Submitted by Heather Cole

Heather Cole is asking for the public’s support to ensure the success of a food security project at the Todds Plantation.

Dear Prospective Investors and Members,

Although the conception of the People’s Agricultural and Business Co-op was done prior to COVID-19, we did not anticipate that our fears would have been realized months later when this global pandemic began to wreak havoc on the economy. COVID-19 has exposed the harsh reality that insufficient food is being grown on the island that Barbadians call home.

It has been said that Barbadians do not work together for economic gain. With this in mind, The People’s Agricultural and Business Co-operative Ltd. is seeking to become an agent of change in Barbados. It is providing an opportunity for ordinary Barbadians to economically come together through the formation of this co-op to grow food, produce by- products, engage in marine farming, grow agri- produce and engage in several other business activities…

Relevant Supporting Document:

267 responses to “Food Security Project at Todds Plantation”

1. WURA,

Unfair advantage!

2. Rihanna rode her popularity to make her business international and world class, she would have been a fool not to and she is no fool.

some people cannot see what is right in front of them.

3. “WURA,

Unfair advantage!”

exactly..they always have the traitors in the parliament to protect them using your taxes and resources.

4. It was just a matter of time before your low intellect, backward government would be publicly accused of being determined to use marijuana criminalization as a weapon against the African descended population and as a racist tool to create more divisions, hatred, poverty and generational modern day slavery, but yall will pay, as i type this just remember, you will pay for that racist, discriminating, exploitative, oppressive crime…..no good traitors.

“So far, reports show that the social impact of legalization has been largely the same from state to state. Researchers have discovered that cannabis legalization results in a variety of social benefits related to crime, social justice, safety, law enforcement, public health, education, and youth.”

5. William Skinner Avatar

“ But I do know many Bajans who are encouraging. Maybe I have been lucky to meet different people from you guys.”

I have been in business long before I left school. Like you, I know literally hundreds of Bajans who are encouraging. I have been on the receiving end of such encouragement.
    I don’t think anybody is speaking in absolute terms here. Perhaps going forward it’s better to insert “some” in order not to be misunderstood.

6. On further consideration and much deeper reflection I am now leaning towards the medical marijuana bid on offer for tender
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Y24sJVRTfI

7. BAJE
    With all those greenback you making per yoar i hope by now you at least send in you pledge sheet for a few thousand.
    Hope you a ladder and not a crab

Xxxxxx

I SUPPORT THIS INITIATIVE 200 PERCENT.

UNLIKE SOME PEOPLE I DON’T NEED TIME TO DEBATE OR THINK.

I PLAN TO PLEDGE A FEW THOUSAND AS A DONATION AND SINCERELY HOPE IT IS A SUCCESS SHORT AND LONG-TERM.

I PERSONALLY NEED NO ROI.

MY ONLY REWARD IS TO SEE IT START FROM A SEED TO GROWTH SUCCESSFULLY.

8. I will think as I always do upon the viability of the endeavour. I don’t see where Heather said the deadline is tomorrow.

9. Here it is that I am expected to disregard plans I have spent years making and begun to put into action to jump on somebody else’s plan without thinking about its viability.

Steupse!

10. WHY SHOULD YOU?
    YOU SEEM TO HAVE STARTED OUT WELL WITH YOUR OWN PROJECT.
    WITH TIME AND STEADFASTNESS, YOU SHOULD BE ABLE TO BOAST LIKE SS, AND ACHIEVE WHAT I SAW MY MOM AND EX WIFE ACHIEVE, ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE YOUR SON INTERESTED AND INVOLVED
    MAYBE YOU NEED TO GET SOME FRUIT TREES FROM HAGGATTS

11. Fruit trees will definitely be sourced. My dad and I already spoke of making the trip together.

My son helps only when I ask. We used to speak of doing it together but he is doing his own thing in another area. If that doesn’t take off as planned who knows?

12. @Gopher/Rabbit
    Please look at the question carefully…

Does Barbados receive enough rainfall/year that if it was collected and distributed properly then all Barbadians could have water throughout the year?

Let me restate… Are we water scarce because of an inadequate supply of water or is it because of improper water management.

The easy answer is both, I could have done that for myself. I want the ‘wabbit’ to think.

