Submitted by Stanton Carter, Brand Caribbean Inc

I usually enjoy reading Adrian Loveridge’s column but respectfully did not see any substantive suggestions for a new game to support the Tourism industry in the March 23, 2020 posting.

To cut to the chase, the reference to and comments about the September 11th, 2001 disaster, the airlift dependency, the suspended cruise ship sailings, the banks’ credit card incentives and speculation that the resident population could generate opportunities for domestic tourism may have helped to illustrate the economic challenges Barbados could face post Covid-19 but the statements in my opinion appeared to be more reactive than proactive.

What was noticeably missing from the article was the absence of a plan to rebuild and sustain the island’s tourism industry post Covid-19. As no mention was made of a recovery program, presumably expectations are that the virus will “miraculously” disappear and it will be business as usual. Unfortunately, the Caribbean Association of Banks’ statement – “It will no longer be business as usual for the foreseeable future” could be a true indicator of what is in store for the island.

If a new game is required to support the Tourism industry, it will necessitate a combined effort between the Private and Public sectors. These two organizations collaborated before to advance the island’s tourism industry and there is no reason why in unprecedented times they could not join forces again. Perhaps they need to be reminded, they are both working to achieve similar benefits for the destination and that a combination of financial and manpower resources, expertise, and industry contacts could help to sustain and restore tourism to new and greater visitor arrivals levels the island ever experienced.

Any attempt to try to return to a state of normality after Covid-19, will involve dramatic changes. Operating on the premise that if we build, re-brand and upgrade facilities visitors will come, will no longer be the industry’s acceptable standard. The new normal for the Tourism industry will depend significantly on

IT and digital technology. The soft sell approach for marketing and promoting Barbados as a holiday destination will have to be expanded to include social media platforms.

Competition between Caribbean member states for visitor traffic will be fierce and some destinations may not attain previous arrival levels. Those islands whose livelihood depends on tourism will be out in full force globally, utilizing digitalized marketing and promotion techniques to motivate visitors to return to Paradise. Most likely, Jamaica, Bahamas, Dominican Republic and Cuba already have recovery action plans drawn up for implementation on short notice. If Barbados wishes to maintain a competitive edge, it must act accordingly.

The way I see it, for Barbados to regain and maintain popularity worldwide with consumers, a rebuilding program should be developed to allow for joint programming with airlines, tour operators and travel agent consortiums serving the destination.

My recommendations for a new game to support and rebuild Tourism are as follows:

A “DOING BARBADOS” RECOVERY PLAN – This plan should consist of two (2) distinct phases:

PHASE # 1- Maintaining a Presence

The immediate creation and launching of a digital destination campaign to keep Barbados foremost in the minds of global travellers and to inspire consumers to visit Barbados after Covid-19.

On April 03 Jamaica introduced its digital “Escape to Jamaica” program on its @Visit Jamaica Instagram channel. On April 06, Grenada followed suit with its “# Grenada Dreaming” campaign. Bahamas also recently launched its new from “The Bahamas with love” mini digital vacation video. All 3 programs were designed to provide consumers with a virtual getaway to their respective destinations. Content involved music, culture, cuisine, nature and friendly people, the trademarks of a Caribbean vacation. Barbados needs to do likewise  and launch a similar type campaign.

PHASE # 2 – Rebuilding the Industry

Barbados tourism industry like most Caribbean destinations will have suffered immense damage as a result of Covid-19. Rebuilding the industry will be a major challenge. It will take time to attain and achieve previous productivity levels. Future tourism programming will also have to be vastly superior to those of other sun destinations as potential visitors will be searching for affordable value for money holiday bargains. To this end, consideration should be given to launching a 3 year incentive rebuilding action plan campaign.

SUGGESTED REBUILDING ACTION PLAN MARKETING OBJECTIVES

1. To influence and motivate consumers to select Barbados as their warm weather holiday destination
  2. To grow visitor arrivals to the levels Barbados experienced prior to Covid -19
  3. To improve hotel occupancies, especially the small hotels
  4. To increase visitors’ length of stay
  5. To revisit and reform the Ministry of Tourism and the BTM Inc institutional framework to meet the demands and requirements of the new era tourism

