[We’re] not having a Budget or anything soon because it is just too fluid [blogmaster’s emphasis] . . . The budget was not intended to have any new taxes and therefore there is no reason for an immediate budget and we therefore will wait and see,” Mottley told media managers during a meeting yesterday at Government Headquarters.

Source: Mottley: No budget, we’ll wait and see

Prime Minister Mia Mottley announced this week the cancellation of the Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals  (budget). Some will agree with Mottley that government’s economic policy is heavily influenced by BERT and relieving the country from the annual talk shop starring MPs and Senators is welcomed.

The use of the word ‘fluid’ by the prime minister is interesting against the background of the COVID-19 pandemic. Many are fixated on the public health requirement. Policymakers must also think about positioning the country to recover quickly from the crisis.

The blogmaster hopes the reason offered by the prime minster for cancelling the ‘budget’ is the usual political flummery. Barbados finds itself in a tenuous position after many years of economic decline. Two years into BERT the COVID-19 pandemic could not have reared its head at a worse time. It exposes what we have always known – Barbados like other countries in the region are most vulnerable to shocks (exogenous). It defines an open economy.

It is the observation of this blogmaster that commenters in this forum and elsewhere experience difficulty walking and chewing gum when discussing the issues.  Of course public health safety is the priority but it cannot be the only priority.

Discuss for 25 marks how we must use another global crisis to reorder the way Barbadians do business at the household and national level.

What we have to worry about is that the virus DOES NOT force us to reorder how we manage our affairs at a national and household level. If we reorder how we manage our affairs then we would have nothing to worry about. If we continue to be lacking in vision, planning, willpower, effective leadership, active citizenship and energy we will soon regret it.

There is a tide in the affairs of men, Which taken at the flood, leads on to fortune. Omitted, all the voyage of their life is bound in shallows and in miseries. On such a full sea are we now afloat. And we must take the current when it serves, or lose our ventures – William Shakespeare

This is an OPPORTUNE time to pause and reflect. This pain need not be in vain!

Donna – BU Commenter

532 responses to “Barbados Post COVID -19”

1. Everyone can take away what they are able to. As stated we are at different points on the learning scale. Doughlin is accessibility heos for people who did not major in biochemistry.

2. RE we are at different points on the learning scale.
    YOU CAN SAY THAT AGAIN LOL

3. Was govt risk of leaving the borders open worth the health cost

4. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@David, re “Understood but intelligent people should be able to make relevant comments to address the urgent matters at hand and leave egos at the door.”

The ones who do that well slide under the radar…but not many nurture that skill set to want to reach that level

Consider, you leave your high school as a (the) top academic achiever, go on to a UE and end with ‘Firsts’ or ‘Summa Cum’ and then best all in future academic and life work… of course there may be 10+ more with similar superior talents like you… but do you really think that the majority of such folks naturally subvert their ego in dealing with supposedly ‘average’ folks! 🙂

Does an Elon Musk leave his ego at the door…as compared to an equally ‘brilliant’ in quite different way Warren Buffet…

Of course familiarity will breed contempt but its a two fold street…the smart person also starts to become more disparaging and condescending as other ego driven folks makes personal attacks.

The one person on these pages whom I say handle it with aplomb was our then resident law Dean… he was ego-driven attacked by a few … he lashed out on a few odd occasions but always quite ‘mildly’ and in the main went right back to his stated goal: informing with his knowledge.

He never got into the condescending cross talk and thus continued to be popular here over time… a lesson to be learnt by these otherwise quite smart folks….but EGO… it can be your worst ID-iosyncrasy 🙂 !

5. @Dee Word

Understood. Your position is outlined in the book Outlier.

6. @ Hal March 20, 2020 10:20 AM

I was tempted to call-in to “Brass Tacks” on Tuesday to clarify a point or two. Peter Wickham was expounding on the ills of closing borders as though he was an authority on the topic. I decided not to. There are lots of times I could call-in and correct the dissemination of incorrect data, but I have decided that those who are favored have the onus of doing so.

