The FBI is investigating the death of George Floyd, black man who was pinned on the neck by a police officer and later died in custody. Minnesota’s Attorney General Keith Ellison joins The Beat with Ari Melber’s breaking coverage on the latest from the FBI and the protests. While the officers involved have yet to be charged, Ellison argues a “quick arrest” might “make people feel better about justice” it is “important” for investigators to “take the time to make sure that these charges, if they are brought forward, stick.

‘Haunted’: Minnesota Attorney General responds to death and investigation of George Floyd

1,656 responses to “George Floyd – Black Man Treated Like a Dog by White Policeman in the USA”

1. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Yeah John…I was actually being nice and Blogmaster is being very aware of your feelings, am not all fiery darts, if you ever got to know me, you would actually like me….am quick to forgive anyone, even lowlife Lawson and his boyfriend..

2. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“Explain how you could talk about black pride and married a WHITE WOMAN?”

the one has nothing to do with the other…..why pretend ya so full of black pride when those who protest the loudest against interracial relationships are always the ones LUSTING behind every other group (race) except their own..

don’t care how you try to explain, they don’t get it….a wickedly created COLONIAL CONSTRUCT beginning in the early 1400s….that INTERFERRED with the NATURAL progression of human life on earth for CENTURIES….is what it is…it was pure evil and only done in the name of GREED and a mental disease called racism and pretentious superiority…we are now living the results…

we are left to clean up that mess, so that the descendants of the criminals who crafted and drafted those crimes against humanity…CANNOT CONTINUE….as is their plan….and so that our current and future generations don’t have to live with their plans for genocide and control of their lives and of Africa to rape, murder, pillage and enslave AGAIN…..

besides…who is married to whom…is NONE OF YOUR DAMN BUSINESS..

look at the big picture and the job at hand and ahead..

…yall like too much damn gossip….that is why ya always being successfully set up…..and people like me can always find things to hold over ya heads to expose…

3. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Lawson
    As a third generation Canadian I am glad that we encourage immigration to Canada, even for people like you. Welcome. I am sure that you have noticed that it is left wing Canadians who encourage immigration… it is also left wing Canadians who oppose polygyny as well af female genital mutilation. Maybe you are a secret left winger… either that or you are gruesomely uninformed about Canada.

4. NorthernObserver Avatar

@WW&C
    FYI, I didn’t confirm anything. @plt penned that John and CH were related via interlocking marriages, which I questioned. The lot of them went to school together, not I. Truth be told, between formal marriage, common law and a myriad of ‘outside strikes’ resulting in a child, half the island is likely related, if we go back far enough.

5. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Northern Observer June 1, 2020 11:35 AM
    “plt penned that John and CH were related via interlocking marriages, which I questioned.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    You questioned it on the basis of what information??

6. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Ya done know everybody is cousin, just like the cousins in the Palace…who is surprised..it’s their wonderful creation of which they should be proud..

i didn’t see the part about John and CH and any marriage, am so glad too, that would only add another layer of confusion to the whole sordid saga….ah was just confirming as John did the other thing…

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

@plt
    That I do not ‘think’ they are related via marriage.

8. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@NorthernObserver
    Are you saying that you “think” based on no information?

9. Peter we apparently have some things in common ….we both like Charles for example

10. NorthernObserver Avatar

I am saying based on my knowledge, which is admittedly both old and incomplete, I am unaware of the family connection by marriage. Possibly an offspring could have married a relative.

11. Peter everyone in Barbados is related I would gamble similar to the island of dr moreau, but a lot of towns and hamlets are the same iceland has an app to tell relatives by touching phones as I said before when two people from st john get a divorce are they still brother and sister. Now it appears you go way back in Canada I am sure your family has done very well here in this horribly racist country.

12. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

I did do very well in Canada, as did my sister. My brother’s career has been in the USA, where he is extremely successful. There is no big secret to it… half of it is good luck and the other half is being twice as good at what you do than the racists around you are.

I illustrate what it looks like from my own experience. In 2003 I took the position of Executive Director of a dysfunctional arts organization that had gone through 7 chief executives in the previous 9 years and was on the brink of insolvency. I turned the organization around, grew its budget by 100% in real dollar terms, and pioneered innovative programmes which led the world in our field and won us national awards. I resigned in 2015 and the board hired a very talented White woman, who I had mentored for 5 years, as my replacement. When I left, my staff let me know how much they appreciated what I had accomplished, but the community at large barely noticed. When my successor was hired away a couple of weeks ago the community exploded in an orgy of pleading with her to stay and the newspapers published article after article about everything she had achieved: EVERY LAST ONE OF THEM were things that the organization had achieved before she took the position in 2015.

