It was recently announced, by the Government Information Service, that the Protective Service Commission has approved the appointment of Mr. Oral Williams on promotion to the post of Deputy Commissioner of Police in the Royal Barbados Police Force, with effect from May 1, 2020.

I really don’t know if I should congratulate or offer commiserations to Mr. Williams. This has nothing to do with his fitness for the post. I do not know of his work or performance as a senior police officer and cannot speak to his fitness. My concern is that he has been appointed to a non-existent post, since someone is already substantively appointed Deputy Commissioner.

The Police Act, Chapter 167 of the Laws of Barbados, states at section 6:

The Force shall consist of a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner and such number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables respectively as does not exceed the number provided by any order made under section 2 of the Civil Establishments Act: but the members of the Force at 16th October 1961, shall continue to be members of the Force and shall be subject to this Act.

The number of persons appointed to the post of Commissioner and Deputy Commissioner is subject to primary legislation, in this case the Police Act, and can only be changed by an amendment to that Act done in Parliament. On the other hand, the Police Act goes on to give the Minister responsible for Civil Establishments the power, by subsidiary legislation, to determine the number of Assistant Commissioners, Superintendents, Inspectors, subordinate police officers and constables.

For completeness, the Civil Establishments Act was repealed and replaced by the Public Service Act on December 31, 2007. The power to determine the number of posts in the Public Service is now found at section 13.(1) of the Public Service Act.

The power to make appointments to public offices and to remove and to exercise disciplinary control over persons holding or acting in the Public Service is vested in the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of service commissions, in this case the Protective Service Commission. That service commission, like all others in Barbados, can only recommend the appointment of persons to post that are available. There is only one post of Deputy Commissioner available and that is already filled.

Who is responsible for this cock-up? Is this yet another example of this Government not getting anything right the first?

1,036 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Mock Police”

1. Too many lies and retractions and thinking people on this blog stupid. I will tell wunnah something, not many in the diasporas will want to go live in Barbados under this government. Can’t be trusted and the acolytes, if MIA say a table is cheese, will eat it. I putting the building of my house on hold. However, we will be coming home to vote them out, like we did with the DLP.

2. @ Senator Franklyn
    “Let’s for argument sake accept that the PM had the power to create another post of deputy commissioner, she would have to lay the order in the House of Assembly and the Senate. So says the Section 13.(1)(b)of the Public Service Act. However, section 13.(3) says that an order made under section 13.(1) is subject to affirmative resolution.”

I am a fair person and right is right. Until I hear an opposing argument, from my reading I would have to temporarily cede this point. To me as a layman, you appear to be correct here. Fair is fair. I’ll wait and see any counter-arguments.

3. @ Dame Bajans
    “Too many lies and retractions and thinking people on this blog stupid. I will tell wunnah something, not many in the diasporas will want to go live in Barbados under this government.”

I always find such sentiments curious. As far as I can see, majority of our diaspora live in the US and UK and those two nations have had a less than sterling last decade.

4. @ Silver Sleeves & Gold Cuff Links

Respect? respect? wunna people would not know that word respect if it was to jump up and bite you in the same private parts that M*** bite she victim

5. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

Your assistance please with an item here that references the Coat of Arms

6. @ Myself May 16, 2020 4:52 PM

The Prime Minister is a lawyer of much repute and wide acclaim being the youngest person to be raised to Queen’s Counsel in our legal history. Senator Franklyn at first raised another line of argument, which Mottley rebutted the original issue and he is now raising another in hopes of rebutting that rebuttal.

At any rate the politicking is not what is necessary at this point. The government has an obligation to make things right. If they are presently not right, I hope that it will be resolved very soon. We have to come expect that level of transparency from our government and it is a level which we deserve.

Therefore, as this new argument is raised, I urge caution before jumping to one conclusion or another. My position has always been on this matter to hear all sides. My first comment said that if true I would be startled by Senator’s revelation. I maintained that position. Yesterday the PM sought to clarify drawing a line under the matter and it appeared to most of the country that she had the weight of law on her side. As we receive this new line of argument, it is important to give it the same balance as before. Rushing to judgement is never sensible. Ultimately, the Government and People of Barbados are both best served when we have a responsive, transparent government.

7. @Khaleel

Why did the AG apologize and promised to rectify the matter as soon as Parliament resumes sittings?

