The blogmaster thought long and hard about posting the following incident which occurred on the weekend at the Charles Rowe Bridge gas station in St. George. In a nutshell two youngsters got into an argument inside the gas station and the video captures the the decision to resolve.

Again the shooting incidents in recent months by our young men expose our society on many fronts. As a society we have failed to inculcate the right values in some of our young people. Whatever the reason we can theorize, we have reached the tipping point. A short term strategy must be put in place to deal with the situation. Obviously the youngsters have no regard for lives. No regard for collateral damage caused by an ability to shoot straight. No capacity to exercise reasonableness.

The blogmaster with reluctance recommends uncompromising enforcement measures. The government MUST impose an emergency plan to arrest increasing gun violence on the island. The youngsters committing these crimes have passed the point of no return, fire power must be met with fire power. The namby pamby approach currently be adopted will not work.

As a society we must fight back. NOW.

The bad boys must be taken out!

181 responses to “Shooting Advisory – A Time to ACT”

1. All the signs of a failed state
    The revolving question. How did the guns get into the question
    So easy to go after the youth but what about the big mafia cartel that make plans for bringing the guns into the country
    What about them
    Why are did not being hunted down and thrown into jail
    As long their is a source the crime would increase

2. Correction”how did the guns get into the country”

3. The car looks to be a hired car.

My imagination?

4. Is that the only question you are capable of asking? If they did not have access to guns do you think they would not be violent? In England knives crime is on the rise, why? The weapon does not have a mind of its own.

The other thing you and Spot On do well, ascribe labels.

5. Well from my vantage point the guns are what the youth and criminal mind have been using to kill each other in barbados
    One can only speak to the fact and the fact reveals that guns are the weapon of choice used by the criminal
    Which begs the question who are the master minds of the sourcing of guns
    Why is there no emphasis placed on finding these criminals of sourcing who for all intent and purposes are bound and determined to destroy barbados social environment

6. Looks like there were guns in the car.

What processes are followed by the car rental agencies?

If it is a rented car are we going to find it was rented under a false name?

7. We continue to focus on the symptoms.

8. Can anyone rent a car or is age a factor?

9. @David,

remember that post i did one time about likely solutions to this problem? all we do in Bim is talk and talk and more talk.

10. The blogmaster with reluctance recommends uncompromising enforcement measures. The government MUST impose an emergency plan to arrest increasing gun violence on the island. The youngsters committing these crimes have passed the point of no return, fire power must be met with fire power. The namby pamby approach currently be adopted will not work.

Identify the perpetrators and get them out of circulation.

That means thorough detective work.

The Big Brother approach to keeping tabs on data is one “uncompromising enforcement measure”!!

Profiling may be a bad word but it works.

I was robbed once at gun point and a single detective interviewed me for a few moments before the statement details were worked out with officer.

I reckon that single first interview for a few minutes profiled the perpetrator and focused the police.

They had him in 10 days and he confessed not only to the crime against me but to others the police linked by understanding his MO.

Violent criminals are often identifiable by their modus operandi but good records and sharp minds need to be available.

If rented cars are being used then examining records of car rentals around the time of a violent crime might lead to an apprehension quickly.

Unfortunately that might mean observation of profiled persons by police who rent cars.

The downside.

11. @ Mariposa January 28, 2020 6:19 AM
    “how did the guns get into the country”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

The most pertinent question to be asked in this whole massively profitable trade!

Why not say they were ‘brought’ to Barbados like the proverbial stork delivering ‘bastard’ babies; just out of the ‘blue’?

Those guns couldn’t have been brought to the 2×3 island via airplanes.

The stupid boys stashing those illegal weapons are the mere ‘suckers’ of the final consumers in the food chain of money-making from black monkeys playing with guns.
    And it is those same ‘monkey-playing wild boys’ and the innocent bystanders who will pay the final price.

It is rather interesting to see how consumer items like condemned chicken wings can find themselves ‘commingled’ with dispensers of death and second-hand car cargo.

Karma is Muhammad holding an AK 2020 and pointed at a cash register on a ‘Swan’ street.

