At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. Re: Certainly many like myself and Donna suffered greatly under Sinckler’s economic terror regime.

My suffering was not a personal thing. It was the feeling of despair that came from seeing things fall apart around me. I was able to adjust because i have always had room to do so. I had always spent money freely but I had to give greater thought to my budget and stick to it. Not that thinking about expenditure, even minor expenditure, wasn’t stressful but the experience was a good lesson for me and I made sure my son knew so that he too could benefit from it. I no longer spend impulsively. He plans his spending and is a very good saver. We both are better for it.

My problem was the many people who had no room for adjustment and no idea when the situation would improve for them. It was also the callous way that pronouncements were made and handled in a like it or lump it manner. It was the feeling that the government did not know what it was doing It was Cahill, the Four Seasons and many other questionable projects that indicated that the government thought it could do as it pleased, shout down any opposition and fool the people that it was all in their minds. It was the boldness of the whole thing as though they thought the people were powerless. It was the way they seemed to think that they owed nobody any explanation because they were IN POWER.

But mostly it was the lying assurances they gave before the election, assurances I always knew were exaggerated but which I never knew would prove so false SO SOON AFTER THE ELECTION.

It was the realization that these people thought they could get away with anything that played on my psyche.

And I thought the 30:0 embarrassment the last government suffered would have awakened the new government to its limitations.

But maybe they are more than willing to take turns with their brothers and sisters of the political class.

Something to think about.

2. David

You should make the POS gripe a little longer

3. @ David.

All in all I don’t think it went badly and by next week crowds should ease. Once people are convinced that access to food will not be closed to them again, confidence will return and things will settle down.

4. “whose only purpose everyday along with Waru is to find every negative story to pull Barbsdos down never a word of praise.”

i don’t praise backwardness and lack of intelligence…YOU HAVE TO EARN MY PRAISE…..

i don’t do the yardfowl anything goes and i am satisfied, quick to please and accepting mediocrity and even praising it., that is not how reality works..

do something intelligent to BENEFIT THE MAJORITY POPULATION…for once in ya sorry ass, narrow minded lives and then i will be impressed…

. ….no one has to show ya how…

yall know how to impress minority racists and thieves, how to enrich them, how to give them all the opportunities while the majority pay ya salaries and fund the island….and all you do in return is show them how ignorant and brutal to them ya be…..

5. Silly Woman,April 15, 2020 3:56 PM

“@Sargeant April 15, 2020 12:27 PM “…where you can buy some illicit grog.”

“No need to buy illicit grog.”

Seems that you know a lot about enology. You are not only a small farmer but you have branched out into the area of food science.

6. @Hal Austin April 15, 2020 4:25 PM “…share with them being black in a racist society.”

Why have you chosen to remain in a deeply racist society?

7. Silly WomanApril 15, 2020 3:56 PM

@Sargeant April 15, 2020 12:27 PM “…where you can buy some illicit grog.”

No need to buy illicit grog.

I had a friend who lived in Saudi Arabia for years, learned to make the greatest sorrel [dark red sorrell imported from Ethiopia] grog you could wish for.You know that hard times, or “dry” countries will bring out the creativity in people.

You have sugar?

You have water?

You have yeast?

You have sorrell?

Or any kind of fruit?

Go ahead.

Plenty of great recipes on the ‘net

Check mark for everything on the list but I don’t drink much.

One thing I am hopeless at is sewing (and I have tried) but my seamstress cousin from just across the road is doing a good trade now she is home from her other job. Ordered some from her yesterday. There are people who can sew in every village. Maybe its the heights and terraces that are buying from Yankee Garments.

8. “So Baje, who in the world has qualifications in the area of pandemics, and demonstrable expertise in managing pandemics?”

i was reading about one such pandemic expert earlier, but he is in prison for some attempted fantasy murder, lol, don’t know if they will release him..

9. “Just a few days after I said I did not even know somebody who knows somebody who has this virus, it strikes.”

Condolences Donna.

10. Yeah man!

Me and my friend used to make a 5 gallon bucket at a time.

I can make my own wine whenever i feel like it. But i am not much of a drinker. I still have leftover alcohol from Christmas 2018, yes, 2018, and some that the Crop Over partiers who lodge with me during the paryy season left with me durig August 2019.

So I am good for alcohol.

11. “Maybe its the heights and terraces that are buying from Yankee Garments.”

they can’t get any either, frontline workers first, as it should be..

