The blogmaster found the Patrick Hoyos article to be – without prolix – a good summary of the Donville Inniss matter. Especially as it pertains to the inference other payments were made to Donville Inniss and that bribery by elected officials was commonplace in Barbados. Although we have the Attorney General et al saying that local laws would not have permitted prosecution of Inniss this position was challenged during the Inniss trial.

The blogmaster’s wish is that we have a dispassionate debate in Barbados and a call to action by our officials regarding the honest prosecution of public officials. It is ironic former Speaker of the House MICHAEL CARRINGTON and Adriel Brathwaite, former Attorney General showed support for Inniss by attending the trial in New York. CARRINGTON’s legacy will be that a High Court judge had to issue a court order for him to release monies due his client 70+ John Griffiths, the blogmaster will remember Brathwiate for promising to report to parliament the status of Mia Mottley’s qualification (LEC) to practice before the Courts of Barbados. He never did.

The time has come to arrest the moral and ethical rot- add criminal. We have started to experience the negative fallout of pushing our heads in the sand.

Time for the authorities to do a job.

Time for the Prime Minister, Attorney General and stakeholders to lead the charge.

Importantly, time for John Citizens to hold officials accountable.

David, Blogmaster

PS. Blame the blogmaster for paragraphs highlighted blue.

patrick hoyos
Patrick Hoyos, journalist and publisher specialising in business

Four little words that spell prison

It was a four-word text that probably took only a few seconds to write and send, but the events it set in motion led to a guilty verdict on all three counts for former Minister of Industry and Commerce, Donville Inniss.

A United States jury last Thursday found Inniss guilty of two counts of money laundering stemming from two money transfers to the bank accounts of a dental office in New York, and one count of conspiracy to launder money. Prosecutors said Inniss arranged for the money to be transferred through the bank accounts to conceal the bribes. According to the Wall Street Journal, Anthony Ricco, a lawyer for Inniss, didn’t dispute the money transfers, but argued the government’s evidence didn’t support its view that there had been bribes in 2015 and 2016.

According to the Nation newspaper’s Maria Bradshaw, US Prosecutor David Gopstein, in his summation to the jury, said that Inniss was not performing consulting services for Insurance Corporation of Barbados Limited, but was taking bribes and laundering money.

The prosecutor said that up to 2014, ICBL held 50 per cent of the Barbados Investment and Development Corporation’s (BIDC) insurance contract, while Consumers’ Guarantee Insurance had 30 per cent and Trident Insurance 20 per cent.

When the time came for renewal in 2015, the BIDC board of directors recommended that the contract remain the same way, but on June 30, 2015, Alex Tasker, who was the senior vicepresident of ICBL, sent Inniss a text message saying: “We have to talk”.

This four-word message, the prosecutor told the jury, led to the bribery, which was arranged in a week and a half. The day after that text message, Inniss sent a letter to Sonja Trotman, chief executive officer of BIDC, inquiring about the insurance renewal.
As a result, ICBL increased its share to 70 per cent share, leaving CGI with 30 per cent, and Trident Insurance with zero.

The Wall Street Journal said that ICBL, which allegedly paid the bribes, “received a publicised letter in 2018 from the US Justice Department saying it was closing a probe into whether the company had violated the US Foreign Corrupt Practices Act.”

That letter said, in part, that “the Department’s investigation found that ICBL, through its employees and agents, paid approximately $36 000 in bribes to a Barbadian government official in exchange for insurance contracts resulting in approximately $686 827.50 in total premiums for the contracts and approximately $93 940.19 in net profits”. The WSJ’s Dylan Tokar wrote in Friday’s edition that “ICBL had voluntarily disclosed the bribes, enhanced its compliance program and fired the individuals involved in the misconduct, the Justice Department said.”

He added that the Justice Department had sent the letter to ICBL under the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act’s Corporate Enforcement Policy which, he said, “offers leniency to companies that disclose potential foreign bribery violations to prosecutors”. This means that Donville, Ingrid [Innes] and Alex had their conspiracy exposed by the parent of the company on whose behalf the latter two were working to increase sales, or at least make budget.

Isn’t it ironic?

