Prime Minister of Barbados Mia Mottley signalled to the Nation she is in favour of removing Nelson statue BUT a national conversation should be a prerequisite. The Prime Minister maybe of the mind we need to seize the opportunity – given to us with the rise of #BLM – to bring as many Barbadians to the same place in thought to what it means to remove a colonial symbol offensively planted in Heroes Square in 2020. Surprisingly a significant number of Barbadians could care less if Nelson statue is moved. The sentiment by this group is captured in the mouthing of Minister of Tourism Kerri Symmonds delivered in Parliament last week –

I am now at an age and stage in life where I am not interested in the optics. You could pull down a thousand statues and it will fill nobody’s belly. I am interested in filling people’s bellies, I am interested in making sure that people have comfort when they sleep at night, that their children have satisfaction that they are going to inherit something in the land of their birth, and until we come to that point we are having an artificial debate…

So let us come to the point where we are dealing with the substance. Psychologically, it might make things better in terms of the optics, it may make people feel there has been an achievement. That can be debated. I am neither for nor against quite frankly, but my feeling is that we cannot take our eyes off that ball called substance. That substance is how do we economically empower the working class people of Barbados so that they and their sons and daughters can be those people who are the guardians of the commanding heights of this country’s economy…

Minister of Tourism and International Transport Kerrie Symmonds

Symmonds’ infantile statement was balanced by a more relevant position shared by the Barbados Private Sector Association headed ironically by White Barbadian Edward Clarke. For a long time Black Barbadians have come to accept that although in the majority the economic power on the island resides with a small group in Barbados. Back in the day former Minister of Labour Don Blackman coined the term “White Shadows”. Up to now the White Shadows group or to use a more euphemistic reference- power elite, have been happy for Barbados to wear the label of being a crypto racist society. Who wants to rock the boat if the waters are deep and choppy? It is only the ignorant and dishonest who will not acknowledge that White privilege has its origin in a colonial past that gave birth to today’s ‘establishment’. The work of building an equitable society continues and it must start with addressing embedded biases nurtured in the minds of our people for centuries. BOTH Black and White.

The blogmaster is of the view the national conversation, if it materializes, must be had in this context.

See statement from the Barbados Private Sector Association:

Barbados Private Sector Association: Moving Forward Together

Added 29 June 2020

edward-clarke2
Chairman of the Barbados Private Sector Association Edward Clarke (FILE)

“The members of the Barbados Private Sector Association (BPSA) continue to be engaged together with other Social Partners in the process of rebuilding our economy and society following the Covid-19 pandemic’s significant impact. At the same time, the BPSA too is cognizant of the present global, social and economic realities which could impact our small developing nation’s ability to achieve “the future we want”, for all citizens and residents and the generations to come.

“Given the need and opportunity for us to ‘reconstruct and rebuild’ nationally, occurring at this time of global conversation on racial tensions and inequities, attention must also include a focus on imbalances that currently exist in our country. It is therefore timely, and necessary, to honestly look at the society we live in with a view to progressing Barbados to become a model of inclusiveness, diversity and equality of access for all. Undoubtedly, this process must necessarily include discussion on racial division and economic enfranchisement in Barbados.

“BPSA recognises the benefit of consultation and dialogue and regards these as being critical if any meaningful positive national change is to be achieved. More importantly, such consultation and dialogue must be of a calibre to develop an implementable plan to address, with success, the issues including any inequalities and inequities.  It is anticipated that such a plan would be underpinned with a commitment from all stakeholders to be part of the change process.

“We also signal BPSA’s support for the removal to a more suitable environment the statue of Lord Nelson which was erected on March 22, 1813 to commemorate the anniversary of the British Royal Navy’s victory in the Battle of Trafalgar in 1805. Indeed, the renaming of Trafalgar Square to Heroes Square renders the current positioning of Lord Nelson, overlooking the seat of our National Heroes, incongruous.

“BPSA stands ready not only to be engaged in the dialogue but also for each of us to introspect and to answer all well formulated, collective calls to action drafted with the input of every voice of our nation.