Racism is not simply conscious hatred, it is much bigger and more complex than that.

13. @ Crazy and Unstable, Hogging the Blog

YES, who is married to whom BECOMES MY OR ANYBODY ELSE DAMN BUSINESS WHEN PEOPLE LIKE YOU COME ON A PUBLIC BLOG LIKE BU, spilling yuh HATE FILLED RACIST SHYTE EVERYDAY, TALKING BOUT BLACK FACES IN PARLIAMENT AND CALLING WHITE PEOPLE ALL KINDS OF NASTY NAMES. THEN YUH GOT THE GALL TO TURN ROUND AND FEEL PROUD BRAGGING BOUT BEING MARRIED TO A WHITE MAN AND HAVE CHINESE IN-LAWS.

You does come here on BU to PUBLICLY criticize white people EVERY SINGLE DAY, calling them all KINDS of nasty names yuh could think of. But yuh does wake up in the PRIVACY of yuh bedroom, to call one of the SAME WHITE MINORITY THIEVES, HONEY, DARLING OR SWEETHEART.

AND YOU SHOULD BE THE LAST BODY THAT SAY PEOPLE LIKE TOO MUCH GOSSIP. If anybody poop pun facebook or whatsapp, before they could say if it SMELL SWEET, STINK OR AIN’T GOT NO SMELL UH TALL, you does done got the poop post on BU. I even read that YOU SAY THAT YOU DOES MAKE UP THINGS AND POST TO BU.

Them is things that people that like too much gossip does do. When they hear something, they DON’T CARE IF IT TRUE OR NOT, they does run with it because it sound juicy. AND THEY DOES MAKE UP THINGS.

YOU JUST AIN’T GOT NO SHAME.

14. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Lawson
    Racism is not simply conscious hatred, it is much bigger and more complex than that.

Racism is a complex system of dynamic levers and assumptions set up generations ago that continues to work on behalf of White people at everyone else’s expense. That Is why I’m always dragging you back 14 generations to pay attention to the 1661 Act for the Better Ordering and Governing of Negroes.

It does not matter whether White people know about it, like it, or are aware of it in any way. Racism is an insidious cultural disease which does not care whether you, as a White person, like Black people or not, it still infects how you deal with people who do not look like you. It still enables you to deny that Canada is racist and believe that you are correct even after every level of the court system up to and including the Supreme Court of Canada has acknowledged that it has been proven according to the most stringent standards of law that Canada is indeed racist.

Yes, racism sometimes looks like hatred, but that is only one manifestation. Privilege is another. Access is another. Ignorance is another. Apathy is another. Entitlement is another. Discomfort is another. Willful blindness is another.

It is commonplace to say that nobody is born racist, but racism is a powerful cultural environment that you are born into as surely as you are born into the atmosphere and take your first breath. It is an infection that you need to devote effort to filtering out of your life and your interactions with your fellow human beings.

I do not care what color skin you have, unless you are consciously being anti-racist, unless you are putting thought and effort into becoming self aware of the manner that racist assumptions and attitudes are infecting your interactions with others, then you are going to be racist. It is not enough to simply not hate. Hate is only the tip of the iceberg… the most damaging parts of racism lie below the waterline.

15. heres the problem Peter when you you think racism is all around you , you become very introverted trusting no-one , so maybe if you had started that outreach program Carolyn wouldn’t have got your job.

16. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Lawson
    I DID start the outreach program and trained Carolyn how to run it. Then I GAVE my job to Carolyn.

17. peterlawrencethompson
    June 1, 2020 11:41 AM

@Northern Observer June 1, 2020 11:35 AM
    “plt penned that John and CH were related via interlocking marriages, which I questioned.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    You questioned it on the basis of what information??

Everybody in Barbados is related to everybody else.

The Herberts were originally Quaker as were my ancestors.

Both from Christ Church/St. Philip.

Who knows,

I went to school with Charles Herbert.

I doubt you will find anyone from that era who knew him with anything other than respect for him.

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Lawson
    See how your racist assumptions are working?

19. lol so what do mean by mentoring,

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@LawsonJune 1, 2020 1:12 PM
    “lol so what do mean by mentoring,”
    ++++++++++++++++=
    men·tor
    /ˈmenˌtôr,ˈmenˌtər/
    noun
    an experienced and trusted adviser.
    verb
    advise or train (someone, especially a younger colleague).

