Submitted by Ziggy Greene

Voter annihilation
The Democratic Labour Party (DLP) was wiped out in the 2018 general elections in Barbados. It lost all 30 seats that constitute the House of Assembly. So devastating was the defeat that the DLP won only one or two of individual constituency voting boxes. Previous strongholds of St John and St Lucy were swept away like coastal lands in a tsunami. Many pundits, political and otherwise, have prophesied, more in hope than serious thought, that the DLP is now dead and defunct. It is deceased they declare; it cannot rise again. Good riddance to bad rubbish was how one Barbados Labour Party supporter, a friend, framed it.

And so it seems after the election if one drove along George Street, Belleville, the headquarters of the DLP affected a forlorn and shabby appearance, a reflection of the state of the party. For weeks nothing was heard from former Cabinet Members. Not even from the former PM Freundel Stuart; he remained as silent after the loss as he had been during his leadership.

The show must go on
Nevertheless after sometime, an election for party leadership was held. It pitted Guy Hewitt, former UK High Commissioner from 2014-2018 against Verla De Peiza, a previous unsuccessful candidate for the party. Hewitt represented a break from the past and De Peiza a continuation thereof albeit one who was never in government. Without going into the reasons why, De Peiza won.

Can DePeiza make the DLP viable again?
That is question on the lips of party faithful and Barbadians who want to see a robust opposition. After two years in the leadership role it is difficult to tell if the question has been answered. What comes out of George Street is an amalgam of worn out political utterances and defensive statements that give no clue to the personal political underpinnings of Miss De Peiza or what a DLP Administration under her leadership would portend. There is no inkling on where she stands on the pressing issues that plagued Barbados, whether it is crime, social or economic concerns.

Every party suffers defeat
At some point a party will lose an election. At some point the political philosophies of a party will clash with the wishes of voters. Between 1932 and 1952 during and after the great depression, and the Second World War Americans favoured the Democratic Party for its social policies. Between 1980 and 1992 the Democratic Party was in opposition to the Republicans in presidential elections when Americans opted for the conservative policies of Ronald Reagan. At home, the DLP won 24-3 over the BLP in 1986. In 1999 the BLP defeated the DLP 26- 2 and in 2018 30-0.

It ought to be pointed that the Democratic Party in the US began life as a conservative party and the Republicans as more liberal per the America definitions of those terms. They flipped ideologies around the 1970s although it can be argued that the change started around 1932 when FDR instituted social and welfare reforms to combat the great depression. In Barbados, there is no defined political ideological demarcation between the DLP and the BLP. Demonstrably, political parties form and reform or reinvent themselves according to the philosophies of their leaders and members, and the voting tendencies of the public.

The DLP Party must reform
Without doubt it must. But how is that to be achieved? My advice would be to first apologise to the citizens of Barbados and to DLP members if there is a distinction or if such a specific apology is warranted. Sorry for not living up to expectations of those who voted for the DLP, Sorry for besmirching the values and name of Errol Walton Barrow and those who started the Party and carried its banner for many a year, Sorry for the failures of the past 8 or so years. Pledge that it would never be repeated. That would represent a break from the past and signal a new dispensation. One rightfully may argue that it may anger some members not least the old guard from the previous administration and that may be true. I say so what? But an apology is not the end all.

Political reform – a review
Jose Moroni in a 2009 paper about Brazilian politics considered the question of political reform and advanced seven basic but fundamental challenges, that any serious attempt at political reform must overcome.

