Submitted by Heather Cole

Heather Cole is asking for the public’s support to ensure the success of a food security project at the Todds Plantation.

Dear Prospective Investors and Members,

Although the conception of the People’s Agricultural and Business Co-op was done prior to COVID-19, we did not anticipate that our fears would have been realized months later when this global pandemic began to wreak havoc on the economy. COVID-19 has exposed the harsh reality that insufficient food is being grown on the island that Barbadians call home.

It has been said that Barbadians do not work together for economic gain. With this in mind, The People’s Agricultural and Business Co-operative Ltd. is seeking to become an agent of change in Barbados. It is providing an opportunity for ordinary Barbadians to economically come together through the formation of this co-op to grow food, produce by- products, engage in marine farming, grow agri- produce and engage in several other business activities…

Relevant Supporting Document:

267 responses to “Food Security Project at Todds Plantation”

1. There must be the will but there must also be a savvy business plan which takes into consideration all the factors. The cost to produce sugar cane is a variable expense that must be fairly considered given the crop’s heavy subsidy. This is all that is being suggested. It is why we are having a discussion about it.

2. Barbados Government Information Service
    tSpons4horiuued ·
    The Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security is keen on putting the necessary measures in place to give farmers and those involved in fisheries an opportunity to have their fish and poultry products exported.
    Minister of Agriculture and Food Security, Indar Weir, shared this yesterday, after a two-hour tour of Veterinary Services and the Animal Nutrition Unit.
    Those present on tour included the Minister in the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security, Peter Phillips; Acting Permanent Secretary (PS), Terry Bascombe; acting Deputy PS, Robert Folkes; and acting Chief Agricultural Officer, Leslie Brereton.
    Click the link below to read more.
    https://gisbarbados.gov.bb/blog/ministry-keen-to-push-fish-and-poultry-products-for-export/

3. A Minister of Agriculture that would have difficulty finding a goat in a sheep pen.

Import substitution is a more realistic goal. No?
    What can Barbados produce from sugar or anything else to export, that cannot be done elsewhere more economically?
    What prevents the resuscitation of the manufacturing industry?
    Why are we importing copious amounts of canned peas, beans, corn, beets, coconut milk and salted fish?
    Why is PHD importing milk?
    Why must we be always trying to reinvent the wheel?

4. @Raw Bake

Our cost of production is high to compete with other jurisdictions, Barbados government would have to subsidize which comes into conflict with WTO rules. Do we have the will to take on WTO to protect local industry?

The distribution and to a large extent retail sectors are controlled by players based in PoS.

5. David
    WTO rules?
    So what are we paying two Ministers for, if not to hire some WTO consultants to help we navigate around the subsidies rules? Yuh mean we could default on debt be we can’t get around couple WTO rules. The Minister should focus on reducing the cost of producing for the local market.This same Minister imposed a ban on the importation of wings in an attempt to increase the local consumption of poultry. Wuh de WTO had to seh bout dat?
    Getting an Argo-Processing industry up and running should be at the top of his to do list. Yuh mean me can’t can anything other than chicken fat?

He talking about exporting poultry and fish. Export where and to whom?
    Do we now have a fishing and fish industry that is producing enough fish for local consumption and export?
    Right now the same PoS companies that you mention importing salted fish from China, and up to last week it was out of stock. Somebody should tell those fish farmers that while they are waiting on the Minister, there is a local market for salt-fish.

When I go to Popular, WTO cannot tell me to put back Eve and buy Valrico or Goya.
    I know about Eve, Barbados’ “First Family Of Fine Foods”, Product Of Canada but I ain’t saying anything.

6. DavidAugust 22, 2020 11:39 PM

@Raw Bake

Our cost of production is high to compete with other jurisdictions, Barbados government would have to subsidize which comes into conflict with WTO rules. Do we have the will to take on WTO to protect local industry?

Talk with the Donald!!

7. @ Raw Bake August 22, 2020 11:32 PM
    “Why are we importing copious amounts of canned peas, beans, corn, beets, coconut milk and salted fish?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

RB, you have omitted from that ‘inexhaustive’ list the importation of stale water in plastic bottles, coconut water in tetra paks cartons and tamarinds in pretty boxes.

