbados museum at taxpayers cost

28. The majority of Barbadians supporting the removal of Nelson the blogmaster is willing to guess is about its position in the heart of the city, Heroes Square. Many have suggested relocation to the Garrison, Port area etc. For many it is not about dumping the statue which as many have correctly opined represents who we were, our history. It is about making a correction to align with current thinking and sensibilities.

29. @ David November 17, 2020 8:09 AM
    “If you removed Nelson for all the reasons given and what it represented then moving to a republic is a no brainer. No lotta long talk necessary.”

Then that same principle should apply to securing the rights of minorities (like people ‘engaged’ in same sex relationships) under the Constitution and being a signatory to the many UN conventions on human rights.
    Or even the abolition of the social strainer called the Eleven Plus examination

Again, “no lotta long talk necessary”, right?

PS: Hate to hit you under the belt, especially when you are down.

Does that same principle also apply to the decriminalization of marijuana?

After all, the smoking of marijuana in a Rasta tabernacle is just as sinful in the sight of Jah as when the boys on the block smoke it in reverence to Bacchus; not so?

30. Is Nelson a diversion? Can the removal of an unpopular statue be an excuse to divert people’s attention from the failure of government?
    What about the hugely embarrassing special pleading that substitutes for good policy-making? What about the money-laundering in the West Coast property market?
    What about the principle of knowing your customer, or is the money more important for our foreign earnings? How about the Irish gangsters that pollute our property and businesses, while we turn a blind eye to them?
    How about the failure to launch an inquiry in to Donville Inniss? The UK’s Serious Fraud Office is looking in to David Ames, are we going to look at his proposed business in Barbados?
    Every time the EU and OECD mention moneylaundering we cry foul, but we do nothing about the seeping crisis in Barbados.

Here is the special pleading by a president who is out of her depths:

“Can you imagine that in Barbados, a country with exchange controls, a country that poses zero threat to international finance, that our leaders must take time out of dealing with COVID, unemployment, … or preparing for the next hurricane season to explain why there is no fundamental basis for Barbados to be on a money laundering blacklist today, a flawed list, arbitrarily and illegally composed and picking up a number of countries across the Caribbean, across the Pacific and across Africa.

“It is well accepted that most money laundering in the world takes place in countries that are not even on the list that has been published,” she stated…..(Quote)

Plse bring the tissues.

31. @Miller

Give the woman a chance, it has been 3 years with an economy on the rocks and Covid 19. Let us continue to agitate and advocate.

32. Miller… then removing the colonial slave society template via the 16th century UK drafted constitution, along with the existing slave laws, slave codes and corrupt practices that they all generate, should be a BREEZE. not so?…there should be no remnants left of either come 2023.

33. “Does that same principle also apply to the decriminalization of marijuana?”

we can also mention for good measure, the complete removal of the violation of the rights of the majority population based on skin color and African ancestry, the violation of the rights of the eldlerly in the supreme court, as well as the violation of everyone else’s rights who are deemed BLACK by the black faces of the haunted house.

34. So cost is a consideration in the removal of Nelson? How much did the recent by-election cost? How much is it going to cost for the relocation of the incoming HC to Canada? I won’t even mention pension and gratuity etc.

People always bring up the bogeyman of cost and poor people when Gov’t does something that they don’t approve of.
    How about this, how much did it cost to remove the pigeon poop from Nelson on an annual basis?

35. @David
    The other initiative the blogmaster should have highlighted on BU was the decision to make a government radio station play 100% Bajan music
    ++++++++++++++++++
    Oh Lord spare me, much as I like Bajan music how much is too much if its sometimes lousy? How much is it going to cost when advertisers flee in horror to other stations? Oh, it’s a Gov’t radio station so cost is never a factor since tax payers pockets are deep as in “De water too deep too blue” Ha Ha a Bajan lyric.

Lord what’s next? Shirt Jacs?

36. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Sargeant November 17, 2020 8:52 AM
    My problem is about our priorities as to where money is spent. They rushed and spent money on Nelson that could have been better used elsewhere. The lesson of Nelson is try your best to remember the past and not repeat those mistakes of the past over and over in new ways.