21. Maybe the Herberts, the Ashby’s, the Hunte’s, the Todd’s, the Arthur’s, the Draytons etc etc attended the same Quaker Meeting in Christ Church/St. Philip back in the 17th and 18th centuries.

Quaker married Quaker.

22. your official bilingualism is showing ….you want the menage director no un…

23. 12 For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world, against spiritual wickedness in high places.

13 Wherefore take unto you the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.

That’s why I am still standing!!

24. “Peter everyone in Barbados is related”
    I would bet my last dollar that I am not related to Lorenzo and Robert.
    Where is @Lorenzo?

25. … and continually being amazed by God’s goodness and grace!!

26. I found an Evelyn/Bynoe marriage from 1782 which might be the link referred to but I would have to check.

An intriguing possibility!!

27. @PLT

How can you be a third generation Canadian. Are you confusing Canadian heritage with being a third generation? You have an identity problem. Is that the source of your anger? I am glad you are an engineer and not a sociologist.

28. I would bet my last dollar that I am not related to Lorenzo and Robert. {Quote}

???????????????????????

I don’tr know bout Lorenzo———– but

29. Anti-Trump mayors and governors are done enforcing the lockdown – at least for rioters

When Americans tried to venture out in public to reopen businesses, liberal governors and mayors threatened them with the full force and power of the law.

When rioters ventured out to burn buildings and assault officers, those same mayors and governors didn’t lift and finger to stop them. Worse, they enabled them.

If you’re a barber, salon owner, or restaurant owner, you could be fined or imprisoned under lockdown rules. But if you want to burn a barbershop, salon or restaurant, you’ll probably get away with it.

The coronavirus lockdown is seemingly down and out, as many Democrats in charge of big cities — including several who once insisted on strict quarantine measures — line up to champion the nationwide mass demonstrations over the in-custody death of George Floyd, sans social distancing.

New York Gov. Andrew Cuomo lashed out at protesters calling to reopen the state earlier this month, saying at a news conference, “you have no right to jeopardize my health … and my children’s health and your children’s health.” Cuomo’s directives have been enforced throughout the state: A New York City tanning salon owner told Fox News he was fined $1,000 for reopening briefly last week, calling the situation “insane” and saying he already was “broke.”

On Friday, though, Cuomo said he “stands” with those defying stay-at-home orders: “Nobody is sanctioning the arson, and the thuggery and the burglaries, but the protesters and the anger and the fear and the frustration? Yes. Yes, and the demand is for justice.”

There you have it – Cuomo is “sanctioning” the gathering of large bodies of people in the midst of a pandemic.

It’s not just Cuomo – Minneapolis Mayor Jacob Frey is guilty of the same:

Minneapolis Mayor Jacob Frey, meanwhile, had warned that in-person worship services would be a “public-health disaster,” disregarding constituents’ concerns that he was violating their First Amendment rights. Now, his administration has been distributing masks to rioters, even though public gatherings of 10 or more are still ostensibly banned. Frey also allowed a police station to burn, saying it was necessary to protect police and rioters.

It’s just more evidence that the elites in this country believe that the law shouldn’t apply to them. These protests aren’t about justice, at least not for those who disagree with the ruling class.

30. Shucks Uh was so excited, uh post the wrong one.

It should:

31. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“I would bet my last dollar that I am not related to Lorenzo and Robert.
    Where is @Lorenzo?”

lol…now ya mention it, people on FB are asking why the BLACK Caribbean leaders are so SILENT….we dun know they don’t consider themselves Africans with their fraudulent selves…..but they still BLACK…

and let’s not talk about the fowls…they always got all kinda talk for me, but a BLACK person like themselves got brutally murdered live on camera and they can’t say a word, wait until they coming telling me anything again and know that i owe them already….

the ones who live in US are probably hiding from bullets…

32. Derek Chauvin and Floyd worked security at the El Nuevo Rodeo club, down the street from Minneapolis’ Third Precinct, according to Maya Santamaria, the club’s former owner who sold the venue within the last few months.

Floyd, who Santamaria called a “great guy” known for his big smile, often worked as an extra security guard on Tuesdays when the club held popular “urban” music nights. Chauvin served as an off-duty police officer for the club for almost 17 years.

“I wouldn’t characterize them as knowing each other,” Santamaria told CNN’s Josh Campbell in an interview. “We did all work together at the club at different points of time, certainly on Tuesday nights on and off. We were all working on the same team.”