.that is why tailors and seamstresses should have been mobilized, at least over 100 of them, to cover each parish..

then an ass like Lawsuit Lorenza want to tell me about praising some shite government who do not know how to do right by their own people through EMPOWERMENT…steuppppss…

12. @Donna “Maybe its the heights and terraces that are buying from Yankee Garments.”

Donna I am in the heights and terraces, but have never forgotten that i was raised in a rural village, and i haven’t forgotten the skills that I learned there.

I got my pattern/instructions from the CDC website. Instructions there on how to make masks with or without a sewing machine. Including things you have on hand, for example a T-shirt.

Do you believe that there is any family in Barbados without a t-shirt on hand.

I am sure that even Ninja Man has more than one t-shirt.

13. Heights and Terraces people will have to go looking for tailors and seamstresses or make their own masks, can’t wait on an orders backed up Yankees Garments or a foolish government.

All it would have taken is advertising on FB or radio for seamstresses and tailors to produce and they would have appeared, then they in turn could advertise through the same media with contact info and voila ….everyone is happy..

14. Look what people are saying on social media about the Alphabet soup

Do not waste your shopping hours at Massy. They have a 40 item limit and the wait is no shorter for it. Waited nearly 3 hours.

15. Here is another social media outburst on todays alphabet soup strategy
    Xcccxxxccxxxxxxxx

These supermarkets are RIDICULOUS this shitty plan is NOT WORKING 3 hrs and still can’t get in? You need to go back to the drawing board😡😡

16. “have to wait on government????”

a backward government that gave itself SWEEPING POWERS and only gives certain people permission to do certain things on the island, CANNOT BE TRUSTED and is clearly on a power trip…

but am sure the people will mobilize themselves, the big dog and pony show of opening a damn cloth store before a food selling supermarket says a lot …and still with all of that grand performance, masks are not as readily available as they should be….the people will get it all sorted out though…

17. Hope govt gets the point instead of sending Santia Bradshaw as the govt propaganda machine
    More madness and social media redponds
    Xxxccxxcxxxxxxxccxxcccccc

There is no way a person who was in line at the Supermarket from early should be turned back when the other set of people came,that is wrong.
    Please do it day by day instead of a couple hours,it’s not working.

18. Elderly voice speaks out on social media
    Hope govt read
    Alphabet soup strategy not ready for Prime time
    Please not copied text on social.media platform

Xxxccccxxxxxcccccccccccccc

I am one of the older person, when to massy in warrens the line was extremely long ,leave there went to Hackett hall and did not get ,they closed and all of us had to go home or find some where else to go which was also long time to close for the next set of people to come to shop and I who ever else were there had leave, you had to go, the next letters were to come in and the first set did not get anywhere who did not get in had to leave they letters time had gone

19. They should look at opening supermarkets normal hours, but what do i know..

… if they had not shut down the supermarkets for 2 WHOLE WEEKS…they would not now be looking DUMB ENUFF…lol

Miller…the genieasses…lol

20. Still a lot of needle workers in Barbados. Even though I am in the heights and terraces I know 4 female needl workers within walking distance of my home all of whom have done needle work for me and my children.

Some people think that we should de-skill all of our people and buy mass produced everything, food, clothing, everything from outside. I am not one of those people, and tobesides since Barbados is so small we are not a threat to the commercial needle workers of China or the U.S. not to the commercial food food producers in Brazil, the United States, Canada, China, Russia etc., so we should continue to do our thing even if sometimes it is a bit more expensive to do so.

That way we always have something on hand. It is better to be able to put on your own pot that to wait for the neighbors to call you over for some food. We need to keep our people skilled.

21. 15, 2020 6:20 PM

Elderly voice speaks out on social media
    Hope govt read
    Alphabet soup strategy not ready for Prime time
    Please note copied text on social.media platform

Xxxccccxxxxxcccccccccccccc

I am one of the older person, when to massy in warrens the line was extremely long ,leave there went to Hackett hall and did not get ,they closed and all of us had to go home or find some where else to go which was also long time to close for the next set of people to come to shop and I who ever else were there had leave, you had to go, the next letters were to come in and the first set did not get anywhere who did not get in had to leave they letters time had gone

22. Dishonest Bajans Avatar
    Dishonest Bajans

@ john 2

You sound like @Dompey one of the dumbest and most irritating pest on BU not too long ago.

Seem like you change your alias.

