Prime Minister Mia Mottley shows off a Kensington Oval ready for T20 World Cup

A decision by the government to support same sex civil unions with legislation was shared by the government in the much anticipated Throne Speech last week. The government cloaked its support for the decision by promoting Barbados as being “in the vanguard of pioneering social justice, the protection of civil rights and the battle to ensure dignity to the poor, marginalized, vulnerable and dispossessedis prepared to recognize a form of civil unions for couples of the same gender so as to ensure that no human being in Barbados will be discriminated against, in exercise of civil rights that ought to be theirs.”

The government stopped short of also recognizing gay marriage to avoid a battle with the Church and a society happy to be labelled Christian.

It is hardly a secret the blogmaster abhors the homosexual lifestyle. However acceptance across the globe, especially in so called developed countries continues to rise. Using simple natural law theory a man was born with a penis, a woman with a vagina. This makes it self evident what the creator intended. Some will call-out the blogmaster as being overly simplistic and this is fine.

The blogmaster has never gotten tired of David vs Goliath anecdotes. It is the mindset which gave birth to Barbados Underground blog in April of 2007.

If you don’t believe in something, you’ll fall for anything. I believe everything happens for a reason. If you are strong from within, you can will anything. I’m a firm believer that where there’s a will, there’s a way.

Eric Davis

It seems Barbados is about to release the homosexual genie from the proverbial lamp at a time when many countries are still debating the issue. The question that must be asked is why the rush? Is Barbados being forced to prioritise what is rightfully referred to as a wedge issue as a requirement to competitively sell the Barbados Welcome Stamp initiative? Is this a case of Prime Minister Mia Mottley because of an overwhelming mandate from the electorate in 2018 and a predilection for the fairer sex feels now is the time to force the change at this time?

The blogmaster understands we have to treat all citizens equally BUT there is something wrong with same sex relationships.

Barbados is an island built on traditional values, it seems we are about to graft homegrown values with those imported from overseas. How will the propagation work out for us? Only time will tell.

276 responses to “Mottley’s Rush to Legalize Same Sex Union”

1. “It is hardly a secret the blogmaster abhors the homosexual lifestyle.”

What is the homosexual lifestyle? I am baffled!

2. It’s not up to straight persons to decide this issue. We currently discriminate. That must end. Let’s treat humans as humans even if one doesn’t like their lifestyle.

3. Rev Cameron Jones Avatar

Change is great. But not when it goes against GOD”s word

4. Rev Cameron stuuupse.

5. Here is the scriptural explanation of the secular position as given in Timothy 4:1
    Now the Spirit expressly says that in later times some will depart from the faith by devoting themselves to deceitful spirits and teachings of demons,
    …..and in 2 Timothy 4:3-4
    For the time is coming when people will not endure sound teaching, but having itching ears they will accumulate for themselves teachers to suit their own passions, and will turn away from listening to the truth and wander off into myths.

Now let the moronic mouthings begin……should be fun

6. We continue to be amazed at the pace at which colonial outposts like Barbados could so quickly embrace the every demand of empire.

Whether it is the moralizing of marijuana, acceptance of the notion of wider categories of family formations or the general acceptance of the consolidation of resources into fewer and fewer hands.

Barbados is emerging as the global centre, again, where all kinds of issues are elevated above those which our world has never found any solutions to, as if to distract from these more fundamental problems.

We will never so agree, regardless to the contrived arguments made, and by whom.

7. Where is it written that a man and a woman is the Unit that God Intended for the Sanctity of Mankind… In What Commandment?

In the Very First Chapter of the Bible…Genesis 1

26 And God said, Let us make man in our image, after our likeness: and let them have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over the cattle, and over all the earth, and over every creeping thing that creepeth upon the earth.

27 So God created man in his own image, in the image of God created he him; male and female created he them.

28 And God blessed them, and God said unto them, Be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it: and have dominion over the fish of the sea, and over the fowl of the air, and over every living thing that moveth upon the earth.

Adam and Eve Were Married in the Garden of Eden

And the rib, which the LORD God had taken from man, made he a woman, and brought her unto the man.