The blind of Religion is the biggest con game ever invented by criminals!

12. @Greene

After the robbery at KFC headquarters, some idiot from the police reminded corporate Barbados that their security teams had a right to guns by law.
    In Bajan reasoning, all it takes to get rid of the bad guys with guns is a good guy with a gun. Straight out of the Trump manual. This world class government, punching above its weight, is caught like a hare in oncoming headlights. It is an ideas-free space. The rule of law has collapsed, outside Bridgetown, when last have you seen a policeman walking the beat in Barbados?

13. “The most pertinent question to be asked in this whole massively profitable trade!

Why not say they were ‘brought’ to Barbados like the proverbial stork delivering ‘bastard’ babies; just out of the ‘blue’?”

You have no idea how pertinent and RELEVANT that observation and question.

14. “The blind of Religion is the biggest con game ever invented by criminals!”

15. @Greene

The time for talk is at an end. Lawlessness has taken root in every sphere of life in Barbados. The relationships that exist in Jamaica for example between the directorate and criminal element have emerged. A very dangerous sign indeed.

16. David,

it ended years ago but we dont like to act. we luv long talk. look out for more diagnosis and blame placement as Bim burns.

17. @Greene

Does Barbados need a TT like CoP?

18. We also have to address corruption at the highest levels.

If a thieving politician exists the yokels all become empowered.

Deal with the corrupt ruthlessly and the yokels will get the message.

19. I see a video of what transpired outside of the gas station, there must be a video of what took place inside the Gas Station and the culprits should be readily identified did the Police make an arrest?

20. @Sargeant

The police are asking for public assistance based on a Nation report. It suggests nothing of value was captured on the inside.

21. PoorPeacefulandPolite Avatar
    PoorPeacefulandPolite

I can’t help suspecting that firearms originating in Venezuela where they are plentiful are sold cheaply first to Trinidadian fishermen who in turn transfer them at sea onto Barbados registered fishing vessels. The dollar differential between Bolivars and US dollars, and the ease with which a fisherman can bring weapons ashore seems to offer a safe and lucrative route.

22. @David

They spent time milling around the inside presumably some confrontation occurred which led to the shooting yuh mean to tell me that if the place was robbed “nothing of value” would be captured?

23. @Sargeant

Simply reporting what is recorded in the press.

24. To me it looks like the car brought 3 of them.

Two of them went inside.

The guy in the white shirt appears on the scene with 2 of them inside.

One of the two go outside to get a weapon from the car.

The guy in the white shirt then comes out shooting.

Doesn’t seem to be a hold up.

Looks like the guy in white figured his enemies potentially had him cornered.

25. Looks like the guy in the white shirt hit the guy in the yellow shirt.

There should be a car somewhere, perhaps a rental car, with blood on the inside.

The third guy in the green shirt took off after the guy in the white shirt, OR, he is distancing himself from the car and its two occupants.

26. The guy in the yellow shirt perhaps left some blood by the pump … may be useful to identify him.

27. Police need to look at Chefette camera footage.

Looks like that is where guy in white shirt ran.

Possibly he was in a car following the one with the 3 guys and if so it had to park somewhere.

28. @ David,

in my humble opinion Bim needs effective policing. the cops in Bim appear to be afraid of engagement. it seems to me they think it is not worth it- meaning that the problem is because drug dealers are backed by people in high society, police and their families will be targeted for reprisals, the politicians and top brass dont care about police welfare and in any event they are not paid enough. usually police know exactly what is going on and that invitation of drug dealers to parliament must have confirmed all their worst fears.

effective leadership doesnt mean being out their on the streets like the TT CoP. it means that the CoP makes sure the service is fully resourced for the challenges wrt proper equipment and training, good intelligence, the right leadership and personnel at these raids, and first class investigation for prosecution

to me what he is doing is BS. and he seems to overcompensating for his inexperience; he was not a policeman, i dont think, so to make himself look effective to the rank and file he goes on raids. who runs the service if he is out there at every raid? suppose there is engagement and he has to shoot someone? suppose he is shot? suppose something goes down and there has to be an internal investigation as to the police use of force?

re Bim i think this CoP should retire or should be retired; he is doing nothing. equally i dont the politicians know what they are doing either. nobody is even talking about these shootings and murders. it is as if we think if we dont address it, it will go away. the AG is as silent as Freundel and big talker MAM is even worse. we are in dire straits

29. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Mr Blogmaster, a few comments.