Year #1

1. The Barbados Tourism Marketing Inc. and the Barbados Hotel and Tourism Association should convene a meeting ASAP to discuss, create and partner
    a progressive destination marketing recovery program that will span 3 years.
  2. The program should feature a platinum incentive holiday package with add-on items in Year # 2 and #3
  3. The incentive should target market international travellers and repeat visitors. It should be designed to allow the BTMI, the BHTA, airlines and their tour companies, tour operators, wholesalers and travel agents to participate. The probability of including cruise ship passengers in the program should be considered
  4. Local activities programming should involve representation from the BTMI, BHTA, hotels, tour companies, restaurants, taxi companies, water sports operators, entertainers, artists, etc. Consideration should be given to establishing a special task force committee to work on the rebuilding project
  5. The program should comprise of all types of accommodation, especially the small hotels
  6. The program should be supported by social and traditional media platforms
  7. A Public Relations campaign should be launched to let consumers know Barbados is open for business
  8. Training seminars should be undertaken by the BTMI overseas offices in their respective markets to educate travel agents in small group sizes 25-30 on the new program
  9. Educational visitations by travel agents, overseas journalists, travel writers and travel press should be an integral part of the program
  10. Year # 1 programming should be available for implementation at the earliest possible date in the event Covid-19 comes to an early end.

Year #2

1. Increase incentives and expand activities planned and implemented in Year # 1
  2. Expand target marketing campaigns to include special interest and niche market groups such as Diaspora, Cultural, Foodies, Weddings and Honeymoons and Snow Birds
  3. Advertising and Public Relations campaign expenditures should weigh heavily on targeting consumers to select Barbados as their destination of choice for holidays
  4. Investigate possibility of hosting travel agent evening receptions in some markets
  5. Review, make changes and improvements to the Ministry of Tourism and BTMI Institutional structure to allow for effective involvement in the new era tourism

(a) Review and improve where necessary relations with local hotels, taxis, restaurants, water sports operators, etc
(b) Evaluate external relations with airlines, tour operators, wholesalers and cruise lines
(c) Review and upgrade contractual arrangements with advertising and public relations agencies
(d) Review and evaluate operation and optics of BTMI overseas offices.

(e) Review Community Development and Tourism activities

Year #3

1. Continuation and expansion of activities and incentives utilized in Years # 1 and # 2
  2. Introduce joint BTMI and BHTA overseas promotional tours
  3. Conduct BMTI and BHTA meeting to review continuation of the recovery plan or the introduction of a new and different campaign for rebuilding and supporting Barbados Tourism Industry
  4. Evaluate and consider the possibility of establishing a destination tour company

Finally, the one thought which has been constant in mind while creating this proposal is Robert Burns’ quotation on planning – “The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry”. There is much food for thought in his message. New challenges will crop-up during the planning stages and they should not be ignored. One item top of the list is airlift. Barbados alone cannot kick start the rebuilding of its tourism industry. It will require airline assistance, preferable from carriers with scheduled services and their own tour companies. These will generate a mixture of visitors – package holidays vacationers and F.I.T travellers – and allow for a wider distribution of product sales.

Hopefully the Ministry of Tourism and the BTMI have already recognized this need and are conducting negotiations with the airlines serving Barbados to provide airlift at reasonable promotional rates for post Covid-19 travellers.

The above recommendations are not carved in stone. They can be changed, upgraded or deleted. The whole idea was to provide a guideline on how to deal with the current and post Covid-19 environment.

186 responses to “Recovery Project to Support Tourism Industry”

1. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Stanton Carter
    This sad short sightedness and blinkered thinking will be a tragedy for Barbados.

The tourism industry exists to support Barbados… Barbados does NOT exist to support the tourism industry.

When this self indulgent industry wish list is costed out, it will amount to nothing less than many tens of millions of taxpayers’ money being wasted on a bunch of failed corporate welfare programs for airline and hotel companies. There are far better places to invest those tens of millions of public funds to help the recovery of the Barbados economy

This corporate welfare wish list contains not a single innovative or thoughtful idea… it is regurgitated from the litany of previous failed efforts and does not acknowledge any of the realities of the post COVID-19 economic environment.
    + All of our key source markets will be in a deep economic depression
    + Some of our key providers of past airlift will have gone bankrupt
    + Airline ticket prices will be significantly more expensive because of reduced passenger volume
    + There will be no COVID-19 vaccine for at least 18 months; even then, it will be like the flu vaccine and provide only 50% effectiveness
    + COVID-19 will be inevitably imported to Barbados again as soon as visitors arrive

Mr. Carter, you may mean well, but your wish list amounts to a transparent attempt for your tourism consulting company to raid the public treasury on behalf of yourself and your clients. It is selfish, ill-considered, and will do nothing to help the Barbados economy.

The only way forward is to build a Barbados Beyond Tourism.

