The eagerly awaited second session of parliament is set to restart today from about 10AM- see Order Paper. The decision to prorogue parliament from the 8 August 2020 caught political pundits by surprise and has been the source of robust debate.

The Government has determined that it is necessary that we take fresh guard. The Parliament of Barbados will be prorogued on the 8th of August, 2020, with us resuming in a new session on the 15th of September with a new Throne Speech and with a new direction as to where we must go in order to meet these extraordinarily different circumstances from the original Throne Speech of two years ago

Prime Minister Mia Mottley

Even before the pandemic struck the global economy, Barbados had been struggling with a non performing economy. The Mottley government took an immediate decision to enter an IMF program (BERT) on winning the governbment in 2018 that included a restructure of domestic and foreign debt with the contracted services of White Oak. The big concern was carrying the risk of low foreign reserves with a junk status credit rating and a high debt to GDP load- reported in 2018 as the third highest in the world.

If was not difficult for the Barbados government to manage an economy in free fall and at the same time whip confidence in a proud people who were suffering from economic fatigue, along came COVID 19. The prime minister in her wisdom- time will tell- decided to leverage the parliamentary tools at her command “to take fresh guard”.

It would be remiss of the blogmaster if the minority view offered by the contentious Pachamama in this forum was not added to this commentary.

We have been telling this PM, here on BU and through back-channels, that this ‘reset’, so-called, is highly misconceived.

Our suggestion is that an election should be called to ‘reset’ the political-economy. Not the farcical and ritualistic contrivances as planned for sometime this week.

Her sequestration, seclusion, on the gold coast should have been unnecessary as neither she nor those beating a trail to meet with her has anything of material importance to tell her beyond pomp and pageantry.

Pachamama

We are living in an unprecedented time. We are attempting to navigate uncharted waters. The challenges confronting Barbados is not a binary problem to solve. Those who enter the debate by injecting absolutes should be viewed with suspicion.

The blogmaster urges the Prime Minster and other leaders in civil society to ignore the power of this moment at our peril. This and future generations will be affected by decisions taken today.

And in the visitation of the winds,

Who take the ruffian billows by the top,

Curling their monstrous heads and hanging them

With deafening clamour in the slippery clouds,

That, with the hurly, death itself awakes?

Canst thou, O partial sleep, give thy repose

To the wet sea-boy in an hour so rude,

And in the calmest and most stillest night,

With all appliances and means to boot,

Deny it to a king? Then happy low, lie down!

Uneasy lies the head that wears a crown.

Shakespeare’s Henry IV. Part II, 1597

– See Parliament TV

407 responses to “Government Using Throne Speech to Signal Fresh Guard”

1. And while we are having all these lovely discussions some people will be so distracted that they will not even think that these controversies are being used to cover up some evil shit this government got itself involved in, so someone should be checking..

2. Andrew Holness intends to put the vote to the Jamaican people in a referendum. No timeline.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/caribbean/20200915/time-leave-queen-barbados-become-republic-2021

3. Whatever it is they were doing, Vincent, it did not suit me.

I feel the weight falling from my shoulders!

Let the process of reclaiming our self-respect begin!

4. Of course Tom was way ahead. Deep thinkers and writers usually are.

5. […] Posted as a comment by Greene to the Government Using Throne Speech to Signal Fresh Guard […]

6. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Donna at 1:17 PM

We cannot reclaim what we never lost. Barbadians always had self- respect. And they were respected wherever they migrated in this world. We pay too much attention to latter day spin doctors whose job is to undermine our self confidence. I am still trying to find out why.

7. African countries are no longer tolerating racism against their people so i don’t know why Black governments in the Caribbean still think they should..

https://youtu.be/ixzVeRhomck

8. Again…always check what evil shit the Mia government is involved in and using all types of distraction to cover its tracks….too many newspapers worldwide are carrying this decoupling from the UK as head of state story, something is being covered up…

‘Government has placed workers in jeopardy’ – by Kareem Smith September 15, 2020
    Government has again be told to address urgently changes to the Severance Payments Act that could see thousands of dollars owed to workers who were laid off since since the height of the coronavirus pandemic being forfeited.