It is also a different version of how the story got out than what our own Attorney-General said last Thursday after the verdict was handed down. He said: “It is significant that the conviction came about because individuals who had knowledge of the events were prepared to speak out and to give evidence about wrongdoing.” The AG added: “This is something that is required at all levels in Barbados’ society whether dealing with the scourge of corruption or the scourge of gun violence.”

Meantime, Tokar noted that the Justice Department last year charged ICBL’s former chief executive officer, Ingrid Innes, and its former senior vice- president, Tasker, “who prosecutors said acted as Mr Inniss’ co-conspirators. The two remain at large, a spokesman for the department said.”

As far as I can see, the response in Barbados among the average citizen has been that it’s about time somebody was charged for all of the perceived corruption that went on under the last administration. I haven’t heard much, if any, sympathy for Inniss or his alleged co-conspirators.”

Patrick Hoyos is a journalist and publisher specialising in business. Email: bsjbarbados@gmail.com
Patrick Hoyos

156 responses to “Donville Inniss Case Points to Endemic Corruption in Barbados”

1. Piece the Legend Avatar

De ole man is rather slow with these things.

But I would ask one of you bright people to read the following excerpt from Hoyos’ article and explain same to me

“…The day after that text message, Inniss sent a letter to Sonja Trotman, chief executive officer of BIDC, inquiring about the insurance renewal…”

Since Inniss DID NOT WORK AT BIDC is it being proposed that the Chief Executive Officer Sonja Trotman AND THE BOARD, colluded with Inniss?

Is it being said that HAD THE BOARD NOT MADE THIS SUBSTANTIAL CHANGE, this specific act of bribing WOULD NOT HAVE OCCURRED?

Do any of you remember the “where is my cut?” text by Down Lowe?

Will members of the BIDC board be sanctioned?

Is the CEO Sonja Trotman still CEO?

By the way, did anyone notice that the article https://barbadosunderground.net/2019/04/15/file-complaints-against-lawyers-here/ has been immediately removed from the list that the Blogmaster put up ?

Maybe it has something to do with his paragraph there that reads

“…The blogmaster gives credit to PUDRYR for his input which led to the creation of this initiative…”

You people are so intent to keep any opposing comments that show definitively HOW TO DESTROY THE RAMPANT CORRUPTION, especially when 2 bloggers, Piece uh de Rock Yeah Right or I, Piece the Legend, post them that your small minds run and tek down posts like dat.

Parvi parvos delectant!

2. The nerve of lying Dale whistleblower…so where is the red bag of evidence Mia was waving aroung and saying..”we got all the evidence right here on DLP corruption”…so why not hand it over to FBI your red bag of evidence that yall showed the world…since yall being so transparent now.

“It is also a different version of how the story got out than what our own Attorney-General said last Thursday after the verdict was handed down. He said: “It is significant that the conviction came about because individuals who had knowledge of the events were prepared to speak out and to give evidence about wrongdoing.”

3. Still no statement on Donville from the president, Freundel or the commissioner of police? Why?

4. @Hal January 24, 2020 6:46 AM

Indeed, there haven’t been statements by the political class apart from the leader of the Dems and she had no choice. They are all guilty as sin. Doesn’t say much for this country does it?

5. GP -ONE OF THE REJECTS OF BARBADOS Avatar
    GP -ONE OF THE REJECTS OF BARBADOS

They are all guilty as sin. THAT CAN NOT BE DENIED
    WHAT MAY ALSO BE TRUE IS THAT They are all guilty OF THIS sin.

MURDAH

6. GP THE GULLIBLE Avatar

RE Parvi parvos delectant!
    PIECE ARE YOU SAYING HERE THAT THE PETTY OR SMALL MINDED DELIGHT IN LITTLE OR PETTY THINGS?

TIS TRUE

7. Never Move from My Points Crooks ,Liars,and Scumbags , No Rule of Law, Land and Money laundering Drugs and Guns by the BLP & DLP =Crime, Criminals & Corruptions from the GG, PM, AG,DPP, COP Heads of Government Departments Family & Friends

8. Piece the Legend Avatar

Dr GP,

I thought that it meant small things amuse small minds.