2. I agree with Peter forget tourism we should be putting all our efforts into producing circus freaks……lets get serious tourism is the game your in, looking forward is what smart people do but don’t forget about the present, if you are willing to to more than any place else in the neiborhood to curb the crisis probably at great sacrifice it will not go unnoticed and will make Barbados’s rebound probable as compared to other destinations just possible.

3. William Skinner Avatar

@ PLT
    Thank you!
    Imagine we are going to spend billions post COVID-19 on the same industry that we can now clearly see, could collapse in 24 hours. I say no more.

4. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Lawson April 27, 2020 7:14 AM
    “… lets get serious tourism is the game your in, looking forward is what smart people do but don’t forget about the present…”
    Tourism is the game we USED to be in.

How many tourists are in our hotels now? Zero.

How many will be arriving in July? Zero.

How many will be arriving in November? At most the 2% who own property on the island and can self isolate for the 14 days that will be required because COVID-19 will still be killing people in their home countries.

How many will be arriving in March 2021? Zero. It will still be only the rich villa owners who came in November.

Lawson, you are responding like a man who just totalled his BMW in a traffic accident, but instead of looking for a new means of transportation you are polishing the mirrors on your wrecked vehicle in the hopes that shiny mirrors will make it run again.

5. @ PLT

That was a rather robust push back. i am now looking forward to submission of your alternative

6. The future is one of eco-tourism geared towards a much lighter carbon footprint than the one pursued by Barbados in the pre-Covid-19 sea sand and sun (and We gatherin’ for food and wuk-up music at Oistins on Festival Fridays) marketing scenario.

How will Barbados stack up in the brave new carbon reduction world?

7. Carbon reduction? We are in a crisis accompanied by a lockdown, yet motorists are out on the streets in numbers. A crisis is a good time to push through a carbon reduction policy. How about a one-car per household policy? Now is as good a time to introduce it as any.

8. Well Peter what else can you realistically sell to bring in money , changing the economy may be years off, every country will be looking for charity what will you eat in the mean time beemers are trash get a wildcat

9. What you are asking lawson is how does Barbados fill the 30% hole in GDP in the SHORT term even if our politicians were to be so bold to contemplate real change.

10. David as I said above you have to be tougher in the fight than those around you so that you stand out, so that when the little tourism that there will be next year you get a share of it. I am not saying Peter is wrong it is just how do you get there. Changing one master for another doesn’t always work out well, maybe finding a way to work with the one you have before you make that dash for freedom may be the only choice you have.

11. William Skinner Avatar

I can only hope that we find it possible to abandon our pie in the sky thinking and deal with the very harsh realities that will confront the entire region post COVID.
    High sounding almost dreamlike , pseudo intellectual ramblings are useless.
    We must immediately identify 500 small businesses that can employ at least 3 persons each at a wage no less than $450 per week. These businesses should be subsidized in areas such as rent and product service development etc.
    All agricultural lands that are not producing at least two crops should be leased by the state for at least twenty five years at no rent. Immediately form a New Farmers Cooperative to bring our all idle lands into immediate production.
    An immediate assessment of our fishing industry. Investment in boats that can effectively exploit our ocean.
    Remove all highway and other vendors to modestly appointed stalls at strategic points throughout the country. Expand the now being set up market on Grynner Highway into a modern market mall with all facilities and trading facilities for vendors to become more efficient in all areas of their activity
    Immediately reform the primary school educational system. completely new curriculum that exposes our children to a education to be productive citizens. Use the next several months to develop a new educational policy.

12. @WS

v commendable but how is that going to earn us foreign exchange which we so badly need?

13. @ peterlawrencethompson April 27, 2020 7:41 AM

“It will still be only the rich villa owners who came in November.”

Exactly! These are the people the government has angered with the massive increase in property tax. They are the true lords of Barbados, not the local businessmen, not the local politicians.

14. @lawson

Understand your concern, it is the elephant in the policy planning room isn’t it.

15. @WS

Kudos for your suggestion re the Fishing Industry…… previous governments have kept this excellent source of food on the back-burner compared to Agriculture …. instead, both sectors should be maximized to reduce our FX spending that our “buy & sell industry” strive on.

Tourism will take a long time to re-bound and besides being a very fragile egg in our basket, depends too heavily on factors out of our control, not to mention every other island in the Caribbean will be banking on it for recovery!

Mr. Loverage’s column of today (April 27), elsewhere on BU, highlights the woes of doing business in Barbados and is 100% correct. This must change post Covid …. we must not return to business as usual!

16. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Skinner, the devil is in the details of your proposals … but in the main very practical.