There are to quote Maroni:-

• Male dominance: Any system of political, economic, industrial, financial, religious or social organization in which the vast majority of the senior positions in the hierarchy are held by men.
  • Patrimonialism: Political conduct on the part of dominant elites in the exercise of public government functions whereby public resources (of the State and/or its institutions) are appropriated as if they belonged to these elites.
  • Oligarchy: A form of government in which power is concentrated in the hands of a small number of individuals who are in many cases united by family ties or political connections, and who belong to privileged social classes. Typically, oligarchies tend to be dominated by men and to function in a patrimonialist way.
  • Nepotism: The practice of individuals in positions of executive power in the State apparatus granting favours by awarding jobs to their relatives.
  • Cronyism: The exchange of favours and mutual preferential treatment by individuals in executive positions in State structures and public services.
  • Personality cults: Creating cult status for individuals in the political sphere, which leads to the devaluation of political debate and the de-politicizing of conflicts.
  • Corruption: When individuals appropriate or re-allocate public resources for private ends and are able to act with impunity and maintain themselves in power. Another aspect of corruption is that it is a way of usurping the power that rightly belongs to the people.

For ease of reference, Moroni succinctly explains those challenges. To varying degrees and deferring terms, these are comparable issues that plagued Barbados.. Nevertheless this is by no means an exhaustive list. There are other issues like encouraging a more broad-based economy, debt and debt financing, the welfare state, civil service reform, crime, targeted free university education, technical and vocational schools or studies, same sex marriage, school zoning, legal reform, and single sex schools. Coterminously, there is the matter of in- house DLP recalibration surrounding attracting new members, candidate selection restructuring, and maintenance of party headquarters.

Back to Moroni
Addressing the political scene in Brazil, Moroni offers up more incisive guidance for reform, which on examination has exogenous appeal. He advises reformers to-

1. Strengthen direct democracy;
  2. Strengthen participative democracy;
  3. Improve representative democracy (the electoral system and political parties);
  4. Democratize information and communications;
  5. Democratize the judicial system

How germane, given what has been trending in Barbados. The President of the Senate recently resigned and has been replaced by a party insider, with no reason given for the particular appointment. The Chief Justice has retired and advertisement for a replacement has been broadcasted. Despite that, critics are confident that a party affiliate is a surety for the post.

And with the recent Throne Speech and the intent of the Government to implement measures towards same sex civil unions and republicanism, there has been some furore over whether Government should proceed unilaterally in the case of becoming a Republic or by way of referendum, as it has for same sex marriage notwithstanding the civil union stop gap.

Such political angst is ubiquitous in democratic forms of government but there are lesson to be learnt here for the DLP. Changes are not easy. They are disruptive and divisive, but they are inevitable.

My Advice to DePeiza
Scrutinize these political reforms posited by Maroni. Juxtapose them against the political landscape of Barbados and your ideals for the DLP. In detail, pen how you would realign the political principles of the DLP taking into account this framework. Promulgate it to the public along with any other reforms that you deem necessary under the circumstances.

Above all, mean it, and demonstrate that you do. We must know where you stand. We must know where you intend to take us and above all we must believe you. You may not win the next election and you may not win any election but you would have propelled the DLP into the future and perhaps ensure its existence.

262 responses to “Reform or Die”

1. It is obvious but the author Greene makes the assumption Verla will be able to ward off George later this month. It must be asked the prescription should still apply if George wins?

2. The DLP must die because Barrow founded this syndicate.

Even today many politicians, historians and professors lie to the population about this so-called national hero. We are told Barrow made our lives soooo much better than before. Fact is Barrow led Barbados to the edge of the abyss with his Declaration of Independence. Fact is that BLACK people in French Guyana and the Dutch and French Antilles are much better off today than they are in Barbados. If Barbados had remained with Great Britain, London would have to subsidize us today.

Barrow’s intellectual flaw lies in the fact that he wanted to switch from the plantation economy to socialism in one step. But anyone who reads and understands Marx knows that industrial society is a prerequisite for socialism. You can only distribute wealth, but not the poverty of the plantation. Barrow never understood that – as so many other self-proclaimed leaders in the Third World have done. I just mention Mao, who drove millions of people to starvation in China with the Great Leap.

Barrow is not a true national hero. Unlike our leader, Mia Mottley. It is time for our Parliament to undo this categorical error and award the honor of national hero to Mia Mottley instead of Barrow. Barrow never had to face a real challenge, while Mia Mottley has already brilliantly mastered two catastrophes with state bankruptcy and Covid19.

