Adrian Loveridge – Hotel Owner

Among the presents my incredibly thoughtful wife bought me for Christmas was a hard cover, full colour book published by the UK based Octopus Publishing Group Limited and entitled 501 Must-visit Islands. Thankfully, Barbados is one of them.

It graphically highlights the number of upcoming tourism destinations that many of us perhaps would have not either heard of, or considered visiting ten years ago. The majority offer comparable, or in many cases superior beaches, azure seas and attractive climatic conditions similar to us.

While some emerging countries have long seen the economic potential of attracting foreign visitors, the advent of the internet has changed the dynamics of marketing, enabling even destinations with tiny budgets, to disseminate high quality images to anyone that expresses an interest. Of course you need a lot more than the often quoted, sun, sea and sand. Accessibility can be a critical component.

But new air routes are opening up all the time. Next generation, smaller capacity aircraft with extended range are gradually reducing flying time from our current main markets and will play an increasingly important role in developing new tourism hotspots. Global travellers too are becoming evermore adventurous and discerning.

It therefore is becoming even more critical to decide exactly where Barbados is going from a tourism perspective.

Let me declare that I whole heartedly support the long delayed concept of a white paper to give every player within the industry, some sort of guidelines, so that they can at least try and formulate middle to long term strategies. The Ministry of Tourism carries outlined criteria on its website and from around the 20th November, 2010 a blog went live to encourage feedback from Barbadians and the Diaspora.

Two Town Hall Meetings have already been held and a couple more will take place later this month. These have been reasonable well advertised on radio, through the Government Information Service and in the print media, and in fairness it’s difficult to know what more the Ministry could do.

The phrase Tourism is our business lingers on, but despite the often heralded importance of the industry, at the time of writing this column, only seven people outside the administration of the site, have posted their comments on the blog. Why is this, as at times you get the impression that just about everybody has an opinion of what the Barbados Tourism Authority and Minister of Tourism should be doing?

Somewhere around 12,000 to 13,000 people are employed directly in tourism on Barbados, but only seven persons feel the imperative to express their opinion. Unless this radically changes and the Ministry receives representative feedback from all sectors of industry, then the private sector will have scant justification to complain about decisions that are finally drafted and implemented.

Last week the retired diplomat, Peter Laurie wrote an interesting column entitled Tourism Master Plan which contains at first glance, some rather extreme suggestions. While personally not necessarily agreeing with all of them, found it very refreshing that a person of Mr. Laurie’s stature and proven ability was questioning the reasons why we do things. Hopefully Mr. Laurie and others will share these thoughts on the White Paper Blog.

1. One of realities in tourism is that more visitors are looking for attractions. Our 169 sq miles can offer so much and no more. Unless we are going to reclaim some of the sea like Dubai.

2. Is it time to talk casino gambling? All major tourist destinations seem to be integrating gambling in their product.

3. Personally? Before one can talk on how to bring in more diversions for the visitors to this country, we need to fix what we already have. I know many believe we are perfect as a tourism destination. Unfortunately here is the big bang. We are not.