…Are you familiar with a company called Clearview AI? Read an article on their face recog debase validity and it freaking blew my mind. My first thought was oh how can I be their local agent (@ PIECES right up your sweet spot bro, seriously) and then my next thought was ‘Damn, this would shut down a lot of this bad boy nonsense in Bim.’

In sum, their face recog app is very powerful and using (somewhat ‘illegally’) the vast troves of images on social media they can match faces to names with outstanding success. Thus, videos we have all seen of young gangsters showing off their weapons (the guy who was killed at the school gate recently was a star in one such video) almost sutomatically become confessions of gun possession…

That would start the clean up toute suite!… BUT… The problematic part of the article was the headline: The Secretive Company That Might End Privacy as We Know It

2.Bro, this is a BLOG… we traffic in ‘talk’…others deal did ‘action😂’ !…. But seriously tho, your remarks echo a piece from Olotuye Waldron… he too strongly opined that The bad boys must be taken out!.

I hear him and you and all others but I don’t get how that works JUST so. @Hal makes the blunt counterpoint to that style of operation: do we stage a good guy with gun against a bad with gun warfare!

Obviously the authorities are struggling to corral the crime increase but the blunt point David is that the rot stems from within… you can’t attack this problem from outside and expect grand success.

Respectfully to @Greene or any other but obviously the solution set is well KNOWN the problem has always been the strength of character and ‘political will’ to implement forcefull ‘search and seizures’, border interdiction (customs detailed camera usage) and purposeful prosecutions . Those are principal top line thrusts.

So Mr Blogmaster, I wish you and others well with aggressively taking out these so called bad boys… and if you get a Burroughs style (don’t know the name of the current TnT John Wayne) CoP here in Bim then I wish us all doubly safe journeys heading into that hail of ‘fight fire with fire’!

30. All of them already known to police.

The story about argument inside the gas station is bogus. They are know to each other the time between the shooter entered the store and the other two came out for their guns is too short for and argument now started to lead to lead flying.

The one that got shot and his pals balls should be squeezed until they give up the shooter and where they got their guns from etc. then the buts should be lost away in prison for the max allowed by law.

31. @Greene

Thanks, always interesting input on law and order matters. Interesting to read a report recently of police grumbling about being identified while doing their jobs, especially task force personnel.

@Dee Word

If you have a cancer in the body often time you have to remove it to stop the spread. Sometime the action causes a price to be paid by the body, losing a limb etc. Thiis where we are, leave the talk at the door.

32. Of the 78 homicides in Toronto in 2019, 44 of them were gun related. That’s not counting the hundreds of others who were injured over the year.

With this in mind, Mayor John Tory will sit down with mayors and police chiefs from across the GTA, as well as representatives from other levels of government, on Tuesday at a regional meeting on gun violence.

https://www.680news.com/2020/01/28/toronto-mayor-police-chiefs-gun-violence/

33. The guns and drugs problem in Barbados should be considered to be a National security threat and dealt with accordingly.

Right now the gun violence is black on black but if a big up or tourist get shot?????

34. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Respectfully bro, but BEFORE any limb removal there must be appropriate talk. Then the limb must be carefully and surgically removed…not butchered ‘off any old how’.

I get it that there is cancer and being ‘cervically challenged ‘ 🤣 my medical knowledge is minimal …however I am not aware that external excisions can ever CURE a metastasizing cancer!

You may be right that the limb has to go as its withered but what after that sir…what’s the strategy to arrest the cancer inside and as importantly prevent or retard the spread of the cancer to others.

BTW…task force or SWAT personnel invariably deal with the baddest of the bad. I would NOT as a task forces officer do a raid of dangerous drug gangs unless I pulled on a face mask, dark glasses or other means to hide my identity.

