At the outset of the Coronavirus crisis in this country, the Hon. Prime Minister, Mia Mottley, hosted a consultation with members of the Social Partnership and me at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, to plan strategy for fighting this threat. I was impressed and congratulated her on the approach. I then went on to say to her that this was not a time for political controversy and that all sides must come together to defeat this scourge.

Rather than busy itself with measures to protect the people of this country, some twelve days after the consultation, Government rushed to Parliament and passed legislation that was already on the books, to manage the ensuing crisis. In essence, that legislation amended the Emergency Management Act by re-enacting certain provisions that already existed at section 28 of the same act; also at sections 2 and 3 of the 1939 Emergency Powers Act; and at section 25 of the Constitution. The amendment also went on to give powers to the Chief Medical Officer that he already had since 1969.

Needless to say, those initial steps did not give me any confidence that Government was capable of handling the situation, however I remained quiet hoping that somehow that they would get it right. I’ve tried to hold my peace but the situation has now reached a stage that I am compelled to speak-up before these bunglers unintentionally kill us all.

The handling of this crisis has been plagued with the bungling that is now characteristic of anything that this administration touches. So far, were are told that there is no evidence of any community spread of the virus. But it would seem that the end result of the Government’s initiatives would lead to what we fear most. What did the Government think would happen when it gave one day’s notice of a 24-hour curfew? As was reasonably foreseeable, people rushed to supermarkets in their thousands, ignoring any suggestion of physical or social distancing. Take some sobering time to imagine what could have happened if there were any carriers of the Coronavirus in those lines?

As if Government fails to learn from its mistakes, post offices were opened for a limited period in order to allow pensioners to cash their National Insurance pension cheques. The foreseeable result happened: hundreds of vulnerable persons throng the post offices thereby creating an incubator for the spread of the Coronavirus.

This virus is deadly and Government must come up with a series of measures that would protect the people of this country. These hit or miss initiatives just will not do.

1,745 responses to “Senator Caswell Franklyn Speaks – Government Bungling Response to Coronavirus Crisis”

1. @Daviid

I in the supermarket dem got a special on Corana beer you want 6. You buy 6 corona and get 2 free face masks! 😂

2. @ robert lucas

@ Vincent Codrington April 15, 2020 11:10 AM

“I think Mr Carter is growing into his “job”. You may notice that in recent times he is redirecting the Epidemiological questions to Dr Best ,the CMO.”

Shouldn’t it be a position he should never have had? I heard him a couple of times and he was trying to lecture on things he had no competence in.. As a sociologist, he should have known that he was not competent in the scientific field. He is lucky that the reporters do not seem to be versed in science. If scientific questions had been directed at him, he would not have been able to answer them. A square peg in a round hole.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

BEATING YOUR HEAD AGAINST A BRICK WALL.

YOU KNOW FULLY WELL IT IS NOT WHAT YOU KNOW, IT IS WHO YOU KNOW IN BIM AND CIRCLES YOU MOVE IN.

THAT IS THE BAJAN ETHOS AND WHY THE TINY ISLAND HAS BEEN PUSHED OVER THE CLIFF.

ALWAYS PUNCHING BELOW THEIR WEIGHT BUT THINKING OPPOSITE.

3. @ Vincent

Don’t mind David he send my old ass to Cheapside for vegetables and then turn around and call Mia To send the police for me!

4. @John A

Tuff Love

5. A very simplistic analysis.

6. @David

Why don’t you make it official and appoint “John A” roving shopping correspondent? He can report on where you can get good vegetables, who has specials on some groceries, how long the lineups are and the wait time; the feed back from the people inline and even where you can buy some illicit grog.

It could come under the heading “Community Service”😊

7. @Sergeant

Should it be Community Service or Community Spread.

8. A very simplistic analysis.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

NOTHING THAT GOES ON IN BARBADOS IS ROCKET SCIENCE OR CALCULUS.

SOME OF YOU WOULD LIKE ALL PEOPLE TO BE BLINDED AND NOT CHALLENGE IDIOCY AND PISS POOR JUDGEMENTS.

THERE IS A SIMPLE SLOGAN K I S S

KEEP IT SIMPLE STUPID SO EVERYONE INCLUDING THE LESSER INTELLIGENT CAN COMPREHEND.

9. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A at 12 :04 PM

Have you now worked out that ? David is a “disrupter” and “agent provocateur”. He just want to keep his blog going to register “hit”s. Are you sure he did not lend you those old Bata “go forwards” too?
    I

10. @ Baje April 15, 2020 12:42 PM

I like your KISS approach.