(1) Culinary Arts need to improve. And by this I mean not the amount of product we have, but the price, content and taste of what we have. Right now we have many restaurants and many falling short of giving great food for a decent price. Note I said decent price. Perhaps looking at those who do provide good traditional Bajan food at a great price should be looked at for ideas. Van ladies, Baxter’s Road, Cheapside Market Food Court (Miss Harriette, Miss Pilgrim, Miss Dora and the others could teach a few gourmet Chefs some good lessons in the use of local foods, herbs and spices!), the stall opposite the bus stand at Oistins (think its F24), the lady inside Oistins opposite Lexis etc etc. The Cove (yes! my sister) in Cattlewash has the best tasting small buffet. All of these and more can show the big-up restaurants a few tricks! I could name quite a few around the island actually that thankfully are still using our home-grown products to create some of the best food available here. And those who cook the food are pleasant, sweet and happy to serve and explain what is being eaten…and those who eat same are besides themselves with joy to have eaten a plateful of Bajan nosh and will come back over and over and over again. These patrons do not need anything new…they will come back to Barbados just for that superb taste, that ‘je ne sais quois’ from those hands whose delicious food cannot be matched, as well as the price. Now I know many will start by screaming that what these people charge cannot be the same as in their gourmet restaurants. Obviously I am not saying that! But will say that there are MANY (NOT ALL) restaurants in this country who first of all only use imported goods (worst from the US whose food practices are not exactly on the top of the ‘good’ list at the moment!) AND do not see the sense of taking good Bajan products/recipes up a notch using a creative mind to embellish and forge forward in the world of gourmet with a Bajan-ness that is unique; charge unbelievably huge prices for not so great food with service that does not even take us back into the past because then we had good service…but just reeks of pure rudeness most of the time. Now, I am also not saying that we should have only Bajan…if I go to New York, for instance, there are restaurants from all over the world with their own ethnic food – and that is great because one needs variety when on holiday. So the Indian, Chinese, French, African, Arabian, Nouvelle, International etc etc all have a place here too. But when I go to a Chinese restaurant, I want good Chinese food…I do not want bad-tasting quasi-chinese food…(and we have quite a few of them here on the island whose kitchens are not so kosher to start with and whose attitudes towards a customer are also not the greatest).

So what I am saying is that what we offer has to be looked into and truly made better. It is not difficult, it just takes time and effort. For those who think this is an impossible task…I am willing to show it is not! I offered The Nation to be a food critic for them – going incognito to restaurants and giving a true picture of what I am served. The truth cannot be printed I was told because advertising would be lost! Well…my dears…with this way of thinking we will remain the island of many restaurants with an edge of “you-are-digging-out-my-eye” feeling from the visitor. And I have heard visitors complain over and over again so I know what I am talking about. Nobody minds paying, everyone hates being duped. For instance, I find paying BDS$30 for a soup starter bad enough… but when it tastes of dish water?…then I know I am being taken for an ass. In the words of Miss Norma Shirley, the Grand Dame of Caribbean cooking, who we have just lost before her time…”everyone remembers their worst meal”. So excellence in the kitchen should be norm, every day and not just when Chef or cook feels like it. I cannot believe it when I complained the other day to someone in the food industry that the meal I had at a particular restaurant (not cheap!) where this person worked, was quite the most awful ever and was told with the confidence of knowing that this was a good excuse “Chef might not have been feeling well that night!” What? Run dat one by me again! If you only have one Chef who can perform, and he ent feeling well, close dem doors. Do not make me eat there and be vexed for life!!

Barbados has all it takes to become the capital of cuisine here in the Caribbean. We can be noted all over the world for the variety, the taste and for the service. We just need to pull our aprons up! and by the way perhaps here I need to mention Chef John Hazzard at marketfive for effectively taking our Bajan cuisine up a notch…at a decent price. Tasty, delicious, beautifully served and much local input. Shows me it can be done by all!!

b) Attitudes need to improve all round – Percy The Pig is NOT the answer. As far as I am concerned the first thing that campaign tells me is that all Barbadians are pigs and need to pull themselves together like Percy! Negative teachings cannot bring on positive results! From public to private sector there is an attitude problem that overshadows the good. Because there is a lot of good but boy! when we are bad, we are bad! And that is the taste that will prevail to those who visit our island.

c) Those who offer venues have to understand that those venues must always be in perfect condition. Tell me why I or any visitor to this island pay $20 to enter into a gardens (like the un-named one on the East Coast) that are dried-up and not looking up to par. I do not care if it is dry season and water scarce…if that is the case and you really have a water problem, close the venue until you can get what I have paid for looking good.

d) Hotels that are in need of make-overs even if it is just a paint job for crying out loud.