8. @ David

I have spoken twice to my understanding of what the AG said. I wait now to see if there is any further clarification. But beyond my own interpretation of what I heard the PM say and the AG, I can’t tell you why the AG would do one thing or another. I get my news just like most people do and that method doesn’t give me any special insights. At the moment, I still think the two statement jive with each other. We’ll see

9. Dame bajans who you think you are fooling thst you a dem vote out the last government. I think in spite of your vote they were rightfully voted out.Therefore you should come home like your overseas dem friends Sarge , Hants , Greene, and Austin and vote for the Dems see how far they get with the political nightwatchman.

10. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“I am absolutely certain that the Senate did not debate and pass the resolution to give effect to the order.”

that is what Kahleel will now learn, if this order/amendment had passed the Senate, everyone in the senate would know about it…lol…i keep trying to tell him that Dale would not have only found the amendment, but would have known about it before he said the Police Act needed amending…

…..and i wasted a whole damn hour which i knew would be wasted on that because i knew it was a distraction while they look for some loophole to escape from……steuppps….

11. Now that the PM has spoken does that mean the whole matter has been relegated to a tempest in a teapot and her word is final? I am reminded of the phrase “If X says so is so” which means to all intents and purposes the matter is finito except for some minor technicalities. As there is no opposition in parliament can any Court decide the legality of the action? As a result of its 30-0 majority Is the Government now a law unto itself? The PM’s word has an air of finality so may I suggest that she appoint Ezra Alleyne to the Senate and make him Atty. General since the current occupant of the post appears to be out of his element and his statement of contrition is a historical footnote. For purposes of this submission I defer to my good friend “Hants” who opined ‘The PM is correct”😊 but I keep warning wunnah about the tyranny of the majority but wunnah like it so.

12. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala May 16, 2020 5:13 PM

Why don’t you just err on the side of caution and back Caswell on this one?

You will not be losing any face among the BU intelligentsia. For which one among us is perfect other than the man from London Mr. Spot On?

Maybe the possession of a ‘de facto’ LEC might swing the case in favour of Caswell’s well argued position which hinges solely on that sine qua non condition: must be subject to “Affirmative Resolution”.

Is that a legally false line of reasoning?

Maybe your AG is smarter than you are prepared to admit and has spotted this loophole to offer an apology.

However, section 13.(3) says that an order made under section 13.(1) is subject to affirmative resolution.”

13. @Khaleel

If we accept that the AG is lawyer for the government it logically follows his perspective on the matter should be given commensurate weight. If as you expressed there is an element of doubt created by the AG’s second intervention, then to address the matter in absolutes is not recommended.

14. @ David

The only persons speaking in absolutes are those decrying the AG without hearing the full complement of facts.

15. @Khaleel

Shouldn’t the lawyer for the government be seized with facts to support his obligation to discharge his responsibility to the citizens of Barbados of full disclosure?

16. @ David

Once again you ascribe to me a higher status than I presume to have. The Attorney General in all of this could very well be fully seized of that facts. Again my interpretation of the two statements leads me to believe that he and the Prime Minister were on the same page. In the fullness of time, as I said, we will hear all sides and be able to make deductions therefrom. It would be a shame to have a fully-staffed AG’s Office if your question is not the case David.

17. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

The reality is if the order had passed the senate everyone would have known about it including Dale the Attorney General who said he found the Police Act, which NEEDS AN AMENDMENT…that is one that not a fowl nor a rat can escape from, he said it in black and white…….

Only fowls would believe Mia, no one else does, no one appointed her or elected her to be any damn dictator so her word, final or not don’t mean shit….only maybe to fowls, but they don’t count…

18. Many of you might not know this but de ole man going tell wunna dis

Senator Caswell Franklyn is a man who did not inherit any “silver spoon”

What he has acquired he has done through his own efforts.

And to do so ALL HE HAS HAD was his word!

He takes that word very seriously and will NOT PERMIT IT TO BE SULLIED BY anyone or anything!

This dishonest attempt to subvert the Public Service Act WOULD NOT HAVE SECURED HIS SUPPORT if it was not true!

Not Caswell Franklyn!

That is the type of person who will represent every and all bajans and that is type of man that we the electorate want

WE TIRED OF THE BLP & DLP SCUM!

https://imgur.com/a/lAuHKyX

19. And finally, after 718 comments fought against the 15 member horde of the Mugabe dictatorship we are back where Piece the Prophet started telling all of you.