On Monday, Senator Caswell Franklyn slammed the Mia Mottley administration for its lackadaisical response to the matter, while intensifying calls for Government to address the amendment that gives severed workers just four weeks instead of a year to claim severance after the 22-week layoff period expires. He said the issue is particularly urgent for those who were laid off during the national shutdowns of March and April, because for them, the four-week period has already been triggered.

“…Because if the four weeks run out, then the employer doesn’t have any liability against them, and the Government cannot then amend the act and create a new liability on them. So it is incumbent upon the Government to either fix the legislation before the four weeks run out because these workers will not get anything,” Senator Franklyn explained while on VOB’s Down to Brass Tacks programme.

“Can you imagine working for 30 years and then all of a sudden, because Government was trying to help out the employers – in this case, the hotel industry – that they took away the severance payment from everybody? This Government cared during the campaign, but they aren’t caring anymore. These are the people that came and voted for them and they didn’t have any regard for what would happen to them,” he then declared.

Prior to the amendments, the Employment Rights Tribunal was vested with the authority to hear matters relating to severance claims for up to a year after the 22 weeks expired

“This amendment act says Section 38 of the principal act does not apply to claims made under these amendments. That doesn’t sound troublesome . . . until you find out what Section 38 is. That is the section that gives the tribunal authority to hear matters. If you cannot go to the tribunal, where will you go?” asked the Opposition Senator.

Franklyn’s warnings to workers started over a week ago when Government, in collaboration with the Barbados Workers’ Union and the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association, announced a wage subsidy programme that would allow hotel workers the choice of returnimg to a “decent wage” or triggering their severance.

After a recent meeting among stakeholders, it was still unclear how long the wage subsidy programme would last and what the fate of workers’ severance would be when it was completed.

As a result, Franklyn warned that unless Government lengthened the time after the 22-week period expired for persons to file their claims, the wage subsidy programme would jeopardise their severance under the new policy.

Since then, the BWU and Government’s special economic advisor Avinash Persaud gave assurances that the workers’ severance would not be affected. But without the necessary legislative changes, Franklyn declared that workers have been left exposed.

“Most people don’t know and some who hear about it are confused because they are getting advice from other people, who are telling them the Government is giving them the assurance that it is not going to happen. I don’t want assurances from the Government, I want law, and the law says you cannot go to the tribunal because the case does not apply to the tribunal,” Franklyn declared.”

9. Blogmaster…ya really too gullible, am so glad ya are not female, ya would get robbed daily…lol

10. Bajans had “self-respect” built on being “Little England”. A false pride not self-respect.

You insult me if you think I am one to listen to spin doctors. I felt the weight of that monarchy on my shoulder more than forty years ago.

I speak to you of MY FEELINGS!

I cringe when I watch our leaders bow and curtsy. I cringe when I hear them pledge allegiance to that queen.

If we had self-respect why are we still talking about “brown skin” and “good hair”?

Bajans are confused creatures. Still thinking white is bright and right.

You need to dig deeper beneath the facade.

11. “Under the headline: Barbados to relinquish sovereign ties in a year”, Barbados Today went on to tell its readers in part “….Speaking before the packed Frangipani Room, Dame Sandra said the time had come for Barbados to become self-governing.”