Santamaria added, “We all worked together certain nights and they would have crossed paths.”

33. @ John June 1, 2020 1:10 PM
    “Everybody in Barbados is related to everybody else.
    The Herberts were originally Quaker as were my ancestors.
    Both from Christ Church/St. Philip.”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

What do you mean by that bold assertion “everybody in Barbados is related to everybody else” made in such a dogmatic fashion and in ‘black and white’?

Are you implying that all so-called Bajan whites have been daubed by the African slave tar brush but still trying in these ancestry-tracing times to ‘pass for white’?

If your claim holds weight to put more in the mortar than the pestle, then that makes all white and black Bajans from the good ole cane piece days all ‘Coloured People’ from rolling in the hay; not so Mr. Commander’s Mulatto?

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“TALKING BOUT BLACK FACES IN PARLIAMENT AND CALLING WHITE PEOPLE ALL KINDS OF NASTY NAMES.”

see how yall hate the TRUTH….don’t they have BLACK FACES IN THE PARLIAMENT……what color faces are they…i bet you that you will want to call them what they want to be called, but me, i see BLACK FACES i call them black faces, that is what they are along with being thieves, sell outs, corrupt and all the other stuff both lowlife governments have always been TO OWN THEIR PEOPLE..

how many whites you see on here complaining because i call them nasty names?….but there you are with ya fraud self complaining for them….did they ask you to complain for them, ya will always be stupid…….steupppsss..

35. John
    June 1, 2020 1:43 PM

I found an Evelyn/Bynoe marriage from 1782 which might be the link referred to but I would have to check.
    An intriguing possibility!!

Both Charles Herbert and I may share a common Bynoe ancestor.

We may be cousins.

The first or second generation of that Evelyn/Bynoe marriage I reckon is the father of my great great grandmother.

Possibly 5th or 6th cousins five or six times removed.

I have to admit I never understood the removals and degrees right so might be out.

36. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin June 1, 2020 1:47 PM
    I am Canadian by descent from my maternal grandparents who emigrated to Canada from Barbados before 1920.

37. 🙂
    I was not expecting that reaction. I was expecting an ‘angry’ response and not a good joke.
    🙂
    Perhaps Lorenzo may yet come through.
    Stay safe.
    Peace until the next time.

38. @ Hal June 1, 2020 1:47 PM

” I am glad you are an engineer and not a sociologist.” @ PLT
    I came across an article by PLT in the “nation” of 10 th. May 2020. In a foot note at the end of the article it is stated that he is a “management consultant who works toward the social and economic development of Barbados”. So unless the foot note is incorrect ,you seem to be wrong of course, unless he is an engineering management consultant. You may also be tongue-in-cheek with your comment.
    I take it you are sorry that Cummings has survived the attempt to oust him. Boris your arch enemy must be elated.

39. Freedom Crier Avatar

Lady Cop Friend of Freedom

This is how we roll in Miami

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1324531327745640&set=a.594263764105737&type=3&theater

40. @ Robert

Yes. Cummings should have been sacked and marched out of Downing Street by armed police. As to @PLT, he will have to explain. He has said he studied engineering at McGill, he attended a few economic lectures, I cannot remember reading anything about management studies, but he has been involved in a coding school and raising money for NGOs. Unless the latter is his management consultancy. He is a man of many talents. Good on him.

41. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@robert lucas
    Hal is not incorrect… I did an engineering degree at McGill, but I never practiced as an engineer. I designed and built sailboats, which utilized my technical education, but never bothered to become a professional engineer.

42. @Peter

Some of us get it, you are an educated man. Now stop following others down the rabbit hole.

43. @PLT

Where am I incorrect? I said you claimed to have studied engineering at McGill. I did not say you WORKED as an engineer. I know BU is notorious for misrepresenting people, but I did not expect you to follow the mob. Respond to what I say and not what you think I have said.
    Plse re-read what I said and correct it, if wrong. It is the same misrepresentation that @Mariposa has surfed before being banned.

44. @PLT

Apologies. I misread your post.

45. @Hal
    It would be faitr bfor you to point out “he does not suffer from the disadvantage of learning by rote”, The man stepped out of his ‘rote sphere of knowledge’.

46. From all reports Trump read the riot act to Governors today, control the violence in your states or…

A frightening thought dared to penetrate the thoughts of the blogmaster this minute- what if the policeman is found not guilty?