It is therefore a moral imperative to erect a monument dedicated to Mia Mottley in the place of Admiral Nelson.

3. All parasites, leeches and sellouts in the lives of the people, not worth the energy.

4. Got that right, sister. Tell it like it is.
    Dem dead and buried, but ever so often, we are expected to dig dem back up just to make sure.

5. It is IMPOSSIBLE for the DLP to reform itself.

This pipe dream long called for has always arrived after an electoral catastrophe.

But during such catastrophes the orgamism never seems to possess the fortitude to save itself. Recall, the last 10 years in office when this organism did not throw up “a boy” capable of bringing the supreme coward, FJS, to heel” or even saving the party from certain disaster.

Indeed, the elevation of asshouls like Erskine Sandiford, Fruendel Stuart and Verla Depieza or even George whoever tells us that political death is a more likely scenario than these postulations about reforms.

When we hear the word reform it should be received as the bureaucratic way of telling us “let’s keep things as they are but give the appearance that something has changed”. It’s political and not representative of the real structural transformation necessary for both party and country.

This writer has been involved in change management for some time. Has studied the behaviors of duopoly systems. And if political duopolies have one thing in common it is their inability to positively reform or transform themselves.

But why waste time on reforms when it is transformation which is required.

6. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Aye my sweet David, the real one. Sending you a topic for discussion shortly. Meanwhile, the writer of this piece put forward some nice compelling information in defence of a DLP party that sought diligently to dig their own graves. Funny, how they believe that Mottley, in seeking to establish her legacy and, the obvious need to keep her name at the forefront of every news agency for relevancy purposes, has given the DLP something to pelt in the crunch of the BLP, and a hope, that this little ”Me First Lust” by Mottley will be enough to persuade voters back in their direction for another term at the helm. I mean, what other props they got to use besides coming good, coming clean, and showing themselves to be serious this time around instead doing the many shite things they did, while in office. Be that as it may, the SSS holds no hope or promise of support for a party that not just humiliated themselves under the leadership of an intelligent dummy, but whose arrogance during their tenure, new no bounds.
    But, I got to ask the question, I mean there is nothing wrong with
    establishing a legacy, as long as the spin offs from that are beneficial to the people of Barbados. But, but, but, why now? What happened to involving the people by way of referendum? What happen to consulting the people on an important decision such as going Republic. Why the haste to do all of this in the middle of a pandemic and at a time when the suffering in Barbadiana, both in the unemployment department, and hardships to sustain a decent living, is so darn high? Mottley either has a plan with this republic move or issimply capitalising on the state of world wide affairs by executing this decision that most Brits are too busy thinking about living, surviving and when the next normal day will come again. After all the pandemic has shown clearly that its almost every land for themselves, so Barbados parting at this stage would not be a big deal, right? Really hope Mottley got this. Because, we have seen that she will go unconventional and unoppose in matters that she believe in. That is why I have grave difficulty trusting the rogue. This is similiar to the decision to knight her father a few weeks into her leadership role and a few months after to offer all those owing taxes, a nice break that included Daddy dearest and other big name players.

David, should I do a nice poster as well, I notice the posters dried up in this blog. What you say you?

7. Pacha…tell them you cannot reform colonization nor deeply colonized minds, both has to be completely abandoned, erased and eradicated from the face of the earth, leaving no remnants to regenerate itself….anything else is a mockery to life itself and an abomination.

they know not that they know not and will never be ready otherwise.

I hope the Bushman is seeing all of this unfold. Now he knows that the world can turn at any time, it does not need permission from mere humans..

8. @SSS

If the rumour of a bye election in SGN is true then it may be the opportunity for the litmus test on the issues being discussed. Barbadians like drama, they never participate in the democracy after the x is placed and will holler only when these controversial issues crop up. The politicians know how to play us, like the proverbial accordion.

You are free to submit as you see fit.