Donna…for those of us who have always felt that weight since we were children in the Caribbean, it’s because the false leaders LIED…now in their panic to cover up more crimes against the people…THE TRUTH SLIPS OUT….they have always been governed by the monarchy…post fake independence……every low crawling minister has lied to the people about the island’s true status…

12. Karma and retribution are marching on the earth, is it not wonderful that Mia wrote the speech that EXPOSED THE FAKE INDEPENDENCE, FAKE SELF GOVERNING LIE……lol, lol wuhloss

13. @ Vincent

Are we going to dismantle our colonial past in stages. In November next years the Royal Barbados Police Force will become, once again, the Barbados Police Force; the Queen Elizabeth, will become once again the General Hospital; Queen’s College will become ???.
    Then we will turn on our key institution. Get rid of the common law tradition; get rid of the bicameral parliament; all the dames and knights will become ???; etc etc
    Will the president be elected or appointed? Will there be a fixed term? If the president is elected, based on a manifesto, and the ruling party, also based on its manifesto, has different ideas to the president, which carries precedence?
    Should the president be Barbados born?

14. Yeah…and will they still keep the names of the RACISTS and slavemasters on the schools that now carry that curse and abomination and have for centuries?

“While it is read out by the governor-general, it is written by the country’s prime minister.”

can’t blame a fella for that one …wuhloss, murddahhh!!!

15. So Mia is selling out the Black workers to greedy, tiefing employers again…that should be the topic…

16. Oh woman, grow up and have a proper debate and stop cutting and pasting crap.

17. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin

I have not a clue. Nor am I going to let such cosmetic changes distract me. They are more important things to be done in this country.I prefer to be part of a solution think tank rather than be among the problem generating clique.

18. Ha, Ha, stop gossiping, ya full of shit, look at reality for once in ya pretend english life….Elizabeth should deport ya ass…hope ya have another country lined up, how bout Guyana..

19. No mention of Nelson?

20. All everyone with a limited knowledge of how the corrupt operates will now want to continue gossiping about same sex unions, the little bit of marijuana still being criminalized and the shitetalk about shedding the monarchy…and Ha, Ha done like to gossip about anything that sweetens him……so a bunch of flies will get caught up in that spider’s web…ya done know when Ha, Ha don’t want to hear anything Caswell has to say about workers being robbed their severance pay, he is stuck in the gossip line.

21. @Greene
    Despite your many words, and angles, the numbers show that Barbados SPENT MORE than it collected in each year from 2006 onwards. In ’13 & 14 that over number was greater than one BILLION dollars. ONE effing BILLION. Do you know how much that is? ONE BILLION MORE than was collected !!!!
    But @greene that is just money. The larger question is WHERE did it go? This is really where the previous administration excelled. They took the art on NOT REPORTING to levels unimagined by even their most ardent opposer. Subsequently nobody knew exactly where or how that repeated annual overspending occured. Only a handful of public entities actually filed annual reports. We get accounting stories about changes in accrual vs cash etc. But NONE of this prevented a report outlining what was done? This was a systematic neutering of the policies and procedures these entities operated under. AND with NO PENALTY other than a drubbing on election day. And I speak not only on the well known culprits like the NIS, TB, QEH, BNOCL, Caves etc etc but also the majority of public schools were waaaay behind on reporting. It was a wide ranging systemic failure. And no accountability. It en nuhbuddy fault, it just stop so and holler ply.

22. In the Queen’s Speech, the government claimed it now has a surplus. Is this a current account surplus?

23. DavidSeptember 16, 2020 9:15 AM

@bimjim

Going Republic is a journey to unshakable the mind from a colonial past. The benefit cannot be measured in accounting terms, it will take time to bear fruit.

While the grass is growing the horse is starving.

Republic talk at this stage means the 30 zeroes have nothing to offer!!

24. So Verla called The throne speech warmed over soup which sent mia in a huff and puff to media lost for words
    Wuh dam now all it takes is left over soup for Mia to going crying to the media
    Woman grow up as a leader you should now how to tek yuh licks and move on

25. Some comments on this article.

1PingYes2PingsNo
    13 minutes ago
    Watch out for Cubans. Remember what happened to Granada. Get on the phone to Clint Eastwood asap.