With the country’s few forex earners under severe stress you will soon find out if the fast dwindling and swindling (and borrowed) foreign money will be frittered away to pay for these consumer frivolities instead of the medicine used to fight, futilely, the NCD’s plaguing the nation and wreaking more havoc to human health than Covid.

“He who feeds you, controls you” ― Thomas Sankara

8. Drive around Barbados and you will see the proven techniques in action by the few who know how to do it.

They have the infrastructure to bring back into production large areas of land.

They should be offered leases on any amount of lands they can handle.

It is no point giving the responsibility to party animals.

9. @David
    Our cost of production is high to compete with other jurisdictions, Barbados government would have to subsidize which comes into conflict with WTO rules
    +++++++++++++++
    Does WTO rules only apply to Lilliputian countries? How much does the US subsidize its farmers to account for the loss of trade with China?

10. @Sargeant

A rhetorical question no doubt.

11. For example, look at Constant Plantation,

Drive through Dash Valley and you will see the system at work.

Funnily enough it gets its name from one of the earliest Quakers, Constant Sylvester who with Thomas Middleton and Thomas Rous bought Shelter Island off New York to supply their plantations in Barbados.

http://www.fiskecenter.umb.edu/Projects/SylvesterManor.html

C.1650

Middleton (The Mount Plantation, or Middleton’s Mount was the original name) emigrated to America but Rous stayed in Barbados.

His son, John Rous, married the daughter of Margaret Fell, also Margaret Fell, a widow who married George Fox and is known as the Mother of Quakerism.

John Rous was a Quaker itinerant.

Puritans in Boston cut off an ear!!

He died at sea c. 1691.

The Rous family burial is at Halton.Plantation.

Last ones in the vault were Samuel Rous and his wife, 1784 and 1796.

Samuel Rous was the president of the council at the time.

The Rous family also owned Clifton Hall and The Cliff Plantation.

12. I am going to go out on a limb and be the jackass or simpleton that some claim me to be…

Stop it. Stop the aimless wandering down theoretical rabbit holes.

Our scale of production is just too small. What level of production would Barbados be at for the WTO to knock our knuckles.?

I think a next Carribean country would have to launch a complaint for us to even catch the eye of the WTO.

I am doubtful if we will reach a level where we would even threaten the other economy of a next small nation.

13. WTO my ass! Turn up at the meetings with facts on how the big ass countries subsidize their agriculture. Steupse black man is too used to bowing and scraping. That, in my experience, brings you no respect and further bullying.

I stand up to everybody bigger and “bigger” than myself. It brings more friction at first but always a grudging admiration. You are more likely to form decent relationships with the bully you stand up to than the one you bow to, I have found. NEVER FAILED ME YET!

With respect to agriculture, John, GP and Critical Analyser are all correct. These points have been made before by those who know but people are wedded to their negative thinking.

It all seems simple enough to me but I honestly think nobody wants to do the hard work, that’s all.

14. TheO,

If Owen Arthur had been the great statesman they say he is the Caribbean would have been working together on agriculture and agro-processing to benefit us all instead of foolishly competing in the same areas.

15. When my son first went to secondary school he was one of the tiniest in the class. One day a fifth former threatened to beat him up. My son threw down his backpack and took up the fighting stance. The boy’s friends pretended to call him off. For weeks after the boy would try to stare my son down. My son refused to flinch. A few weeks later that boy approached my son, apologized and made friends. Even after leaving school he would come back to see if he was alright.

People are people. Respect is earned in the same way from world leaders as from school boys.

16. WHEN I MOVED TO LIVE IN THE COUNTRYSIDE, THE OLD LADY WHO LIVED BESIDE ME HAD HER HALF ACRE OF LAND IN CANE. THE OLD LADY WHO LIVED BEFORE US ON THE OTHER SIDE OF THE ROAD, DID THE SAME…EXCEPT THAT SHE INTER CROPPED, AND ALSO HAD A SMALL PART OF HER HOLDING AS A “KITCHEN GARDEN:” ON SATURDAYS SHE WENT TO TOWN TO SELL HER PRODUCE.