23 And Adam said, This is now bone of my bones, and flesh of my flesh: she shall be called Woman, because she was taken out of Man.

24 Therefore shall a man leave his father and his mother, and shall cleave unto his wife: and they shall be one flesh.

25 And they were both naked, the man and his wife, and were not ashamed.

God did not place Two Adams or Two Eves in the Garden, Two of the same kind cannot Procreate… Procreation is Pivotal to the Existence of the Human Race… Homosexuality is an Abomination; it stops the Natural Process of the Evolution of Mankind. Why would he have Destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah if it were an Acceptable Practice?

Christ is our Saviour NOT our Condemner and will be the Ultimate Judge…But we have to make proper Judgements without Condemnation as to what is Right from Wrong and Not Go Along to Get Along! It is Better to walk alone than with those going in the Wrong Direction!!

https://i.pinimg.com/originals/53/99/3c/53993c3f8026679ba58d4298e6b96840.jpg

8. Wow..
    I would urge the blogmaster to remove the blog.
    When you have nothing to say, say nothing.
    It is a rule that I broke several times, but this is a case where it should be applied.

9. Change is great. But not when it goes against GOD”s word
    ###########
    Who decides what god’s word is? King James and his editorial board who left out many books from the original orthodox church bible as used in Ethioipian christianity, and whose version of the bible has been passed down to the descendants of the enslaved Africans in the Caribbean via the said slavemasters? Or is god’s word to be found in the orginal ancient texts of KMT, also known as Ancient Egypt, of which the books of christianity are merely a copy and paste job? By the way, christianity existed in Ethiopia long before it reached Europe. I’m not sure why people have an issue with people being gay. If you don’t agree with it, don’t do it but don’t try to impose your opinions on others. In my opinion, it’s that simple. .

10. This is a democracy not a theocracy. I do not know what is so hard to understand about that.

All citizens must be allowed to chose their own path as long as their activities have no direct effect on the rights of others.

Exactly which of your rights are the homosexuals affecting?

Creepy old men need to stop obsessing about the sexuality of others and focus on their own failings. I’m sure creepy old men have plenty to fix about themselves.

Your God will hold you responsible for your acts not theirs.

11. RE Who decides what god’s word is?

IT SEEMS THAT YOU NEED A LESSON ON THE SUBJECT OF CANONICITY

the moronic mouthings HAVE begUN……should be fun

12. Tee White,

Their God does not force himself on people but they want to do it for him.

Steupse! Totally illogical bunch.

13. There is no reason why a modern democratic society should deny any of its citizens the basic right of having consensual adult relationships.
    I support same sex marriages and the adoption of children by our gay citizens. The government must not give into religious fanatics or those who are bringing unproven theories into what is a basic human right.
    I hope the government moves swiftly to legalize same sex marriages and let the chips fall where they may.
    I am therefore in full support of the measure regarding civil unions and look forward to same sex marriages being legalize with haste.

14. @BU David “It is hardly a secret the blogmaster abhors the homosexual lifestyle.”

But BU David. I’ve always assumed that you were gay

15. WE HAVE HAD THE OPINION OF THE FAILED POLITICIAN
    NOW WE HAVE THE OPINION OF THE PSYCO-ANALYST WHO POSITS But BU David. I’ve always assumed that you were gay
    WHO IS NEXT?

16. I enjoy BU.
    I think that the rocking and mocking fellow also enjoy BU.
    But it appears that cuhdear is having the most fun.

17. THE OPINION OF THE FAILED POLITICIAN IS THAT IT is a basic human right. TO BULL OR WICK

18. “MOTTLEY’S RUSH TO LEGALIZE SAME SEX UNION”

Rush? How long the discriminatory laws against same sex couples and gay people existed in Barbados?

19. DonnaSeptember 21, 2020 6:39 PM

This is a democracy not a theocracy.

Theodemocracy is a theocratic political system propounded by Joseph Smith, founder of the Latter Day Saint movement. According to Smith, a theodemocracy is a fusion of traditional republican democratic principles—under the United States Constitution—along with theocratic rule.