“We therefore call for discussion and engagement on these matters of national concern with a view to agreeing specific and tangible actions, as collectively, we journey to achieve ‘One Barbados’.” (PR)

Source: Nation Newspaper

229 responses to “In the Castle of Establishment”

1. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

He is outright LYING and he knows it, their only intent, these parasites, is to continue their practice of racism, apartheid and wholesale thefts….ALL human rights violating crimes AGAINST THE BLACK MAJORITY.

They have had decades to say this, backed up by actions, but always found it scornful and repugnant to express any such sentiment, always too busy robbing the majority population with the help of the traitors in the parliament, ALWAYS FILLED WITH HATRED AND CONTEMPT for the same majority they feed off, but now so suddenly and hastily jumping out in the media to gush what they never wanted to say before, hated to think let alone say it; only because the TRAITORS in the parliament who were hiding the upgraded human rights document from their own people for the last 4 years, told them that i was about EXPOSE Articles X1 and X11 of the same document; so this fool jumped out and CONFESSED to the generational racism and thefts they all commit against the black people using black people’s own money.

FIRE BURN the lies and deceit of traitors, racists and thieves. FIRE BURN this false statement below…LIAR ….no black person on the island needs your permission for anything, only your sell out house negros do.

“We therefore call for discussion and engagement on these matters of national concern with a view to agreeing specific and tangible actions, as collectively, we journey to achieve ‘One Barbados’.

2. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

PM Mottley said that there had to be a National conversation about moving the statue of Nelson, but she did not specify that the conversation needed to be in the form of a referendum.

3. Thanks Peter.

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Given the history of the BPSA as a mouthpiece for the economic occupation of Barbados by a tiny White minority, it is understandable that many Barbadians react to their statement with disbelief and anger.

Nevertheless, we must hold their feet to the fire. It would be a strategic mistake to ignore the fact that they have called for “discussion on racial division and economic enfranchisement in Barbados.” Let us make sure that they do not control this discussion. Let us make sure that the discussion is not confined to the sanitized chambers of the Social Partnership, where when the BPSA says “jump” the government and unions say “how high.”

Let us make sure that this is an open, unfettered, and comprehensive discussion of the evil roles that that White supremacist ideology has played in Barbados since 1627, and continues to play in 2020.

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The repugnant way black governments treat the Black majority population in Barbados.

https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/11/29/rastafarians-may-head-to-court/?fbclid=IwAR3X9o7VMhPahfrQuDs5wRQW6Y9xoFLb3T1-UhEYe-QxiWbuhqJvPxRTmVU

“I really wish the media would stop calling the plant a drug. No one on the panel called it a drug. This aids to the psychosis of the people that the plant is dangerous to society. Also, why does the media insist on using just my pic and not any of the others. Photogenic I am not lol.

By now the government must know that the Rastafari community is disgusted with how they, and the people of Barbados have, and are being treated as it pertains to cannabis reform here.

Our voices must be loud and our vision clear. Rally around!

You can’t give me nothing and make me believe it is something.

“Throughout history, it has been the inaction of those who could have acted; the indifference of those who should have known better; the silence of the voice of justice when it mattered most; that has made it possible for evil to triumph.”

6. @Peter

Agree, the usual Black vs White vitriol add nothing to the debate except to feed the hate.

7. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

PLT….you sit there and tell yourself that they dont know which Article am posting next, this time out of sequence. They know because the treacherous house negros in the parliament TOLD THEM…i know they did NOT TELL YOU….giving THEM time to manufacture lies and deceit, while REFINING and REDESIGNING their practices of thefts, discrimination, racism and apartheid against the people who did not even know about these articles of human rights. The traitors never tild their own people…BUT THEY TILD CRIMINAL MINORITIES.. .analyze THAT.

That is how black people ALWAYS end up on the receiving end of these crimes against themselves for GENERATIONS. They are always so ready and eager to listen to the criminals who commit these crimes.

▼Article XXI.
    Right to autonomy or self-government
    1. Indigenous peoples, in exercising their right to self￾determination, have the right to autonomy or self￾government in matters relating to their internal and
    local affairs, as well as ways and means for financing
    their autonomous functions.
    2. Indigenous peoples have the right to maintain and
    develop their own decision-making institutions. They
    also have the right to participate in decision-making
    in matters which would affect their rights. They may
    do so directly or through their representatives, and
    in accordance with their own norms, procedures,
    and traditions. They also have the right to equal
    opportunities in accessing and participating fully and
    effectively as peoples in all national institutions and
    forums, including deliberative bodies.