MANY OTHERS IN THE VILLAGE DID MUCH THE SAME
    WHEN MY EX WIFE CAME TO BARBADOS, SHE DID NOT KNOW A CARROT PLANT OR ANY OTHER PLANT FROM A WEED, BUT SHE QUICKLY LEARNED FROM MY MOTHER (WHO AROSE FROM THE DOMINICAN PLANTOCRACY) AND SHE SOON EMERGED AS A SERIOUS FARMER. AND HAS CONTINUED ASSIDUOUSLY FOR 40 YEARS.

HEATHER COLE’S NOTION THAT THERE BE A COOPERATIVE OF SUCH SMALL FARMERS IS NEITHER FOREIGN OR FRIVOLOUS. IT CAN BE ACHIEVED BY HARD WORK, ONCE OUR PEOPLE WILL BUY THE PRODUCE PREFERENTIALLY TO IMPORTED.

THEY CAN ALL START WITH A SMALL LOT PRODUCING THEIR OWN FOOD FOR THE FAMILY AND SELLING 0R SHARING THE PRODUCE.

OVER TIME THE COOP WILL GROW SO THAT SOME EXPORT OF RAW OR PROCESSED PRODUCE CAN OCCUR.

WHAT IS CERTAIN IS IF WE NIT PICK AND ENGAGE IN LENGTHY NEGATIVE “:DISCUSSIONS” ABSOLUTELY NOTHING WILL BE ACHIEVED.

17. THE FIRST JUNE WE LIVED IN THE COUNTRYSIDE, WE BOUGHT 50 FRUIT TREES OF VARIOUS SORTS FROM HAGGATS AND PLANTED THEM ON OUR HALF ACRE.
    FRESH FRUIT AND HOMEMADE FRUIT JUICES HAVE BEEN AVAILABLE AS A RESULT.
    WE INTER CROPPED BETWEEN THESE TREES AS THEY GREW UP

18. From my reading i do not think it suppose to be a co-op of small farmers..

19. Some of us are not being negative or nitpicking. Some of us are simply being ourselves and taking our time as we are accustomed to doing. I am taking all the info. in from those who obviously know of which they speak. Then the idea grows in my head until I can visualise it. To be successful this has to be well thought out.

It is obvious that Heather is tired of talk. She shall have my answer in just a few days.

P.S. There is a St. George Farmers Co-operative that I am told functions well. I think we need to go beyond what they do. I always wonder why agro-processing is beyond us. Value added is where the money is.

20. RE From my reading i do not think it suppose to be a co-op of small farmers.
    IF YOU ARE FARMING A HALF ACRE LOT YOU ARE A SMALL FARMER
    I HAVE SEEN THE REACH AND PROFITABILITY THAT SMALL FARMERS CAN ATTAIN BY BOTH MY MOTHER AND MY EX WIFE

A CO-OP OF SMALL FARMERS WHO ARE NOT ALL DOING THE SAME OR PLANTING THE SAME CROPS SIMULTANEOUSLY CAN DO WONDERS

AS YOU CAN SEE I DONT CARE TWO HOOTS ABOUT WHAT IT IS SUPPOSED TO BE , I AM EXPLAINING WHAT IT OUGHT TO BE AND CAN BE——–AS IS DONE IN OTHER PARTS OF THE WORLD

I SPEAK WITH AUTHORITY FROM WHAT I HAVE WITNESSED AND FROM WHAT I HAVE READ AND OBSERVED IN DOCUMENTARIES

WHAT KIND OF CO-OP DO YOU ENVISAGE, IF NOT a co-op of small farmers.

MAYBE THE BIG FARMERS SHOULD GET SERIOUS ABOUT AGRICULTURE I START A SERIOUS CO-OP, AND OBLITERATE ALL THIS NIT PICKING AND “DISCUSSION”

21. HEATHER COLE’S NOTION THAT THERE BE A COOPERATIVE OF SUCH SMALL FARMERS

You said it not me.

I just dont agree with you that this is HC notion, from reading this article and attachments.

22. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The problem with getting into aggro-processing is it requires serious commitment in terms of time and startup capital.Few people and companies in Barbados have both of those and are willing to take the risk. There is costly machinery to be sourced or designed, not to mention the trouble you have to go through to get certified to various international standards since we are dealing with food.

Factory type aggro-processing will only be started by one of the local companies already into food processing looking for a new challenge or a CO-OP of farmers that pool their capital and look to start off with a little canning venture for their extra produce.

23. CRITICAL
    AGAIN YOU MAKE COMPLETE SENSE THUS
    a CO-OP of farmers that pool their capital and look to start off with a little canning venture for their extra produce.

24. Heather ColeAugust 20, 2020 10:47 PM
    https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/44645/uwi-grant-acres

25. Why am I not surprised to see the BWA pulling out all stops to direct water from Vineyard through Mt Pleasant and install a reservoir there. Reminds me of Cattlewash and Andrews Round Hill, oases in the middle of water-scarce St Joseph.. Where is all of this Vineyard water coming from? Is this the same Vineyard which a couple of years back was flooded out with millions of gallons of water due to some malfunctioning cut -off valve and/or negligence.

26. It beats growing cow itch.

https://moguldom.com/298966/black-owned-cannabis-farm-has-opened-in-georgia

“Inspired by a desire to live free of pain and help loved ones do the same, two veterans of corporate America have opened a 17.5-acre hemp farm in Georgia.”

27. This comment from our brother Vincent says everything, people on FB are always ready to pick a fight about everything, so i posted the petition for African Citizenship for Descendants of Slaves and everyone went deadly quiet, no one wants to cuss each other today….🤣😂😂

“Vincent Haynes
    badge icon
    I wonder why this post does not elicit as much reaction as for instance….. reparations…..statue removal…..the colonial constructs of stockholm syndrome and races…….ah well..”

28. It’s gone all quiet on the underground.
    @ WURA-War-on-U
    You should check out this short film (16min) based on a Chronixx song
    CAPTURELAND

29. 555…interesting.

30. A community project cannot be a bad thing

31. @Donna August 23, 2020 12:04 PM “It all seems simple enough to me but I honestly think nobody wants to do the hard work, that’s all.”

True. But everybody wants to eat 3 squares a day.

In grew up in a household where as well as cane and ground provisions, we kept a kitchen garden, harvested guavas and made our own jelly. I still make my own jelly, can’t stand the stuff that is sold in supermarkets. I have some guavas in the freezer right now that i will turn into jelly once the spirit moves me. We raised yard fowls, and broilers, raised cows, pigs, chickens, and sheep. Produced enough milk to satisfy the needs of a large family of growing children, and enough that we made our own butter so that we could make pudding and coconut bread on weekends, from our own coconuts too. I did everything from climbing the coconut trees [girls were really not supposed to climb coconut trees] to husking the dry coconuts using a hoe. I still mostly husk and grate my own coconuts. The result is tastier and fresher than anything which can be bought in a store. All of this on less that 4 acres while my father held down a full time job, and all of us worked on the land with him before and after school and during vacation times. I tied canes, headed canes onto the truck, cut sour grass with a sickle. And still did fairly well at school. The grands were surprised that I knew how to make butter. My mother owned a large ceramic butter churn which her aunt had brought back from Brazil. Great auntie went to Brazil going where ever work is available as many Bajans have long done. Never tried making cheese though.

Without a churn butter small quantities can be made by setting out plates of milk at the time of the morning and evening milkings. 12 hours later use a spoon skim the cream which has risen to the top. Put the cream in a pint ‘n half rum bottle [rum bottles were always readily available, lol!] over a few days when the bottle is about 2/3 full, shake vigorously [a good job for hard ears children who must be kept busy] the shaking will convert the cream to butter and separate the whey from the butter. Decant into a bowl, drain off the whey, and wash the butter with cold salted water, turning the new butter several times with a spoon. Drain of the water. Now the baking can begin.

If the family owns a refrigerator, the butter can be placed in a covered container and refrigerated for several days or weeks. Scrumptious on Eclipse biscuits.

Back in those days the Ministry of Agriculture provided TB testing of the cows [maybe it still does] so we felt it safe to eat the butter made from raw milk.