Devilish details are ‘lil’ things like those 25 year leases and ENSURING that the farmer or farmers coop maintain productivity to an acceptable level (whatever that may be set as) year over year…. I immediately see a situation where sycophants get those leases and misuse them.

But apart from that sort of fixable issue your thrust to get entrepreneurial Bajans into action and diversifying our operational psyche is SPOT ON!

I would be keen to see how you would manage the distribution of those leases and the re-gigged IDC style coop shared buildings (in modern parlance a WeWorks setting) … man, you would have lots of friends if you were the Minister in charge. 🙂

In sum, the ideas are solid and a reset to some of that (some have been tried before as you know, particularly the vendor one) is VITAL.

Often its not that ideas and concept are necessarily totally novel but rather that there is a invigorated will and intent to make them happen…. let’s hope our pols and citizens are so moved by this cov19 dilemma!

17. William Skinner Avatar

@ Greene
    You earn foreign exchange by saving foreign exchange.We have bought into almost ancient thinking.
    Note that the Tourism industry brings in millions of foreign exchange and on three occasions , we still had to go borrowing the same foreign exchange from the IMF. The jokers never tell us that they have collectively used tax payers money to pay salaries to prop up political lackeys in the industry; give basically greedy hoteliers incentives who have not developed one single unique product in sixty years. ( That’s why they cuss Sandals) Note the catastrophe that is Sam Lords and other waste. Ask planners how much of the foreign exchange earned in tourism actually stay in the country. About 55 cents or more of every dollar goes back out.
    If we don’t use the post COVID-19 to not only reform our economy but also our thinking; our children have no real future anywhere in the region.
    You note, I hope, that it is now public knowledge that we have people out there working for $250BDS per week.If that is not a starvation wage, I do not know is the meaning of starvation. That’s a national shame. We like to talk about US this and US that. Well let me put it another way: We have workers in our country working for $125US per week.
    I am not saying that tourism will not be a viable industry but look at our predicament now. It has literally fallen out of the sky.
    None of the cliches and useless intellectual / academic mumbo jumbo can deny that fact!

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@LawsonApril 27, 2020 8:17 AM
    “Well Peter what else can you realistically sell to bring in money…”
    +++++++++++++++++++

I will repeat myself by reiterating what I posted on BU a week or so ago.

For a small island developing state such as our own, a strategic approach to export sector development needs to exploit whatever natural competitive advantages that we have. For the sugar industry the competitive advantages were our climate and the Spanish Inquisition which drove Jewish refugees with sugar cane technology to settle here. For our tourism industry our competitive advantages were our delightful climate and our cultural history which made us hospitable and accustomed us to serving other people. You might have noticed a common element; our primary competitive advantage since 1627 has always been our climate.

Our new export sectors should continue to leverage our climate as a competitive advantage. This means that our investments in better waste management environmental protection and ecological sustainability are the most critically important.

Let us take a look at examples of leveraging our climate in more productive ways than mass market tourism. Lenstec is a high tech manufacturing company making intraocular lenses for cataract and refractive surgery that has operated in Barbados for 25 years and employs 200 Bajans in jobs that are far more meaningful than making beds or waitressing. The company is headquartered in Florida and has sales offices in Europe, but their manufacturing is located here. Why? Barbados has a reasonably educated and trainable workforce, but so do dozens of other countries. Barbados has good communications linkages with the rest of the world, but so do dozens of other countries. Lenstec chose Barbados because of our climate… both the physical climate and the social climate. Gildan is a global clothing manufacturer headquartered in Canada with revenue in the billions. The company operates manufacturing facilities in Bangladesh, Haiti, Honduras and elsewhere with more than 50,000 employees— however the corporate structure and administrative hub for their printwear and branded apparel business is based in Barbados and employs hundreds of Bajans. Most of us would not envy the low wage Gildan employees in Haiti or Bangladesh, but the jobs in Barbados are in high tech administration and marketing. Why did Gildan choose Barbados? Because of our climate… both the physical climate and the social climate.

COVID-19 is a global crisis, and Barbados must not let this crisis go to waste. One of the profound social changes that it has catalyzed is the normalization of working from home for many technical and managerial professionals in Europe and North America. So why should these recently untethered employees continue to suffer the climate of Montreal or Chicago or Manchester when they can relocate to Barbados and continue to work from home?… just that their home is now a much nicer place to live. Come to think of it, why should the Black diaspora in the USA continue to put up with the racism of Trump and the police when they can move to Barbados and continue to work from home?

19. @WS

i never ask a question unless i know the answer or the likely answer- lol. thank you.

