[We’re] not having a Budget or anything soon because it is just too fluid [blogmaster’s emphasis] . . . The budget was not intended to have any new taxes and therefore there is no reason for an immediate budget and we therefore will wait and see,” Mottley told media managers during a meeting yesterday at Government Headquarters.

Source: Mottley: No budget, we’ll wait and see

Prime Minister Mia Mottley announced this week the cancellation of the Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals  (budget). Some will agree with Mottley that government’s economic policy is heavily influenced by BERT and relieving the country from the annual talk shop starring MPs and Senators is welcomed.

The use of the word ‘fluid’ by the prime minister is interesting against the background of the COVID-19 pandemic. Many are fixated on the public health requirement. Policymakers must also think about positioning the country to recover quickly from the crisis.

The blogmaster hopes the reason offered by the prime minster for cancelling the ‘budget’ is the usual political flummery. Barbados finds itself in a tenuous position after many years of economic decline. Two years into BERT the COVID-19 pandemic could not have reared its head at a worse time. It exposes what we have always known – Barbados like other countries in the region are most vulnerable to shocks (exogenous). It defines an open economy.

It is the observation of this blogmaster that commenters in this forum and elsewhere experience difficulty walking and chewing gum when discussing the issues.  Of course public health safety is the priority but it cannot be the only priority.

Discuss for 25 marks how we must use another global crisis to reorder the way Barbadians do business at the household and national level.

What we have to worry about is that the virus DOES NOT force us to reorder how we manage our affairs at a national and household level. If we reorder how we manage our affairs then we would have nothing to worry about. If we continue to be lacking in vision, planning, willpower, effective leadership, active citizenship and energy we will soon regret it.

There is a tide in the affairs of men, Which taken at the flood, leads on to fortune. Omitted, all the voyage of their life is bound in shallows and in miseries. On such a full sea are we now afloat. And we must take the current when it serves, or lose our ventures – William Shakespeare

This is an OPPORTUNE time to pause and reflect. This pain need not be in vain!

Donna – BU Commenter

532 responses to “Barbados Post COVID -19”

1. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Respectfully all but why this breathlessness re “It has just been announced that there are two cases in Barbados.”!

We already know based on all the scenarios from other countries that they are MORE than 2 cases of Covid19 in Bdos.

The issue as the Blogmaster has aimed towards is how the authorities handle the infected and protect the rest of us from a rapid spread as matters evolve.

This is apolitical and as @Vincent has said Ms Mottley has in the past displayed a powerful image as a solid crisis manager. She has shown NONE of the US leadership nonsense.

Col Bostic is also a proven commodity of deliberte action in his past military career so let’s get to it …

Time for scare mongering is over … If the hands at the con pluck-up then they will be lambasted but that’s to be seen yet..

Although I must agree with @Mariposa that the gym grand meeting was surely not practical social distancing …. this streaming savvy group could has had their virtual town hall with about 10 leaders just as easily !

Anyhow, the reality is now here. So onwards.

2. Despite being told over and over to stop advertising the we gathering nonsense and stop talking about “we open for business”…just get real, this is not a game.

“We Gatherin’ has become a casualty of the coronavirus preparedness action, while more than a dozen major public events and festivals over the next three months are expected to be called off under Government’s advice.”

3. COVID 19 Raining in Barbados, Bajans need to run for cover, ha, ha.

4. @John A

Your point is taken BUT how do we craft a winning mindset in our people to shift gears to a more sustainable economy?

5. Further comments that border and are speculative will be deleted.

6. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@John, re your absolutely asstute and deeply sourced comments re Obama admin above let’s agree that u are splendidly correct… So correct in fact that it is absurdly nonsensical to question your ‘obvious’ motivations.

So being so flushed with all that rightness can we agree you have won that diatribe and take it off the blog for another time..

Let’s deal with looking forward… Have any of your friends told you that Obama is planning to visit Bim, for example. That would be a valid Obama comment… If not cease and desist… You win!

7. The blogmaster is now convinced that even in the face of a crisis of pandemic proportion, people labeling themselves Barbadians continue to demonstrate a level of ignorance that is embarrassing. Here is is we have a space to bounce and share ideas but some prefer to engage in irrelevance.

So disappointing.

8. If they are in fact 2 confirmed cases in Barbados we need to accept that others may have been treated as the common cold as well. The issue is that we must plan for a greater level now of self sufficiency as a matter of urgency. Beans, potatoes, basic vegetables, chicken, fish etc are all items we can be blessed with
    If we decide to pursue it.