23. When i see INTELLIGENT GOVERNANCE…promoting and EMPOWERING their own people to produce and ENRICH THEMSELVES…i praise and PROMOTE IT…alyuh should try the former, then ya will be entitled to the latter…

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10156865575246850&id=570211849

24. @ Donna April 15, 2020 5:25 PM

Dear Donna,

I understand your anger very well. Without wanting to get into personal details: many Barbadians had to emigrate during this period of terror in order not to go bankrupt.

If you think I want to rob the population and make them poorer with my reform proposals, you are completely wrong. Look at it this way: the current consumer prices for petrol, food, construction and everything else are at world record levels in international comparison. So the Barbados dollar already has very little purchasing power, in real terms it is only worth 10 to 25 US cents. We are therefore harming ourselves if we maintain an illusion of 1:2 in exports and tourism.

When I argue in favour of lower wages or currency devaluation, this must of course be accompanied by lower consumer prices through the elimination of taxes and customs duties. Not only wages but also consumer prices must fall.

That for clarification.

25. Austin put it on yoir facebook page and leave out the long talk.I fo not care if you beghing the chairman a favout or not your behaviour to David BU is disgusting and should NOT BE TOLERATED.You now realise who own the blog anf IT IS NOT YOU. Go beg somewhere else or form your own blog disrespectful jackass.You have zero sympathy from me.

26. Alyuh see now…i feel totally insulted that fowls, of all people, believe i should praise MEDIOCRITY in a historical moment that neither they NOR the joke leaders they suck up to can see….so blind and backward, they cannot even see THE END TO COLONIALIZATION AND THE COLONIZED BLACK MIND…..UNFOLDING RIGHT IN FRONT OF THEM..but always got talk for me.

….dont even try to get any info on that outta me or i will go off on you clowns…ya claim to know everything …so ya should know about this.

“In this unprecedented historical moment, many fear for the future. Africans do, too, but while they will certainly also go through a tough period, they should see this crisis as an opportunity to fast track the process of decolonialisation.

This first has to happen on a rhetorical level.”

Donna…it is disgusting that not the leaders nor their fowls …CAN SEE WHAT IS HAPPENING…they missed the whole thing and will probably ALSO MISS THE OPPORTUNITY…..and some parasite will grab the opportunity to keep their weak minds enslaved…to enrich themselves and it will turn into a sell out parade all over again. I know you saw it right away with the first one i posted.

..while am sure more progressive, leaders in the caribbean with vision will see it and grab in a heart beat….

These blind fools have been too busy cussing me..lol to see what was set in motion.

27. @John A

Yes we are getting there, social distancing being observed, people wearing masks etc. This week would always have been a challenge because of the public holidays. Expect things to imprisnd the government promises to tweak some more as we go along.

28. How to practice social distancing in the hot broiling sun
    Wonder if Mia and her 26 cabinet can attest to such treatment
    xxxxxccccccccvcvcv

https://www.facebook.com/100002883250163/posts/2595314143908002/

29. WURA-War-on-U. Avatar

Someone just told me that ya fake leaders were too busy sucking up to dictators and fools like themselves to even notice the historical moment approaching, because they are wannabe dictators too…well too bad for them, because the world is shedding power hungry leaders…shortly….and once again they got left behind when the time came to STAND UP AND BE COUNTED…always the bridesmaid…never the bride..lol

The colonial countries will cover themselves as they have had centuries of experience doing because it is now all about THEIR SURVIVAL…

30. U people are so f.king wicked and inhumane that yuh all cant even see the inhumanity in having people old and young some pregnant women to stand in hot broiling sun .
    wear mask and gloves..practice social distancing in order to take care of household commitments
    I would not even subject a dog to such harsh treatment
    Yeah right Mia cares

31. Does this sound familiar, small governments who love foreign consultants and foreign colonial massas only telling them what they should do and paying them multimillions of taxpayer’s money too…..it is never ending and repulsive…and only serves to HIGHLIGHT THE WEAK SLAVE MIND….they do not even want to use their local people in the Diaspora who have decades of corporate and other experience…what they did to Walter Blackman comes to mind…it is disgraceful and disgusting….and very disrespectful to those educated by taxpayers and are always willing to return to contribute…but refuse to be REDUCED to being a government yardfowl

“It will also mean that African countries will have to stop importing foreign “saviours” to help solve African problems. The continent has enough local talent and educated experts at home and in the diaspora to tackle challenges in a variety of fields and they would do it better than foreigners, because unlike them, they actually know very well the local context and specificities.”