De ole man was only repeating what I thought de children was used to say when dem was learning dem book work at school and I was teiffing a 2nd hand education.

And you know who I am referring to though heheheheh

9. The day after that text message, Inniss sent a letter to Sonja Trotman, chief executive officer of BIDC, inquiring about the insurance renewal.

As a result, ICBL increased its share to 70 per cent share, leaving CGI with 30 per cent, and Trident Insurance with zero.

++++++++++++++++
    If the Board made the decision to renew the insurance at the same percentage as before how come the CEO was able to circumvent the Boards decision?

10. PIECE
    RE I thought that it meant small things amuse small minds.
    INDEED!

MUCH THE SAME AS THE PETTY OR SMALL MINDED DELIGHT IN LITTLE OR PETTY THINGS

11. @Dr. Lucas

The matter is considered sub judice because lawyers for Inniss have signaled he will appeal.

12. Bajan Free Party 2023 0r sooner Avatar
    Bajan Free Party 2023 0r sooner

No free Press

13. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

David Blogmaster u are being quite like ‘Alice’ when u state:
    “Time for the Prime Minister, Attorney General and stakeholders to lead the charge.”

You are in ‘Wonderland’, brother.

I knew, like and respected a young Dale Marshall when he lived just before the ‘bridge’ in St. George but I know not this man now other than his public persona and there is NOTHING to suggest he has any internal fortitude (or ‘de balls’ … love that ‘Jones’ skit) to initiate serious change.

I consider that Brit initiated review a further money transfer action that will be more heat that actual charges to be laid.

As Hoyos alluded to… Mr Marshall was caught out as paying lip service by his own words … which if taken in blunt terms were basically lying to the people when he said :

“It is significant that the conviction came about because individuals who had knowledge of the events were prepared to speak out and to give evidence about wrongdoing.”

The other ‘lie’ that nothing could be done to corral Inniss under Bdos law was atrociously ridiculous… but maybe I am misquoting the brother there.

If the AG himself were to speak out and to give evidence about wrongdoing what a difference that would make.

Or put another way he has a superb opportunity to restore some of his school pride following the trauma of a crooked former PM… or is that just too ‘old school’😎

I remain hopeful at how John Citizen will make a difference with these officials but really not ‘expectant’.

BTW: David, Hoyos for some years now has been writing some very penetrative articles… We should discuss more of his stuff more often!

Gone, gone .(hope to be back tho, Doc 😂)

14. Nonsense. An appeal dos not come under the sub judice rules.

15. It is also a different version of how the story got out than what our own Attorney-General said last Thursday after the verdict was handed down. He said: “It is significant that the conviction came about because individuals who had knowledge of the events were prepared to speak out and to give evidence about wrongdoing.”
    Dale Marshall is in over his head, he is perhaps the longest serving Atty. Gen having held the post in two different Cabinets as well as being the Opposition spokesman on legal affairs, yet he continues to confound, confuse and mislead anyone seeking clarity on any matter that comes under his direction.

Is this the best that we can do?

16. @ Sargeant

You miss a key point: the president only appoints people she thinks she can talk over their heads. Marshall is the inferior lawyer to the president and he knows that.

17. The comments of several prominent lawyers and politicos were carried in the press last week and all to a man and woman cited no comment. A couple mentioned sub judice because it is an ongoing matter.

18. An appeal does not come under the sub judice rules. If so, only in Barbados, a jurisdiction that does not understand anything about the rule of law.
    The more likely explanation is that any lawyer saying that does not know anything about the sub judice rules. They should go back to law school. Name and shame the lawyers who made that claim.

19. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ dpD at 9 :49 AM

If it is”a le Jones”, should it not be “testitudinal fortitude “?

20. Read AGAIN and then READ AGAIN…they all have to go to prison, in Barbados’ case it has gone on for FAR TOO LONG.

“In recent years, a series of leaks has revealed the extent to which the financial system continues to be abused by the rich. The Panama Papers helped expose the role played by “secrecy jurisdictions”, shell companies and “professional enablers” such as lawyers and accountants. Investigations into laundromat schemes for money laundering have shone a light on the role of corruption in the judiciary. And through scandals such as the one engulfing the Danish bank Danske Bank in Estonia, we have learned about longstanding failings in the compliance procedures of the banking sector.