8. I agree with Peter all the whites should sell up and leave the island, Will that solve your economic situation ? probably not , might even make it a lot worse. but what the heck I am okay with my canadian pension ..pull up the rope.

9. @lawson

Is it so difficult to acknowledge based on what is being observed across the globe that we need to change how we are doing things?

Can we TRY to have a serious dis? It means trying to understand the other person’s view.

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Lawson…ah thought you were in QUA-RAN-TINE…what they hell are you doing on the loose..

say hi to Justin for me…

11. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“all the whites should sell up and leave the island, Will that solve your economic situation ?”

but it will certainly be the better option, since they have refused to stop practicing racism, apartheid or thefts against the majority BECAUSE they get a lot of support from the TRAITORS in the parliament, so who would want to stop pretending they are superior in that type of toxic environment…they have made it very clear in the last 50 years that Black people, the majority population they rob with so much glee are beneath them…they can alway go live in South Africa, am sure the racists there will welcome them..

of course the problems will end…the mentally enslaved house negros will have LESS MINORITIES to BETRAY their own people to and since the majority now know that under international human rights laws, they have the RIGHT TO BE AUTONOMOUS and run their own show, the economy and everything else…and since they have been OPPRESSED FOR DECADES…they will be more than happy to excel with every step forward they take.

…and since sell out house negros will all be WATCHED like hawks…LESS TIME TO TIEF..

you are very welcome..

12. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Quite a sensible and pragmatic statement by Minister Kerry Symmonds. We are being sidetracked from moving Barbados forward . We elected this administration to move us forward not to engage in foolish optics. Unfortunately for the band- wagon hoppers,we have to live in the world as it is. Activities which ate counterproductive to delivering a comfortable life style to the masses will be kicked to the curb.

13. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Correction : “are” not “ate”

14. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And we all know the brain damaged, mentally enslaved house negros who will be left behind…no one will miss them anyway, the racist and exploiters everywhere can have them..

…..i have been on BU saying the same things CONSISTENTLY and WITHOUT deviation for 8 STRAIGHT YEARS….and it’s all now coming to fruition…..the archives are full…even the fowls can go scratching and digging…

The fowls are also invited to comment on all of this..l…they dont ever run out of words..

watch muh nuh….

15. David you must agree if someone is not interested in your history ..good or bad it is very difficult for you to be interested in theirs. My ancestors swung from the end of a rope for centuries before american blacks claimed it, whether it romans Vikings or anglo-saxons but every time I see my Danish buddy I don’t want to shove a pickled herring down his throat. You cant live in the past or re-write history it is what it is. We all have a lot to gripe about over millennia , just like every Asian isn’t Chinese or every black a Zulu not every white skin person was a conqueror
    Waru some guy entered your boyfriends grounds last night but he wasnt scared him being a boxer and all , When is he gonna let you guys cross the border again .

16. I agree Kerrie Symmonds is right. The nonsense about moving the Nelson statue is populist bogus politics. We need a new kind of conversation about controversial issues.
    This is 2020, not 1920, and we should be able to discuss serious issues rationally as grown ups. As I have said before, once we have moved the statue, then what? Moving the statue is not a policy? Do we want to erase our colonial history?
    Historical revision is not the answer to our sorry state, it is an easy explanation. In the final analysis, the decision is for Barbadians.

17. Good strategy, PLT!

They have made a statement of acknowledgement that they can never take back. They have NEVER done that before. This alone is progress because they cannot ever again tell us it’s our own fault and therefore our problem to solve. They cannot like Looney Tunes say that it is THEIR money that they have earned all by themselves by the sweat of their brows and therefore they should be allowed to keep it.

Though we may be skeptical, and rightly so, it is time to calmly engage with them on the way forward. We have their words to use against them if they slip back into their accustomed habits.

Who knows, maybe they are getting tired of being confined to a small corner of the island, shut out of most of the events and interacting with such a limited segment of the population!

Isn’t that what Annalee Davis said she was feeling?

18. Here’s the difference – your Danish buddy is not calling you inferior, discriminating against you and refusing to accept you as an equal.

19. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@lawsonJuly 3, 2020 8:35 AM
    “I agree with Peter all the whites should sell up and leave the island…”
    +++++++++++++++++++
    Where did you get such an idiotic notion?? I have never in my life said anything that stupid.

I said, on the contrary, that we need to engage in a productive discussion about White supremacist ideology.

20. ,you wallow in the past, make excuses for misbehavior of society norms, tear down your own people who have become successful by calling them lackeys and stooges of the white man to divert from your own deficiencies at getting ahead to further hate and division. Its very easy to blame others for all the bad things that happen to you, but eventually people realize maybe you are a jonah. So quit getting side tracked with this he gets more than me attitude and remember a rising tide lifts all boats.

21. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@lawson
    What is more you know perfectly well that I have never said anything like your deliberate distortion and lies about what I represent. It is an attempt by you to derail a discussion that you don’t have the balls to engage in with even a modicum of honesty and truth. If you are a grown up please take a look in the mirror and respond if and when you decide to act like a human being.

22. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“They have NEVER done that before.”

Buying time…they know what i have SO CONFESSION IS THE BETTER OPTION….because they know how forgiving of others Bajan black people are…..but not of their own people…tell them any old lie and they are quick to forgive but not if your face is black like theirs…social engineering.

…it gives them time to redesign their evil, ugly criminal racist practices, making them more invisible so that Black people will never see it coming for another 50 years….by that time billions more dollars will be gone from the economy, the black population finally destroyed permanently…..they already know that house negros with their damaged criminal minds dont care either way as long as they get their bribes.

The criminal class.

I am forgiving too…but with a twist…i always take my pound of flesh.,

23. I am responding to donna peter

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@lawson, nothing that you alleged is even remotely connected to the truth. It is hard to engage in discussion with you when all you do is spout lies. Give a single shred of evidence.

25. It is obvious to any neutral observer that with each day of economic decline in Barbados, radical voices are getting louder. As in any society, civilisation is just a very thin layer under which terrible things are hidden. Barbados does indeed have a racism problem when neutral observers read the comments of WARU and other radical commentators.

Today they are demanding that Nelson must be thrown into the sea. Tomorrow, spurred on by WARU, they will threaten all expats and investors with violence and death.

The ambassadors and honorary consuls will report the same to their home countries. The travel warning for Barbados remains in force.

No, dear PLT, your plan to save Barbados is doomed to failure. The expats are certainly not going to settle on an island where they don’t even know if they will come out there alive.

26. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@lawson
    A rising tide does NOT lift boats that have been deliberately scuppered. The nonsense about a rising tide lifting all boats is completely disproven by economic history along with the other lies about wealth trickling down.

27. So Peter you want us on the island,that is very nice to hear, now how about a job in parliament

28. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@lawson
    TT Lewis was a White man and he had a job in parliament. Propose ethical policies like TT Lewis did. Of course the ethical policies he proposed meant that other White Bajans persecuted him until his death, so that is a bit of a downside.

29. Freedom Crier Avatar

CONGRATULATIONS TO CHAIRMAN OF THE BARBADOS PRIVATE SECTOR ASSOCIATION EDWARD CLARKE YOU HAVE SPOKEN ELOQUENTLY AND HAVE SAID NOTHING… that would lead Freedom to believe, that you have Graduated from the University of the West Indies!

Why didn’t you call for a Referendum?

Why did you only call for a Conversation where those that would Speak with Emotion and not with Reason and Logic may Carry the Day!

What Freedom finds, is that the Only Monument Bought and Paid for, Including the Land that it Stands on was paid was for by Barbadian Public Subscription, many years before the Statue of Nelson in England was erected, because Barbadians Considered him a True Hero to Barbados in that they were saved from the French who they understood to treat their Subjects with Severity and they had their Guillotine in Guadeloupe.

When Freedom was young, I used to say “Go to France”, meaning go to Hell. Barbadians considered themselves saved from Hell.

Even if Mr. Clarke and others were of the view that only whites contributed to the subscription of Nelson, which is Not True, whatever you say would be true also of the Parliament Buildings. Therefore, if you are going to Engage in what is termed now, “Cancel Culture”, the Parliament Buildings must also go. And if you Find that Idea Repugnant, Freedom finds the Removal of Nelson Statue Equally Repugnant because it is of the same ideology.

