Today’s BT editorial is a gem.

It deserves to be a feature article IBHO….
…and to be posted to Mama Mia…

The above comment posted by Bush Tea.

Beg to exist and exist to beg

Brother, can you spare a dime? The daily sight of lone, forlorn individuals seeking alms from strangers often invites disgust, derision and denial of charity from harried, hurried passersby.
One wonders if perhaps the Caribbean itself isn’t likewise perceived in international circles: a collection of developing nations forever seeking handouts and aid from wealthier countries and individual benefactors. To them, we must surely seem to beg to exist and exist to beg.
The perception is largely unreasonable but not entirely unfair; it is the legacy of chattel slavery and colonialism that subjugated our island peoples for centuries and the neocolonialism that remains.
Despite the social revolution of the postwar and post-independence eras, disdain is reserved for the streetside beggar instead of for the pernicious culture of mendicancy haunting our political landscape.
Mendicancy, the act of begging or soliciting alms, has become an ugly norm in politics here and throughout the region. The ‘corn beef and rum’ politics of the universal suffrage era have been replaced with government jobs and paid utility bills and large appliances and cash handouts.
Some of our more conscientious elected representatives and candidates have tried to stem the flood of voter expectations to dole out personal benefits in exchange for their support. This quid pro quo arrangement undermines the very foundations of democracy, stifles mature political discourse and reduces the noble pursuit of public service to a transactional exercise that immediately disqualifies would-be servants of the people.
The implications of this practice are far-reaching and utterly corrosive. It erodes trust in institutions, entrenches a sense of entitlement among the electorate, and perpetuates a cycle of dependency that hinders true self-sufficiency. Moreover, it diverts resources away from the collective good, as funds – both public and private – are shifted from addressing community needs to satisfying individual wants.
We get it. Centuries of the systematic dehumanisation, abuse and exploitation of generations of Barbadians have ingrained a sense of dependency on a ‘Massa’ – a belief that one’s well-being is contingent upon the benevolence of others. We do not accept the conventional wisdom that this is solely a feature of post-independence politics – only the success of gaslighting by the historical opponents of social democracy. But while the mendicant mentality is understandable in the context of historical oppression, it has lingered long after the chains of bondage have been broken; indeed, long-term psychological and sociological damage lasts through generations.
This cycle of mendicancy may not be the current population’s fault but it is now our collective responsibility to break it if we are to forge a republic that refreshes ideals of democracy and self-determination.
It requires a concerted effort to reshape the political culture, fostering a sense of civic responsibility and accountability among both elected officials and the electorate.
There must be a concerted effort to educate the public on the poisonous effects of do-for-do thinking in civic life and the importance of holding the people’s representatives accountable for their actions, rather than seeking personal favours.
This can be achieved through robust, comprehensive civic education and support for a strong, independent media that holds elected officials to the highest standards of ethical conduct.
There must also be a commitment to strengthening the institutions of governance and the rule of law. This includes enforcing robust anti-corruption measures, introducing meaningful campaign finance legislation, ensuring transparency in public spending, and empowering independent oversight bodies to investigate and prosecute malfeasance. Graft is a corrosive substance on the body politic.
And far from dismantling the welfare state, we argue that it must be reinforced and expanded to provide a durable safety net for our most vulnerable folk. Ensuring that basic needs are met through legitimate, institutionalised channels diminishes the temptation to resort to mendicancy merely to survive.
Ultimately, eradicating mendicancy from public life requires a collective effort, a willingness to confront uncomfortable truths, and a steadfast commitment to upholding the principles of democracy and good governance. It is a challenge that demands the concerted efforts of politicians, civil society, the press and the people to reclaim dignity and self-sufficiency.
Perhaps, then, the disease is really a symptom. Pervasive mendicancy may well be a stark indictment of endemic inequality, a glaring manifestation of the deep-rooted economic and social disparities that have persisted for generations. The fact that citizens feel compelled to beg their elected representatives for basic necessities and personal favours is indicative of the failure of successive governments to address these inequities adequately.
Instead of treating mendicancy as a currency – if not opiate – in gaining and maintaining political power, the political class should make the eradication of inequality its central focus for it ultimately undermines their very existence. It is by targeted public policies, a commitment beyond rhetoric to uplifting the most marginalised and frank conversations with citizens, that the people of a great nation on a small island can break free from the shackles of a mendicant past and continue down the road of social justice, equity and sustainable prosperity.
We the People must decide – will we continue to beg to exist and exist to beg?