32. So…answer me truthfully…. did anyone else besides Donna and myself and i suspect Miller and Pachamama…. see this coming?…or were yall too busy minding some of these damn asses on BU…lol

33. @WURA-War-on-U April 15, 2020 5:41 PM “i was reading about one such pandemic expert earlier, but he is in prison for some attempted fantasy murder, lol, don’t know if they will release him.”

i beg you please do NOT send the freak our way. We know how to make trouble all on our own. We do NOT need any help with that.

34. So…answer me truthfully…. did anyone else besides Donna and myself and i suspect Miller and Pachamama…. see this coming?…or were yall too busy minding some of these damn asses on BU…lol
    Xxxxxxxxxxxx

STOP TRYING TO PAT YOURSELF ON THE BACK.

EVEN RAY CHARLES AND STEVIE WONDER TWO BLIND MEN COULD SEE THIS COMING.

BAJANS HAVE DRANKED THE JIM JONES POISONOUS KOOLAID.

35. dishonest bajan

go and scratch yahself and you will find more pest that I can ever be !

36. Too many African descended leaders HAVE FOR CENTURIES BEEN THE PROBLEM, instead of the solution….too many of them have held their people back for way too long, now that disease is running rampant and they cannot run up and down the western countries to show off themselves…they have to stay put and do what is right by their people…finally..

.all those who stole from their people and hid it here and there are now very likely to lose it ALL, these countries where ya hid ya stolen loot are looking out for THEMSELVES, more fool you not to have looked out for yours but instead spent countless decades tiefing from the people ya should be protecting….so who says there is no karma…ha….

…..ah hope alyuh LOSE EVERY DIME, both you and ya minority crook friends…let’s see if ya can try using ya bullshit SWEEPING POWERS to get any of it back….ha

“All this is part of a decolonialisation process that is long overdue. In fact, the African people have long been ready to embark on it, but they have been waiting for their political elites who have lagged behind.

But perhaps now that Western hospitals are no longer able to take in and treat African leaders and their assets stashed away in Western banks may be at risk amid the global downturn, they too may finally come on board.”

37. limit the time in the supermarkets. At 8am 15 go in for 15mins. (According to the size of supermarket) each one got a number to hand off when they go back out side.

another 10 going in at 8:10. at 815am the first 15 should be at check out counter or in line while 10 shopping. first 5 out and hand over their numbers to the next five – next five in line to check out counter – at least 5 more still in line

need tweaking but keep those lines moving

38. “EVEN RAY CHARLES AND STEVIE WONDER TWO BLIND MEN COULD SEE THIS COMING.

BAJANS HAVE DRANKED THE JIM JONES POISONOUS KOOLAID.”

that’s the thing, not many would have seen it coming…we have been talking about it for years and years on BU…many dropped off the blog, but the topic stayed alive..

… it was only BUs repulsive racists thought they could keep the centuries old evil alive… and ongoning ad nauseum and indefinitely….to make themselves feel good and FAKE SUPERIOR…

it is not a new topic…ask Blogmaster, many cuss outs happened on here because of this, now to see it coming slowly into reality, it is amazing….but many still did not see it until i pointed it out, Miller and Pachamama were talking about it before i came on BU, more than 8 years they had been at it…but only Donna voiced and posted, yep it is happening in real time.

39. Bajan Free Party 2023 0r sooner Avatar
    Bajan Free Party 2023 0r sooner

Its took Year but today we all can see who wrote the Fake NEWS to delay the people waking up to the Massive Fraud and PONZI land and money laundering, MiaVirass crew, its will take a few more dead to wake up the dead to take Action at the Polls as the DOJ making their moves with the Warships off the coast with the satellites flying even lower to get a better view of the crooks moving at night! 2020 will have a Happy Ending! BFP

40. The lockdown is a godsend. It is a good exercise for the indigenous masses in what will happen when our foreign currency reserves are soon exhausted. Then the people will have to wait in line for hours for a litre of milk and a loaf of bread.

The people then already have practice and do not become rebellious. Very nice. We need sheep and not critical thinkers who get the idea of questioning fundamental issues.

41. Two more Barbadians tested positive for COVID-19 YESTERDAY, out of a total of 38 tests carried out by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory.

The total number of people who have tested positive for COVID-19 since March 16 is 75.

Five deaths have occurred

The number of tests done by the public health laboratory to date is 900.

8% tested positive.

42. Hope the government has a plan for dealing with a tropical storm during this Covid 19 pandemic.

“An wen de hurricane come.”

43. Our leader Mia was obviously unsure whether LIAT would destroy old OSA´s reputation sufficiently (does the airline still exist?).