9. @Pacha

In the contact of the local political landscape this blogmaster will take serious effort to reform. Most times strategy is forced based on the changing environment in which one has to operate. Losing 30-0 at the last poll, a senior man of the party facing imprisonment etc…

10. Jones: DLP veterans have to play part
    By Sherrylyn A. Toppin
    sherrylynclarke@nationnews.com
    A former Member of Parliament (MP) in the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) is calling on the “mature leaders” to get involved and contribute to its strategic direction.
    Ronald Jones, who was a Minister of Education in the last administration, is throwing his hat in the ring as a vice-presidential candidate at the DLP’s general conference this coming weekend.
    Lamenting the vacuum created by the absence of the older members, Jones referred to the likes of Sir Richard Cheltenham, Dame Billie Miller and Sir Henry Forde who, despite retiring from elective politics, continued to make themselves available to the Barbados Labour Party.
    He said the DLP was able to draw on the experience of Sir Philip Greaves, Dame Maizie Barker-Welch and Robert “Bobby” Morris, but there were many others who still had contributions to make.
    “When you look at the Democratic Labour Party, as I am doing now, there is a marked absence of those persons helping to direct and influence and guide those who are younger in the party. I don’t see them,” he said. “Where are all the others who have been in the vanguard of the Democratic Labour Party?”
    He urged them to come out to the annual conference to participate and vote because the party needed to bring all of its human capital to bear to chart the way forward.
    Commenting on the 30-0 defeat in the 2018 General Election, the former MP for Christ Church East Central said the DLP accomplished many things that “somehow did not penetrate the consciousness or the psyche of the Barbadian populace”. He said sometimes the messages from other voices were more penetrating and people tended to listen to them.
    “One of the failings of the party is that we have not been good promoters or marketers of what we have done historically over time. There are people who lived it and know it, but we are also in a different environment.
    “We did not utilise our social media as we should, we did not send messages to young people as we should. The middle class, to some extent, felt that they were stymied over ten years, notwithstanding
    that they are worse off today, but then who would know we would be in this serious social and economic crisis that we are now in.”
    Jones said after the election, nobody in the DLP went about marching and protesting to bring down the Government or hurling invectives because that was not their way.
    The former trade unionist said he was buoyed by the number of young people who expressed an interest in running for the various posts on the executive and this augured well for the DLP’s future.
    There are four positions for vice-president which are determined by the number of votes a candidate receives.

11. David
    How many examples do you need.

About Covid as s failure of party politics, we’ve had titularly intelligent people here like Vincent Codrington contending that nobody knew about it when we’ve even been making movies about pandemics for decades, like Contagion 2011. How do you reform that mindset.

How do you reform the life blood of the DLP or BLP which flows through the veins of people like AC and Enuff. In management when we encounter this terminal cultural phenomenon there is only a single option available.

12. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Basically what is implied in the article is the DLP were extremely arrogant, thought they knew what the people,wanted, didn’t ask anyone what they wanted, did as they pleased and got it all wrong.

All former MPs need the old time school punishment where any of them still interested in playing some role in the DLP must be required to submit a self-penned essay entitled ‘Why I lost My Seat in Parliament in the 2018 Election’ for grading by the party members before being allowed into any DLP meeting.

13. @Pacha

A movement does not require 100% participation. There will always be those we have to carry along in the ‘wash’.

14. It’s amazing that pure nonsense about apologising is a serious part of this article. The DLP scarcely won a single box and that was the will of the people. They were elected to run the country; their leadership and policies failed and they were given the worst electoral defeat in the history of post independence Barbados. They deserved exactly what they got. End of story. Furthermore, on the night of the defeat Stuart publicly accepted the blame. This whole advice about apologizing was not required of any other political party. The real apology should come from both the BLP and DLP for their collective failure to transform this country after over a half century of leadership and we are still driving on bad roads; can’t get water; blacks still at the lowest ends of economic power; an archaic education system ; black workers still earning less than $300 per week; paying consultants millions of dollars ;
    After more than a half century of independence we jump for joy when we buy a new bus or a frigging garbage truck! Poor people waiting years for medical treatment at the QEH and somehow we behave as if every single problem was created in the so called lost decade drivel. Should Mottley apologise for having the biggest cabinet after saying that one half it’s size was too big; should she apologize for giving the hoteliers $300 million; should the BLP apologise for Greenland.
    As far as I am concerned the Duopoly should be gathered up and thrown directly into the fires of the political hell to burn forever………apology