The days when criminals did NOT target cops or their families to intimidate are long gone…frankly in a BIM environment I don’t know that it makes a lot of difference really but still…I would mask up!

35. @Dee Word

The time for talk is Rh over.

36. Amen.

Take down the criminal syndicate that trafficks these weapons into the island.

37. @ Pedantic

We are drifting in to US style para-military policing with SWAT teams etc and Chinese-style surveillance. This is barbarism. Barbados is a small place and the bad boys know the police, their parents, their children, their cousins, their friends and the police MUST know who these people are. What do you think they will do when the SWATS come out. If police raise the game, the bad guys will also raise their game. Look at Britain.
    We need a new, un-Barbadian approach. Not SWAT teams, but more uniformed officers walking the beats, every sq inch, and knowing the people who live on their patches – every man, woman and child – where they work, go to school, who they associate with, if they are the types to be members of gangs.
    At the same time, young people must be given more opportunities. Stop listening to retired officers from Britain and North America and talk to your own people. Barbadians know Barbadians best.
    Stop allowing containers to leave the port; stop sending customs officers to the homes of the importers ostensibly to search the containers when in reality they are paid to leave prematurely. Do the searching at the port and make corruption a national security offence.
    Stop magistrates abusing the sentencing system by jailing people for stealing salt breads and breadfruits. They will only stop the nonsense when some of the young lads (and they are mainly men) turn up at their homes late at night. Their is a price to pay.
    Do not let racist police officers come to your country from Britain, Canada and the US to tell you how best to deal with your brothers, cousins, neighbours and old school friends. Tell them thanks, but no thanks.
    At the same time we need to remove ALL guns from private hands; the wise guys will say those with illegal guns will not hand them in. How clever. We must make it clear that anyone found in illegal possession of a gun, or threatening to shoot anyone, will be sent to prison for a long time.
    Guns are being smuggled in the port by the New Barbadians welded in to the containers. They have form at this sort of thing and must think Barbadians are an easy touch. We must focus on them, even if time is running out. The whites are armed because they fear rebellion.

38. Understand the Police got clamps on growing marijuana so it is expensive.

Drone technology is here!!

Reckoned that was the reason for al the talk about legalising it.

Might catch the wrong folks!

39. If you are distracted into focusing separately on guns, drugs and corruption, then the problem will never be solved. They appear to be strongly related.

40. @All… Legalize drugs; eliminate the profit motive.

Treat addiction like the disease it is. Problem (largely) solved. And, heck, some studies suggest that smoking a bit of weed is far less harmful than smoking tobacco or drinking alcohol.

BTW, did you know that Marijuana was made illegal in the “Great” US of A (and then this policy pushed world-wide) to protect the wood-plant based fiber industry? Please see this for a bit of background: https://www.kqed.org/lowdown/24153/reefer-madness-the-twisted-history-of-americas-weed-laws

41. @Hal

entirely spot on. the thing is Bim is well known for community policing – Resident Beat Officer (RBO). however there is more to be done. community policing produces intelligence that drives detection.

and you are absolutely correct about UK and other foreign police. i keep telling these lot this but you know how it is. even engaging Fulcrum Chambers Ltd is a big time mistake and we will pay (in terms of money and time and correctness of report) for that.

42. @ Greene

At the risk of taunting one of the anonymous angry predators who prowl about on BU, this is typical of the Bajan Condition. They not only like the taste of foreign, but of white foreign.
    Give you two recent examples from my trade: recently a senior diplomat from the British high commission reprimanded the media for the poor quality of their work. That was not new. I have been saying that, with great reluctance, for some time. But it was the craven way the once great Advocate fills its pages with rubbish about China that drove the print titles to a new low.
    The other example was the Barbados Defence Force recently ran a media workshop, and guess who they got to run it – a retired Brigadier from Sandhurst. I am sure the old Brigadier loved a few days in the sun, in the middle of the UK winter, but pray tell, what does he know about the media?
    I know a number of senior UK journalists of Bajan heritage and any of them would have done that BDF workshop for free. But better to get an old Brigadier.