Therefore she entrusted him with two more unsolvable tasks and offices:

First, as election observer in Guyana. OSA has failed terribly there. If I read it right, the Guyanese want to recount the ballots in 156 days (sic!). By then, OSA will probably have died of the Wuhan plague.

Second, as advisor to the new investment council. OSA will fail there as well. Barbados is bankrupt and can no longer obtain new credits from private banks. After all, OSA’s only expertise as a PM was to continue borrowing.

Our leader has beaten old OSA three times. OSA has thus become the anti-midas of the Caribbean. Everything he touches ends in disaster.

It’s time for OSA to switch to the DLP.

44. @Baje April 15, 2020 11:53 AM

#@ greene

@Baje

not so fast with Jamaica. 31 new cases detected.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/article/news/20200414/jamaicas-covid-19-cases-jump-105-seven-day-lock-down-st-catherine

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

NOT SO FAST

JAMAICA IS 10 TIMES THE POPULATION SO SHOULD HAVE 720 POSITIVE CASES TO BE ON EQUAL LEVEL TO BARBADOS 72 WITH 300,000 POPULATION.

Mr. 3 Degrees aka Major League Asshole

As a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces, the figure you should be concerned about is the over 250 deaths and thousands of positives tests of your veteran colleagues.

45. Educate yourself and stop flapping your anti Barbados crap.

https://www.facebook.com/gduydbdud52/videos/10158172175217394/

46. This is what happens when all ya fool leaders want to do is boast and boast about being wealthy when in reality ya have not one shite, boasting and boasting about punching above some shite weight when ya dependent on a one horse economy to nowhere, keeping the colonial blight and ya people in mental and psychologial bondage, this is what ya get, refuse to empower ya people because ya don’t want to see them free, happy, productive and definitely not wealthy…ah hope the strain of all of this destroys ya wicked, deceitful colonial minds….too damn backward and wicked…this is what ya get for ya decades of neglect and oppression of the people. Now ya have to wait and see what the bigger countries can help with…dependent you.

https://www.miamiherald.com/news/nation-world/world/americas/haiti/article241998336.html?fbclid=IwAR2gwQvJN0oqsDwIwO1sIfrdoDOMZtFuAoD3OxzX_fw1LjO3NGM1cQhdjT4

“Caribbean leaders say a financial bailout offered to some of the world’s poorest countries this week by the International Monetary Fund to help cushion the economic blow of the coronavirus pandemic doesn’t go far enough — and stressed that they, too, are in desperate need of a rescue.”

47. If they had DIVERSIFIED away from tourism as people have been telling them FOR YEARS and YEARS..that would have helped to cushion the blow from the plague…..generational DEPENDENCY IS NOTHING TO ADMIRE…

now they are crying to anyone who would listen, sit and wait your turn, that is what yall wanted, that is what ya get for not listening to the people who elected you nor to anyone else who tried to warn about the big hole ya can’t climb out of……be careful what you wish for…

but have they learned anything from this….i doubt it, they will still try to slide ride back into the colonial trap, just give them half a chance and watch them FAIL AGAIN…this time they should all be imprisoned.

48. Miller…they love being popular and pretending to be first world while looking down at the people who elected them and promoting shite parasites…well look at them being real first world now.

Where is Pacha…can’t enjoy this all by myself…IT MUST BE SHARED…the BATTLE was very long and NOT AT ALL EASY…i did not FIGHT THIS ALONE..

“Thank you to journalist Jacqueline Charles and Miami Herald. Something urgently must be done for the Caribbean. These incompetent and greedy Caribbean leaders can no longer sell passports and become billionaires on the backs of their own people. What manner of leader are you to steal the wealth of your own land and keep it to yourself, while your people suffer? Why is the United Nations not offering to help the Caribbean in a humanitarian crisis? Did this double face double crosser deceive them to?”

Are they proud Enuff yet, this is how they are being advertised FOR THE WHOLE WORLD TO SEE, as greedy, ruthless PARASITES..

Will they change their corrupt ways now.?

Will they stop ROBBING their people?

Will they stop selling out their people?

Will they continue TO STOP their people from growing, progressing and prospering?

Will they START enriching the people who elected them and not a bunch of greedy minority parasites and themselves?

Have they finally seen that their GAMES ARE OVER, DONE, KAPUT?..i doubt it, too uppity, arrogant and selfish.

Will they get rid of their CORRUPT COLONIAL MINDS?

Will they stop using the BLIGHTED COLONIAL SYSTEM against their people?