1PingYes2PingsNo
    16 minutes ago
    Devastating and earth-shattering news.

frankzapata130
    1 hour ago
    I can see cubans making it a communist allied.

grunt1919
    1 hour ago
    Not really changing much that matters, unless they have the ‘republic’ articles written so weakly that a despot can get power and make it basically a dictatorship.

irritatedboomerpatriot66
    2 hours ago
    Another Caribbean sh!ttholle with their hand out every time a hurricane blows through.

theRational117
    2 hours ago
    In 1776, the American founding fathers chose to remove King George III as head of the state, establishing a republic, — the United States of American.

Abraham12
    2 hours ago
    Cross the vacation deal in Barbados off!

nka234
    2 hours ago
    Now free to trade with Haiti and Cuba. Moving on up… to the east side.

BoAlewine
    2 hours ago
    Independence. Why remain part of the British Empire when you can be a third-world country instead?

NoPC-308
    BoAlewine
    2 hours ago
    I could not have said it better myself!! Perfect!

SirAndrewGeorge
    3 hours ago
    Even Barbados doesn’t want anything to do with MEghan Markle.

abbeyc
    3 hours ago
    Barbados will now cease to be a really cool place and will dissolve into poverty and corruption.

irritatedboomerpatriot66
    abbeyc
    2 hours ago
    …like the rest of the Carribbean.

TomS…
    3 hours ago
    Ever notice how the Queen maintains control of the UK -without ever tweeting, holding rallies, or insulting others? Yes, Tramplings, it IS possible…

Show 3 previous replies

irritatedboomerpatriot66
    TomS…
    2 hours ago
    I congratulate you on completing your public school education, Tom. Your knowledge of parliamentary monarchies has left me spellbound.

Alaskafan
    TomS…
    2 hours ago
    What she does is stand in a window and wave.

beenthere361
    3 hours ago
    Just So Long As They DON’T Expect The US To Bail Them Out Of Their New Dictatorship!!!

DXC
    3 hours ago
    The Sun will soon set on King Charles empire.

gba
    3 hours ago
    Another Zimbabwe just around the corner. Who’s the big strongman coming to take over, in the upcoming one man, one vote, once. A very popular method of “democracy” among some populations.

irritatedboomerpatriot66
    gba
    2 hours ago
    No joke. Cue the Cuban aid and “advisors”…

SurvivalistInStilettos
    gba
    2 hours ago
    China will step in to fill the void of security they had with the UK.

observer104
    3 hours ago
    The ignorance about Barbados displayed here is yet another condemnation of the US education system.

PrincessFiona
    3 hours ago
    The loser in the relationship between brothers is Harry.

HoldMyBeer2
    3 hours ago
    Welp no more UK when the hurricanes rolls through. I am sure the UK is happy with it!

observer104
    HoldMyBeer2
    3 hours ago
    Hurricanes rarely touch Barbados. Do your homework.

kohl1957
    3 hours ago
    What do I think? Not a lot. I visited Barbados once. And remember it mainly as forbidding the wearing of “camouflage” clothing. I don’t possess such attire but cannot imagine a country that actually conceives of such a thing. Enjoy being a “republic”.

JackCanadian64
    3 hours ago
    Bet the people of Barbados keep English law, language and other institutions. They can call themselves whatever they like LOL.

They will find soon enough that by ditching the Queen they simply invite corruption and dictatorship. Ultimately a Crown/Governor General (in rare circumstances) has the ability to topple a minority government and force an election, or take recourse in other extraordinary constitutional situations.

observer104
    JackCanadian64
    3 hours ago
    Why would people who have spoken only English for generations stop speaking English? Did Americans stop speaking English in 1776? Is there a better legal system than English law? The Napoleonic Code? I am sure they will keep whatever institutions they choose to. That is what free people do.

travers1948
    3 hours ago
    Barbados independent since 1966 now jettisoning the English queen in 2021? What took you so long?

UnitedStatian
    travers1948
    3 hours ago
    The same reason it took Australia so long, the Queen is just a symbol and means nothing to these countries.