Cancel Culture Destroys your Identity of who we think we are and puts in its place Relativism, meaning what we say is what is true, so when you erase the part of Little England out of Barbados, you had better look for another Narrative for the tourist industry. Moreover, you had better look for another means of support because we will have nothing to promote! No matter how much Sea and Sun you have it will be like going to the Cocktail Parties dressed to the Hilt and Barefoot! It does not Add Up!

Nelson is Part of our Heritage Good or Bad he is our Heritage. Barbadians of all walks of life have named their off-spring after Herito Nelson.

RE…The Prime Minister maybe of the mind we need to seize the opportunity – given to us with the rise of #BLM

Black Lives Matter is Run by Marxist Organizers.

They have not been silent about their agenda to dismantle the nuclear family, transform gender/sexual identity, and force radical change. So why are so many eagerly following along?

Professor Carol M. Swain, PhD sits down with Will Witt to discuss.

30. Symbols are important. How powerful would it be if they were the ones to take the statue down and relocate it to an underwater museum?

How powerful would it be for them to celebrate Emancipation Day with us as a sign that we are moving forward to a new dispensation.

If symbols and ceremonies mean nothing, then why are there so many of them?

Christenings, graduations, weddings, funerals effused with rituals and symbols but some here would say mean nothing.

Steupse!

Did your wedding ceremony and wedding ring stop you from getting on with your marriage????

And as far as I know, funerals actually provide closure and help people to move forward. Certainly I have always felt better after the funeral.

I could plan and execute a moving ceremony for the removal of Nelson on Emancipation Day that would convince all BU skeptics just as I conducted an Emancipation Day service in an ANGLICAN CHURCH that simply rocked.

I’d do it for the pure enjoyment, for free, as I have always done.

31. The African spirit loves ceremonies, rituals and symbols!

32. Peter that was 65 years ago, lets be honest a white man would find it difficult getting votes, so why is it shocking that a white business owner would promote family first. But we are off topic you are trying to save an island economy division is not the way. It was a great start with the cruise ship fiasco, people will remember barbados in a good light. Now be hard on crime , be honest about the health of the island , its a team effort and tourists will come back.

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@lawson July 3, 2020 8:35 AM
    “I agree with Peter all the whites should sell up and leave the island…”
    So, Lawson, do you have the moral courage to apologize for the defamation you wrote above??

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Donna….ya should also add…WHILE TIEFING FROM BLACK BAJAN PEOPLE, their children, grandchildren and their UNBORN future generations…..they have no shame..

Lawson…you should check to see no moose are waiting in ya backyard to grab ya…what Danish what….ya ancestors probably did the same to others and you know it…..suck it up..

this is happening to the majority population in real time…it continues to negatively impact THEIR LIVING familes…not a bunch of centuries dead ass scottish and irish people, long dead even before the transatlantic slave trade …

Black people today can still find anglo-saxon bloodlines in their own bloodlines. Ya must think ya special..

35. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I believe you should do something to stop the Trump propagandists from attempting to hijack this discussion with spam.

36. I hear you, Lawson. Did you hear ME?

Wura,

Tone it down, sistah! You could be wrong and then you would have ruined it just as Tron says.

We shall keep our eyes open when we hold out our hands.

I think being the villain does become tiring. So does being hated. Sometimes people just don’t know how to get out of their rut. Sometimes they need a hand to push or pull.

37. Best tell the red leg scot descendants in st john they are dead Waru, Peter I was reading between the lines now knowing that you want us here and would like us to have representation in parliament and are willing to promote affirmative action to that end I can only say i misread what you were saying about white supremecy and am sorry.

38. Lawson,

Barbados would not be Barbados without the white Bajan.

I have enjoyed the presence of many of them on the island. The Merrymen were my favourite. Loved The Merry Boys, Spice even before they had company, The Sandpebbles. Love the St. Gabriel’s pantomime. Loved Alfred Pragnell, Tony Cozier, Stephen Farmer and Ralph ‘ Bruggadung’ Johnson to name a few that added to our flavour. Even used to love Richard Hoad’s column before the Trayvon Martin one. Frances Chandler was a good one as were some of my teachers at Q.C. I still tell stories about them and laugh. Gerald Hudson and his daughter come readily to mind.