Source: Barbados Today

92 responses to “Ninja man mentality, Mottley’s approach”

1. Cuhdear Bajan Avatar

Canadian billionaire businessman Frank Stronach facing charges of rape, sexual assault

By John Marchesan

Posted June 7, 2024 6:41 pm.

Last Updated June 7, 2024 8:29 pm.

Canadian billionaire businessman Frank Stronach is facing a number of charges including rape and sexual assault in connection with alleged incidents dating back to the 1980s.

Police in Peel Region say they arrested the 91-year-old from Aurora on Friday and charged him with two counts of sexual assault, rape, indecent assault on a female and forcible confinement. He has been released on conditions and is scheduled to appear in court at an unconfirmed date to answer the charges.

Police did not elaborate on the incidents or who may have made the allegations, saying only that the alleged offences occurred from the 1980s up until as recently as 2023.

“Police are appealing to members of the public to come forward if they have any relevant information,” investigators said in a release Friday evening.

Stronach is the founder and honourary chairman of Magna International Inc., an international automotive parts manufacturer based in Aurora, Ont., which employs almost 170,000 people in 29 countries. He is also the father of former MP Belinda Stronach and is a member of the Order of Canada.

Source: toronto.citynews.ca

2. NorthernObserver Avatar

Stronach’s wife died end of March. Connect the dots.

3. @William

One senses that in the prevailing Barbados if Jesus were to run as an independent the BLP/DLP mindset would ensure he lost his deposit. The flip side is that it is a process.

4. William Skinner Avatar

As @Pacha recently said that even in such a scenario, the taint of the BLPDLP, will be evident among the eight. We concur. However, there is need to disrupt these two parties. No third party is going to succeed by just naming candidates a week or two before elections.
    From our experience, it will take about two to three years of serious canvassing in all the constituencies to penetrate the BLPDLP.
    The NDP was not a real new third party because we had four MPs who broke away from the BLPDLP and the leader, was always seen as a future Prime Minister.
    However , when we went into the field ( constituencies) our inexperience in canvassing and understanding the political and geographical nature and structure of the constituencies, was exposed.
    We are not only fighting a political battle, we are also fighting a political culture.
    As you have often suggested , the citizens need to be more activist and there seems to be some positive movement but within that activism, you are going to find a high level of pure partisanship.
    We recall all the marches Mottley orchestrated , and she was successful, in getting everybody on board but now it’s obvious that that was pure political strategy. Even union leaders donned themselves in red and marched.
    Mottley marched against everything . One of the ironies is that she marched against the cost of living . Today, the cost of living , is at least 25 percent higher. Where are those who marched with Mottley ? Are they marching against a higher cost of living ?
    Same with the call in programs. The Bees were on every second. Now they are in power , they criticize the call in programs , especially Brassracks. They have followed Wickham , who is pro- Mottley over to CBC.
    So, my Brother what are we to do ?
    That’s why we suggested the new strategy of positive , effective disruption. The question is : can we find eight citizens prepared to spend the next 2 and a half years in eight constituencies trying not to win the government but a lazer like focus of wining a number of seats to disrupt the BLPDLP .
    Time for a new approach.

5. @William

The big challenge in our adopted style of party politics is the need for campaign contributions to fund the machinery. This is the factor that taints the system as we know. There have been many conversations about allocation of monies from government to finance political parties based on some criteria. The reason the duopoly remains entrenched, both are perceived as being credible because of their political brand.

6. OG
    Just like as a private citizen I have a right to call you a hypocrite. As for eyes on Mia, I leave that to you because she clearly constructed a whole penthouse free of costs in your head.