@PLT,

thank you too for your alternatives

20. @Peter

No sensible person here will disagree with the urgent need to change the way we we do business post Covid. The gap in your submission does not address transition. We have hotel room plant and ancillary services we have to retire without compromising our setup.

21. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Lawson
    So where should we be investing our scarce public resources? No stupid redundant schemes to try to rebuild a dead industry, but in import replacement local production and food security first of all as William Skinner never tires of pointing out.

Then in those parts of our public infrastructure which preserve and protect our main competitive advantage on the global stage— our enviable physical and social climate. This means much improved waste management culture and infrastructure:
    + a national composting program to help agriculture and reduce pressure on our landfill;
    + rebuilding our sewage systems using advanced tertiary treatment technologies so that the effluent is potable water;
    + a national tree planting initiative that reforests significant areas of Barbados;
    + complete conversion of the national electricity grid to solar, wind, and batteries by 2030;
    + a 300% duty on ALL internal combustion engine vehicles and a 0% duty on electric vehicles (the cheapest Mercedes should cost Bd$500,000 and a Tesla Bd$120,000)
    + a national network of bicycle paths with walking paths beside them and lots of trees alongside for shade.

None of this is rocket science and we can start the consultation and planning processes even before the end of lockdown.

22. @ PLT
    @William

In the late 1960s Britain was seriously short of skills, a period of full employment. At the time, to learn a skill took a five-year apprenticeship. But that period was reduced to six months. I know a number of Barbadians who trained under that scheme to be television repairmen (remember those days), plumbers, electricians, etc. In those days you applied for a job and they offered an appointment on the spot.
    If we want to recharge our economy, we have to think outside the box. @ William, our boat making techniques have not changed since Noah. In the meantime, the Chinese and Japanese fish in the open oceans with a mother ship and smaller boats to do the catching.

23. The answer for Barbados is to take 30% of what we plough into tourism and put it in the development of Agriculture, alternative energy and fish farming both land and sea based.

When will we accept that it may take years for our occupancy levels to return to close to what we knew. Before Covid Barbados was one of the most expensive destinations out there, partially because of all the recent taxes government dropped on the golden goose. Pray tell what has changed to make the post covid pricing more attractive? Answer Nothing!

Ploughing more money into a market that does not exist is folly. It’s like buying a bigger boat to fish in a barren ocean and expect one will catch more.

I support any attempt at this time to diversify our economy away from tourism. We should refuse to allow our government to invest in any hotel projects, either directly or indirectly going forward, as the risk to reward ratio is poor. If wunna so bent on building things then build greenhouses so we can feed both ourselves and our visitors.

Pre covid we could not even achieve an annual occupancy of over 60%, so why are we even considering more rooms in a post covid economy? Take that money and help the small local hotels improve their offering, while concentrating on upgrading our current offering, both price and quality wise for the tourist that do come.

The bubble has burst accept it and deal with it! Also accept the fact that 30% of the combined wealth of the world has been lost. The same tourist we want to attract, has lost a large percentage of their net value. They may well come out of Covid with massive credit card debt and unpaid loans. They may well be behind on their payments and jobless as well. So wunna put away the grand ideas for the ” hotel corridor from hither to thither” and plough some of that money into the post covid economy. This should focus on FX savings in food imports and alternate energy initially, while attempting to make us a more independent and self sufficient nation as a medium term goal.

I am not saying we should turn our back on tourism, not at all. What I am however saying is we must diversify away from it, while improving our current offering without wasting money on hair brain schemes and unneeded room stock. In simple bajan terms ” we got to wuk with what we got” and forget looking back at what we had.

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David April 27, 2020 9:51 AM
    “The gap in your submission does not address transition. We have hotel room plant and ancillary services we have to retire without compromising our setup.”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    The problem with our hotel room plant and ancillary services is that the rooms are empty. No matter what we spend on promotion and sprucing up the plant, we will have wasted that money and the ROOMS WILL STILL BE EMPTY.

We need to face up to the truth: our setup has already been fatally compromised. It does not matter how diligently and energetically you flog a dead horse… it remains unalterably dead.

Of course there is a gap in my submission… the gap exists because we did not start the transition process two years ago or five years ago before it was forced upon us by COVID-19. Every moment we spend trying to revive the dead horse is time we could have spent picking ourselves up and making progress toward our new destination.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, I would ask you to expand on your “We have hotel room plant and ancillary services we have to retire without compromising our setup”.

Based on all above and said previously I get your agreement that we cannot now rely on tourism to be the major plank of our economy… and yes if there is a significant reduction on travel worldwide until we can ‘vaccine’ covid19 under control there will be many hotels rooms and some properties unused… but what do mean by this retirement of properties?