Bajans may need to sacrifice themselves say and use local toilet paper as opposed to the imported brands at $5 a roll as well. Likewise our local bottle water brand as opposed to the US one.

In other words let us be proactive folks and not be negative and whine about how bad we got it.

9. David
    March 17, 2020 11:08 AM

@John A
    Your point is taken BUT how do we craft a winning mindset in our people to shift gears to a more sustainable economy?

Get rid of the square pegs!!

Why are we now talking about agriculture?

10. eg has Ms Mockley paid the cane farmers outstanding monies?

These are the 2% that supply the bulk of the agricultural produce for the 98% to consume!!

11. The GOB has spent last year promoting and planting cotton.

It has indeed promoted agriculture.

Go and look see!!

12. BTW

How many paddle steamers do you know of that existed in Barbados.

13. @David

Yes we have been talking about agriculture for over a year on this blog. I recommended long ago here that government should enter into a greenhouse project on state land with 3 sizes of green houses for rent. Had that been done today we would of been well on the way to food security. But all we do is talk and talk more. What this government must understand is that there is no time for talking now instead we must act.

As for the Bajans with champagne taste they will either eat locally or go hungry the choice is theirs. I mean do we really need imported macaroni and cheese in our supermarkets.

14. @Silly woman;

Not knowing how long this virus will be in Barbados, nor how long schools, shops, etc., will be closed, I hope you food plot is fenced. When the shelves get bare, people may resort to taking what is not theirs. A German Shepherd (Alsatian) would do a good job.
    Anyway, keep safe and follow the Millers advice. I just took half and ml of midnight under the tongue.

15. –A note from one of Mia’s critic—
    With this Coronavirus, PM Mia Mottley was dealt a hand from a stacked deck. She could as done as some here wanted her to do; throw in the hand and start crying “the sky is falling, the sky is falling”.

Instead, she took the hand was dealt to her and played it to the very end. I suspect that she knew that at some time a Barbadian would be exposed to and would contract the virus. It was not a question of “if” but a question of “when”.

PM Mottley displayed courage and leadership when she did not fold as other expected her to but, instead, continued to stay on her course. I am quite certain that she has plans in place for this new eventuality.

Now that we have entered this second phase, we Barbadians should give PM Mottley our full support.
    There is no need for speculation or rumor-mongering as the events that unfold may exceed our worse speculation.
    Let’s hope for the best.
    Let’s support the PM and let’s wish Barbados pass through this problem with the minimum of loss.
    I wish her well because I wish Barbados to do well.

16. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ john A at11;45 AM

If the macaroni and cheese is more nutritious ,filling and have more calories per meal that is where the money should be spent. Can you recall where ,when and by whom macaroni and cheese as a Bajan staple was introduced and promoted?

17. @John A

We have ideas, we know there is a challenge with implementation. The challenge is to what extent can these measures, if implemented, make a significant dent in GDP contribution. We know about tourism.

18. @ Vincent.

Funny you should mention that I was trying to think back of its origin, but remember my mother making it from when I was a kid. It’s just strange we would buy an American made product that every bajan kitchen has probably made countless times.

19. @ David.

I think we can assume a fall off in hard currency from tourism is inevitable. What I would see as our priority is a program of import substitution. Government may need to plough fields etc so that agriculture can start. They may need to provide seeds etc as well. That way community groups, charities and all that are interested in agriculture would now get an opportunity to make a start. Always look for the positive and opportunity in every happening.

20. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John A at 12:26 PM

It started out as a regular item on the Menu of the School Meals Service. Three generations of Barbadians were weaned on it.The recipe was balanced. Vegetables made up I/5 th of the bulk then.

21. @John A

In summary your approach is one of aggressive import substitution.

How does this conflict with WTO commitment?

22. As the COVID-19 cripples world transportation, many areas will be severely affected…. these include Food, the opportunity to work & earn money, etc…… I would like our PM & her Government to engage the business sector/others and begin planning on methods to reduce the economic impact on the population:

(1) Banks, Credit Unions, etc. to reduce/suspend for a period of time, Loans/Mortgages/etc. payments
    (2) Credit Card companies to do similar
    (3) Food Importers, Supermarkets, etc. to NOT increase prices
    ……
    and other transactions/processes that ordinary people have to bear daily.

We are not asking to ‘wipe-off’ these agreements ……. just suspend them until (we hope) the virus is under-control and the World begins to get back to normal.

