If the late great Gladston Holder were alive he would take the opportunity to remind us that it does not matter who is elected to the White House, it the wealthiest families in the USA where the power is located- the Vanderbilts, Rockefellers et al. That said many will agree party colours aside, Trump’s legacy will be remembered as being one of the most bigoted and divisive.
Let it be no secret this blogmaster cannot wait to see the back of the man. He has disgraced the office of president of the USA and by extension the human race.
Discuss for 2 marks.

3,917 responses to “2020 US Presidential Election”
@ Mariposa
You are right. It does not make any difference whether it is Trump, Biden, Harris or the man on the moon. Little islands like Barbados are still trapped in a vicious geopolitical world in which the big hitters do not care a fig.
Our leaders must still be imaginative and learn to think on their feet. So far, we have not had a post-independence prime minister to show any such skills. All they do is to talk about their pedigrees and degrees. But they all fail to demonstrate their good breeding or commonsense.
Most of the time I stay away from these trimp topics. But like a vulture smelling death, I am here circling.
It is amusing to see the conspiracy theories, the constitutional law and the wailing and gnashing.
Even the dedicated corruption fighter has been sucked into this post.
Besides worrying about Barbados, I must worry about my family. I hope this is a reset and that it is good for the USA. We could not continue and survive on trimp’s trajectory.
@ TheOGazerts November 7, 2020 10:13 AM
“Most of the time I stay away from these trimp topics. But like a vulture smelling death, I am here circling.”
ROFLOL!!
Nice piece of imagery there.
Should we nominate our BU Johnny and his sidekick the mad mock doctor GP to be pallbearers at the brawler’s political funeral?
Trump was always the rabbit you see at the dog races. America has always been committed to the vicious underlying social structures. There will be no America without these.
Even in Trump’s term we watched him closely while all kinds of deviations from the exceptionalism dogmas America has preached were perpetrated by his inner circle as though no laws, traditions ever existed.
Now all these are part and parcel of the political culture.
@ William
Mail-in, or what we call postal voting, in Barbados? Some people are so silly they do not even realise it.
@Pacha
It is more than an academic exercise to reflect on parallels in structures in the US and the Caribbean. In the US we have the elites in much the same way there are the white shadows in Barbados who control the political directorate. Of course we have the naive here who believe Barbados operates in a fish bowl and all of our problems can be solved and solutions found by ignoring the symbiosis that exist in a global village.
@W Skinner
.However, we must stand in solidarity with our Afro American brothers and sisters, and they quest for social equality. Getting rid of Trump is a step but not the end of the struggle.
Yuh know that ‘Mariposa’ just trying to be relevant, don’t you? She was busy promoting the “rap” vote for Trump and also to suggest that black people shouldn’t vote because there was nothing in it for them. That statement amounted to a colossal display of ignorance to even suggest that people shouldn’t vote in an election. The morning after the election before the votes were counted, she jumped in saying that black people remained at home and didn’t vote for Biden. If she takes her election advice to SGN the DLP candidate is sure to lose.
More NYT trying to distance itself from Trump
Trump Jr., who has a long history of using Twitter to fuel conspiracy theories, hit the send button amid a flurry of lawsuits filed by his father’s campaign to turn the election — including one in Pennsylvania that sought to stop vote-counting
https://nypost.com/2020/11/05/terrified-donald-trump-jr-calls-for-total-war-over-election/
@Sargeant
You have opened the door to a tangential discussion. What happens post Donald presidency? Will he have to defend himself in the courts to many suits which may have been stalled waiting for the moment he exits stage left?
https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js
More NYT s/b More New York Post
Biden wants to preserve some type of calm and if there are federal charges against Trump he will pardon him and bear the brunt of Democrat backlash but he knows that 70 million people voted for Trump. Where Trump will face jeopardy is in NY State as the authorities there will have no qualms with charging Trump if he violated State codes with regards to taxes , fraud etc.
@Sargeant
An insightful comment.
This is what pasts for honesty and transparency in the age of Trump
White House chief of staff Mark Meadows has tested positive for the coronavirus, and told others not to disclose his condition, according to an official with knowledge of the situation who spoke on the condition of anonymity. Meadows was at the White House early Wednesday as President Trump spoke about the election.
https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/meadows-covid-white-house/2020/11/06/88847e40-20b3-11eb-90dd-abd0f7086a91_story.html
What is wrong with people not voting in an election. The real ignorance is with people who vote, regardless of the political views of the person they are voting for.