Are you talking about remodeling for long-stay-living as condos, demolishing and completely resetting some of the areas… what exactly?

And how would retiring any hotels (if we have reached that momentous down turn to make such a decision) actually then be “compromising our setup”? … that does not logically follow to me!

Yours is a big statement said in your customary too brief snippets.

26. @Peter

What you are saying is true but, we are here now. It is what it is. See John’s A response which presents a more practical approach.

27. @PLT

Another good submission. the tree planting began before COVID by certain private organisations and by the Govt. i mysef have planted grafted fruit trees and seeds on open land.

some of what you proposed will take money and public buy in- bicycle path and potable water from effluent, and some will take planning – composting.

the move to solar (national grid and cars) should have started years ago. regrettable. but that too is /was in the works before COVID

28. @Dee Word

Tourism will not bounce back to pre Covid levels we know this to be true. However there will be a market, we have the plant, a plant that is heavily in debt to financial institutions if you look at the central bank reports. Do we write it off now and deal with the fallout or do we have a plan to play in the tourism space contracted though it will be. Planning must be laced with the ability to be practical.

29. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John AApril 27, 2020 10:01 AM
    “The answer for Barbados is to take 30% of what we plough into tourism and put it in the development of Agriculture, alternative energy and fish farming both land and sea based.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    You are on the right track, but you are not running fast enough. We need to take 95% of what we used to plough into tourism and invest it to accelerate our diversification.

The 5% left back needs to go into changing the tourism product to appeal to radically new markets. Let us change hotel suites into condominium residences that we sell to programmers From Canada, the UK, Finland, Estonia and elsewhere so that they can come live full time in Barbados and work remotely from here (we structure their residence visa so that their salary goes into a foreign currency account right here in Barbados).

30. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hal Austin April 27, 2020 10:00 AM
    “But that period was reduced to six months.”
    This is an important insight. It is why TEN Habitat is trying to build fast track software coding training capacity in Barbados. There are many remunerative opportunities in the field which do not require a 4 year degree.

31. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Ok @David got you re ” a plant that is heavily in debt to financial institutions if you look at the central bank reports.”.

Realistically I wasn’t thinking above of that angle simply because I accepted it as the albatross around EVERYONE’s neck thus it’s a given that it is going to be handled… in sum, the real issue is still how to generate money from the plant and repay those loans… thus I wondered what your ‘retirement’ new usage thoughts were…. So got yah, now.

I’ll say this sir… I am as scared as scared can be. The studies and knowledge of what happened to bustling communities, town, counties and sometimes even states or nations when a significant major jobs earner left (cars factories shuttering, one example) are well known.

We are a small ‘community/town/nation’ and are facing such a dire predicament… you spoke previously about Bim reopening to business but if – to use your stats – 30% of our economy is out of work for an unknown period we are about to step on a banana peel just as we approach a cliff …

Forget the long term stuff… we are in serious, serious trouble NOW and everyone here understands that.

32. @ David.

What I would say to the tourism gurus is look back at our growth and see what brought us here. Look at the locations that people came to year after year in the 60’s the 70s and 80s. Were they glassed generic monstrosities with a collection of pigeon box rooms? No they were distinctive and had their own character. They reflected not only the taste of the island but also it’s architecture. In other words to attract visitors going forward one must stand out. Would a visitor say prefer to stay in a north American pigeon box room, or a newly built traditional chattel house? Would they prefer eat chicken and chips or a good beef stew with rice? Would they prefer sit in a hammock on a chattel house porch, or stay in their pigeon hole and watch CNN?

My point is what exactly will we be marketing going forward that will make us stand out against the competition? If the plan is to do and offer the same well shut now!

As a tourist what does the Hyatt Barbados offer me, that a Hyatt in St Lucia or Antigua would not? Let’s face it they are generic structures dropped on different islands. You see we have wasted so much time chasing the identity of others, that we have lost our own.

33. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David April 27, 2020 10:04 AM
    “See John’s A response which presents a more practical approach.”
    ++++++++++++

Despite my left of centre political bent I am basically a management nerd. For the past 40 years the most important management skill has been how to adapt to a rapidly changing environment. It doesn’t matter how clever you are with numbers, or how good a leader you are of other people, without keen adaptability your failure is inevitable.

This is why I am a keen student of management guru Peter Drucker’s insight that “The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not turbulence itself, but to act with yesterday’s logic.”

Barbados is threatened by COVID-19, but the greatest threat comes not from the pandemic itself, but from the illusion that the world is still the same as it was before COVID-19.