15. In the ten years when the blp was in the wilderness never once did they lay out a plan for the barbados economic and social environment
    What was given were heaps of crticisms and nuff political utterances about Stuart
    The blp at that time send a message that giving correction measures the govt of the day would steal them so less said coming from them{blp) is better
    Yes i would agree that Verla should speak but only in critical terms about the govt policies which are numerous and in effect have been damaging to many households
    Many people are suffering and Verla voice would give much revelance and support needed to what the barbadian households are saying about this govt
    A strong voice that pushes forward the dire economic and social disaster of this country would propel a party even in its worst moment to the top of being relevant in the eyes if the people
    All Verla has to do or the person in charge of the dlp leadership is open their mouth and create an image of compassion and understanding for the bajan household while reminding them of a party whose philosophical ideas under Bartow built created a better life for barbadians
    Also sending harsh and stern messages to present govt that the past two years were worst then the 10 years past
    Stating with boisterous repetition the many worst with known economic and social examples which are many
    This govt has shown that it can tell a lie as many times over and at some point the masses would believe

16. Critical Analyzer,

I like that idea but the essays must be published on social media.

17. Political parties are private clubs and therefore the only audience these also rans have to satisfy are the handful of partisans who control the constituency branches.

18. “How do you reform that mindset.

How do you reform the life blood of the DLP or BLP which flows through the veins of people like AC and Enuff. In management when we encounter this terminal cultural phenomenon there is only a single option available.”

a mindset that cannot pass a basic spiritual aptitude test without REVERTING within hours or days to colonial nothingness and nobodyism, culturally lacking and mentally degraded…that’s how our best minds were sytematically polluted and destroyed..

19. it is a well known secret that Gline Clarke will take up the post that Reg Farley relinquished recently and that the Min of Tourism is the preferred BLP candidate for St George North, which has become a BLP safe seat

20. Critical Analyzer Avatar

In the age of social media where the ability of individuals to reach the masses is not easy, the monster that is Political Parties have outlived their usefulness.

I say we go the full Republic route and every 5 years elect an Executive President to do the Prime Ministerial duties and 30 Independent constituency MPs. Have each ministry headed by a Permanent Secretary managed by a board of MPs to approve the usual things boards approve like adhoc spending, budgets and policy decisions. The MPs would have time to look after their constituents like they were elected to do.

21. @Critical Analyzer

Steady on. Have an early morning drink and a short walk.

22. David

No handful of partisans control any branches. These people are hardly able to pay dues to keep their memberships current. These fees are at critical times usually paid by prospective representatives

Your point only serves to deflect blame from the maximum leader

23. @Pacha

How often have you heard reported the party executive overruling the branch nominees? Always willing to learn.

24. David

How can there be socalled reforms when the so-called veterans or party fathers like Ronald Jones believe they have some role to play?

25. i have no issues with former MPs from the so called lost decade playing their part in the DLP revival but do it in the background. i am on record as stating that only Stephen Lashley and Sealy should be considered for any front line activity and even that should be limited

26. David

Why would an overrule be necessary when the orders are sent from on high?

27. i observed and reserved that right to speak my mind to the present and ongoing social and economic issues that affect the barbadian household
    Those who have advocated that both parties are useless .Rather than get on the fence and holler should step out and form a party that would create an environment of political integrity with a regard to bring sustainable and feasible policies to barbados
    Enough long talk about both parties are one of the same
    Break the brassbowl and do something for yuh country
    Long talk on social media dont. add up to a hill of beans

28. Greene seeing you know everything about what happens in Barbados from over and away tell us who will run for your Dems that is what interest us.Will it be Mr Pilgrim , Ms Depeiza or someone else who if they win will be the new leader of the party?Perhaps i should also aslk Mariposa or Mr Skinmer who rushes on to defend whenever something is said about the Dems.He stated the honeymoon is over for Ms Mottley well guess what the honeymoon is over for Ms Depeiza as well who has not offered any sensible solutions to any problem so far.As i have stated previously, it is a good thing this pandemic did happened under the Dems because by the time they accepted we haf a problem we would have been in deep trouble.Praise god for Ms Mottley and her team for keeping us safe so far.