I have family and friends that are nurses working for government and had so much hell to get paid that they got fed up waiting and begging people for money to help them survive that they resigned and went private. That is the definition of slavery, working without getting paid. They were treated worse than slaves cause at least the slave master gave their slaves some sort of food.

Where were the voices of all the people crying tear down Nelson when their mostly female friends and relatives were suffering current slavery.

37. @ David November 17, 2020 8:33 AM
    “Give the woman a chance, it has been 3 years with an economy on the rocks and Covid 19. Let us continue to agitate and advocate.”

What “woman” you are talking about?
    This is NO gender issue.

The miller doesn’t give a rodent behind if it was man, woman, transgender, BLP, DLP, PPDD or Solutions Barbados.

It’s about principles policies, transparency and consistency in governance (not hypocrisy.

Who introduced the marijuana issue into the governance arena with half-baked discriminatory solutions?

Who introduced the same-sex unions into the governance mixing bowl with hypocrisy being the main ingrdient?

Who introduced the Republic status agenda (not pledged in any manifesto and with no double standard referendum on offer) being ramrod for 2021 with no sign of preparation?

Who introduced the Integrity legislation?

Mr Covid?

Which should come first?
    The demolition of a building opened by the Queen in 1975, the controversial removal of a bronze statue over 200 years old or the removal of blatantly discriminatory laws from the statute books?

38. @Sargeant

Your assimilation into North American culture provides the blogmaster with an excuse to let your comment pass without serious response.

39. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Our mentality and priorities are like a property owner that prefers to spend money painting the house and making the surrounding looking extra beautiful when people pass by during the day but when they pass at night, the place pitch black cause they can’t even afford to pay the light bill to keep the lights on.

40. @Miller

Why have you expressed false indignation at the use of woman? For someone who should be acquainted with the Bajan vernacular it is surprising if not believable LOL

41. @Critical Analyzer

Things related to the humanities must be applied with the transactional to ensure balance. We live in times where economic considerations tend to win the argument. The current state of global afffairs should inform you that it is not the perfect path to follow.

42. @David
    Your assimilation into North American culture provides the blogmaster with an excuse to let your comment pass without serious response.
    ++++++++++++
    Is that a back handed way of saying that I am an “overseas” Bajan so my criticism should be ignored?

Yuh got me so upset that I am going to take a walk down by the lake although the wife said flurries are coming down. Wuhloss that is some assimilation 😊

BTW what kind of music is Rihanna’s?

43. @Sargeant,

A radio station playing only Bajan music is a good idea.

There are other staions in Barbados playing world music.

” Shirt Jacs “.

About 52 years ago I was one of the first to wear a shirt jac in Barbados.

44. @Sargeant

We is we LOL

Rihanna is pop sung Bajan style LOL

45. Critical Analyzer Avatar

It infuriates me sometimes the things people think are priorities above other things.

In my books, government has the responsibilities
    1) Define the minimum standard of living that our country considers the poverty line and ensure that all citizen below that poverty line are brought about it.
    2) Implement regulations and monitoring to prevent exploitation of its citizens by monopolies and those with significant power and influence.
    3) Set an overall vision for the long term future based their own ideas and those of its citizens.

46. Removing Nelson is one single step in an ongoing process healing mind and body in an awakening of personal and collective consciousness.

47. It is amazing how many people do not understand the effect of symbolism in our lives.

A read of Adrian Greene’s Sunday Sun column of a few weeks ago would have made the link between culture and the ability to sustain one’s self.

We are a psychologically damaged people. We are a people stripped of our special essence. We are a people seeing life through an artificial lens.

Free the mind and the rest will follow.

Food for the soul and food for the mind empower us to create food for the body.

Time also to signal our intentions to the white shadows. This is the moment. The journey begins.

48. David
    Have there been any recent musings fron the culture minister who previously tried to erect an illogic contrary to government’s policy.

49. @ Hants

Where did you buy your shirt-jac? I am curious.