This principle also enables the mentally challenged to participate. So also Chris Sinckler.

11. I said all i wanted to say about the alphabet strategy
    I wouldn’t take a rocket scientist by share observance even by looking into a local phone book and see how names are alphabetically laid out as how many letters for each name takes up more pages
    The problem as i said is the time which govt is using to help the food supply from dwindling
    Their is no perfect strategy but their sure as hell is a strategy that does not create havoc
    However govt trying to have a strategy to save the food supply by shorter hours and expecting to create an alphabet strategy to keep.law and order in a 3hour time span would fail
    Open at 8 wed thur fri sat days a week close at 4
    Mon and tues people can determine what other household commitment can be done on those two day

12. @ Baje April 15, 2020 12:03 PM

I have been saying that he never should be in the post. You are however accused of all sorts of things if you point out that it is a case of a round peg in a square hole. Apparently, it is okay to have persons who do not know what they are talking about heading the response team. Only in a country like Barbados can such happen.

13. @ Vincent

David got 2 foot like planks if I borrow slippers from him they would look like flippers!

Any how left the supermarket at 12.30 it was emptying then, as it was closed off for the first group from entering at 11.30. When I was leaving the 1.00 pm line was forming and had already snaked out to the road. Had a little chat with a supervisor who told me they are working through phone and email orders by the hundreds. He said they will take the week at least before they can reopen their online service.

Now David due to the banking hours you can post my cheque to the incripted address I shall forward by email.

I have to say though I was so proud of how well our people dealt with the lines and wait. Everyone was social distancing and chatting. Makes you happy to be a Bajan!

14. John A April 15, 2020 11:38 AM

@ Vincent

No country people like us only got to ease around the back of the shop and tap the door and we will get the drinks using ” curb side pickup rumshop style.” Lol

My man, wuh part uh de country you live? Duh got any rooms up deh fuh rent? We down heh suffering man. Can’t even get nuh strong waters atall atall atall. Cigarettes selling but nuh one eye man. Dem tings ent right?

Another next thing; how come the big distributors like Massy and Brydens not servicing the said same village shops, that were supposed to pick up the slack?

15. @ FM

The problem with the small shops is they don’t have the warehouse or cold storage facility . Basically they buy what the front store can hold and that would probably last them a few days. The increased traffic now has them selling what usually took 5 days in 2 now. Plus if you was a distributor that had 2 orders one for say 500 whole chickens and an other for 20 which you would deliver first?

16. @ robert lucas

@ Baje April 15, 2020 12:03 PM

I have been saying that he never should be in the post. You are however accused of all sorts of things if you point out that it is a case of a round peg in a square hole. Apparently, it is okay to have persons who do not know what they are talking about heading the response team. Only in a country like Barbados can such happen.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

THIS IS WHAT IS THE OUTCOME WHEN TRYING TO PUNCH ABOVE THEIR DEAD WEIGHT BY USING THE TITLE “CZAR” WHICH IS A WORD USED ABROAD.

The name Czar means Ruler and is of Russian origin.

THEY DO THESE THINGS TO IMPRESS THE PUBLIC THAT THEY ARE DOING SOMETHING.

HOWEVER COMMONSENSE WOULD DICTATE THAT YOU CHOOSE SOME WHO IS QUALIFIED IN THE AREA AND WITH THE RELEVANT EXPERTISE DEMONSTRATED OVER MANY YEARS.

WHO EVER SAID COMMONSENSE WAS COMMON.

BUNCH OF INEPT CORRUPT LAWYERS LEADING THE MASSES TO HARDSHIP AND MISERY,

17. @John A
    Yes, but why not allow Mr. Small Shop to come and curbside pickup his 20 chickens?
    75 people can walk around a supermarket, but 7 shopkeepers can’t go by a wholesaler because we trying to prevent community spread?

18. @VC
    Are you sure he did not lend you those old Bata “go forwards” too?
    Something got lost in translation, those “go forwards” were made from old tires, what we use to burn as “balata”.

Thomas and Sonja Bata don’t want you to give their gift to the world a bad name.

19. @FM

I know alot of the distributors have walk in facilities for wholesale orders. The thing is some of these small shops may need to go and pick up their orders.

Remember retail is a chain reaction, so if the supermarkets are ram off then the distribution load will be maxed out as well. It’s a classic case of the domino effect here. So lets say the supermarkets are busy, then the entire chain is maxed and even the credit card transaction times will slow down.