Aren’t the democracies of the west all guided by theology?

When Parliament opens or the Supreme court returns from holidays the God’s guidance is always sought in prayer.

The Parliament of Barbados actually has a dedicated chaplain.

In the US the president is sworn in with his hand on the Bible, guidance is sought from God.

In the UK the Queen is head of church and state, not state and church.

It would seem hypocritical for Parliament to pray for God’s guidance and at the same time break His laws or for the president to put his hand on the bible and ignore its contents.

20. Pachamama September 21, 2020 6:05 PM

We continue to be amazed at the pace at which colonial outposts like Barbados could so quickly embrace the every demand of empire.

But Pacha. It is true is it not that it was the British empire that demanded that certain homosexual acts be criminalized in Barbados and wherever else the agents of the British Empire went?

Criminalizing certain homosexual acts was never we t’ing. It was the british who did it. We are therefore simply undoing an act of that long dead empire.

Can anybody explain to me why female acts of homosexuality have NEVER been criminalized in Barbados.

Surely if certain male homosexual acts are wrong/immoral, un-Christian, un-Biblical, sacreligious etc. female homosexual should also have been made illegal, but they never were.

Can somebody explain that please.

21. Legally, females have no persons.

22. It is a human right for all adult consenting human beings to give and to receive sexual pleasure in the privacy of their homes.

23. @GP September 21, 2020 6:56 PM “WHO IS NEXT?”

You are next.

To tell the truth, I’ve long wondered the same about you as I wondered about David.

24. Cuhdear Bajan
    HOW IS IT THAT YOU DONT KNOW THE ANSWER TO YOUR QUESTION BUT WOULD DIAGNOSE THE BLOGMASTER AS A BULLER OR A BULLEE
    WE THOUGHT THAT YOU KNOW EVERY THING ABOUT EVERYTHING
    NOW GIVE US ONE OF YOUR ANECDOTES

25. @John September 21, 2020 7:12 PM “Legally, females have no persons.”

GP. John says that legally females have no persons, implying I believe that females cannot engage in homosexual acts.

Can you please correct John.

Thanks.

26. RE It is a human right for all adult consenting human beings to give and to receive sexual pleasure in the privacy of their homes.

SAYS WHO? WHEN? WHERE?

27. I am wondering if the boys of BU would be happy if two or more men sexually pleasured each other, kissed, caressed, mutually masturbated etc. as long as none of them inserted their penis into the anal canal of the other?

28. It’s the anal stuff, Cuhdear Bajan. It is something I myself do not like the image of but it really isn’t my business.

And yes it is a human right for human beings to “bull and wick” if that’s what they want to do with their own bodies.

It takes nothing from you.

29. RE It is a human right for all adult consenting human beings to give and to receive sexual pleasure in the privacy of their homes.
    IS THIS BECAUSE YOUR SIBLINGS AND KITH AND KIN HAVE HOMOSEXUAL PROCLIVITIES?
    HOW COME THAT YOU HAVE NOT YET GIVEN US ONE OF YOUR SIBLING ANECDOTES ON THIS MATTER?

30. A good piece of advice.

Never ever think about other people’s sexual activity, while you are enjoying your own.

31. John says that legally females have no persons
    HE IS CORRECT ACCORDING TO OUR LAW
    ONE REMEMBERS A CASE ABOUT 30 YEARS AGO IN THE BELLEPLAINE COURT THAT ESTABLISHED THIS IN THE CASE OF A TOURIST WHO WAS CHARGED WITH “EXPOSING HER PERSON”

32. @GP September 21, 2020 7:35 PM “IS THIS BECAUSE YOUR SIBLINGS AND KITH AND KIN HAVE HOMOSEXUAL PROCLIVITIES?”

No.

One bisexual late kin that I know of. But no homosexuals. No homosexual siblings either.