Despite all this, it is sometimes difficult to see the true impact of the wholesale theft of national wealth. That’s what’s significant about the latest dump of documents, called the Luanda Leaks because of their connection with Angola. They reveal not only how Isabel dos Santos, daughter of José Eduardo dos Santos, the former president of Angola, was able to amass a fortune of more than $2bn; they also reveal the misery inflicted by the theft of national wealth.

While the winners enjoy the luxuries of living in London, partying in Mediterranean resorts and winter sun aboard multimillion-dollar yachts, the losers’ lives are blighted by sewage, eviction and disease.”

21. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal Austin at 10 :34 AM

Are you going to condemn the whole jurisdiction of Barbados because of the opinion of a few? Or is it one ?

22. “The Panama Papers helped expose the role played by “secrecy jurisdictions”, shell companies and “professional enablers” such as lawyers and accountants.”

that is how i was able to put my hands on the multimillion dollar bank account numbers, social security number and names for Money Launderers Inc, Barbados…as long as they remember i still got them.

23. @ Vincent

Only if the one is the AG or the learned chairman. Otherwise I believe thy know better. As to the rule of law, check out the 84 murder cases still waiting to be settled.
    Seriously, it can be frustrating when you know something is wrong, you point it out, and some nutcase insists he is right.

24. There is a perception that PAYING BRIBES may be commonplace in Barbados but we all know that Elliot Ness and the untouchables are untouchable in Barbados.

Only those who accept bribes are guilty.

Those who PAY bribes do so to protect the jobs of ordinary Bajans.

buh doan mine me. I jus writin shiite as usual.

25. https://cnn.it/30QIJOF?fbclid=IwAR2Q-gSlOZEtknz1Yz5vMVuO9g3AFbmq4D5XI3KbdXkPaccvR5yQ0LxBsHI

Well if Wells Fargo can get BANNED…who are these shitehounds in Barbados and the Caribbean.

“New York (CNN Business)Former Wells Fargo CEO John Stumpf on Thursday agreed to a lifetime ban from the banking industry and a $17.5 million fine for his role in leading the bank through its massive fake accounts scandal and other sales practice misconduct.

In addition to Stumpf, the US Office of the Comptroller of the Currency fined seven other former Wells Fargo (WFC) executives about $40 million in connection to what the OCC described as “the bank’s systemic sales practices misconduct.”
    The civil charges brought by the federal agency say the executives “failed to adequately perform their duties and responsibilities, which contributed to the bank’s systemic problems with sales practices misconduct from 2002 until October 2016.”

26. “Hal AustinJanuary 24, 2020 10:15 AM

@ Sargeant

You miss a key point: the president only appoints people she thinks she can talk over their heads. Marshall is the inferior lawyer to the president and he knows that.”

What sayest thou? The present Attorney General has his LEC; to the best of my knowledge Ms Mottley doesn’t

trying to be humorous

27. I thought the blog master asked for a “dispassionate” debate.

Instead of feasting on gossip and railing against a prominent scapegoalt and his associates, Barbadians should use the Inniss case to reflect on the obvious weaknesses of the political system we have created.

Most political activity is expected to be self-financing. Is this a reasonable expectation?

Political parties are costly to establish and maintain, particularly in an age where so many ordinary voters seek gifts and favours in exchange for their support. When ambitious politicians must somehow find ways to pay all their bills, the pool of candidates for high office is going to be extremely small.

Of course, if a politician is lucky and gifted enough to succeed, it only gets worse. He will be expected to find the resources to look and live like a leader, and to bring relatives and friends along with him. He will likely be thrust into the company of millionaires and billionaires with lifestyles he can only dream about. And he will have to make plans for contingencies — like an unexpected demotion or an election defeat.

Human nature is what it is. Why do we put such extraordinary pressures on ordinary people, and then celebrate their downfall?

28. The ex CEO of Wells Fargo has been banned for life because of good regulation. Where is the insurance regulator in Barbados re ICBL? World class, punching above our weight.