20. @ Mariposa April 15, 2020 1:00 PM

I can well understand your criticism of the alphabet solution.

After all, even people like Chris Sinckler must be able to participate in this program, even if they don’t know all the letters from A to Z or all the decimals.

21. what about law/order? police/defence force or private security or people just behaving because they had early notice this time ?

22. And then the IDIOCY of not mobilizing at least 10 seamstress and tailors PER PARISH…let them supply their own communities…no, that would be way too easy and organized while EMPOWERING THE PEOPLE TO PRODUCE…which none of the genieasses seem to want..

…..so what do the dumb do…give Yankee Garments permission to make masks, seem to be the only people in Barbados who could sew and then what happens….THEY ARE SO BACKED UP, THEY DO NOT KNOW WHEN THEY CAN GET TO OTHER PEOPLE EXCEPT FOR FRONTLINE WORKERS….at this time.

yall really think i want genieasses like them leading me, oh hell no..

23. @Baje April 14, 2020 10:40 PM “BARBADOS POPULATION 3 HUNDRED THOUSAND 70+ CONFIRMED CASES, JAMAICA POPULATION 3 MILLION 70+ CONFIRMED CASES WITH SUPERMARKETS AND PHARMACIES OPEN.”

Today Jamaica 105 cases, 5 deaths, sadly Jamaica had a big jump overnight apparently linked to a call center.
    Today Barbados 73 cases, 5 deaths

P.S. I have Jamaican relatives

24. ” Barbados is punching way above its weight. Once again.”

of course, with nearly the same number of infections as a population with over 3 million people, compare the other islands, except from Dominican Republic which in my view dont even count…. and watch the difference.

25. @ Waru

so what do the dumb do…give Yankee Garments permission to make masks, seem to be the only people in Barbados who could sew and then what happens….THEY ARE SO BACKED UP, THEY DO NOT KNOW WHEN THEY CAN GET TO OTHER PEOPLE EXCEPT FOR FRONTLINE WORKERS….at this time.

Xxxxxxxxxxxx

THIS MORNING I SAW TWO PEOPLE ON THE ROADSIDE AS I DROVE BY MALE AND FEMALE SELLING FACE MASKS.

I STOPPED AND BOUGHT 3 FACE MASKS IN PACKAGE FOR UNDER US$5 TOTAL OR AROUND US$1.50 EACH.

I WONDER WHAT THESE OVERPRICED MASKS IN BIM ARE BEING SOLD FOR BY THIS MANUFACTURING MONOPOLY.

I KNOW JOHN HATCHITY WELL HE IS NOT A GOOD PERSON AND SLEEZE BALL.

DEFINITELY FITS THE DEFINITION @ HAL HAS OF LEBANESE AND HE ONE OF THE WORST.

SO DOESN’T SURPRISED HIS DOORS ARE OPEN.

DIRTY BUSINESS IS THE NORM.

26. @Hal Austin April 15, 2020 8:04 AM “Why the interest in sleaze?”

My Response: We learned it from YOUR Daily Mail. This is Little England remember?

@Hal Austin April 15, 2020 8:04 AM “Only a few weeks ago we had a prominent Barbadian celebrating his marriage to another man without any comment in public from the commentariat.”

This is a BIG FAT LIE. There has been plenty of comment regarding Peter’s marriage. I heard some on the radio up to yesterday or the day before.

Stupppssseee!!!

27. @Tron

I TRY TO USE THE KISS PRINCIPLE ESPECIALLY ON BU.

EVEN DOING THAT THE LESSER INTELLIGENT LIKE SILLY STILL CAN’T READ THOROUGHLY BEFORE RESPONDING.

MUST BE A CLOSE RELATIVE OF CHRIS SINCLAIR THE DUMB AND DUMBER.

28. I sent the chairman a video for posting of a black daughter telling of her 79 yr old father’s experience in a UK hospital. It confirms what I said a few days ago about the treatment of black people in hospitals and the coronavirus pandemic.
    I am sure he is going to put it up.

29. @Sargeant April 15, 2020 12:27 PM “…where you can buy some illicit grog.”

No need to buy illicit grog.

I had a friend who lived in Saudi Arabia for years, learned to make the greatest sorrel [dark red sorrell imported from Ethiopia] grog you could wish for.You know that hard times, or “dry” countries will bring out the creativity in people.

You have sugar?

You have water?

You have yeast?

You have sorrell?

Or any kind of fruit?

Go ahead.

Plenty of great recipes on the ‘net.