CaptainHuntUSA2019
    3 hours ago
    The Duchess has gained many loyal followers since she and the Duke have decided not to live off the British taxpayers like the rest of the Royal Family of Thieves.

Northwoods50
    3 hours ago
    Bye Bye Betsy.

samdaclam
    3 hours ago
    My wife is from Barbados. The island is beautiful and is neither a ‘banana republic’ nor is there a lot of crime. The people there are very family oriented and the kids are fairly well educated. I wish that people would not just assume because that it is a predominantly black nation that it has problems. It is self-defeating and makes our side look bad.

In fact Barbados is a fairly productive nation with a nice tourist and agricultural trade and many famous people have second homes there. I wish that a lot of areas in America had their problems.

HoldMyBeer2
    samdaclam
    3 hours ago
    53 richest in the world not bad for a 250k people.

Job.33:23
    3 hours ago
    Good for Barbados. This world is long overdue to get rid of the invading colonist and give the land back to the indigenous people.

Show 2 previous replies

8ntsure
    3 hours ago
    The Indigenous people died long ago. The present people were brought in as slaves by the Brits. Good luck to them, hope all goes well.

Show 1 more replies

So?
    3 hours ago
    Yeah, they did that in Hong Kong.
    The Chinese secret police beating the people of Hong Kong with batons
    worked out really well.

bobby100
    3 hours ago
    Atlast they woke up now and realized the queen was robbing them all these years….and kicked off the robber !!!! happy for them

mazchaz
    3 hours ago
    Meghan: Harry, we should have moved to Barbados !

theloyalsentinal
    3 hours ago
    As long as you don’t expect America to bail you out of anything! Go with God.

bowman02
    3 hours ago
    … now they have a chance to put banana before their system of government!

stablegenius105
    3 hours ago
    And here in America, we’re going to remove a dictator wannabe on November 3rd and return to being a republic.
    Make Evil Wrong Again
    Vote Biden 2020
    Vote for the Blue Tsunami
    Wash the Party of Trump into the sewers of history where they belong

Show 4 previous replies

cruzin
    stablegenius105
    3 hours ago
    So packup to Barbados! Bye- OUT !

2531/0861589
    stablegenius105
    3 hours ago
    You made a convincing argument for how stupid you are.

Ragnorok59
    3 hours ago
    That “next” logical step should have been taken 55 years ago. Now seems a little fishy….after they’ve gotten everything they want.

FlatBrokeDoinItInStyle
    4 hours ago
    finally breakin’ your chains, eh
    anything to do with Queenie about to check out
    and you’ll be stuck with Chuck?

Solon4
    4 hours ago
    a constitutional republic or a SOCIALIST republic
    lemme guess

MelSharples
    4 hours ago
    Alas, Great Britain, you’ll still never be able to get rid of your dependent parasites in Canada.

FreeAlta
    MelSharples
    3 hours ago
    You’re the laughing stock of the world and you cast wimpy insults at others? Pure ignorant.

Show 1 more replies

Jake-Blanton
    4 hours ago
    Republic? More like banana republic… 🙂

TrumpispresidentuntilJan2025-getusedtoit
    Jake-Blanton
    4 hours ago

A 3rd term of Obama via Biden-Harris will do that for this great republic.

Show 1 more replies

26. You pollute every post on BU

27. It is always worthwhile to see what people other than those on BU think.

There is a whole range of comments, some good, some not so good.

28. Google Barbados Republic and you will see alot of different people are saying alot of different things.

We are supposedly adults and fragile or not we should be aware of what others are saying.

29. @NorthernObserver September 15, 2020 11:44 PM @ss You are usually well versed in social topics. The Cdn GG is no ‘darling’. Recent revelations of staff treatment come as little surprise, recall she an assault charge “expunged”. She would fit as a CSIS honcho much better than GG. Several same-sex unions today raise children. Former Minister Bryson left politics to “spend more time with his daughters”, his partner is male. Woodbine jockey EJ Wilson’s lesbian wife recently gave birth.”