23. NorthernObserver Avatar

@VC
    a wild guess, but it must have related to accessing a source of relatively inexpensive cheese. In the 60’s this was Anchor, but unsure when that began or when M&C became a staple.

24. @ Vincent.

Yes I remember my mum sneaking vegetables in it! Lol

25. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ NortherhObserver at 12 :40 PM

You are correct. New Zealand Anchor cheddar cheese is the preferred ingredient. Barbadians are also addicted to it. I have had to carry many blocks abroad for relatives and friends. In my early youth the Bajan cheese cutter/ sandwich was the popular use of Anchor cheese.

26. To some, this blog is to attract discussion as stated. Non related comments will be deleted.

27. If you get to see this post, do your research.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=2894549843973091&id=100002543115134

28. Anchor also offers “Vegetarian”? cheese I heard of Bajans visiting NZ and enquiring about Anchor and the natives have never heard of it so presumably that variety is for export only.

29. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Sergeant at 1:35 PM

Quite true. It is the practice in marketing. That is the main reason Barbadians have to carry Anchor cheese to friends/ relatives in the Diaspora. The same happens with tumeric coloured Irish butter. It is /was made only for export to the West Indies.

30. @Vincent

What are you saying- we have niche segments to exploit? Is it sufficient to qualify for helping to diversify productive sector?

31. This is Cayman Islands…they allowed a cruise liner in and ended up with their first case.

“We know the decisions to close the airports for three weeks and to ban cruise ships for 60 days were not made lightly, especially as the reality of unemployment is creeping in and an almost-guaranteed recession is looming on the horizon for these verdant isles.

In the last few days, the world as we know it has changed – borders, including ours, are closing, plus how we live our daily lives and even the way we engage with our friends and loved ones have been altered.

The concept of social distancing a few days ago may have been a joke among friends. Today, it’s among the top measures to keep you safe.”

32. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu at 12 :58 PM

You asked for a disruptive event to change the Economic Paradigm. You are presented with the COVID – 19. Bloggers prefer to deal with the crisis and its immediate aftermath. Things are evolving as they should . This no time to get involved in speculation. The emphasis is on containment of the epidemic to manageable numbers.

33. @Vincent

So true.

Some minds remain buried in the moment. It is impossible to see pass what is before them. Is this the disruptive event to that tipping point some of us have been waiting for? Education has not done it. Maybe COVID-19 coming after BERT WILL.

Are we there yet?

34. Vincent Codrington Avatar

There are always “knock on” consequences to disruptive events. As i tried to point out the Barbados society should be viewed as if it were a complex adaptive organism. It is not a machine where you pull a lever and it moves in a predetermined direction .

35. @Vincent

There is no room to assume that intelligent people have the ability to be proactive? We have to wait for a disruptive event to occur?

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David Bu

Very often the” tipping point” has come and left but we did not recognize it. I suggest you relax and deal with matters as they arise.

37. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ David BU

We are an intelligent people and we are doing reasonably quite well so far.

38. We have 2 cases.

What would Singapore or Hong Kong do in our position?

I believe the authorities would interrogate/question both and identify their contacts over the past couple of weeks.

They would then interrogate/question/test each contact and identify their contacts and so on.

They would leave no stone unturned until patient zero was identified.

Do we have authorities with the stomach to relentlessly pursue such a line of questioning and ferret out every case of the virus like bloodhounds?

Do we have people who would submit themselves to this invasive line of questioning for the good of their countrymen and country women?

Probably not but we need them all or we need at least to begin to cultivate the attitudes that will permit patient zero/es to be found next time around.

39. A theory is the virus spread as a result of a meeting at a hotel in Singapore!!

40. @Vincent

Your comment is a contradiction. The purpose of strategic planning/strat mapping is to ensure the business is well managed. Unlike your the blogmaster has observed several of the social and economic indicators on the dashboard changing from green and amber to red.

41. @ David.

Truth is conflicts with WTO now would be unenforceable probably. The issue is not that we don’t want to buy its that we cant get supplies. Once a strong agricultural base is developed retailers are still free to import foreign products. It’s the consumer that will decide if to buy them.

You remember years ago we had a buy Bajan campaign? Then Mr Bynoe at Carlton came with his proper pork campaign and increased local pork sales considerably. Government may need to use channel 8 and GIS now for a “Cook Bajan” campaign.