7. @ Mariposa

The short answer is no. In fact, It is highly irresponsible. Remember when the president walked on that cruiser ahead of a 37-strong team of followers. Not a single person told her that was buffoonery, silly, high risk.
    Just look at Italy and the high number of deaths.

8. DPD
    RE He never got into the condescending cross talk and thus continued to be popular here over time… a lesson to be learnt by these otherwise quite smart folks….but EGO… it can be your worst ID-iosyncrasy

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE: GP DOES NOT COME HERE OR GO ANYWHERE TO BE POPULAR.
    I USED TO COME TO TEACH
    NOW I COME FOR FUN
    I SEEK TO SAY THE TRUTH AND GIVE FACTS THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED

ONE DEFLATES ONE’S EGO WHEN IT MATTERS AND TO WHOM IT MATTERS

E.G. I WORK FOR A SCHOOL RUN BY A SET OF REAL STUPID WOMEN WHO I WOULD LIKE TO TELL A FEW WORDS IN BAJAN BUT MY DEAR WIFE RESTRAINS ME FOR IT IS EASY WORK WHICH I NOW DO THE VERY VERY MINIMUM TO GET THE LIKKLE MONEY

I HAVE LONG LEARNED THAT IT DOES NOT PAY TO BE BRIGHT

9. Vitamin C, garlic, ginger….numerous natural ways to boost the immune system.

10. RE I have decided that those who are favored have the onus of doing so.
    I AGREE WITH YOU 100@ ROBERT
    IT MAKES NO SENSE EXCEPT TO GAIN YOU MORE ENEMIES
    THE ONLY PLACE WHERE BEING RIGHT OR BEING BRIGHT MATTERS IS IN THE CLASSROOM SOMETIMES
    CERTAINLY EVEN IN ACADEMIA IT CAN WORK AGAINST YOU AS I HAVE DESCRIBED AND EXPERIENCED OVER AND OVER
    EVEN HERE, MANY OF MY POSTS ARE PULLED DOWN FOR THIS REASON

11. Although the outbreak started on the Asian continent and spread to Europe making it the epicenter., then to North American countries…..but because there is so much travel to the Caribben Community, of course you will hear many got infected in the Caribbean, despite there being many to and fro travels everywhere else, many were on cruise liners travelling through Caribbean…it’s a contagion, so anything is possible.

“ICU physician believes pandemic’s peak still another week or 2 away due to influx of travellers
    Leah Hendry · CBC News · Posted: Mar 19, 2020 8:29 PM ET | Last Updated: March 19

Four Quebec hospitals are designated to treat COVID-19 patients who need hospitalization and the Jewish General Hospital is among them. (Anne-Louise Depatie/Radio-Canada)

A physician on the front line of treating patients with COVID-19 said the vast majority of positive cases he has seen to date are people who contracted the virus while travelling in the Caribbean and then transmitted it to others upon their return to Quebec.

“That is where the government was very appropriate in saying, ‘If you have travelled outside Quebec, you have to isolate yourself, be in quarantine, because you are at risk,’” said Dr. Michel de Marchie, an intensive care physician at the Jewish General Hospital, one of four designated COVID-19 centres in Quebec.

De Marchie, who also consults in the Jewish General’s emergency room, said he has seen positive COVID-19 cases from people who travelled to Iran and India. However, he said most of the patients had gone to the Caribbean.

He did not specify in which Caribbean countries people who later tested positive for the novel coronavirus had been travelling.

De Marchie said most of the patients who have tested positive for the COVID-19 virus are at home, in self-isolation.”

12. @ Robert

You have tried. The problem with the Bajan Condition is that a one-eyed man is king in the land of the blind. Wickham is seen as a guru. Plato’s Allegory all over again.
    We still do not know how the disease is spread; why take chances. California has just quarantined all households; Australia is only allowing in citizens and residents.
    There are plans to lock-down London, the UK epicentre. But little Barbados is ignoring the rest of the world and the leading scientists. Our president knows best. We gatherin’. The president is going to speak to the economic crisis today.
    What preparations are we making: how many ICU beds? How many ventilators? How about recently retired medical staff? Should they be re-called to duty, if they want?
    I say again, @Robert, do they have your telephone number?