29. Worth reading even Fidel Castro had a say on the topic of Countries becoming Republic

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/columns/commentary-has-time-come-caribbean-republics

30. @Pacha

The transfer of knowledge from old to new is an aged old mechanism in the learning to advance process of humankind. The devil is always in the details.

The point, the branch council if so inclined can create a black eye for the party. How does one go about democratizing the process anyway. These are private clubs.

31. (Quote):
    it is a well known secret that Gline Clarke will take up the post that Reg Farley relinquished recently and that the Min of Tourism is the preferred BLP candidate for St George North, which has become a BLP safe seat..Unquote).
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So where does that leave the other big-talking LADY of Smart Technology?

Would the DLP be returning the now ‘cut-down-to-size’ Mr. ‘’Physical Deficit Ince to run against the ‘red’ political whippersnapper?

32. Lorenzo what solutions did the blp offer when in the ten years in the wilderness
    Have u not noticed that right after winning the sweets which which only political propaganda during the blp 10 years in the wilderness turns out to be bitter poison for the people
    Now yuh got the nerve to be pointing with some sort of political pomposity that Verla or the next leader should have offer solutions
    Wuh happen to that bloated cabinet voice who so far has offered nothing but happily collects tax payers money payable as dues for jobs done
    Ghee whizz get real

33. The SGN is obviously times to drown outnoise from George Street in the build up to the AGM next weekend.

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2020/09/dlp-agm.png

34. Mariposa

Your well rehearsed line repeats a tired canard which only has credence for those mentally crippled by the thinking emanating fron George and Roebuck Streets.

A canard which tries to pull imdependent observers into the mire to engage in an unwinable battle.

Instead we proffer that the whole system, supported by party hacks like you, be deconstructed. That both the blp and dlp be made proscribed organizations, like al Qaeda.

35. Yall need to stop entrapping yaselves, African Sprirtuality was DECRIMINALIZED in Barbados in 1998, i know, the criminal minded bitches never told the people, however, there is nothing Mia or any of her parasites can do to stop you from the practice, of course the house negros only decriminalized it so they can use it themselves, problem for them, they are colonial creatures and inventions and that power will never come to them naturally…

so, for those who are still blessed and gifted in that regard, i know you exist, have been watching you for years……get hopping ..chop chop…

Jamaica still has it CRIMINALIZED on their statute books, for now, you are ahead in that regard, for now…

36. David 08 42

By making them illegal organizations.

37. On the issue of old hands stepping out to lend a helping hand in the dlp
    So what so wrong with that if some can add knowledge
    Mia went outside of Barbados to seek help from people who have no idea about barbados culture and the connection to a barbados built on a community spirit of helping one another
    It never occurred to Mia that inside knowledge coming from our people who have lived amongst the society in good times as well as bad would be of greater help than having a bloated cabinet made up of consultants and advisors who never set foot on barbados soil or lived the cultural economic or social environment of this society
    Rather have people surrounding and who can understand the problems of barbados
    Than so called consultants whose only called is to crunch numbers without objective views that bear relevance to a society

38. @Pacha

Tell us who will be charged with operationalizing?

39. @ac

Are the consultants running for political office? Were the consultants rejected at the last poll all to a man and woman. Think before you post nonsense.