43. Hal
    Barbados not interested wholeheartedly on controlling the war on drugs
    Barbados signed on to international agreements with principles that is significant in helping small island nations fight the war on guns and drugs
    Recently i was appalled to hear that Charles Herbert was allowed to travel out of the country knowing the details and circumstances by which he was involved which in itself states that no information( from barbados ) on Charles Herbert was given to international countries namely USA that keeps a data base on such individuals caught with drug importation in the country
    All can scream and holler at the wayward youth but the root of all this crime and violence starts at the top where silence is like gold and very rewarding for a few

44. DISHONEST Bajans Avatar
    DISHONEST Bajans

@ David,

in my humble opinion Bim needs effective policing. the cops in Bim appear to be afraid of engagement. it seems to me they think it is not worth it- meaning that the problem is because drug dealers are backed by people in high society, police and their families will be targeted for reprisals, the politicians and top brass dont care about police welfare and in any event they are not paid enough. usually police know exactly what is going on and that invitation of drug dealers to parliament must have confirmed all their worst fears.
    Xxxxxxxxxxxx

STOP TALKING A LOT OF CUNT.

MANY MANY BARBADOS POLICE ARE DRUG DEALING AND SELLING GUNS IN A RACKET WITH THE BAD BOYS AND DRUG LORDS.

THE COLD IN ENGLAND GOT YOU BRAIN DEAD.

TO FIND A HONEST POLICEMAN OR DETECTIVE IN BARBADOS IS LIKE LOOKING FOR A NEEDLE IN A HAYSTACK.

ALL SYSTEMS IN BARBADOS HAVE FAILED AND CORRUPTION/MONEY MAKING BY ALL MEANS NECESSARY IS THE NAME OF THE FUCKING GAME.

DEAL WITH THE REALITY ON THE GROUND NOT WHAT YOU THINK IS HAPPENING.

45. @Chris Halsall January 28, 2020 1:21 PM
    “Legalize drugs; eliminate the profit motive.
    Treat addiction like the disease it is. Problem (largely) solved. And, heck, some studies suggest that smoking a bit of weed is far less harmful than smoking tobacco or drinking alcohol.”
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Bingo! The Portugal model at its most effective.

The Portuguese brought sugarcane (and pigs) to Los Barbados. Why not a new crop of commonsense to the criminal justice system.

As has been argued on BU for donkey years, drug addiction is a public health challenge and ought not to be ‘treated’ as a criminal matter.

As long as drug addiction is seen by the lawmakers as deserving of punishment under the criminal “justice” system then the only outcome would the breeding of more crime.

Imagine a ‘two-bit’ plant as common as Mary-Jane with little value added other than by way of water and risk has made ‘potty’ millionaires out of people who have been able to ‘buy off’ law enforcement officials while another legalized ‘grass’ called sugarcane is a mere poor drunkard for diabetic cousin which can’t even rub two lost Bajan five cents pieces together unless highly subsidized by exploited taxpayers.

46. @ Mariposa

A fish rots from the top. A little island state, the only industry is tourism, the people have Hollywood ambitions, so thy resort to unconventional ways of making money. Thy sell land, thy steal land; they overcharge; they sell drugs; they do dodgy jobs so that they will be called out again; it is gangster capitalism.
    Some of the gangsters wear track suits; some wear robes and collars; some wear uniforms; others wear shiny suits and bri-nylon shirts. But they all belong to the same gang.
    We are world class and punch above our weight.

47. @ DISHONEST Bajans January 28, 2020 1:53 PM

Sweeeettt! Tooo sweet!

Right on the money.
    The real untouchables are the underbelly of the Bajan elite and financial supporters of the political class.

Ask him why the local Bill is purposely incapable of touching the other ‘known’ players in the Donvillegate affair.

48. @Greene

One has to be pragmatic.

The problem is now.

Community policing will not address the immediate problem.

49. meanwhile 1 case of coronavirus in Jamaica

50. @Greene

Let us pray. We have a six-bed isolation unit at Enmore. Barbados is God’s own country. Don’t panic. We are world class and punch above our weight.