30. John A, I hear and understand all that you are saying. All I am suggesting is, it should be a relatively easy matter to fill 6 “20 chickens orders” Even if it was a one man show, it should not take 2-3 weeks.

The problem is sole distributors with sister companies in the supermarket business coupled with the Bajan love affair with brand name products. Right now there are just too many “cow heads” available so the “sheep head a day” thing gone through the eddoes.

31. @ HAL

UNFORTUNATELY YOU DON’T SING IN THE CHAIRMAN’S CHOIR.

SO PLEASE DON’T HOLD YOUR BREATH.

32. WW

We people so backwards that AT least 10 seamstress and tailors PER PARISH (IF THERE ARE SO MANY) CAN TAKE THEIR OWN INITITIVE and make the masks ond sell them on they own? have to wait on government????

the instructions all over the internet.

33. @ Baje

I know. It was passed to inform BU readers, not for my satisfaction. I do not know the people, but share with them being black in a racist society. If, for whatever reason, the chairman does not want to share it, then it says more about him and about me and it denies readers a first-hand evidence from a witness to the secret society.
    It once more disproves the myth of the impartiality of science and, in particular, doctors. They put bogus details on your medical files and pass them among themselves like some secret organisation.

34. @ FM

The one criticism I have of how this reopening was handled is that the government should of let the distribution sector start 4 days before the supermarkets so that when they were opened they would have been fully stocked. For instance where I was today the bread shelves were empty. Same with milk and some other items.

Having said that an open supermarket is still better than no supermarket at all!

35. BAJE

@Tron
    I TRY TO USE THE KISS PRINCIPLE ESPECIALLY ON BU.
    EVEN DOING THAT THE LESSER INTELLIGENT LIKE SILLY STILL CAN’T READ THOROUGHLY BEFORE RESPONDING.
    MUST BE A CLOSE RELATIVE OF CHRIS SINCLAIR THE DUMB AND DUMBER.
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

You should be the last one to say that. I that probably makes you the dumbest causes I remember you doing the samething

36. This teenager needs HELP, not jail. We need a more progressive justice system. The story rings true. Her father refused to take her. If she still works Bush Hill she isn’t able to work right now – so no money for food or maybe even bus fare.. She pleaded with her father for some time and so she finally drove off with the car at eight o’clock BECAUSE SHE WAS HUNGRY. The father introduced this child to that way of life. The child is messed up. Surely a magistrate could find another way. This story just makes me sad.

37. @ HAL

THE ONE THING I RESPECT ABOUT YOU IS THAT YOU KEEP IT REAL WHILST CALLING A SPADE A SPADE.

38. Everyone was wondering how the hell Russia managed to get such a low infection count, despite knowing how the virus operates…then boom…full infection, that is why ya should not boast….when i saw them last, they had about 6 cases, no deaths….the virus has a peak stage too.

“(CNN)World leaders have been working from home during the coronavirus pandemic, and Vladimir Putin is no exception: On Monday, the Russian President held a videoconference from his official residence outside Moscow with some of the officials leading the government’s efforts to tackle the disease.

It was an unusually somber meeting. Less than a month ago, Putin had radiated confidence about his government’s response to a growing global crisis, reassuring his citizens that the situation was “under control” thanks to early intervention measures. A few weeks later, Putin played the role of international rescuer, dispatching a planeload of medical supplies to New York’s John F. Kennedy Airport.
    How quickly things can change in the time of coronavirus. In his Monday videoconference, Putin took stock of a worsening situation.

“We have a lot of problems,” Putin said. “There is nothing to boast about, and we must not let our guard down, because in general, as you and your specialists say, we have not passed the peak of the epidemic yet.”
    The trendline speaks for itself. While Russia has comparatively few cases compared with the United States or the hardest-hit European countries, the number of confirmed cases has surged in recent days. On Monday, Russia reported a record one-day rise in cases, with 2,558 confirmed over the previous 24 hours.

On Tuesday, Russia hit a fresh record: 2,774 confirmed cases. And Putin is coming in for serious criticism over his handling of the crisis.
    In a recent essay, Tatiana Stanovaya of the Carnegie Moscow Center said the coronavirus pandemic had underscored Putin’s isolation from ordinary Russians.
    “One of the main topics today is why Putin is almost imperceptible in the coronavirus situation,” she wrote. “He only addressed the nation briefly twice and went to the [coronavirus] hospital in Kommunarka, but he neither gave his own assessments of the crisis nor proposed a plan of action, but limited himself to scattered measures and general words. No drama, empathy or attempts to mobilize.”