40. Pachama
    All that long talk u give at 8..52 doesn’t add up to a hill of beans
    Get off yuh hobby horse called Criticsms of both govt and do something that can place barbados where yuh speak of
    Until then i would speak with robustly to the issues affecting this country

41. @ Mariposa

You are absolutely right. It is better to draw on the old hands to capture the culture and experience of the party, than to go for PhD whizkids who prove themselves to be emptyheaded and to White Oaks and other money-grabbing groups who have no interest in the long-term benefit of the island. The defeated old hands know best what mistakes they made and will spot the pot holes in policy.
    Some people should think before they post crap.

42. David

It must be the central objective of the revolution being spawned by duopoly misrulership, and over many decades. And that day of reckoning is now unavoidable.

43. David i am speaking to the mindset of this govt who from day one stated loudly that the govt had no confidence in its minister or homegrown professionals but rather go outward and look for others to help define and set policies in place for the economy
    I stated that as a backdrop to what some are saying about old hands stepping out to be included in the dlp
    In my opinion these old hands gives more relevance in those issues that affect barbados than no name consultants who never played a role in the economy of barbados

44. @Pacha

In essence it comes back to a mass uprising from ordinary people to force policy makers hands? Is this what you are saying?The blogmaster sense impatience coming from the people via different organs but nothing to suggest we have reach a tipping point.

45. Wait, what am I seeing here?
    For a dead party, the DLP seem to weigh heavy on the minds of BLPites.

They pronounced the D’s dead, tell us of the D’s having years in the wilderness, but it appears that they say one thing and believe another.

They D’s cannot get out of the starting blocks, but the B’s are already running hard against the D’s

46. Hal what i see as policy giving to govt by the likes of White Oaks and the IMF is a tell that these economic advisors heads are stuff with numbers but are unable to relate to what these policies are doing to the bajan household
    To them it is all about a policy plan and time period to get only the financial issue of barbados right
    Anything else that affect the social environment can wait
    Homegrown advisors be them old hands or new hands can relate to all social and economic issues with greater advantage
    Let those old hands be included the people would eventually endorse
    The new leader of the dlp job is to erase and reestablish in the minds of the people that it is not good policy to throw out the baby with the basket evident of what took past in 2018 resulting with more pain and suffering for the people

47. @ac

Who are the old hands you view can be constructive running for offices in the party? So far we have George Pilgrim, Denis Lowe and Ronald Jones.

48. @ac

If a general election were to be called tomorrow the BLP would regain office on a canter because the DLP or the other parties have done nothing to show a difference. People may be complaining but in their heart of hearts they know this a tough period the world is managing. The same old narratives will not cut it. Come up with a plan to undercut the BLP.

49. @ Hal
    You are correct. When Tom Adams won in 1976. He went for oldsters such as Ronald Mapp and Mencea Cox s along with several others. From a strategic point of view it would be sheer folly for the DLP to bring a full slate of new candidates.
    If you were to look around the BLP, they are still utilizing people like Johnny Cheltenham, Ezra Alleyne and others. You will note that Mia had to utilize Arthur although he said the BLP had lost its soul and he resigned from the party. The BLP tried to reclaim him even in death. Jerome Walcott who lost his seat is the Leader of Government business in the Senate. The BLP is now bringing back Reginald Farley.He too was once rejected by the electorate and was in the political wilderness for years. The same BLP still using Mascoll. All of these people were rejected by the electorate.
    It’s a waste of time talking to these kool aid drinkers. They know nothing about the history of the DLP or the BLP. I get the impression that many of them started following politics last week!
    BTW , you are also correct about Mariposa. She should continue to support her party of choice like everybody else. Enuff, Lorenzo and Tron did the exact thing when they were in opposition. That’s how these Bees and Dees are. Hypocrites. Just blank them , they have nothing to add or offer to serious public discourse.
    They should just their daily dose of Kool aid every morning and stop polluting the place with one sided crap.

50. @William

Your comment is lacking. The BLP brought back people with a brand whose inclusion have not cause fissures in the party. The same cannot be said for some of the people looking to rejoin the party. Lowe, Jones et al all are coming back to take our Verla because they believe she has not been active enough to blunt an aggressive Mottley. You are bringing a position that is theoretically right but tactically wrong.