7. @not enuff
    You may have heard this “You may call me whatever you like, just don’t call me late for dinner”. I suspect Mia is renting penthouses in many more heads than my own. Isn’t it a pity that she cannot rent and fill the bellies of the poor and hungry. Now, that would be a real achievement.

8. William Skinner Avatar

Campaign financing should be considered but how could we go to such sophistication when we are constantly bringing legislation / decisions that cannot hold up to public scrutiny. We refer to:
    1. Integrity legislation
    2. Absence of Freedom of Information legislation
    3.Bungling of Cyber Bill
    4. Can’t solve problems at Licensing Office
    5. Can’t solve garbage collection problems
    6. Can’t solve public transportation
    7. Public housing in a mess
    8. Can’t come up with progressive enfranchisement policy
    9. Bungling Education Reform
    10. Can’t get proper Auditor General Reports.
    11. Can’t effective solve problems at one public Hospital.
    We ask:
    Will it be fair to burden taxpayers with financing the political parties ?
    We need to come down to reality and deal with the glaring fact that the BLPDLP has outlived its usefulness and our country is on a bridge to no frigging where.
    BTW we just spent millions of dollars under the Arthur administration on Kensington. We are now spending millions more under the Mottley administration. Same damn cold ass soup warmed over.
    We had to mash up axles and rims until the World Cup came; we had to clean up Bridgetown until the World Cup came.
    How long are we going to put up with this brass bowl foolery.
    @ Bush Tea is right; Austin was right; @ Yolande Grant was right and @ Donna is right:TSLN is right.
    We keep doing the same shit and expect different results.
    For the uninformed: We and this means the whole Caribbean no longer have any real say in international cricket. Forget the lies and hype. The reason we are watching cricket from the USA and the reason that there is stadia and a USA team, is the result of the Indians investing their money in the sport. This process started in earnest two decades ago.
    Connect the dots.

9. Stuupse. You’re an expert in what? Selling?

10. OG

“Isn’t it a pity that she cannot rent and fill the bellies of the poor and hungry. Now, that would be a real achievement.”

This response is evidence of your capitulation.

11. @not enuff
    I like how you always return to claim a ‘victory’.

Battered and bloodied, enuff raises his pummeled body from the canvas and his hands in victory.

12. Enuff

Why do you so decry expert sellers?

When selling is so fundamental in neoliberal capitalism.

Have the snake oil salesmen from Washington not expertly sold your government the idea that money could be borrowed and begged for interminably without consequence?

Maybe expert sellers are the best of us.

13. @William

If we do not find an ‘independent’ process or implement a measure of electoral reform nothing will prevent the white shadows Don Blackman spoke of and those with deep pockets from manipulating our system. We know there is no way to 100% stamp it out but currently it is a free for all.

The buck stops with the people. Government does not generate revenue, we do. Public expenditure is OUR money.

14. @Willaim

Govt must crack down on buying, selling of votes

Voting is the expression of our commitment to ourselves, one another, this country, and this world – Sharon Salzberg. Voting in Barbados is a civic duty and a right. In fact, it is a right that the forefathers of Barbados fought tirelessly for many years ago. There was a time when black people in Barbados could not vote, and the opportunity to do so now should be guarded and treated with the upmost dignity and respect.

Unequivocally, there is power in voting and it facilitates the notion of bringing about community change and upliftment. Voting means standing up and being counted for the issues Barbadians care about. When Barbadians vote, they play a significant role in choosing their representative to serve. On election day, that sense of pride to go to the polls to vote should resonate in the minds of all Barbadians because a vote should be sacred.

Distressingly, the exchange of money for votes on election day is becoming a bold and worrisome practice over the landscape of Barbados. It was revealed to me by many people across Barbados that they were approached by people who offered them a substantive amount of money to vote for a particular candidate.

Unfair tactic

This problem could be more evidently concentrated in low-income, densely populated communities. It could also be a case where people are coerced into thinking that the candidate is the best suitable person for the job.