29. NorthernObserver Avatar

the theme of the article, suggests where the bribe began. DI didn’t demand it?
    And the ICBL gain was only the 20% contract formerly held by Trident. Albeit, they may have had info they were losing additional share
    What the trial didn’t offer was a historical perspective of the premiums paid. And since they were TWO payments, it is unclear whether the numbers quoted included TWO years worth of business.
    Around the time, there was a picture in the papers of Innes/Tasker along with S.Lashley as Min of Sport, and DI as the elected constituency person, at the Desmond Haynes courts at the top of Holders Hill, where ICBL had paid for renovations. The “deal” likely included more than the two payments to Crystal.

30. @ Sergeant

Your question of how the CEO was able to do as he likes and go against the board, i had said a few weeks ago should of led to 2 things, were any of them there ” worth the salt” as the bajans say.

First If the board members had any backbone they would of called in the press and publically resigned.

Secondly had the owners any backbone they would of called for the full resignation of the board and especially of the 2 staff members directly implicated.

So answer me this why hasn’t the board been called to resign by the owners of the company? Is their failure to call for their resignation to be taken as a sign of condoning this type of activity as long as business is got from it?

Say what wunna like, if this happened in the good old USA heads would of roll and action would all like now have been taken by both the owners and the state.

But here if you going thief then thief big. Don’t take up a can of corn beef though or you tail ” loss way.”

31. The other issue not fully addressed is the reason for the Board dropping Trident to do with it not being BEST rated. It should be noted that CGI that retained the other business is also not BEST rated.

32. NorthernObserver Avatar

“It is also a different version of how the story got out….”
    Yes and no.
    This the Fraud Section letter to ICBL lawyer
    https://www.justice.gov/criminal-fraud/page/file/1089626/download?mod=article_inline

However, the prosecution was able to get the former ICBL CFO, Ms.Millar, to testify (albeit in exchange for protection against prosecution) Possibly it was the AG’s view it was this testimony which made the case.

The letter above stated ” (6) ICBL’s remediation, including but not limited to terminating all of the
    executives and employees who were involved in the misconduct”….is interesting. Ms Innes RESIGNED in Jan 2017. Mr.Tasker announcement of his joining Digicel was in July 2017, and Ms Millar left [according her LinkedIn profile] at the end of Dec 2017. So, WHO got terminated? Ms Millar? or whom else was deemed to be ‘involved’.

33. NorthernObserver Avatar

“Secondly had the owners any backbone they would of called for the full resignation of the board and especially of the 2 staff members directly implicated.”

Only Ms Innes was a Board member. She left the Board the day of her resignation as CEO.
    May the good Lord help us, if the BOARD, is to responsible for the rogue conduct of ALL employees. Who would ever join a Board?

34. We all knew the noise was shite, then all the fowls and co-conspirators lined up in a row to cackle too.

“Foreign Minister of St Kitts and Nevis Mark Brantley has dismissed as “unnecessary noise” the recent position taken by Caribbean Community (CARICOM) chairman, Barbados Prime Minister Mia Mottley, in opposition to talks held here this week involving some of her CARICOM colleagues and the United States (US) Secretary of State, Mike Pompeo.”

35. @ Northern.

The board knew well before the whole issue broke that the CEO had over ruled a board decision. It was at that point they should of called the press and resigned.

To stay on after that was done at board level is to condone the act.

Remember when Tony Marshall resigned from the NIS board? He didn’t wait for Sinkler to print for 3 years first, he did so once the board decision was gone against.

36. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    which “board” are you referring to?

37. @ Northern

I speak of the ICBL board

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    OK
    “The board knew well before the whole issue broke that the CEO had over ruled a board decision”
    So the ICBL Board knew well before the whole issue broke (the bribery?) that the (ICBL?) CEO, had over ruled an ICBL board decision.
    What board decision did the CEO overrule? Should the resign or fire the CEO?

39. @ Northern

Well this is the point where in my view everything broke down.

My point here is what has the board and the owners put in place to ensure this will not happen again? What action either civil or otherwise, will the company be taking against those involved?

If nothing is done what message does that send to ALL of the employees at ICBL, even the ones that may consider stealing a stapler?

Total lack of corporate management and the enforcement of discipline.