34. @ peterlawrencethompson April 27, 2020 9:53 AM

Your plan is good, but has one serious flaw: it does not include gifts for politicians or projects for the local construction magnates. The establishment has absolutely no interest in changing the status quo.

35. @Dee Word

We all are, this is life or death pathways we are travelling. People’s lives, careers. Do not forget our children; our future. Barbados and several of our regional neigbours should have had better economies, we know this. Our lack of vision as a region that supported CARICOM/CSME in the* Treaty* of *Chaguaramas **must be causing the founders to roll in the graves.* *We need a workable plan that a strong leader will have to sell to stakeholders. A strong leader because all stakeholders will stoke their interest. **The post covid plan all of us are eagerly will be a test of local leadership.*

36. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Greene April 27, 2020 10:05 AM
    “… some will take planning – composting…”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    At TEN Habitat we are giving some assistance to the Live Earth Project, a Bajan NGO that already has the proven know how to implement nation wide composting capacity. They and others are already in discussions with the Sanitation Service Authority.
    https://projectliveearth.org/

37. @ PLT

Your thinking is similar to mine as my chattel house rooms mention. What is our ace in the hole that we will play post covid?

Your 95% may be a bit radical though. My view is this, we need to Look at what we genuinely see as an obtainable level of tourism and cater to that the best we can. So 100 room hotel may reopen with only 60 rooms post covid. New hotels may need to be smaller but more quaint and authentic in architecture. This covid thing may be the best thing that happens to our tourism as we can reposition what we are and offer. We need to dam well stop copying everything we see on TV and regain our identity and offer that.

When you look at successful hotels in the islands like Jade Mountain in St Lucia, Nisbet Plantation Nevis, Malliouhana in Anguilla and Sandy Lane Barbados just to mention a few, what do you see? You see character and an authentic hotel. What you don’t see is a pigeon hole hotel catering to the North American mass market 15 storeys high, that is nothing but an eyesore to those that see it.

38. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Greene April 27, 2020 10:05 AM
    “… take money and public buy in- […] potable water from effluent…”
    ++++++++++++++++++
    The money can come from the Inter American Development Bank at very low interest rates. The technology is off the shelf. Ecohesion is a Bajan company that TEN Habitat has worked with. They have extensive experience is building and operating wastewater treatment plants in Barbados (Villages at Coverley) and across the Caribbean that provide tertiary treatment so that the effluent is potable water.
    http://ecohesion.bb/

39. Lol Peter nice list but where you getting the money how many times can you go to lenders hat in hand before the answer is no, I get it the Chinese they owe you right, I have been watching the news lately and the Chinese don’t seem to treat blacks very nicely but hey they may give you the money to help you but for what. You do realize the money that the govt puts into the tourism market comes from the tourism industry in part.

40. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@LawsonApril 27, 2020 11:08 AM
    “… where you getting the money…”
    The IDB will loan Barbados money at very concessionary rates for sensible projects like sewage and water infrastructure. It is best to avoid entanglements with the Chinese.

I do recognise that the money the govt puts into the tourism market comes from the tourism industry in part, largely revenues from departure tax measures announced in the 2018 budget. I realize that most of those sources have completely dried up, so these high priced BTMI employees are now begging to raid the public purse and waste my tax dollars to sustain their overspending on pointless initiatives.

41. @Peter

We may have a few loans in the pipeline from international funding agencies we may have to repurpose to go with your plan.

42. @ peterlawrencethompson April 27, 2020 11:20 AM

I completely agree with you that something has to happen with the human overhead at BTMI.The government has so far refused to even think about layoffs and/or massive wage cuts.

At least this blatant omission brings us much closer to the currency devaluation. Thank you, dear government!

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A April 27, 2020 11:00 AM
    “… we need to Look at what we genuinely see as an obtainable level of tourism and cater to that the best we can. So 100 room hotel may reopen with only 60 rooms post covid.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    I agree with you in principle, but you are being wildly over optimistic to the point of self delusion. 60% was our average occupancy rate before the pandemic.

We do not need candy coated daydreams, we need a realistic prognosis for the health of our tourism sector:
    + since all of our major source markets will be in a deep depression, and
    + since we have never successfully developed a vaccine for any of the several corona virus types that infect humans or livestock despite decades of trying, and
    + since some of the airlines that provide the critical airlift to us as a destination will go bankrupt, and
    + since COVID-19 will still be circulating in 9 months to the point that we will need to quarantine visitors for 14 days, and
    + since when planes take to the sky again they will carry far fewer passengers to provide social distancing, so ticket prices will rise dramatically, and
    + since the cruise ship industry will not sail again until November at the earliest and even in the best of times contributed very little to tourist spend…
    For these and a myriad other reasons our 2020-21 tourism season spend will contract to between 5% and 15% of the 2018-19 season.