Would you have voted for a British Labour party led by Jim Callaghan? Or for Callaghan as home secretary? Would you have voted for a Tory party led by Thatcher? Or Boris? Or with Priti Patel as home secretary?
Would you have voted for a Democratic party led by Clinton? Or Hillary? Would you have voted for a political party led by Barry Goldwater? Or Nixon?
The argument that people have lost their lives fighting for the vote is noble, but must be put in historical context. We as black people must vote in our collective interests at that historical moment.
Some of us may not want to accept Biden’s apologies, which only came when he was seeking the black vote,
“The real ignorance is with people who vote, regardless of the political views of the person they are voting for.”
“Would you have voted for a Democratic party led by Clinton? Or Hillary? Would you have voted for a political party led by Barry Goldwater? Or Nixon?”
“We as black people must vote in our collective interests at that historical moment.”
You are a bit too loose there.
You have discounted the possibility that a person may share the same view of the person they voted for. This is more likely to be the case. A person may not share all of the politicians views, but the act of voting is more complicate than entering a booth and drawing an X; it is usually the result of a weighted analysis.
I voted for a party led by Clinton and Hilary and at the historical moment that was the best course of action. Why, because when I looked at who was on the other side, I felt my interest was better served by them.
There is a saying “perfection is the enemy of the good”. It would be a mistake to withhold your vote until a perfect candidate is found. The more pragmatic approach is to settle for a good candidate or even the lesser of two evils.
David 10:59
Correct!
Separately. Biden has said that he would not interfere should post president charges be filed against Trump.
In any case a President Biden has no direct authority if state charges are brought. And only federal charges are eligible for pardons.
David, since yesterday we had reported that Trump was being brought to heel. So Biden is delaying a claim of victory and Trump is mussled for the time being. Lol.
Sargeant
I dont need to be relevant in the affairs of America politocal system and its three or four days of getting rid of Trump
However i submit to you that the lives of blacks would be the same
The economic woes would be the same
Black on black crime would continue
Until blacks finds a leader bold enough to remove itself from the system and one who can confront the system on the problems of blacks the black community problems would remain dormant and only be seen as relevant when election comes
Trump is a lunatic
Biden has used blacks for his purpose
Where in that scenario would that help the black community
I am all ears
Meanwhile the intelligentia on BU fight and argue about who is the better of the two
Trump or Biden
Go figure
BREAKING: Pennsylvania Whistleblower Goes Public; Confirms Federal Investigators Have Spoken with Him About Postmaster’s Order to Backdate Ballots to Nov 3rd
By Cristina Laila
Published November 6, 2020 at 5:
BREAKING NOW:
Pennsylvania USPS Whistleblower Richard Hopkins Goes Public; Confirms Federal Investigators Have Spoken With Him About Postmaster Rob Weisenbach’s Order To Backdate Ballots To November 3rd, 2020
A SECOND Pennsylvania USPS whistleblower has come forward to Project Veritas claiming the Postmaster ordered late ballots to be picked up and separated to be backdated.
The second Pennsylvania USPS whistleblower told James O’Keefe, “If we find any ballots…we were to collect them”“Firmly of the belief that they were going to be backdated,” the whistleblower said.
And now he has gone public.
Whistleblower Richard Hopkins confirmed he has spoken with the feds about the Postmaster’s order to illegally backdate ballots.
So why does that sound so much like DLP….BLP…DLP again….BLP again… Mariposa, ya hiding inside information and pretending you don’t know the same happens in Barbados…under black face governments
“However i submit to you that the lives of blacks would be the same
The economic woes would be the same
Black on black crime would continue
Until blacks finds a leader bold enough to remove itself from the system and one who can confront the system on the problems of blacks the black community problems would remain dormant and only be seen as relevant when election comes.”
At last
CNN declares Biden 46 President of the USA
Joe Biden will become the 46th president of the United States, CNN projects, after a victory in the state where he was born put him over the 270 electoral votes needed to win
https://www.cnn.com/politics/live-news/trump-biden-election-results-11-07-20/h_1e0e91d050d44ff57754643e6d9008d2
So the long delayed determination has now been called by CNN.