However, this is an unfair tactic that can disadvantage any candidate on any side of the political divide. It also has the propensity to subject voters to undue influence where persons would be in a position to dominate the decisionmaking process in order to obtain an unjust advantage. Since voting is an emotional act, any interference or intrusion can enable and motivate voters to create biases that affect how they vote and perceive the candidate.

Pursuant to section 24 of the Elections Offences and Controversies Act of Barbados, the buyer and seller in the vote buying is guilty of an offence. However, there is no fine imposed to deter persons from engaging in this behaviour.Therefore, Government should move swiftly to amend the current legislation to eradicate this scourge.

My advice would be to revisit, strengthen and implement stiffer penalties for offenders for the violation of this law. I recommend a heavy fine or a term of imprisonment for anyone who is found guilty of this corrupt practice in order to deter others.

Barbadians should cherish their vote and see it as sacred. – Rennette M. Dimmott, legal constitutional law activist and former candidate for Christ Church West Central

15. Some of you have the uncanny ability to avoid discussing the issues.

16. William Skinner Avatar

We come from a political culture that has gone from the “corned beef” and biscuits” to granting non- tendered contracts and cheques being slipped under the doors of constituency branch offices.
    We put up people to run for office and then give ministerial appointments to those who did not face the electorate.
    Culture in all its aspects defines a people. We do not argue or oppose campaign reform but in the real world It is not that simple to implement especially in our current political culture.
    As you are certainly aware, we cannot even explain the government subvention that is supposed to be given to political parties.
    So, let’s be a bit realistic. Campaign financing is not something , we can get up one morning and throw money into the political culture.
    First. we have to very seriously know what will be the essence of such reform. Who will police such reform and how it will be implemented , taking into consideration our appetite for implementation deficit.
    When we speak of campaign we reform ; we are actually speaking of political reform.
    Just explain how campaign reform would stop a politician from giving five thousand dollars to a shopkeeper, to discreetly buy votes , with the understanding that the shopkeeper would hold five hundred for themselves.

17. @William

If a government elected by the people, from among the people, to operate in the interest of the people we are unable to trust, then let us strike up the band and head home in the words of Doug Hoyte.

18. “If a government elected by the people, from among the people, to operate in the interest of the people we are unable to trust, then let us strike up the band and head home in the words of Doug Hoyte.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Perfect summary of the status quo.

EXCEPT that our government is SELECTED by the albino-centric shadows, and VOTED by the sheeple (who are BRIBED with trinkets and ‘grantleys’ for their votes), AND THEN TAXED millions $$$ in our donkeys – till next trinket and ‘promises’ bribery season.

You have explained ‘brassbowlery’ – without the need for any ‘Bushie language’ such as ‘shiite and brass’.
    Well done Boss.

19. “Some of you have the uncanny ability to avoid discussing the issues.”

True. But when the result of a discussion is a second discussion, followed by a pause and then a recycling of the same discussion, then followed by an article in the paper and a discussion of that article and …. some are just tired of fruitless and meaningless discussion. Nothing changes.

Go to your archives and you will see that some of what is said today was said years ago.

The problem is not an avoidance of discussion of the issues but it is our ability to discuss endlessly and our inability to do anything. Some are disgusted and tired of discussions.

20. Pacha

It wasn’t a statement! I would never decry good salespersons, not even you selling your rhetoric.🤣

21. ” They were joined by Prime Minister Mia Mottley, Deputy Prime Minister Santia Bradshaw and Member of Parliament Chris Gibbs who also visited the street which was blocked off.”

22. @ David,

Sunday Sun

rastas Fort George Heights.

23. @Hants

That article was posted earlier.