Putin, Stanovaya argued, does not wish to be associated with harsh or unpopular measures, leaving such chores to local subordinates. In the case of the coronavirus, the task of rolling out some of the most heavy-handed restrictions has fallen to Sergey Sobyanin, the mayor of Moscow.

The Russian capital has been the hardest hit by the virus. Officially, Russia has 21,102 cases, according to the government’s official tracking website, and the death toll has reached 170. Around half of the country’s recorded cases — 11,513 — are in Moscow, and 82 Muscovites have died.”

39. WURA-War-on-UApril 14, 2020 10:00 AM

Has someone else passed away from the disease, is there a 5th death?

Someone that I know. Had prolonged contact with him through work. Saw him every working day for some months. More recently so did my brother. Last time I saw him he was in my garage searching for something my brother had left in my cupboard a couple of years ago. Diagnosed with diabetes since then. I am told he looked nothing like the hale and hearty fellow I last saw. I found him to be a decent and pleasant guy. I am saddened by his passing.

Just a few days after I said I did not even know somebody who knows somebody who has this virus, it strikes.

40. @Mariposa April 15, 2020 1:00 PM “I said all i wanted to say about the alphabet strategy I wouldn’t take a rocket scientist by share observance even by looking into a local phone book and see how names are alphabetically laid out as how many letters for each name takes up more pages.”

I know my ABC’s.

The voters list which is computer generated is laid out in alphabetical order. I can’t be too hard to generate a list of how many people have which last names and produce a sensible list based on that. Off the top of our head’s we know that We know that the Alleyne’s, Brathwaite’s and Clarke’s are plentiful and the Zephrin’s are scarce.

If the government has not used that list to count how many people have particular last names I’d be very surprised.

41. @Baje April 15, 2020 1:43 PM ” YOU CHOOSE SOME WHO IS QUALIFIED IN THE AREA AND WITH THE RELEVANT EXPERTISE DEMONSTRATED OVER MANY YEARS.”

So Baje, who in the world has qualifications in the area of pandemics, and demonstrable expertise in managing pandemics?

If you know such people send us some quick, quick. Send some to China, Spain, Italy, the U.K. and New York as well. Thanks.

42. Bajeposa you your twin Mariposa and Hal Austin are three of the biggest jackasses on this blog whose only purpose everyday along with Waru is to find every negative story to pull Barbsdos down never a word of praise.Everyone on this blog knows your agenda.To add to the comedy Austin who always disrespect the blogmaster wants the same blogmaster to publish his video.To David BU i say hell no show the arrogant disrespectful knowall who is in chargeBefore i go i want to thank all the frontline workers edpecially the doctors, nurses, policemen and women and the soldiers for their outstanding work forget the non medical nayssyers.

43. @Baje April 15, 2020 3:52 PM “EVEN DOING THAT THE LESSER INTELLIGENT LIKE SILLY STILL CAN’T READ THOROUGHLY ”

By yesterday I dun make11 face masks from 100% Egyptian cotton for my family though. Didn’t have to buy any from some stranger ‘longside de road. Didn’t have to buy any fabric, because i always have fabric, thread and elastic on hand. Needles too. I may be silly but I own a sewing machine, and I know how to use it though.

So who is silly now?

44. @John A

From what BU correspondents are reporting the lines were orderly, many Bajans have resigned to wearing masks and by evening the lines were drastically reduced. One suspects by end of week things will settle down, We are getting there.

45. What was sent is not useable. If there is an url link to the website which has the embedded video please resend.

46. @Lorenzo

I could not careless whether the chairman published the video I submitted or not. I have seen it and just wanted to share it with ordinary readers of BU. So, my dear man, you have missed read the runes. I am not asking a favour of the chairman.
    I can put it on my Facebook page, but it simply proves a point I made earlier about the treatment of black victims of the virus and, in this case, an elderly man who a senior consultant said was a victim when further tests proved he was not. It took his brave daughters to bring him out of the hospital.

47. @Hal Austin April 15, 2020 8:04 AM. “Was either charged with transgenderism? Or homosexuality?”

Dear Retired Senior Journalist: Since neither transgenderism nor homosexuality are criminal offenses in Barbados, how or why could this man and this alleged woman been charged?

48. What voters list
    Yuh think that thing up to date also not everyone is a voter
    Stuepse
    But then again the list might make matters more complicated

49. forgive her SW

50. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

@ John A

I am heartened by your reports of orderly queuing of fellow Barbadians. I know my people and trust their capacity to be sensible.