Biden is the 46th president of empire
@555dubstreet November 6, 2020 8:38 PM
“John GP Lucas and Trump come from the school of politics that thinks the winner is the one who lies the most
Surely you can’t be serious. Biden is a noted liar. He lied about the College he went and lied about his position in class. Also used other peoples work without acknowledgement and was kicked out of college. He is in good keeping. Ted Kennedy cheated on exams at Harvard and was caught and kicked out. He was allowed back in after sometime had passed.
Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TVNovember 7, 2020 9:58 AM
At John Boy, Johnno, John Belly Mama, John Jacob Jingleheimer Schmidt…..Let me go slowly for you.
Let me go even slower for you.
At this point in time Trump has 0 electoral votes and Biden also has 0 electoral votes.
Disgusting Lies & Propaganda TVNovember 7, 2020 9:58 AM
Your little contrived, desperate LONGSHOT scenario would depend on Trump being able to block the vote count in Pennsylvania long enough via litigation which ain’t going to happen!!!!!!!!.
Have you considered the possibility that the Court may opt not to hear the matters on the grounds that the matters are political.
Not one of the justices have been elected so they may feel that they should not be involved in choosing the next president.
Check Bush v Gore.
If that happens it goes to Congress all of whose members have been elected by the people.
“The shite that Trump supporters are writing is more evidence that Jim Jones is alive and well and conspiracy theories have taken a life of their own”.
all that’s missing is the well laced koolaid….especially for GP…the audacity on that negro, wait until civil war breaks out and he will be singing a different tune when he can’t leave his house because of his negroid features, they promoted a lot of this on BU and should be held culpable, especially the Cuban Americans, they are a special breed….but wait, a bunch of black men in US also did that and i dont see on any platform where anyone is going to allow them to just breeze away without being held accountable in some way….never trusting them agains, sell outs with knives in hand…
William…they only copy the negatives from over and away…ya can guarantee they see a way to make sure they are always in power…..mailing vote was only because of Covid and for those WHO LIVE OUTSIDE THE US..COVID will BE GONE BY 2023 AND hopefully a few would have faced Karma…Barbados does not need any mail in votes………..those frauds love to project shit too much…they project only crookery and everything except for what the people who voted them into office are paying them to do..
The act of voting cannot be one of the less worse of the two, if the outcome in policy terms will be the same, or even worse. Voting, as has been pointed out, is a considered act and it will be suicidal for a black person in the UK to vote for the Labour party on the eve of 5000 dockers marching in support of Enoch Powell, and at a time when the dockers union had enormous influence within the Labour party.
It would be madness for a black person to vote for a Labour party led by Tony Blair or Gordon Brown, the man ho called for British jobs for British people, in a highly codified world which was interpreted as white jobs for white people.
All political parties are coalitions, but a gradualist approach to supporting a political party depends on the degree of difference. We must remember that 18 per cent of black people (men?) voted for Trump. We must also remember that some Jews supported the Nazi party. We must also remember that the DA in Kentucky is a black man.
Life is complex and contradictory. There is no binary; no right and wrong, black or right, short or tall. Sudan is now being described by some political analysts as Arab. That is not a joke. Egypt is also described as Arab.
I despise Trump, have no confidence in Biden and do not identify with Harris, the Indian-Jamaican.
Even Fox News calls the election for Biden.
However, the racist BU commentariat should not be expected to stop being more Trump than Trump.
50-0
26-24
Waiting for your update.. But wait he already won…
Just wailing, conspiracy theories and clutching at nonexistent straws remain ….
Whistle-blower
“I did not witness them backdating, I witnessed them talking about backdating,” he said.
Could they have been just shooting the breeze
last (last) song
It is fitting that the news was relayed to Trump on the golf course
Fore! Or is that Four!
William…i have been asking this for years….don’t the paper degreed, pedigreed in the parliament have any original ideas OF THEIR OWN…i have asked that for a very long time and no one answers me…no one….every little idea from abroad they take and add a twist that turns into a scam, that turns into victimizing someone BLACK….THAT IS NOT NORMAL…why do they stell need to copy from abroad only to twist it,.am not blaming UK or Europe or US for this because it’s something very different….something is just not right..
.yes, they are disconnected from ancestors and ancestor homeland but BY CHOICE…something else is very wrong..
It is official then, Trump is a one term president although receiving a bigly vote.