24. OG

Battered and bloodied? If I were like you I’d be here daily talking about locks being cut and changed in George Street and the police being called. Or that two recent members of the “talentless” BLP are now Political Leader and President of George Street. Sorry I forgot, a CJ appointed by this government only recently had to temporarily resolve one of the many legal matters consuming George Street. By the way, the acting officers collectively mustered 2,246 votes and won one box in the last election. Ronnie(wh)O got 1,633, more than both managed individually. Maybe I’d be talking about a Senator that is always absent from public events outside the Senate. Or how one of George Street’s own is in the local press stating what I constantly say about the Dems and the BU intelligentsia–obsolete– and 2037 maybe the locksmiths in George Street next chance at winning. However, I don’t see governing Bim as a bloodsport so I refrain from wasting my time daily in the BU imaginary ring. But given the ongoing George Street Gate (new and old locks included), who do you really believe is the battered and bloodied?🤔

25. @not enuff
    I like how you set up your strawmen,. I have already registered my lack of interest in the ongoing DLP fiasco/debacle. I have changed RonnieO to RonnieGO or do not mention him.

There is actually a lesson there for you. Don’t get locked into the silly B vs D discussion. Others may try to pull you in, but do like I do … ignore them; get out of the B vs D business.

Now if you want to discuss corruption, I am your man.

26. @BT
    “EXCEPT that our government is SELECTED by the albino-centric shadows”

Forgive me if I use one of your phrases to make a point.

If you were to discuss the differences between a shadow and real person then you would say that a shadow is nothing without a person and the shadow follows the movement of a person.

Clearly, we have allow our language to invert the two. There is nothing more real in Barbados than those that we call shadows; they call the shots and set the course for us to follow. Whilst the real folks, the majority blacks and their black leaders, follow ‘the shadows’.

The shadows are the real folks; the real folks are just noisy shadows.

27. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WE WEAR THE MASK BY PAUL LAURENCE DUNBAR (1892)

We wear the mask that grins and lies,
    It hides our cheeks and shades our eyes,
    This debt we pay to human guile;
    With torn and bleeding hearts we smile,
    And mouth with myriad subtleties.

Why should the world be over-wise,
    In counting all our tears and sighs?
    Nay, let them only see us, while
    We wear the mask.

We smile, but, O Great Christ, our cries
    To thee from tortured souls arise.
    We sing, but oh the clay is vile
    Beneath our feet, and long the mile;
    But let the world dream otherwise,
    We wear the mask!

#MayaAngelou

28. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

BUT STILL WE RISE

29. Too much /OG

Exactly why I don’t waste my time, as it always ends in your capitulation. I suspect that in the near future you’ll be using words such as RATbag and RATchet.

30. 🙂
    That was good but ‘not enuff’

31. “BTW we just spent millions of dollars under the Arthur administration on Kensington. We are now spending millions more under the Mottley administration. Same damn cold ass soup warmed over………the reason we are watching cricket from the USA and the reason that there is stadia and a USA team, is the result of the Indians investing their money in the sport. This process started in earnest two decades ago. Connect the dots..”

Meanwhile Adelaide $610M in upgrades; US$6.5B in India on 5 grounds; Oval in London £50M; and Lords £114M to name a few. The US T20 is also expanding both in terms of teams and games. There are dots to connect but I don’t think the author of the above recognise the real ones.

32. “Meanwhile Adelaide $610M in upgrades; US$6.5B in India on 5 grounds; Oval in London £50M; and Lords £114M to name a few. The US T20 is also expanding both in terms of teams and games.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    …and these countries are ALSO under IMF programs? is THAT it??!!

…and are existing by borrowing from one financial Institute of last resort, to pay the interest due to another financial institute of last resort..?
    …and going around begging for handouts – such as ‘reparations’ due to our PAST, UNFORTUNATE ancestors?
    Get real Enuff….

You should KNOW better than mixing ‘apples’ and ‘oranges’ (or more appropriately, Parros and Pirates) around the bushman …

Perhaps you rub shoulders with so many rich albino-centrics, that you CANNOT recall how poor the average BB really is…. and the BB country.

33. William Skinner Avatar

@ Bush Tea
    The India cricket Board just signed an agreement for 720 million US dollars for the period 2023-2027 for broadcast rights alone. That’s over 1 billion BDS dollars. That has nothing to do with other returns on everything from the sport.
    The elders used to say : let the jackasses bray…………..
    International cricket has been a billion dollar industry for decades. We can fool ourselves as much as we care to but we still owe West Indies players money from 25 years ago. It was Kerry Packer, who took our players from second hand cars to BMWs. On any day if we get 500 plus at a test match at Kensington -it’s a”good Day”.
    We say no more about( ROI) returns on investment.
    BTW the West Indies dropped Hetmeyer and two days later he was off to play in the IPL for 1.4 million USD. That’s 2.5 million BDS.
    leave the jack asses to bray………. How much did Arthur spend on Kensington without lights ?