Northern I hear you.

Seems that your GG is fully human. Lolll!!! I like that.

Reproducing the workforce is principally [notice that I did not say solely] the job of heterosexuals. Too few homosexuals in any population to do an effective job.

heterosexuals need to step up.

30. @Lorenzo September 16, 2020 5:15 AM “the only two areas ogf concern for me was this haste to go republic and ssme sex unions without a referendum.”

What haste. We bin talking ’bout going republic since at least 1998. Only in Barbados would 22 years be considered hasty. We is sumting else though. Lolll!!!

What referendum what. Why should a majority heterosexual population be permitted to vote of whether homosexuals should be permitted to marry each other? How do you think homophobic Bajans would vote?

All right den, yah can have yah referendum.

Not one.

But two.

The homosexuals will be permitted to vote on whether heterosexuals should be permitted to marry each other.

Fair is fair.

In this matter I think that MY government is being very, very cowardly. You have a 30-0 majority, use it to permit homosexuals to marry each other if they want. Just like heterosexuals can marry each other.

It was not so long ago that “the church” said “no divorce” and if ya hard ears and go and divorce anyhow, then no remarriage for you, even if yah divorced at 22 years old. The church commanded that you embrace celibacy for the rest of your life.

Right!

We know how well that works. Lolll!!

I bet a whole lotta wunna on BU on your second or third, or fourth spouse, and that is not counting the girlfriends and boyfriends who went before.

Even the ones who call themselves Christians.

31. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 16, 2020 11:37 PM

I bet a whole lotta wunna on BU on your second or third, or fourth spouse, and that is not counting the girlfriends and boyfriends who went before.

Even the ones who call themselves Christians.

Didn’t you say you attend church regularly?

32. Yup. For nearly 70 years now.

But not since late February.

Wha’ happen?

You gine tell de pastor pun me?

33. @Hal Austin September 16, 2020 11:03 AM “How can such illiteracy be allowed to work in a newspaper office?”

You pretending that you don’t know that if you pay peanuts, you get monkeys?

Stupssseee!!!

34. @Tron September 16, 2020 10:18 AM “Article 3: The people shall elect the President on 1 October 2021 for life. Any woman over 40 years of age with a degree from an elite university in USA or UK may be elected President.”

Just want to be sure that I understand you clearly, about having a degree from an elite university.

Does it matter if someone wrote my SAT for me?

Does it matter if someone wrote my GRE or GMAT for me?

Does it matter if mummy or daddy’s money was used to pay a university official to open a “side door” for me?

University front door: for those bright as sh!te and who worked hard at secondary school as well.

Back door: duncy sons and daughters of alumni. Duncy, lazy sons and daughters of Tron.

Side door: Those with wealthy mummies and daddies who have half a million dollars or so with which to bribe a university admissions official.

Thanks for the clarification.

35. @Donna “the law against sodomy, something I personally do not like but think people should be able decide on for themselves. The law will need to be changed or it will be incompatible with what we KNOW is the sexual expression that will occur in most male same sex civil unions.”

I am confused.

You don’t like sodomy?

Or you don’t like the law against sodomy?

And Donna, since you are female, and I am certain that you are not a peeping Jane, how exactly is it that your KNOW what goes on in male-male bedrooms?

i should tell you that at near 70, I have NEVER EVER witnessed a sex act, except for my own.

So I am truly curious as to how you KNOW?

36. @Donna

I have no wish to traumatise you nor Caswell, as the story goes British Parliamentarians did not wish to traumatise Queen Victoria by informing her what really goes on in female-female bedrooms.

But I have heard that that same alleged act also goes on between male-female.

What then?

Bedroom police?