13. RE My son helps only when I ask.
    DONT FORCE HIM. JUST KEEP ASKING HIM. ESPECIALLY TO DO THE THINGS HE LIKES DOING.
    OR CHALLENGE HIM TO DO CREATIVE THINGS LIKE MANAGING YOUR COMPOST HEAP OR SETTING UP A PROCESS FOR CAPTURING RAIN WATER AND SETTING UP IRRIGATION OR A HYDROPONIC SECTION

14. “Here it is that I am expected to disregard plans I have spent years making and begun to put into action to jump on somebody else’s plan without thinking about its viability.”

don’t mind the bandwagon jumpers, do your research.

15. Grasshopper

Do you understand the concept of a drought year?

Think carefully about the question!!

16. The concept of drought has been around for a while!!

https://www.openbible.info/topics/drought

17. WURA,

That has never happened before even in my childhood.

I had a dream for many years. I made plans. I have started small as I think is best. It may take some time but for me there is no rush. This does not mean I will not join Heather’s Co-op in some capacity. Thing is I will be unable to be seriously involved to keep an eye on my investment. I do not have the energy of my youth, neither the physical nor the mental energy.

I probably will take a chance but in small steps, increasing marginally as I become more familiar with the people involved in the management and the details of the project, provided that that my experience is positive.

This is a huge undertaking that Heather is proposing. It it commendable that she can think that big. She will need knowledgable and dedicated people alongside her to make it work.

But…. nothing ventured, nothing gained.

18. The concept is pretty well understood in more developed societies!!

19. dONNA

No-one asked or expect you to put off you project or not to seek you info.
    I …. alone asked you to “pledge” the minimum as support of the cause and support of a sister..

i think you can pledge the required minimum and still continue your project and research at the same time. no one ask you to mortgage you house or half you bank account to support the cause,

HC did not say tomorrow, neither did she say you have to invest your livelihood.

Baje is free to express his preference just like you expressed your to be cautious. No need to take it personal..

I very seldom agrre with anything baje says and was only pulling his legs. but if he put his money where is mouth is then more power to him . This is the one thing that i agree with him 1000%.

There is something more than personal (financial) gains for some of us in this project.
    Baje said it well.

20. “This is a huge undertaking that Heather is proposing. It it commendable that she can think that big. She will need knowledgable and dedicated people alongside her to make it work.”

these types of projects require baby steps, they come with lots of pitfalls and you learn something from every one of those falls, so knowledgeable members are imperative to success., those who have tripped and fallen numerous times before carry invaluable experience.

21. John 2

My comment was not directed at you.

In my book also there is not only personal financial gain at stake. If this attempt turns into a mess it will take years before we live it down and even more years before another attempt such as this is made. Many of you have already spoken of the misinformed Bajan idea that a first attempt and failure is to be ridiculed yet you do not see the implications not just of failure but of an abysmal failure on the collective psyche of Barbadians. I want us not just to be bold but also properly prepared to make a go of it. Even if we fail it must not be a total mess.

And if anyone wants to take issue with my opinion – TOO BAD!

22. There are some people like Rastas who want to be farmers as part of their ambition and life philosophy.
    Maybe both projects for food for the body and food for the brain should be incorporated together.

Free your mind and your ass will follow
    The kingdom of heaven is within
    Open up your funky mind and you can fly
    Freedom is free of the need to be free
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yw4lqwh5c1g

23. DONNA.

For sure in will not be an instant success. but we are trying to get it started so that it can lead to success.

it cannot succeed or fail unless it is first started.

My investment is to give it a greater chance of succeeding

You know the old saying …. nothing beats a failure……..

The fact that it will be a co-op reduces the possibilities of it being a failure.

Note how many co-ops are in Barbados. not how many co-ops have failed in the last 50 yrs.

What will happen to the bajan psyche if a total success?

What will happen to the bajan psyche if ” ours” is a falure because we failed to support it but years from now another “group” is reaping the success?

24. Addendum
    Maybe both projects for food for the body and food for the brain should be incorporated together
    .. likewise the Bajan Co-op and Canadian Business plans can be incorporated together in partnership.
    Canadians can provide funding and Bajans Staff and Labour, time and effort with both parties equal shareholders.
    A solid foundation is the only way to start any build project.
    When push comes to shove, we plant on our fields on Solid Ground. No one can move we. We are doing God’s work.