13. @Robert

Here is the flip side to bad advice- one should never give up even in the face of adversity. It is what people of character do to be true to thyself.

14. @ GP

There is a consensus on BU that when the keyboard warriors come out to be aggressive and rude you should go back in your shell. In that way you will be popular for taking your lashes like a man, as they will say.
    Nonsense. I am willing to be courteous and appreciative, but if someone wants to get rough with me I will hit back, if I want to. I am not here looking for friends or to be popular. This is not a beauty competition.
    Sometimes you get people lying in order to attack you; in my case, that I am a landlord, a financial adviser, have knowledge and experience, yet if I express a view it is rubbished, that in one case a particular person was at school with me, etc. All of which are figments of their tiny minds.
    I will give an example of what I mean: a former colleague has just asked me to write an article for her on a recently published economics book. I am flattered that she thought of me. What she wants are my views, not my qualifications. I wish BU traded in ideas.

15. GP is your ok now? The man who has been hypercritical of you in so many occasions? You continue to demonstrate a lack of integrity and arrogance on the blog.

16. HAL
    WHY DONT YOU KEEP QUIET?
    YOU ARE ASKING MANY CORRECT ANSWERS…….BUT NO ONE IS TAKING YOU SERIOUSLY BECAUSE YOU ARE NEITHER THE APPROVED OR THE ANOINTED
    LEAVE ROBERT ALONE
    IT SEEMS HE NOW HAS NO CHARACTER BECAUSE HE REFUSES TO CONTINUE TO KICK AGAINST THE PRICKS

IF I HAD NOT KICKED AGAINST THE PRICKS AND SPOKEN OUT ID BE ENJOYING WHAT I LOVE TO DO –TEACH BIOCHEM AND PAHARMACO IN SOME OFFSHORE MED SCHOOL

I USED TO GIVE A LOT OF GOOD ADVICE

17. New York has ordered all non-essential workers to stay at home. What is Barbados doing? Is social distancing part of our policy?

18. HAL
    YOU DO NOT DEMONSTRATE ANY MORE ARROGANCE OR LACK OF INTEGRITY ON BU
    YOU ARE HONEST AND SPEAK YOUR MIND
    EVEN IF ALL DO NOT ALWAYS AGREE WITH YOU AND CUSS YOU FROM TIME TO TIME AS I MYSELF HAVE DONE

19. Would the taxpayers be footing the bill of the visitors to infected with the virus

20. A young teaching assistant has just been mugged for her groceries in West Sussex. The UK is now a jungle.

21. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Doc yours is self defeating philosophy that lends itself to all the long held style tropes of ‘my way or the highway’…. As folks here often say, I will not be prolix … just your facts.

1.You absolutely use the concept of literal interpretation as your bully whip to suit YOUR purposes. Use of the word “popular’ was not to suggest that you or the Dean come here for that purpose. In fact I noted what I perceived as his main purpose: informing with his knowledge.

If its really lost on you that having a message heard and then eventually accepted will always be centered at some level on popularity (acceptance by your audience) then so be it.

2.The fact that anyone who purports to want principally to be a ‘teacher’ can so often publicly VOICE the level of disdain you do for your ‘students’ is amazing. By your own admission you CAME to educate and teach but now you COME to mock and make fun. That’s surely your option to make but in the overall grand scheme of things its sad

3.What’s the value of restating your irrefutable facts, like your assessment of the role of the church, if its does not mean diddly-squat to those hearing your “irrefutable facts”.

Case in point. BushTea coined his BBE (Big Boss Engineer) and as incongruous as that originally sounded it also made wonderful sense as a startling awareness of Christ as the primus ENGINEER! It draws a person in and then from there the traditional message and more is preached …

… you obviously get the use of word play and ‘crazy’ analogies in teaching based on my reading of your medical presentations (on diabetes) so that you adopt this hostile approach to Christian messaging to achieve the same goal must be based on some ego-driven issue I imagine.

22. My local hospital has just announced that it cannot take any more critical patients. So far it has had nine coronavirus deaths. It is appealing to neighbouring hospitals for help.