Nobody wants them to leave.

39. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Lawson….the financially poor red legs in St. John are not the ones robbing the treasury, pension fund, the elderly etc, and don’t seem like the redlegs who actually rob the country and people and who own the house negros in the parliament…care very much about their kith and kin redlegs in St. John either…

..but i have never seen not one Black person in Barbados do or say anything to make those poor redlegs feel uncomfortable in their present state and condition…so ya failed again…hope there are 50 moose waiting in ya backyard for ya when ya go outside and a snake in ya toilet bowl just to top it off…

40. John Roett is another one.

Who wants these people dead?

I mourned the death of all the departed on my list.

41. Perfect Donna this is how meaningful discussions get started not the usual over the top rhetoric, Whites like a parade as well , the idea of taking nelson to the ocean and making a underwater water park for scuba divers that was suggested is a great idea . In that context how could you not support it, but when someone says were gonna take your history and fling it in the ocean it just gets peoples backs up.

42. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin July 3, 2020 9:20 AM
    The current spate of activism to remove the statue of Nelson from Heroes’ Square began around Independence Day 2017 when someone threw blue and yellow paint on it. The activism has been a success. It generated widespread discussion: many articles in all segments of the press, uncounted thousands of posts and comments on social media platforms, and hours upon hours of airtime on call in radio.

For moving the Nelson monument.
    + 29 of 30 elected members of the barbados House of Assembly,
    + Every single Civil Society Organization in Barbados that has voiced an opinion,
    + The BPSA representing every single private sector association on the island,
    + The leadership of the local Anglican Church,
    + The leadership of the local Roman Catholic Church,
    + Every other religious leader who has expressed a public opinion,
    + Every newspaper columnist except one,
    + Even White historian Karl Watson who used to lead the charge to preserve the monument where it stood.

Neither for nor against moving the Nelson monument.
    + Minister of Tourism and International Transport Kerrie Symmonds

Against moving the Nelson monument.
    + Newspaper columnist Richard Hoad, widely known to be racist,
    + a handful of other racists like John Knox, Freedom Crier etc.

So moving the Nelson monument is basically a fait accompli. All that remains is for the government to act responsibly before some hothead acts irresponsibly.

Let’s move on to the underlying issues.

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@lawson July 3, 2020 10:16 AM
    Your snivelling prevarication is contemptible. I do not accept that lame apology. You continue to deliberately tell lies about what I say. Your despicable racist assumptions are clear to see.

44. Waru you hit the m instead of the n. But my point was they came as slaves as well no matter what it is called. land clearances were the Englisher’s way of saying your getting a free holiday..

45. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“We shall keep our eyes open when we hold out our hands”

so what are you holding out your hands for again..???

i don’t think what i posted has really hit your braincells yet…but it will..

never lower your standards to meet those of the Trons….let them stretch to meet yours..

for some of you 50 years of oppression and thefts against you and yours may not be enuff….ya may need 150 more years to understand, but by then, none of you will be left…it may be a good thing, am not one to complain..

i have not one sliver of sentimentality when it comes to minorities….they will NEVER be my downfall, but it appears the will be YOURS…..obviouly none of you have ever been invited to their innercircles…and why would they invite any of you anyway…

even some who are hardcore racists are warning you, yet ya playing dumb enuff…good luck i say….

46. , stop your racist prattle, you get a canadian pension live the good life and figure you should rabble rouse. It was a woman that took your job up here, not me so your fight is with her… actually she moved on maybe you can get it back.

47. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“but when someone says were gonna take your history and fling it in the ocean it just gets peoples backs up.”

in that case Lawson, ya may want to tell us whatever happened to the TRUE HISTORY of the African Bajan, African Caribbean, African American, African Canadian, African European….since ya waxing nostalgic for destroyed history, ya should feel the same way for the worlds ORIGINAL PEOPLES… AFRICAN PEOPLE…

48. Now…. I am living happy not at all miserable. Have never been hindered by any white man because I have always been mentally free. Blame no white man for any mistakes I have made. They were all the normal mistakes of growing up. Never been poor. Still ain’t poor.

But yes, I see the effects our unequal society has on those who are not as fortunate. I see the effect mentally and financially.

I don’t know who you are describing but it sure ain’t me.