32. @ Miller August 23, 2020 7:18 AM
    My bad, those items slipped my mind.
    I noticed that yet again, you are throwing cold water on bottled water imports. If you were to see the quality of water coming from the taps in certain parts of the country (Rural), you would opt to buy some of that stale water too.
    How come you didn’t mention false hair, nails and eyelashes?
    What about the luxury vehicles? You ain’t her that the playing field getting level to allow the big boys to play with the little boys? You hear the Minister say anything about restrictions or saving foreign exchange?

Man what dwindling foreign money what? :-i

33. NEXT GENERATION FARMING WITHOUT SOIL AND 90 PERCENT LESS WATER

34. Everyone, I have been quite busy over the weekend and did not read all the comments yet however, if the bid is not awarded to the Canadians to plant medical marijuana, and we the Co-op is awarded the bid we can certainly utilize an advisory committee. I would only be happy if those who can provide this expertise would accept. You have actually started the blueprints for Plantation farming on this page. It is not written down anywhere as far as I am aware. If we do not get this Plantation, yes it would be a set back but we will search for another property. I do believe that since the Co-op is technically for almost all Barbadians, with the people on our side, there exists a possibility it could becoming a reality. It would be difficult to explain why all the Agricultural land should be planted in marijuana. I will not give up. Thank you everyone! We are working on the video and investors information. I would not call it a prospectus.

35. Heather, you do know that John King and others from Agriculture turned up at a Black Jew meeting yesterday in the Pine Area just above the Goddards building marketing the same Todds Plantation to them as well, make sure your documents are real.

36. William Skinner Avatar

From where I sit,I would not say that Bajans are risk averse ; it’s just that we were educated to always see the glass as half empty, never half full.
    It’s the thinking of those who have been educated to analyze not do. So, we are stuck with a preponderance of pseudo intellectuals and arm chair academics, who have never sold a box of matches or created one single job or even failed at a business but can tell those who actually do what to do.
    And that’s our problem. We seek perfection at the beginning we have nothing to do with trial and error. By the time we are finished analyzing; other people have implemented the project and are laughing their way to the bank.
    There are three types of people in the world:
    People who see things happen
    People who make things happen
    People who wonder what happened
    We like to sit on the sidelines and ridicule those who try.
    Case in point: We complain about the persistent skullduggery of the BLPDLP. We never support third parties because we want to analyse why they fail. Very few will consider being active in change and join a third party.

And so it is with business ideas. We want them to fail so that those who try can be told I told you so or be ridiculed. When you succeed they
    attribute it to luck or say the business is only a front for some illegal activity.
    That’s who we are…….

37. There you have it, the definition of risk averse.

38. Not all of us.

39. I for one did not vote for a third party last time because I could not risk diluting the vote against the DLP administration. I thought the NDP to be the most viable third party we had but at that time I wasn’t paying much attention. It would certainly be different for me now but where the third party really at? Not the ones led by Atherley or Grenville! Where the other party at? Who is the leader of the Eastmond thing? Where are they ?

40. Not one member of any third party has ever knocked on my door.

41. @ William

You are right about being educated to be consumers, and not to be sellers or manufacturers. But creating a petit-bourgeoisie is not the answer to our nation’s needs. Historically, the small business class has always preferred the right – oft en the extreme right – to anything approaching a equitable society.
    I know you do not like looking at Anglo-Saxon societies, but look at Germany between the wards and who formed the backbone of Hitlerite Germany; look at Vichy France, and in particular Pierre Poujade.
    It is not being ‘intellectual’ (a term of abuse in Barbados) if one attempts to analyse one’s society and mp a way forward, rather than so-called pragmatism, drifting from pillar to post, and in the process being betrayed by those with slick tongues and flaring hands.
    If ordinary people are to be led they must know where they are going.
    Some people enjoy running rum shops and working all hours of the day and night to make a living, others prefer being employees without the responsibilities, what is important is what takes place on the macro level.
    You are right about Barbadians ridiculing others, it is part of our culture, it is an act of despair. However, those who aspire to lead, or to articulate a vision, should not be disheartened by such behaviour, it is our culture.
    Barbados is in crisis, but a nation of petty small businesses is not the answer. This is 2020, not 1820.