23. I wish BU traded in ideas. {Quote}

YOU ARE A MATURE MAN, BUT STILL BEHAVING CHILDISH LIKE A LITTLE BOY.

24. It is concerning that no clear instructions have been given to PSV operators. I checked the GIS website and the Transport authority website. No specific guidance for PSVs.
    At a minimum they should have to clean and sanitize after each trip, only operate at 50% capacity and find a way to reduce money changing hands
    How was this overlooked? Until a lockdown one would think public transport is the first line of defence. And because we depend so heavily on private persons, there needs to be more oversight to ensure the health and safety of commuters.

25. DPD

YOU ARE HOSTILE AND HILARIOUS

RE Doc yours is self defeating philosophy that lends itself to all the long held style tropes of ‘my way or the highway’….

MY DEAR SIR, WHEREVER I HAVE TAUGHT IN PUBLIC I HAVE A HIGH SUCCESS RATE, AND I DO IT MY WAY VERY EFFECTIVELY. GOING BACK EVEN TO MY 2 WEEKS AT ST LEONARDS. WHEN I HAD THE LADS IN STITCHES IN CHEMISTRY CLASS AS I EXPOUNDED ON SALT BREAD AND SWEET BREAD TO EXPLAIN A CONCEPT
    I HAVE NO APOLOGIES TO MAKE
    I HAVE BEEN A SUCESSFUL TEACHER …….EXCEPT ON BU

RE 1.You absolutely use the concept of literal interpretation as your bully whip to suit YOUR purposes. Use of the word “popular’ was not to suggest that you or the Dean come here for that purpose. In fact I noted what I perceived as his main purpose: informing with his knowledge.
    YOU HAVE STATED WHAT YOU PERCIEVE
    I HAVE STATED WHAT I THINK AND WHAT I DO

RE If its really lost on you that having a message heard and then eventually accepted will always be centered at some level on popularity (acceptance by your audience) then so be it.
    NOTHING IS LOST ON ME

ACTUALLY THE VERY BEST TEACHERS I HAVE HAD AT HC, UWI AND MED SCHOOL WERE NOT AT ALL POPULAR.
    SENSIBLE STUDENTS AND SCHOLARS FOCUS ON THEIR PURPOSE FOR BEING THERE …….NOT ON THE POPULARITY OF THE TEACHER
    UNA MORE WAS NOT AT ALL POPULAR AT CAVE HILL BUT NUMEROUS STUDENTS WHO WANT TO TO DO MEDICINE, AGRICULTURE ENTOMOLOGY PASSED THROUGH HER HANDS IN N2 BIOLOGY IN THE EARLY 70’S

RE 2.The fact that anyone who purports to want principally to be a ‘teacher’ can so often publicly VOICE the level of disdain you do for your ‘students’ is amazing. By your own admission you CAME to educate and teach but now you COME to mock and make fun. That’s surely your option to make but in the overall grand scheme of things its sad

YES IT IS SAD BECAUSE OF THOSE WHO I NOW REFUSE TO TEACH.
    JESUS ADVISED HOW ONE MUST RESPOND TO THOSE WHO REJECT YOUR TEACHING, AS YOU AND THOSE OF YOUR ILK HERE TEND TO DO .

RE 3.What’s the value of restating your irrefutable facts, like your assessment of the role of the church, if its does not mean diddly-squat to those hearing your “irrefutable facts”.

I WILL STATE MY IRREFUTABLE FACTS WITHOUT APOLOGY SINCE THAT IS MY INSTRUCTION. TO PREACH IN SEASON AND OUT OF SEASON
    THOSE WHO WANT TO HEAR AND HEED WILL DO SO
    I HAVE VERY HIGH PASS RATES IN MY CLASSES, OK
    THOSE WHO ARE EAGER TO LEARN, DO SO

RE RE … you obviously get the use of word play and ‘crazy’ analogies in teaching based on my reading of your medical presentations (on diabetes) so that you adopt this hostile approach to Christian messaging to achieve the same goal must be based on some ego-driven issue I imagine.