25. @Gopher
    I knew you would bolt down the nearest rabbit hole. Let me rephrase my question as it is obvious that if there is a drought then the amount of water will be adequate.

If one took the Average annual rainfall for the island and perform the correct calculations would it show that the average Bajan would have a full year (adequate) supply of water?

Will be interesting if you can find a next ‘wabbit’ hole.

26. Let me rephrase my question as it is obvious that if there is a drought then the amount of water will be INadequate.

27. John 2,

Again I say we must be prepared to make a reasonable go of it. We can fail and still be fine. We cannot afford to fail spectacularly or that will be seized upon to pummel us. Our people are already fragile mentally.

Therefore my pause is not to get in the way of a valiant attempt but to consider the chances of abject failure and avoid it by thoughtful consideration, planning and clarity on what will be needed.

If you cannot understand that, too bad! I have not attempted to influence anyone else in their decision. I just reserve the right to make my own decision in my own time.

Here it is that we have Heather thanking people for the discussion and others who think no discussion is necessary.

Steupse!

And now I am done! Heather alone will know my decision.

28. Grasshopper

What is the average annual rainfall for Barbados?

29. No-one asked or expect you to put off you project or not to seek you info.
    I …. alone asked you to “pledge” the minimum as support of the cause and support of a sister..
    i think you can pledge the required minimum and still continue your project and research at the same time. no one ask you to mortgage you house or half you bank account to support the cause,
    HC did not say tomorrow, neither did she say you have to invest your livelihood.
    Baje is free to express his preference just like you expressed your to be cautious. No need to take it personal..
    I very seldom agrre with anything baje says and was only pulling his legs. but if he put his money where is mouth is then more power to him . This is the one thing that i agree with him 1000%

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

YOU AND I NEVER AGREE BECAUSE UNLIKE YOU, I CHOOSE TO EXPOSE YOUR BLP SHENIGANS AND DISHONESTY.

I FIND IT TRULY AMAZING SOMEONE WHO BOASTS OF BEING AMONG THE TOP 10 RICHEST PERCENTAGE OF PEOPLE IN THE WORLD HAVE TO THINK AND DECIDE WITH ALL KIND OF EXCUSES FOR $125 TO JOIN WHAT SEEMS TO BE WORTHY CAUSE TO ENFRANCHISE BLACKS ON THE ISLAND.

IN MY WORLD WE CALL THEM BULLSHITTERS.

PART OF THE LOCAL BAJAN CONDITION AS HAL WOULD SAY.

STEUPSE.

30. Estimates from Senn, 1946.

80% of rainfall ends up as evapotranspiration.

Plants take it up and transpire it to the atmosphere.

80% is thus not available to the BWA!!

10% runs off the land and is not available to the BWA.

10% percolates through the coral and gets into the underground aquifers.

This is available to BWA.

Rainfall can vary from 40 inches per year (drought year) to 60 inches per year.

Senn estimates about 44 million gallons per day is available in a drought year.

Population of 300K

In theory, each person should have about 140 gallons per day worst case.

Agriculture takes some which reduces what’s available to BWA.

Then there are anomalies depending on where you live.

The higher the elevation the harder to get water to you.

The lower the elevation the more you will consume because the pressure is higher at low elevations in the gravity fed system which we have.

60% of the available water is in the sheet water area under the St. George valley. low elevation.

31. Whatever! I’d rather be the bullshitter than the shit and that is what you are.

32. Just trying to help Grasshopper!!

33. Gopher,
    I knew you had it in my you.

Our population has not grown that much. When I was growing up, I did not hear of these continuous water shortages.

Claims of being ‘water scarce’ might be the plaster to help cover other underlying issues. There must things we can do to distribute water more efficiently.

Happy burrowing, today.

34. Smokin’ That S*@%!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YNxYQgGTwJ4

35. William Skinner Avatar

@ TheOGazerts

Badly kept secret: while we were keeping the tourist luxury liners supplied with water and bragging about how they will return in vast numbers to thank us , our citizens in the rural areas were enduring nothing but dry taps.