33. There was a time when homosexuals were not allowed to adopt children
    My oh my how things have change
    Maybe just maybe one day some one with enough muscle power and political sway would push the issue of pedophiles having a God given right to adopt children.
    In this world up is down and down is up
    Never say never

34. John the Racist,

I repeat – this is not a theocracy regardless of where it all started and the links between Church and State. We have evolved and are still evolving.

Freedom of religion means just that.

This is a case of freedom to not have somebody else’s religious beliefs imposed on another person.

Simple. You cannot use the Bible to justify treating a citizen differently if one speaks of freedom of religion.

35. I thought it was that our persons were naturally hidden.

36. @GP September 21, 2020 7:40 PM “John says that legally females have no persons. HE IS CORRECT ACCORDING TO OUR LAW”

Well that law needs to be changed forthwith. The government should change it at the same time that they are changing the civil unions thingy.

If it isn’t changed imagine if hundreds of females including all of the mothers, wives, and daughters of the boys of BU exposed their non-persons on Broad Street one fine Friday morning?

To use Hal’s term. A mob, a mob I tell you would gather.to see all of those the non-persons.

37. People are now demanding the legalization of bestiality – intercourse with dogs et al, as right.

Is this not the next logical step? And would Mia Mottley legalize this as well, under the same rubric.

As keto-vegans for decades we do not support any mistreatment of animals, not even for food.

In the same way we would never consume transgenic organisms nor support transgenderism under any guise.

38. In legal term as law describes in marriage between man and woman
    Who decides which is the male and female in homosexual marriage
    Churches are bound by the laws of God according to the bible
    The churches were also warned to be in the world but not of the world
    Meaning that not every rule or law defined by man that supersedes the laws of God the church must not adhere to
    Govt cannot force a Church to abide by a man made law against the principles of laws written in the bible
    If they so do they will be abandon by God and left to a reprobate mind

39. But enough! I have better things to do than worry about this. Happy that discrimination is being addressed. Wuhnuh could holler all wuhnuh like.

See if wuhnuh could get wuhnuh fadder to bun down de place.

Let us pray!

Murdah!

40. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 21, 2020 7:47 PM

@GP September 21, 2020 7:40 PM “John says that legally females have no persons. HE IS CORRECT ACCORDING TO OUR LAW”

Well that law needs to be changed forthwith. The government should change it at the same time that they are changing the civil unions thingy.

Referendum?

41. @Mariposa September 21, 2020 7:41 PM “There was a time when homosexuals were not allowed to adopt children.”

Not allowed by whom?

More than 50 years ago a homosexual lady in my village adopted a little boy when his mummy died. She raised him to be a fine to be a fine gentleman. A school teacher, married with children. If I am not wrong he may have taught at least one of GP’s children at school.

As a parent how do you know whether your son or daughter is being taught by someone raised by a homosexual foster parent?

Is that a question any of us have ever asked?

42. Wow! The two Bajan ladies from the land of Lesbos are doing the ‘dog’ this evening; and rightfully so.

43. Not all women will want the change, for what ever reason!!

Freedom of religion!!

44. @Pachamama September 21, 2020 7:50 PM “People are now demanding the legalization of bestiality – intercourse with dogs et al, as right. Is this not the next logical step?”

Nope. The animal, just like a child cannot consent.

45. Can’t wait for a referendum John.

I am organizing 1,000 ladies to expose their non-persons on Broad Street, Friday coming, so government has to act fast.

46. RE To tell the truth, I’ve long wondered the same about you as I wondered about David.

SORRY TO DISSAPOINT YOU
    GP IS NOT INTO THIS BACK OF THE ARM STUFF——VERY ORTHODOX
    GP IS NEITHER A BULLER OR A BULLEE

47. Now I have some actually real-real work to do. Let me get to that and not be distracted by the boys of BU.

48. No. It is not the next logical step. Animals are not consenting adult humans. We do not think they are capable of making such decisions. They would have to be trained by humans.

49. @ John September 21, 2020 7:55 PM

How about a referendum to ‘make’ menstruating women go into quarantine for 7 days as required by the rules of Yahweh the desert god of Dr. GP and you?