YOU ARE TALKING UNDECIPHERABLE RUBBISH AS USUAL
    I HAVE NO MORE EGO THAN ANYONE ELSE, NOR AM I HOSTILE
    AND I HAVE NO “hostile approach to Christian messaging”
    YOU SHOULD CHECK OUT JESUS’ AND PAUL’S APPROACH AS THE EXAMPLE ON THAT

I NOW IGNORE TOTALLY MORONS COMPLETELY WHO PONTIFICATE ON BIBLE ISSUES THAT THEY CLEARLY DON’T UNDERSTAND. THEY CLEARLY COME TO HARASS, NOT TO LEARN

I STATE WHAT I WANT TO TEACH AS I WAS TAUGHT TO DO
    THOSE WHO WANT TO LEARN WILL ASK SENSIBLE QUESTIONS

26. I just tuned to the 12.30 V.O.B newscast. I could hardly believe what I heard. Dr. William Duguid( a dentist) reported that is alleged that once one got the virus, one could not get it again. This statement of Duguid’s seem to fly in the face of scientific data as demonstrated by Chinese and Japanese researchers, who have shown by re-testing that recurrence of the infection happens This is an example of the sloppy research done by high-fliers in this society. It also demonstrates that Duguid either has not read the newspapers or watched the streaming newscast.

27. @ GP March 20, 2020 12:36 PM

I taught at St. Leonard’s from 1966-68

28. BY THE WAY DPD N2 BIOLOGY WAS A LEVEL BOTANY AND A LEVEL ZOOLOGY IN ONE YEAR WITH SOME STUDENTS STARTING FROM SCRATCH

AND UNA WAS A TYRANT, A STICKLER FOR DETAIL, FORTHRIGHT IN WHAT SHE SAID AND DID………AND ABSOLUTELY HATED !

WE EVEN HAD TO PRODUCE A GRAPH AT THE FRONT OF OUR LAB BOOKS ON OUR LAB SCORES

29. ROBERT
    I AM A BOY TO YOU LOL A JUNIOR LOL
    LEFT HC IN 70
    TAUGHT AT ST LEONARDS FOR TWO WEEKS IN SEPTEMBER 74 UNTIL I GOT THE CABLE TO GO TO MONA
    I OFTEN WISHED I HAD REMAINED I WOULD HAVE HAD A FEW CHEMISTRY TEXT BOOKS ON THE MARKET LONG AGO

30. ROBERT
    ST LEONARDS HAVE ATTRACTED SOME OF THE BEST TEACHERS IN BIM UP TO NOW AS DEMONSTRATED BY THE MANY THAT GO THERE FOR LESSONS WEEKLY AT ALL SCHOOL LEVELS FROM ALL THE LOCAL SCHOOLS INCLUDING HC

31. @ Robert

It is sad that such nonsense is passing as knowledge. I feel for ordinary people. We lack sound political leadership. A fish rots from the top. BU can serve a public duty by disseminating information as it comes from the experts.
    By the way, is Oistin’s on tonight or is it banned?

32. This is how CONTAGION works, the jump is a real bi*ch, ask GP….

…it has found a bigger playground than some of the European countries..

“On Tuesday, there were just more than 5,700 confirmed coronavirus cases in the United States.

That number climbed above 13,000 on Thursday night, and officials indicated that the number will continue to rise sharply as more test results become available.

Meanwhile, the State Department warned Americans not to travel internationally and advised all Americans who are abroad to return to the United States or make preparations to shelter in place.

33. @ GP March 20, 2020 1:02 PM

I was a boy when I first went there and left as a young man. Paul Howard who is now deceased taught Chemistry in those days. St. Leonard’s boy put out some very good students. Shows that it is not the school so much ,as it is the person’s tenacity and character that count.

34. “reported that is alleged that once one got the virus, one could not get it again.”

if you get it again, you can very well die, it all depends, people have died after reinfection, from very early on China has provided this information.

… proof that your leaders have not been following the clear pattern of this virus as it jumped from country to country. They need to stop talking and do some research.