37. JohnSeptember 16, 2020 10:11 PM

You are quite right, it is interesting to see some of the comments on the international social media. What is clear, is that many people in various countries are igrunt as whuh, have no clue or are just stupid as a brick.

There are also some with a brain, I guess it is just like any social media. A collection of comments from a wide cross section of people. Unfortunately, the majority of comments that appeared were from a majority of dimwits, as their comments were either socially or legally ignorant.

38. Cuhdear BajanSeptember 17, 2020 12:50 AM Bedroom police?

++++++

Absurdity, isn’t it? People so worried about what others do with their bodies. Look, I could not care if they have orgies and hold one another and whatever. Whose business is it but their own?

Is because the plantation owner Bible tell them that is bad. And whip them if they think otherwise. The priest (who seems to spend a lot of time with the altar boys), tell them is bad. Nowadays, is a pastor driving a Cadillac and with three planes, who they worship. Even when he gets caught with other than the wife. Or like Falwell, enjoy watching. That is his business, but not the hypocrisy part.

Stupse, people need to focus on what is important.

39. “Not our business” dahling….you elect the shite leaders…Bajans have to understand that IT’S THEIR BUSINESS whatever ugly, racist, oppressive, exploitative plans Mia and her dirty little minorities whom she promotes, elevates and treat like 1st class citizens before the BLACK MAJORITY….whom she dehumanizes, have in store for them…just remember ALL THE LIES these no good PMs. ministers, lawyers etc have told you over the last 50 years…YOU HAVE BEEN DECEIVED…..and now one of the biggest liars believe she can own you herself, she and her crook friends, as captured slaves….more of the same.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/09/16/not-our-business-says-british-high-commission

“Barbados’ decision to release itself from British monarchical rule appears to be of little concern to the British High Commission in Bridgetown”

40. Read between the lines..

“There are republics that are a part of the Commonwealth, so it will not affect our international ties to any entities, including to Britain,” she told Barbados TODAY.

“As far as I can see, moving toward republican status has not negatively affected any countries within the region in terms of their connections with other states around the world. I guess it is the content and character of the state that really affects that,” Hinds added.”

41. This is what’s in store for you and your children and grandchildren…AND EVEN WORSE if you don’t get up off your asses and do something about these repulsive beasts and red negro wannabe slavemasters.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/09/17/sandals-workers-cry-out-want-pm-to-intervene/

“Employees at Sandals Resort are calling on Prime Minister Mia Mottley to initiate an immediate investigation into labour practices at the Christ Church property, which they say have deteriorated significantly and are not in keeping with the best social partnership traditions in the island.”

42. Wuhloss…hold that beer and the celebratory glass of champagne..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/09/16/govt-warned-of-political-consequences-if-promises-unkept/

“There will be tremendous political fallout if the current administration fails to deliver on commitments regarding same-sex unions, marijuana legalization and the move toward republicanism, which successive Governments have promised but failed to deliver.”

43. “which sent mia in a huff and puff to media lost for words”

well she did send her little sideshow all across the globe to every media outlet, knowing full well that the false promise of going republic was regurgitated for over 2 DECADES…just like the false promise to remove the racist, disrespectful and insulting nelson statute is over 2 decades old and counting , so the more creative amongst us, had to also send INFORMATION ACROSS THE GLOBE about all the human rights violations perpetrated by the black faces of parliament and their wicked tiefing minority cartel lowlifes against the Black majority….how bout that, maybe next time she won’t be so desperate to publicly insult the intelligence of the Black majority.

44. Franklyn: Throne Speech wasted

by COLVILLE MOUNSEY TUESDAY’S UNPRECEDENTED midterm Throne Speech has been slammed by Opposition Senator Caswell Franklyn as a “wasted opportunity, littered with misplaced priorities”.