Senator Caswell Franklyn has pointed out the incontrovertible truth!

Why would Mugabe be seeking to force people to accept this illegal appointment of a non-existent post AND, more importantly, lie and insist that she has passed the amendment in Senate?

As de ole man said at the onset IT IS ONLY BECAUSE “these are the actions of a Despot”

https://imgur.com/a/xCmuysD

20. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

Once more Honourable Blogmaster your aid is required

21. @ Khaleel Kothdiwala May 16, 2020 4:31 PM
    “To be courteous, s.91 was amended to reflect the establishment of a new PSC in subsection 1.
    This is as far down this rabbit hole that I am going.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Please young Sir, please can the senile miller have a bit more of your enlightening porridge of Constitutional knowledge?

You don’t have to wander down the rabbit hole.
    Just let us know when the amendment to S.91 was discussed and approved in Parliament to “reflect the establishment of a new PSC in subsection 1”.

That will go a long way in bringing closure to this long debated matter since the instrument of appointment carrying the seal of the GG on the advice of a duly ‘constituted’ PSC is the ultimate test of validity of the establishment and filling of the second post of DCoP.

For Sovereign immunity (the Queen or Her representative can do no ‘wrongs’) is paramount under your form of governance called constitutional monarchy.

22. @ Millsy

You know as well as I that the amendment to which you refer was passed in both Houses in April of last year. Do spare us this futile exercise. Where you are going there is nothing to mine, my dear Millsy

23. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Well…Khaleel was warned that he would run himself into trouble, he cannot say that we are beasts, we tell him before hand what will happen, part of his learning process.

24. @ Piece

I felt kind and gave one of your little cartoons a click. That last one has me puzzled. 27 years? What about Sandie’s 7 years? Or was he not a Dem. He crossed the floor to the NDP too? And the 21 years before Sandie? You might not want to include Tom Adams’ 9 and Bree St John’s 13 months as that was a solid decade. You might not want to include Barrow’s first decade, but surely you have to include the 71-76 term with all of the largesse that went on then. So Piece what happen with the selective memory. For a person who claims to be 80 lol you seem only to go back to 94

25. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

Help de ole man nuh? Thank you

26. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

And has anyone noticed that all the seasoned and marinated fowls ran away…

There are two pieces of marijuana legislation sitting, according to a lawyer, in Mia’s pocket still waiting to be proclaimed, she refused to proclaim it because some are of the opinion that she is waiting for her people to set up themselves first aka sold out already to minorities or the highest bidder…….those in the know said she has been sitting on it for a lot of months too….because she just does not want the people who have been criminalized for decades to have the marijuana, she would much prefer see them starve and definitely don’t want the population to have even 4 plants a year for their household use for medicine etc..

…. the Rasta community had to put the government in court because she don’t want them, who have had their rights violated and been abused by both self-hating black face governments for decades…….it is said that the plan was always to sell out the marijuana and then her people have to go work for those she sold out to…

……then after all of that, she would want the people to vote for her sell out self come 2023…she can wait for that…

in saying that …there may have been a draft order to amend the Police Act , but that does not mean it went anywhere, again, Caswell would have seen it, if there was, there is no reason for him to lie about something as silly as ministers believing they are above the law, the idiots always do…it is a constant…until they need to beg for votes again.

So what about the brand new, newly minted “forced savings” where there is NO AMENDMENT to the Barbados Protection of Wages Act…. BUT Mia jumped out all excited yesterday, all decked out with parasitic minorities, as though she already amended it to reflect paying employees in useless bonds, something that IS STILL ILLEGAL…but she sounded very much yesterday like she already amended it using her illegal utterings and by so doing acting as though she already made it legal just by talking it into existence…

….no one elected any vote begging dicktator..

that is why i did not want to go down any rabbit hole with fowls when there is something more insidious and devious brewing….and which will require the vigilant being distracted so that it can be put in place…..in their usual evil style of being garden variety lowlifes and sell outs.

27. @WARU

“Vote begging dictator” – what on earth is that 🤣🤣🤣

You seem to be quite besotted with this forced savings idea. I don’t know if David will permit me to address it here but suffice it to say when you criticise a government for trying to engineer strategies so that they don’t have to send breadwinners home to hungry children, you could at least have the common decency ti try to come up with an alternative.