The first person Biden should call is Congressman Jim Clyburn of South Carolina, Biden was on the verge of becoming an also ran until Clyburn endorsed him in the SC Democrat primary and the rest is history.
At this time, it is congrats to Clyburn for making the right call.
Official is only when the electoral college meets on december 14th, we think
In golf when one hits a wayward shot it is customary to shout “Fore” to alert those who may be in danger of being struck by the ball. Trump likes golf and he will probably instruct his playing partners to shout another word as “Fore” will remind him that he only served four years, may I suggest he use that good old Bajan “LOOKOUT” when he tees off an errant shot😊
“Some of us may not want to accept Biden’s apologies, which only came when he was seeking the black vote”
Hal, GP, John, Lucas you need to check you egos at the door before you enter discussions on the Underground.
Ask yourself the question, “Am I the same person without my stupid bighead ego”
(The answer should be “Yes”)
▶ This Exercise Is All the Help You Need
Trump needs to concede and abandon his contest for the unofficial naming of Biden as the 46th President to have any meaning.
Until he does they both have zero electoral votes.
It will become official after December 14th but in time for one of them to be sworn in on 20th January 2021.
Cuhdear Bajan November 6, 2020 11:54 PM
“Why should Americans not repudiate a man who is complicit in the deaths of 242,230 Americans?”
Are you serious? I am going to deal with you now as a microbiologist. What kind of idiot are you? Trump is not God and given the fact that the virus is novel, so much so, scientists had to learn how to handle it as more was discovered about it. It was a matter of trial and error you idiot. Scientists did not have protocols worked out on treatment. Trump did very well, considering the conflicting advice the scientists were giving him. He made a master stroke when he ignored advice from the scientists and prohibited non-American visitors from China. He did the same about visitors from Europe .There was a huge out cry against his actions at the time. He put in place the machinery for America to manufacture PPE and so on and accelerated the development of vaccines and had the distribution logistics worked out. He did it because of his business expertise. You idiot; do you think an almost senile old man like Biden who sequestered himself in a basement could have done any better ? Lifestyle was the predisposing factor that resulted in the death toll. Was Trump responsible for persons who had cardiac problems. diabetes and high blood pressure and who were obese and over seventy -years old? There is a topic called risk in microbiology. Microbial risk or for that matter toxicology risk assessment do not guarantee one-hundred percent safety. There were previous pandemics: 1918,1957 and 1968 ,all of which were more serious than this one in terms of deaths, I lived through the 1957 and 1968 ones and no one tried blaming governments for the death tolls. People then were much tougher and less reliant on government for their personal well being.. You are a disgrace to even attempt to blame Trump for the death toll. Why not try asking Andrew Cuomo about his actions in New York ,where he allowed infected persons to be sequestered in homes for the elderly. That little mistake which he is trying hide caused thousands of deaths. As William Shockley said the majority of black people have a problem with abstract thought.
2020 The year that will go down in infamy.
This is a whole November month election count. CNN nor any news media calling it for Biden had the same standing as the blogmaster calling the election for Biden. i.e. means absolutely nothing.
The only people that can call it are the official authorities and that ain’t happening for weeks until these court cases about election irregularities get concluded.
I will not be surprised with so many irregularities brought to light when the cases go to court in these contentious states that the results might get invalidated in those states.
So much for the Chosen One!
🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
@Pacha
A formality to validate when state entities validate/certified the results.
@ Robert
Lifestyle was a CONTRIBUTORY factor in the deaths of CoVid victims. Doctors also had an opportunity to make choices in the level of treatment and the allocation of resources. I have said, and it remains true, that BLACK people, no matte their pre-conditions, came back of the queue.
Doctors killed many poor black people – and still do.
@ Critical Analyzer November 7, 2020 1:11 PM
Well said. Most of the comments are funded by animus against Trump and objectivity has been thrown through the window: Plus the SCOTUS leans heavily towards the conservatives.
The courts are throwing out the frivolous lawsuits as quickly as they come. The only one that was considered was the few late arrivals in Pennsylvania that are already seperated in case a decision is made to disqualify them. It has already been determined that these ballots are not enough to change the outcome.
So, it’s bye bye baby!
P.S. The influence of Shirley Chisolm is again being acknowledged.
So….. we in dat!
Watching Faux News. Assholes are discussing Hilary Clinton!
Murdaaaaah!