34. @Enuff
    Meanwhile Adelaide $610M in upgrades; US$6.5B in India on 5 grounds; Oval in London £50M; and Lords £114M to name a few. The US T20 is also expanding both in terms of teams and games.
    ++++++
    Could you provide examples of what other Caribbean countries have spent to upgrade their facilities? To use the countries named to illustrate your point is ludicrous.
    Trying to keep with the Joneses is one thing but maybe its time for a remake of “The mouse that roared”.

35. Ohhh so all of a sudden it is what other Caribbean islands are doing or whether we’re in an IMF programme or not? How come wunna still then want the government to build a stadium even if out its own pockets and accuse it of not being interested in sports? What happened to all the talk about opportunities, young people, sports, competing on the global scale, infrastructute etc? Wunna so bright all yuh mentioning Hetymer and don’t even realise that wunna supporting the exact point I’m making. Barbadian cricketers with CWI contracts and or who play in the various T20s earn more money that most if not all ah wunna ever or will ever earn. In some instances maybe more than all ah wunna combined. Note I haven’t even touched on the direct benefits from the ongoing tournament, as I’m just focusing on an element related to legacy. Direct economic activity alone may very well erase the $50M, after but one event and the English are back in November. I keep telling wunna–obsolete egofowls. Anyhow in each territory’s currency–for this tournament St.Lucia spent $40M on the Darren Sammy Ground, Guyana $350M and SVG $38M on Arnos Vale. Both Antigua and Trinidad have also done upgrades but the amount spent is unknown. All of these stadiums are far less older than KO and in some instances have been upgraded on other occasions since their construction.

36. Bushie don’t argue with emotions Enuff.
    BUT, …your predisposition to see things in $$$$ ONLY, is misguided.

The PROBLEMS that we have in Barbados are called LACK OF ACCOUNTABILITY and associated incompetence.

When DooShite could just arbitrarily MIS-spend $50 MILLION on a few shiite LEGO houses and not a boy is called to account…

When Mrs Bizzy could PAY Cayman planes to fly here with empty seats… and it is business as usual (In fact, she now upgrading to Africa)…

When the Man in charge of ‘building 10000 houses’ can say PUBLICLY, that a 100% over-run on the Steal houses (with less than half completed) is ‘MONEY WELL SPENT..’

Can you SERIOUSLY expect a bushman to TRUST your judgement about $50million spent on KO, and $5 million at Oistins, etc?
    There can be NO comparison with OTHER countries where their money is WELL SPENT, and their Auditors General are able to present CLEAN reports…or BrassBowls get charged..

Your ‘direct economic activity’ analysis sounds much like what Barney Lynch was told to say – illogical and amateurish as it sounds.
    BTW, he is the SAME WCC architect from 2007 – who hired the cruise ship? What came of THAT fiasco?
    …just like DooShiite is now managing ‘national infrastructure’ …after mismanaging steal houses and MTW…
    And how Mrs Bizzy is suddenly an ‘air travel expert’ – after Red Jet….?
    Is this a plan….?

What a place…
    What a turn-around in the last few decades…
    What a curse…

37. Sargassum inundating south coast beaches.

38. Bushie
    “Bushie don’t argue with emotions Enuff.
    BUT, …your predisposition to see things in $$$$ ONLY, is misguided.”

It is the BU intelligentsia that raised money not me! My response was based on the criticism of MONEY being spent on sporting and cultural infrastructure. The only emotion I exhibit when dealing with the BUI is calling out the contradictions, hypocrisy and downright stupidity. Clearly you have been once again floored, hence the conflation and goalposts shifting. Based on your last post, we shouldn’t build a national stadium or none of the things you spout on BU daily about. Goodbye!