28. @blogmaster
    I know they will be back petulant and unrepenting.
    To show their toughness they will even take a few swipes at you, but I am beginning to miss seeing
    “Spot on” and the “Bajan condition”
    Any ban should be temporary

29. Our Most Honourable Prime Minister has, fortunately for Barbados, agreed with my view of the law.

The Deputy’s appointment was perfectly legal. The emergency legislation is the new constitutional norm. Mia Mottley is allowed to act as legislator. That’s what she did with that power play.

The senator must finally realize that he is in the wrong and must apologize to the prime minister personally. So do some bloggers who find the senator’s legal position “acceptable”.

30. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Being slick with words, cannot change facts….some of us did not even have to be privy to the the Police Act to realize what happened, same old bullshit slick tactics….no wonder the seasoned fowls ran away and left Kahleel…..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/05/16/depeiza-williams-post-still-non-existent/

“Wheel and come again, Madame Prime Minister.

That’s the suggestion from President of the Democratic Labour Party, Verla DePeiza, who today issued a statement indicating that other than political grandstanding yesterday, Prime Minister Mia Mottley had still not addressed the legitimacy of the appointment of Oral Williams to the rank of Deputy Commissioner of Police.

Referring to a statement by Mottley that in February this year she had signed a statutory instrument, which was laid in the House on March 3 and in the Senate on March 11 that established a post for a second Deputy Commissioner, DePeiza suggested that the Prime Minister had gotten her law wrong.

Depeiza noted that certain procedures to legitimize the amendment to the Public Service Act had not been done and Williams was still functioning in a post that did not legally exist.

DePeiza said that under section 13 (3) of the Public Service Act, the Minister could establish posts by an Order but that Order needed to be passed by affirmative resolution, which she explained meant it had to be debated and voted on in both Upper and Lower Houses of Parliament. The longstanding attorney-at-law asserted that this was never done.”

31. You know you’re scraping the barrel when you can seriously look at a person and use Verla De Peiza as substantiation for something.

32. WARU

Clearly quite a few fowls are still sticking around.

33. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“you could at least have the common decency ti try to come up with an alternative.”

well…since am not the one LYING CONSISTENTLY TO TAXPAYERS and the PUBLIC… nor told the voters i can deliver the sun and the moon and lock up the corrupt DLP ministers for robbing the treasury and pension fund while swinging a red bag of evidence…..neither did i tell them how corrupt Maloney was and that he should be in jail…..thwn as soon as the people elected her ran off with the same Maloney as a business partner……i never begged anyone for their votes…

i can go on with the long list of EMPTY PROMISES AND LIES…..but suffice it to say that i am not the one who has to come up with an alternative, that JOB lies with those sucking on the treasury, them and their useless consultants and hangerson……

…so why should they must be the ones collecting salaries for doing very little, while someone else comes up with the ideas, oh really……why are you trying to make these liars and parasites in the lives of the people so special…

34. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

If you are going to be a lawyer who lie incessantly, at least be an intelligent one….if ya capable..

..read slowly to understand…

“DePeiza said that under section 13 (3) of the Public Service Act, the Minister could establish posts by an Order but that Order needed to be passed by affirmative resolution, which she explained meant it had to be debated and voted on in both Upper and Lower Houses of Parliament. The longstanding attorney-at-law asserted that this was never done.

“This is necessary because subsidiary legislation (like Orders) cannot impliedly repeal primary legislation (Acts of Parliament). This is different from just qualifications, which by subsection (4) can be done by negative resolution (no vote unless someone objects). So simply signing an Order and laying it in Parliament will not create the post. It has to be subject to a debate and a vote in both Houses, which has not happened,” DePeiza stressed.

The DLP leader said what was even more concerning was that Attorney General Dale Marshall had admitted that Williams had been employed since May 2019.

“No amount of political grandstanding will detract from the fact that a public officer has been functioning in a post that does not exist,” she said.”

35. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Verla is echoing what Caswell has been saying, no order was laid before the parliament for debate, never got to be amended, that order apparently only got as far as draft form, she is quoting legislation,……you cannot even do that nor can any of the fowls now looking on as they have from morning when they realized you are the only one being fooled…..