[caption id="" align="alignnone" width="502"] SENATOR CASWELL FRANKLYN (right) with his wife Priscillia (centre) and stepdaughter Neah Calllender arriving at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre on Tuesday for the State Opening of Parliament. (Picture by Reco Moore.)[/caption]

The outspoken trade unionist told the

DAILY NATION yesterday that Barbados was facing too many urgent issues, brought on mainly by the COVID-19 pandemic, for attention to be diverted to matters such as marijuana decriminalisation, becoming a republic and same-sex unions.

“This Government had an opportunity to level with the people of Barbados and to work through our problems. Instead, they went and tried to deal with matters that appear near and dear to them, such as same-sex relationships and marijuana smoking. I find that really offensive because there are simply too many things for this country to deal with.

“We have over 40 000 people who are unemployed, and they are concerned with things to make themselves look good. Pray tell me when we become a republic, how many people will get jobs as a result? Only a few legal draughtspeople and that’s it. The Prime Minister [Mia Amor Mottley] has not said what type of president that we are looking to have, and these are things that should not be foisted upon the people,” he added.

Franklyn argued that plans to recognise same-sex civil unions should have been put in the party’s manifesto at the last election, so the electorate could have decided if this was the type of value system it wanted.

He also accused Mottley of not thinking through some of the proposals, noting he could foresee logistical challenges in implementing some of them. He criticised the plan to implement a ticketing system for possession of half-ounce or less of marijuana.

Franklyn questioned how this was going to be accomplished in the absence of field-testing equipment to determine if the vegetable matter the person was smoking, was indeed marijuana.

Obsessed with marijuana

“They seem to be obsessed with marijuana and all of a sudden now you are going to let people have half-ounce of marijuana and the police would not be able to arrest you, but instead be able to give you a ticket. This is not a traffic offence which is obvious to the naked eye, such as in the case where you parked where you shouldn’t park. You don’t need any other forensic analysis to determine that a man park where he shouldn’t.

“But pray tell me, what are you going to do when you see a fellow smoking something? How are you going to determine that it is indeed marijuana? The police do not have the facility to analyse there and then on the spot.”

Franklyn also criticised Government’s $300 million Barbados Employment and Sustainable Transformation (BEST) plan, much of which would be directed towards the resurgence of the tourism sector. The plan is expected to see the retention of 75 per cent of workers in the hospitality sector, earning 80 per cent of their wages.

However, he charged that some hotel owners had been taking advantage of their employees during this crisis, and now it appeared Government was putting more resources at their disposal with little guarantee the workers would be truly protected.

“I don’t know how it would work and I don’t even know if it would make sense. Right now, as we speak, hotels are taking advantage of workers. Some owners have called workers and told them that now that their 22-week layoff is over, they have put them on vacation. They can’t do that. They are doing everything possible to take advantage of workers and yet Government is paying them . . . .

“What Government needs to do is extend unemployment benefits and conduct whatever training that needs to be done through the Labour Department. You don’t have to give the hotels money to do it,” he stressed.

He said many of the other points in the Throne Speech were rehashes of the Government’s plan of action when it took office in 2018.

Source: Nation News

45. WURA-War-on-USeptember 17, 2020 3:11 AM

We should ASSume that any government assistance to hotels comes with requirements to ensure that statutory and moral (as to expected and common employment practices) are adhered to.

That said, social media is a very powerful tool, I am sure that Sandals will wish to be seen in the best possible light, worldwide, if you catch my drift.

46. Theo…at least one person got it right, the intent is to get rid of Elizabeth, so that Mia and her gang of crooks can keep the same colonial slave system, the same racism, exploitation and oppression, all the structures of destruction and use them against Black people who look just like her, this is a plan all of these dirty rats sat around a table and concocted, but ah wish them luck, they will be famous in every corner of the earth, let them carry on smartly, don’t be surprised to see a gang of them dragged up to some international court for human rights abuses against the Black majority….many people have been waiting for years to implement…let’s go republic already…

“JackCanadian64
    3 hours ago
    Bet the people of Barbados keep English law, language and other institutions. They can call themselves whatever they like LOL.”