40. @ John A

If the board knew, then the CEO should have been sacked. Incompetence.

41. The change in supplier of insurance services would have been recorded in Board Papers. What was the explanation recorded and what do the meeting minutes record of the explanations from the officers of the company present when matter was discussed.

42. NorthernObserver Avatar

@JohnA
    but….you didn’t share what decision the ICBL CEO over-ruled?

Read the Fraud Section letter to ICBL lawyer and you will see the claims of changes made.

43. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Blogmaster
    u now refer to the BIDC Board?
    ICBL and BIDC are to similar and can be confusing

44. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Too many Boards.We need to be clear on which board. The BIDC Board to whom an explanation would be in order. The ICBL Board re what?A slight rise in the costs of Dental services? Man,we mekking sport yuh.

45. NorthernObserver Avatar

It’s Friday and WordPress has its usual Friday blues….and I gotta run….sooooo
    I do not have access to the court transcripts, so rely on reports.

”Also taking the stand today was Wight, ….he said after he became aware of the transactions on October 4, 2016, he sought a response from both Innes and Tasker, to no avail” [qoute BT Jan 14 2020] For the record Wight was Chair of ICBL AND CEO of parent company BF&M

“Legere said she had tried repeatedly to get information from Innes, former chief financial officer Kamante Millar and BF&M’s former chief information officer Paul Matthews, to no avail.” [quote BT Jan 15 2020] For the record Legere was CFO at BF&M.

You mean to tell me, and I am no lawyer, that DI lawyers didn’t PEPPER the two BF&M employees taking the stand, with questions about how the ^&*(^%$# as CEO/Chair and CFO they could rest with responses which were “to no avail”?? Why they didn’t push for answers? Did they know more than they admitting? If I am going down, it will not be without a fight.
    Shouldn’t they, Wight and Legere, have called a meeting pronto to determine EXACTLY what the two payments to Crystal Dental labs were about? They obviously had NO URGENCY, nor discovered much, for Mr Tasker was still an ICBL employee at least 8 MONTHS after the payments were brought to their attention.

OR….?????

Guess more will be revealed at the sentencing.
    And we hear where the DOJ cases against Innes and Tasker stand.

46. @Yes, BIDC Board. What was the CEOs input if the matter was raised for discussion. If we were to assume it was discussed …

47. @Hal

Yes 100% agree with you that is what should of happen. Corporate structure is there for a reason, if we ignore it then it’s a ” brek for yourself ” scenario.

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

Was the BIDC CEO a member of the BIDC Board? It is the Board Chair and the Annual Report of the BIDC , oh I forgot, our public bodies don’t do Annual reports any longer.
    In seriousness, the matter may require a Special Report, every supplier contract may not reach the Board, esp if there is some ‘funny stuff’

49. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Northern, you seem to be the one on track here.

I have NOT reviewed the details but I am a bit perplexed WHY or HOW a board (of ICBL) would have prior knowledge that the ‘sales team’ had castled Trident to win the additional 20% of business.

As you suggested are folks conflating Boards here.

And as you said WHAT ICBL board decision did the CEO overrule.

I am missing details but at ame time the convo seems strange.

The only push back I have with ur analysis is the ‘dismissal’ of the additional 20%.

The raw numbers may be small but that’s a sizable increase of that client’s premium portfolio… that type of bump could definitely make for a great sales year (for an exec) if all others things are going well.

And thinking in terms of that Amazon US cloud contract won and lost amidst complains from competitors one has to examine the Blogmaster’s point re: The other issue not fully addressed is the reason for … dropping Trident to do..

Wouldn’t their CEO be concerned ; did he have no one to text and say “we need to talk”.

Enquiring minds wonder how all that really went down!

High end day to day sales is ruthless and people do deliberately take you down!

50. “You mean to tell me, and I am no lawyer, that DI lawyers didn’t PEPPER the two BF&M employees taking the stand, with questions about how the ^&*(^%$# as CEO/Chair and CFO they could rest with responses which were “to no avail”?? Why they didn’t push for answers? Did they know more than they admitting? If I am going down, it will not be without a fight.”

Then more things you DON’T WANT TO COME OUT WILL..lol