.you are quoting a lying PM…who has nothing to back up her lies…and can only now resort to amending the Police Act, after the fact, as i have been saying from morning…

36. @WARU May 16, 2020 9:23 PM

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another” John 13:34-35

The depths of your hatred is quite pitiful WARU. What is even worse is that you are blissfully unaware that it has completely infected you obscuring fully your vision. May the Lord have mercy on you!

37. I will not validate your visceral hatred anymore by engaging with you anymore while you are in this state dear woman (I think you indicated you were a woman). You are so superlatively lost in hatred that there is little I can say to you but wish you well.

38. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

so that is your excuse….

yeah, yeah, but you need to pray for yaself seeing as you are so easily misled, you will have no choice but to learn just how far the evil will go to deceive and sell out their own people….

i will wait patiently for the next cockup….when they point you in the direction that will see you being successfully led astray AGAIN and we have to reel you back in…

keep it up and the elders on the blog will get tired and abandon you….you have to be much quicker on the uptake.

39. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller…ah so sorry those OLD dried up wicked FOWLS can’t get charged for child abuse, look at what they are doing to someone’s son, but karma and retribution do not forget these repulsive acts by hard back adults who should know better…

Don’t worry Kahleel, the next cockup is just around the corner and we will all be here for that one…..the entertainment value is unmatched…

i do not give anyone the satisfaction of seeing or feeling any hate coming from me, they will not be allowed to use me to hide their own shortcomings, lack of intelligence etc, etc….don’t mean i cannot tell them exactly how i feel, no other human is to be put on any pedestal unless they deserve it through sacrifice…..but the greedy and selfish tend not to sacrifice anything because they believe everything is about them..

40. The racist WARU in her hate and madness wanted to drive all white people off the island for years. Now already 95 percent of all white people (villa owners and tourists) are no longer here.

Instead, the island is sinking into chaos. Unemployment rate almost 40 percent, tendency strongly rising. The black masses suffer as they last suffered before 1834.

Is this what you wanted, keyboard warrior WARU?

41. @Khaleel

I do not reside in either the USA or the UK.

@ Lorenzo:
    “Dame bajans who you think you are fooling thst you a dem vote out the last government. I think in spite of your vote they were rightfully voted out.Therefore you should come home like your overseas dem friends Sarge , Hants , Greene, and Austin and vote for the Dems see how far they get with the political nightwatchman.”

Everyone who says anything against this government has to be a D. Well, I am from St. Joseph. No one in my family has ever voted Dems. They did not even vote for our cousin who ran against Dale in the last election. So please, give me a break and go back to your hideout or hole.

42. @ Lorenzo May 16, 2020 5:28 PM

You’ve hit a real spot here.

A new DLP terror regime will bomb the island back to the stone age. People will turn back into animals, walk on all fours. Barbados will become a mixture of Haiti, Jamaica and the Congo. The DLP stands for economic slavery, nepotism, mismanagement and corruption.

We cannot afford another Chris Sinckler. The promotion of the handicapped must not go so far that such a figure destroys the island completely.

43. @ Dame Bajans

Too many lies and retractions and thinking people on this blog stupid. I will tell wunnah something, not many in the diasporas will want to go live in Barbados under this government. Can’t be trusted and the acolytes, if MIA say a table is cheese, will eat it. I putting the building of my house on hold. However, we will be coming home to vote them out, like we did with the DLP.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

YOU ARE A VERY WISE AND OBSERVANT WOMAN.

44. Piece the Prophet Avatar
    Piece the Prophet

@ the Honourable Blogmaster please to fings some items that have not posted

https://i.imgur.com/nhlJjQh.jpg

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

If you cannot convince them, then confuse them.

46. I can only repeat my accusation.

The senator obviously lives in another country. He opposes the cut in civil servants’ salaries proposed by our Most Honourable Prime Minister because “it is a one-sided burden on the civil servants”. The Senator is a vile populist and hypocritical politician, because he conceals the fact that there are no mass lay-offs in the civil service and that two years ago they received an excessive pay rise. The Senatoir doesn’t give a damn about the many unemployed and the state budget, because he only kisses the civil servants’ ***.

47. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

For young Khaleel…stop being mislead by old, hardened yardfowls whom no one listens to and a PM who lives to deceive her people….here is Guyson Mayers, there is only deputy cop post….only one, there was no amendment to the Police Act…..the second deputy post is illegal…..and a string of other developments that meant the dude could not be hired legally anyway…

old fowls can read and weep..