Everyone is watching but have they even noticed?

This is the time to UNSEAT all of them, they have continually shown up themselves AS USELESS TO THE PEOPLE WHO ELECTED THEM…and NOT FIT FOR PURPOSE.

start packing ya georgie bundles…and be gone, you and ya yardfowls…good riddance, adios..

49. The below extracts ( taken from two sources) may be of interest to some readers of the Blog. There is a lot of co-operation between scientists of all nations despite there being political differences. That factor needs to be understood. I would not discount the idea that the Chinese wanted to upstage the Yanks in this particular area. However, China has not got the same ethos of hundred of years of doing scientific research as the west. In the extract below, Chinese did not have the expertise to build and operate .BSL-4 labs.( these have air-locks and negative pressure throughout as well as disinfectant stations as well as PPE).

Sources believe coronavirus originated in Wuhan lab as part of China’s efforts to compete with US
    Published 9 hours agoNewsFOX 5 New York

FOX NEWS – COVID-19 originated in a Wuhan laboratory not as a bioweapon, but as part of China’s effort to demonstrate that its efforts to identify and combat viruses are equal to or greater than the capabilities of the United States, multiple sources who have been briefed on the details of early actions by China’s government and seen relevant materials tell Fox News.

“During construction, prospective BSL-4 laboratory staff members visited France, the US, or Australia for BSL-4 training and capacity building. After 2 years of testing and commissioning, Wuhan BSL-4 laboratory passed a series of assessments, and the China National Accreditation Service for Conformity Assessment certified it as meeting the highest biosafety standard in January 2017. In August 2017, the National Health Commission of China approved research activities involving Ebola, Nipah, and Crimean-Congo hemorrhagic fever viruses at the Wuhan BSL-4 laboratory,” says the report.
    According to experts, the safety and function of a BSL-4 laboratory rely not only on the containment facility and biosafety management systems but also on very qualified and experienced staff.

“Many recorded laboratory accidents are related to personnel error. Qualified staff ensures the efficacy and safety of a high-containment laboratory,” says the report.

WARNING SHOT US officials warned bat study at Wuhan lab could trigger coronavirus outbreak TWO years ago
    James Beal, US Editor
    14 Apr 2020, 18:03Updated: 15 Apr 2020, 1:33 The Sun, UK

In 2015, the WIV had become China’s first laboratory to achieve the highest level of international bioresearch safety.

US officials warned two years ago that safety lapses during the study of bats at a Wuhan laboratory could lead to a coronavirus outbreak.

Secret cables from American embassy officials – following 2018 visits to a lab in the Chinese city now at the centre of the world pandemic – were obtained by the Washington Post.They revealed fears that inadequate safety precautions by those conducting risky studies on coronaviruses from bats could result in a deadly new strain of the disease.One US official told the Washington Post: “The cable was a warning shot. They were begging people to pay attention to what was going on.”
    The cables reveal that in January 2018, the US Embassy in Beijing took the unusual step of repeatedly sending science diplomats to the Wuhan Institute of Virology (WIV).

The US delegation was led by Jamison Fouss, the consul general in Wuhan, and Rick Switzer, the embassy’s counselor of environment, science, technology and health.

What the American officials learned concerned them so much that they dispatched two diplomatic cables – categorised as ‘Sensitive But Unclassified’ – back to Washington DC.
    The first cable warned that the lab’s work on bat coronaviruses and their potential human transmission represented a risk of a new SARS-like pandemic.

It said: “During interactions with scientists at the WIV laboratory, they noted the new lab has a serious shortage of appropriately trained technicians and investigators needed to safely operate this high-containment laboratory.”
    The Chinese researchers at WIV were receiving help from the Galveston National Laboratory at the University of Texas Medical Branch and other US organisations.

The US cable stated: “Most importantly the researchers also showed that various SARS-like coronaviruses can interact with ACE2, the human receptor identified for SARS-coronavirus.
    “This finding strongly suggests that SARS-like coronaviruses from bats can be transmitted to humans to cause SARS-like diseases.

Xiao Qiang, a research scientist from the University of California, told the Washington Post: “The cable tells us that there have long been concerns about the possibility of the threat to public health that came from this lab’s research, if it was not being adequately conducted and protected.”

There are similar concerns about a SECOND laboratory in the Chinese city – the Wuhan Centre for Disease Control and Prevention lab.

50. @ Robert

So your posting suggests there may be doubt over the eating bats theory? Do you think now is a good time to introduce a ban on eating pig meat?