42. And so it is with business ideas. We want them to fail so that those who try can be told I told you so or be ridiculed. When you succeed they
    attribute it to luck or say the business is only a front for some illegal activity.
    That’s who we are…

xxxxxxxxx

PLEASE GO TO THE TOP OF THE CLASS.

I HAVE SAID BEFORE THAT BLACK BAJANS FOR THE MOST PART ARE THEIR WORST ENEMIES.

SOME MAY WANT TO CRUCIFY FOR TELLING THE TRUTH.

MOST IF NOT ALL BUSINESS MEN OR WOMEN HAVE HAD SEVERAL FAILURES REGARDLESS OF COLOUR BEFORE MAJOR LONG TERM SUCCESS.

BLACK BAJANS UNFORTUNATELY STILL HAVE THAT CRAB IN THE BARREL MENTALITY.

43. William Skinner Avatar

@ Hal
    That’s why I am waiting on the throne speech. I am hoping that we see a new path and a better way. Until then all bets are off.
    I have never opined that one must not look at othermethodologies/countries. I have read and continue to keep abreast of all political , social and economic global trends. It started as a very young boy when my big brother sat me down and explained then current world affairs . I did not start looking at anything last week. My position remains that with all of this knowledge and we can’t survive ten years without going cap in hand to the IMF; we could as well shut shop.
    The same old shopkeepers, taxi operators, and vendors knew one thing- once you analyse you implement. All we seem to do is analyse and then I hear about the fancy term “ implementation deficit”.
    There is a very erudite gentleman on BU who thinks that I am narrow because I don’t jump up and pretend to be an authority on global affairs. Nothing and I mean absolutely nothing he has ever written has been news or new to me.
    I just happen to be an unrepentant regionalist who believe that we have a lot to offer the world and in many cases more than the world has to offer us.

44. @ William

Our biggest post independence failures are the black political class, the black intellectual class and the white business class. The people who have been betrayed are the black working class.
    I have no confidence in the black political and intellectual classes. There is nothing there can do now that will impress. The white business class has reached a fork in the road, either pursuing their ethno-nationalism, which is out of step even with the rest of the white world, or reach a settlement with the black community.
    As for the New Barbadians, the least said about them the better. And the radicals, the Pan-Africanists, the Marxists, and regionalists who think we can form a working liaison with the New Barbadians have got to think again.
    Not only that, they have to decide whose said they are on. They cannot be for ordinary working class Barbadians and be for the New Barbadians. We are running out of time.

45. The issues Barbados is experiencing are no different to what is happening here or elsewhere. We are a little island battling with a multitude of issues. Whether it is class, race, economic etc these are issues affecting a world anchored in globalization.

46. It is true that Bajans are educated to be consumers. On the CXC Mathematics syllabus there is a section called “Consumer Arithmetic” not “Business Arithmetic”. It always annoys me when I see it. It conditions young minds to see only one possibility.

Those who laugh at the business failures of the bold ones just do so to comfort themselves. It provides them with an excuse for not trying.

But I do know many Bajans who are encouraging. Maybe I have been lucky to meet different people from you guys.

47. BAJE
    With all those greenback you making per yoar i hope by now you at least send in you pledge sheet for a few thousand.
    Hope you a ladder and not a crab.

48. “MOST IF NOT ALL BUSINESS MEN OR WOMEN HAVE HAD SEVERAL FAILURES REGARDLESS OF COLOUR BEFORE MAJOR LONG TERM SUCCESS.”

you are not a real business person if you have not failed at least a few times, if you have never failed means you have no experience and are only living off the backs of others as is well known for those pretend private sector crooks in Barbados..

49. But I did meet one woman recently who tried to “educate” me on the reason for Rhianna’s business
    success. Apparently it is due to her being a member of “The Illuminati”!

When I finally regained my powers of speech and explained that Rhianna’s reach is international and what that meant she refused to even be open to that possibility.

So even Rhianna gets painted with the dirty brush.

Wuhlaus!