e) Historic buildings should not be destroyed but forced to be renovated. And please do not tell me that they cannot be used for businesses….even businesses to do with tourism. There are gorgeous old (CLICO you are the worse offender!) plantation houses all over the island going to rack and ruin that could be made into new venues – whether it be gardens, small hotels, restaurants, nightclubs, a children’s dream world, conference venues and and and….Sam Lord’s Castle is a number one example of a total waste…what an historic place for a venue that could bring in millions – what with the pirates of the Caribbean suddenly becoming the hottest story in town…Man oh man! But what do we do, leave it to rack and ruin and den ‘bun it down…always seemns to be the answer. That was and is a disaster that should nevah have happened.

c) And Most Importantly…the crime has got to be the number one STOP. If a visitor comes here and has a problem say with theft…that story gets told a million times abroad. Whilst I know that all the world has problems with crime…I feel safer right now walking the streets of say Berlin in the middle of the night than I do on little Barbados. Is that normal? This is a tiny island. The beginning of stopping crime is cleaning up the drugs and guns that come into this country. No. 1 priority. Get rid of that and you get rid of a lot. And slowly we can start healing. I see this scourge as being the real base problem….before we had drugs and guns wild ’bout hey, we had the odd little ‘tiefing’ but nothing like what is going on right now. I know this problem of crime is not so easily gotten rid of but…at least a good hard try where is necessary must be the first step. When those who live on an island do not feel safe anymore, how can a visitor?

Casino gambling? Unless well done and well controlled – see Aruba for some good ideas – we could make a mess of it. We are already making a mess of venues with just gambling machines where service lacks, and machines do not seem to be monitored for laws of payouts, a lot of them out of order and cobwebs growing on them. Getting a drink (even if you pay for it) is like pulling teeth as those who work nights seem to believe they have a right to sleep or watch TV. Perhaps a visit to Terra Nova’s casino in Kingston to study a well-organized perfect establishment that brings in millions nightly would be an idea – those who leave with their pockets empty still feel they have had a great night out! Drinks free…fabulous eats all night free…and machines that pay at a decent percentage.

Barbados is a treasure that is slowly being eroded. And we the people have got to try our best to bring this gorgeous island of ours back to being a destination that is full year-round. We have so much. All we have to is improve what we have before we go bringing in ‘new adventures’.

I love this island. I know it is better than many others. I know when we compare ourselves to some, we come out looking sweet. But that does not make us the best. We were. But we are not anymore. And if word gets around that we are not what we say we are, then all the new venues that we can come up with and put in place, will have no effect on our income from tourism dollars.

The best part is that we can make it better. Each and everyone of us. But in order to give excellence, we must know it. That’s my opinion. Only an opinion.

4. I have read with great interest the reports of the launch of a discussion process for the White Paper for Tourism Development.

I am writing to you to suggest about the possibility of establishing an annual International Fireworks Competition in Barbados, and to determine the extent of interest from the tourism/hospitality industry.

I have seen, first hand, the beneficial impact to the local economy, and to tourism in general, including “staycations”. In short, people love fireworks, especially the spectacular, artistic fireworks seen in competitions featuring some of the best choreographers and companies in the world – certainly far superior to anything ever seen in the region. I have travelled the world involved in fireworks competitions and have seen the huge crowds, full hotels and restaurants, and other obvious benefits of such an event.

I have contacted the Ministry of Tourism but so far, no reply. Is there anybody out there that thinks this is a good idea?

5. @David Whysall: “I am writing to you to suggest about the possibility of establishing an annual International Fireworks Competition in Barbados … Is there anybody out there that thinks this is a good idea?

I think it’s a fantastic idea!!!

I used to really enjoy the Celebration of Light fireworks festival in Vancouver. Literally millions of people attend.

6. Thank you Christopher. It really needs input from people like you who have seen these events in action. In truth, it is difficult for Bajans to visualise the impact because they simply haven’t seen it for themselves. I cannot stress the excitement, additional revenue and general benefits to the economy that such a competition will bring year after year. When I read of the huge sum of money put into the Jazz Festival for a meagre attendance it blows my mind. Thanks again.

7. @David Whysall: “In truth, it is difficult for Bajans to visualise the impact because they simply haven’t seen it for themselves.