36. @ William

I have asked previously, but not answered: do the golf courses water their links? Also, what about swimming pools? Have top hotels ever experienced water shortages? What about Ilaro Court and Government House?

37. I have seen in my vision the rasta man Jah
    I have seen in my vision the higher man
    I have seen in my vision his majesty
    (king of kings lord of lords)
    In the green green pasture
    I will meet my master
    It was a wonderful time
    such a wonderful time
    he is humble like a lamb
    yet he is a lion
    he was planting seeds in the ground
    I have seen in my vision the king of kings
    I have seen in my vision the lord of lords
    king of kings and lord of lords
    conquering lion from the tribe of judah
    (this foundation is in the holy mountains of Zion the lord loves the gates of Zion more than all the dwellings of Jacob
    glorious things have been spoken of the almighty city of Jah princes and princesses shall rise up out of Ethiopia
    Ithiopians shall stretch forth their hands unto the most high Jah Ras Ta Fari Selassie I)

38. There is a universal definition for what classifies a ‘water scarce country’.

39. TheOGazertsAugust 26, 2020 6:26 AM

Gopher,
    I knew you had it in my you.

Our population has not grown that much. When I was growing up, I did not hear of these continuous water shortages.

Claims of being ‘water scarce’ might be the plaster to help cover other underlying issues. There must things we can do to distribute water more efficiently.

Happy burrowing, today.

Oh Lord have mercy.

When you were growing up (me too) most people got their water from a standpipe.

Pit toilets were common.

Many bathed in the government supplied baths in the various villages.

I know of one in Vauxhall and one in South District both of which were sold by the GOB I presume as they now have houses on the sites.

They were built in the early 60’s.

Point is, demand for water was tiny!!

It is all in front of you and you cannot see!!

Construction is a dead end activity!!!

40. As more and more people became customers of BWA/WWD the demand for water increased.

It outstripped supply in the mid 90’s as forecast by the Water Resources Study of 1978.

GOB did not help any by allocating the 2 million gallon per day Porters Catchment to Golf!!!

We have monkeys running wild through Barbados, some are in the House of Assembly too …. and some are on BU!!

41. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John at 8:47 and 8:51

I congratulate you on reminding commenters that the growth of demand for water resources has grown exponentially over the past 60 years at the industrial and domestic levels with the same rainfall pattern and quantum.
    The GoB seem to ignore this factor as well when approving developments in the physical environment.
    These are upward boundaries that we ignore at our peril.

42. Looks like I gave you a long hop. Now, I am wondering about the statistics you served to me.

Perhaps the ‘tourism’ industry is taking a very large amount of available water.

Gopher… Would you have stats for total local (household, schools …) Vs other (tourism,,….) consumption. It would also be good if we had stats for local water consumption over the years. Even in the face of the items you mentioned, I doubt local consumption would increase by a large margin.

I see Vinny is touching on the different types of consumption, but his statement is too general.

43. I’ll take the runs anyway they come!!

In the late 80’s I worked on a water consumption problem at a major hotel.

I found back then that long stay visitors consume twice what locals consume.

Since then, things may have changed.

Increase in water rates for one thing would make Hotels careful about their water consumption.

Lets say 500K long stay visitors per year, average length of stay one week.

On a given week day 10K visitors will consume twice what 10k locals would.

Since there are 300K locals, the increased consumption of hotels will be minor.

What went with the switch to golf was the conscious attempt to attract high end visitors.

High end villas were built with lush IRRIGATED grounds.

You see the problem!!

IRRIGATION!!!!

44. 1956 – about 7 mgd
    1961 – just over 10 mgd
    1971 – 20 mgd
    1986 – 30 mgd

BWA reached its maximum output in 1995/6 …. See Economic and Social Report!!

QUESTION – If all the water was extracted in 1996 we are now a quarter century on and many have not problems?

THREE ANSWERS

The BWA gain controlled loss through its leak detection programs

AND Water rates have risen

AND everybody is now on a meter!!

Construction is a dead end activity!!

Unless true desalination can occur.

45. @gopher
    Great job.. 95/100
    For the extra 5%, please provide a link relevant to our discussion

46. Barbados Water Resources Study 1978 – Public Library, Reference Section

Senn Report there too!!