35. @ Hal,
    I heard that Northwick Park hospital in London has ran out of beds to treat patients with coronavirus and that numbers are exploding. There have been six related deaths at this hospital.

It was recently broadcasted that the number of reported coronavirus cases on the African continent has risen to over 800 which is a sizeable increase.

Meanwhile in Barbados it’s business as usual!

36. British government is stepping in to help with people by deferring £30bn of tax until the end of the financial year; paying 80 per cent of wages; a raise in dole; three month mortgage repayment holiday. .

37. @TLSN

Yes. I heard. This is frightening. Northwick Park is now appealing to neighbouring hospitals for help. I am terrified for Barbadians. They are being misled.

38. @ Hal March 20, 2020 1:12 PM

I do not know. I know that gatherings should not exceed one-hundred persons. Barbados is still open to business as usual.

39. @ Robert

Cafes, restaurants and pubs must close in the UK. Social distancing is expanding. What sis Barbados doing?

40. @ Hal,

Hot off the press:

Italy loses 625 people today to Coronavirus. I repeat 625 lives!

41. Nothing impresses this virus…serious business…this can cripple a country.

UK news

“Italy has announced 627 more coronavirus deaths, the biggest day-to-day increase in the country’s four-week epidemic.

The Mediterranean nation has been the worst afflicted country in the world for fatalities related to the Covid-19 virus, which has claimed the lives of more than 4,000 people in the region.”.

Le Monde on the Spanish flu

“Retour sur la grippe espagnole : « On pensait en avoir fini avec les grandes épidémies. Et patatras, 240 000 morts »
    L’historien et géographe Freddy Vinet a entrepris, dans « La Grande Grippe », de fixer la mémoire d’un virus responsable de plus de 200 000 morts en France et 50 millions dans le monde. Il met cette crise en miroir de l’épidémie actuelle.”

42. @TLSN

The chancellor has just nationalised all small businesses in the UK – putting all their workers on the state’s pay roll. The virus will change the way we live for the rest of our lives.
    People are raiding food banks. It is desperation. We need proper political leadership. The nation is like a headless chicken.

43. What happens if this virus mutates?

44. “They are being misled.”

…from beginning to end. The leaders are not focused as they should be. Hope it does not return to bite them and then they try to blame everyone else. This is italy in just 4 weeks.

Trinidad, Jamaica and a few others recognized early on how the virus works and shut shop, despite that Jamaica still ended up with one death. Haiti declared a state of emergency with two confirmations.

45. “What happens if this virus mutates?”

you mean again, it’s jumping from here to there already.

46. Barbados now has PERMISSION to lock down, everything is done, cousin Boris says it’s over.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8135301/Last-orders-London-Boris-Johnson-expected-FINALLY-order-pubs-capital-close.html

47. Petrol pumps seem to be a source of spreading the virus. Beware. When filling up use gloves or tissues. In Barbados there are staff to fill tanks for you.
    Shops in the UK exploiting the crisis to over-charge will be prosecuted.

48. This should answer the question for those leaders who do no research, this guy was getting better and rearing to go. China did tell the world that this could happen.

https://www.nydailynews.com/coronavirus/ny-coronavirus-nyc-lawyer-dies-coronavirus-after-improvement-20200320-2qxqey75vzdjrkxauoywvsmo5q-story.html#nt=tertiarynavbar&nt=ticker

“A prominent partner at a New York law firm has died from coronavirus complications, just two days after he sent an email saying he was hospitalized but improving.

Richard Weber Jr., a 57-year-old partner at Gallo Vitucci Klar and a board member of the LGBT Bar Association of New York, passed away this week amid a battle with the virus, the association known as LeGaL confirmed.

“It’s a shock. It’s devastating,” LeGaL Executive Director Eric Lesh told the Daily News.

“He reached out by email so that folks wouldn’t worry. He reached out to me and the president of the bar association, letting us know what happened and saying it was the sickest he’d ever been, but that he was on the mend,” Lesh said.”

49. @ David,

Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley will be addressing the country from Parliament at 6 p.m. on the economic response to novel coronavirus COVID-19