Indeed. Seeing a million or so dollars of sophisticated and innovative fireworks go off, all perfectly choreographed to beautiful music, is something which must be experienced to be truly appreciated.

And, as I understand it, the competitors pay for their own fireworks, so the costs to Barbados would be minimal. And, like you say, the economic benefits to the local economy would be significant.

I think the ideal location for the “launch platform” for such an event would be a bit south of Carlisle Bay. That would allow viewing from the entire south-west of Barbados beaches as well as the ridge-line.

Thank you Mr. Whysall for suggesting an excellent idea! Now let’s just hope it’s implemented.

8. As a matter of fact Carlisle Bay is exactly the location I suggested to the Ministry of Tourism.
    What it needs to get off the ground is a relatively small amount of seed money from the Ministry and I believe sponsorship will follow. Come on Minister Sealey – make it happen!

9. Adrian Loveridge Avatar

David Whysall,

I also think its a good idea.
    Have you posted your thoughts on the Ministry of Tourism White Paper Blog.

Tonight (Wednesday) Tourism White Paper Town Hall Meeting – 7pm – Solidarity House, Harmony Hall, St. Michael.

10. I’ve sent info to Minister Sealy both at the Ministry and the Constituency office. I will post something on the White Paper Blog – thanks

11. @All… I hope this embed code will work.

You really need to see this first hand to appreciate the beauty.

Watching it through a 2D screen just don’t do it justice….

[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kdcZ9G2yri0&fs=1&hl=en_US]

12. This is an extract from an article on the Da Nang (Vietnam) International Fireworks Competition. My company was honoured to be awarded first place at the inaugural competition in 2008 and subsequent events have grown substantially:

“During the International Firework Competition 2009, Danang received 60,000 visitors, a year-on-year increase of 20%.”

SIXTY THOUSAND visitors!!!

13. @Mr: Whysall: If I may please ask…

What do you think of Disney’s claimed innovation of pneumatic launching of firework payloads?

Is their claim actually seminal?

14. The launch of pyrotechnics/fireworks by air isn’t new. I saw this many years ago in a military application. However, the technological breakthrough with Disney is the computer chip which replaces the traditional time fuse. This, (theoretically at least) leads to more accurately timed bursts in the sky. The major advantage of Disney’s air-launch system is that there is no gunpowder used in the launch of the fireworks. This ensures that there is no ground-level smoke to impact the viewing of the display, but also helps environmentally when displays are fired every night over water.

15. I, too, have seen the Internation Fireworks display. They are fantastic. The Chinese ad French are superb at their creations and the music is complementary to the display in the sky. I saw my first display in Montreal in 1997 from a boat in the River. Best place to view. I saw them again three years ago at the Casino at Lac Leamy. Crowds upon crowds go to see them. You have to pay to access the beach and take your own chairs if you are not in the stands. It can be a money generator.

16. Not wishing to dwell on the point about the the economic benefits of international fireworks competitions, I have found these brief extracts from articles that hopefully will create some interest among Ministry of Tourism, the tourism industry in general, or indeed, potential sponsors.

Vancouver: “The fireworks festival attracts up to 400,000 people per night over four nights and generates more than $34-million in visitor spending”.

Da Nang (Vietnam): “Tour operators are reporting a lack of hotel rooms in the central coast city of Danang for the nights of March 27 and 28 due to the annual Danang International Fireworks Competition”.

Hong Kong: “Thousands of visitors came here from Mainland China, Taiwan, Singapore, Thailand, India, Germany and Canada. Their excitement was shared by another 114 million across the region through live TV coverage – and tonight two major Japanese TV stations are also taking the live feed, raising the audience to 126 million. At a local level, over 300,000 residents and visitors watched last week’s show from the harbourfront and the local media coverage was worth over HK$8 million.”

We just need one stakeholder to come forward to start the ball rolling. Come on Barbados!!! Anyone interested can contact me directly at davew@dwfireworks.com (web site http://www.dwfireworks.com)