42. @ Sargeant March 17, 2020 1:35 PM

“Anchor also offers “Vegetarian”? cheese I heard of Bajans visiting NZ and enquiring about Anchor and the natives have never heard of it so presumably that variety is for export only.”

Rennet is a complex of enzymes containing chymosin, pepsin, and lipase. The enzyme is synthesized in a weaning ruminants’ stomach to digest mother’s milk. Industrially, rennet is the main enzyme in cheese making, where it is used to separate milk into solid curds for cheese making and liquid whey. The animal has to be slaughtered to harvest the enzyme.

Enter genetically modified organisms: it’s fairly trivial to make a bacterium or yeast cell that makes boatloads of chymosin – the exact same protein that’s found in the stomachs of calves – without all of the fuss and bother attendant with raising and killing cows. This process is also much more controllable and returns a more consistent product than processing from an animal source, meaning that cheese-makers can expect very little variation in their process. In fact, chymosin produced by E. coli was the first of enzyme made with recombinant DNA technology approved for use in food… all the way back in 1991.

Actually, it is a moot point as to whether in the true sense, vegetarian cheese is really vegan, since the gene was obtained originally from animals.

43. Went out to do my usual shopping. The supermarket was full but people don’t seem to be attempting to hoard as they were before. Many have become aware that this would leave those who can only shop for weekly supplies without. Social distancing and sanitizing are being practised. Bajans are concerned but not panicked. I think the waiting was more frightening than the actual event. Bajans, I believe will rise to the occasion.

My fear is that we will quickly forget the experience and return to “normal”.

As for the way forward I think we all, including the leadership, know what we have to do but we had no motivation. Old habits are indeed hard to break. It is really difficult to get up off the couch and start moving. On BU some time ago I put forward a suggestion that we need a programme much like the Alcoholics Anonymous programme to wean us off conspicuous consumption and laziness. I am a grass roots person and so if I were a leader I would start such a programme using volunteers in every constituency. Time to use the loyal foot soldiers for something other than canvassing.

Sounds crazy, I’m sure but I have always been crazy and these are crazy times.

I have been thinking for a while that it’s going to take an earthquake or a hurricane to jolt us out of our complacency.

I never thought of a virus but i’ll take it.

Now the perennial wuk up escape mechanism is on pause, let us face our problems and WORK on them!

Seriously.

44. David
    March 17, 2020 12:34 PM

@John A
    In summary your approach is one of aggressive import substitution.
    How does this conflict with WTO commitment

So what happens when exporting countries ban or limit the export of medical supplies to importing countries so as not to run out themselves?

Isn’t that a restriction of free trade?

I don’t see any thing wrong with “home drums beat first” for both exporting and importing companies!!

https://www.ft.com/content/b571fc08-f985-4322-9a88-3bd0fbb52e5a

45. As for macaroni pie, mashed pumpkin/squash can easily be hidden in the pie. I use less cheese and flavour with a clove of garlic. Just a tip for any reader who has young children or teenagers.

46. @ John A March 17, 2020 10:52 AM

“Also egg and chicken production can be increased. We have to try to do more to feed ourselves”

Do you realize that all the eggs for layers and broilers are imported and the incubated locally as well as all of inputs for rations?

47. How about BU start a blog for beginners in agriculture, those who want to start a little plot to feed their families? We have many experts and practitioners here who can guide them through the process and answer any questions. I have purchased supplies to start my own, primarily in raised beds and pots. When i get the hang of it I will expand a bit. Got the soil and the planting material is on the way. I am hoping that when the people in my gap pass and see that they will be motivated to start.

My mother and father paid their mortgage out of agriculture for a few years after they built the house. My father both had full time professions. Neither of them had ever grown anything before and they managed to sell to one hotel that was very supportive of the community surrounding it and also to a supermarket.

PS. Silly Woman could offer simple tips on how to store the produce and how to use them in recipes.

How about it?.

48. robert lucasMarch 17, 2020 4:47 PM

@ John A March 17, 2020 10:52 AM

“Also egg and chicken production can be increased. We have to try to do more to feed ourselves”

Do you realize that all the eggs for layers and broilers are imported and the incubated locally as well as all of inputs for rations?

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Could you explain to us why that is so?

49. Receptive to the idea Donna.

Any of the persons mentioned (Dr. Lucas, Simple Simon et al can feel free to submit a few words to kickoff?

50. @John A

A scarcity of food will force demand and change in ‘taste’ for sure. However this cannot be the basis for incenting local production.