This means that your 100 room hotel cannot hope to operate profitably unless it taps a whole new class of customer.

My suggestion for the industry is to recruit loooong stay visitors who essentially make Barbados their home and use hotels as rental apartments or buy hotel suites as condominiums.

44. There is also for Caricom to create a regional controlled market at ‘first instance’ in the period of transition.

45. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

With our natural resources and built infrastructure why has someone not proposed elder care and retirement accommodation as a potential model for the sector. It would not exclude any of the other industrial activity recommendations – in fact it would support the economies of scale that would be essential for us to justify investment in diversified sectors relating to health care, therapy and wellbeing. I am a retired Business Development professional and can attest furthermore that one of the principal factors in the promotion of foreign direct investment in Barbados was the quality of life that we were able to offer the comapanies’ principals and their families.

46. @ peterlawrencethompson April 27, 2020 11:44 AM

If you were a politician, Barbadians would burst into tears of desperation at your speeches 😉

Can’t you wrap up the truth a little more appealing? Like Enuff, who sells a painting for the hospital as a big transformation?

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@PoorPeacefulandPolite April 27, 2020 12:59 PM
    “… why has someone not proposed elder care and retirement accommodation as a potential model for the sector.”
    That is an excellent idea. The future of our tourism industry is not fly by night visitors, but a smaller number of people who come and make their homes here bringing their foreign exchange incomes with them. Whether it is retired people or tech professionals who work at their metropolitan jobs from their new home.

We still want to appeal to the top end of this market… those looking for a budget experience can try Thailand or Vietnam where the cost of living is much lower. We want to have 10,000 households of retired or working people each bringing on average their US$100,000 incomes to Barbados. That is a billion USD per year in foreign exchange. That is enough to replace our entire tourism industry.

There we are my friends… we solved that little problem together. Now let’s get on with implementing it.

48. @ PLT

Yes longer stay visitors of say 3 months each, or come up with a bonus stay offer. Pay for 4 days get 3 free.

Also my 60% speaks to our post covid annual occupancy. If we get say a 25% average occupancy between July and November 2020 we would of done well this summer!

I see all new hotel dreams being put on hold for at least 2 years. The cruise ship sector may well have to retire part of their fleet during the same period. We have to be neither a pessimist or an optimist going forward but realist only.

49. @ peterlawrencethompson April 27, 2020 1:44 PM

This is a very OLD idea that I have often heard from local business people.

But we would have to make the island more attractive, for example through a citizenship-by-investment programme or tax exemption for this group.

Now do you understand why I am calling for the abolition of the property tax? Not the locals, but the expats pay 10 to 20,000 dollars in property tax per year.

50. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@John A April 27, 2020 2:01 PM
    You are missing my point John, you have not yet taken to heart Peter Drucker’s insight that “The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not turbulence itself, but to act with yesterday’s logic.”

To use our main competitive advantage— our enviable social and climatic environment— simply to host other visitors, is to act with yesterday’s logic.

We should not be recruiting visitors, we should be recruiting neighbors.

Visitors simply come and spend a portion of their disposable income. Neighbors bring the totality of their income. They become part of our communities, not just a sometime, fly by night, thing.

Can’t you imagine the advertisements in Toronto?
    Young IT professional couple both working from home with their back to each other in a cramped overpriced city studio apartment with the snow blowing and wind raging outside all shot in grey muted colors. They are clearly getting on each others nerves. His fingers are hitting the keyboard loudly and aggressively and he’s muttering under his breath… she is rolling her eyes, adjusting her headset and shifting her laptop so that he doesn’t appear in the background on the screen of he Zoom meeting. Voiceover (sarcastically) “isn’t working from home fun?” Cut to the same couple sitting at a picnic table facing each other and smiling on a deck near the the beach in Barbados working on their laptops but now in vibrant colour… he is in board shorts but wearing a shirt and tie so he looks good in his online, she is a bikini bottom but with a lovely blouse to give the same impression. Voiceover (with enthusiasm) “well it is here in Barbados.” Then comparisons or sunshine hours, ambient temperatures, tax rates and other criteria which make it sound crazy not to choose Barbados.

Do the same thing aimed at retired people.

Neighbors bring more value than visitors… both in the narrow financial sense and because they do not distort the social fabric as much.

Let us act with tomorrow’s logic.