“I regret having to further embroil the Royal Barbados Police Force in controversy, especially at a time when its members need to focus on keeping our people safe.

However, I feel constrained to clarify the fog created by statements made by the Prime Minister on the unlawful appointment of a person to a post that does not exist in that organisation.

The Prime Minister pointed to an interview in 2012 or 2013 after which unsuccessful candidates for the post of Deputy Commissioner were ranked in priority in the event that the post became vacant.

The single post of Deputy Commissioner has not become vacant since the appointment of the successful candidate.

From what I have heard in her delivery the Prime Minister at no point addressed the critical factor which is the legality of the appointment of a person to a post that does not exist.

As a result, through no fault of his own, a long serving officer is being used to deflect the unfortunate action of which he is the subject.

Political tampering has caused problems in the Force before. It seems set to do it again.”

48. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Miller and Piece…..the losers lost again….here’s the whole link..

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/05/16/dlp-general-secretary-responds-to-pms-statement/

49. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Now yall can come out and try to twist this into something that will never exist…

are yall ashames yet, nah, i doubt it, yall are not intelligent Enuff to feel any shame for serious matters, but want others to feel shame for petty shite….yall are public nuisances…

another 30-0 can be ARRANGED BY THE ELECTORATE …..for the dicktator wannabe though….

watch muh nuh…deceitful liars…

50. Looks like the Nation newspaper has seen the need to do a PR job. So far in the debate there has been no widespread bashing of Williams. It has been about the legality of the appointment.

High praise for new deputy deputy commissioner

Stories by Sanka Price

sankaprice@nationnews.com

Who is Oral Williams?

That question has been repeatedly asked by many Barbadians since Senator Caswell Franklyn questioned the legality of his May 1 appointment on promotioncourses

Intense training

to the post of Deputy Commissioner of Police in the Royal Barbados Police Force (RBPF).

For many, his name faintly rings a bell as he is not often in the media making statements. But for those who have worked with this career lawman that theSunday Sun spoke with, he is the embodiment of the excellence the force strives for. Prior to his now controversial promotion, Williams was possibly the longest serving Assistant Commissioner of Police in history having been appointed to that position on February 1, 2004, 16 years, three months ago. In those intervening years, he served as Acting Commissioner of Police and Acting Deputy Commissioner of Police on numerous occasions. Now in his 42nd year as a don’t know him,” opined a sergeant who spoke on condition of anonymity.

Another sergeant said as Williams came through the ranks from constable to Assistant Commissioner he understands what policemen go through at each level and can relate to them; that is why policemen respect him and fear him.

“They know he travelled that road and would understand. They know they can’t get things past him either,” said that sergeant.

Caribbean to achieve international certification by the Commission on Accreditation for Law Enforcement Agencies (CALEA) in 1997. He served for many years as accreditation manager and along with then Commissioner of Police Grantley Watson and Wayne Webster (now with the National Cultural Foundation) travelled to Cincinnati, United States where they received the letters of accreditation. That move meant the RBPF became an internationally recognised police force which functioned according to stipulated standards, maintained its mission and was transparent in its actions.

He also worked along with now retired Superintendent David Bourne and Senior Superintendent John Sealy in the development and establishment of the Neighbourhood Watch programme.

He also served as Commandant of the Regional Police Training Centre here for four years (1998 to 2002), before being seconded for 14 months as Director of Plans and Policies at the Regional Security Systems from 2002.

For those who currently work with Williams though, these things pale in significance to the man’s demeanor as an officer and a father figure to many in the force.

“He is a fair man who is about the development of the force and policemen. He is not about projecting himself and what he does. That is why a lot of average people FBI) policeman, Williams is one of the most widely trained and qualified senior officers in the RBPF. He was a graduate of the 201st Session of the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) National Academy, Virginia in 2000. Prior to this he did two courses with the FBI’s Caribbean Police School in Puerto Rico in 1986 and 1987 respectively.

He also successfully

completed two training stints at the Canadian Police Training College and one with the Ministry of Interior in Moscow, Russia.

In 2009, he was awarded a Chevening Scholarship to further his studies in Britain and completed courses at the Police Staff College at Bramshill. He has also completed several other courses and seminars in the region and beyond through the years.